Melia Internacional

Melia Internacional
3.993.993.993.993.99
3.99 based on 125 reviews
#8 of 68 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (269)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Good Vacation

, St. Catharines, ON
2024-02-22
Cuba is struggling with supplies right now however this resort had decent supplies. Yes, things were missing but I didn't starve and was never without a drink. Was quite pleased to see Canadian beer in my fridge a few times. One of the best beaches I have visited! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach, room was in working order, the restaurants were all good, and the staff were doing their best to keep you happy. Fifteen (15) min. walk to downtown Varadero.
The weak points
The slight supply issues, some of the guests that boldly decide they can go to the front of a line or sit at the table you have items on.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-29
Hello, catharines Thank you very much for writing us your review and giving us your valuable opinion about your vacation in our hotel. I am very glad that all in all your liked our hotel and you enjoyed your family holidays. We take note about the swings and will give this valuable information to our head staff. Thank you very much for your opinion again. You are always welcomed in hotel. Sincerely General manager

Melia Internacional Varadero

, Montréal, QC
2024-02-21
The Level Adult Only [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean, good food, nice beach
The weak points
Internet not stable/consistant Must sign in constantly
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-29
Dear emmanuel Awesome review!! I'm quite stunned actually, thank you. Nothing can makes us happier than reading this kind of comments from our guests, believe me, this is exactlly what we work for. I will pass your lovely comments to the team. I am really happy to see you had great holidays with us and we look forward to have again here!! Best regards from all the team Managing Director.

Outstanding simply amazing

, Huntsville, ON
2024-02-19
We were greeted with big smiles and super friendly and professional staff. Check in was quick, efficient, with great communication about the resort.

We were then escorted up to our room with Laura our concierge for the week.
Our room view was absolutely amazing overlooking the ocean and the pools. The modern design is wonderful with a super comfortable non motion bed. I did not feel my husband move around at all. Air conditioner worked very well. Modern technology for lights etc. Lots of T.V. channels that were all clear. I was impressed to see a kettle in our room as the past few years traveling to Cuba after the pandemic we didn't see them anymore. Amazing Wi-Fi everywhere on the property from inside the room, lobby, bars, pool and beach. Our room was situated right beside the elevators and not once did we hear anything. The rooms are very well built and insulated from noise coming from the hallway.

Never any problems with the elevators in the hotel. Always working and what a view when in them as they face the ocean.

Everything was so clean and constantly seeing staff cleaning and washing the lobby area, outdoor red and blue bars. The lobby washroom was immaculate and always smelling like fresh flowers. No issues with any toilet paper, water bottles etc.

Food was very good with lots of variety from hot to cold food. Absolutely no complaints in the buffet or a la carte restaurants as we tried them. The staff in the buffet and restaurants were very attentive, friendly, polite and professional.

The pool…wowzers! Super clean, with lots of comfortable clean pool chairs and moveable umbrellas. Huge pool bar that you can order from inside the pool, or the patio.

The beach…oh my oh my, stunning clean beach that you can walk for hours and hours with soft white sand, clear turquoise blue water that is shallow and soft on your feet. Super comfortable chairs and plenty of parasols.

A very huge thank you to Kandy from Guest Services for her amazing professionalism, high energy, super friendly and always available to assist clients. Very quick to reply to our emails was outstanding
Laura from the Level side...your sunny disposition, great attention to detail, professional and caring about the comfort and and contentment throughout our stay was truly appreciated.
Thanking Giovani and Guajiro at the Level beach side for an amazing beach stay. Super friendly and very attentive to the guests upon arrival at the beach to get set up with the chairs and umbrellas.
As for animation team...a big thank you to Bebe who we saw on the last 2 days of our trip as she was away on vacation at the beginning of our trip. Amazing animator who gets the guests really involved at the pool.

Kindly note that we want to thank all the staff at the Melia International for their outstanding service, smiles and attention to detail whether in the kitchen cooking and doing dishes, the grills in the buffet, keeping everything well stocked and organized, clean floors, tables, chairs etc. The housekeeping throughout the hotel from lobby, rooms, restaurants, bars, beach, gardens, pool areas. Security guards were very attentive everywhere we went and greeted us with smiles and great conversation with them as we always like to try and speak with as many personnel as possible. They made us feel welcomed and safe.

To all the staff that work behind the scenes that guests do not see while on vacation….thank you for all your hard work. We definitely appreciate all that they do.

We can't wait to return!

Once again thank you to everyone for a Great Job and wonderful, professional, and friendly service! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-21
Hello rachelle Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us! We are happy to hear you were wonderfully surprised by Melia Internacional Varadero. We hope to see you soon! General Manager

One week stay at Melia Internacional

, Thornbury, ON
2024-02-15
I'm very sad to say that this was our worst trip. The only thing which was pleasant was the ocean which is not related to this hotel only. Nothing good about the hotel; NOTHING. Terrible a la carte Restaurants. Repeated food in buffet. Poor Hygiene. No Disco. Poor service for a 5 star hotel. Bad Wifi. Terrible Shampoo in the rooms. Even one elevator was out of service. We didn't enjoy this stay at all. I give 1 star because there is no option for ZERO. I recommend this hotel for No One but on the form I have to choose something to be able to submit my review. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nothing
The weak points
Everything
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-02-20
Dear mahya First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing stay with us. It would never be our intention to make guests feel uncomfortable during their stay and it is clear that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. Please know your feedback will be reviewed by our management team so that we may find ways to make improvements. We truly hope that you will consider a future stay so that we may provide you with a stay you have known the hotel of and the true experience you deserve. We remain at your service for whatever you might need. Managing Director.

Amazing Vacation

, Thornhill, ON
2024-01-17
We were very impressed with the service, quality, beach and food. We had a great rest! All service staff are friendly and ready to help you out. Beach was clean and easy to access. Spa service was great too. Just wanted to have more entertainment at night.
Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-22
Dear tat Wow, thank you for your amazing review! Our team and I are delighted you always enjoy your vacation as well as our hotel, our friendly team and all the services and facilities we offer to our guests. On behalf of the team, we thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back on January. Kind regards, Managing Director.

Repetitive Food

, 0598, ON
2024-01-11
I am not sure if it's the after effect of the pandemic. Two buffet restaurants that serve the same food everytime. Each buffet restaurant also serve the same food in our entire week of our stay. Not much seafood, Same shrimps, same fish. The specialty restaurants are always fully booked. They serve drinks in small glasses in the restaurants. Not enough dining staff. very difficult to get assistance. They have two huts called sunrise grill and sunset grill but do not serve any food items. They should change the name to storage hut. If staying by the pool or beach they serve drinks in small tiny plastic cups. They dont have Tequila as well! I am very disappointed.

I will not recommend the place.
Dirty cutlery. dirty plates, small cockroaches on walls and in our rooms.

Room service takes forever to come. Front desk aren't too friendly infact I am afrad to ask something. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice beach and weather,
The weak points
same food everyday.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2024-01-22
Dear Charlie Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay in our resort. We value your detailed suggestions as our guest's feedback is truly important for us and we will consciously revise all of your remarks. Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations with our culinary offerings. We certainly take these comments on our food experiences seriously and want to ensure that our guests are getting the best possible food and beverage options. We are only days away from offering our fresh, newly developed menu in our restaurants and buffet. Sincerely, Managing Director.

Bad experience at Melia International

, Burnaby, BC
2023-12-06
The beach was great in every respect.
The food was the same every day. Mostly cold. No variety at all.
The bars had very very very limited choices.
The room had ants in it and not much was done. We had to ask several times to get soap for the bathroom. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The beach.
The weak points
Food and drinks.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-12-18
Hello Sadhu Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectations with our culinary offerings. We certainly take these comments on our food experiences seriously and want to ensure that our guests are getting the best possible food and beverage options. Regarding the event you described in your room with ants, we would like to inform you that our resort takes all the necessary preventive measures to avoid these insects to access our premises following our Health & Safety program through a leading pest control company. However, due to our large garden areas and the Cuba tropical weather, sometimes they may find their way into our facilities. I truly hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Sincerely, Managing Director.

Melia Internacional

, Cambridge, ON
2023-09-25
First the good news...the resort and the people were great! Truly enjoyable. However, the food was very disappointing. Every meal (except 2) consisted of pureed pumpkin and rice and a protein. When you are in a resort for 20 meals and 18 meals have pureed pumpkin as a veggie, well...try imagining how you'd feel about that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The people and amenities!
The weak points
The food.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-26
Dear Patricia Thank you for the review for your recent stay with us. First and foremost, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing stay with us. I read carefully your comments; I take note of them, to prevent it in the near future. I would like to apologize again and I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, General Manager.

Stay at Melia Internacional Hotel in Varedero Cuba

, Oshawa, ON
2023-09-12
Wonderful experience. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was constantly cleaning the hotel. The staff was friendly and very courteous. I would recommend this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
There was lots to eat and lots to drink. The pools were fantastic.
The weak points
Typical Cuban fare at the buffet but there was a variety of food and lots of it.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-15
Dear wendy Thank you very much for your loyalty and for taking the time to write about your stay with us, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our colleagues as well the resort and the facilities. We hope to welcome you back again next year for another amazing stay. Your “family” in Varadero, will be waiting for you. Warm Regards, Managing Director.

Melia Internacional Varadero

, Montréal, QC
2023-08-07
We enjoyed our stay at this resort, the staff was friendly and helpful and the beach was crystal clear. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The weak points
We were surprised that the pricing at the hotel shops and the extras at the bars or restaurants were in United States dollars. And that the exchange rate for cash payment was $1.50cdn/$1usd
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-09-15
Dear emmanuel Thank you so much for staying with us at Melia Internacional Varadero and taking the time to share your experience. We're super happy had such a good stay! We are pleased that you enjoyed our establishment and that our location, beach and staff were all to your liking. We would be delighted to have the opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel Kind regards, Managing Director.

Melia International Will Not Disappoint

, Vaughan, NS
2023-05-19
I travelled to the Melia International April 29 to May 6. It was my first time at this resort, and definitely will not be my last, as I have already booked again for two weeks June 15-29. I knew while I was on resort I would be booking another trip right away when I got home.

The resort is very modern with a cosmopolitan feel. It is well laid out with all of the restaurants except one and the same area on the ground floor and all the shops are also located on the ground floor.

My room was on the sixth floor with a fabulous ocean front view. The room was large and very comfortable. The bed and the pillows provided a great nights sleep. The shower is large and has two rain showers. One on each end. There is a hairdryer and amenities in the bathroom.

Thanks so much to the staff from sales office Nelido Casay and Mari the Community Manager that helped witj everything and assisted in my requests and suggestions as well as worried about my stay every day which made it exceptional in every way. I celebrated my birthday there and they made it unforgettable for me!!

I ate at two of the a La carte restaurants in and both of them were fantastic. Sensum would be my favourite and they made my birthday dinner amazing. At the end of my meal they even had a flambé cake for me. The other restaurant was Casa Nostra the Italian restaurant. The pumpkin risotto and the chicken Parmesan were wonderful. There was also plenty of Prosecco in both restaurants. Many people are speaking of shortages on the resorts, but there was nothing that stood out to me while I was there.

The pools are very clean and I was always able to find a chair. There are also two snack bars on either end of the pools. The beach is only a short walk with a great composite boardwalk. I have been to Cuba more than 25 times and I have never been on a beach as beautiful as the one at this hotel. It is a shallow walk out with white sand and very clear water. There is no shortage of beach chairs, and Palapas even when the resort is full to capacity.

Anyone going to the Melia International will definitely not be disappointed. Great food, large clean rooms, helpful staff, fantastic entertainment, and generally just one of the best resorts in Varadero. Four weeks to my next visit and the countdown is on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-05-29
Hello Pink Princess Thank you for choose melia Internacional varadero for spent your holidays. We're so glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. All our staff works hard every day for offer our guests the best stay. I will share this review with them. We will be very pleased to greet you again, ready for have another great experience in our hotel. Best wishes, General Manager

Best Holiday Ever

, London, ON
2023-03-27
I have been to many places in carribean including a sandals ochi and melia international is by far the best for beach rooms and service i have ever had!!!! I would go back here in a minute..Best value for your money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff cleanliness and overall rooms were immaculate >staff very friendly and always ready to help and please you.
The weak points
The wi-fi is terrible so don't plan on using it very much as it does not work
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-04-03
Dear gail Nothing makes us happier than reading you have enjoyed your stay with us at Melia internacional Varadero. We hope to see you again the next time you will come to Cuba Best regards Managing Director.

Marie Internatational

, Hartney, MB
2023-02-19
My experience was the greatest holiday I have ever had. The staff made is all happen. Resort was clean and had lots of things to do. No problems at all, perfect vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff was so great helpful, kind and very professional.
The weak points
No weak points at all, it was a dream vacation of a life time.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-03-01
Hello Wendy Thank you for your comments. We appreciate knowing that your stay with us met your expectations. That you had a good experience at our hotel is our greatest pleasure, and it's the reason why we work so hard every day. Kindest regards.

Nice and welcoming staff

, Coquitlam, BC
2023-02-01
I was at Melia international resort for a week which I met 3 nice staff over there.their name was Emanuel, William blanco and Lindsay.at first night they welcomed us at the nice party and invited us to their table and the following day Emanule made us the best Sangria which I had in my life at the buffet. They were welcoming, kind professional and knowledgeable about everything.I never forget my experience at Melia international resort .because they made it an exceptional experience for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Welcoming, warm, professional and hospitable
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2023-02-09
Dear Pegah Thank you for your review for your recent stay with us. We were absolutely delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. Your comments have been shared with the team and they are happy that they contributed to this great experience. Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again! Yours sincerely, Managing Director.

Will not be returning

, Laval, QC
2022-09-07
The hotel is beautiful. The ocean is wonderfull. The food was ok but basically chicken, pork, mahi-mahi, rice, potatoes. No beef what so ever even if it's on the menu. They had shrimp but ran out after a couple if days, no other seafood. A la carte restaurants, same as buffet and only served just red wine, just beer, or just cola??? No white wine, no gin tonic no champagne ect..at the restaurants. Not to mention the unbelievably lack of toilet paper and hand soap around the resort. A la carte restaurants as well. NOT KIDDING. Guests were stuck in the bathroom until there spouse found toilet paper at some other bathroom. We carried a roll with us just in case, and glad we did. We stayed at the Level-Familly. Room had ants. Fridge was never restocked, was frustrating had to call everyday. One roll of toilet paper in room. You figure they would add a second roll once the first one was more than half way gone, but no. Coffee machine in room, but no coffee, suger, spoon and cups. The day before we left, they added the coffee cups but nothing else. Pool was nice, but again, no tropicaly drinks. Couldn't believe it. No strawberry, mango, banana daiquiris. Just lime until they ran out of that. No pina colada's. The icecream shop never had spoons, they gave instead a pointed plastic knife? Staff was friendly. But no matter how much you complain at the front desk, no matter what it is, was pointless. Some reservations were not respected, even if we had proof of confirmation. They just cannot or will not accommodate. Wifi was bad. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Ocean
The weak points
Lack of to many necessities mentioned above to enjoy a relaxing vacation.
Sanitary measures
Many bathroom, soap dispenser were not working
Certified

2020 Stay was Better

, Aurora, ON
2022-09-07
Our hotel stay for 2022 was the second time we visited the resort, the first was in 2020. The hotel was initially opened in 2019 and when we first visited in 2020 we were blown away with the experience and were upgraded to the "Level". Our 2022 visit we booked the "Level" expecting the same level of quality, much to our disappointment we did not.

Hotel Room 2020- FIVE STAR *****
Hotel Room 2022- FIVE STAR *****

Food Quality/ Choice 2020- FIVE STAR *****
Food Quality/ Choice 2022- TWO STAR **

Staff (friendliness/ attentiveness) 2020- FIVE STAR *****
Staff (friendliness/ attentiveness) 2022- THREE STAR ***

It appears as though the Melia Corporation has "come out of the gate" strong with the initial opening but has lost it's desire to stand above the other Cuba hotels on the peninsula. Based on the quality of the food I would strongly recommend AGAINST upgrading to the level, it is not worth the extra $$.

Overall the hotel still stands above the other Cuban resorts we have visited but it has got too comfortable and doesn't feel they need to "try" anymore. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Returning to Cuba

, East Gwillimbury, ON
2022-06-05
TL;DR: would recommend, plan to return

CONTEXT
We recently returned from a one week vacation at Melia Internacional Varadero. As a family, we've been to Cuba more than half a dozen times, but have not been since before the start of the pandemic.

THE HOTEL:
This was our 1st visit to Melia Internacional. This is an older hotel that was purchased by Melia and renovated in the last couple of years. As a result there is a mix of new & old/established.
The hotel is huge with over 900 rooms.
3 main pools as well as a kids pool with pirate theme and slide, great for young kids. There's also a small wading pool for infants as part of the playground near the Cubamigos kids' club.
In addition there's another pool for the adults only (cannot speak to as we were not in level or adult).
The rooms are great with awesome view regardless of which way you're facing. Unfortunately there is a mold problem in the bathrooms, especially those equipped with bathtubs. This is in part due to the fact that the hotels were closed for so long during the pandemic. A proper treatment of the mold should be undertaken and it is truly the only thing that needs improvement in my opinion.
Did not get too check out spa this time.

THE FOOD:
The main buffet Merkado always had a decent variety of options and had the main stations: fish, meat/chicken, and pasta. We had exceptional service from two wait staff: Aidi and Alicia! And Yaime on the fish station was very attentive!
We had three a la carte réservations but only went to two of them.
HACIENDA (Mexican): the mini burrito appetizers and the nachos were AMAZING! I was content with the main and the service by the staff was great!
CASA NOSTRA (Italian): in my opinion, this a la carte is a must go! The food and the service was amazing! The hostess who seated us was also very attentive and considerate (unfortunately don't remember her name, visited on May 31). The pizza, the pasta and the seafood were all incredible. Even the picky eaters enjoyed it. The tiramisu was delicious, even better than some I've had in Canada.
We also went to a restaurant in town which was only a short walk but due to the rain we took a taxi.
Overall, we did not go hungry and we did not get sick from any of the food. No complaints at all.

THE ENTERTAINMENT:
DAYTIME:
The entertainment staff are always a pleasure and make the trip truly worthwhile.
We participated in Aqua gym, trivia, dancing lesson, and have contests. All were lots of fun!
Exceptional staff is definitely Yosbel! He has so much energy and really gets you excited about participating.
Bebe also got my kid dancing which was great.
David, Daniel, and Rosalba also were good entertainers!
EVENINGS:
We did not attend much of the evening entertainment but what we did attend we enjoyed. Whether it's a trio band at the Blue Sky Bar or an entire dance party in the Red Bar, or a solo singer. There was also amazing musicians serenading the entire resort from the Gaia bar by the pools (one time it was a clarinet player, another it was a flute player).
Overall entertainment was great, caught a glimpse of the kids evening and daytime entertainment and it was also excellent and fun.

CLUB HOUSE: towel exchange with Yoel; always a smile and pleasant service.

POOL BAR:
Amazing attentive staff with two absolute favourites are Claudia and Sergio. We also had good service from Heidi. Drinks were great and delicious.

FRONT DESK:
All the staff are always willing to help but Alicia often went above and beyond. Truly grateful to her!

BELLHOP: Osdany went above and beyond and we also received great service on departure but I don't remember the name of the fellow (lanky/tall/glasses).

ROOM CLEANING STAFF:
We had amazing experience with Yalennys; making fun designs with the towels and leaving a thoughtful note.

RESTAURANT BOOKING: Rosemarie helped us so much with booking our restaurant reservations absolutely fantastic customer service skills!

PUBLIC RELATIONS: Kandy was pleasant via email and resourceful when we needed some assistance. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff! Amenities. Beach.
The weak points
Bathtubs in rooms.

Nice

, Kitchener, ON
2022-05-05
Great trip, lovely hotel but the food was like McDonald's every day [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Free use of pedal boats and kayaks, Best beach I've been on Some of the staff were amazing, Walking distance to town where the Canadian dollar is in high demand so you can get good deals
The weak points
Food, Can't put Cuban currency into the bank or return it, so only convert a little bit at a time so you don't take out too much
Sanitary measures
Perfectly done
Certified

Beautiful Cuba.....finally, again.....

, Woddbridge, ON
2022-04-04
This hotel is fabulous! This being our second time at this hotel, first time was pre-covid, we did find some things that were slightly different than the first time. We found less selection in food choices, or rather less variety. The first time they offered different theme nights and variety like outdoor bbq choices. It is noticeable that every day there were improvements in and around the hotel.
Covid protocols are very good. We felt that the restaurant as well as the front desk and customer service staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We will be back, hopefully soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very courteous and hard working staff throughout the hotel. Gorgeous hotel with a stunning beach and ocean!
The weak points
The real weak point was that we had very poor water pressure in our room and extremely bad wifi.
Certified

Very Comfortable Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2022-01-27
Very, very clean facilities! Congratulations and big Thank You for all of the people that are involved in keeping hotel and surroundings neat and clean.
Great food selection. Very good drinks selection including high quality domestic drinks and some international as well. Guests are allowed to use hotel after their check out (noon time) until the scheduled airport bus pick up. This does not include hotel rooms which are charged $29 USD/hour!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Pleasant and friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Cleanliness.
The weak points
Reception service needs some improvement in checking in efficiency as well as in solving guests issues. Room fridge not stocked up with drinks regularly.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Gatineau, QC
2021-10-19
I had the chance to stay at this wonderful resort for a second time, this time I stayed in the Level Adult section. This trip was also amazing, great hotel, great food and all the personal is very friendly.

Arrival: upon arrival I was greeted by the management which was a great way to start the trip. Lisset, the Level Adult manager, made sure to make me feel welcome and helped me to get organised.

Concierge service: Andy and the rest of the team was just amazing, every time I needed something he would get on it right away, great service!

Food: The food was unreal, sooooo good! The service I received at the restaurent was very professional, efficient and the staff always had a big smile. They even taught me Spanish during my vacation. Julio and Ernesto were amazing and very nice, I developed a strong friendship with them, fell like I knew them for years.

Cigar: The cigar lounge is very nice, they offer great cigars and rhum. The staff is very knowledgeable, it was very nice to discuss cigars and rhum with Yaniris, she's an expert in cigar and rhum!

Animation: Bébé is sooooo good at her job at animation, she's very funny and very nice. Her catch phrase is Ciao Ciao Mickey Mouse and it cracks me up everything I hear it.

Entertainment: The entertainment at the Melia is perfect. The shows are very classy and fun. The talent displayed by the entertainment artist was simply amazing. You would pay money to go see artists of that caliber in Canada.

Rooms: the rooms are very modern and nice, if fact they are perfect!

To conclude, I would like to thank the Melia staff for a wonderful vacation.

Thank you,

Stef [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Everything is amazing so its difficult to point out the strong points as everything is a strong point!
The weak points
I didn't find anytime weak.
Sanitary measures
The measures were followed at the letter, I fell very safe.

Nice and Clean Hotel but Bad For Allergies

, Mississauga, ON
2020-04-05
Overall, the hotel is new and clean. Staff is friendly and generally things are great. The only issue is the cross-contamination with food. My daughter has fish allergies and she had a reaction to plain pasta sauce and chickpeas because cooks use the same spoon for the fish sauce as they do for regular sauce. There doesn't seem to be any consideration for people with food allergies as everything is mixed and it's not clear. For instance some pizza would have tuna but it's not marked and it's right beside the plain cheese pizza. She was very limited in terms of what she could eat because the hotel does not do a good job separating allergens from the rest of the food. If you don't have food allergies then I say this place is great to visit. The beach is breathtaking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

LOVED Melia Internacional

, King City, ON
2020-02-22
We have no complaints for the hotel. everything was beautiful and brand new. we stayed for a week and enjoyed every minute of it. the people were great, location was amazing and beach was beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful hotel but...

, Orleans, ON
2020-02-04
The front desk staff “Luis” in particular was rude not so much with us after a few times dealing with him but with other customers. No patience to explain on how to access the internet which is not an easy task there!!! Once you do get it you lose the signal constantly which means no tv or on and off!
Classic room bookings only gets you 3 a la carte dinners! The food is not great anywhere even at la carte but the worst is the breakfast buffet! Even for lunch and dinner you don't know what you're eating cause there isn't any proper signs in the right place indicating what it is! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel itself is beautiful and classy and the entertainment is awesome! There is always something going on all day and night so you don't get bored!! The beach amenities are awesome and that's where the best staff is!!
The weak points
The food is awful and the medical/nurse station is hidden although not helpful regardless!
Certified

New Hotel, some shortfalls

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-28
Varadero Stay Jan.19-26, 2020
On the surface the MELIA INTERNACIONAL VARADERO looks stunning from some aspects. It is a new hotel finished in Feb. 2019 on the property of the old Internacional hotel which no longer exists. It is about a 10 to 15 minute walk into Varadero by sidewalk or probably 20 minutes along the beach. We had a PREMIER OV room on the LEVEL not to be confused with the ADULTS ONLY section which is a separate building.
Our room was exactly in the center of the hotel on the 5th floor. The view from our room and balcony was postcard perfect. We had a view of a gorgeous pool, stunningly tall bent tree, and the beautiful ocean. We couldn't ask for a better view, or better beach which went on forever, into Varadeo one way and past several hotels the other. The view of the hotel lit up at night from the beach or pool was magical.
The room was a good size, had a bathtub plus a big double shower, big sink with double faucets, separate room for toilet, 2 open closets. Our king size bed was quite comfortable, but the furnishings in the room were cheap IKEA like. The 1st time I sat down in a chair by the room table it cracked so they replaced with same kind of chair. We decided it would be better to use one from the balcony as they were much sturdier. Make sure you door is fully closed as we thought we had closed ours at night and put the dead bolt on but on Jan. 23 at 8 A.M. a women opened our door who was not hotel staff.
Hairdryer was in bathroom, but cradle not attached to wall. Apparently voltage in bathroom does not support hairdryers. We had to use plug on wall over table by the balcony doors. There were no slippers in room or beach bag for level guests. No hand towels till second last day. No Kleenex at all for entire stay.
Sunrise grill by beach not open as well as few other restaurants and some bars/entertainment rooms even though they either had them posted in daily activities or on their welcome passport.
Most of the time there was no butter, no orange juice , or apple juice. If you wanted one of the dozen drinks listed on Bar Menu that contained orange juice they would give you grapefruit juice without telling you. Half of the time their wa no mint for MOJITOS which is supposed to be one of their National drinks. Also on the Bar Menu, they listed about a dozen liquors, such as Frangelico, Amerato, Baileys, etc. But they were not available.
They food in the Buffets that were open was below par for Cuba. In the al la carte restaurants, one day it would be very good, so you would order the same thing the next day and it was barely edible.
Bottom line we have stayed at Melia hotels in Cuba before, specifically the MELIA VARADEO a few times. Although the hotel is older and the pool, beach and view were not as stunning we found on previous trips that the food and entertainment was far superior. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Modern resort with EXCEPTIONAL staff!

, Halifax, NS
2020-01-25
We were a family of 6. Three had never been to Cuba while 2 had spent a dozen vacations throughout Cuba.
Checkin was late evening and a room change was done within minutes to accommodate 4 family members. Ocean view upgrades as we were returning Melia clients.
This resort by far exceeded our expectations.
Our rooms were clean, modern and had all the amenities.
Overall the resort was compact with 3 easy walkways to the beach.
We found it more adult orientated until the Club Amigo was researched. The 8 and 10 year olds requested to go back and again the staff were excellent in the Club. We felt safe with the children in their care.
The food was adequate in the buffet and we had 3 al à cartes. The Mexican was our favourite and 2 of us were able to go twice.
The Cigar bar was great although I do not smoke, it was the best place for the 2 young ones to get their afternoon choc milk. The staff were fantastic with all of us.
Pools large and clean; beach- Varadero, nothing more needs to be said!
We were not Level service but you were treated as if you were a valued guest!
Overall, 10/10 for our Cuban vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The STAFF! Modern and compact. Plenty of spaces to enjoy quiet time, a coffee, drink, snack, evening entertainment and of course, the beach.
The weak points
The "Cuban feel" was somewhat missing as in the decor and building. This being compared to our previous visits. However, with the staff, one knew you were in Cuba!
Certified

Melia Internacional

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-16
Our experience was overall very good (see weak points for areas of improvement). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The amenities and various of services are inclusive.
The weak points
Food (ex. sometimes bread is too dry and lack of selection for seafood) and amenities (ex. bath tub is too high for some people to access without trouble)
Certified

Amazing resort Melia international

, Thornhill, ON
2020-01-16
Very good hotel,we enjoyed our stay there a lot:rooms spacious and beautiful very modern,clean,never problems with towels if one calls maintenance,react immediate,ly food good inough,service very good polite,friendly,good music not overwhelming,beach is amazing,second to none,lots of space and beds and umbrellas,pool very clean,lots of everything,resort is very beautiful to look at. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A lot of intertainment, especially at night,but very classy,beautiful live music,all day, especially for breakfast,nice touch
The weak points
Restorants very beautiful ambiens but food not good at all ,sadly,
Certified

Our Stay Christmas

, Alliston, ON
2019-12-30
We enjoyed the week we were at the resort and will be back for sure! No problems during our stay. It's an amazing resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort. Staff very friendly and customer service focused. The Japanese restaurant was the best!
The weak points
Do not allow more than 3 reservations to the speciality during a 1 week stay. This is up to par with other resorts! Tex Mex needs a menu change.
Certified

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICES

, Saint-Eustache, QC
2019-10-22
very sad that a nice hotel like this one (melia international varadero) have such of bad customer services. first if you speak spanish they mistreated you. i live outside cuba for many many year and i decided to take my family to varadero. as soon we arrived we was very impressive because i have to admit the hotel is very nice. i make the reservation online for me and my wife and we add couple of family members at the hotel (front desk). at the same hotel they offer you 2 different prices (one at the front desk for $189 per night and another price in the first floor for $110 ) both same access and the same rooms, nothing different. i asked why the different and the answer was the hotel ( melia international varadero ) work that way. on our second day at the hotel we went to the buffet to have lunch. my little nephew (he wasn't born in cuba) ask for chocolate ice cream, we ask the waiter for chocolate ice cream ( in spanish) and the answer was we don't have chocolate ice cream at this time. we was trying to explain my nephew ( in english) that they don't have chocolate ice cream and as soon the waiter finds out that we are from>>>>( outside cuba) he brought us the ice cream in seconds. same happened at the pool bar and at the front desk. now i know that if you are cuban this people won't treat you the same way that if you are coming from outside cuba. i've traveled to dominican republic, puerto rico, spain, mexico, bahamas and many other places. never have to go through this at any of those places. again, the hotel facility is very nice but the customer services is the worts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024