Blau Varadero

4.194.194.194.194.19
Blau Varadero
#1 of 65 hotels in Varadero
4.19 based on 606 reviews
Traveller pictures (214)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Everything was perfect

, Laval, QC
2019-07-15
Clean hotel, delicious food, charming stuff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent like in the past

, Orleans, ON
2019-05-14
This was our 6th stay at the Blau Varadero and it was as excellent as our five previous stays. My spouse and I returned for 14 nights at the Blau Varadero from April 28th to May 12th, 2019. We arrived around 21:30 hrs., the check in was quick and efficient, our room was ready. An employee assisted us with our suitcases to our room. Our room (8th floor) was nice & clean. The washroom layout is nice. Bidet, toilet, sink, magnifying mirror for makeup, good lighting and a tub with shower. We had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type. The water pressure and hot water were always available. In the vanity area there is an electrical outlet that you can switch from 220 to 110 volts. I used it (110 volts) and it worked fine for our night light , charging my razor and tablet. All other electrical outlets were 220 volts. The wardrobe has a code lock safe (no charge), shelves and hangers (14). There are 2 bathrobes, 2 blankets, a large umbrella and an iron/ironing board in the closet. The TV has many channels to select from: a few English (CTV, CNN, etc…), 2 French (TVA, TV5) and many Spanish with some having the translation to English at the bottom. The patio door curtains are very opaque. The balcony is private (angled wall on both sides) clear glass railing which does not obstruct your view, 2 chairs small table and an extendable wall rack to dry your clothing. There are light switches on both sides of the bed and adjustable reading lights which were handy when getting up at night. We had a king size bed that we found very comfortable. Our maid service was excellent & we had our fridge (2 beer, 2 soft drinks & 1.5 liter of water) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed. Our maid created different towel and/or curtain ornaments on a daily basis. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (wide variety of meats, fish, pastas, breads, cheeses, fruits/vegetables, jams, ice cream, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...) , lunch restaurant near pool hot dog/hamburger/chicken nuggets /fries stand next to pool & at Beach bar (smaller buffet). We went to the International restaurant & the Italian restaurant and enjoyed both of them. The Int. restaurant has AC. Since we were repeat visitors, we were invited and attended a dinner hosted by the Hotel Manager *David* (at the International restaurant) with many other returning visitors. It was nice to mingle with the others & David. We went to the BBQ night (Saturday) which was held at the Italian restaurant next to the pool. We enjoyed the variety of grilled items given. The service at all the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pool was kept clean and the water was very clear throughout the whole day. Next to the pool bar (new location this year), there is a very friendly woman (MarisLeidy) who serves many different fruits (pineapple, mango, watermelon, papaya, meme,…) on a wood skewer from approx.. 9:00 AM until 4:00 PM. These fruits were freshly cut and were all delicious. We really appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. The one near the pool was used by many pool users.... The washroom at the beach was also well located and appreciated. All washrooms were monitored and kept clean. There did not seem to be any problems for anyone to obtain a sun umbrella/long chairs at the beach. We usually arrived early after our breakfast (08:30 hrs.) and always had a sun umbrella /long chairs. The long chairs have a very comfortable blue fabric with armrests (not all hard plastic like some hotels). The location of the Blau Varadero is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is amazing. We appreciated not having salespersons walking the beach and speaking loud to attract your attention. It was quiet at the beach and many times during the day we observed policemen patrolling. We bought Wi-Fi access @ 1.00 CUC for 1 hour. Most of the time it worked fine (we found we had better reception near the lobby/piano bar areas). We did not attend any night shows. The guests are mostly from Europe and Canada. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym is small but there is a good variety of exercise equipment. I spoke to a few persons training and everyone agreed that If the AC could be cooler in the gym area it would be appreciated. I had a few 50 min. body massage at the Spa and they were very relaxing (40 CUC). Many employees recognized us and were grateful of our return. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & always give you an excellent service with a smile. To only name a few: we really enjoyed the smile, positive attitude & attention of *Ernesto, Ismary, Mirlayne, Evelio (Buffet areas), Janice (Int'l restaurant), Joel and Jorge (Piano bar)*, Betty (the morning smoothie/ lunch pizza lady) , * MarisLeidy* the fruit lady & Luis at the beach .We also appreciated *Rosie* of the Client Service & our conversations with*David* the Hotel Manager. On many occasions we observed the Hotel Manager (David) walking the grounds to ascertain everything was always perfect. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Blau Varadero as we had another excellent vacation at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice personnel (courteous, polite and smiling), beautiful beach, great food and drinks, nice rooms, quiet at night,
The weak points
AC in gym could be stronger, WiFi can be weaker in the evening but it still works
Certified

Spring Break Getaway

, Hamilton, ON
2019-03-19
This is a great hotel for a restful break over the March school break. The adults only policy meant that my wife did not have to encounter any children on her break from teaching. The beach is fantastic and not at all crowded. The staff is very friendly and eager to help in everyway possible. The food Is quite good and variable. This fish and duck are highly recommended. The architecture is inspiring and relaxing. We could not have asked for a better holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, beach, location, calm adults-only atmosphere, cleanliness
The weak points
They could use a "do not disturb" sign for room doors when guests choose a later rising time. More chalk for the cues on the pool tables.
Certified

Loved the Blau Varadero

, Montréal, QC
2018-10-15
Just got back from one week at the Blau Varadero (Oct 6-13). I have been going to different hotels in Cuba for over 25 years. I can honestly say this was my best experience yet. The service was the best I ever got, the food was good, the room was large, modern and lovely. All the rooms are ocean view. On one side you get the pool view as well (more lively). On the other side, you get the hotel entrance and small marina ocean view (more relaxing). The negatives: beds could be softer and more comfy. Although my room was freshly painted, the smell the first few days was strong. Since I loved by 12th floor view of the hotel entrance (great sun rise views over the ocean), I did not request a change. Can't wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great friendly service,large wide beach with lots of palapas,superior ocean view is large,modern and well decorated in white walls & large green and orange flower mural. Everything is close. Food was good and varied. Great value for your dollar!
The weak points
Mattress is more on the firm side. Water was not an even temperature, it went from hot to cold sometimes. The elevators were small but worked well.
Certified

Beautiful Resort!

, Toronto, ON
2018-06-20
we really enjoyed our week stay, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach, good food, good entertainment, friendly staff, everything about the resort is great!!
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Excellent like in the past

, Orleans, ON
2018-05-19
This was our5th stay at the Blau Varadero and it was as excellent as our four previous stays. My spouse and I returned for 14 nights at the Blau Varadero from May 2nd to 16th, 2018. We arrived around noon, the check in was quick and efficient, our room was not ready so, we returned later in the afternoon. Our room (8th floor) was nice & clean. The washroom layout is nice. Bidet, toilet, sink, magnifying mirror for makeup, good lighting and a tub with shower. We had 2 options for the shower: a hand held shower head or the rainfall type. The water pressure and hot water were always available. In the vanity area there is an electrical outlet that you can switch from 220 to 110 volts. I used it (110 volts) and it worked fine for our night light and charging my razor. All other electrical outlets were 220 volts. The wardrobe facing the washroom has a code lock safe (no charge), shelves and hangers (14). There are 2 bathrobes, 2 blankets, a large umbrella and an iron/ironing board in the closet. The TV has many channels to select from: a few English (CTV, CNN, etc…), 2 French (TVA, TV5) and many Spanish with some having the translation to English at the bottom. The patio door curtains are very opaque. The balcony is private (angled wall on both sides) clear glass railing which does not obstruct your view, 2 chairs small table and an extendable wall rack to dry your clothing. There are light switches on both sides of the bed and adjustable reading lights which were handy when getting up at night. We had a king size bed that we found very comfortable. Our maid service was excellent & we had our fridge (2 beer, 2 soft drinks & 1.5 liter of water) & bathroom towels/items... replenished when needed. Our maid created different towel and/or curtain ornaments on a daily basis. The food was very good at all the locations we ate: Buffet (wide variety of meats, fish, pastas, breads, cheeses, fruits/vegetables, jams, ice cream, deserts, condiments, syrups, etc...) , lunch restaurant near pool & at Beach bar hot dog/hamburger/chicken nuggets /fries stand next to pool. We went to the International restaurant & the Italian restaurant and enjoyed them. We preferred the Int. restaurant for food offered and AC. Since we were repeat visitors, we were invited and attended a dinner hosted by the Hotel Manager *David* (at the International restaurant) with many other returning visitors. It was nice to mingle with the others & David. We went to the BBQ night (Saturday) which was held at the Italian restaurant next to the pool. We enjoyed the variety of grilled items given. The service at all the bars was excellent even the vacationers who did not tip received their service with a smile. The pool was kept clean and the water was very clear throughout the whole day. In the grass area near the pool, there is a very friendly woman (MarisLeidy) who serves many different fruits (pineapple, mango, watermelon, papaya, meme,…) on a wood skewer from approx.. 9:00 AM until 4:00 PM. These fruits were freshly cut and were all delicious. We really appreciated the locations of all the washrooms. The one near the pool was used by many pool users.... The washroom at the beach was also well located and appreciated. All washrooms were monitored and kept clean. There did not seem to be any problems for anyone to obtain a sun umbrella/long chairs at the beach. We usually arrived early after our breakfast (08:45/09:00 hrs.) and always had a sun umbrella /long chairs. The long chairs have a very comfortable blue fabric with armrests (not all hard plastic like some hotels). The location of the Blau Varadero is ideal for beach walkers. You can walk either way (East/West) for very long distances. The Beach is amazing. We appreciated not having salespersons walking the beach and speaking loud to attract your attention. It was quiet at the beach and many times during the day we observed policemen patrolling. We bought Wi-Fi access @ 1.00 CUC for 1 hour. Most of the time it worked fine (we found we had better reception near the lobby/piano bar areas). We did not attend any night shows. The guests are mostly from Europe and Canada. The hotel is quiet, no loud music/noise at night. The gym is small but there is enough exercise equipment and all are functional. I spoke to a few persons training and everyone agreed that If the AC could be a little cooler in the gym area it would be appreciated. I had two 50 min. body massage at the Spa and they were very relaxing (40 CUC). Many employees recognized us and were grateful of our return. The hard working hotel personnel are ALL wonderful, friendly & always give you an excellent service with a smile. To only name a few: we really enjoyed the smile, positive attitude & attention of *Ernesto, Ismary, Mirlayne, Evelio and David* at breakfast/lunch and for dinner, also the morning smoothie/ lunch pizza lady (Betty) & the fruit lady * MarisLeidy*. We also appreciated *Rosie* and Aylen of the Guest Service & our conversations with*David* the Hotel Manager. On many occasions we observed the Hotel Manager (David) walking the grounds to ascertain everything was always perfect. My spouse and I will definitely return to the Blau Varadero as we had another excellent vacation at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort, friendly & smiling employees, beautiful beach. Food was very good.
The weak points
AC in gym could be cooler.
Certified

A great resort

, Memramcook, NB
2018-04-20
We stayed as a couple April 9-16 and were very happy with Blau Varadero. The beach is amazing, staff super friendly, rooms are clean, beds comfortable, pool nice and clean and food was good too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, clean rooms, great staff, good layout
The weak points
Night entertainment was not really interesting, talentled performers, but did not feel very « Cuban ».
Certified

Almost Great

, Ottawa, ON
2018-03-19
We stayed here as result of a last minute decision and did not regret one minute. Our room,(View and beds we would like to take home!) the service, the facilities and the beach left nothing to be desired. The buffet restaurants were adequate, breakfast the best, but not as good as other resorts we have visited. The International a la carte is a very pleasant space the music and serving staff were very good indeed but the food (10/12 plates that we ordered) was poor - overcooked and very salty. If we were certain that the quality of food had markedly improved we would love to stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely room with sea view; EXCELLENT beds and linens; outstanding chambermaids; great staff everywhere. superb beach.
The weak points
The only negative for our entire stay was the food. It was OK in the various buffets but at the a la carte was really poor (service excellent)
Certified

Varadero Cuba Vacation

, Thunder Bay, ON
2018-01-26
The hotel room needs updating. The toilet in my room never flushed properly. The lobby in the hotel is quite nice as are the outdoor facilities. Pool is not heated so the water was quite cold. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Quiet Resort

, London, ON
2017-05-20
Overall, I was happy with the resort. It seemed to be an older crowd (50s and up). Stayed in the select room and had a beautiful view of the ocean and pool. Room was nice and spacious. Bathroom was also big. Food was what I expected for Cuba. You could always find something to eat even if you were a picky eater. There was little to no day entertainment and no actual pool bar (there is a pool by the bar). Pool was nice, but with no shaded areas and no pool bar it was under utilized. Night entertainment consisted of a music quiz, salsa lessons, and a show. Overall I would give the resort 4 stars. Good resort for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness of the public washrooms and grounds, service, shaded areas on the beach (lots)
The weak points
Entertainment, drinks (sometimes weak and very few "blender" drinks, no pool bar, no shade at pool
Certified

Food is terrible

, Moncton, NB
2017-05-18
Hotel has a comfortable setting. People are excellent. service and entertainment good but down from previous year. Food is terrible with lack of variety and quality. Had to look for what you can eat rather what you would like to eat. Unless there are changes I will never go back. Spoiled our vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Been to Cuba 6 times. 5 of them at the Blau. I find the people excellent. Most of them treat you like friends and make you feel welcomed. Service is good. Beach excellent
The weak points
Food is terrible this year. Lack of quality, variety. the quantity of some items, ex. bacon or ham.

Blau Varadero

, Stratford, ON
2017-01-16
This was my first time at this resort, 2nd for my wife and daughter. Food was excellent, friendly staff and beautiful resort and grounds. Loved it, and plan on going again next year!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best Cuban vacation in 12 years!

, Rigaud, QC
2016-08-04
We have been going to Cuba since 2004 and this was my 10th trip there. I can, without any hesitation, say that this was my best trip ever! I've stayed in 3.5* to 5* resorts in Havana, Jibacoa, Varadero, Cayo Guillermo, Cayo Santa Maria and Holguin, so you could say that I know Cuba and what to expect when we go there. The Blau Varadero exceeded all my expectations: the cleanliness, the food and the staff were simply wonderful.
I highly recommend choosing a Select room, the few extra dollars are really worth it: the room is truly great (I had the chance to see a regular room to compare) with a view to die for and the chance to have supper à la carte is incredible (I tried both the Mexican and the International and to my taste there is no comparison: the International is truly in a class by itself).
Now what is mentioned in other reviews: yes there's always a place at the pool and the beach, yes we have to wait sometimes for the elevator but it's truly far less a problem that is stated in some reviews, yes the food at the buffet (for all 3 meals is very good) and yes there seems to always be a manager in view.
On that matter, Mr. Rolando Nunez Garcia (the food and beverage manager) is really amazing, he's always within view: at breakfast, lunch (buffet and beach), supper (buffet and à la carte) and even at the different bars during the day and evening. He is truly an inspiration to all the employees.
This is my first review on Trip Advisor and I can honestly say that, after being back home for 5 days, my vacation was WONDERFUL!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the food and the cleanliness.
The weak points
The Internet access (it's Cuba...)

Notre premier tout inclus

, Chateauguay, QC
2016-07-15
Nous avons choisi cette hotel en voyant les reviews que le monde ont ecrit. C'etait notre premier tout inclus wow. La bouffe est tres bonne, le staff tres gentil ont a bien aimer, Danay, Hanay et Lovio super le fun. Je retournerais a cette hotel mais je prendrais une chambre superieur, je trouve les matelas dure. Il aurait besoin de faire un peu d'upgrade et des chambres que les air climatiser vont pas bien. Mais le restant c'est vraiment super. La bouffe est aussi bonne que sur un bateau de croisiere. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food
The weak points
air conditioning, mattress

Still the same (great place)

, Etobicoke, ON
2016-06-14
7th time at the Blau. Well, still the same great place.Last year progress was noticeable compared to prior years, this year it stays the same (almost), which is good. Selection of drinks in the bars has improved, though when I wanted to have glass of port to sip, as was advertised in the drinks card, it turned out they ran out of port by the end of the day. Next day I had more luck with that, though as one can imagine, port was not of the best quality.
I don't care about internet, I have it 24/7 at work/home, so not much of concern to me. One disappointment - no double kayaks on the beach to use this year,only single ones.My wife kayaks only with me as she is not very comfortable going solo.I asked the guy in charge why no double kayaks,he said there were no requests from the hotel in the contract with Marlin nautical services.And no banana flambe at the dinner for the second year in a row - too bad :) Though they've added lobster entree to Palma Real a la carte restaurant menu - excellent. Finally they have replaced last century CRT TVs in the rooms with HD LED ones.Not that I'm into watching TV at resort,but it's nice to connect smartphone/tablet/palmcorder via HDMI cable to the TV and see your photos/footage taken during the day on a big screen. Or just listen to the music stored on your device.So my advise-take HDMI cable with all the necessary connectors if you want to do that too. Quality of night shows is slowly deteriorating-shows are quite repetitive,although one night there was superb Cuban show at the pool area with stilt performers - magnificent !!!. All in all, the hotel maintains quite decent status. And yes, of course - staff people are the best !
And last but not least - it doesn't affect my family,but the decision to turn the establishment into adults only somehow puzzles me. Don't know whom children playing in the pool have irritated so much. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, cleanliness, grounds, decent food.
The weak points
Hard to point any.On couple of occasions service level slipped, but that's not a big deal.

Second time to the Blau

, Markham, ON
2016-06-03
This was our second time to the Blau after 5 years. Most of the staff were incredible, the beach was fantastic, the hotel is still holding up very well (not great) but well.

The only complaints I would make would be, in the evenings the atmosphere changes quite a bit. The night staff seem to be less friendly. I went to the bar around 9pm and was constantly ignored by the staff who were taking orders from people who had just walked in after me. Every corner of the bar I would move to, to be next, the staff would walk right by me looking me right in the eye then ask another guest what they could get them.

On 2 separate nights my wife and I were woken very abruptly once at 2:30am the second at 3:30am by someone who was very much drunk yelling from the piano bar, echoing through the entire hotel.

From what we have been reading the hotel will be changing into an adults only resort in October which basically means we will not be going back as we are not party goers or drinkers. Other than the issue with the night bar staff and the drunken guests at night. The hotel still has some of the best staff we have seen in any hotel, not just Cuba. The food was fine some items were very good and the Mexican A La Carte was actually very good for me.

If they renovated a touch and were not changing to adults only we would go back for a third time. As for the drunk guest, I understand the hotel cannot control what the intoxicated guests do. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Day staff, beach, daytime atmosphere (families, lots of smiles).
The weak points
Night staff, night time atmosphere (aggressive guests).
Certified

Great 10 days at Blau

, Dieppe, NB
2016-04-16
We booked a 10 day package at Blau Varadero with 6 in our group. Supplier was Westjet vacations and everything went very smooth. This is my top pick for Cuba resorts after travelling 8 times to the island over the last 24 yrs. Great hotel, great service and great food. will definitely will refer and return to this resort in the future . amazing beach as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was great
The weak points
bad wifi connections. i only logged in once it was in and out. only certain areas have access and it cost 2 bucks per hour. was not really an issue for me i logged in to send a note to my kids to let them know how things were going and see if all was ok.
Certified

A very Nice Resort...Perfect for us

2015-07-03
This was our first time at The Blau Varadero. It was the perfect place for us. Close to the beach. One central location and lots of activities for kids. Mini-Disco Show every night at 8 was a big hit with my kids and the night time shows were fantastic especially the Michael Jackson show, the Magic Show and the Cuban Fiesta.
The Piano Bar provided a relaxing place for a drink or espresso. The Central Birdcage Cafe/Bar was a nice place to hang out too.
The Hotel has 14 floors, we were on the 5th floor with a view of the bay. The Ocean View costs more.
Even though we were 5 floors up, we saw ants in our room the last 2 days which made us a little nervous.
The beach was a very VERY short walk from the pool. The hotel provided a small board walk through the woods to reach the beach. A beach bar allowed people to have lunch and drinks without have to return to the main hotel.
The pool was very big with tons of room for all.
The food was more than decent. There was enough choice for everyone and for the most part very agreeable. I did not experience any of the horror stories you hear about Cuba Resort food.
Breakfast was standard with omelettes, pancakes, french toasts, meat and croissant. You can even have smoothies.
Lunch was served in the hall area by the pool. Again, a nice variety of choice. Many times different meat and fish was being grilled. Another grilling station was located outside the eating area where you can order Hot Dog, Hamburgers and French Fries.
Supper was in the main hall. Many theme nights allowed for different meals (Italian, Cuban, International, Asian)
Two restaurants were on site. One was Palma Real, this was fine dining but not much in the way of kids' menu. MEN, you must wear pants or you will not be let in. In case you don't being pants, they will provide them for you. I preferred the Mexican Restaurant. The servers were friendlier and genuine. The restaurant had a kids' menu and the atmosphere was more fun. The fajitas were awesome.
The crew of the Blau were fantastic. The Minicab Animator, Mayra, was the nicest person. She went out of her way to please young and old alike.
We would definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The crew Beach Hotel Layout (Everything centrally located...great for people with kids) Good food.
The weak points
Ants in our room.
Certified

Fantastic Beach

, Toronto, ON
2015-05-19
Beautiful hotel.
ROOM: We opted to stay on a lower floor due to other reviews mentioning the wait for the elevator. We were on the first floor with a nice garden view and water feature. The room was very clean and housekeeping was efficient. The only negative about the room was the balcony door which was difficult to open and close. Being on the first floor gave us very easy access to everything.
FOOD: Pretty much what we expected. Nothing spectacular and you aren't going to starve. Local fare is the best such as fresh fruits, fish and pork. The alacarte restaurants were okay. Service was usually good but we did experience some bad.
BEACH: Best beach I've been to. Water is very clear and the sand is soft. Lots of shade provided by the thatch beach umbrellas and plenty of loungers. There isn't much to look at if you snorkel at the beach but you can get the Hobicat to take you out further. Beach bar service was excellent.

Overall, it is a great place to stay and we wish we could have stayed longer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness
The weak points
Balcony doors in need of service
Certified

Loved it!

, St Catharines, ON
2015-04-14
Staff was helpful and friendly, 3rd time at this resort. I am senior and travel alone, this place is perfect for me !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beaches, staff, rooms,
The weak points
Negative comments from people with high expectations for budget dollars
Certified

Correct mais sans plus

, Gatineau, QC
2015-02-18
nous avons decider de reserver a cette hotel car nos qualites premieres rechercher etaient la plage, le manger et la qualite du staff. 2 sur 3 nous avons ete servie. la plage ( le sable et la mer ) etait tres belle. le staff... cette hotel est de loin le premier ou nous allions et ou plus de 70% du staff parlent et comprenent le francais. l'autre 30% essaye. pour ce qui est du manger.. hummm il est correct mais sans plus. TOUJOURS la meme affaire au buffet et pas de choix. je crois qu'etant donner qu'ils servent la meme affaire a tout les jours ils en sont devenue les maîtres.... mais serieusement... pourquoi les gens se contente de dire que c'est ca la bouffe a Cuba.. pourquoi se contente du statusquo??? c'est sans contredit la place ou nous avons eu le moins de choix de toutes les endroits ou nous sommes aller ( RD, Vegas etc )... et les restaurants a la carte ( 2 ) ... nous avons ete en mesure d'aller a 1 d'entre eux et nous etions sortie au bout de 15 min.

l'hotel est tres tres propre. ca ne sens pas l'humidite dutout. les chambres sont propre. les salles de bains sont propre et il y a de l'eau chaude...

pour ceux qui seraient tenter par les excursions et bien assurez vous d'apporter du papier de toilette.... bcp de papier de toilette... car il faut premierement payer pour aller faire un #1 ou un #2 a tous les endroits ou vous allez arreter a l'exterieur du resort. de plus ... les cubains savent tres bien compter... 4 est le chiffre magique... 4 petit carre pour 1 peso convertible... PAR PERSONNE....

maintenant..... assurez vous d'acheter vos excursion sur le site de sunwing ( si c'est votre voyagiste ) avant de quitter. vous payerez en $ CANADIEN sans frais. si vous acheter vos excursion la bas.... le voyagiste vous fera payer des frais pour transferer votre prix en US ( et ce meme si il ne veulent rien savoir de cette devise ) pour ensuite vous charger 3% de frais... et ensuite la reconvertir en CUC. exemple.... 2 excursion pour 2 adultes et 1 enfant... m'aurais couter 405$ canadien si j'avais acheter avant de partir... etant donner que j'ai acheter la bas.. plus de 500$.

pour nous.. Cuba c'est fini... vous allez dire.. 2 sur 3 de mes qualites rechercher c'est bien... mais vous savez quand vous avez deja eu bien mieux ailleur ( ex: replublique ) pourquoi se contenter de moins... de plus.. la republique est bcp plus chaude en fevrier...

si cette hotel est maintenant classer #2 sur 57 a cuba... imaginer vous aller dans les autres...

conseil... aller en RD avant Cuba... la serie Iberostar ( dominicana ) et RIU ( macao ou palace ) sont reelement ceux ou vous sortirez gagnant. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, proprete,
The weak points
le choix au buffet. taux de change. excursions.

Blau Varadero

, Bracebridge , ON
2015-02-16
We traveled from Toronto and met family there for a week. This hotel is better than most all-inclusive resorts for just about everything. We are seniors so we appreciated that this was not a sprawling resort that required a lot of walking. There is repetition in the buffet but that can be expected in buffets. The main courses were always different and innovative. The pig roast was a fun surprise one afternoon, delicious! We talked to others from our flight who stayed at different resorts in Varadero and we believe we had the best experience overall. Several people we met at the hotel had stayed there many times but had also stayed at other area resorts. We would definitely go to the Blau Varadero again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, helpful knowledgeable staff. Good food. Great selection of brand name beverages. Pricier than others on the strip, but worth it! This hotel has CLASS.
The weak points
The bathroom between the beach and pool became neglected and grungy in the afternoons and probably should have been cleaned more often.
Certified

Blau Veradero

, Dundas, ON
2015-01-12
We like to return to this hotel, it is extremely clean not just in the rooms but also in the spacious lobby and all the restaurants and public rooms.Dining room staff are efficient, Ernesto especially is very friendly and makes us feel at home. Will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean and spacious, lots of space inside the hotel and also in the grounds. Staff are always friendly and willing to help. Food is very good with choices for everyone. Our second time here and we will return.
The weak points
More soap could be supplied in the public washrooms which on the whole are kept very clean.
Certified

As expected

, Pickering, ON
2015-01-07
This property continues to be a favorite for my family.

There were several additional activities and shows for the holiday season. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach.
The weak points
Beach disco
Certified

Don form Toronto

, Toronto, ON
2014-06-30
The hotel was great. Good service from friendly staff, mice large room, great beach and pool, good food (despite what people say about the food in Cuba). The entertainment was ok. It is mainly a hotel for couples, not for young people looking for partying. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, friendly staff, good rooms, good service very professional, very clean.
The weak points
Massage was not good.
Certified

Best Time

, Ajax, ON
2014-05-12
Would highly recommend this Hotel good food excellent service staff very friendly and accommodating. You will not be disapointed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Manager always there friendly staff good food Hotel very clean Good maid service.
The weak points
Sometimes food repetitive in buffet but always could find something to eat.
Certified

Great choice

, Calgary, AB
2014-04-01
This resort is really good.The staff are all friendly and work very hard to make it a great place. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of food. Lunch and dinner also offer a wide variety of foods and the service is great. The a la cartes are amazing.The rooms are very clean and spacious. The resort is well maintained. Yes, sometimes the elevators don't work so great- but this is Cuba. Nite life ends at 11 so if you want to party this is not a party hotel. Jose M thank you for your dedication and hard work in making this a great resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It was all good.
The weak points
None
Certified

The Blau is not worth the price

, Cochin, SK
2014-02-22
Staff and food excellent. Four a new resort it is getting run down, the price is not worth it. Our third time staying there and the last. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food ,beach is great
The weak points
Hotel rooms are getting run down, elevators are always broke down long delays for elevators. The toasters in main dinging have been worn out for 4 years
Certified

2nd time-as expected-Great!

, St.Cath, ON
2014-02-09
Went back with friends that never been to Cuba.They'd heard about food being below par.Not the case at this hotel.Lots of selection.Service was good
Pool&beach top notch [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Newer hotel,nicely landscaped,good food and service
The weak points
Night life after 11:30 is lacking except beach party one nite
Certified

Wonderful experience

, St Catharines, ON
2014-02-08
The hotel met or exceeded our expectations on every level. The staff was amazing, the good was fantastic, the beach was to die for and overall the resort was outstanding. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Highly recommended. Great resort.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?