Melia Internacional

4.044.044.044.044.04
Melia Internacional
#5 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
4.04 based on 28 reviews
Traveller pictures (90)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Beautiful hotel but...

, Orleans, ON
2020-02-04
The front desk staff “Luis” in particular was rude not so much with us after a few times dealing with him but with other customers. No patience to explain on how to access the internet which is not an easy task there!!! Once you do get it you lose the signal constantly which means no tv or on and off!
Classic room bookings only gets you 3 a la carte dinners! The food is not great anywhere even at la carte but the worst is the breakfast buffet! Even for lunch and dinner you don't know what you're eating cause there isn't any proper signs in the right place indicating what it is! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel itself is beautiful and classy and the entertainment is awesome! There is always something going on all day and night so you don't get bored!! The beach amenities are awesome and that's where the best staff is!!
The weak points
The food is awful and the medical/nurse station is hidden although not helpful regardless!
Certified

New Hotel, some shortfalls

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-28
Varadero Stay Jan.19-26, 2020
On the surface the MELIA INTERNACIONAL VARADERO looks stunning from some aspects. It is a new hotel finished in Feb. 2019 on the property of the old Internacional hotel which no longer exists. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk into Varadero by sidewalk or probably 20 minutes along the beach. We had a PREMIER OV room on the LEVEL not to be confused with the ADULTS ONLY section which is a separate building.
Our room was exactly in the center of the hotel on the 5th floor. The view from our room and balcony was postcard perfect. We had a view of a gorgeous pool, stunningly tall bent tree, and the beautiful ocean. We couldn't ask for a better view, or better beach which went on forever, into Varadeo one way and past several hotels the other. The view of the hotel lit up at night from the beach or pool was magical.
The room was a good size, had a bathtub plus a big double shower, big sink with double faucets, separate room for toilet, 2 open closets. Our king size bed was quite comfortable, but the furnishings in the room were cheap IKEA like. The 1st time I sat down in a chair by the room table it cracked so they replaced with same kind of chair. We decided it would be better to use one from the balcony as they were much sturdier. Make sure you door is fully closed as we thought we had closed ours at night and put the dead bolt on but on Jan. 23 at 8 A.M. a women opened our door who was not hotel staff.
Hairdryer was in bathroom, but cradle not attached to wall. Apparently voltage in bathroom does not support hairdryers. We had to use plug on wall over table by the balcony doors. There were no slippers in room or beach bag for level guests. No hand towels till second last day. No Kleenex at all for entire stay.
Sunrise grill by beach not open as well as few other restaurants and some bars/entertainment rooms even though they either had them posted in daily activities or on their welcome passport.
Most of the time there was no butter, no orange juice , or apple juice. If you wanted one of the dozen drinks listed on Bar Menu that contained orange juice they would give you grapefruit juice without telling you. Half of the time their wa no mint for MOJITOS which is supposed to be one of their National drinks. Also on the Bar Menu, they listed about a dozen liquors, such as Frangelico, Amerato, Baileys, etc. But they were not available.
They food in the Buffets that were open was below par for Cuba. In the al la carte restaurants, one day it would be very good, so you would order the same thing the next day and it was barely edible.
Bottom line we have stayed at Melia hotels in Cuba before, specifically the MELIA VARADEO a few times. Although the hotel is older and the pool, beach and view were not as stunning we found on previous trips that the food and entertainment was far superior. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Modern resort with EXCEPTIONAL staff!

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-25
We were a family of 6. Three had never been to Cuba while 2 had spent a dozen vacations throughout Cuba.
Checkin was late evening and a room change was done within minutes to accommodate 4 family members. Ocean view upgrades as we were returning Melia clients.
This resort by far exceeded our expectations.
Our rooms were clean, modern and had all the amenities.
Overall the resort was compact with 3 easy walkways to the beach.
We found it more adult orientated until the Club Amigo was researched. The 8 and 10 year olds requested to go back and again the staff were excellent in the Club. We felt safe with the children in their care.
The food was adequate in the buffet and we had 3 al à cartes. The Mexican was our favourite and 2 of us were able to go twice.
The Cigar bar was great although I do not smoke, it was the best place for the 2 young ones to get their afternoon choc milk. The staff were fantastic with all of us.
Pools large and clean; beach- Varadero, nothing more needs to be said!
We were not Level service but you were treated as if you were a valued guest!
Overall, 10/10 for our Cuban vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The STAFF! Modern and compact. Plenty of spaces to enjoy quiet time, a coffee, drink, snack, evening entertainment and of course, the beach.
The weak points
The "Cuban feel" was somewhat missing as in the decor and building. This being compared to our previous visits. However, with the staff, one knew you were in Cuba!
Certified

Melia Internacional

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-16
Our experience was overall very good (see weak points for areas of improvement). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The amenities and various of services are inclusive.
The weak points
Food (ex. sometimes bread is too dry and lack of selection for seafood) and amenities (ex. bath tub is too high for some people to access without trouble)
Certified

Amazing resort Melia international

, Thornhill, ON
2020-01-16
Very good hotel,we enjoyed our stay there a lot:rooms spacious and beautiful very modern,clean,never problems with towels if one calls maintenance,react immediate,ly food good inough,service very good polite,friendly,good music not overwhelming,beach is amazing,second to none,lots of space and beds and umbrellas,pool very clean,lots of everything,resort is very beautiful to look at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A lot of intertainment, especially at night,but very classy,beautiful live music,all day, especially for breakfast,nice touch
The weak points
Restorants very beautiful ambiens but food not good at all ,sadly,
Certified

Our Stay Christmas

, Alliston, ON
2019-12-30
We enjoyed the week we were at the resort and will be back for sure! No problems during our stay. It's an amazing resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort. Staff very friendly and customer service focused. The Japanese restaurant was the best!
The weak points
Do not allow more than 3 reservations to the speciality during a 1 week stay. This is up to par with other resorts! Tex Mex needs a menu change.
Certified

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICES

, Saint-Eustache, QC
2019-10-22
very sad that a nice hotel like this one (melia international varadero) have such of bad customer services. first if you speak spanish they mistreated you. i live outside cuba for many many year and i decided to take my family to varadero. as soon we arrived we was very impressive because i have to admit the hotel is very nice. i make the reservation online for me and my wife and we add couple of family members at the hotel (front desk). at the same hotel they offer you 2 different prices (one at the front desk for $189 per night and another price in the first floor for $110 ) both same access and the same rooms, nothing different. i asked why the different and the answer was the hotel ( melia international varadero ) work that way. on our second day at the hotel we went to the buffet to have lunch. my little nephew (he wasn't born in cuba) ask for chocolate ice cream, we ask the waiter for chocolate ice cream ( in spanish) and the answer was we don't have chocolate ice cream at this time. we was trying to explain my nephew ( in english) that they don't have chocolate ice cream and as soon the waiter finds out that we are from>>>>( outside cuba) he brought us the ice cream in seconds. same happened at the pool bar and at the front desk. now i know that if you are cuban this people won't treat you the same way that if you are coming from outside cuba. i've traveled to dominican republic, puerto rico, spain, mexico, bahamas and many other places. never have to go through this at any of those places. again, the hotel facility is very nice but the customer services is the worts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Nice hotel - clean - modern

, Pierrefonds, QC
2019-08-23
Not my first visit to Cuba.

Was concerned like everyone about the food. I had read some pretty bad reviews. I don't understand what all the fuss was about - the food was good - perhaps not out of this world - but it's Cuba - we didn't starve or get sick - breakfast - you can't go wrong - lunch and dinner - sure we could have asked for some more choices - but not that bad - they do however use a lot of SALT on some dishes -

The pizza by the pool is very good -
The snack bar - very good - the grill by the pool very good -

The SPA services outstanding - try the 3 rooftop plunge pools - super hot, regular - and ice cold ....

TV - bring a media player with movies - the rooms has nice TV with easy access to RCA cable, HDMI or USB connection -

The water pressure is quite weak (normal for cuba)

English is spoken.

Hotel very clean -

Not much of way of shows at night - not much to do at night .

ask for room not to far from the elevators - and room with a shower.

wifi - is ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach The rooms The size of the resort (not huge) The spa
The weak points
Very little nightlight - no major shows The pools gets very hot - wish they could figure out a way to cool it. The waiters need to focus more on serving water and coffee The bathtubs - very hard to get in / out - not very safe.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?