Fun Holiday Beach Resort

3.163.163.163.163.16
Fun Holiday Beach Resort
#14 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
3.16 based on 76 reviews
Traveller pictures (44)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

True to it's name!!!

, Dunnville, ON
2020-02-02
We have been to 5 star resorts but even though this one is a 3 star I enjoyed it far more than any vacation ever. The buildings were needing some repair but the quaint garden rooms were a delight. The whole atmosphere was friendly and cheerful and the staff were outstanding. Loved them all! Rooms were cleaned daily and were stocked with necessities.The beach man worked very hard to keep the white sands beautifully clean. There was no shampoo or body wash supplied but most people bring their own and spare the environment the extra plastic garbage. In future this will be my destination for Jamaica. Thanks to Donavan for his extra special attention ....wonderful barman [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff.... beach.... no hassle from peddlers super friendly people on the street so there was no fear of walking to all the nearby shops The food was very good never ran out and lots to eat
The weak points
Buildings need a little maintainance but they are working on that

A nice time!

, Trenton, ON
2019-05-07
Overall I had a nice time staying here and had a nice break and relaxing time on the beach. I liked it was a small resort, not crowded,and close to the beach. The dining area was also right by the beach which I liked. I was surprised though they didn't have shampoo or body wash but I had been pre-informed so I had brought my own. I was also surprised they charged extra for the fridge and safe. Meals were only served at certain times and were often late so I was hungry with nothing to snack on in-between so I had to "smuggle" food from meals up to my room to snack on in-between meals. The staff was very nice and they look they other way if you smoke weed. Beware of the hustlers on the beach though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not too big. Close to the beach. Easy to find my way around. Nice staff. Good food.
The weak points
No snacks in-between. Pay extra for safe and fridge.

FUN HOLIDAY....❤️

, Thunder Bay, ON
2018-09-23
The staff at Fun Holiday Beach Resort were outstanding, Willie the security guard was Glendon And my favourite [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Recomended

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-24
Very good price, great food, can't really be any closer to the beach. Did our room look a bit like prison cell? Yes. Was it a problem for that price and did it affect the overall experience? Definitely not.

There was some confusion about boat trips, hotel staff said they can't help with that and one has to speak to boat guys on the beach (who overcharge and it's difficult to get them to tell you what are you actually buying). And then I overheard the manager complaining that people do not book through the hotel (???). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, food, beach, surprisingly good wifi.
The weak points
Loud music at night, but this will be true for ANY resort in Negril :-)
Certified

Bad

, North York, ON
2017-10-14
The room was great. Tanisha, Gary and Yogi were awesome. Apart from that everything was a mess. There need to be some organization and accountability in the dining area. Food was not serve on time. They need to prepare more food. There were guess who end up with no food because they did not prepare enough. Even if you eat an need more, there is nothing to get. On the grill menu if you order anything, you have to wait for almost two hours to get it. We went to the bar and there were no fruits to make the drinks you nee, no beer and nothing to make the Pina calada. It was a terrible. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Quaint but Outdated

, Barrie, ON
2017-09-28
Our experience at this hotel was different. The airline must take responsibility for their mis-information of this resort. We were told one thing (a 4 star when it is "maybe" a 2) and found it is outdated, small, diningroom is small, food is just ok. There was never anyone at the swim up bar. We were told it was "off season", so there was less staff. Disappointing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most staff is great. Beach is gorgeous. Mike, beach security, was very tentative. Colin's of Colin's Tours was excellent and very reasonable.
The weak points
Tiny, outdated rooms. No hot water in the shower in our 1st room. Meals ok. All Inclusive-NO. Meals are timed/alcohol timed. Entertainment-DJ. Plain & Simple!

Fun Holiday Beach, (Negril)

, Brampton, ON
2015-03-29
This resort is at a very good location and has a lot of potential to be a pleasant holiday destination. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
For the most part, the staffers were quite friendly and were eager to please. We felt relatively safe. For sunset lovers, this is a great location to watch the sun set. The beach is gorgeous and non threatening.
The weak points
Poor entertainment, weakly organized and poorly planned activities. Meal times weren't properly observed. Had to wait in line constantly. A menu and activity display board would be helpful.
Certified

Our problem is no problem to them (Jamon)

, Calgary, AB
2014-11-26
The room was ok, Jannifer the cleaning lady was exlent and front desk for pretty good too, restaurant need big improbment, they never started the buffet on time, if you order from the menu i had to wait more than an hour for the food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the facilities are right there, Love the small resort because it was very imformal place.
The weak points
we saw cockroch in our room and in the restaurant,too many flys at the bar,no soap or paper towel and tissue in the restroom,even asking for few times, pool and zaccusi was not clean.
Certified

You get a little less than you expect

, Guelph, ON
2014-02-19
the room was less than 1 star the furniture is very old and run down, the whole place needs painting and thorough cleaning!! the staff were all very friendly and eager to assist with whatever you request. the food was typically Jamaican, but with very little variety. we paid for all-inclusive but were told that after 10 pm the bars were cash bars…never experienced that before at an all-inclusive!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendly staff, beach was the best I've ever seen. location and surrounding area great!
The weak points
whole place needs updating!!! paint!!! and thorough cleaning of bathrooms especially!!! furniture is old and rundown, even the dining furniture at the buffet!! entertainment was mediocre and repetitive from week to week. sunset views were awesome.
Certified

Will Go Back if the price is right

, Kingston, NS
2014-02-17
I would return to this hotel only if it was on a sale price. This is the smallest resort I have ever stayed at, only steps to the beach from the rooms, great food & staff were awesome. That being said they have to really check on their supply of beer and rum as they would run out on a daily basis. It would be a 1-2 hr wait sometimes before the they would have more. It is a No Frills Hotel. But there the beach is amazing and you are in walking distance to everything. I would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing, the security on the beach was nothing I have ever seen. They (Mr. Brown & Stanley) were always making sure we were not being bothered by the locals. Dinning room staff were very friendly and accommodating. The Food was FANTASTIC!!!
The weak points
We were all inclusive, and on a daily basis they would run out of Beer, the Rum, then Vodka, they would get it but it was always a 1-2hr wait. Did not like this. We would have to go buy beer down the beach for $1.20 a bottle.
Certified

Good value for price

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-29
The location was AWESOME, great restaurants close. Felt safe walking everywhere. Resort is small but decent. Food choices were limited but tasted good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic location & beach. Nice to walk out your room & be at the beach in under a minute.
The weak points
Resort needs a bit of TLC
Certified

Fun holiday beach resort review

, Brockville, ON
2014-01-22
tried to screw me on my room (booked ocean view and they tried to give me a room overlooking the local dump ) You need to have security walk you up the beach if you don't want to be accosted by the locals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location in the middle of 7 mile beach
The weak points
no hot water / very low water pressure/ security keeping vendors at bay is non-existent / very miniimal food choices
Certified

Great vacation for what we paid

, Spencerville, ON
2014-01-09
First impressions weren't good but once you give it a chance you learn to like it.
The room needs upgrading, the showers are usually cool and the food is nothing to rave about but we were fine. We were rarely in the room and we both gained a little weight so it wasn't that bad.
Vendors on the beach can be very annoying but we realize they need to make a living.
On New Year's Eve my Boyfriend was on the beach at a picnic table in front of our resort and a guy brought his "friend " (a female prostitute ) over to meet him. I had been gone for maybe 5 min. To go to the bathroom. I didn't like walking on the beach by myself because creepy men would walk along with you trying to pick you up. Probably male prostitutes.
Inside the resort was fine but there were a few people who had "guests " stay with them but that happens at resorts everywhere.
You have to just ignore it and the people selling and smoking pot everywhere unless that is what you are going for-not for us but to each his own.
We met some great people, had good weather & spent most of the day at the beach so we had a really good time. We would probably return if we got a similar deal as the one we got this year! :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous beach & ocean Staff Small, friendly size of resort
The weak points
Vendors on the beach bothering you. Prostitutes and men trying to pick people up when walking the beach. Only had cool showers. Would like at least 1 hot one. Have to ask for a bedspread Food was limited and just okay. Narrow/short beach area
Certified

Small Friendly resort

, Laval, QC
2013-12-12
This is a small resort, which is what I wanted exactly. If you want touristy this isn't the place, it's like visiting family! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is extremely friendly, the food was good, the beach was beautiful
The weak points
none
Certified

Great vacation for the price

, Scarborough, ON
2013-12-02
This is our 4th time at the resort so we knew what to expect: bring your own beach towels, shampoo, hairdryer, wine. They have improved in several areas since our last visit (coffee all day, better beach chairs, only ran out of bar supplies once) Any problems with the room or requests were quickly addressed: toilet fixed within 30 min light bulb changed by the time we got back from dinner, a request for a second room key was delivered within one hour. We mentioned that the soup at lunch and dinner had too much black pepper, and from then on the soup was perfect). All staff were friendly and helpful. This year most(?) rooms didn't have a bedspread (only 1 thin top sheet). Other guests complained that they were cold. We never use the bedspreads and always bring a flannel sheet to use as a blanket instead. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small friendly boutique resort right on the beach. Room had good firm beds, A/C and satelite TV worked great. Saturday beach party food and entertainment were the highlights
The weak points
Had some problems with the toilet but it was quickly fixed. At most meals the dishes were not labelled so some meals were a mystery. What looked like pizza on toast was actually a tuna melt or corn beef melt. A shock to the taste buds!
Certified

Funky & fun

, Sutton, QC
2013-10-02
Clean & unusual. Great staff, & after a
short time we felt like we belonged...
A wonderful experience. So much fun we
are booked for 3 weeks in 2014. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and the size of the Hotel. Not too big, just right !
The weak points
none, that come to mind.
Certified

It wasn't the same

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-07-14
Sorry, people for the delay of this review, but due to mobility issues was unable to get to my computer until now.

Last year I gave this resort a lot of leeway but this year, I'm disappointed. I take into consideration it's a maybe 2* wanting to be a 3*, but you have to put some effort and money into your business. With the money they are charging and the little they pay in wages, the owner should be able to upgrade or at least upkeep this gem in the rough. The owner was not available to address the concerns of some very irate guests. Maybe, too, if the owner allowed his bar staff the inventory, instead of running out of hard liquor, beer and mixes, he wouldn't be going through staff like flour in a sifter. The poor staff had to endure the wrath of the comments or irate guests as did the very kind Sunwing Representative.

Unless you're up at the buffet right when food is out for all meals, food is sparingly replaced and unless you go somewhere else, you'll go hungry. Several occasions we had to go out to eat even though we paid for the AI and we aren't ones to sleep past 8:00a.m.

We were kind enough to bring some plastic ashtrays as last year they never had any...they used styrofoam cups with sand. We still have not received as much as a thank you.

We never saw any positive changes or upgrades from our stay last year.

We aren't the 5* frilly people...all we need is a bed to lay our head and good food and drink for a great vacation.

Negril is a beautiful place; beautiful sunset and beach but sad to say we won't be staying at Fun Holiday next year. It's up to you to form your own opinion. I can't be anymore honest. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, sunset and staff...it's the staff, not the owner that makes the place.
The weak points
Running out of ice and running out of food...not much variety in food on buffet and charged $6.00US for Red Stripe at swim up bar. AI bar closed when we arrived, due to delayed flight and no food. Hadn't eaten for almost 12 hrs.
Certified

Not too Fun at Fun Holiday

, Ddo, QC
2013-04-22
The hotel was ok. But the food and beverages were not. The pool was very dirty. Staff acted like it costs to smile, no bartender many times, almost like we had to beg for service. They ran out of everything including beer, rum, vodka, fruits, food, bowls, plates, glasses etc. No syrup for 2 days, but pancakes and french toast at every breakfast. No entertainment, no wifi in common areas, no beach grill as described. Music was almost never on, everything closed early. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was really nice, lot's of shade and chairs. The rooms were good and the cleaning ladies were excellent.
The weak points
The food was terrible. Very bland, repetitive. No beach grill as specified, food was always finished and they had no more. No rum, no beer, no ice, broken blender. Was not impresse. Staff was not to friendly and never around. Pool very dirty.
Certified

Disappointed but get what you pay for

, Cambridge, ON
2013-04-03
should of spent more---- only had week off [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cheap--- but expect 3 stars
The weak points
small buffet - and repetitive ran out od alcohol---all the time no wine
Certified

Great Resort if your easy going

, Niagara Falls, ON
2013-03-14
The staff and the location made the holiday awesome. The resort offers all the basics it's not fancy or fussy. No need for fancy clothes, dress casual and kick back, relax and you'll have a ball. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and location. Although the buffet is small in comparison to 5 star properties, everything we ate was delicious.
The weak points
The bar ran out of supplies. Table cloths should be changed after every meal service. The owners should buy a dishwasher for the kitchen staff so they don't have to wash everything by hand.
Certified

Be Patient, tip and you MUST love local food..

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-10
Everyday was different.. Some days the staff was happy to serve you, some days it felt like we were pestering them to serve us drinks... We knew what we paid for so we all went with an open mind and patient soul. At the end of the day, you're still fortunate to be in Jamaica! I would go back to Negril but to a different resort... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location for parties, food, beach bars. Used to be a spring break party resort.. Not in 2013!!
The weak points
Always ran out of food, felt like we shouldn't "indulge" so there would be some food left for others!
Certified

Fun Helliday...

, Ottawa, ON
2013-03-06
Having been at this hotel last year, I knew what to expect... Which was awful food, no local beer served but nice staff.. Rooms were clean, intermittent water. Closes down at 10 pm. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff.. And nice looking... Made for an enjoyable vacay...
The weak points
Bad food, no red stripe beer, bad liquor for an all inc.
Certified

Yamon Holiday

, Edmonton, AB
2013-02-23
The beach is the Best part of this hotel. The ocean is shallow and gentle and almost anyone could swim here...unless there is a strom which we had two days of rough but still my husband could swim.
The hotel needs more maintence than they are giving it. Water in the rooms was a issue but apparantly this is a common problem. However they could make things better if there faucets functioned better.Often the water would be off for periods of time then back on.
There is no telephones in the room so every time you have a problem you must walk to reception.
Our air conditioner was old and VERY noisy.They came to fix it when the remote for it wasn't functioning and that worked but to fix the extreme rattle they just stuffed newspaper into where it was loose from the wall.
The staff our freindly but that is every place you go in Jamanica.
The food was OK.It got a bit boring and they did not have alot of fresh vegetables,especially lettuce salads.Always cabbage salads. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
see above
Certified

Negril

, Pickering, ON
2013-02-19
overall would go again... second time at this location.. food is way better than last year...thanks to Brendon(cook) and Richard (cook) don't forget to tip the staff!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, food, staff
The weak points
manager almost non existant...took along time if there were any problems to get a response from the manager/owner.vernon could fix up the hotel a bit...new chairs on beach, hotel needs some tlc...
Certified

You get what you pay for

, London, ON
2013-02-05
Because this is a small resort you get to know alot of people, the staff are incredible. The resort is in need of an upgrade [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff are exceptional
The weak points
needs an upgrade
Certified

Great fun at Fun Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2012-08-27
My wife and I had great fun at Fun Holiday, good food, friendly staff, nice strong drinks and a great location. Rooms were very basic, but immaculately clean. Word of warning, if you're looking for the kinds of services and entertainment you get at a big resort keep looking, but if you want a beautiful stretch of beach, a nice central location close to night life and don't need a lot of organized activities to keep you busy during the day Fun Holiday is ideal. We'll definitely be back. Special shout out to chef Robert, he makes the best jerk in Negril and he can get you anything you need during your stay. Also big shout out to Richard the security guy, on the rare occasions when beach vendors got overly aggressive he would just appear as if by magic at my shoulder, I can take care of myself, but it was very reassuring. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Location and a super friendly staff.
The weak points
Wifi went down with some regularity and didn't cover most of the property, this second issue could easily be addressed by the addition of a second router down by the beach. Also power went out about once a day.
Certified

Fun Holiday Resort

, Ajax, ON
2012-03-13
Hotel was below standards but this place is all about location. Middle of Seven Mile Beach. Beautiful sunsets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Best location and beach - Staff were great - Need anything..talk to security guard Richard Take a ride on the "Love Bus" =- It's free other than a tip for driver and it's a great way to see the cliffs.
The weak points
Don't travel during Spring Break. Food went down hill when students arrived and staff put six per room.
Certified

Fun Holiday Resort

, Brandon, MB
2012-03-08
Location & staff are great. Meals are satisfactory. Maintenance is required for rooms. Owners are slowly addressing the maintenance as have owned for less than a year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location on the beach is great.
The weak points
The resort building needs some work but speaking to the owners they are addressing.
Certified

Don't pay attention to the nasty reviews!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-03-07
Due to a delay in our departure, we arrived 2 1/2 hrs late to our resort. We were disappointed the supper buffet was closed and there was no food to be had...luckily, the bar was open, we had a few drinks and with the location of the resort we didn't have very far to go for some entertainment, drinks and beach vendors. The next morning we were kindly asked to change rooms. We were moved to A100 - it was perfect - absolutely NO problem with the a/c,room was clean, bathroom okay and the beds were fine - you have to remember, YOU PAID for a 2* or 3* (depending which website you're looking at) so don't expect 5* accommodations!...and how often are you in your room anyway? We calculated we spent approximately 1 hour per day for each of our 7 days plus our sleep time in our room. From our room 5 steps out the door - POOL - we had read the reviews about murky/standing water and whatever...we went in the pool...it was cleaned every night - besides, with the BEAUTIFUL BLUE OCEAN just another few steps away, why spend time in the pool? Sometimes people have nothing better to do than complain. We paid for all inclusive. There was no problem with the food. Being a smaller resort, there were set times for the breakfast (everything from eggs to pancakes and french toast), lunch and supper buffets. Robert the chef, was MORE than accommodating. If you're not happy with the items on the buffet, you can order anything off the menu (except the crab and lobster) and he is more than happy serving it to you himself. So if you're hungry, it's your own fault! Robert makes awesome cheeseburgers and fries and Jerk Chicken. Don't let his quiet character fool you, he's also a great dancer and karaoke singer! (Sorry Robert...but you are!) We were being picked up for our return flight home before the lunch buffet and Robert made sure we had our burgers before we left.
The staff; Patrick and Elrick (security guards - we always felt safe) are two very nice guys, very friendly as we can say for all the staff; Nicole at the front desk (and the other young girl at the desk), Jennifer the cleaning lady, Marvin and Nairn our bartenders and all the girls working in the restaurant. (Can't remember all your names, sorry) Everyone was so helpful. And yes, we mustn't forget Dwight and Tony (the Tiger, LOL!) Dwight also has a very good karaoke voice...being the owner, he surely wears a lot of hats from bar server, magician and clown (sorry Dwight - I told you and Tony I would give an HONEST review).
We feel the resort lacks a few things - ran out of Rum quite a few times - but all you have to do is ask and the staff will bend over backwards to try to accommodate you...the resort is right in the middle of everything from shopping to bars and restaurants and the famous 7 Mile Beach! The beach is a sight to behold! Having stayed in a 5* last year we felt a little secluded. We had to pay $35 return trip just for a 5 min. ride into town. If we found it necessary, 100 J's per person in a Route Taxi, you'd go from point A to point B. This was a totally different experience for us this year! More lay back and comfortable. We had an absolute wonderful time and would recommend it to anyone! Just keep in mind...You PAID for a 2 or 3 star don't expect a 5* and how much time are you going to spend in your room? Just lay back, enjoy the sun,the beach and the beautiful ocean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great friendly staff Beautiful beach and ocean Good food
The weak points
Requires some upgrading (light fixtures, bathroom fixtures, new bath mats, furniture) Don't run out of rum!
Certified

Fun Holiday Beach Resort

, Thorndale, ON
2012-02-13
Only 45 rooms which was nice you got to socialize with alot of guests. Great location directly on 7 mile beach and the staff were very friendly. Hotel did not live up to advertisement - no hair dryer, iron/iron board, kayak, pool bar was cash only. Hotel is poorly managed ran out of beer, spirits and mix and did not replenish right away. 2 days without beer. Minimal music/entertainment and what they did provide was poor quality. Charged too much for fridge & safe. Mgmt always overbooked and shuffled people from hotel to hotel, guest were not happy. Rating is more of a 2 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, directly on 7 mile beach. Resort only has 45 rooms so you meet alot of people. Staff were great.
The weak points
Minimal selection at buffet and repetitive. Sometimes did not replenish food. Coffee wasn't on until late morning. Ran out of spirits often. Beach chairs-not enough for everyone and many broken. Also had to buy own beach towel not supplied.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?