Starfish Varadero

Starfish Varadero
3.123.123.123.123.12
3.12 based on 753 reviews
#21 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (383)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Starfish Varadero.

, Port Coquitlam, BC
2022-06-16
Everything was good until the last day.
We left our luggage in the storage room for one hour and in the airport my wife found that her perfume was stolen.
Don't leave your luggage in the storage room!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

3rd visit… highly recommend

, Laval, QC
2022-06-10
This was our third visit this year and can't stress enough how great this hotel is, very clean and safe hotel, grounds are beautiful, rooms very clean and functional and spacious, the beach is gorgeous, pool as well, all the staff are very helpful and very friendly, the food is the best I've had in Cuba and we have been going to Cuba for over 20 years several times a year, drinks are good as well, entertainment team is great, many thanks to all the staff from front desk to gardeners, special thanks to GM Jaime Capo for making our vacation super special, and always engaging with guests making sure all is fine
We will definitely return and we highly recommend this hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Highly recommended

, Montréal, QC
2022-06-06
Been at this hotel several times and keeps getting better
Everything and everyone is great, clean spacious and functional rooms, food and drinks beyond my expectations very good, pool very clean, entertainment team great, service amazing, beach beautiful, people very nice polite and friendly
I highly recommend this hotel and will return
Special thanks to all the staff and especially GM Jaime Capo for making our stay super special
See you soon [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)

Excellent!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-03-10
I had a great time at the Starfish Varadero! Great beach, pool area and the friendliest of staff. If you are an easy-going traveler and don't get hung up on minor inconveniences, this is the resort for you. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
- Friendly staff - Beach - Pool areas
The weak points
- Food selection fluctuates depending on what's in stock
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent. All staff wore masks, most areas of the resort are outside or open air, and everything is consistently cleaned.
Certified

March Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2022-03-10
From the moment we arrived until we left, we found the staff incredibly friendly and helpful! The Covid measures taken made us feel safe and comfortable. The resort was kept clean and I had the best time. I hated to leave! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendliness, helpfulness, cleanliness and Covid measures.
The weak points
Water pressure and lack of warm water.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Excellent
Certified

Starfish expirience

, Hamilton, ON
2022-02-21
Good hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms, fast service, beautiful, clean beach, good pools and cultural activities [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Friendly staff, fast service, good, nicely served food, excellent spanish coffee
The weak points
Annoying beach flies,
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Everybody uses protective masks, fast covid test before departurr
Certified

First Timer in Cuba

, Edmonton, AB
2022-02-11
The Hotel is nice and as to be expected at an all inclusive. The service is great as they make most of their living on tips. The staff is friendly and engaging. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
The friendliness of the staff.
The weak points
The food I felt was a weak point but that is due to the sanctions imposed by the USA. They have learned to be self sufficient.
Certified

Famous vacation in December

, Vancouver, BC
2022-01-02
Reading previously December weather in Varadero with advice to carry on a vest, wasn't right.
Just gorgeous were all seven days of our stay.
And at the Sizzler bar was the greatest barbecue: chicken, pork beef, and fish just one word about real, truly bbq.
Staff, very cultural with bon-ton behavior, friendly and funny.
Definitely, we will come again .
Five-star vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Starfish Varadero

, Toronto, ON
2021-09-14
The hotel is beautiful, my friends and I all had bungalows by the pool area. The staff treated us like kings. The entire staff are amazing people and show lots of love to the tourists. The food was so so so good. Especially the food by the beach for lunch time. The ocean was as clear and blue as can be. The entertainment in the evening was always fun and the sports bar for the night time was always full of people enjoying each other's company while drinking Havana rum. We all had an amazing experience at starfish Varadero. To the staff Thank-you for everything you do. We hope to see you all again soon. SALUTE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
Certified

Perfect vacation

, Sherbrooke, QC
2021-08-31
This hotel has everything for everyone and every ages. Well displayed and though of. The staff goes out of their ways so our stay is the best.
My very first time at this hotel and believe me it will not be my last.
It is an hotel that you can go and relax or party ( when COVID will be over. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
The strong points
Great staff Food is excellent Great activities for everyone and every age.
The weak points
Some staff will ask (often) for some medication.
Sanitary measures (Covid-19)
They take all the measures - wearing their mask sometimes 2 of them. We need to wear our mask 24 hrs until we get our results then we can take it off, we only have to wear our mask when we go to the buffet or restaurant à la carte.
Certified

4th Trip. Little disappointed with Starfish.

, Trenton, ON
2020-03-02
Little disappointed this time around with resort. Was our 4th trip to Starfish. We had requests for our Special needs Daughter. We requested a certain bungalow to accommodate her needs. They always took care of us on past visits. Unfortunately they told us it was not available this time. I don't understand why not. We booked 3 1/2 months in advance. Request was sent in when we booked. They should look after there repeat customers. They had lots of notice! Besides that. Vacation was good. The staff at Starfish keep bringing us back. Great people. Starfish just needs to look after the repeat guest. Especially guest that has request because they have disability's. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are fantastic.
The weak points
Starfish just needs to look after the repeat guest. Especially guest that have request because they have disability's.

Starfish Varadero

, St. Albert, AB
2020-02-18
This was my third time at the Starfish Varadero and I will be going back again. Everytime I have gone there I pay the extra few dollars to stay in the bungalows as they are closer to everything and you have so much more room.
It is an older resort so you do need to expect things to be a little run down and rough around the edges, but for me that is all part of the Cuban experience. I go for the beaches and the people and the entertainment, all of which is 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff is amazing and they always go out of their way to remember you and keep you happy.
The weak points
It is an older resort, so things are a little run down and in disrepair. The toilet leaked, the curtains were coming off the curtain rod, the coffee maker in the room didn't work well, the safe in the room was difficult to open, but everything functions.
Certified

A decent stay

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-20
The resort was better than the last one I stayed at in Varadero.

Only thing I wish I knew before booking this trip was the limit on the resort's restaurants for how many times you could go. I have not experienced this in other resorts in Jamaica or st. Lucia. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice and friendly staff
The weak points
Shortage of food in the snack bars while I was there but it wasn't the resort's fault. Main downside for me was the distance from the resort to downtown Varadero
Certified

Will not return to this resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-08-05
This resort is rundown. There seems to be no care or pride in the place. We've been to other resorts where constant cleaning was going on ... not here. All kinds of things broken on the grounds that would be easy fixes that are left neglected.
The worse part was the buffet restaurant which is totally enclosed and infested with flies!!! Had to use the buffet for breakfast and most dinners. Able to avoid for lunch.
Beach was fantastic so we would definitely return to the area but go to another resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is fantastic!!!
The weak points
Buffet restaurant was infested with flies, avoid as much as possible!!!
Certified

Starfish was absolutely TERRIBLE

, Cambridge, ON
2019-05-04
Dirty, poorly kept, missing toilet seats, missing door handles, no toilet paper. One beach towel for the entire week. No Ice ever!!! Drinks sucked and were warm. One bottle of water in room per day for 3 people. No help when u ask empty fridge in room always. Grounds and pools unkept, dead flowers Nothing but NASTY! Had Nikes stolen too [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No strong points
The weak points
EVERYTHING!!! Wasted my $$$ sooo gross! Lots of smokers.
Certified

Our stay at Starfish Varadero

, Montréal, QC
2019-04-05
Wonderful time during our stay except for our visit to the Italian ( A - laCarte) restaurant. Our first negative experience that we have ever had at a restaurant in around 20 visits to Cuba. The service was unacceptably slow considering the place was half full, waited a half hour just to get our first glass of water/ wine, then just as long for re- fills after asking.
The head waitress was quite rude with us with no apologies. The food was acceptable at best, not to mention that one of us got the wrong dessert.. Compared to the International, which was top notch, the Italian failed terribly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment , piano lounge and terrace was excellent. Pools and room were clean. International restaurant was exceptional
The weak points
No beach towels all week, water features not all operational, many outdoor light fixtures broken, some interior in need of cleaning/ painting
Certified

Old and dirty

, Regina, HA
2019-03-25
The buffet area needs a good cleaning. This hotel is at best a 2 star. Most of the people at the front desk are nice. We did have a complaint about our towels and the one lady was annoyed that we were asking for new ones. Also when you exchange your money at the front desk, PAY ATTENTION, they tried shorting us twice. Some of the servers at the buffet could care less if you have anything to drink so you are left to ask or get it yourself.
The food at the buffet was acceptable but the flies are numerous. We also had to pass over on a few plates to find a clean one. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is nice. They are building a new beach bar.
The weak points
The buffet needs cleaning. The rooms could use a little TLC. In the evening the Bungalows are very noisy as they are by the nightly entertainment.
Certified

DÉSUET

, Saint-Eustache, QC
2019-03-14
CETTE HÔTEL NE DEVRAIT PAS ÊTRE EN VENTE. PAS PROPRE ET LES CHAMBRES SONT LAIDES ET DESUETTE. STARFISH, PAS RECOMMANDER [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Not the best but not the worst either.

, Dugald, HA
2019-02-23
Nothing could stop us from having a great time in Cuba. Overall this resort was moderate. Parts of the resort are not yet renovated and are very old looking. We stayed in a newer section and didn't really have too many issues. Our room never had enough towels but was clean. The view from our balcony was looking across to another building. The landscape below was not nice.
The staff were all so nice and welcoming.
The food was just ok. You could usually find something you could eat. The omelettes in the morning were always good. The supper options were not very good. Pasta was often the best option. It seems to be the same stuff every night.
All in all it was just ok. Don't think we would return here although we had a good time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This resort was fairly clean, had lots of space to gather, two beautiful pool areas, kind staff. The appreciation supper was a nice touch.
The weak points
Poor service at the buffet which seemed to be due to lack of staff, very limited clean beach towels, struggle to get enough clean towels in our room, poor supper buffet.
Certified

Terrible Beach Bar Service

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-10
The customer service at the beach was terrible. They would close early, run out of beer/ice and had a terrible attitude (Specifically, one male server) about servicing the customer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great entertainment.
The weak points
Terrible Beach bar service.
Certified

We traveled on Jan 26 to Feb. 2 2019

, Trenton, ON
2019-02-05
We traveled on Jan 26 to Feb. 2 2019
We have been in this hotel 3 times now and was happy to see how much everything was improved each time we go.The food was good and variety of it could satisfy everyone. Garden and beach were clean and perfect. Chairs on beach and near the pool were new and plenty. I would like to thank all staff for doing excellent job in this hotel and especially management ?
We had a perfect vacation and I already thinking of returning next year. Nice touch Starfish for the letter and bottle of Rum left in our room for Returning customers. Its the little things like this that matter. ;-) Have any quest feel free to Contact me. Paul. sknkmn@hotmail.com [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Was happy to see how much everything was improved each time we go

Starfish Varadero

, Calgary, AB
2019-01-03
Not at ALL and experience to write home about!
The cleanliness of this hotel is lacking to say the least.
I had to switch rooms three times to get a half decent one, also had to rip all the sheets and bedding off and march it up to front desk to prove that this was not acceptable (see pictures), and no toiletries even.
By day three we would go to order off the menu, only to be told they don't have it, the list of don't have's were longer then what they did have.
I get that Cuba is not one for flavor or spice with the food but to have it served to you completely uncooked is not acceptable either (Spoons a la carte - surf and turf - lobster and steak - raw)
And the stench coming from the lobby when you had to frequent it with complaints and get decent wifi was beyond words (see pictures).
The maids and bathroom cleaning staff would ask guests to get them drinks (beer) from the bar so they could enjoy a drink and a cigarette in the room / bathrooms while on the clock. There is no management or quality control on this resort what so ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Bar/Kitchen Staff
Certified

Excellent

, Gatineau, QC
2018-11-11
This was our second time here and we definitely noticed several improvements and renovations. We once again stayed in a bungalow. They have not yet been renovated but are perfectly fine and close to everything. The food is fine and there is always something good to eat. The staff, in all areas, are just simply amazing. Always smiling and ready to help you. I would definitely return to this hotel. We even had a special supper of lobster and steak for repeat guests which was excellent and very much appreciated. The beach of course is just gorgeous and clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
SERVICE, beach and smiles.
The weak points
None
Certified

Starfish Varadero

, Mississauga, ON
2018-10-09
Hotel is getting new face lift with many renovations. Omelets and lobsters were as good as those in 5* resorts in Mexico. The staff was very friendly and helpful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No single supplement
The weak points
The weather was terrible, tropical rains for most of the time. They had to cancel many outdoors events.
Certified

AMAZING RESORT

, Toronto, ON
2018-07-09
Amazing beach, very large hotel, clean pools, good food, very good drinks, the gardens are very spacious and it is a good place to visit with the family.
the a la carte restaurants the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is the best of the hotel, amazing, beautiful, the best beach in Cuba.
The weak points
a lot of waiting at the airport

Not what we expected

, Scarborough, ON
2018-07-02
My boyfriend and I decided to stay in a 3 star resort to save money.. but we will never make that mistake again.

We arrived at approx. 9pm. The resort looked really nice as we pulled up in the shuttle. Check in was very easy. It is 1 peso for wifi for 1 hour and you can only get wifi in the buffet and upstairs in the lobby by the bar. There was very little lighting throughout the resort which made it difficult to find our room. We arrived in our room and every room had chairs on their patio but ours. We had also upgraded to a bungalow suite. It was very close to the beach which was convenient but the room itself was average. It had a "common area" with a table, a couch, a mini fridge that only had 1 bottle of water per day, which is personally not enough for two people considering the heat.

We went on two excursions and both times we returned to the resort there was a power outage. The first power outage took over 5 hours to turn back on, as the staff thought they "fixed" the problem. We had no air conditioning or lights which was brutal.

There was also a lot of tiny ants around the sink area which was impossible to get rid of. The cleaning staff didn't change the towels the entire stay.. they refolded them and left them in our room. The bed sheets and pillow cases was the same thing. Our pillow cases were dirty and had dried blood on them. The only good thing about the cleaning staff was that they gave you a new bottle of water every day and they did cool designs with the bed sheets and towels (hearts, swans, etc). The shower water pressure is very poor but you can flush toilet paper in the toilet without it clogging which is good!

The food is horrible. There isn't much variety, a lot of seafood. There is only two a la' carte restaurants (seafood and italian). The after hours snack bar is VERY HOT. There is no air conditioning and the food is very limited (only ham sandwiches and burgers/hotdogs). There are a few bars (the beach, the disco, the pool, the lobby) which is convenient.

The beach was beautiful. Not one palm tree on the beach though.

The pool is also very nice and we found out second last day that there was a second pool on the other side of the resort. The beach towels hut has horrible hours and never has clean towels. Bring your own towel!

The gym is useless, might as well do your own beach workout.

Downtown Varadero is extremely safe, we felt very comfortable leaving the resort. The hotel staff were very nice and very helpful. It is extremely easy to get a cab in the lobby. We also rented scooters and rode downtown for 20 pesos for 3 hours. We tried to make the most of the trip.

Overall, we would not stay here again, 5 stars only. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Poor quality rooms, Dirty restrooms public areas

, Guelph, ON
2018-05-24
My wife and I wanted to get away for the Canadian Victoria Day long weekend, so we decided to go for a short trip to Cuba.

The issues we had were:
- Problem with our rooms, no big deal but they are just poor or average quality, flooded Restroom
- Restrooms in Public areas were not functioning well, sometimes very dirty, scarce toilet paper or none
- Locals very abusive at the buffet, grabbing all the food they could and the rest of us just witnessing the abuse
- In Restaurants and Bars you had to always tip to get "better service" or at least get service

BUT THE REAL ISSUE I AM WRITING THIS REVIEW IS THE FOLLOWING:

Our handbag with the Passports was stolen and then returned "mysteriously" to us.

At the beginning, we did not want to report this as stolen because in part it was a little oversight from us but this is the whole story:

On Sunday May 20, 2018 we were at our last day of the mentioned short vacation to Varadero, Cuba.

That day around 4:45 pm, we went to have lunch at one of the restaurants in front of the pool, this is called "Cabana Bar". We noticed a lot of "locals" were there that afternoon. We had lunch there and we put our handbag on the floor with the Passports inside while we were eating (this was our mistake, putting the handbag on the floor).

We left that Restaurant around 5:15 pm (forgetting the handbag on the floor). We did not miss the handbag at that moment because you know you are on "vacation mode" and somehow your routine changes. In our mind was to walk to the beach one last time and say "goodbye" to the beautiful ocean. We stayed on the beach until 5:50 pm then we went to have coffee to the main Restaurant "Griddle" to have one last cup of coffee and snacks. We left that place around 6:20 pm because we had to be ready for the shuttle to the Airport.

This is when we noticed we did not have the handbag and we panicked because the Passports were inside the handbag and we would not be able to leave that day. It was a horrible situation, we immediately alerted Security at the hotel, the front desk, we were like crazy asking everybody if they had seen the handbag.

We went back to the Customer Service office and report this situation, like we said at the beginning we did not want to say the handbag was stolen because we had the hope that somebody would return it to us.

At around 7:30 pm Customer service told us to wait and try to calm down and book another night so the next day we could go to the Canadian consulate in Varadero to see what we could do to go back to Canada. The problem was that Monday would be closed due to the Victoria Day holiday. We mentioned to them that we should report the incident to the Police since the Passport is very sensitive information. They said don't worry you don't need to do that, wait for tomorrow, calm down. The Police will not help you with this.

We were not comfortable with these instructions that's why I sent an e-mail around 8:00 pm to the e-mail of the Canadian Consulate in Varadero (almost 3 hours after the handbag was left at the Restaurant) and then also called to the Emergency # in Ottawa for lost passports and they told me we had to report this to the police.

We went back to Customer Service around 8:20 pm and we mentioned that we need to call the police, so we told the lady to call the police, she did not want to do it and I told her that I had already reported over the phone & e-mail the missing Passports and that the person in Ottawa told me to call the police.

IT WAS in that moment that somehow they panicked and reacted, because to us it seemed there was a collusion between the personnel at the hotel and the person (s) that took the handbag. So suddenly after 2 minutes they told us "we found your handbag" a miracle ???? Because we mentioned "CALL the Police". A security guard gave us the handbag and luckily everything was there.

It was clear to us that we were targeted, because our last names are of latin origin and as you know would be very easy to alter the passports or do something wrong with them.

Going forward, I hope you could warn Canadians citizens of having to go through this ordeal as we did. We were lucky because we could speak Spanish to the hotel personnel and we somehow defended ourselves.

THIS HOTEL "STARFISH VARADERO" SHOULD BE REPRIMANDED OR SOME ACTION MUST BE DONE TO AVOID THIS TO HAPPEN AGAIN

We are sorry but this is a wake up call for us, we will never go back to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach
The weak points
- Poor quality rooms - Public restrooms dirty, scarce toilet paper or none - Locals very abusive at the buffet and entertainment activities - Bad service in Bars and Restaurants

Good Value for the Money

, Truro, NS
2018-05-23
The Starfish Veraderro offers great value for the money. The beach is terrific. This is my second year here and many improvements have been made since last year. I highly recommend paying the few extra dollars to get a bungalow as they are spacious, and closer to beach, buffet, and entertainment. If you are looking for gourmet food, this is not the place to go. The food is more than adequate and there is a wide variety of dishes to choose from. Look the other way if a bird lands on your table and consider this part of the Cuban way of life. Most of the staff is very very friendly and these folks work hard. So accept things for what they are, enjoy the beautiful weather, beach, and turquoise water, and be grateful that you are free to travel to Cuba for a relaxing vacation. This place is great value for the money! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Better than the 1st trip!

, Trenton, ON
2018-02-22
Better than the 1st trip!

This is our 2nd visit to Starfish Varadero.
Last visit was March 2017. You can see great improvements all over Starfish.
Food has improved. They have cleaned up the resort. New paint. Improvements going on all over!
We returned this year because of how great the staff was last year. They did not disappoint us. Starfish sent bottle of Champagne to our bungalow. We celebrated our 30 wedding anniversary this trip.
Wife wants to go back again next winter. Will be exciting to see how much more Starfish has improved in 1 years time.

Thanks goes out to all the staff that makes it such a fantastic place for our vacation.

See you next year. Paul Donna MacKenzie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and Staff
The weak points
Working on fixing resort.

Stay away

, Barrie, QC
2018-01-07
This hotel is absolutely disgusting!! Do not even know where to start. Arrived there on Dec 23, took forever to check in because everyone was upgrading to other rooms...should have been an indication to run! Checked in (2 rooms) and went to our rooms, opened the door and the room looked so run down and dirty. Went down to upgrade rooms and was told it would cost me $1200, I was willing to pay. Told to wait to see what was left, come back later. Came back and still no answer, told to go for lunch and then come back, so we did. No place to upgrade to at this point. Rooms were dirty (no renos done on this side at all), one bed had dead flies on the sheets, my adult kids slept with their clothes on, towels covered in mold, food was room temperature; both cold and hot, nothing on ice. Given a beach towel from our room...still had the same towel 3 days later, never any towels...staff sat in the shack all day telling you times to come back; no idea why because never saw a towel from there! Most times there was no money at front exchange counter, no ice anywhere on the "resort"-using that word loosely.
On Dec 24 met my rep, told her what was happening and that I did not sign up for this type of accommodation. Asked her to see about moving my family from this gross place. She contacted the head office and on Dec 26 they were able to move us to 6 other resorts, I choose the place that was referred to me and checked out ASAP!! Would recommend that people keep their money and go elsewhere. Maybe when the renos are completed it might may it to a 3 star, right now it is a 1 or less!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
See above-none
The weak points
See above plus lots of drunks
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2022