Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa

Royalton Hicacos Resort And Spa
4.134.134.134.134.13
4.13 based on 684 reviews
#2 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (243)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Royalton Hicacos

, Red Deer, AB
2022-09-15
We had a great experience at the Royalton as always with every Cuba visit we enjoyed the beautiful beach and the kind Cuban people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful white sandy beach with clear ocean waters. We were able to snorkel off the beach with many non motorized boats available for use.
The weak points
Poor wifi signal which is not uncommon for Cuba.
Certified

Great time

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2022-07-01
It was our second time a 2 couples.. great experience. All great the variety of the drinks .. the service.. my favorite restaurant was the Beach Grill .. the food very testy .. in general is great place to relax .. as a tip try to get room near to the lobby.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
service
The weak points
food variaty

Amazing hotel!

, Saint-Lazare, QC
2022-06-14
This was my first time at Royalton Hicacos. My husband and me enjoyed every day in the resort. The food is fine, we are not demanding, the Caribbean restaurant is very good, we loved the restaurant by the beach for breakfast and lunch and of course at night because they have lobster in the menu.
Rooms are fine, with a small living room, bedroom and a big bathroom.
Thank you Albis and Jenifer at the lobby bar for the best piña colada ever.
Thanks to my butler David for been so nice with us.
If you are looking for the perfect beach trip just decide to spend your holidays at Royalton Hicacos. Highly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beach and staff
The weak points
None

Great Vacation

, Burlington, ON
2022-05-27
This was our first trip to Cuba and this resort in a few years and we were blown away by our time there. The food, amenities, staff, beach and resort were all top notch.

Despite supply chain issues affecting other resorts on Cuba, you never felt any issues here. The food was amazing, fresh and offered a wide range for every palate.

The rooms were well kept, as well as the other buildings and beach area. We met the GM Jose Martin the first night and he was so kind and friendly. We would meet him every night for drinks and he always had a smile on his face. He was always great with guests and staff alike, and his passion for the job and resort is evident everywhere.

We were with the diamond club and our butler Betty was phenomenal. She would always go above and beyond to make sure our every need was met.

We cannot say enough good this about this resort and look forward to our next visit! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The food is great, the staff is friendly, the resort is stunning, and the beach is perfect!
The weak points
No Baileys/select liquor, wifi is spotty/inconsistent

Royalton Hicacos Resort and Spa Varadero

, Boudreau Ouest, NB
2022-05-02
Very friendly ,good food ,everything great five times their. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach,food,friendly ,price,helpful
Certified

Cuba 2022

, Stoney Creek, ON
2022-04-19
Our experience was tremendous. We were treated like Royalty. Every person working here went above and beyond to make our stay an experience to remember. We will definitely be coming back to the Royalton Hicacos. We had a few tiny glitches that were taken care of on the spot. Wherever you are from in the world the staff try their best to speak in your language. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

The Royalton Resort in Varadero is a dump!

, Ottawa, ON
2022-04-05
This facility is a run down dump! Much of the construction is in wood with much it in deteriorating conditioning. Railings are in some cases about to completely fall off. Walkways are irregular and get ready to handle way too many stairs!

The tub and showers are unsafe because they are hard to enter and slippery.

There are three floors and no elevators. My safe did not work and neither did the air conditioning which they eventually got to run after four try's including banging around at 2 in the morning.

The beach is excellent and so are the staff but the buildings and facilities are not 5 stars, not 4 stars not even 3 stars but barely 2 stars! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Beautiful beach holiday

, Port Colborne, ON
2022-04-04
The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The pools and resort quite beautiful. The water was clear and turquoise blue. A great beach for walking, swimming and sunbathing.. Be aware that the bank and hotel exchange rate is a rip-off. You can get 4x more from businesses on the street. Another problem was that you cannot charge your electronics in the room as they don't have conversion plugs. You have to charge with your butler or at the front desk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The resort itself was very nice and the service was very good. The Cuba day lunch was very good, but the line-up for food was long and hot. The evening entertainment was quite good as well. The best restaurant was the Pearl and it was exceptional.
The weak points
The food was sub-par in many cases and the restaurants were hard to get into because the Diamond Club members could make advance reservations and there weren't many tables. They don"t have real juices for mixed drinks.
Certified

Best Resort & Fitness Classes

, Greenwood, NS
2022-03-21
Just returned with a group! We had the BEST time ever. Beach and weather were perfect. WE loved the food..beach grill for lunch and buffet at dinner were are favs. We also loved the Mexican.

Lobby bar staff was beyond good. drinks never empty...thank you Yosvany, Yusy, Barbara, Julio, Guillermor & Eduardo!

We attended aqua and Zumba classes hosted by pro instructor from Canada - Cheryl. We can honestly say this was a HUGE bonus to have this at a resort. Keep this up Royalton

We are returning in May and October. This should say how much we love this. We will coordinate our trips around when Cheryl from Canada is teaching!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
beach, staff

Outstanding

, Ottawa, ON
2022-03-01
The Royalton Hicacos Resort and Spa is a superb facility. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and found pretty much everything to be beyond our expectations, especially in Cuba during a period of particular austerity. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Exceptionally clean and well-maintained facility, situated on a truly amazing beach. Great food and diverse eating venues. Courteous and friendly staff. Top-flight entertainment.
The weak points
The facility is well-established and undergoing some repair work in sections. They are on top of it and working to maintain a common high standard. Occasionally, some information was a bit difficult to obtain wrt specific requirements, but a minor point.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Really well done - staff constantly cleaning and sanitizing. They realize that they cannot afford any risks. Very impressive.
Certified

Zircon Club

, Toronto, ON
2022-02-01
Ordinary would be the best way to describe the Royalton. It should be stated up front the people in the service positions were generally warm and a delight to interact with while the managerial level were at best breathing.
I booked the Diamond Club expecting better then average service and ended up with no service starting with arrival. I requested a twin when I booked and on arrival told they did not receive the request. The receptionist suggested that since the room came with a large king size bed, that I should share it with my brother. It was also pointed out that there was no difference other then the location from one room to another. It should be noted that the property is very large and spread out so location is everything so at least the Diamond Club rooms were centrally located. We spent the first night in a room with 2 beds then were moved to a ‘Diamond Club' room. A rollaway bed was placed in the sitting area with the furniture pushed aside. The room needed refurbishing and a good paint job.
Butler? What butler service? I was booked for an orientation at the Diamond club lounge for 9:45 am the first day. I arrived and the door was locked and no one showed up, finally Alex the concierge? Butler? Showed up, did not apologize and was annoyed when I would not commit to making dinner reservations in the specialty restaurants at once. The best word to describe Alex was arrogant and dismissive. No orientation was scheduled so for the most part we bumped along never quite knowing what events were taking place or what services were available. From my experience, the Diamond Club doesn't offer any value to make the expense worthwhile.
You don't go to Cuba for the food. In the end, the buffet was the best option. The specialty restaurants ranged from awful to terrible. Inevitably, we ended up at the buffet for cheese and fruit.
The internet is only in the main bar and restaurant pavilion and times out in 32 minute blocks. You cannot do back to back sessions so be sure to plan exactly what you want to do when on-line particularly if you have to fill out the return forms for your gov't.
If you have never experienced a 5 star resort or hotel then this would probably be better then the average stay particularly in Cuba. Have no expectations and this could be a good experience but the advertising of the Diamond Club and listed amenities nowhere meets the brochures promises!
In conclusion, regardless of what anyone tells you, take U.S. dollars. Plenty of 1$ bills. I took 100 in ones and ended up with many happy staff. For those servicing you daily, tell them you will take care of them at the end of the trip and give them one tip in an envelope. Make sure you know which day they are off so it's not on your leaving day. They need everything so leave behind anything you do not need. Lotions, meds etc. they are most grateful. Do not buy pesos! No one what's them.
The beaches and country as a whole are lovely. But not ready for prime time or lux holidays. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful beach and warm lovely people.
The weak points
Tired hotel. What's with those empty moats through the property, weird! Managerial staff and reception cold and indifferent. Diamond club does not deliver. No value!
Certified

Pleasant holiday

, Richmond Hill, ON
2021-12-21
Among the best features were the beach (really beautiful, clean, safe), the staff (helpful and pleasant), the pool and the nightly entertainment (among the best we have experienced, both in the theatre and the live music at the bar). We were less positive about the food - the buffet and the Italian restaurant were OK, the Caribbean, the Bistro and the Tex Mex restaurants much better, the International and the seafood ones much worse. We liked walking around the resort and the bungalow style buildings are very attractive. The rooms themselves and the restaurants are somewhat dated and need major upgrading but everything worked and was clean. Having stayed at a few all inclusive resorts elsewhere in the Caribbean, we were surprised at having to tip nonstop all day long (if the staff needs some income supplement, maybe a collective tip surcharge when booking would be less tiresome). We would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The beach, the pool, the daily entertainment, some of the restaurants, the staff. The Diamond Club extra charge comes with some useful services but may not be worth it depending on your activities.
The weak points
We understand that Cuba has difficulty importing many items but the food selection and quality could be improved. The rooms could also use some upgrading.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
In most areas with large number of people, mask wearing was not consistent.
Certified

Our Stay at the Royalton Hicacos, Varadero

, Burlington, ON
2021-12-06
Our stay was just days past the official Nov. 15th reopening of Cuba Tourism Returning. This resort is exceptional. Catering to Adults only. It was at approx. 45% occupancy so we totally enjoyed every moment. There was 3 of us , one was with a walker so mobility was an issue, The layout of the resort was perfect, there were no issues as all the walkways were mostly rmps so , easy peasy. With it just at reopening, the resort had pretty much everything that you need . the food was , well it is Cuba, so you need to have the open mind, but overall, 8 out of 10. The resort, 9 out of 10. There was some issues with (slight odours) during certain times and in certain places, they were brief, and isn't a deterrent. I would assume it will have been due to the length of time they were shut down and because of the ramping up. The resort was spotless, the grounds were spotless, the people went way beyond the necessary need to ensure you were having a good stay. All the staff were so pleasant that just that alone earned 5 stars.
As it was during the pandemic, the staff of this resort, applied every protocol that there was to ensure health and safety, 5 stars. The beach was as perfect as it gets, we were in November so there was the trade winds and had the waters moving but not a day was there a worry that you couldn't swim in the ocean. I could go on forever but will leave that to you to decide as everyone has their own opinion. We definitely will be returning. Things to make your trip better. Bring lots of US 1:00 , bring lost of 5 dollar Canadian for tipping. Everything is in US or Canadian dollars, everywhere in Cuba now. "Don't exchange your money for Pecos . With government changes to just now 1 money "The Cuban Paso" 50 % of the people are limited where they can shop. They can't use the Peso, they are starving for the Hard Currency..Cdn. or US. So that they can buy cheaper at larger stores that only cater to this Hard Currency.
We loved this resort. For Cuba...5 Star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Beautiful resorts -Amazing staff -Amazingly clean -Good Food -Plenty of food 5 stars for Cuba resort
The weak points
- Cold Pool Water -There was random -Age/water Odor
Certified

Loved the resort

, Brights Grove, ON
2021-11-21
We loved this resort and hope to return next year. The food was incredible, the best I have ever had in Cuba. Staff were very friendly. We loved the nightly shows and ended every night at the Piano Bar. Rodney was an excellent bartender and very friendly. The only disappointment was that the lazy river was not filled with water. Still the pools and beach were amazing. We would highly recommend. The Diamond Club was well worth the extra cost as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Resort accommodation

, Toronto, ON
2021-08-16
The accommodation has a problem with the air conditioner at night, the air conditioner is very loud and very cold, about 21 degrees. Lunch It's the same every day, no change. Dinner has few choices, few tables for guests. But the service is good everywhere. The swimming pool has no waitresses to serve. You have to walk to order your own drinks. The staff working at breakfast At some point the face doesn't smile. The room cleaning staff is very good. Right on the beach, very good service staff are waiting to serve drinks. This resort it well recommended for friend and family for relax
The restaurant at the beach alway close when we want to get dinner there not sure why
Over all it good for vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Great hotel

, Rimbey, AB
2020-03-11
We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Great staff and food. Lots of options for meals, but especially enjoyed the buffet as it had great variety and had a grill station serving fish, lobster, pork ect. Plenty of pasta and breads also. The food was very flavourful. The beach was so nice with crystal clear water to swim in. We had one day of wind and rough water, but otherwise great and perfect for a nice long walk. Would definitely go back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, beach and staff
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Amazing!

, Ottawa, ON
2020-02-03
This hotel was absolutely amazing - the beach was beautiful, the à la carte restaurants were delicious and featured beautiful musicians every night who would come up to each table personally for a song, and the staff were absolutely amazing (and genuine): kind, enthusiastic, and they actually wanted to get to know you. Would 10/10 recommend staying here! My boyfriend and I stayed for 7 nights and found that it was a fun crowd, despite being a bit of an older crowd - was still a lot of fun, and the entertainment team always made sure to get the crowd involved. Definitely will return to this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the entertainment, the staff, the beaches, the drinks.
The weak points
Wifi, no ATM at the hotel.
Certified

Royalton resort and spa

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-28
The resort was alright. Often had the odor of sewage in various spots on the resort. The staff were friendly and service was good. Our ac did not work very well and was never fixed, needed an adapter for power and that was never sent to our room either. The music shuts off at 11pm in the 24 hour bar..... that is truly rediculous. The resort was beautiful on the outside and very dated on the inside. The al le cart did not do reservations so if you were not the first wave of people present, you were turned away. We tried to eat there a few times and never did get a table, this we found to be very disappointing. There were others talking at the bistro that had been there 10 days already and had al le cart 9 nights, while we were there 7 days and only made it to one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was great Buffet was huge Pool side and beach well kept
The weak points
Rooms were run down a bit After 11pm it was quiet time yet bar was open so very boring Restaraunt almost impossible to dine at
Certified

Cuba Initiation

, Burlington, ON
2020-01-21
The hotel is nice but needs some updating. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the entertainment was very good. We were part of the Diamond Club which we were generally pleased with.The butler service was inconsistent. We were not offered a tour when we arrived which would have helped orient us to the resort complex. The butlers tried to help but got a number of our reservations wrong. They did however help us arrange a private tour of Havana. The driver and guide were excellent.
There was no information in the rooms or anywhere on the daily activities at the resort. We recommend that the resort publish a daily schedule posted in prominent places at the resort, such as the lobby and bar area, if for some reason it can't be delivered to the rooms daily. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff with great attitude. Beautiful location, beech and outside facilities. Large rooms (Diamond category).
The weak points
The rooms need repairs and updating but are clean. Food selection could be improved but this is affected by availability. The resort needs some repairs and updating but work appears to have started to correct this.
Certified

Amazing trip

, Barrie, ON
2019-12-14
This was our sixth trip to this hotel. The beach is amazing, white sand, extremely clear water and never a shortage of lounge chairs.
The rooms are clean and the air conditioning works well.
The food is good, there is lots of choices but remember this is Cuba so some things are not available.
The staff for the most part are great and some are outstanding.
The pool area last lovely and there is lots of entertainment available you can do as much or little as you want. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We had a fantastic Butler names Ronald, anything we needed he made it happen. We had some amazing servers in the dinning room Barbara and Lizandra these ladies were kind, friendly and proficient. We love that the resort is a nice size.
The weak points
This sounds petty but my big complaint is you couldn't get a daiquiri at the beach bar this year.
Certified

Varadero

, Etobicoke, ON
2019-12-02
Well experinced staff, efficient and professional. I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean beach. Friendly staff.
The weak points
No ATM machine. Credit card not accepted every where on the resort. Tips expected at every chore. Have to buy wifi, it should have been included.
Certified

Our experience!

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-01
This was our third time at this resort. We have become comfortable here as well with the staff. We love the service most of the time we receive it. We always do diamond club for the little extras we get especially the beach and restaurent choices. We noticed that they are investing in upgrades and putting money back into the resort by doing some needed repairs. Sandy was our fav waiter at the main bar but now got moved to the Int. restaurant. We met new waitresses Chevalise and Jennifer they were great, attentive polite funny and offered great service. The beach bartender was also amazing talkative friendly. The beaches are always clean and beautiful. We walked the beach n this resort has one of the biggest cleanest beach section. Marcelo the bellboy is always happy to see us and always takes care of us. It was also great to see the workers wearing a bit more ppe, although gloves n safety glasses would go along way for some of them with particular jobs thay need these items. The rooms are always clean and the clean staff are pleasant. They changed the staff around with good intentions but not everyone is good at customer service. They also changed the head chef and I thought the meals and menus have less choice then before in the restaurents. The buffet was ok they always have lots of choices. We did find out that they are now importing Canadian beef. The diamond club beach waiter was way less attentive this year, people had to go to the bar more to get drinks vs delivery which is part of the diamond package and they haven't added a washroom at the diamond club beach yet which would go a long way but a bonus was they added wifi at the beach and bedrooms but that was a perk for me going to Cuba is getting away from the cell phones. The simplicity in Cuba is what we love most for that real get away experience. The bar musicians need some changes. Jesus and Orlando are the best ones of the week on thurs they engage the crowd and offer a variety of music. The other nightly ones aren't necessarily changing their music or engaging the crowd. The pianist in the international restaurent was amazing, I wondered why she wasn't playing more around the resort, her music was modern and old but the compilation was fantastic and a joy to listen to, very talented. We always feel safe in Cuba and are always respected by the locals even away from the resort. There are no locals walking the beach weaving in and out for goods from you all day long but if you want to brings goods as we always do they are respectful and graciously accept them. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, staff grounds and the friends you make along the way.the two main waitresses at buffet in diamond club section were fantastic they've been there for a while n were very sweet.
The weak points
Our inverter didn't work in our room 2 nd yr now but we were accommodated with an inverter. Roberto our butler was the worst in our 3 yrs nothing for my bday, we had to follow up 3 times for our dinner reservations. No washroom at diamond beach.
Certified

The ups and downs , October 2019

, Ste Therese, QC
2019-10-27
tourists are treated like gold , staff works very hard for the guests. beach is simply gorgeous , lots of chairs and shade , no issues there. food is average , lobster night on Wednesdays is great . lots of bugs at sunset , mosquitos and little black flies , very unpleasent but thats Cuba this time of year.entertainment is ok. no internet , have to pay , 1 CUC for a card of one hour. The CUC is too expensive ,40% over the canadian dollar, thats robbery. but thats not the hotels fault. all in all if you get a sale on this hotel , well worth it.Dont think we will be back . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach is simply incredible , service is great , the staff and entertainment crew work very hard for the guests. check in and out was quick and easy
The weak points
the hotel rooms are old and need upgrade , food is average , entertainment at night is ok but could be improved.
Certified

Royalton Varadero Hicacos

, Saint Laurent, QC
2019-10-27
Did not expect this resort to be rundown like it was!! The public bathrooms in lobby and restaurant area lacked attention, especially during peak hours.
Found cockroaches in the cereal bowls at buffet! Senior manager had no interest in getting the situation rectified. She said it was a common occurrence in the restaurant environment. I'm sorry but this location only deserves 2 star overall. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the beachfront
The weak points
Lack of good air conditioning in restaurants/ no ceiling fans in open restaurants/ repetitive choices of food at buffet venues/outdated facility overall
Certified

Nice beach

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-02
really nice beach, much better than any other Mexican beach. food not so much and room had lots of ants.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach
The weak points
food... coffee was not tolerable.
Certified

Amazing beach

, Edmonton, AB
2019-07-02
It was different level of beach than any others for sure, but as expected for Cuba food was not satisfying in any aspects. If you care so much for food, dont recommend Cuba. it isnt just this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and pool
The weak points
food
Certified

BIG DISAPPOINMENT

, Concord, ON
2019-05-28
The hotel staff was extremely friendly, however the food quality and selection was extremely extremely POOR.
Drink selection was POOR, no top shelf products and some basic like Aperol or Campari or basic cranberry juice. WiFi was almost non existant, extremely limited. Extremely disappointed as the trip was EXPENSIVE! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FRIENDLY STAFF.
The weak points
FOOD SELECTION POOR FOOD TASTE AND QUALITY VERY VERY POOR DRINK SELECTION POOR WIFI A JOKE DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE
Certified

Royalton varadero

, Waterloo, ON
2019-05-11
Great resort, beautiful beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly and helpful. Front desk could be more friendly especially when they are the first people you see upon arrival.
The weak points
Air conditioning never got below 23.5C even with temperature set at 18C. Musty smelling room. Wireless signal should be extended throughout resort.
Certified

Royalton Hicacus, Varadero

, Halifax, NS
2019-05-04
My second time at the Royalton Varadero. Service and cleanliness is second to none Wonderful experience and highly recommend this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
To see the beach waiter more
Certified

My 1st trip to Royalton Resort, Cuba

, Scarborough, ON
2019-01-12
I am very impressed the cleanliness of The entire property of Royalton.
The entire Staffs from the time I check in to the day I check out was, unbelievable.

The Buffet was always filled with great selection of good food for everyone.

The Bistro was so accommodating and always busy at anytime.

The Gourmet Restaurant was always full and their Menu was unique.
I enjoyed the music entertainment as well.

The Late shows out door was the great finale every night.

I can not believe how many sunbathers everyday.
And the pool was so clear as a crystal.

I strongly recommend Royalton Resort is worth visiting especially to new comers myself.

I definitely go back again and this time, with my family and friends.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for the wonderful time in Cuba... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022