Riu Negril

Riu Negril
3.723.723.723.723.72
3.72 based on 213 reviews
#7 of 22 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (70)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Great!

, Oakville, ON
2024-02-24
Wonderful 2 week vacation, at Riu Negril. Very clean and kept up resort. Staff friendly and helpful. Entertainment OK.
Booked one a la carte, which was excellent. The buffet was so good, we didn't book any others. Would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Clean, great beach. Excellent dining.
The weak points
They use barcodes to view menus.Not helpful if you do not have a cell phone.
Certified

Vacation

, Calavogie, ON
2024-02-23
Riu Negril is awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Lovely hotel, good food and drinks.

, Hamilton, ON
2024-02-10
Afternoon Construction noise complaint bldg 1 was not resolved. Towels and coffee in rooms were rationed. Coffee was so weak you needed to use two packs per pot. Good coffee and service in buffet dining. Staff was friendly. Pools were quite cold. If you have a group going, take a taxi to avoid waiting on the bus for an hour before the 1.5 hr. ride. Outdoor tile flooring was slippery after rain. Suggest they roll out rubber mats to avoid falls. Overall, very clean hotel. Steak and Italian restaurants lacked garlic and spices. Mandalay restaurant was the best. Sushi, noodles, tempura all good there. Buffet dining had great salads and huge vegetarian options. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness, great buffet, awesome food at Mandalay.
The weak points
Bar fridge and coffee topped up every other day. Not enough coffee in rooms. Hot water shortage at peak times.
Certified

Riu Negril

, Rimbey, AB
2024-01-24
Over all we had a good experience. Good food, good variety, host keeping was awesome, all staff very friendly and accommodation. However we did find the WIFI a bit spotty especially while at the beach area, It would be nice if the evening buffet opened at 5:30 instead of 6:30 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, food,
The weak points
WIFI
Certified

My time in Negril

, Toronto, ON
2024-01-20
Hotel was great. Good food, entertainment, drinks, and we lucked out with amazing weather. Hotel and rooms were also very clean. Took a taxi to Rick's Cafe, great spot to check out. Food was ok but the vibe and views are worth the drive out for some drinks and snacks. Transport from the airline was the only complaint I have about our trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Entertainment and the entire team were a lot of fun. Big thanks to Jordini for always checking in and stopping by to make sure we were having a great time. Buffet had a lot of options. Hotel was clean.
The weak points
Airline and transport.
Sanitary measures
Floors were constantly being mopped, bathrooms attended to and daily housekeeping was great.
Certified

Sunwing & Riu Hotel (Negril)

, nanaimo, Br
2023-11-29
One of the few tropical vacations where everything went forward without a hitch. We travel to southern destinations a lot, and were extremely pleased with what we got through Sunwing and the Riu Hotel. The Appleton excursion is well worth the money and we enjoyed it thoroughly. We'll definitely return ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent food, staff were friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Need more reggae bands !
Sanitary measures
Very good.
Certified

Riu Negril, Jamaica

, Aylmer, ON
2023-11-16
We loved our time here, great family vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food, staff, beach (after raked)
The weak points
Seaweed on beach and sand fleas were bad
Sanitary measures
Good
Certified

Great Family Vacation!

, Bolton , ON
2023-06-09
We had a fantastic time on our big family vacation (10 adults/teens and 1 toddler)! Food was delicious and such a variety every day! Rooms were clean, comfortable and well kept. Pools and beach were very clean and well maintained. Service was mostly great with the exception of the odd rude employee. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Too Negril

, Edmonton, AB
2023-04-19
Was not impressed with having to line up and wait to get in to eat. Preferred having to reserve your time at the specialty/ala carte restaurants; not having food/snacks available 24/7 sucks. Also for smokers you designated areas to smoke; however I saw numerous butts all over! Placing more ashtrays could help! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Good food and drinks were great. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Pool with swim up bar needs to be cleaned more often. More bathrooms need to be positioned throughout complex; closer to the beach.
Certified

A great resort and beach layout

, Sudbury, ON
2023-04-17
The hotel was nice. Rooms were a good size. Lots of delicious food options. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Near the beach, lots of fun sea life to see, felt very safe, the merchants were friendly and kind, the food was delicious and the service was good.
The weak points
One evening, they sprayed for something at 6pm while people were around, it was disgusting and very unprofessional. A HUGE white cloud of smoke just swept the beach and pools and floated into the lobby. Lining up for restaurants was bad.
Certified

It was ok

, Bowmanville, ON
2023-03-11
The food in Buffet was great. Beach nice but hard to walk on and we got bit quite a bit. The pools were mostly boring . No disco. No one walking around pool to offer drinks, and some of the staff were seemingly grumpy. Rooms were small and need updating, housekeeping was fantastic . The alcohol in swim up bar was very watered down, I ordered vodka and it was like water, so overall I wouldn't go back. It was just ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food in buffet great. Very clean.
The weak points
Had to line up for a la cart restaurants. Most of the time didn't get in. Watered down alcohol. Little entertainment around pools. Rooms outdated and beds like rocks.
Certified

RIU Negril

, Toronto, ON
2023-03-06
This was first time for me to stay here. Very nice place. Very clean. The buffet was good. I can not say its was amazing, but they have enough variety of food to choose from. Staff very nice, very friendly.
white sand beach and water nice and relaxing.
Rooms are nice, spacious. Just one thing, they not provide body wash, no body lotion. Do bring it with you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
200
The weak points
55
Certified

Great resort, I will go back!

, Halifax, NS
2023-02-03
We had a great time at Riu Negil, the foot was fantastic and the entertainment was awesome! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Was ok

, Calgary, AB
2022-04-20
At first, the hotel seems nice on the pictures and I thought perhaps they just didn't do a good job marketing since it was a 5 star, but being there, I realized that the marketing is accurate. It's nothing to super brag about but it also wasn't bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beachfront, price was decent, room cleaning was generally good
The weak points
Staff was just ok, only a handful were very friendly, majority seemed a bit bothered by you, front desk took forever, bell boy service limited, there is only 1 kid friendly pool, the other 2 are mainly adults. Food was ok only
Certified

Great family vacation!

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-23
We had a wonderful family vacation and met so many nice people! The kids stayed free at this resort, which made this trip attainable! The entertainment crew was amazing! They went out of their way to get to know us and our kids loved them. They put on awesome shows! The food was really good and we didn't have any tummy troubles. The water at the beach is murky and I saw several sting rays close to shore. Most people stuck to the pool to cool down. There was plenty of loungers and umbrellas at the pool and trees on the beach to give shade. I always felt safe. I would love to go back to see some of the workers, but I would also like a different area of the beach which is better for swimming. There is a nice splash pad area with slides for the kids. Overall there wasn't many kids at the resort though. It is a long bus ride from the airport, but we enjoyed looking at everything. I would recommend this resort. I would rate it as a 4 1/2 star. We paid $4600 CAD for 2 adults and 2 kids (4,7) on a black friday sale. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Negril

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-15
Over all the experience was great, this was our second time to this resort. Would definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not a 5 star resort

, Thorold, ON
2019-12-23
I would go back if I had kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great bar tenders, good staff, good beach, good for relaxing
The weak points
Slow service, horrible bus ride, not much happening on resort. Itchy all over after staying here.
Certified

Beautiful Hotel

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-05-10
The hotel is beautiful. The beach is spectacular that I did not want to get out of the water I just wanted to soak it in as much as I could.
The food was very tasty and I enjoyed the variety of available options.
The rooms were well kept and the linens were clean and smelt really good
The bathroom is very important to me and they were well kept and cleaned and stocked with toiletries.
The staff were so friendly and you can tell they really enjoyed their jobs regardless of what their positions were
The entertainment was phenomenal and never stale or outdated. I was never bored and attended a show each night.
This hotel is a great choice for couples, families, solo travellers and sole support parents. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremly Friendly staff Beautiful grounds variety of food choices and very tasty Beautiful beach easy check in process and very efficient and fast
The weak points
None
Pro

Great experience !!!

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-31
This was our first trip with our 9 month year old baby boy and the hotel was very accomodating!! The staff were so friendly and kind to us. We had a wonderful stay and loved the food !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing and the staff were very friendly. We also loved the entertainment by the beach and pool !!
The weak points
We have no complaints at all
Certified

Great time

, Hamilton, ON
2019-03-30
Enjoyed the resort. Great beach. I had an ocean view room which was worth the extra money. Room was spacious and clean. Food was good. Yes, there were some people on the beach trying to sell various things, but If you said no they did not press. Staff was great. Shout out to Bones, Spotlight and Rolly Polley! Catch the singing bartender! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quick check in. Great staff. Really clean.
The weak points
Lined up for the restaurants early to get a table, but not really a huge issue. Got a drink from the bar and chatted with other guests...so bit of a social event!
Certified

Riu negril

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-13
Fantastic as usual. People are amazing. Beach is great. Food was excellent. Lots to do as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Singing bartender. What a voice.
The weak points
Late late night life is week
Certified

Another wonderful time at the Riu Negril

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-22
Very nice resort,clean rooms, lots of food options. Beach area is well maintained. Semi private beach,local vendors can be a bit aggressive but if dealt with politely will leave you alone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food options,cleaning staff,wait staff
The weak points
Didn't get our "Glad you're back sign "or complimentary bottle of champagne.Singing bartender was very rude.Bathroom floors very slippery.
Certified

Amazing week

, Lanark, ON
2019-01-16
We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. The staff was great. Our room was clean and comfy. The entertainment was plentiful. Lots to do and see. I would recommend this resort to everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sunsets were the most beautiful I have ever seen
Certified

Riu Negril

, Kirkland, QC
2018-07-31
The most amazing trip I have experienced to this day. Went with a best friend of mine. The entertainers/workers made us feel even better than at home. So friendly, amazing food and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainers, staff, bar service, friendly, amazing food, good cleanliness
The weak points
Cleaning service in the room, beaches and ocean ( lots of seaweed) and lots of haggle from the locals.
Certified

Rui Negril ****

, Chilliwack, BC
2017-12-15
This Hotel was alot of fun! ALL Staff were very helpful, polite and always greeting with a happy smile. Our room had amazing view, we were in a ocean view, but moved to a ocean front 2days into our holiday because we asked for a full king bed. Ocean front view was amazing as well, however, i found that the ocean view gave you a better bigger view cuz we had a tree blocking part of our view in the ocean front view room.
Drinks tasted oh so good! Must ask for a "bob marley" or "purple passion".
Snuba & Scuba guys "Sain and Krazy" were alot of fun! If you go no doubt they will find you~ lol Be careful around the pool boys/life guards, they are a huge flirt. lol but all in fun!
Food: We recommend you try all places, the buffet is good but its a hit or miss in what you may want to eat. We bounced a lot. Italian had the best Salmon! Asian had sushi, Singapore dish-delicious, best deep fried prawns i've ever ate. Seagull restaurant was ok, i preferred the shish kabob steak over a steak. The purple looking restaurant wasn't all that good, we ate once and never returned.
Overall our trip was amazing and perhaps after we travel to other destinations, we will return to Negril, Jamaica. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Team!!! They were amazing & tons of fun! Bar thats open 24hrs. Wear water shoes in Ocean! cant stress this enough.
The weak points
Careful with beach vendors.
Certified

Riu Negril

, Montréal, QC
2017-07-17
The hotel was more than I expected. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff at the resort were excellent and always greeted me with a good morning, or afternoon or evening, and they always made sure that everything was good. Excellent facilities and the nightly entertainment was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, facilities were very clean.
The weak points
Cannot make reservations at the restaurant and one you had to have dress pants to get in, dress shorts are not good enough, that is my only complaint of the resort.
Certified

Honeymoon Dec 8 the to the 16th 2016

, Chatham, ON
2016-12-18
The Riu in Negril is absolutely amazing !!! The price was right the staff was amazing Lennox got us settled in right away and we seen him every day with a big smile and asking us how we are doing he even made sure he came and said goodbye !!! The Food and drinks were amazing also I have not one bad thing to say about any of it !!! The whole hotel was kept clean and tidy our room was always spotless and fridge restocked perfectly. The entertainment staff was excellent from the morning right into the evening festivities ! The Sunday night from show and Thursday night around the world show were our favourite. We did 2 excursions 1st reggae culture up to 9 mile to see Bob Marley Estate and 2nd the catamaran cruise right off the beach there to go snorkeling and to Rick's Cafe and Margaritaville !the aunsets were breathtaking and the beach was always cleaned up nightly and ready for another day. Just awesome...we have visited all the islands now and this was #1 in our books we are already planning our next trip back in 2017! This time we are bringing a group with us !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants and all the staff
The weak points
The beach had a lot of seaweed ..make sure to being water shoes and floating devices.
Certified

RIU Negril

, Peterborough, ON
2016-09-27
Great service at all restaurants, the staff were all very friendly. The steakhouse - had a great rib eye, the Mandalay - great buffet of Asian food. The Green Island- buffet, lots of variety, all good.
Other reviews I looked at prior to going mentioned lots of mosquitoes and sand fleas, I did not have any issues with insects. Only saw one mosquitos during the whole trip. The jerk chicken on the beach was delicious a must try. Shout out to
Dalton the bartender at the 24hr sports bar and Romeo who worked on the beach always there to fill you drink mugs.
If you are a smoker there are lots of smoking areas, basically any open area except for the pool area. As it was slow season no reservations were required for the a-la-carte restaurants.
Kayaks, stand up paddle boards, sailboats and paddle boats are free to use.
Take a snorkel as within the roped off swimming area out towards the bouys there is coral - lots of fish, starfish, sting rays. Be careful of any areas with seaweed as the sea urchins are in these areas.
I will definitely return to this resort. Had a great trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU NEGRIL THUMBS UP!

, Woodbridge, ON
2016-07-31
Our Family of four stayed at the RIU NEGRIL HOTEL. We had a wonderful time, the staff was wonderful, the food was excellent and the entertainment was amazing. We will be going back to RIU Negril for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and wonderful. Service was excellent.
Certified

Excellent clean resort

, Mississauga, ON
2016-05-31
Was greated with a smile n willingness to help. I accompanied a disabled lady and the help I received was absolutely amazing .The hotel, lounge and beach area was very clean and well cared for. We even had a singing bartender that everyone would gather to listen to him . Awesome resort to visit . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome hospitality . Very clean excellent food minutes walk to dining areas and the beach .
The weak points
Cannot say anything negative .
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024