Planet Hollywood Cancun

Planet Hollywood Cancun
4.194.194.194.194.19
4.19 based on 31 reviews
#7 of 16 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Playa Mujeres
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (26)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not as advertised

, Sudbury, ON
2024-01-31
Disappointed to say the least.

Pros: the view is exceptional.

Cons: continuously asked about my food allergies but the cross contamination at the buffet/restaurants is disturbing and very dangerous, adult beverages are watered down, food at any restaurant is flavorless, room was musty, took 14hrs to get 2 extra pillows, bedsheets were damp everyday, requested 3 times to have garbage(empty wine bottles, empty beer cans and food wrappers, and plastic glassware) removed/cleaned up from the privacy bushes separating pool area with our swim out, mini putt area not managed, garbage everywhere, paint job in room is sloppy, buildings seemed to be falling apart in most areas, random open/close times for restaurants, non-empathetic staff, lengthy check in process (star class), non responsive personal assistant to simple requests, mediocre entertainment at best, broken shower was never fixed, patio door screen ripped and mold found in bathroom [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
See above
The weak points
See above
Sanitary measures
See above
Certified

PH Review

, Maple Ridge, BC
2024-01-19
We just returned from our stay, Jan 9-16th with 16 guests (10 adults ranging from 34-58 and 6 kids ranging from 3-6). I've tried to be as thorough as possible with this review! Also to note, this was our 2nd time at this resort. We travelled last year with 4 adults and 1 child, and loved it so much we returned with 3 additional families. This review is accumulated from everyone's comments and feedback.

The size of the resort is perfect, for any age. It was so nice to be able to easily walk everywhere, and not worry about a vast resort with trams and buildings miles apart.

Star Class: This is a MUST in our opinion. Our butler service was top-notch. We had 2 butlers amongst our 6 rooms – James and Natly. They were awesome, and so helpful when we needed them! They worked together to get us what we needed via Whats App chats. We had one group chat with all 6 rooms and the 2 of them, and then each family had their own individual chat for their individual needs. As a group of 16 we knew it would be hard to get reservations together, but they were able to make reservations each night for us that accommodated our schedule (dinner times at 5:30, 6, 7, 7:30, 9pm… whatever we requested based on our day plans). They also worked with Marco at the star class pool to reserve us spots on the beach for our group in the star class area. We would not travel back to the resort without star class. Reviews on the star class rooms, food and pools below.

Our check-in experience was seamless, as the star class guests get their own check-in. We were taken to our rooms right away upon arrival, and there was a welcome bottle of champagne on ice with a selection of fruits. We also had an additional bottle of wine, and got to select a 750ml bottle from a list. We all selected Grey Goose vodka. Mini bars were completely stocked with beers (Dos Equis, Coors Light, etc.) bottled water, sodas, juices, chocolate milk, snacks (chips, chocolate, nuts). You could easily order whatever you wanted to restock your mini bar from the App, or have it restocked daily when they came around. I will say that it was disappointing to not have filled liquor dispensers in the rooms. They are there, but are empty. I believe they use to be included, but now you only get one bottle. At the very least, star class rooms should have a full liquor dispenser, as other resorts do.

We also were able to message our butlers when we needed additional items delivered to our room (waters, towels, etc). Every night they come to the star class rooms for turndown service if you wish. You can decline, and they just hand you fresh towels with chocolates. We never did the turndown service, but I assume this is when they would make the little towel animals on your bed and put the chocolates there.

One hydropath per person is included, but we didn't utilize this. We did last year, and it was nice. Book this with your butler in advance.

The Flo Rider is no longer included with star class. It use to be 1 pass per person every 3 days, but now it is a charge of $40 USD/person. This change came into effect Dec 1/23. As we had booked our vacation in October 2023 and it was a perk at the time, our butlers were able to get us all passes. We each got a one day pass, and that was enough. Highly recommend trying the Flo Rider, it was awesome! We even had the 3 year old do it, on a boogie board with the instructor.

Rooms: We all had swim up rooms, 3 junior suite swim-ups (23110, 23111 and 22105) and 2 one bedroom director suites (22107 and 22106). All of us were Star Class. The swim-ups were incredible, and we all said there is no way we could go back to a normal room! Building 22/23 are Star Class buildings, so the swim-up pools were heated. It was sooo warm, nice and relaxing, and we were able to swim day or night. The director suites had double wide patios with 2 bali beds and 4 day beds, and the juniors had a bali bed and 2 daybeds. You have nice privacy from the units beside you, and there are bushes in the front of the swim up so people walking by cannot see you. The location of these buildings is great, because there are no walking paths directly in front of your swim up (like there are in the non-star class swim-ups). The star class swim-ups were shaded almost all day, but we actually preferred this as it gave us reprieve from the sun when we needed a break but still wanted to swim. The non-star class swimups were in the sun, but didn't have the privacy. We found that building 23 was awesome as it was close to the main lobby/nightly entertainment, so if you went back to your swim up early you could still hear the action. You were also so close to the restaurants, sports bar, etc. Building 22 was awesome because you were right next to building 21 for the star class lounge (canapes, drinks, etc.) and were a short walk to the star class pool and grill, as well as the lazy river, kids park, Gusto, Guys, beach, etc. We would highly recommend either of those buildings. Rooms were all spacious and nicely decorated. Maid service was awesome as well!

If you pre-book your rooms online with the selection, note that it seems the rooms are opposite. 23111 and 23110 pre-booked their rooms, and on the map it showed that these were to the far right of the building. In reality it was opposite, and they are actually to the far left. So book the opposite side of what you actually want. The corner units have a nice bigger walk in area for their swim up.

Food/Restaurants: We only went to the main buffet once for breakfast, and once for dinner. We found it quite busy for breakfast, so did not return. The food was ok for breakfast though. We did not like the food options when we went for dinner, so did not return. I cannot comment on the lunch as we didn't go there for lunch, but we heard the lunch was better than the dinner. We told our butlers we did not want to eat at any buffets for dinner, so we got reservations every night. We went to The Shores star class breakfast buffet every day. It is a beautiful restaurant on the beach with ocean views, and is nice and small. No lineups, and had the best omelettes! While it was smaller than the main buffet, the quality was better and it was calmer. Highly recommend only going here for breakfast if you're star class. Only thing it was missing was the smoothie station from the main buffet, although that station was a little odd as they didn't really have many fruits and it was mostly vegetables. A better selection of fruits for smoothies would be better.

Fuel Coffee is great for lattes, ice cream, snacks. Often has a lineup though at peak hours.

Lunch at the Star Class Grill beside the star class pool was awesome! Great selection of foods (tacos, nachos, Caesar salad, wraps, hot dogs, fries, etc.). We ate here often while we were at the pool. There is also an a la carte lunch at The Shores. Our FAVOURITE lunch was at Gustos. We came back so many times. Our waiter David was the absolute best! He remembered us from the first day, and would greet us with our same drinks. He was very memorable on this vacation, and provided top notch service. The food at Gusto was hands down the best in the resort, for lunch and dinner. The steak at the lunch is still being talked about.

The steakhouse was meh for us on this vacation. Last year this was one of our favourite restaurants, but we didn't have the same thought this year. We only went here once, so could have been an off night. We enjoyed the salads and soups, but the steaks were sub-par. We much preferred the lunch and dinner steaks at Gusto. However, in saying this, someone we ran into at Gusto said that they preferred the steakhouse steaks over Gustos. So it's all preference. We all found that the steakhouse steaks had a charred grill taste to them, which we didn't like.

Teppanyaki was an awesome experience, especially for the kiddos. We had such great service there, and the show was fun. The rice, shrimp and chicken were amazing and the sushi was a hit! I wasn't personally a fan of the steak as I like my steaks more rare, and the chef did not ask preference so they were all well done. We didn't eat at the regular East tables for the sushi dinner, so cannot comment on that. We also could not get in to the Indian restaurant while we were there, as it was closed, so cannot comment on that. We did not eat/visit the adults only side, as we had children with us.

The Mexican restaurant was likely one of our least favourites. People in our group raved about the short rib, and the tortilla soup was good. The rest wasn't great. We did have a late reservation there, so did not get our food until nearly closing time. That could have been a factor as well. The service was top notch though, as we found it always was.

Guys Burger joint by the lazy river and kids pool was delish! So were the to go pizzas from Gustos. Be prepared to order and wait 30-40 minutes though. If you walk in to Guys and sit down, the wait is only 5 minutes. When you order it to go for pickup, it's longer.

Tons of food options for young/picky kids, and a kids menu at every restaurant.

The sports bar had great food options, and was a fun environment with sports games on, and a pool table. It is quite small though and hard to get a table. Most resorts have sports bars that are double or triple the size of this. It also stopped alcohol service at 11, except for beers and sodas. You had to go out to the lobby bars to get a mixed drink. Other resorts we've been to have had 24/7 sports bars, which would have been nice here. Most of the bars start to shut down around 11, and then the lobby bar 12am. If you want anything past that, you need to go to the disco.

Pools: The star class pool was by far our favourite pool. It's heated, and has an awesome swim up bar with premium alcohol (Patron/Don Julio for the tequila), and amazing service! The day beds at the star class pool are also cushioned, and much larger. No issues getting day beds. If there weren't any, one of the star class servers would get us some. It has a nice ocean view, and they had an awesome foam party there. The foam parties rotate throughout the pools each day, but we found this one to be the best / most fun. The family pool foam party is in a pool that doesn't have a swim up bar, and is smaller. You can also order food from the Star Class Grill to the star class pool, and you cannot get food to pool service anywhere else. Star class swimup bar also has in pool seating areas and tables which was nice.

The main family pool was large and refreshing to swim in! There are bali beds in the water, which was fun for the kids to swim out to and jump off of. This pool gets really busy, very early. People go and drop their stuff off and leave it for hours on end. We were told that if there are only towels on the chairs and no personal items, to take the chairs. We did this almost every day. I recommend if you're trying to save chairs, you leave personal items on the chairs, otherwise they will be taken (which is fair).

Kids splash area was awesome. We loved the location, and it was great that there was a bar there for the adults. Service was great too! The kids had a blast, and we didn't have to worry about water wings etc. There's a big enough area for them to play and not get bored. Also very close to the lazy river, Guys and Gustos for lunch. I would say this area is good from infant to maybe around 6-7. Anything above that, they made need more of a “wow” factor. There is a fun slide in the lazy river, but still nothing that compares to some of those big slides other resorts have. This resort could use more options for older kids.

Lazy river was a highlight for all! There were plenty of floaties, but we all brought our own just to have a more comfortable style. The ones they offer are the classic donut style. The swim up bar in the lazy river is fun, but gets very busy as big groups come through. They need 2-3 bartenders in there for the traffic flow, and often there was only 1. Fun vibe though!

Bathrooms were conveniently located by all pools, so you weren't rushing to find one when the kids needed to go.

Beach: Hands down one of the best parts of the resort/our vacation. The water is pristine, and so is the sand and the beach. You can tell they maintain it very well. We spent 2 full days at the beach, and the kids were in heaven. The waves were gentle enough to swim and lounge in floaties. One of the most beautiful beaches we've seen at an all-inclusive in Mexico. There are 2 beach bars as well as beach service, so no issues getting drinks. Beach activities too like beach volleyball, soccer, etc. The beach is private so you don't have any locals trying to sell you things. You can however catch a salesperson to get jet skis, parasailing, etc. PH does not offer jet skis through the resorts, so what you see are external.

Entertainment: Daytime entertainment was awesome by the pools, we really enjoyed the foam parties and dancing. The night entertainment was lacking. There were shows on the outdoor stage each night, but they weren't anything special. The entertainment is over by 9:30-10 latest and the resort sort of dies down then, aside from the lobby bar and outdoor bar by the theatre which get crowded on busy evenings with loud music/dancing. The disco is above the lobby, and is usually pretty dead aside from Fri/Sat nights as well, but it's a great spot (a bit smaller). This resort is definitely more family oriented I would say, and I would not choose this as a party resort if that's what I was looking for, unless you're willing to go into Cancun district to the nightclubs.

The trampoline park and arcade was fun to do on a cloudier day. It is $15USD for 30 mins of jumping per person. The arcade is $2USD per game. We found this to be a bit pricey, and think it should be included (or at least for star class). There were higher up packages, but 30 mins was enough for us.

The movie theatre is a bonus on cloudy days as well, and they play usually 3 movies per day starting at 4pm.

Service: We had awesome service everywhere we went – butlers, breakfast/lunch/dinner servers, pool and beach servers, you name it! The service was impeccable. The assistant general manager Luci was amazing as well! She made us feel at ease, and wrapped up our experience the way it should be.

Excursions/Experiences: The only disappointing service we received, was during an issue we had with PH Experiences. The man that we dealt with worked externally with Nexus I believe, through PH Experiences. He was the “manager”. I wish I got his name (he wasn't wearing a name tag… how convenient), because he was awful. We had a whole issue with him, that we escalated to hotel general management. Luckily Luci (assistant GM) was able to rectify it for us instantly, and it seemed to be an issue that could have been avoided. I can't comment further on PH Experiences as we never proceeded with one, but I recommend that if you wish to book a PH Experience you go see Hector down at the PH Experience desk close to the beach down by the family pool. We almost booked something with him a few days into our vacation, but the group decided not to go off site so we did not proceed. He was easy to deal with though, and was happy to accommodate our requests. The only thing I'd say, is we didn't love the fact of the PH Experiences salesmen coming around the pool asking to sign up for excursions. I would prefer to go up to a desk when I want to spend 30 minutes talking about it, on my own time.

I hope this review helps! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service, Star Class pool, Shores, Gusto, Star Class Grill, beach, James/Nataly (butlers), David (Gusto), Luci (assistant GM)
The weak points
Extra charges (Flo Rider, trampoline park, arcade) should be included with star class, liquor dispensers in room shouldn't be additional charge, more nightly entertainment and extended hours for bars and sports bar
Certified

Amazing Vacation, Looking forward to our return

, Bracebridge , ON
2023-11-13
Ladies trip to Planet Hollywood Cancun over Halloween. Hotel is definitely out of the way so any excursions take additional time to get to meeting point, however that didn't matter to us as we were not planning to do anything other than a little shopping one day. We booked star class which includes perks like the butler service, exclusive restaurants including breakfast practically guaranteed a la carte dining, premium alcohol, private pool etc and it was well worth it just for our amazing butlers Carlos and Garrido (sp). When we arrived our room was not ready so they gave us a tour and a place to have lunch with is the guy fieri burger bar. Best French fries Ever!! We booked swim up suite which was our main complaint. They assigned us to building 21 which I had read previous reviews indicated limited/no sun. I asked front desk on check in for other building however were told nothing was available. She affirmed room got morning sun so we waited full day to verify which was not accurate. Our swim up room got NO sun and the pool was freezing and unusable. We ended up complaining to front desk and Omar (sp) was incredibly rude and basically told us “they don't control the sun”. We complained our our butlers who advised the star class manager and our room was changed a few days later. No fault to the butlers or star class however these premium swim up rooms are not usable and I would NEVER book swim up at this resort again. Instead they have private cabanas with plunge pool/jetted tubs that you can rent so I would say spend your money on the star class service as it's WELL worth it and avoid the swim up rooms.
As star class members we had access to adults only area restaurants, separate breakfast buffet, cool towels by the pool, drink samples and free facial massages.
Despite the room issues we had a wonderful stay and are looking to return winter/spring 2024 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was great at the a la carte and buffet however the seafood restaurant did not have as much seafood options as expected. The buffet Mediterranean buffet was better for seafood. Pools are clean and the service is excellent. #1AMAZING BUTLER SERVIC
The weak points
Often they do not have bed preferances you booked. We were given single bed and frame which is better than sofa bed but not the 2 doubles we booked. 90% swim ups in star class (not adult only section) have NO SUN and are freezing.
Certified

Planet hollywood mujeres

, Holland Landing, ON
2023-07-18
Good value for price point [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nothing too strong
The weak points
Nothing too weak
Sanitary measures
No longer an issue
Certified

Most Incredible All Inclusive Resort There Is!

, Cote Saint Luc, QC
2023-06-01
Everything about PH Cancun is perfect. the only imperfect part was not staying longer! The staff all incredible, kind and helpful. The restaurants are a delight and you feel like you are at 5 star restaurants every-time.
The GYM is out of this world with the most up to date equipment, space and multiple arrays of classes offered daily by professionals.
The grounds, there are words. All is beautifully up-kept. Pools and vars and all outdoor amenities fun, clean and available!
Spa service and massages as you expect and hope for. Rental of poolside cabanas awesome! Outdoor pool entertainment like no other. Evening entertainment always a spectacular to be seen.
There is always something for everybody anytime. We were celebrating out 10 year marriage anniversary. Next time we bring the kids to enjoy kids club, movies, mini put, lazy river, crazy large indoor trampoline park and arcade and splatter art, and amazing kiddie pool with pirate ship and water park and slides and more! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, amenities, entertainment, activities and food, Coffee shop amazing!
The weak points
Rooms smell a tad like older resorts when smoking was aloud, the buffet is so so , bathroom could use some touch work
Certified

Amazing Family Vacation

, Hammonds Plains, NS
2023-04-06
The hotel is very clean and new. The staff are all amazing. The beach is beautiful. So many large pools. Restaurants are numerous and food is delicious. So many fun things for the kids to do. The Spa is amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Large resort with numerous pools. Beach is beautiful. Many choices in restaurants. Lots of activities for kids and young teens. Amazing Spa.
The weak points
Reservations are needed for the Teppanyaki grill. This is a bit annoying as you have to wait in a line from approximately 2pm until 3 pm. It should be earlier in the morning so you don't have to disrupt your day. Long waits after 6:30pm at restaurants.
Certified

Something for everyone

, Kelowna, BC
2023-04-01
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at planet Hollywood. We will be coming back. The kids loved the water park and trampoline park with arcade. The kids club offered great activities but would be nice if they offered snacks.
Loved the lazy River and kite boarding right off the beach. The entertainment was the best we have ever seen at a resort. Just wish we knew what was happening easier, should be posted somewhere. The food was next level and we never had a bad meal. Flowrider made the trip for my husband. The staff were incredible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment, food, lazy River, splash park and mini golf.
The weak points
Power went out in our room everyday. No snack bar. Room service took 45 minutes every time. No change for pesos. One arcade gave took our money and no one could help. Last day of our trip the hot water was shut off the entire morning.
Certified

Our stay was mixed.

, Maple Ridge, BC
2023-03-28
The venue itself is very nice. The beach is beautiful. The resort itself is very clean. We booked this resort because it was touted as a family resort. We booked during the school spring break as our young, school-aged granddaughter was with us.

We expected the resort to be busy but we did not expect the large groups of intoxicated, rude teenagers roaming the resort. They cut into lines at the bar and made it almost impossible to get served. They were rude, loud and obnoxious. These young people were not supervised by their parents nor was their alcohol consumption monitored by the resort staff. There were rooms full of these young people who partied late in to the night. They climbed the barriers, whooped and yelled late into the night for most of the nights we were there.

We witnessed vomiting, swearing, racist remarks just to name a few instances. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach. The staff were very polite. The resort was very clean.
The weak points
No monitoring of the alcohol consumption of the teenagers staying at the resort. The food was mediocre at best.
Certified

Paradise with some and not so much the others

, Trail, BC
2023-03-24
Upon arriving you're made to feel like you're about to enjoy a unique experience, with a grand cheer by the staff. We chose to book Star Class reservations with expectations of dinner reservations, premium liqour, and it's own amenities. The property is quite open and has multiple stages for nightlife, it can host a large wedding party and a college kids coming to drink legally at the same time. You can book Adult, Star Class or just regular with some benefits to the premium reservations. You are not on the Hotel Strip but Planet Hollywood has the Cancun vibe with a Vegas Feel. The Beach is one of the best with very little seaweed and the water is a beautiful blue. Lots of Activities for teens with an arcade, trampoline park, flow rider, basketball court and volleyball court. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach and Water
The weak points
Drinks are inconsistent, Reservations for restaurants can be difficult, crowded amenities are common. You're in a fishbowl it's so open, nightly entertainment seating is fold up chairs,
Certified

Overpriced

, Surrey, BC
2023-01-23
Nice resort overall, pools and lazy river was fun! Great entertainment team with lots to do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pools and lazy river
The weak points
A la carte restaurants, cannot book a reservation unless you are star class or purchase a bottle of wine!
Certified

Beautiful Resort Service Needs an Upgrade

, Woodstock, ON
2023-01-09
The hotel and amenities are beautiful at this resort! All that you could ask for. However, we paid for Star Class Service and felt that we didn't receive what we paid for. Our butler mixed up messages, messed up dinner reservations and didn't do anything for our daughter's birthday after we had told them multiple times. I sent an email to the general manager and talked to a supervisor to voice our concerns, yet nothing was done. We were quite disappointed and won't go back to this resort. I would spend your money elsewhere! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful resort with tons of amenities. Lots for kids to do and beautiful beaches.
The weak points
Star Class service upgrade was not worth it. Services that they said would come with the upgrade were not provided. Complaints were made and nothing was done about it.
Certified

Planet Hollywood

, White Rock, BC
2022-02-21
Food was great the buffets where amazing
Location was great and quiet.
It is 35 min to Cancun in taxi and then another 35 min to get to playa or talum but we loved it.
We souls go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024