Starfish Cuatro Palmas

Starfish Cuatro Palmas
3.723.723.723.723.72
3.72 based on 539 reviews
#15 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (258)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Cuatro Palmas

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-22
Overall very good. Excellent food. Friendly staff.
First room assigned had not been cleaned and had to be changed.
Promotion does not mention that eco room is in bungalows a short walk across the street and away from the main building, beach and pool.
Room is nice and backs onto a park but adjacent to a club where the band plays loudly outdoors until about 2 am. Might bother some people.
Hot water not always available.
No wifi in the room but the promotion advises it is only available in the main hotel lobby area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food. Friendly staff. Well maintained. Proximity to the beach (main buildings).
The weak points
No gym. For some reason tea and coffee are not available at lunch and dinner. Walk to main bldgs may not suit seniors.
Certified

Starfish Cuatro Palmas

, Amherstburg, ON
2019-12-28
We had a great time at this hotel. The staff are so friendly and eager to help. It is a small resort with a beautiful beach and pool. They are working hard to upgrade the hotel (i.e., Lobby bar totally redone and open on the 27th of December). The food was good with lots of selection. Especially on Christmas Eve. It was amazing! Many people watched the nightly entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were amazing! Our room was clean and when we had a problem with our toilet, it was fixed in 15 minutes. Location is the best! The hotel is across the street from the Beatles bar and Salsa bar. Close to many amazing restaurants.
The weak points
Hot water was an issue. It was freezing or luke warm one day and then hot the next day. Some buildings (ECO rooms) are off site. Be careful when you book your room or you could be walking across the street for your meals and the pool.
Certified

Great...for Cuba;)

, Montréal, QC
2019-11-12
The room was clean. The staff were all lovely. The buffet never smelled like fish(even though they were cooking seafood both lunch and dinner). I would return to this place (and I have never thought that about a resort in Varadero before). It is across the street from the Cigar, Rum and Chocolate shops as-well-as the Beatles Club and Calle 62. Free entertainment and entrance to all clubs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Right on 1st Avenue so you can walk anywhere. Stop-by Josoné Park...its just lovely.
The weak points
Although there were vegetables at the salad bar, a lot came from cans....but that can be because of losing their main trading partner.
Certified

Great location but hotel needs improvements

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-09
this hotel is in the best location in Varadero but the staff and the rooms need a lot of improvements. the front desk staff and the guy at the front door that helps with the bags was really not that helpful. our room that my with and I stayed in was infested with little ants, I think that they put us in an older part of the hotel. everything was very dated unlike all of the other hotels that we have stayed at in Varadero, as my wife and I have visited Varadero 5 times and so far this is the only hotel that we will not go back to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach, food, drinks and location.
The weak points
cleanliness of rooms and friendliness of front door and desk staff
Certified

Magnifiques vacances (lune de miel)

, East Angus, QC
2019-10-28
Voyage de 10 jours, hôtel propre, nourriture très correcte mais agréable de sortir de l'hôtel pour la diversité. Plage plus que magnifique, personnel très gentil. Ambiance ordinaire au hall principal mais le bar était en rénovation, ça explique la situation. Chaises et palapas en bonne quantité, on n'a jamais manqué de place même si on se levait tard. Deux jours sur dix que nous n'a pas pu changer nos serviettes. Jamais manqué de glace au bar. Notre chambre étais l'autre côté de la rue au Las Palmas, effectivement bruit tard le soir causé par le Beatles Bar. Mais la chambre très confortable, air climatisé extra fonctionnelle, salle de bain petite. Pas de breuvage dans le frigo comme on nous le dit dans la description du forfait, seulement une bouteille d'eau à notre arrivée. L'hôtel n'a pas répondu à notre demande de l'une de miel comme décrit. En fait, on n'a rien eu du tout......pas de surclassement, ni de mousseux à la chambre, ni de souper privé, ni rien. Ce fut une déception pour nous. On avait pris la peine de communiquer par courriel directement avec l'hôtel sous les conseils de agences de voyage. Malgré ça, notre séjour à été très agréable, température très chaude et humide, plein de soleil. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Plage, chaises abondantes, température, propreté, emplacement.
The weak points
Pas de surclassement lune de mìel même si l'hôtel n'était pas plein, pas de breuvage dans la chambre, animation laisse à désirer.
Certified

Great vacation at Cuatro Palmas

, Brossard, QC
2019-09-09
Overall really enjoyed my week! I was really impressed with the hotel to be honest and am definitely going back.

The beach was spectacular, the animation team was engaging and fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was very very good Room was big, clean and ac worked great! Animation team was awesome Iced coffee at lobby bar was so good better than Starbucks!
The weak points
Not enough beach towels for everyone so I wasn't able to change my towel every day.
Certified

Great Holiday

, Perth, ON
2019-01-18
Overall everything was very good , resort is older and rooms could be updated, staff were very friendly, would definitely recommend resort as long as your not looking for a party spot!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is great and food was good compared to other Varadero resorts we have been to. On the edge of town and walking distance to many clubs shops and restaurants
The weak points
Resort itself is quiet after the evening show, you have to go out for nightlife
Certified

It's just ok

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-09-24
Disappointed we were not in the main hotel area we were across the street in a different section . Not aware at time of booking. The room had issues with the balcony door was fixed with a bolt lock. Could have moved to another room, but the other room smelled of cigarette smoke. The food at this resort was fairly good, ala cartes, the international was the better one. The beach was beautiful as usual for Varadero. The location was great close to night life .My other have got very sick the last day of vacation. Which has never happened all my trips to Cuba,is still recovering. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach. The location.
The weak points
Room
Certified

Best location

, Alfred, ON
2018-05-28
We just returned from a week at Cuatro Palmas and will probably return due to location. The beach is beautiful, the food is acceptable, rooms are adequate... All for an excellent price. We can make a long list of improvements but if when we want a 5 star resort we pay the 5 star price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beach
The weak points
Rooms need refreshing. Towels in rooms do not appear clean (yellow and stained). The staff expect tips for every service they offer. The pool bartender should leave his cell phone at home and serve people with a smile.
Certified

April 2018

, Hamilton, ON
2018-04-24
We have been staying at this hotel since 2007. We have stayed approx 12 times. We have seen the quality of this hotel improve and decrease thru out the years. Its quality is currently decreasing. Lobby has a mambo band that travels from table to table playing for tips. This is in poor taste on behalf of the hotel. The lobby entertainment needs improvement and should be free. The rooms are nice since they were recently painted etc between 2015 & 2017. But the bathroom towels are disgusting. White towels that are grey and full of terrible stains that look like feces stains. The pool is really nice but the red deck is no longer being cleaned and washed down daily. When you walk on it with bare feet your feet become very black and dirty.The food is good but selection is limited and this is a decrease in quality for this hotel. The finest quality of this hotel is its staff. The staff work very hard at everything for the guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel has very professional and delightful staff.
The weak points
Bath towels. Pool deck is dirty.. Buffet has limited selection of foods.
Certified

Great place to stay in Varadero.

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-01-27
This was my very first trip to Cuba. I wasn't sure what to expect, but chose this place as I read and heard such good things and a lot of repeat clients that have been coming here for 10 years. I only wish the weather was better.

This place was amazing. Beautiful floral fragrant grounds every where. The staff are so willing to accommodate, polite, friendly and respectful. I heard so many people say they do not like the food in Cuba, but this place had great food and a great selection to choose from. You never left hungry. When I go back I will definitely stay here again. Miss some of the staff already that I met. Anel from entertainment. Bartender Abel and the one by the pool. Servers: Caridad, Javier, Arturo, Darion, and the waitress with no name tag that asked me if I would give her things I would leave behind. All the cooks ... and the so oooooh handsome security guard at the beach that said I had beautiful eyes. I can't remember all the names of the staff, but these here especially stood out..they made me feel so special ❤❤❤ I miss them all already. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for what you get. Great food and wonderful staff. Awesome entertainment!
The weak points
Balcony locks need repair, toilet kept breaking, security room key kept disengaging. Unless your room category states Cuatro Palmas section you will be across the street in Las Palmas or Economy rooms and it's very noisy. Was unable to sleep well.
Certified

Evaluation Of Hotel

, Ajax, ON
2017-07-20
This is my first visit to Cuba and did not know what to expect. The hotel is well laid out, the grounds are fabulous, the staffs are respectful, polite and friendly. Many delicious options for each meal. The excursions to different parts of the country was well organized, educational and fun. I will definitely recommend and will be visiting again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff could not be any better
The weak points
Wi-Fi tempermental. It took a few days to get access. I needed to let my family know we arrived safely and were ok.
Certified

Will not disappoint

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-11-26
I am not one to write reviews.I am one to read them though. Like most of my fellow travellers, when trying to book a holiday, I go to the reviews and read the experiences of other travelers.
I am not new to Cuba and know - to each his own when it comes to the fine points. So I decided it was time to offer my experiences and opinions.
I just got back yesterday from a week at Cuatro Palmas. Its is a smaller resort offering up pretty much the same thing as most - sun/sand/booze. To my surprise and just echoing what many other reviewers have said, the food was better than any other resort I have been to here. NO one travels to Cuba for the food but it usually is "the make or break" of good holiday. You will never starve. You may get a little bored with the offerings as they do not vary too much. They have a grill service/ pasta station/ food is hot and made to order. they offer the usual buffet items which are basically luke warm at best. A daily hot soup and bread station. Dessert bar with premium ice cream/ fruits/ pastries. If you think of what you ate at home last week and the week before , etc. pretty repetitive too, right. The staff is very helpfull and the managment is always present. These people work hard.
I chose to stay away from the main hotel and stay in the vilas across the street. A 2 minute walk to my room and away from the masses of the resort. Room was basic but clean. Beds were newer. Always had hot water, AC and clean towels. Security was there 24/7. Cuba is very safe. I think they are there more as a deterent to keep the locals from bothering the guests.
IT is a little noise during the night. You are located between two of the busiest night clubs on the island and they go all
The beach is clean and full of loungers. A little limited on shade but I like the sun. The pool area is large and clean. Never a problem finding a place to sit.
The bar areas can be busy. But most travellers are there to drink - Bring your own glass/Buba - 4oz glasses of beer go down pretty quick. The drink varietys change by the bar and by the day. You are limited by the daily supplies.Always lots of rum and beer. Unfortunatly no slushie drinks here. The main bar has a blender but they are always too busy to spend the time to get the ice well blended.
The lobby is open and inviting. The counter staff are there to help. Yes they can be a little unpleasant and rude. But you, work 14 hrs a day for weeks without a break and put up with a bunch of needy children/ tourists. If you are pleasant and smile - so will they. I never had any issues. Changing money at the desk was easy, even 20 dollars at a time. The general manager David is always there. He has an eagles eye and runs a tight ship.The staff respect him and show they truley care about your experience at the hotel.
I think this hotel/resort is one of the best in Varedero if not Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location/ the beach/the food
The weak points
age of the hotel
Certified

BEST HOTEL IN CUBA

, Toronto, ON
2016-10-14
My stay was amazing. From the staff to the food, this resort by far is one of the best in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall amazing
The weak points
For Cuba, this place was better than expected.
Certified

Quite Lovely

, Lasalle, QC
2016-09-21
Our flight was coming from Montreal to Varadero. We arrived at the hotel around 12:30 pm. There was no rooms ready for the whole plane. We were told to come back after 4:00 pm.
Our luggage, was put in a storage area. Finally when they did assign rooms. As me, which was stated NO stairs. I was told, that all the first floor was being renovated. I was told, I could have a room across the street, if I wanted a lower room. My preferences were, NO stairs & NOT across the street, as I was travelling on my own, & I'm senior citizen.
They gave me a room, in the main lobby but on the first floor.
I took that room, which the stairs weren't that bad, except there was no light that night, for going down the stairs.
I asked someone, to help me down. I did report the light being out. They finally changed the light, after 3 days, but I always travel with a flashlight.
In all on a good note. The beach was beautiful, lots of shade, if you went to the right of the terrasse.
The food was quiet good for Cuba but the main feature was a man there originally from Italy, was the chef for all kinds of pasta dishes. So taste, at least I thought so.
The shows at night, were very nice & the music around the bar area, was very relaxing.
In all, me being solo, I thought it was easy to get around plus, the staff there, is supper friendly. Can't do enough for you.
I felt, they recognized me being alone & again I felt safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location of beach, entertainment, buffet. Very nice people.
The weak points
Always asking for toilet paper. Maintenance, when advised.

Not good

, Halifax, NS
2016-06-08
I was in the new section. It was a beautiful room. The staff was not very nice. My maid was amazing.
Crystal beer is the best. I have to buy it at the vending machine. the cheap beer was available for free. NOT GOOd [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Location Location

, Chester Basin, NS
2016-05-15
The location is this hotels biggest feature. Close to most everything in town at your door step. My second time at Cuatro Palmas. I requested the main building knowing it was yet to be renovated but the room really should not have been rented. The AC machine didn't work well and was falling apart, all outlets half out of the wall, hairdryer also falling off the wall, beds uncomfortable and patio furniture basically non existent, two ratty old kitchen chairs. The maids did their best to keep the room clean and orderly. The Front desk staff were polite but they do rip you on exchange. They would not once produce a receipt which is your way of avoiding rip offs on money exchange in Cuba. They would never give small denominations for tipping, 3 cuc and higher only. Everyone was complaining about this. I personally tipped higher then I normally would have but many would not tip the higher amounts which is unfair to staff. I found most staff very nice with the exception of bar tenders. One of the pool bartenders was downright scary, not hard to tell he hated his job and unless you tipped excessive amounts the lobby bartenders totally ignored you. Restaurant staff were lovely. I especially liked the diningroom musicians, such sweet gentlemen. This hotel appeals to all age groups and people are friendly and engaging. A great choice for a single traveler. Do know when booking that unless your room category states Cuatro Palmas section you will be across the street in the Las Palmas Section or Economy rooms, I would be most unhappy over there myself. The Colonial Section rooms on the Cuatro Palmas side are freshly renovated, the rooms are small but clean. Until they renovate the main building I would not stay again. The main buffet food is not that great, limited selection and meat tough as nails. There is a nice beachside lunch restaurant that doubles as a night time a la carte but was not told about this at all and didn't realize we had that option, another guest told us about it after we had checked out, thanks. Pool was very clean and lots of activity going on there, beach was of course gorgeous but many broken chairs and not enough for all guests. Forget a covered shade on the beach unless you got up at 5 am. I'm quite sure I enjoyed this hotel more so in the past than I did this time. The hotel itself is in quite a bit of disrepair and it shows in many areas. They really must do something with the main buidling and until they do the rooms should not even be rented. The exterior and interior are not in good shape. For the money this hotel does have good value and location cannot be beat, I hope to return when they have done some very necessary work. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beach and location
The weak points
rooms and food selection
Certified

Wonderful hotel

, Saint John, NB
2016-05-07
Very clean, the best food I have had in Cuba, staff was friendly and helpful, looking forward to going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, lots of hot water, very clean and great location
The weak points
Bathroom towels are gray and dingy, floor locks on balcony doors need repair.
Certified

Amazing

, Smooth Rock Falls, ON
2015-05-04
Hotel well situated,beach is amazing and food exellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well situated to bank,stores,entertainements and medical clinic.Good food and hotel and beach not overcrowded
The weak points
Security constently asking for your clothing.
Certified

My vacation in CUBA

, St-Honore-De-Chicoutimi, QC
2015-04-17
Very good overall except the accommodation. The first room we were given was unhealthy. It had moisture, was filthy and smelled urine. We managed to get a better one for the night but it was not much better; it had cockroaches and was located remote from the main complex and the beach. We finally insisted on getting a third room which had been renovated and where we spent the rest of our journey [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and the staff
The weak points
The rooms
Certified

Varadero vacation

, Tiny, ON
2015-01-22
We had a great time enjoying the hotel's facilities and the many things to do that surrounded this resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A well laid out facility with lots to do and see. The location was perfect for us
The weak points
None
Certified

Great Location , thats about it.

, Oakville, ON
2014-10-29
The front desk staff was nice no problems there. Got to my room which was clean average 3 star room , The AC unit looked all beaten up and was very loud and at max setting would spit little pieces of ice on to the bed making sounds like popping kernels of corn. The food was usual resort bland Cuban cuisine .
The Bartenders at the Lobby Bar are some of the most ignorant people I have ever met , one time I asked the bartender to make change for a 10cuc note and gives me back 5cuc and promptly drops the other 5cuc into the tip box ,just unreal ,got the other 5cuc back and gave a tip of 2cuc as I did not want to make a scene ,another time at the same lobby bar I ask for a drink and the bartender serves the drink and gives me a shot in a small plastic shot glass ,I tip him and drink the shot ,,,IT WAS WATER , if that was in Canada i would have reacted very badly.
The location is great ,close to everything the clubs and markets.
For the most part I had a good time at the Cuatro Palmas but I still have a bitter taste in my mouth. would i go back ....I don't think so. As far as bed bugs ,,,yes there bed bugs .have the bites on both arms and photos, to be expected in a 3 star in Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Rude Lobby bar staff

Good for the size

, Montreal, QC
2014-09-25
Like the fact that this place is not a huge complex. It does show it's age a little though. But the atmosphere fit the bill and so did the price. If you are not looking for super fancy I recommend this place [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Well placed and not too big
The weak points
Need to be updated

Amazing hotel & food

, London, ON
2014-04-29
Hotel was amazing!
Amazing people who work there, never seen hotel employees so friendly.
Food was amazing too! Not even for Cuban terms, even in Canadian terms. Nothing wrong with! Only munchie-cakes would complain about it.
Hotel rooms are basic, but clean. Don't expect luxury, it is Cuba, but it is reasonable good. We were across the street apart from the main hotel. Within 100 meters of 3 clubs, but surprisingly you don't hear any music at all, really queit here!
Location and beach of this hotel are amazing, people are amazing, the beer is good, food is good, cocktails OMG best in my life!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food, location and peronell!
The weak points
No luxury rooms.
Certified

Not as expected

, Prince Albert, SK
2014-03-25
We were very disappointed when we arrived at Mercure Cuatro Palmas at 3:30 a.m. to find out that we were not even booked in the hotel but across the street and half way down the next block. We are a married couple so atleast expected a double/queen bed but got two singles. When we asked the front desk about upgrading we always got "maybe tomorrow" but tomorrow never came. They were always rude to us whenever we talked to them. The bar staff were just as bad and seemed to ignore anybody that didn't speak French or Spanish. One day they would have wine at the bar and the next we were told they didn't have any but the next person would get served wine. The beach was absolutely amazing and the weather could not have been any better. The mosquitos were really bad in the evenings. I had such a bad reaction to the bites I had to go to the pharmacy to get something before I scratched my skin off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was absolutely amazing and the weather could not have been better. March and April are definitely the months to go to Cuba.
The weak points
Staff were always rude unless you spoke French of Spanish. Food was horrible with the exception of the bread which is what I lived on.
Certified

SUPER WEEK

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-03-19
We stayed at Las Palmas which is across the street and down the block a little from the main hotel. The room is not fancy but clean. Our balcony overlooked a wall which although not scenic, was very private. The a/c worked great. I slept better once I removed the plastic mattress liner.
Our chambermaid, Elena, was pushy and took some items from the top of the TV which I was going to give as gifts. But she took them without my permission. Then I offered her a purse but she turned it down cause she wanted another one which was behind the closed closet doors which tells me she opened and snooped. And she had the nerve to ask for a second purse for her friend! So no more gifts or tips for her.

The hotel staff at front desk, buffet, a-la-cartes, pool, bar, security were all great, super friendly. Food was good, no complaints there. And location to downtown, shopping, park, restaurants is excellent (El Rancho restaurant is superb). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
BEACH, BEACH, BEACH. LOCATION IS GREAT.
The weak points
Evening noise from Calle 62 bar and The Beatles nightclub's outdoor bands.
Certified

Very pleasant

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-16
Great location pool and beach. Room in very poor condition and outdated [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Pool
The weak points
Outdated and poor condition rooms
Certified

Ola

, Hamilton, ON
2014-02-14
Great hotel, everyone so friendly and fun place to stay at. The beach is amazing! Lots to do in the area, bars, restaurants, shopping, bank & a beautiful park. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel offers a very friendly and fun enviornment! The beach is fantastic :) Hotel is close to shopping, bank, clubs, restaurant & the beautiful park! Great hotel, loved it!
The weak points
The rooms need to be updated, freshened up! Our bar fridge was not stocked upon arrival.
Certified

Nice place

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-15
Hotel was exactly as expected since this is my third trip to Varadero. Location was nice, close to everywhere, right on beach. Staff was friendly. Clean enough. Food was as expected not great but that is kind of standard in Cuba. Nothing special but nothing bad either. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, on beach..
The weak points
Food but I am not sure if food is better elsewhere..
Certified

Nice Resort - caution on rooms

, Warman , SK
2014-01-14
The resort is situated in a great spot in Veradero amidst the shopping and night life. There is a number of cheap modes of transportation right out the front door for getting around the peninsula.
The resort facilities are more than adequate. The beaches and pools are lovely, and the service was great.
But be aware the room accommodations include several blocks of rooms some distance from the main resort. We were placed in one of the outlying buildings which overlooks a side street which was noisy, busy and smelly. The rooms in that section are also very dated, dark and dingy. Be sure to contact the resort before you go to request a room in the main facility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for the price we paid. Excellent location in Veradero. Nice beaches.
The weak points
The rooms offsite the resort were unacceptable. We would stay at this resort again but only if we were situated in the main resort.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020