Riu Negril

3.693.693.693.693.69
Riu Negril
#5 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
3.69 based on 198 reviews
Traveller pictures (56)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Great family vacation!

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-23
We had a wonderful family vacation and met so many nice people! The kids stayed free at this resort, which made this trip attainable! The entertainment crew was amazing! They went out of their way to get to know us and our kids loved them. They put on awesome shows! The food was really good and we didn't have any tummy troubles. The water at the beach is murky and I saw several sting rays close to shore. Most people stuck to the pool to cool down. There was plenty of loungers and umbrellas at the pool and trees on the beach to give shade. I always felt safe. I would love to go back to see some of the workers, but I would also like a different area of the beach which is better for swimming. There is a nice splash pad area with slides for the kids. Overall there wasn't many kids at the resort though. It is a long bus ride from the airport, but we enjoyed looking at everything. I would recommend this resort. I would rate it as a 4 1/2 star. We paid $4600 CAD for 2 adults and 2 kids (4,7) on a black friday sale. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Negril

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-15
Over all the experience was great, this was our second time to this resort. Would definitely go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not a 5 star resort

, Thorold, ON
2019-12-23
I would go back if I had kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great bar tenders, good staff, good beach, good for relaxing
The weak points
Slow service, horrible bus ride, not much happening on resort. Itchy all over after staying here.
Certified

Beautiful Hotel

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-05-10
The hotel is beautiful. The beach is spectacular that I did not want to get out of the water I just wanted to soak it in as much as I could.
The food was very tasty and I enjoyed the variety of available options.
The rooms were well kept and the linens were clean and smelt really good
The bathroom is very important to me and they were well kept and cleaned and stocked with toiletries.
The staff were so friendly and you can tell they really enjoyed their jobs regardless of what their positions were
The entertainment was phenomenal and never stale or outdated. I was never bored and attended a show each night.
This hotel is a great choice for couples, families, solo travellers and sole support parents. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremly Friendly staff Beautiful grounds variety of food choices and very tasty Beautiful beach easy check in process and very efficient and fast
The weak points
None
Pro

Great experience !!!

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-31
This was our first trip with our 9 month year old baby boy and the hotel was very accomodating!! The staff were so friendly and kind to us. We had a wonderful stay and loved the food !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was amazing and the staff were very friendly. We also loved the entertainment by the beach and pool !!
The weak points
We have no complaints at all
Certified

Great time

, Hamilton, ON
2019-03-30
Enjoyed the resort. Great beach. I had an ocean view room which was worth the extra money. Room was spacious and clean. Food was good. Yes, there were some people on the beach trying to sell various things, but If you said no they did not press. Staff was great. Shout out to Bones, Spotlight and Rolly Polley! Catch the singing bartender! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quick check in. Great staff. Really clean.
The weak points
Lined up for the restaurants early to get a table, but not really a huge issue. Got a drink from the bar and chatted with other guests...so bit of a social event!
Certified

Riu negril

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-13
Fantastic as usual. People are amazing. Beach is great. Food was excellent. Lots to do as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Singing bartender. What a voice.
The weak points
Late late night life is week
Certified

Another wonderful time at the Riu Negril

, Edmonton, AB
2019-02-22
Very nice resort,clean rooms, lots of food options. Beach area is well maintained. Semi private beach,local vendors can be a bit aggressive but if dealt with politely will leave you alone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food options,cleaning staff,wait staff
The weak points
Didn't get our "Glad you're back sign "or complimentary bottle of champagne.Singing bartender was very rude.Bathroom floors very slippery.
Certified

Amazing week

, Lanark, ON
2019-01-16
We had a wonderful time. The food was excellent. The staff was great. Our room was clean and comfy. The entertainment was plentiful. Lots to do and see. I would recommend this resort to everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The sunsets were the most beautiful I have ever seen
Certified

Riu Negril

, Kirkland, QC
2018-07-31
The most amazing trip I have experienced to this day. Went with a best friend of mine. The entertainers/workers made us feel even better than at home. So friendly, amazing food and service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainers, staff, bar service, friendly, amazing food, good cleanliness
The weak points
Cleaning service in the room, beaches and ocean ( lots of seaweed) and lots of haggle from the locals.
Certified

Rui Negril ****

, Chilliwack, BC
2017-12-15
This Hotel was alot of fun! ALL Staff were very helpful, polite and always greeting with a happy smile. Our room had amazing view, we were in a ocean view, but moved to a ocean front 2days into our holiday because we asked for a full king bed. Ocean front view was amazing as well, however, i found that the ocean view gave you a better bigger view cuz we had a tree blocking part of our view in the ocean front view room.
Drinks tasted oh so good! Must ask for a "bob marley" or "purple passion".
Snuba & Scuba guys "Sain and Krazy" were alot of fun! If you go no doubt they will find you~ lol Be careful around the pool boys/life guards, they are a huge flirt. lol but all in fun!
Food: We recommend you try all places, the buffet is good but its a hit or miss in what you may want to eat. We bounced a lot. Italian had the best Salmon! Asian had sushi, Singapore dish-delicious, best deep fried prawns i've ever ate. Seagull restaurant was ok, i preferred the shish kabob steak over a steak. The purple looking restaurant wasn't all that good, we ate once and never returned.
Overall our trip was amazing and perhaps after we travel to other destinations, we will return to Negril, Jamaica. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment Team!!! They were amazing & tons of fun! Bar thats open 24hrs. Wear water shoes in Ocean! cant stress this enough.
The weak points
Careful with beach vendors.
Certified

Riu Negril

, Montréal, QC
2017-07-17
The hotel was more than I expected. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The staff at the resort were excellent and always greeted me with a good morning, or afternoon or evening, and they always made sure that everything was good. Excellent facilities and the nightly entertainment was awesome. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, facilities were very clean.
The weak points
Cannot make reservations at the restaurant and one you had to have dress pants to get in, dress shorts are not good enough, that is my only complaint of the resort.
Certified

Honeymoon Dec 8 the to the 16th 2016

, Chatham, ON
2016-12-18
The Riu in Negril is absolutely amazing !!! The price was right the staff was amazing Lennox got us settled in right away and we seen him every day with a big smile and asking us how we are doing he even made sure he came and said goodbye !!! The Food and drinks were amazing also I have not one bad thing to say about any of it !!! The whole hotel was kept clean and tidy our room was always spotless and fridge restocked perfectly. The entertainment staff was excellent from the morning right into the evening festivities ! The Sunday night from show and Thursday night around the world show were our favourite. We did 2 excursions 1st reggae culture up to 9 mile to see Bob Marley Estate and 2nd the catamaran cruise right off the beach there to go snorkeling and to Rick's Cafe and Margaritaville !the aunsets were breathtaking and the beach was always cleaned up nightly and ready for another day. Just awesome...we have visited all the islands now and this was #1 in our books we are already planning our next trip back in 2017! This time we are bringing a group with us !!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants and all the staff
The weak points
The beach had a lot of seaweed ..make sure to being water shoes and floating devices.
Certified

RIU Negril

, Peterborough, ON
2016-09-27
Great service at all restaurants, the staff were all very friendly. The steakhouse - had a great rib eye, the Mandalay - great buffet of Asian food. The Green Island- buffet, lots of variety, all good.
Other reviews I looked at prior to going mentioned lots of mosquitoes and sand fleas, I did not have any issues with insects. Only saw one mosquitos during the whole trip. The jerk chicken on the beach was delicious a must try. Shout out to
Dalton the bartender at the 24hr sports bar and Romeo who worked on the beach always there to fill you drink mugs.
If you are a smoker there are lots of smoking areas, basically any open area except for the pool area. As it was slow season no reservations were required for the a-la-carte restaurants.
Kayaks, stand up paddle boards, sailboats and paddle boats are free to use.
Take a snorkel as within the roped off swimming area out towards the bouys there is coral - lots of fish, starfish, sting rays. Be careful of any areas with seaweed as the sea urchins are in these areas.
I will definitely return to this resort. Had a great trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU NEGRIL THUMBS UP!

, Woodbridge, ON
2016-07-31
Our Family of four stayed at the RIU NEGRIL HOTEL. We had a wonderful time, the staff was wonderful, the food was excellent and the entertainment was amazing. We will be going back to RIU Negril for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was very friendly and wonderful. Service was excellent.
Certified

Excellent clean resort

, Mississauga, ON
2016-05-31
Was greated with a smile n willingness to help. I accompanied a disabled lady and the help I received was absolutely amazing .The hotel, lounge and beach area was very clean and well cared for. We even had a singing bartender that everyone would gather to listen to him . Awesome resort to visit . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome hospitality . Very clean excellent food minutes walk to dining areas and the beach .
The weak points
Cannot say anything negative .
Certified

LOVE JAMAICA

, Milton, ON
2016-03-14
I love Jamaica and I just loved this resort. The best was the jerk chicken on the beach :). The beach was great, amazing people. Please if you go bring some men's shoes for the grounds keepers - they were working in awful broken shoes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach, rooms, location.
The weak points
pool isn't the best, but you don't need it with a beach like they have.

Riu Negril

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-21
Loved it, loved it, loved it. The rooms were very quiet. Really like the rooms being away from the action. Lots of beach. Never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for anything. Our favorite tropical vacation yet! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved it all!
The weak points
Nothing worth mentioning.
Certified

Wonderful time

, Toronto, ON
2015-12-06
Beautifully totally refurbished like a brand new hotel. Food great, beach lovely; staff very obliging and helpful. Snorkling a small coral reef just off the beach was fun daily.Some rooms can be very far from lobby area if mobility is an issue.Had lovely 9 days there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything fresh and new. Staff happy to serve after 3 mos. layoff.
The weak points
Very long distances to walk on property if assigned to building 4
Certified

Riu Negril negril jamaica

, Riverview, NB
2015-04-12
we had the time of our lives.every employee that we encountered was professional and eager to assist us .the food was exceptional.The young man, Romeo,i believe was his, who worked at the beach bar was outstanding.always smiling and friendly. definitely going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff definitely made the trip.the sights where amazing ,the food fantastic.
The weak points
the peddlers on the beach where a bit pushy but we understand its how they make a living.
Certified

Went for the warmth

, Guelph, ON
2015-04-02
This is a nice enough hotel but needs some updating. Closing this summer for renovations that were delayed last year. Our arrival did not set it up well. Almost 2 hour wait at the airport to leave for the hotel and then a stop at a horrible beer joint on the way that was actually not too far from the hotel. Did not appreciate the stop or the delay. When we arrived it was not dinner but way past lunch so there was only hours old food out. Thankfully the food for the rest of the week was very good.
Reservations for specialty restaurant taken 2 days ahead only and you had to wait in line to do it; should be a flexible booking system. I don't think the hotel knows their audience. Pool bar full of kids and floating toys even with the loud music. They also fogged the grounds for bugs with no warning. People had to run to their rooms and get the kids away from it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was nice, water very warm, very calm and clear most days. Buffet was very good.
The weak points
No waves, but that was good for kids. Constant noise from music hard to escape from. Bug fogging grounds with no warning.
Certified

Below expectations

, Brooks, AB
2015-04-01
power failures on a regular bases. bathtub too narrow. when asked for someone to come fix dispenser, know one showed. housekeeping very good and friendly. shows were excellent. too many hustlers and too much pot smoking in public [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and food service, cleaning staff, entertainment
The weak points
pot smoking, electrical issues, maintenance
Certified

Jamaican Vacation with the Riu Negril

, Ottawa, ON
2014-12-22
The beach at the Riu was very beautiful, more like a lake than an ocean as there were no large waves. A short shuttle brings you to 7 mile beach which was probably the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. While the units are a little outdated, the rooms were spotless and the bed very comfortable, our highlight was the awesome shower. Lots of pressure and hot water. Our weather was not great on this trip but this was hardly the hotels fault. We found the food very good (better than in Mexico)but lacking in the fruit department. Highlight for me was the Tetley tea! We did take an excursion on a party Catamaran to Rick's Café and this was a trip worth taking. We stopped briefly to snorkel at some caves, there was beautiful coral but no fish in sight. The atmosphere at Rick's was electric, there were cliff divers, food and entertainment...a must see. We enjoyed our stay, but if we returned it would not be in rainy season. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and food
The weak points
bug bombing at high traffic times...6pm?? ridiculous!
Certified

A Great Week in Negril

, Hamilton, ON
2014-11-26
The resort was really nice. Food and service was great. Most of the shows were good. One night was really bad though. Some updating needed but overall it was a great time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the beach. Food was really good. Service was excellent.
The weak points
Room smelt a bit musty on arrival. Didn't like the way they reserved the a la carte meals.
Certified

Over all good

, Montreal, QC
2014-03-23
The hotel is ok, says 5 STARS But feels like 4. the A/C in the room is not working well... The big Minus is that we bought "All Inclusive" and ending up PAYING FOR ALL THE ACTIVITIES ! ! ! no Idea what is "All Inclusive" mean for them .... Better check next time. Missing Activities if you are an active person and looking for sport activities or any entertainment...then not for you over all the people are very nice just annoying with the tips all day long ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach very clean
The weak points
lack of activities in the resort very expensive activities annoying with the tips all day long not "all inclusive"
Certified

Jamaica

, Kitchner, ON
2014-03-13
Good except for all the smokers every where. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Not the same food all the time
Certified

Wonderful Place

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2014-03-10
Very nice hotel. Loved the beach and easy to walk along the bay. The bay was calm, there are no big waves crashing in. We had to change rooms as we were given 2 double beds and a cot for 3 adults. The front desk was very accommodating and changed our room the next day to a king size bed and a single bed. The bathrooms were a little old but we never ran out of hot water. The bar was stocked every second day but there was a lot of booze given. The only downfall is making reservations for a restaurant. You could only reserve for 2 days ahead and they were always full after half an hour after opening for the early seating at 6:30. We found the second seating at 9:00 was too late. I loved how everything was so close to get to ... the beach, pool, jerk chicken hut, bar hut, buffets, lobby, everything was close by. I did not feel crowded and we always got a chair on the beach at any time of the day. There are no huts on the beach for shade but there are a lot of trees. If you are planning an excursion to Ocho Rios, it is a long drive. We were on the bus for 13 hours just to visit Bob Marley's house and the Dunn's River Falls. I would go back here any time but not do any excursions that far away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The place is clean, friendly and very accommodating.
The weak points
Having to reserve for dinner everyday and not getting in. The distance from the airport.
Certified

Riu Negril

, Moorefield, ON
2014-03-07
We came with a large party for our wedding 20 people. There were minor issues with 4 out of 10 rooms that did get addressed but took a few days for each. (air, broken shower, telephone and TV) Staff for most part friendly some of them though not as attentive. The spa services included in our wedding package (hair, makeup, massages) were all professional and relaxing. However in our wedding package we were supposed to get a free room upgrade included in our package and this was not provided to us. The Dj was paid for 2 hours but he honestly played only 3 songs and then packed up. The photographers had offered us a 10% discount on our agreed upon price but this was also never received. On the bright side we did receive a disc with over 200 wedding pictures. Our room cleaner Winsome was phenomenal and very friendly with us and our 2 year old. Even giving us a gorgeous conch shell (largest I have ever seen) as a wedding present. Breakfast in bed the day following the wedding was a nice touch as well. The grounds are well kept. The entertainment staff are friendly and do a good job of keeping things happening on the resort. Two seperate groups on the day they were leaving got into accidents on their busrides back to the airport. Both within an hour of each other. The food was decent however we did find it often quite repetitive and the snack shack that was open after 11:00 pm quite often people had a tough time choosing what to eat as often the food was pretty obscure and not real snack food. However some nights there was pizza and nachos or a few other snack foods available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Rooms
The weak points
Long walk from rooms to main area
Certified

Very nice resort

, Minnedosa, MB
2014-03-05
Riu Negril was a very fun, well looked after resort. Food was very good,staff friendly & helpfull. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, clean, comfortable.
The weak points
location not great for sunset viewing, best to be further down the beach, Riu tropical bay resort may be worth the extra $.
Certified

Gives rui chain a bad name

, Whitby, ON
2014-02-25
not what i expected from a rui after being at 9 rui before [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the best thing about this resort was the beach
The weak points
service was very poor
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?