Sol Varadero Beach 16 Plus

Sol Varadero Beach 16 Plus
4.124.124.124.124.12
4.12 based on 128 reviews
#4 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (244)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Sol Varadero Beach

, Salmon River, NS
2022-10-31
This resort is a beautiful, well maintained hotel. The beach, the grounds, the rooms and the staff were all lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcomed and to help you . My first time that I have had free wifi in Cuba ( and I have been there many times) and that was a major plus to keep in touch at home. The food and drinks were great.
The weak points
The food was great but never hot. You get caught up in lineups because you aren't allowed to self serve. Management needs more servers at each station so that you move along and get to your table with hot food. The staff were wonderful, but not enough.
Certified

Small hotel with good service and a lovely beach

, North York, ON
2022-10-25
I stayed in Sol Varadero Beach 16 in early October 2022. This was my repeat visit to Cuba, but I have not been in this hotel before.

Hotel was renovated about 2-3 years ago, and the appearance from the outside is relatively modern.

The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms have been renovated to include a shower with glass doors and also a glass window (non-transparent) towards the room. There is an option with the handheld shower as well as the built-in. Occasionally there was no warm water. Sometimes if you waited long enough it would eventually start flowing. Occasionally you could sense the faulty smell in the bathroom , the smell from sewage. usually it would disappear after you start using the water.

I limited my dining experience to the self-service restaurant. You actually do not serve yourself, as a post-Covid process change now you just asked for a certain dish and servers are standing there and adding it to your plate. They serve bottled water in this restaurant, which is great!

You probably know that Cuba is not the best destination choice if you expect great cuisine in the resort. The selection of food was quite limited. I mostly had grilled fish (mahi-mahi) and grilled chicken. Together with yellow rice, yucca, sweet potato.... these meals were very tasty. But they did not have vegetable salads at all, except for cabbage that you would have to have without any vinegar, as, I was told, there was no vinegar in the hotel (or at least not in this restaurant).

Beach has a solid number of umbrellas and chairs, so it was never an issue to find a shade (mind you it was October - hurricane season, and the hotel was running at about 50% capacity or less).

I did go for a massage which was a pure waste of time and money. One hour massage was about 50 USD but it was not a good massage. The massage therapist applied very little pressure and did not ask anything about the areas to be massaged or if more pressure should be applied. I did not go back (although I planned on it).

Hotel has power outlets for 220V, but in the reviews I read it had both, so I did not bring any adapters. When I first got into the room I did not find the 110V plug yet and called the hotel hotline The explicitly told me there is no 110V outlets anywhere in the hotel. Later on I found one outlet in the bathroom, as a part of hairdryer housing, that indicated 110V. I was quite disappointed that hotel personnel did not know that.

My balcony door was not locked when I came in. I tried locking it and noticed that the lock is broken. I asked for help and they told me they would send a technician. The technician never came (I stayed there for 7 days). I ended up using the piece of furniture to press against the sliding balcony door, so no one can open it from the outside.

Lady who cleaned my room was very very kind. There was always clean towels, room was kept in immaculate condition. Cleanliness is definitely at a high level at this hotel!

There was minimal number of mosquitos on the hotel ground, which is particularly important as there is risk of dengue exposure (disease spread by mosquitos) in Cuba.

There is free wi-fi that was working quite well in the room and around the reception. Wi-Fi however does not let you save the log-in name and passcode, so every time you want to use it you have to type in a long user name and passcode generated by the hotel computer (nothing that you could remember) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- modern looking, renovated hotel - rooms were kept very clean - lovely beach - good Wi-Fi included (no additional charge) - most people working in the hotel are very kind
The weak points
- for Cuban circumstances food was OK, however no vegetable salads (no vinegar in the restaurant) - loud music from the pool/bar whole day long - some of the receptionists spoke no English and were not kind at all
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
- Most of the food is served by hotel staff, to limit possible cross contamination amongst guests - Hotel is kept clean overall - The number of mosquitoes in October was minimal which is important due to dengue

Séjour inoubliable!!!!

, Charlemagne, QC
2022-10-07
J'y étais pendant la tempête tropicale Ian. C'est ma troisième fois à ce ressort et comme toujours, j'ai adoréééé!!!! Le personnel était aux ptits oiseaux!!! J'ai eu une très belle chambre avec vue partiel de la mer et la piscine. Malgré la tempête, le personnel a tout fait pour tenir les voyageurs occupés avec des activités de toute sorte. La plage est merveilleuse, beaucoup de palapas, pas besoin de se lever tôt le matin pour réserver notre chaise de plage. On a manqué de presque rien. Que dire des cocktails.... miam, miam... Surtout les cafés glacés avec liqueur de café!!! Il y avait aussi du Champagne Rosé qui est excellent!!! Pour la bouffe, et oui c'est Cuba mais on trouve toujours de quoi à manger!!!! Ce ressort est très propre, de même que les toilettes publiques dans le Lobby. Je le recommande fortement. Oui je vais y retourner pour une quatrième fois en mars ou Avril 2023. Si vous avez des demandes spéciales, vous pouvez contacter Jennifer, la directrice commerciale du Ressort ou Jorge, son assistant... Ce sont deux personnes très sympatique!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Tout était parfait!!!!
The weak points
Pour ma part, rien à redire!!!!

Sol Varadero Beach Resort

, Laval, QC
2022-07-25
Our stay at Sol Varadero Beach in Cuba was a memorable one. Had a wonderful time. The staff was very friendly. The service was very good, especially our waitress, Sahily. Always greeted with a smile and meeting all our needs. Definitely a hotel that I would go back to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Nice variety of food. Great a la carte restaurants. Hotel always clean.
The weak points
Service sometimes slow (but due to sanitary measures).
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Good sanitary measures. Meals were served by the employees and there was disinfectant at every location.
Certified

Excellent staff and resort

, Musquodoboit Harbour, NS
2022-07-04
I visited this resort in February, 2022. We were put in a room overlooking the parking lot when we first got there. They were very accommodating and moved us to a first floor room in the new part of the resort. They could not do enough for us. The room was very clean and well looked after. The food was good and there was always something to satisfy your appetite. The pool was beautiful and the beach also, although it was quite windy some days, so hard to swim sometimes. Sometimes the wine stock was low,but there was always, always a beverage to be had. The staff would do whatever they could to accommodate you. My first time there, but I would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
All of the resort.
The weak points
iffy wifi, except in the lobby.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
very good.

Sol Veradero Beach

, Middle Sackville, NS
2022-06-06
Just returned from Sol Veradero What a gem People are AMAZING The staff couldn't do enough for you It's a smaller resort so no long lineups for anything Cuba is not known for their food and the last two years has been hard but they do the best they can The rooms are clean and always fresh bottled water available The beach is the best part So beautiful with lots of activities to keep you busy I loved this little gem [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The weak points
The food can be an issue but there is always something Be careful when it rains as the floors are very slippery Insects were bad mosquitos etc but we went during their peak season Bring bug spray
Certified

Vacation

, Dsl Grand Falls, NB
2022-04-19
Jbainoayer beaucoup tris chère à comparer à certaine personne pour le même voyage [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Belle chaleur
The weak points
Manque de nourriture , nourrit toute une semaine sur les paye alimentaire ..aucun lait aucune vin pas grand choix de nourriture en plus une escale
Certified

Great Intro To Cuba

, Waubaushene, ON
2022-04-12
As a first time traveller to Cuba we arrived with no expectations. The resort was clean and the service was incredible. Room was clean and although we were not in one of the “newly” renovated rooms, the bed was comfy and shower had been updated. No complaints with the room.

Food - I am not going to post anything negative regarding the food - we were always able to find something at the buffet - could be repetitive but there were enough choices that there was no reason to eat the same thing every time. The resort did a great job with whatever resources they had and you need to respect that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Clean, incredible staff, close to the airport. General Manager of the resort is always around making sure guests are happy - of all of my prior travels this was the first time I have seen resort management be so interactive with guests I was impressed.
The weak points
Floor safety near the pool bar needs to be addressed - saw numerous people slip and fall during our time there - the swim up bar was not open which meant people were coming out of the pool & the floor would be covered in water making it extremely slippery
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
I felt safe with the precautions been taken at the resort.

Hotel Centre of Varadero

, Halifax, NS
2022-04-05
Good time, stayed at hotel 10 years ago when it was Sol Siernas, refurbished quite niceley. Good location, not to far up Varadero, but not too far down, i.e. easy access to plaza America as well as to main downtown near Rum store and Calle 62 dance club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Perfect beach, fantastic weather, great dining for Cuba. Coffee and rum were excellent.
The weak points
DJ played music no one danced to. Could only book hotel restaurants day of as opposed to up to 3 days ahead like most hotels. 2 or 3 mosquitos in room at night. Most hotels have more activities, volleyball at 4pm would have been nice, windserfer broken.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Not too little, not too much. Just right.
Certified

Absolutely loved this resort

, Kirkland, QC
2022-03-26
The Hotel has been updated . Our room was the sol room. It was updated and super clean room#1266. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The room was updated and clean The beach was great ,long chairs available The food was good compare to some other resorts I have been to. They served you due to covid. Entertainment was nice and there was something everyday
The weak points
Not all a la carte restaurants where opened ,but it didn't bother us ,we were okay with the buffet

Great trip

, Mont Saint Hilaire, QC
2022-03-07
Hotel was very clean and well maintained. Staff and service was amazing. Would definitely go back to this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Amazing Hotsl
Certified

Wonderful stay

, Brampton, ON
2022-02-03
I had a wonderful experience at this resort. It was clearly recently renovated. I travelled alone but had such great care and support from the staff who would check in and were genuinely friendly.

The resort was noticeably under capacity so there was only breakfast and lunch buffet with dinner being A La Carte only, alternating between 3 restaurants/styles/selections. This is completely understandable given the current world wide situation.

The night time entertainment quality was good and had the potential to be more fun than it was but due to really low numbers less guests means less engagement, but they did their best with what they could.

I can't speak to the drinks as I did not have much but the few I did have were really good.

Thank you to Ivon and Hugo and the front desk, Liset who took care of the a la carte reservations, Yanetsy, Yumigrey and Vladimir from the buffet, the staff and servers at the a la carte. Special thanks to Sergio the director for guest services who was always checking in with the guests around the resort, and for your help in getting a taxi to the airport when I needed to stay a bit longer than anticipated due to delays. You all made my stay memorable because of your genuine kindness.

I would absolutely return and look forward to seeing it in all its glory in full capacity.

FYI - anyone going should be sure to have the correct currency as CUC's are no longer being used, and the Cuban peso is also not used throughout the country. If you bring cash for tips CAD and Euros are preferred. USD accepted too but likely not as preferred. Most things on the resort such as massage or special dinners can be paid for using a credit card.

Testing is done on the resort daily between 10 and 12 - and it is advised you complete your test 3 days prior even if it is slightly outside the 72 hours as they count by days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach, all Staff from the front desk, to the buffet, restaurants, and entertainment. The grounds, rooms and free Internet in designated areas.
The weak points
Not the resorts fault but likely due to shortages made some of the food selection slightly limited, but not enough to be incredibly disruptive. Due to pandemic, no dinner buffet but again not the resorts fault, they were quiet under capacity.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
All staff wore masks at all times. The buffet was serviced by staff who would serve you, rather than guests all touching the same serving spoons. Guests mask requirements were similar to here - worn indoors only.
Certified

Don't Hesitate. Definitely Worth it! Book It!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-02-01
The power of youth, wisdom, and graciousness is experienced with Adrian, Sergio and Arianna. This powerful combination came into play during a ‘hiccup' in our vacation that was professionally handled with discerning attention by Adrian the General Manager and his team. Adrian is young yet he possesses rare qualities… he listens, comprehends and seeks first to understand the guest. Sergio compliments Adrian's trait with his worldly experience, charismatic way and commitment to following through to ensure that the Sol Varadero Beach's guests stay is the best it can possibly be and there's Arianna whose graciousness and attention to addressing our ‘hiccup' guaranteed our stay was perfect. A professional in every way she brings her experience from a five star luxury Cuba resort to the Sol. Add Carlos, the chef, who presented the best food we have experienced on our many, many trips to Cuba at various Melia resorts and you have a winning combination.

Here's what we experienced:

1. New and fresh - the most comfortable bed we've slept on at any resort.
2. Beach - the best in Varadero.
3. Food, we were very impressed. Please see pics of our New Year's Eve dinner.
4. Service was excellent.
5. Clean, clean, clean.
6. Air conditioner perfect.
7. Hand crafted burgers at the snack bar are tasty.

What do guests expect on a much needed vacation? A good sleep, a great cup of coffee, a smile from the staff, sun and sea, professionally mixed drinks and great food and entertainment.

You'll get this at the Sol Varadero Beach. This was our first stay - Dec 28/21 to Jan 4/22 and we've already booked our next vacation.

Hint: We did bring our own ketchup, mustard and relish and Clamato. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach, Management and Staff, Cleanliness, Shower, Bed was very comfortable, Food was Great, Location
The weak points
If there were any issues, they were quickly and professionally handled by the management and staff. This is a strength not a weakness.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Covid safety and sanitary measures in place.

Beautiful week

, Montréal, QC
2022-01-08
I had not been to Cuba in over 10 years, the people are still as friendly as I remembered at the hotel and everywhere else as a matter of fact, the beach at Sol Varadero was beautiful, the hotel was very clean, the energy was great, now we had a room right in front of the main pool, that was a big mistake on some nights impossible to sleep early, knowing that the hotel was not a full capacity, they could of given us a better room. The food was fair, we did not get a chance try any of the a la carte restaurants, even if a couple did open during the week we only find out when we saw people eating there, it was the buffet all week, the fruits were very dull and unsweet for the most part, the juices also, the meats were ok. Room was clean, but not sure if it was the AIRAC ventilation system that seems connected in between the rooms, but I think some people smoke in their room, so the air gets distributed in other rooms, so we had to open our patio door regularly to get rid of the smell. Drinks at the bar were very redundant, but overall we had a very good time, we're not picky people, people were friendly for the most part and the entertainers were great, bartenders at the outside bar were very nice, reception was very slow most times for no reasons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
clean-friendly-good entertainment-beautiful site-beach was prestine-guys for pedal boat on beach very nice
The weak points
food ok-drinks ok- air in room smell like cigarette-reception slow
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Well respected
Certified

Best Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2021-12-06
I have travelled a lot and this was absolutely the best vacation that I've had. Can't wait to go back. There's always something to do…if you like. Can sit and read if you like. Enjoyed having the choices. Food was way better than I had expected. Started every day with stretching and water aerobics on the beach with Grisel and Jaynela. They made me feel so welcome and were smiling every day . Nights can be a bit noisy with entertainment but it's always done at 11.pm so that was acceptable. Great atmosphere . Definitely recommend this place ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The hotels was spotless. Best feature is the staff. Amazing , helpful and always smiling. Entertainment team Geisel, Kiko and Jaynela made everyday better than previous. Loved the exercises on the beach. Restaurant staff are so accommodating and friendly.
The weak points
Almost nothing bad to say. Would've enjoyed salad dressing on the lettuce….they don't used any . Oh well, didn't ruin my stay.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Place is spotless. Hand sanitizer available everywhere.
Certified

Small but nice

, Greenfield Park, QC
2020-03-06
This resort was brand new and quite small compared to others beside it, but it was absolutely great! The employees were always so nice and helpful, the beach wasn't super packed with people and there weren't lineups everywhere for the buffet and the bar. The only drawback is that there were A LOT of Russians compared to Canadians, and they made the experience a little less enjoyable. They yelled and partied until about 5am and you could hear them clearly from your room. They left 2 days after we arrived and the ambiance was a lot more enjoyable and friendly. Would definitely recommend, and will most likely revisit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, food, not crowded
The weak points
Yelling until dawn
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-03-13
Dear Michelle: Thank you for your comment in Monarc and for choosing our hotel as your holidays destination. we are glad to know you could enjoy so much your time with us and that our hotel and installations could fulfill your expectations. We are sorry for any trouble you may have found during your time with us. Once more thank you for your good comments about our service. We hope you do comeback to our hotel. Best regards from Sol Varadero Beach

Good 4*, very nasty manager

, Laval, QC
2020-02-13
Plane was delayed 4 hrs. We (4ppl) decided to stay at the hotel instead at the airport and take a taxi later. We had bracelets until 12 am, but Mr. Bighead Sponge Bob, kind of frustrated manager, made a circus (he demanded the participation of security) that we were not "supposed" to be there. We lost 1/2 hr until his own staff at the reception explained the situation. No apologies made, we shall escalate this. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room, service, amazing bartenders, especially at the pool, clean, superb beach
The weak points
Customer service Bob the sponge weirdo manager.
Certified
Hotel reply, PR/Marketing, on 2020-02-20
Dear Elena Manciu: It is a pleasure for us to communicate with you, thank you for your comment and for choosing our hotel. Thank you so much for the good comments about the general service of the hotel and its installations. Concerning the trouble you encountered with your manager rest assured that the relevant measures have been taken so that this insident will not be repeated. Hope this does not represent an impediment to come back to our hotel on the future.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022