Memories Jibacoa

Memories Jibacoa
3.983.983.983.983.98
3.98 based on 680 reviews
#6 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (228)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Our holiday

, Spruce Grove, AB
2020-02-17
Our stay at memories was fantastic the best resort we have ever been too. The staff is fantastic the manager is friendly everywhere he helps out the staff all respect him and he is always checking with guests to be sure all is ok. We are definitely planning a return trip felt like home to us [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hell has no fury

, Sarnia, ON
2019-12-14
The hotel needs to be upgraded. It was suppose to be 4.5 stars, it is not it is about a 2 star. The rooms weren't great, beds were hard, shower was falling off wall, sink taps were falling off. The air conditioning unit was broke, the rooms had a mildew smell. The front door you had to lock it from the inside and the outside, dum system. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The girls that looked after and cleaned the rooms were great
The weak points
everything, the rooms were not liveable
Certified

Amazing!

, Toronto, ON
2019-10-24
Had an amazing time. The staff, the food, the nearby restaurant and shops were all fantastic. The view of both ocean and mountain was beautiful. The entertainment was always very well done. I would ( and already have) recommend this hotel to others. Can't wait to go back and explore more. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing Resort

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-08-19
We really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It was our first time in this place and we loved it. Certainly, we gladly would go back without hesitation. The beach was amazing, especially for the swimmers who enjoy snorkeling. You have the chance to enjoy coral reefs and different species of fish. The place is secluded and this is the place that you can really relax. The scenery is breathtaking because the resort is located just at the bottom of a hill. Every morning you can enjoy hiking to get to the top of the hill where you can view the resort with its beauty. The shows were really enjoyable and the piano bar is a great way to socialize. Also, the food was excellent and it exceeded our expectations. Differently from what you hear about Cuban resorts, the food was fresh and well cooked. So many options to choose at the buffet and most of all we really loved the fresh mangos, papayas, guavas and melons. The rooms were very clean and the maides are doing a fantastic job. The only thing that needs to be improved is the resort needs some updates.Other than that, everything was to our satisfaction. I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested to go there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Week

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-13
Enjoyed our 17th visit to this resort. Love the staff, and the activities are well planned out. Food is good - a variety in the buffet for theme nights, and the 'a la carte restaurants' are all great!
Only a 45 minute from the airport is a bonus.

Thanks to a welcoming, committed staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet surroundings....Friendly staff....comfortable rooms...Great to have wifi accessibility!
The weak points
We were unable to swim in the ocean due to 'red flag' all week - but certainly not the fault of the resort!
Certified

Great holiday...just perfect!

, Beaconsfield, QC
2018-09-21
This was my 46th trip to Cuba, and one of the best! The adult-only resort was a blessing; peaceful and sophisticated, on lovely Jibacoa Beach.
The room was very nice..bld #5 was close to the beach and very quiet. The pool area was very big, and the beach had lots of chairs, a resto, a bar, and a swim-up coral reef.
Be aware that some flights no longer have entertainment (bring your own tablet with downloads, and a Smartphone for music). Also, check the bus departure time. Out wholesaler had up in the lobby one hour too early! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quiet, beautiful location, great staff, good variety in food
The weak points
dining-room could have better supervision...lack of glasses, plates, empty food platters, dirty place-mats
Certified

Good experience.

, Surrey, BC
2018-05-10
I enjoyed it, would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean Snorkelling Quiet Adults Only Close to Havana
The weak points
Drinks Food Lack of Communication Rocky Beach
Certified

MEMORIES JIBACOA CUBA

, Ottawa, ON
2018-03-29
Very nice location 1 hour from Havana.
Staff were excellent, clean and quiet perfect for relaxation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great! Did not spend much time by the pool. The Grounds and surrounding mountains were beautiful.
The weak points
Rooms were a little dated and could use an upgrade especially the bathrooms. Showers were very low and not much water pressure.
Certified

Stunning resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-10
Excellent experience. Perfect vacation for us. Exactly what we were looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location. Beautiful buildings. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great amenities. Adult only.
The weak points
Buffet food ok. Bar and restaurant food great. The whole sun chair booking thing annoying. Guests left towel on chair at pool whilst at beach all morning. More control needed.
Certified

Wow! Memories Jibacoa

, Conception Harbour, NL
2018-02-01
We travelled to Memories Jibacoa for a special birthday celebration and some family time away with my sisters and our Mother. We couldn't be happier with the experience we had [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The employees are the strong points at this resort! Kiki made our experience enjoyable and took care of everything for us. Marcos was always smiling and engaging the guests in the entertainment and he is a great singer too! YendrI and Mike were great too!
Certified

Still a nice vacation

, Rimbey, AB
2018-01-20
Although the resort rooms are a bit tired, they are still clean and comfortable. This was our second time to this resort. We first fell in love with the snorkelling on site, however, with the amount of people still standing on the reef, all the time, it has lost a lot of its colour and life. We noticed a huge difference from 4 years ago.
Not to much has changed when it comes to the food, it is still eatable. We treated ourselves this time and took advantage of all the upgrades from ocean view to diamond club. I was a bit disappointed with the diamond club as we are not forceful people so we did not receive the services we paid for. The pool and hot tub area is in need of serious repair due to broken tiles and jets not working as well as the water in the hot tub was very dirty even though is was drained every night. It would have been nice to soak in the hot tub at night when the air is cooler. Use extreme caution with the spa if you are wanting your nails done. All disposable tools are reused and not sanitized. I soaked my hands and feet in hand sanitizer afterwards, I wish I would have just got up and left.
Be prepared to tip well and often. 1 cuc didn't seem to be appreciated anymore, 3 cuc awarded a smile and decent drink. If you choose to eat your dinner meal outside the buffet, be prepared to tip the entertainment, they will not leave you alone unless you tip or buy their CD. Over all the resort is a Cuban 4 star with its beautiful gardens and better than expected meals. We have stayed at other 4 star resorts and the food was terrible forcing us to eat off resort for 15-25 cuc per meal each. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, clean, comfortable and food. Scenery is breath taking.
The weak points
Understaffed, sour beer at times, pool/hot tub in need of repairs, avoid the spa.
Certified

Amazing people and resort

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-01-03
First time in Cuba. This resort was recommended to us by my brother who has been there 7 times. Everything we could hope for and so much more. Staff treated us and everyone else like royalty. Food was absolutely delicious. Buffet had everything and anything you could possibly want. Massages made us feel rejuvenated. I recommend you go Diamond Club. It does make a difference. Talking to people on flight home who stayed elsewhere; we definitely had the best resort. Thanks Kiki! You are awesome! Fabulous beaches and always a breeze. Paradise [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A relaxing time

, Brampton, ON
2017-07-20
We had a very relaxing time at this hotel. It was our first visit.
We talked to many people who came back year after year because of the service and the overall quality of the resort.

The resort is small and not surrounded by other resorts, so don't expect a party. If you're looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. Also, it's only about an hour from Havana. We booked an organized bus tour to Havana with our vacation provider, but we were not impressed. We were driven around a few parts of Havana on the bus, stopped at a cigar shop and a restaurant for lunch, then a brief walking tour in old Havana, and only an hour to explore on our own. It felt like we didn't really see much. We heard from people who went on their own tours with local guides and drivers that they got to see a lot, and they had more control over where to stop, go in, explore, etc.

The beach is great. Yes, the sandy bottom doesn't extend far, because after the sand you have stones, then grasses, then reef. But you can still take a refreshing dip without water shoes. The reef is quite large and varied and extends far from the beach, but the water is calm and it's easy to explore it.

The food was generally good. The grilled fish at the lunchtime beach restaurant is delicious. The piano bar and the lobby bar have the best drinks (including better coffee than at the buffet).

The staff are friendly and the front desk is accommodating. They try to make sure everything is ok with your stay.

The rooms are nice enough, and cleaned well every day.

Overall, a great place, and I can see why people come back here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach (coral reef, lots of shade, calm water), beautiful grounds, restaurant right on the beach (the fish there is delicious), food (generally above average for Cuba), friendly staff.
The weak points
Havana tour, lack of air-conditioned spaces during the day (besides your room)
Certified

Another Great Visit!

, Ottawa, ON
2017-06-27
Visited Memories Jibacoa mid June to relax, recharge and enjoy the sun (it was a damp and rainy spring at home). We've been to this resort many times and are never disappointed. The resort is well situated, small and adult only. It is tucked in-between the ocean and a small mountain away from the hustle and bustle of Varadero. Excellent spot for morning walks off the resort.

Staff at this resort are excellent. They genuinely wish for you to enjoy yourself and are always pleasant, helpful and up for friendly conversation. Fantastic customer service from all - front desk and concierge, housekeeping, restaurant and bartenders, managers, groundskeepers and animation team. Lots of live Cuban music each day which is fun. There was a more varied age range this visit with younger guests but this is definitely not a crazy party resort. Having said that, there are no shortage of activities and you can be as busy (or not) as you like. It truly has a easy-going, tranquil atmosphere that I think is perfect.

Don't miss the great Cuban day on the beach - Cuban food, drinks and music. Staff are enthusiastic and involved, lots of dancing and singing. Shout out to the excellent band, Hershey Son, who played. We really enjoyed all of it.

All in all, another great visit. Will definitely return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Cuba experience

, St Catherine, QC
2017-05-30
It's our first time to Cuba and I was not expecting much but we're sureprise to find Memories Jibacoa such a beautiful place the staff and the food are excellent esp.the Manager Miguel Lopez always takes care of everybody .He is a gem.The room is always clean.we have such a wonderful time .we will be coming back next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are so nice and food is good even the yoga and Zumba teacher Angie is wonderful!
The weak points
The beach has stones underneath be sure to wear something but the water is crystal clear!
Certified

Great Place to Relax

, Edmonton, AB
2017-05-16
We only spent 2 nights here as we travelled to Havana, Viñales and another resort. Overall we loved it! If you're not too picky about food and like a quiet place, this is the place for you!

The PROS:
- The room is clean and airy (no strong mould smell)
- Small resort, you can easily go back/forth to your room from the beach and bars
- Close to nature; mountain in the back allows for a short but steep hike, which brought you to great views of the ocean.
- Very quiet - only one other resort in the area
- Adults only, which was an pro for us
- Closer to Havana than Varadero (60CUC for a taxi, cheaper if you can get a collectivo)
- Beach is great for snorkelling, we saw at least a dozen species of fish
- Well run, service is good
- Paragliding for 50CUC/person was a blast

The CONS:
- Food was average, but we were expecting this from other reviewers. At the buffet, stick to the omelettes at breakfast and the cuban specialties for lunch and dinner.
- Very basic entertainment. There was only 1 hour of entertainment per day (at night). Aqua Dance was great. You could easily get bored here if you stayed for more than 2-3 nights, unless you do excursions or are there with a group of friends
- Quite isolated, but easily connected to towns
- The buildings and facilities are looking tired and could use some sprucing up, but it is kept clean
- Not the best beach if you like white sand beaches with shallow water for hundreds of feet, but great for snorkelling
- Bring your own travel mug/cup as most drinks are in plastic cups (eek!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for a relaxing, quiet time. Good for snorkelling. Close to nature. Clean.
The weak points
Entertainment needs improvement. Not the white sandy beach like in Varadero. Food is average.

Memories

, St Albans, NL
2017-04-07
A smaller resort so it is a very quiet resort which we enjoyed. Enjoyed the beach and the pool areas. The food was pretty good and the staff for the most part were really friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Everything in short walking distance.
The weak points
An older resort. Needs a few renovations and updating.
Certified

Secluded getaway

, Edmonton,, AB
2017-04-05
A lovely secluded adult resort, with a fabulous view of hills, beaches and trees. Service was excellent, food and drinks were great and the entertainment varied and quite good. We would definitely go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool area and the international restaurant{ Martinos} was fabulous.
The weak points
Only taxis or tours available to Havanna.Would like to see a bus or shuttle service avaiable that would be strictly for drop off and pick up, not an excursion or tour.
Certified

Repeat visit

, Ottawa, ON
2016-12-17
Our 5th visit to this resort. We love the staff, the location and the grounds. A perfect place for swimming, lunches at the beach and couple time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and coral reefs, the wonderful staff and the Taverna restaurant
The weak points
Had requested king bed and given twin beds and one mattress definitely needed replacement due to lumpy springs. The pool is missing a lot of tiles. It's time to fix it up. Could do with a few more cloth loungers at the beach.
Certified

Reviews

, Toronto, ON
2016-11-14
Like activities, such as dance, walking, hiking, show and beach party [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Back from Jibacoa

, Niagara Falls, ON
2016-11-08
As always, I had a great 2 week stay at Memories Jibacoa. Staff are the best, reef is fantastic and the gardens are beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Brilliant value

, Barrie, ON
2016-10-25
It is an exceptionally well run resort on every level. You will marvel at the thought that goes into everything, a welcome extra gesture here and there. This is not something that a specific hotel star rating would reveal. All amenities and the beach are superb too [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great week!

, Barrie, ON
2016-10-24
We have stayed here before and this resort keeps getting better each time. The staff is fantastic and really provide a high level of service. The food is good with a nice variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fantastic staff
The weak points
no night life
Certified

Sorry- Not a 4 star

, Edmonton, AB
2016-10-09
Stayed st this resort around 2001 when it was a Breezes resort. It was a very good resort back then but I think beds and pillows are still from then. Hotel should be rated 3 star not 4. Beach swimming is no good. Beach itself is very nice . I am glad I got it on seat sale and didn,t pay regular price, any of the negatives I have noted are not the fault of the staff but of the owners. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, climate. Cleanliness ,pool,
The weak points
Buffet-lack of fresh fruit,lettuce,onions Bars-lack of fresh fruit to make tropical drinks,lack of ice cubes -this is not staffs fault they don't have the proper tools to do their job Beds were very hard and pillows flat.
Certified

Memories review

, Whitecourt, AB
2016-10-08
Nice layout, not crowded, no long lines,beach is very good but water entering is quit rocky and hard to navigate. Rooms r clean, no beer in fridge which is not cold anyhow, Food is always very bland no matter what u have to eat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great price,pool is clean and cool,all staff were pleasent and courtous roomswere clean
The weak points
rocky entering water at beach, bland food, limited wi fi, very muggy not hotels fault
Certified

Again and again...

, Gatineau, QC
2016-10-05
We went back again, it's like an addiction to the coral reef and to the nice people working hard over there. A big THANK YOU to the hotel General Manager, Julie Lasante...she is everywhere on the site (we think she has clones!!!), making sure that everything is OK. Very helpful, very willing to help. New additions (modern showers, Wi-Fi etc.). We will go back next year for sure! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Snorkeling, nice, clean and quiet resort; super-staff!!!
Certified

Good memories at Memories Jibacoa

, Whitby, ON
2016-05-23
It was our first time at Memories Jibacoa. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing week enjoying sun, sand, sea and service, and definitely it was the one that matched our expectations it was exactly what we wanted. It was perfect!
The Resort is well kept , super clean. We had a beautiful room with view in the garden only few steps from the sea. The personnel was friendly and would go out of their way to make feel greate. Clean beaches, great for snorkeling. Nice white sand and many trees for and umbrellas for shade. The food was excellent at the buffet restaurant with good variety for every taste. We had lunch at the beach restaurant every day. There are four bars.
Every night there was quality entertainment.
The only negative thing we noticed was that the bathtub was showing its age. We did mentioned it at the service desk and we were offered to change our room. We didn't bothered as everything was still clean and was just an aesthetic issue.

We stayed May 8 to 15, 2016 and we are planning to go back next year. We will highly recommend it to our friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great vacation

, East Garafraxa, ON
2016-05-18
Great vacation, room was good, needs a bit of upgrading. Easy access to everything on the grounds. Beautiful pool area. Beach a little rocky in place, water weedy in places but great snorkeling. Food delicious, lots of choice, a la cartes were fabulous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Vacation

, Kingsville, ON
2016-04-24
This was a great place. Recommend for over 40 crowd. Great reef and secluded beach. Food was ok, Havana only an hour away, well worth hiring a car for the day and touring.
Will go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Dive Shop staff experienced and reliable, would recommend my children to dive with them.
The weak points
Buffet food, good but still buffet food.
Certified

Memories Jibacoa

, Head of St. Margaret s Bay, NS
2016-04-24
This was trip number six to this location and the first under the new operator. Overall the place has been spruced up and is still a beautiful location for a quiet adult vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - situated by a beautiful mountain in farming area with an outstanding reef for snorkelling and scuba diving. Great staff. Good quality food. Lots of live Cuban music and very good nightly shows.
The weak points
Some rooms need work. They no longer have theme nights at the buffet and as a result variety is limited. "No black beans and rice" dish was a staple for me.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020