Riu Latino

Riu Latino
4.314.314.314.314.31
4.31 based on 49 reviews
#5 of 16 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Playa Mujeres
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (35)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful location and new resort but the food....

, Golden, BC
2024-01-08
We love the Costa Mujeres area it's absolutely beautiful. But given that there's many other resorts in the area now - I would not choose this one, look elsewhere. This resort is what I would say 'Meh' at best. Food - the food is the same breakfast / lunch and dinner and that's exhausting. Even the A La Carte restaurants used the same food from the buffet which is exhausting after the first day or two. Although there are lots of options at the buffet - it's not what to expect at a 5 star to eat the exact same food for every meal for 7 days. The room - the mattresses are very uncomfortable, and there's no body wash/ shampoo or conditioner (strange that this is a 5 star!), also very minimal in the room - you can sort of tell it was a get this resort up, fit as many people in -- and not offer anything extra. I've been to over 10 all inclusives and all 5 stars - this one is not worth it. Pool areas - are amazing, the staff is prompt and there's a lot to do in terms of beach volleyball / pool volleyball etc. Night shows were fun too and they did a great job New Years eve celebrating and offering us confetti / hats etc (..the irony in the sustainability issue that the resort has is interesting here -- handing out paper bags full of dollar store items...but worried about giving people shampoo/ conditioner?). Beach area is wonderful although there's no beach bar and it's far from the restrooms - every other resort I've stayed at has a beach bar within a short walking distance - it almost felt like they forget one. Water slides - looked fun, I went down once it's great.The staff - is very friendly although ...not like other places where they want to get to know you. As a couple - looking for a relaxing 5* experience with great food and wonderful sleeps - we're disappointed with the experience we had. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff is attentive. The beach is incredible in the Costa Mujeres area. Brand new resort - still very clean/ everything is new. Friendly staff.
The weak points
The buffet serves the same food every single day...with zero change. The mattresses are uncomfortable. Lack of items in the rooms (shampoo/ lotion etc). No room service. No beach bar. Lack of restrooms near the pool (there's only one!)
Sanitary measures
n/a
Certified

Riu Latino

, Chilliwack, BC
2023-07-25
was overall happy with our stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was great, we had a lovely time, the beach was nice & close to the resort, didn't have to walk very far. The food was good, our steak restaurant experience wasn't good, both times we went there, but every other restaurant was good!
The weak points
my WIFI kept logging me out, so had to sign in every time, there was not a lot of soap in the bathroom, we didn't get refills everyday.
Certified

Excellent place

, Fort Saskatchewan , Al
2023-06-18
Excellent place really enjoyed the time there ! Very clean staff were very nice. Food was excellent.! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Great Resort

, St. Johns, NL
2023-04-07
The resort was incredibly clean which is always my main concern. All staff were very friendly and very accommodating. The entertainment was decent especially the silent disco as I was reluctant to go bit was pleasantly surprised. Food was average. Size of the resort was perfect, felt safe and close to the beach. Never an issue getting chairs at beach and pool even though at full capacity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff and cleanliness.
Certified

Amazing!!!

, Whitecourt, AB
2023-03-11
Everything was clean, everyone was friendly and nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

A very nice get away

, Sarnia, ON
2023-03-04
My wife and I both had a great time at this resort. With it being a brand new resort we thought we might encounter some hiccups but everything was perfect. First, our room was excellent. We had a king sized bed which was comfortable to us and the TV had enough English speaking channels to choose from. We spent most of our time on our balcony after the shows, having fun watching people. Do yourself a favour and download the Riu app which allows you to order room cleaning,more pillows,towels,and restock your mini bar. The AC can be a bit loud and it also shuts off automatically when you open your balcony door. There are 5 pools and we spent most of our time around the entertainment pool which was fun. Did the waterslide a couple of times if that's what you're into. The entertainment staff are funny and the guests that get involved were fun to watch. If you need a snack, Pepe's food by the entertainment pool has hamburgers, hot dogs, french fries and tacos from 12 to 2 I believe. The 24 hour sports bar has lots of food available for late at night if need a snack. There are no Palapa's on the beach just a row of palm trees further back if you're looking for some shade. If you like to walk the beach then this one is perfect for that. They don't take reservations at the A la Carte's, it's first come first served. We consider ourselves foodies but not food snobs. The food was alright but not 5 star. There is enough to get you by. The nightly entertainment was not too bad as well but definitely not you're 5 star entertainment. The grounds and facilities are kept clean and very well maintained. My wife and I had a great time thanks to the efficiency of the staff on all levels. Thank you very much and we would consider coming back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Totally Awesome!!

, Kamloops, BC
2023-01-08
We have nothing but good things to say about RIU Latino, we were impressed with the facilities, food was great, staff was amazing, we would return in a minute, a solid 5 stars!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Simply Amazing!

, Chute A Blondeau, ON
2022-12-23
Loved this resort and will definitely go back. The staff, grounds, beach, pools and food were amazing. Could not have asked for anything more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Everything!
The weak points
None!
Sanitary measures
Felt very safe.
Certified

Disappointing

, Elgin, ON
2022-11-23
While the resort is beautiful and the staff do a wonderful job keeping it clean and are very friendly, I was disappointed with the following.

1. The noise is ridiculous; it's a party resort, if that's the vacation atmosphere you want, then you'll love it. The partying all day at the pools and in the disco is fine, doesn't bother me a bit, it was the constant yelling and screaming in the hallways from 2-5 am from partiers coming home that really put a damper on my vacation, I was so exhausted when I got home from lack of quality sleep.
2. No shade at the beach unless you're along the row of palms, but then you can't see the ocean.
3. Lack of quality tequila, I'm a tequila sipper and like good tequila, there was only Herradura at the sports bar and that was the extent of any type of "good tequila".
5. The "specialty" restaurants are not really as described, they're basically glorified buffets where you pretty much serve yourself, with the exception of one, and that menu is extremely limited.

I will not return to this resort, nor will I recommend it to anyone that isn't looking for an adult spring break atmosphere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach Location (if you don't want to do anything away from the resort)
The weak points
Noise Food/Beverage
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024