Memories Jibacoa

Memories Jibacoa
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 713 reviews
#9 of 70 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (289)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Second time and love it

, Toronto, ON
2024-05-16
Very good hotel , food stuff, beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Recommended
Certified

Great vacation in Memories Jibacoa

, Calgary, AB
2024-03-25
We stayed at this resort twice, in May 2023 and end of January 2024. We love this resort mostly because of its location near a coral reef and also because of a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere there. Although the variety of food has declined since May 2023 we still found enough food to eat, especially lots of different fish, fruits and desserts. Delicious Spanish coffee in the lobby bar. The resort personal are doing their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. While I cannot name all of them, I want to say my special thanks to Raily from the main buffet and Deni from El Ranchon restaurant for friendly and super fast service; Oralys from Bellini (lobby) bar for her hard work, great and fast service, being super friendly and always smiling; Jeny from diamond club for always being exactly where you need your help. Jeny can be found not only in the diamond club room, she is running all day long around the resort, and checking guests in the beach area, in the lobby, she is everywhere, always would ask if everything is good, if you need any help, how did your excursion go and so on. Amazing energy! Thanks all the staff for making our vacation great! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful coral reef. Amazing beach. Friendly, welcoming atmosphere. Very helpful staff.
The weak points
Declining variety of food. Sport bar equipment very outdated. Cues for pool tables had no tips.

Great vacation

, Hamilton, ON
2024-03-05
All good, great entertainment beautiful open structure, no shortages and lovely seating areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amenities well maintained and run
The weak points
Beef cuts tough - maybe stewing might help.
Certified

Mon endroit de rêve! Calme et repos!

, Sainte-Agathe-Des-Monts, QC
2023-08-06
Commentaires jibacoa

Cet hôtel est mon coup de coeur ayant fait plusieurs endroits dans Cuba depuis 3 ans comme Holguin 2 x,  caya coco 1 x et Jibacoa 2x!

Le personnel est tout à fait attachant et serviable toujours prêt pour nous servir! Kiki et Sara les personnes piliers de cet hôtel, nous accueillent avec amour en français, en anglais et espagnol bien sûre toujours souriants et aimés des employés ça se ressent...

Notre femme de ménage Eimé a fait un nettoyage impeccable à chaque jour de notre chambre et balcon avec des attentions dessins serviettes et autres!  Au buffet nous avons rencontrés des femmes extraordinaires ainsi que les cuisiniers!  Nous mangeons en abondance bon choix de nourriture tel que: poisson, poulet, porc, saucisses, pizza, pâtes au choix et même hamburger!  Nous retrouvons des fruits frais et légumes de la saison, beau choix de desserts! Et les restaurant à la carte délicieux on a même eu droit au homard!

Cet endroit est un petit resort, calme pour 16 ans et plus dans un décor accompagné de montagnes, avec beau récif parfait pour le snorkling ou plongé... beaucoup de couleurs et poissons de toute beauté! N'oubliez pas vos chaussures de plages lorsque vous entrez dans la mer car rocailleux.

La climatisation est impeccable une chance qu'elle fonctionnait car à 32 et 36 degré on en avait besoin!  Les matelas semblait neuf on a très bien dormi!

L'animation est bien organisé et les animateurs très dévoués!  Les spectacles du soir sont agréables et bien organisés! Ce qui fait un plus... et l'animation danse plage avec Kiki et groupe cubain live wow!

Chambre vue sur mer un must! À quelques pas de la plage!

Merci à toute l'équipe mon voyage fut mémorable avec beaucoup de snorkling et j'y retourne l'année prochaine! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Accueil des gens, propreté des chambres et lieux, le barrage de coraux magnifiques, l'emplacement féerique, la bonne nourriture.
The weak points
Besoin d'améliorer le service 24h pour la nourriture. Si on arrive après 22h le choix est au minimum seul. Sandwich, il serait bon d'y ajouter croissant, brioche, soupe et chips ou banane plantain et autre...

Stay at Memories Jibacoa

, Toronto, ON
2023-05-19
My husband and I plus 2 friends stayed at Memories and the staff were amazing and provided excellent services all the time. The foods was great and enjoyable.
The grounds are so clean all the time. We went for many walks.
We have been going for 20 years and will continue going there . Our home away from home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Amazing place to stay.
The weak points
Price is a bit high.¹
Sanitary measures
Clean.
Certified

One week is not enough!!!

, Beauport, QC
2023-02-18
Amazing International patrons. We met people from the UK, Germany, Belgium, France, all over Canada and Cubans who were staying at this resort, most are 50 .
If you are into snorkelling, this place is a great choice. Multiple reefs directly off the beach. Best spot is directly in front of the Oceanview blocks to the right of the rancheron, Head 150 meters off shore, where you'll see the catamarans anchored during the day… A lot of fish there!
Buffet was great.
Breakfast: Two egg/omelette stations. Meat station, bacon prepared every morning. Croissants every morning. Fruit, cheese, fresh bread, etc…
Lunch:
2 meat stations, hamburgers, fries, pizza
Fresh lettuce/tomatoes/cucumbers/cabbage at the salad bar
Soup, pasta cold cuts (ham/salami/cheeses)
Multiple deserts, Ice cream (vanilla/ chocolate/strawberry) every day.
Supper:
2 meat stations
Fish/calamari/shrimp
Chicken/porc/sausage
Pizza station
Huge Paella and pasta station
Yuca frita, congri.
Salad bar as per lunch
Soup
Cold cuts and cheese as per lunch
Deserts as per lunch chocolate fountain.

At the buffet you can eat inside or on the balcony.

Rancheron serves lunch: fish/sandwiches/paella

After supper head to the 24hr lobby bar far Spanish coffee.

Musicians play every night between the lobby bar and the buffet from 8-9 PM.

Entertainment show 9:15-10PM. (We've seen better, but no complaints)

Piano bar from 10PM to 11PM on the second floor over the lobby, good times for those who like to sing (great bar staff, perfect mojitos).

Yoga (almost) every day at 9:30.

Tennis instructor everyday, reserve courts early.
Gym has what you need, if you need it!

Catamarans: reserve asap to ensure availability.
À la carte: Gourmet is the best, but buffet is hard to beat for variety.

Coffee machines in the rooms.

Book Oceanview room, worth the extra.
We were in room 1119, ground floor. Never locked the patio door, 30 seconds from the beach.
We didn't go to the pool, the beach was our hangout.
Take a walk off resort, very safe. The locals (1 or 2) will ask you for handouts. If you don't want to engage, a simple “hola, buen dia” will be all it will take for them to let you go about your business.
You can book a day trip to Habana or the caves in Matanzas for ~ 140 CAD for a couple in a classic car.
For the adventurous, book the paragliding with the staff, it was the truly the highlight of my trip…
There are no Diamond Club rooms. The Diamlnd Club upgrade is a small area on the beach close to the gym, breakfast on the ground level terrasse of the Italian restaurant and some extra spirits at the bars.
We didn't have an issue with mosquitoes. No cockroaches or ants.
The staff is amazing.
I hope this post helps, I've been as
thorough as I could, just a day home from this amazing place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beach, staff, musicians.

Beautiful Resort

, Toronto, ON
2022-05-05
We were impressed with the sanitation practices. Disinfecting is an ongoing thing. Liked everyone staying safe by wearing masks. The location of this resort is amazing. Out of the heavy tourist areas. Very clean. Food was great. There was always something at the buffet even for picky eaters. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Cleanliness is top priority. Loved being served at the buffet. This eliminates so much waste we have seen at other resorts. Everything was seasoned to our liking
The weak points
The juices all have sugar added. Natural juices with no added sugar is better for us diabetics. We ordered surf and turf at Le Gourmet We were not asked how we wanted the steak cooked and not told they were out of lobster. Fish sub. was so so.
Certified

March 22

, Cambridge, ON
2022-03-29
I stayed from March 20-27.
Great location 50 mins from airport!.
Hotel was great, restaurants also and food was amongst best in Cuba... I've been to lots of places on the island.
My room was excellent, block 11 right in between the beach and hotel and ground floor " easy on the knees". Although whole place is only 2 storey.
Super clean and everything I needed Beday!!
Gym was well equipped. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Location, Food, beach, staff, amenities
The weak points
Snack bar... don't bother!
Certified

A fabulous resort

, Komoka, ON
2022-03-07
My fiancé and I stayed here with three other couples in late February / early March 2022.

We had an amazing time. The food, beach and rooms were EXCELLENT.

The service at this resort is superior to most resorts I've visited anywhere. The staff here are professional and friendly and so committed to ensuring guests have the best experience. It was a pleasure getting to know them and I would like to thank them all for making our first travel experience since Covid such a wonderful experience.

We would recommend the Diamond Club upgrade. The upgrade is well worth it.

The entertainment is fantastic. We really enjoyed all of the performances at each restaurant and in the lobby area. The nightly shows are very entertaining and our group enjoyed several nights singing with the pianist and the guitarist at the piano bar.

We typically like to visit new places floor each vacation and rarely consider returning to any resort a second time but we will make an exception for Memories Jibacoa. We are even considering this resort for our upcoming wedding later this year.

Some mentions:

*Yenisey and David, Diamond Club
*Janet, Server in the Buffet

The resort's Diamond Club team were also able to arrange a private tour for our group of six to go to Havana for the day. The price was very reasonable and included our wonderful driver, Rolando and our awesome guide, Erik. Several of us had been to Havana before but we never had a tour like this. Erik is incredibly knowledgeable and fun. We learned so much about his beautiful country and it's challenges on the tour he hosted for us.

If you are a Diamond Club guest and are interested in a trip to Havana or Varadero I recommend asking the Diamond Club team to hook you up with a private tour with Erik and Rolando.

Anyway…can't say enough good stuff about this resort. We look forward to returning.

Things we didn't dig so much (but did not ruin our opinion of the place or our enjoyment of our holiday);
*The rooms are a bit run down
*The beach is often unusable due to rough water, weeds or Portuguese Man of War. (But STUNNING and perfect for swimming and snorkeling on clear, cool, calm days).
*Long lines at the buffet due to not being able to serve ourselves. We got pretty fed up waiting for someone to scoop our food and watching people cut into lines or not follow directions. (The food and staff at the buffet are excellent but the serving issue would have been a much bigger problem for us if we didn't have ala carte access and Diamond breakfast and lunch) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, food, beach, entertainment
The weak points
Rooms are run down, beach unusable at times, buffet bottlenecks when staff has to serve food
Sanitary measures
Very clean. Testing was easy and fairly priced. Serving customers at the buffet is excessive and time consuming. Caused more gathering close together while guests waited for food which is counterproductive
Certified

Our holiday

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-02-17
Our stay at memories was fantastic the best resort we have ever been too. The staff is fantastic the manager is friendly everywhere he helps out the staff all respect him and he is always checking with guests to be sure all is ok. We are definitely planning a return trip felt like home to us [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hell has no fury

, Sarnia, ON
2019-12-14
The hotel needs to be upgraded. It was suppose to be 4.5 stars, it is not it is about a 2 star. The rooms weren't great, beds were hard, shower was falling off wall, sink taps were falling off. The air conditioning unit was broke, the rooms had a mildew smell. The front door you had to lock it from the inside and the outside, dum system. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The girls that looked after and cleaned the rooms were great
The weak points
everything, the rooms were not liveable
Certified

Amazing!

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-24
Had an amazing time. The staff, the food, the nearby restaurant and shops were all fantastic. The view of both ocean and mountain was beautiful. The entertainment was always very well done. I would ( and already have) recommend this hotel to others. Can't wait to go back and explore more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-08-19
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It was our first time in this place and we loved it. Certainly, we gladly would go back without hesitation. The beach was amazing, especially for the swimmers who enjoy snorkeling. You have the chance to enjoy coral reefs and different species of fish. The place is secluded and this is the place that you can really relax. The scenery is breathtaking because the resort is located just at the bottom of a hill. Every morning you can enjoy hiking to get to the top of the hill where you can view the resort with its beauty. The shows were really enjoyable and the piano bar is a great way to socialize. Also, the food was excellent and it exceeded our expectations. Differently from what you hear about Cuban resorts, the food was fresh and well cooked. So many options to choose at the buffet and most of all we really loved the fresh mangos, papayas, guavas and melons. The rooms were very clean and the maides are doing a fantastic job. The only thing that needs to be improved is the resort needs some updates.Other than that, everything was to our satisfaction. I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested to go there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Week

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-13
Enjoyed our 17th visit to this resort. Love the staff, and the activities are well planned out. Food is good - a variety in the buffet for theme nights, and the 'a la carte restaurants' are all great!
Only a 45 minute from the airport is a bonus.

Thanks to a welcoming, committed staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet surroundings....Friendly staff....comfortable rooms...Great to have wifi accessibility!
The weak points
We were unable to swim in the ocean due to 'red flag' all week - but certainly not the fault of the resort!
Certified

Great holiday...just perfect!

, Beaconsfield, QC
2018-09-21
This was my 46th trip to Cuba, and one of the best! The adult-only resort was a blessing; peaceful and sophisticated, on lovely Jibacoa Beach.
The room was very nice..bld #5 was close to the beach and very quiet. The pool area was very big, and the beach had lots of chairs, a resto, a bar, and a swim-up coral reef.
Be aware that some flights no longer have entertainment (bring your own tablet with downloads, and a Smartphone for music). Also, check the bus departure time. Out wholesaler had up in the lobby one hour too early! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, beautiful location, great staff, good variety in food
The weak points
dining-room could have better supervision...lack of glasses, plates, empty food platters, dirty place-mats
Certified

Good experience.

, Surrey, BC
2018-05-10
I enjoyed it, would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Snorkelling Quiet Adults Only Close to Havana
The weak points
Drinks Food Lack of Communication Rocky Beach
Certified

MEMORIES JIBACOA CUBA

, Ottawa, ON
2018-03-29
Very nice location 1 hour from Havana.
Staff were excellent, clean and quiet perfect for relaxation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great! Did not spend much time by the pool. The Grounds and surrounding mountains were beautiful.
The weak points
Rooms were a little dated and could use an upgrade especially the bathrooms. Showers were very low and not much water pressure.
Certified

Stunning resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-10
Excellent experience. Perfect vacation for us. Exactly what we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location. Beautiful buildings. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great amenities. Adult only.
The weak points
Buffet food ok. Bar and restaurant food great. The whole sun chair booking thing annoying. Guests left towel on chair at pool whilst at beach all morning. More control needed.
Certified

Wow! Memories Jibacoa

, Conception Harbour, NL
2018-02-01
We travelled to Memories Jibacoa for a special birthday celebration and some family time away with my sisters and our Mother. We couldn't be happier with the experience we had [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The employees are the strong points at this resort! Kiki made our experience enjoyable and took care of everything for us. Marcos was always smiling and engaging the guests in the entertainment and he is a great singer too! YendrI and Mike were great too!
Certified

Still a nice vacation

, Rimbey, AB
2018-01-20
Although the resort rooms are a bit tired, they are still clean and comfortable. This was our second time to this resort. We first fell in love with the snorkelling on site, however, with the amount of people still standing on the reef, all the time, it has lost a lot of its colour and life. We noticed a huge difference from 4 years ago.
Not to much has changed when it comes to the food, it is still eatable. We treated ourselves this time and took advantage of all the upgrades from ocean view to diamond club. I was a bit disappointed with the diamond club as we are not forceful people so we did not receive the services we paid for. The pool and hot tub area is in need of serious repair due to broken tiles and jets not working as well as the water in the hot tub was very dirty even though is was drained every night. It would have been nice to soak in the hot tub at night when the air is cooler. Use extreme caution with the spa if you are wanting your nails done. All disposable tools are reused and not sanitized. I soaked my hands and feet in hand sanitizer afterwards, I wish I would have just got up and left.
Be prepared to tip well and often. 1 cuc didn't seem to be appreciated anymore, 3 cuc awarded a smile and decent drink. If you choose to eat your dinner meal outside the buffet, be prepared to tip the entertainment, they will not leave you alone unless you tip or buy their CD. Over all the resort is a Cuban 4 star with its beautiful gardens and better than expected meals. We have stayed at other 4 star resorts and the food was terrible forcing us to eat off resort for 15-25 cuc per meal each. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, clean, comfortable and food. Scenery is breath taking.
The weak points
Understaffed, sour beer at times, pool/hot tub in need of repairs, avoid the spa.
Certified

Amazing people and resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-01-03
First time in Cuba. This resort was recommended to us by my brother who has been there 7 times. Everything we could hope for and so much more. Staff treated us and everyone else like royalty. Food was absolutely delicious. Buffet had everything and anything you could possibly want. Massages made us feel rejuvenated. I recommend you go Diamond Club. It does make a difference. Talking to people on flight home who stayed elsewhere; we definitely had the best resort. Thanks Kiki! You are awesome! Fabulous beaches and always a breeze. Paradise [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A relaxing time

, Brampton, ON
2017-07-20
We had a very relaxing time at this hotel. It was our first visit.
We talked to many people who came back year after year because of the service and the overall quality of the resort.

The resort is small and not surrounded by other resorts, so don't expect a party. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. Also, it's only about an hour from Havana. We booked an organized bus tour to Havana with our vacation provider, but we were not impressed. We were driven around a few parts of Havana on the bus, stopped at a cigar shop and a restaurant for lunch, then a brief walking tour in old Havana, and only an hour to explore on our own. It felt like we didn't really see much. We heard from people who went on their own tours with local guides and drivers that they got to see a lot, and they had more control over where to stop, go in, explore, etc.

The beach is great. Yes, the sandy bottom doesn't extend far, because after the sand you have stones, then grasses, then reef. But you can still take a refreshing dip without water shoes. The reef is quite large and varied and extends far from the beach, but the water is calm and it's easy to explore it.

The food was generally good. The grilled fish at the lunchtime beach restaurant is delicious. The piano bar and the lobby bar have the best drinks (including better coffee than at the buffet).

The staff are friendly and the front desk is accommodating. They try to make sure everything is ok with your stay.

The rooms are nice enough, and cleaned well every day.

Overall, a great place, and I can see why people come back here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach (coral reef, lots of shade, calm water), beautiful grounds, restaurant right on the beach (the fish there is delicious), food (generally above average for Cuba), friendly staff.
The weak points
Havana tour, lack of air-conditioned spaces during the day (besides your room)
Certified

Another Great Visit!

, Ottawa, ON
2017-06-27
Visited Memories Jibacoa mid June to relax, recharge and enjoy the sun (it was a damp and rainy spring at home). We've been to this resort many times and are never disappointed. The resort is well situated, small and adult only. It is tucked in-between the ocean and a small mountain away from the hustle and bustle of Varadero. Excellent spot for morning walks off the resort.

Staff at this resort are excellent. They genuinely wish for you to enjoy yourself and are always pleasant, helpful and up for friendly conversation. Fantastic customer service from all - front desk and concierge, housekeeping, restaurant and bartenders, managers, groundskeepers and animation team. Lots of live Cuban music each day which is fun. There was a more varied age range this visit with younger guests but this is definitely not a crazy party resort. Having said that, there are no shortage of activities and you can be as busy (or not) as you like. It truly has a easy-going, tranquil atmosphere that I think is perfect.

Don't miss the great Cuban day on the beach - Cuban food, drinks and music. Staff are enthusiastic and involved, lots of dancing and singing. Shout out to the excellent band, Hershey Son, who played. We really enjoyed all of it.

All in all, another great visit. Will definitely return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Cuba experience

, St Catherine, QC
2017-05-30
It's our first time to Cuba and I was not expecting much but we're sureprise to find Memories Jibacoa such a beautiful place the staff and the food are excellent esp.the Manager Miguel Lopez always takes care of everybody .He is a gem.The room is always clean.we have such a wonderful time .we will be coming back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are so nice and food is good even the yoga and Zumba teacher Angie is wonderful!
The weak points
The beach has stones underneath be sure to wear something but the water is crystal clear!
Certified

Great Place to Relax

, Edmonton, AB
2017-05-16
We only spent 2 nights here as we travelled to Havana, Viñales and another resort. Overall we loved it! If you're not too picky about food and like a quiet place, this is the place for you!

The PROS:
- The room is clean and airy (no strong mould smell)
- Small resort, you can easily go back/forth to your room from the beach and bars
- Close to nature; mountain in the back allows for a short but steep hike, which brought you to great views of the ocean.
- Very quiet - only one other resort in the area
- Adults only, which was an pro for us
- Closer to Havana than Varadero (60CUC for a taxi, cheaper if you can get a collectivo)
- Beach is great for snorkelling, we saw at least a dozen species of fish
- Well run, service is good
- Paragliding for 50CUC/person was a blast

The CONS:
- Food was average, but we were expecting this from other reviewers. At the buffet, stick to the omelettes at breakfast and the cuban specialties for lunch and dinner.
- Very basic entertainment. There was only 1 hour of entertainment per day (at night). Aqua Dance was great. You could easily get bored here if you stayed for more than 2-3 nights, unless you do excursions or are there with a group of friends
- Quite isolated, but easily connected to towns
- The buildings and facilities are looking tired and could use some sprucing up, but it is kept clean
- Not the best beach if you like white sand beaches with shallow water for hundreds of feet, but great for snorkelling
- Bring your own travel mug/cup as most drinks are in plastic cups (eek!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for a relaxing, quiet time. Good for snorkelling. Close to nature. Clean.
The weak points
Entertainment needs improvement. Not the white sandy beach like in Varadero. Food is average.

Memories

, St Albans, NL
2017-04-07
A smaller resort so it is a very quiet resort which we enjoyed. Enjoyed the beach and the pool areas. The food was pretty good and the staff for the most part were really friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Everything in short walking distance.
The weak points
An older resort. Needs a few renovations and updating.
Certified

Secluded getaway

, Edmonton,, AB
2017-04-05
A lovely secluded adult resort, with a fabulous view of hills, beaches and trees. Service was excellent, food and drinks were great and the entertainment varied and quite good. We would definitely go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool area and the international restaurant{ Martinos} was fabulous.
The weak points
Only taxis or tours available to Havanna.Would like to see a bus or shuttle service avaiable that would be strictly for drop off and pick up, not an excursion or tour.
Certified

Repeat visit

, Ottawa, ON
2016-12-17
Our 5th visit to this resort. We love the staff, the location and the grounds. A perfect place for swimming, lunches at the beach and couple time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and coral reefs, the wonderful staff and the Taverna restaurant
The weak points
Had requested king bed and given twin beds and one mattress definitely needed replacement due to lumpy springs. The pool is missing a lot of tiles. It's time to fix it up. Could do with a few more cloth loungers at the beach.
Certified

Reviews

, Toronto, ON
2016-11-14
Like activities, such as dance, walking, hiking, show and beach party [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Back from Jibacoa

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-11-08
As always, I had a great 2 week stay at Memories Jibacoa. Staff are the best, reef is fantastic and the gardens are beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024