Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

4.134.134.134.134.13
Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa
#3 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
4.13 based on 659 reviews
Traveller pictures (209)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Great hotel

, Rimbey, AB
2020-03-11
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Great staff and food. Lots of options for meals, but especially enjoyed the buffet as it had great variety and had a grill station serving fish, lobster, pork ect. Plenty of pasta and breads also. The food was very flavourful. The beach was so nice with crystal clear water to swim in. We had one day of wind and rough water, but otherwise great and perfect for a nice long walk. Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach and staff
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Amazing!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-03
This hotel was absolutely amazing - the beach was beautiful, the à la carte restaurants were delicious and featured beautiful musicians every night who would come up to each table personally for a song, and the staff were absolutely amazing (and genuine): kind, enthusiastic, and they actually wanted to get to know you. Would 10/10 recommend staying here! My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights and found that it was a fun crowd, despite being a bit of an older crowd - was still a lot of fun, and the entertainment team always made sure to get the crowd involved. Definitely will return to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the entertainment, the staff, the beaches, the drinks.
The weak points
Wifi, no ATM at the hotel.
Certified

Royalton resort and spa

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-28
The resort was alright. Often had the odor of sewage in various spots on the resort. The staff were friendly and service was good. Our ac did not work very well and was never fixed, needed an adapter for power and that was never sent to our room either. The music shuts off at 11pm in the 24 hour bar..... that is truly rediculous. The resort was beautiful on the outside and very dated on the inside. The al le cart did not do reservations so if you were not the first wave of people present, you were turned away. We tried to eat there a few times and never did get a table, this we found to be very disappointing. There were others talking at the bistro that had been there 10 days already and had al le cart 9 nights, while we were there 7 days and only made it to one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was great Buffet was huge Pool side and beach well kept
The weak points
Rooms were run down a bit After 11pm it was quiet time yet bar was open so very boring Restaraunt almost impossible to dine at
Certified

Cuba Initiation

, Burlington, ON
2020-01-21
The hotel is nice but needs some updating. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the entertainment was very good. We were part of the Diamond Club which we were generally pleased with.The butler service was inconsistent. We were not offered a tour when we arrived which would have helped orient us to the resort complex. The butlers tried to help but got a number of our reservations wrong. They did however help us arrange a private tour of Havana. The driver and guide were excellent.
There was no information in the rooms or anywhere on the daily activities at the resort. We recommend that the resort publish a daily schedule posted in prominent places at the resort, such as the lobby and bar area, if for some reason it can't be delivered to the rooms daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff with great attitude. Beautiful location, beech and outside facilities. Large rooms (Diamond category).
The weak points
The rooms need repairs and updating but are clean. Food selection could be improved but this is affected by availability. The resort needs some repairs and updating but work appears to have started to correct this.
Certified

Amazing trip

, Barrie, ON
2019-12-14
This was our sixth trip to this hotel. The beach is amazing, white sand, extremely clear water and never a shortage of lounge chairs.
The rooms are clean and the air conditioning works well.
The food is good, there is lots of choices but remember this is Cuba so some things are not available.
The staff for the most part are great and some are outstanding.
The pool area last lovely and there is lots of entertainment available you can do as much or little as you want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a fantastic Butler names Ronald, anything we needed he made it happen. We had some amazing servers in the dinning room Barbara and Lizandra these ladies were kind, friendly and proficient. We love that the resort is a nice size.
The weak points
This sounds petty but my big complaint is you couldn't get a daiquiri at the beach bar this year.
Certified

Varadero

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-12-02
Well experinced staff, efficient and professional. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
No ATM machine. Credit card not accepted every where on the resort. Tips expected at every chore. Have to buy wifi, it should have been included.
Certified

Our experience!

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-01
This was our third time at this resort. We have become comfortable here as well with the staff. We love the service most of the time we receive it. We always do diamond club for the little extras we get especially the beach and restaurent choices. We noticed that they are investing in upgrades and putting money back into the resort by doing some needed repairs. Sandy was our fav waiter at the main bar but now got moved to the Int. restaurant. We met new waitresses Chevalise and Jennifer they were great, attentive polite funny and offered great service. The beach bartender was also amazing talkative friendly. The beaches are always clean and beautiful. We walked the beach n this resort has one of the biggest cleanest beach section. Marcelo the bellboy is always happy to see us and always takes care of us. It was also great to see the workers wearing a bit more ppe, although gloves n safety glasses would go along way for some of them with particular jobs thay need these items. The rooms are always clean and the clean staff are pleasant. They changed the staff around with good intentions but not everyone is good at customer service. They also changed the head chef and I thought the meals and menus have less choice then before in the restaurents. The buffet was ok they always have lots of choices. We did find out that they are now importing Canadian beef. The diamond club beach waiter was way less attentive this year, people had to go to the bar more to get drinks vs delivery which is part of the diamond package and they haven't added a washroom at the diamond club beach yet which would go a long way but a bonus was they added wifi at the beach and bedrooms but that was a perk for me going to Cuba is getting away from the cell phones. The simplicity in Cuba is what we love most for that real get away experience. The bar musicians need some changes. Jesus and Orlando are the best ones of the week on thurs they engage the crowd and offer a variety of music. The other nightly ones aren't necessarily changing their music or engaging the crowd. The pianist in the international restaurent was amazing, I wondered why she wasn't playing more around the resort, her music was modern and old but the compilation was fantastic and a joy to listen to, very talented. We always feel safe in Cuba and are always respected by the locals even away from the resort. There are no locals walking the beach weaving in and out for goods from you all day long but if you want to brings goods as we always do they are respectful and graciously accept them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff grounds and the friends you make along the way.the two main waitresses at buffet in diamond club section were fantastic they've been there for a while n were very sweet.
The weak points
Our inverter didn't work in our room 2 nd yr now but we were accommodated with an inverter. Roberto our butler was the worst in our 3 yrs nothing for my bday, we had to follow up 3 times for our dinner reservations. No washroom at diamond beach.
Certified

The ups and downs , October 2019

, Ste Therese, QC
2019-10-27
tourists are treated like gold , staff works very hard for the guests. beach is simply gorgeous , lots of chairs and shade , no issues there. food is average , lobster night on Wednesdays is great . lots of bugs at sunset , mosquitos and little black flies , very unpleasent but thats Cuba this time of year.entertainment is ok. no internet , have to pay , 1 CUC for a card of one hour. The CUC is too expensive ,40% over the canadian dollar, thats robbery. but thats not the hotels fault. all in all if you get a sale on this hotel , well worth it.Dont think we will be back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach is simply incredible , service is great , the staff and entertainment crew work very hard for the guests. check in and out was quick and easy
The weak points
the hotel rooms are old and need upgrade , food is average , entertainment at night is ok but could be improved.
Certified

Royalton Varadero Hicacos

, Saint Laurent, QC
2019-10-27
Did not expect this resort to be rundown like it was!! The public bathrooms in lobby and restaurant area lacked attention, especially during peak hours.
Found cockroaches in the cereal bowls at buffet! Senior manager had no interest in getting the situation rectified. She said it was a common occurrence in the restaurant environment. I'm sorry but this location only deserves 2 star overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the beachfront
The weak points
Lack of good air conditioning in restaurants/ no ceiling fans in open restaurants/ repetitive choices of food at buffet venues/outdated facility overall
Certified

Nice beach

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-02
really nice beach, much better than any other Mexican beach. food not so much and room had lots of ants.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
food... coffee was not tolerable.
Certified

Amazing beach

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-02
It was different level of beach than any others for sure, but as expected for Cuba food was not satisfying in any aspects. If you care so much for food, dont recommend Cuba. it isnt just this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and pool
The weak points
food
Certified

BIG DISAPPOINMENT

, Concord, ON
2019-05-28
The hotel staff was extremely friendly, however the food quality and selection was extremely extremely POOR.
Drink selection was POOR, no top shelf products and some basic like Aperol or Campari or basic cranberry juice. WiFi was almost non existant, extremely limited. Extremely disappointed as the trip was EXPENSIVE! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FRIENDLY STAFF.
The weak points
FOOD SELECTION POOR FOOD TASTE AND QUALITY VERY VERY POOR DRINK SELECTION POOR WIFI A JOKE DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
Certified

Royalton varadero

, Waterloo, ON
2019-05-11
Great resort, beautiful beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly and helpful. Front desk could be more friendly especially when they are the first people you see upon arrival.
The weak points
Air conditioning never got below 23.5C even with temperature set at 18C. Musty smelling room. Wireless signal should be extended throughout resort.
Certified

Royalton Hicacus, Varadero

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-04
My second time at the Royalton Varadero. Service and cleanliness is second to none Wonderful experience and highly recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
To see the beach waiter more
Certified

My 1st trip to Royalton Resort, Cuba

, Scarborough, ON
2019-01-12
I am very impressed the cleanliness of The entire property of Royalton.
The entire Staffs from the time I check in to the day I check out was, unbelievable.

The Buffet was always filled with great selection of good food for everyone.

The Bistro was so accommodating and always busy at anytime.

The Gourmet Restaurant was always full and their Menu was unique.
I enjoyed the music entertainment as well.

The Late shows out door was the great finale every night.

I can not believe how many sunbathers everyday.
And the pool was so clear as a crystal.

I strongly recommend Royalton Resort is worth visiting especially to new comers myself.

I definitely go back again and this time, with my family and friends.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the wonderful time in Cuba... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great choice

, St Catharines, ON
2018-11-02
The only place to stay in varadaro Cuba ,,, great food , definitly not average ,,, staff were amazing , friendly , fun and butler couldn't do enough for us , wine in our room and champagne for our anniversary and the beach awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach beautiful , staff great and the food was great , unlike what most people say about Cuba ,,,, you get what u pay for ,,, don't cheap out
The weak points
Would like music at pool bar ,,, and wine stocked in bar fridge cause not everyone drinks beer and pop
Certified

Great stay!

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-29
This is a beautiful resort with a great atmosphere! The staff are wonderful, the beach is gorgeous and it's easy to get yourself around (once you figure it out!). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a great stay at the Royalton Hicacos! The staff are so kind and willing to go above and beyond to make your stay a memorable one. The Diamond Club was definitely worth the upgrade! Food was great, beautiful beach, clean rooms!
The weak points
The rooms could be updated as well as the cushions on the beach loungers. That's it!
Certified

Sweet Paradise

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2018-10-13
This was our fourth visit to this little piece of Paradise, in the pass five years. As usual, service and staff are exceptional, (Myriam,Betty--Itialian, ,Yuni--Lobby Bar, Sendic,Carlos -- Beach Grill , Lazzuro - Cigar lounge and numerous others ) every attentive and always ready to help with a pleasant smile . The Butler service was excellent, thanks too Angel and Gabriel.
Rooms are bit out dated, but large and extremely comfortable.
Improvements are in progress as we noticed new coffee makers and new shower head and a functional bath stopper ... one step at a time.

All the public washroom have been renovated.

The gardeners do a excellent job in caring for and maintaining the grounds. Immaculate condition.

The Beach area been renovated since the hurricane, with plenty of palpas for everybody. Soft white sand and breath taking scenery.

Food
We were very satisfied with the buffet and all a la carte restaurant.

Looking forward to next year [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Staff, Staff
The weak points
We missed having the beach games, where one could win Royalton $, which then could be exchanged for little gifts, or Rum.
Certified

Fabulous holiday

, Toronto, ON
2018-10-07
Hotel was beautiful! Many options for meals, and nightly entertainment. Not to mention the free Salsa lessons and ice cream parlour! Hadn't stayed anywhere there was a 24 hour bar either. There was live music everywhere.
Staff was outstanding. The evening shows were terrific, totally different every night. Wonderful vacation, cannot wait to go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous resort, terrific staff.
The weak points
A little disappointed in the American music, when in Cuba... expected to be totally immersed in the culture, especially the music!
Certified

Nice resort

, Beaconsfield, QC
2018-07-22
It was our second year at this resort. Really lovely place, well laid out. Perfect beach, nice wide beach, can walk for miles. 5 a la carte restaurants. Food was very good and they accommodated nicely with my food allergy (Gluten free / Real Celiac). The pool was in rough shape though this year they could not get the water clear. Never put one foot in it. Same hot weather as last year and the water was fine then. Huge deal breaker for me for sure is the air conditioning in the rooms was not good. The temperature would not go below 23.8 deg C!! Which also meant the room stayed somewhat humid and in that heat of July you need to have some relief from being on the sun all day. This was the second year in a row with poor air conditioning. Different building as well and our friends had the same issue. “Apparently” the air conditioning system is being changed throughout. This is a 5* Hotel and for me unless they can assure me when this change has been done and working right, I would not go back to this place for this reason. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Food, Staff
The weak points
Poor Air Conditioning. Pool was dirty, they could not get it clear the whole 9 days we were there.
Certified

Excellent. Best ever

, Quispamsis, NB
2018-03-25
We have been to Cuba several times but I'd have to say this is the number 1. Everything was excellent. Food was beyond excellent. Our butlers were amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent butlers were excellent
The weak points
There is none.

Royalton Hicacos, Amazing Every Time!

, Mississauga, ON
2017-07-08
A long overdue review but nonetheless worth posting it. Our trip in late March-early April was our 5th time at RH. We had Diamond Club again (4th time). Every bit was wonderful!

Loads of great things to say about this resort but above all it's the STAFF! Whether it's Bar & Restaurant, Butlers, Porters, Management, Front Desk, or Grounds staff – they all do an incredible job, going out of their way with outstanding service, warmth and friendliness.
Special thanks to specific staff members: Leony (DC Beach Bar Tender), Big Alex & Renee (our superb Butlers), Chocolate Alex, Luis & the rest of the Management team, Raul (beloved Porter, to me I consider him to be mi hermano), Daymaris (at Front Desk), Osnay (Beach Grill restaurant), Carlos (Lobby Bar), Tania (by the pool…you MUST try her sandwiches!), Barbara & Hermes (Buffet Restaurant), Yane (Pool Bar), and the Room Maids and all the Grounds crew.

Besides the amazing staff, there are other things to mention…
RESTAURANTS: The Buffet restaurant is great – lots of selection and excellent service. A la carte restaurants – our repeated favs are El Caribe, Las Morlas, and “Tex Mex” (beach grill). For lunch we so love ‘El Chiringuito De Tania' – the BEST sandwiches, salsa & chips!
ROOMS: We were in Room 1312, super lovely. But having stayed in many other rooms at RH we can say that they're all great - spacious, large bathroom, balcony, super comfy bed, and stocked mini-fridge!

We plan to return again early November. Looking forward to seeing nuestros amigos again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The wonderful staff, entertaining shows, and of course the beautiful beach & ocean!
The weak points
No weak points, it's all great!

Excellent resort!

, Barrie, ON
2017-07-02
My wife and I had an amazing time at the Royalton hiccaccos in Veradero. Food was awesome, staff were super friendly and always checking up on us to make sure everything was okay. Especially Pablo!
My wife and I can't wait to go back !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

2nd visit; enjoyed

, Richmond Hill, ON
2017-06-24
My wife and I visited Royal Hicacos Jun 6-13 for our second visit with the first visit 6 years ago when it was Sandals. We were very interested to see if there were any changes. I am glad to report that Royalton has maintained the quality and even improved.

Of course the beach and water are marvelous. The beach is beautiful soft sand with ample lounges and beds under thatched roofs. The reserved beach area for Diamond Club was a nice touch with its own bar and service at your lounge. At the end of our stay they moved the diamond lounge to the other end of the beach opposite the Diamond Club rooms. It has its own bar and grill to eat and are anxious to see it the next time we visit. The only improvement would be to replace the white vinyl topped sun beds and replace with the thatched top sun beds. We found the white sunbeds maintained the heat because of the vinyl tops.

The staff are attentive and helpful. From the butlers, to the restaurant staff, to the activities staff to the ground keepers, most were smiling and saying hello as well as making sure our needs were looked after. Royalton, please keep the staff motivated and looked after so they remain smiling and helpful. They need to be recognized for their service at a resort of which they should be proud. Without the staff the resort would not be what it is.

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The room staff cleaned the room each day and turn-down service happened while we were out with towels replaced as required. We did have some issues the first couple of days. We requested the room be cleaned in the morning but it was done in the afternoon. This was resolved after the first couple of days. One area of improvement is when the rooms are redecorated / repainted make them lighter. One minus of the rooms is they feel dark with dark heavy drapes and dull colours. Don't get me wrong the rooms were comfortable and clean and other than sleeping did not spend much time in the room. We had Diamond Club service so having beer, juices and wine available in your room was a nice touch for that afternoon drink in the room. If there is something you would like in your room; just ask your butler

We found the food at the resort quite good. I had heard friends who went to Cuba say that the food was not good. We just keep telling them they should go to the Royal HIcacos. Now don't get we wrong, the food is not 5-star quality like other Caribbean destinations but there was variety and it tasted good. We mainly ate at the main dining room although we did eat at Caribe, Morales, and Beach Grill for dinners. This visit we found we liked the buffet over the a la carte restaurants. This is an area or improvement for Royalton; how can they set the a la carte restaurants apart from the main dining room. And please bring back the whole red snapper grilled on a grill not a flat top. Having whole fish freshly grilled and served is what I enjoy most. Another improvement would be to provide 2 or 3 different red and white wines one can get for free. This would offer some variety and change. Yes I know we can purchase a bottle of wine but for me that would not work as my wife does not drink and I would not drink a whole bottle during a meal. Another idea for improvement would be to allow a guest to purchase a bottle of wine and then the resort store the remaining bottle for consumption at another restaurant the next day (similar to what cruise ships do). We did go to the Le Bonheur by the shops to get some crepes and was disappointed that the toppings for the crepes were only syrups not fresh fruit.

Each night there was different entertainment on the outdoor stage. All were entertaining. After the show we would head up to the Jazz Bar where we enjoyed the piano player. He has personal style that is intriguing; each night he played different songs so it did not get boring. Royalton don't lose him. The bar staff at the Jazz Bar and the Lobby Bar were attentive and the coffees and drinks great.

We are looking forward to our next visit to Royal Hicacos; we are talking about going back next April / May timeframe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, Diamond Club,adults only, food (for Cuba), cleanliness
The weak points
Rooms dark, no variety for the free wine , wifi

Wedding/Vacation

, Whitby, ON
2017-06-03
My partner and I are returning guests to this hotel many times. I have lost count as to the number of times we have returned to our "home away from home."
This year our daughter and her partner chose to get married here. We had 54 guests to this destination wedding.
All I can say is that every staff member gave 100% to making our guest's stay as memorable and pleasant as possible. This includes everyone from front desk/reception, servers/bar tenders in all restaurants and bars, butlers, housekeeping, gardeners, management and of course wedding coordinator. Their professionalism, patience and understanding dealing with some guest "situations" was absolutely outstanding and more than we ever could have hoped for. All of our guests could not believe the quality of the food, the cleanliness of the hotel and grounds, the hospitality of all the staff, the beauty of the grounds and beach. If you are considering this hotel whether for a destination wedding or a vacation, be assured that they will do whatever they can to make your event or stay the best it can be. One word of advice-make as many of the wedding plans directly with the hotel that you are able to. They know what they can provide and what they can deliver. Relax, have fun and enjoy your stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the setting, the food.
The weak points
There are no weak points-only stronger areas than others. It is unfortunate that this hotel is exclusive to an airline chain that sometimes needs a lot to be desired.

Royal treatment at the royalton

, Quispamsis, NB
2017-05-27
Me and my wife just spent 12 days at the royalton and hands down by far was our best trip to this resort. we are returning guests 10 years now. check in was fast, we were in the room away ahead of schedule. the service at this resort is second to none, lobby bar staff were the great remembering our drinks, at the end we didnt even have to order,as soon as one drink was gone another appeared.the beach was beautiful as always, crystal clear water and sandy beach. the food at buffet was a little better this year, its always been good but the new chef seems to made some great changes. dined at seafood restaurant a few times, Julio you are the best my friend. caribe restaurant very good as well, good steaks cooked to perfection. Last year we were not sure what the butlers were for, this year we had Dave a great addition to the royalton team,introduced himself and said anything you need just ask. so I said can i get a bottle of champagne in my room for 5, done in ice bucket very cold, this service from Davy for continued 12 days. Best butler ever. see you next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Gets Better Every Time

, Brigham, QC
2017-05-21
Just got back last week and every time we go it gets better. This was our 3rd trip to the Royalton Hicacos and this time we went Diamond Club. Upon arrival, we were greeted at the lobby and checked in rapidly, introduced to our butler, taken to the Diamond Club lounge where all the amenities and benefits were explained to us; then were taken to our room. As this was our 3rd time we knew our way around but what was most striking was the absolute cleanliness of the resort and the fact that unlike other places at the Royalton they are constantly improving and adding. Each year there is something new and better to improve the experience. Nothing was worn, frayed, broken, or out of order.
The staff were amazing and attentive to all our needs. Luis, the Assistant Manager, was in charge during the resort manager's vacation. He would bump into us almost every day to see if everything was alright, and our butler Betty found us every day wherever we were to see if we needed anything. Even last year's butlers Jetsie and Tolon came by and asked if all was ok. We never encountered anyone surly or in a bad mood. All the other guests we spoke to had no complaints.
The beach was as always amazing, they pass a tiller over it every morning, Diamond Club guests have their own private section with Bali beds and recliners and private bar and waiter. All guests have the services of a bar and waiter.
All 4 a la carte restaurants were very good as was the main buffet (all you can eat fantastic lobster every Wednesday). There is also a beach restaurant and a 24 hr bistro. Diamond club guests also have a snack bar by their pool.
There are several pools aside from the main pool with a swim up bar, and besides the main bar and jazz bar/club, there are numerous other bars and sitting/ lounging areas throughout the resort.
There is nightly entertainment, in the open-air amphitheater, and amazing musicians in the a la cart restaurants playing during supper.
The rooms are spacious, bathrooms large with a big tub and separate toilet off the bathroom. There is also a minibar which is restocked regularly or as per your request. All is kept immaculately clean.
As I mentioned earlier we went Diamond Club this year and the experience was the best by far, but even in previous years our stay was very enjoyable and memorable which is why we keep coming back. (the majority of the guest we spoke to were return visitors). A special thank you to Mohammad, Paulina and Luis. You have ensured that our stay was memorable. Your staff is incredible. They have treated us very well during our stay. We appreciated your staffs smiles, kindness and helpfulness. Much thanks to the Royalton Hicacos team. Hope to you see you all next year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly & helpful staff.
The weak points
None

Still The Best

, Moncton, NB
2017-05-17
My wife and I re-visited Hicacos after a 4 year absence, while we experienced other locations in Cuba. (Cayo Santa Maria) We returned in April with friends of ours we had initially met at Hicacos, when it was a Sandals. Our experience was sensational. My Great Friend Hector, immediately recognized me on our first day and welcomed me with a warm hug. "Where have you been Mr. Tim, I have not seen you in 4 years" Is there anything else I have to say? Can you imagine all the people that would go through that beach in 4 years and Hector remembered me. Now to be fair, this was our 6th time to Hicacos, the first time as a Royalton the other 5 as a Sandals, but the fact that Hector, Doramis, Big Alex, Jen, Helenia, and many many others were still there, and made us realize there is no better place to go, they treat us like family. Every time we travel we compare the resort to Hicacos, so we are done comparing, all of our Southern Caribbean vacations will be to the Royalton Hicacos, as long as the friendly helpful staff is still there.

Thank You to Luis the General Manager for keeping the same great family that cannot do enough for you. They go out of their way to make sure everything is fine and you are having a good time. Hope to see them again soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolute best beach in the Caribbean.
The weak points
Rooms are getting tired, need some refreshing.

Best of the Best!

, Channel-Port-Aux-Basques, NL
2017-05-16
We have been 7X returning guests of this resort and have never been disappointed. We have stayed at other resorts in Cuba and none compare to Royalton Hicacos. We love the adults only feature of this resort and it has the best beachfront in Varadero. The staff are phenomenal and the service is fantastic! We will be returning again soon! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Adults Only. A la carte restaurants are fantastic. Best Beach. Personalized butler service.

Another great stay!

, Guelph, ON
2017-05-14
This is our 10 stay at this resort. We are experienced travelers to AI, luxury hotels, and Royalton Hicacos is one of our favorites! We feel this hotel is our 'second home' as the wonderful staff always remembers us and makes us feel welcome. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future when we visit Varadero again. Big thanks to the exceptional staff members who made our stay memorable: Hermes- buffet; Leoni- beach bar; Ernesto and all the lobby bar staff; Maria and Osvay- diamond club restaurant; Marcelo- reception; Ilyana and Alex - butlers; Rangel - night club; Luis- manager.
We hope in future visits, for the following improvements:
-Improved returning guest loyalty program (i.e. discounts, free nights, upgrades), given the increasing cost of this hotel
-Menus that are more friendly to guests with food sensitivities/allergies
-Higher quality food items - fresh, local, sustainable
-Continued renovation and repair of the hotel to keep it clean and modern

Thank you Royalton Hicacos for another excellent holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach. Adults only. Great entertainment (Daytime activities, Rock night, Opera show). Clean and well maintained. Overall excellent staff.
The weak points
Some staff had a poor attitude (dinner buffet staff made us feel very unwelcome, it was hard to find a table). Menu and service needs improvement at the beach restaurant for breakfast/lunch. Price of resort is increasing significantly year after year.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?