Riu Dunamar

4.394.394.394.394.39
Riu Dunamar
#4 of 12 hotels in Playa Mujeres
4.39 based on 183 reviews
Traveller pictures (45)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

AMAZING!!!!

, Westerose, AB
2019-03-21
We enjoyed a week of great weather, outstanding service and amazing food! The staff were warm, friendly and very helpful. Rooms were spacious and immaculate. Will Be back!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Activities well designed for a wide range of ages and interests.
The weak points
Spring break:( students drank too much in pool bars and were not considerate with their noisy behaviour. Staff handled them VERY well!!
Certified

Propre, moderne, 5 étoiles = je conseille fortemen

, Gatineau, QC
2019-03-21
L'hôtel est à environ 45 min de l'aéroport, ce qui n'est pas trop pire. Juste le temps de prendre une p'tite bière dans le bus et de regarder la ville de Cancun.

À notre arrivé, on a été reçu avec un welcome drink, ce qui est très apprécié. Ensuite, on a fait notre check-in. Nous étions supposés être au premier étage et on a demandé s'il était possible d'avoir une chambre au dernier étage et oui, le changement a été fait sans problème. Notre première impression du lobby et de l'hôtel était la propreté et l'aspect moderne.

Dans notre chambre, il n'y avait pas de drink dans le mini-fridge et nous l'avons dit à l'employé qui avait emporté nos valises…..5 min plus tard, il y avait un autre employé qui était en train de le remplir avec des bières, eau, liqueur ainsi que les 4 bouteilles de fort accroché au mur (vodka, gin, rum et téquila) !!!! À chaque jour, le mini-fridge était rempli et on avait un minimum de 4 bouteilles d'eau. La chambre était fantastique et d'une propreté incroyable (il ne faut pas oublier que c'est neuf). Climatisation fonctionnait #1.

Une chose intéressante est la qualité du free WIFI partout sur le site (chambre, buffet, resto, lobby, piscine et sur la plage). On est rendu en 2019 et je pense que c'est quand même un must de nos jours d'avoir accès au WIFI.

Tout est propre dans cet hôtel, il n'y a pas de verre qui traine. Les employés sont toujours en train de nettoyer partout plancher, vitre, peinture….). C'est un hôtel de style moderne et non style Cuba avec de la paille sur les toits.

En avant midi, nous allions à la plage. Elle est fantastique avec du sable blanc, un peu comme à Cuba. Pas de roche dans l'eau mais il y avait toujours des vagues. Pendant les 4 premiers jours, il n'y avait presque pas d'algue. De toute façon, le matin, les employés ramassaient les algues. Par contre, le 5ième jours, il y a eu des gros vents et il y a eu beaucoup d'algue sur la plage. Il y avait amplement de chaise pour tout le monde, pas besoin de se rusher le matin pour garder des chaises. Sur la plage, 2-3 serveurs étaient présent pour prendre nos commandes de drink, ce qui était super plaisant.

En après-midi, nous allions toujours à la piscine party car il y avait de l'ambiance et des jeux. Il n'y avait pas d'attente au bar dans les piscines pour avoir des drinks, c'était fantastique. À au moins trois reprises durant mon séjour, j'ai vu un employé faire des tests de l'eau de la piscine. C'est bien de voir qu'il s'occupe de l'eau des piscines. Surement que dans les autres places que j'ai faites, il y avait des tests le soir mais c'est le fun de voir une personne faire les tests. Il y a eu un Foam Party et je peux vous dire qu'il y avait beaucoup d'action (DJ, jeux, danse…). Les autres piscines étaient plus calmes, pour les jeunes familles ou simplement pour les personnes qui voulaient se reposer. Nous avons été au glissade d'eau. Oui, ce n'est pas vraiment gros mais juste assez pour avoir du fun.

Nous avons vraiment été surpris par la qualité de la nourriture au buffet ainsi que dans les restaurant à la carte. En passant pas besoin de réservation et nous n'avons jamais attendu. Nous avons fait le resto Asiatique et Italien. Au buffet, que ce soit le matin, midi ou soir, tout était parfait et délicieux et jamais d'attente. De plus, il y avait un genre de snack bar près de la piscine ou l'on pouvait prendre des hamburger, hotdog, frite, tacos, poulet. Pas besoin d'aller au buffet et on a une p'tite fringale ! Le sport bar est 24h et il y avait aussi des hotdog, tacos, sandwich, fajitas, salade….C'était frais et bon.

Nous avons assisté au spectacle de fin de soirée et la qualité était bonne (Michael Jackson, Rock Show, Maya…etc). Il y avait toujours de la place et aucun moustique pour nous distraire !!! Un soir, il y a eu le Beach Party Glow Show entre la plage et la piscine. C'était bien et ça fait changement.

En gros, Si vous êtes habitué d'aller à Cuba, je vous conseille fortement de faire l'expérience Riu Dunamar. C'est un comme aller sur une autre planète, vous allez voir, vous n'allez pas être déçu. Ha oui, j'ai oublié de parler des points négatifs: la couleur des serviettes de plage…..quoi il fallait bien trouver au moins un point négatif LOL !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
C'est nouveau. Tout est parfait
The weak points
Rien, sauf la couleur des serviettes de plage :)

Riu Dunamar experience

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-09
We had a wonderful family holiday at the Riu Dunamar. We love the Caribbean side of Mexico, the beach was excellent with plenty of lounges for travellers to enjoy a day at the beach. There were 4 pools, two large, two medium sized with swim-up bars. The two large pools were perfect for families. The location of the pools were beautiful. We were so impressed with the main buffet, in fact after going to one of the restaurants, the remainder of our holiday we ate at the buffet - lots of selection of fresh food, great variety day to day and always a carving station in the evenings. We loved everything about our holiday. We would definitely stay at the Riu Dunamar again on a Cancun holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
new, clean, excellent food, lovely pools and beach, very kid friendly, excellent staff and service
The weak points
kids evening program
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-03
I've been to two other Riu resorts. This one is as good or better. Nice and new and modern. Food very good. Some staff stand out - J Manuel in the dinner buffet is one. Entertainment was very good. My son and I enjoyed the Legends of Rock show the most. My two complaints are: 1. At the breakfast and lunch buffet it was too hard to get a wait staff to get coffee etc. It was so bad one day I had to go ask a staff member to please serve us. Add a couple more staff and it would make a huge difference. 2. It took 4 phone calls over 2 days to have our fridge stocked and the fridge working. Fridge was never stocked from last people as we had half empty bottles still in the fridge. But overall it is a great resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Unlike other Riu resorts, most of the dinners are not buffet. Loved the Legeds of Rock show. Food very good.
The weak points
Wait staff lacking and 2 days without a fridge, which is one of the reasons I book at Riu.
Certified

Wonderful Stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-05
We had a great stay at the Riu Dunamar and enjoyed our week of relaxation. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and courteous, doing everything they could to make our stay wonderful. Everyone had a smile and gave a warm hello from the maintenance, Riuland ladies, restaurant servers and cleaning crew. We will definitely be back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff, so hard working and friendly. Grounds and beach are kept immaculate. Always someone around to offer a drink, with no waiting. Buffet had so much selection and the food was wonderful!
The weak points
The only "weak" thing is the eating area that is partially outdoors. It was always quite loud, even when there were not many people. The indoor seating area was much quieter.
Certified

Out Of The Way

, Surrey, BC
2019-01-30
If you're looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Cancun, then this is your resort. But beware, there is nothing out here except the 2 RIU resorts. No shopping centers or little town to visit.
We booked into the cheapest room, but still had a partial ocean view. The room was big & clean, with a small sitting area and the bathroom was a great size. We loved the large shower. It always had hot water, unlike some Mexican resorts we've stayed at.
The grounds were well maintained and the 5 pools were great. If you have kids they will love the water park. The thing I liked about their swim up bars (they have 2) is that they also have little tables and chairs within the pool you can also stand or sit at. There is a great beach and both the pools and the beach have more than enough loungers.
They have lots of things to do during the day, fitness classes, dance classes, aqua fit, etc. The night time entertainment was good. They had a great band playing a couple of nights & their Las Vegas revue show was fun.
The food - we enjoyed the buffet food. Always something different for those who wanted it. Unfortunately we did not have great experiences with the specialty restaurants. My husband is gluten free and there was not much he could eat at the Chinese one (too much batter on everything) or the Italian (all regular pasta). The steak house was a laugh. Steaks were paper thin, so could not be cooked properly.
We went to Isla Mujeres for one day, but it poured rain the whole time, so did not get to experience the whole vibe of the island.
Overall we enjoyed our stay, but would probably stay somewhere with a little more to do outside the resort. There are quite a few new resorts opening within the next few years and supposedly a shopping mall, so give the area a couple of years and it will be thriving. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, pools, room, water park & buffet
The weak points
Specialty restaurants. Employees (outside of the front desk) don't speak a lot of English. Hard to communicate to servers, etc. what you want or need.
Certified

Riu Dunamar

, Red Deer County, AB
2018-11-08
I was extremely pleased with my stay. The Hotel itself was great. They had many pools to choose from. I enjoyed the pool that had great music and lots of activities to be a part of. The buffet never bored me. Lots to choose from. The Italian A La Carte restaurant was very good. But most of all the staff was fantastic!! Bernardo at the theatre bar was awesome. Polite, remembered our names, what we drank and was a fantastic bartender. The servers in the lobby bar were the same. Awesome experience I would highly recommend this hotel!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful property and staff

, Toronto, ON
2018-06-15
Great experience with this hotel. Really enjoyed the location away from the hotel zone. The ground crew keep it so beautiful it's amazing. Excellent beach and by far the best hotel staff I've experienced from top to bottom. Albert in the garden bar in the lobby was very attentive and a hard worker. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Pools Restaurants Age of hotel Caring staff
The weak points
More garbage recepticles would be nice Found people were overserved alcohol
Certified

Playa Mujeres

, Gatineau, QC
2018-05-15
Riu Dunamar est un très bel hôtel. Tout est neuf et bien entretenu 24h-24h. Lors de l'arrivée, nous étions attendus avec un cocktail de bienvenue. Le Check-out a pris environ 5 minutes. Nous avions une grande chambre très propre avec un mini bar et frigo rempli aux 2 jours. Nous avions la vue sur la Mer, mais aussi sur un hôtel en construction ( endroit en developpement). Ça ne faisait pas de bruit du tout, aucun dérangement par rapport à cela. Le seul bruit dérangeant de la chambre était les fêtards qui revenaient à 2h am en criant dans les corridors. S'il nous manquait quoi que ce soit dans le frigo, nous appelions la réception, après 2 appels, nous recevions le service demandé immédiatement. Service très efficace. Pour ce qui est du coffre fort de la chambre, nous devons nous même insérer un code dès l'arrivée. C'était facile de savoir comment le programmer. Il y a un super gym avec des appareils neufs. Pour la quantité de gens qui s'entrainent le matin, je trouvais le gym très petit, mais trouvais toujours un moment idéal pour y aller. Quant à la plage, elle était très belle. Par contre, dans les premières journées du séjour, il y avait beaucoup d'algues au point ou tu préfères aller dans la piscine au lieu de la mer. Le personnel tentait de pallier au problème en les ramassant à la brouette, mais il en restait toujours. Au milieu de la semaine, il n'y avait plus d'algue du tout dans l'eau ni sur la plage, mais j'imagine que ça dépendant des courants et puis vers la fin de la semaine les algues sont revenues. Sinon très belle et longue plage pour marcher. Ce n'est pas encore développé, mais tu peut t'aventurer en dehors de l'hôtel pour profiter des kilomètres de la plage. Beaucoup de fumeur sur la plage qui jette leur cigarette dans le sable. Pour ce qui est de la nourriture, c'était très varié et excellent. Il en a pour toute les gouts. Autant dans les restaurants qu'au buffet. Par contre, vers la fin de la semaine, je préférais allée au buffet, puisque les restaurants ressemble à un buffet, mais plus limité dans les choix. Il y a simplement 2 restaurants sur 4 qui ne sont pas selon le concept buffet. Le personnel était accueillant et compétant. J'ai remarqué que la nourriture est mise en place de 1 h à 1,5 h avant le l'ouverture du buffet. Il y a des glissades d'eau. Malheureusement la glissade la plus attirante était brisée lors de mon séjour. De plus, les sauveteurs sont assez fatigants, puisqu'il te siffle à la seconde que tu arrives dans l'eau pour que tu sortes immédiatement. Pour le reste, je n'ai pas à me plaindre, c'était un super hôtel, personnel poli, gentil et très à l'écoute de nos besoins. Petit conseil pour l'excursion magasinage: Ils disent que c'est gratuit au début du séjour alors qu'en réalité c'est 5 $ US ch. À ne pas aller si tu n'aimes pas les bijoux et la vente à pression. Tu arrives là-bas et ce n'est pas libre, il t'associe un représentant et celui-ci te suit partout dans la petite boutique. Si tu regardes un objet en particulier, il tente de te le vendre. Nous devions rester en mouvement continuel pour ne pas nous faire déranger. Après cela, tu as 1h pour aller dans des magasin ordinaires à prix régulier... C'était impossible de trouver un souvenir local sans payer des prix exorbitant. Attrape touriste et tout est en US. Un très beau voyage et je recommande cet hôtel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Personnel nourriture propreté de l'hôtel et nouveauté
The weak points
Climatisation très bruyante la nuit. Fêtard bruyant Odeur de Cigarette partout sur la plage et lors des soirées

Riu Dunamar

, Hannon, ON
2018-04-10
Nice place but very busy, a large resort compacted on a small parcel of land. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, food was good.
The weak points
Very busy, no pool or beach chairs available after 7 am. Not enough staff at the restaurants, they always seem rushed and service was slow. Suppose to be 5 star perhaps more like 3.5
Certified

Great vacation

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2018-03-05
Nice & New with lots of great food
Love that it's all alone on the nice beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Clean rooms & great food everywhere. Love the large amount of shade covers along the pool area
The weak points
Air conditioner in the room is very noisy when it starts up each time sounding like someone is trying to open your door. Name brand Liquor should be at all bars & carts & in the rooms at a RUI
Certified

AMAZING!

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-25
We had a fabulous time! Staff were wonderful. If we requested anything, it would be at our room in minutes. The food was fabulous. I enjoy aquafit, so I was really impressed the routine was different everyday. I strongly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The buffet had a huge selection. There was access to food and drinks 24/7.
The weak points
I wish the hotel had their own orientation. I did not know there was a hot tub and sauna until the last day.
Certified

Solid 3.5 star

, Okotoks, HA
2018-01-23
For a 2 bedroom suite with 2 kids and 2 adults we paid $5960 without upgrades. Although we thought we were getting a deal, in the end we felt like we got what we paid for.
There is a lack of organization when it comes to meal seating and entrance into the buffet area from the outside seating.
The pools were nice and clean but there was not enough bathrooms for the amount of people.
The water for the kids waterpark was not heated and super cold.
There is currently construction on the south side that could be noisy if you had to stay on that side.
Kids night entertainment was boring.
Room was super clean and spacious. The bathroom drain did plug by the last day we were there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Silky sand and clean beaches. -staff was super helpful and accommodating -room was super spacious and really nice Buffet food was average
The weak points
-No mexican market at night -a la carte food was not good. Neither was the wine or mixed drinks -food was pretty much the same everyday, no variety
Certified

New Years Day Arrival

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-13
My husband and I stayed at the Riu Dunamar from January 1st-8th. To keep it nice and simple I am going to break it up into Pros and Cons.

Lets start with the Pros:
1. Rooms are spacious, clean and relaxing
2. Pools- 4 to choose from(2 with swim up bars), plus the waterpark.
3. Beach is very nice, lots of chairs and no seaweed issues.
4. Best restaurant in our opinion was bamboo. Good selection of sushi, and other Asian dishes.

Cons:
1.Long wait times at restaurants-No reservations caused long long waits at the restaurants. At the kulinarium we were sat at 6:30 and weren't served our entrees until 8:00 my husbands steak was completely raw so we had to send it back and wait another 15 minutes for his food. Very slow!! Steakhouse-We waited an hour and 45 minutes to get into the steakhouse. We sat patiently outside at the chairs. We noticed people that came after us were being seated first because they were complaining to the hostess. It was very unorganized and cause a lot of frustration. When my food came it was RAW, we were missing things and our server was no were to be seen. This leads to my next point.
2. Severly understaffed. To be honest it's not the servers fault. I feel they did the best the could. There was two servers for an entire restaurant, a hostess and 1 runner. Basically all restaurants are very slow in service, except the buffet.
3. Food is average. Comparable to other Riu's.
4. Pool bartenders could be friendlier, they don't look like they enjoy their job.
5. I mentioned the nice pools however, they are in DESPERATE need for an adults only pool. There are kids jumping off the side of the pool into the swim up bar where there are marble tables and stools. Splashing into drinks and climbing onto the bar tables in the pool.

The entertainment to us was average, but drew a good crowd everynight. Since we booked before opening we paid a resonable price. This is not a 5 star resort. We travel to Mexico every year and I would compare this to a 4 star. It is also very secluded, so if you want to go shopping, you will want to pay a cab to go into Cancun or take the ferry to Isla Mujeures.

Would we return? No. The cons outweighed the pros for both of us. We are also a married couple without children so we find adult only resorts more appealing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Remote get away

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-08
Beautiful hotel,good services,wonderful beach(6km but deserted mainly).Long way from anything but great if you just want to relax.Very few beach vendors.Rooms good,very clean.Need good mobility as only 2 elevators at one end of building.We were on 4th fl on ocean side away from elevators!Food very good.Unable to visit specialty restaurants,always waits.Lots of beach,pool lounges usually.Staff great,helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great hotel,services,beach,pools.
The weak points
Quite remote.Lots of walking,difficult if not so inclined;ie stairs and large property
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Playa Mujeres's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Singles Seniors

Are you a hotel owner?