Club Kawama

Club Kawama
2.892.892.892.892.89
2.89 based on 509 reviews
#47 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (178)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Unless you dont like your money, dont go there

, Montréal, QC
2020-05-21
Rats, food so nasty you would rather fast during your stay, old dirty rooms, nasty swimming pool, old hotel, here is what you will fond going in that hotel, if I dare call it that. After the 1st night, on which i could not sleep because i had the pleasant surprise to be woken up by a rat of the lenght of my leg, i transfered to a 5stars resort( thank god). The food was disgusting, i did not know boiled eggs could taste like dirty feet, now thanks to kawama I do. I beg you, pay a little more and go to a worthy place, no this garbage. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Everything

Lovely break

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-02-21
The resort is not super fancy but the gorgeous long stretch of beach and the friendliness of the staff makes it a lovely holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff.
The weak points
Poorly lit at night so really watch your step.
Certified

Good vacation

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-13
It's good for 3 stars. Don't expect more than it should be. The buildings need the repairs and renovations. However, for the price what we paid for 14 days, it was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff everywhere was very nice.
The weak points
The Bathroom is poor. Needs to be renovated.
Certified

7 days at Kawama Club Hotel

, Montréal, QC
2020-01-28
Excellent reception, nice desk and lobby, beuatifull pool, the sea is right on the hotel, very nice. Rooms are confortable and nice, we had to ask to change our mattress, they did it the second day, good restaurants, the hotel is very weel positionned in Varadero, we walked into the islands few time, everything is near by. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
position of the hotel in Varadero, very close to center town ship, commercial centers and restaurants.
The weak points
Room confort.
Certified

2weeks at club kawama

, Brossard, QC
2020-01-13
Reception staff cold . Dinning room staff willing and helpful . Cleaning room staff good . Entertainment staff great.bar staff excellent . Hotel disgusting room state no towels no soap stinky state broken Closet doors windows and doors . Charged for room safe even thought paid for . Final not recommended for any length of time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach had excellent weather for 2 weeks
The weak points
Meals not much choice
Certified

A week on the beach ...

, Cote Saint-Luc, QC
2019-11-28
... that is all I want and at the Camp Kawama that is what I get at a "Last Minute Price". First off I am launching a petition to change the name of any 4 Cuban Stars or less "Hotel" to Camp name. Because that exactly what you get and for you to be satisfied with your trip you have to understand this and the tour operator, resort or whatever should disclose the fact that they offer you a camp visit with a cafeteria ( they call it Buffet ) This is NOT a complaint! I am a repeat visitor and I met many regulars at the Kawama, thing is we know what to expect which is not much! How does this help you? For one, this knowledge give you a choice and you can make an educated decision if this is what you want. Number two, nothing beats experience and shared experience ( that is why you read this ) will help you beat the "system" or tourist trap(s) or at least makes it tolerable. Number three, budget/ estimate your expenses and change your money at the airport( CAN$ 1.37) or the bank at 32 Calle NOT at the exchange office (CAN$1.47), or the hotel, restaurant, shops and certainly not with an individual or vendor. There is a lot more but I am running out of time. Happy Travel!Show less
Date of stay: November 2019
Room tip: Try to get a renovated room. Alternatively complain, complain, complain and complain some more, but nicely and preferably in spanish! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Close to town and Santa Marta.
The weak points
No point to list them. They have been discussed at nusea.

Worse experience

, Mascouche, QC
2019-07-30
I've gone to 6 different resorts in cuba and I normaly have nothing to say but this was the worse experience I've had. Many things that went wrong during our stay here are a few things. Employee's were very rude, especially the front desk staff. No animation during the day. The dance crew were practicing their dance routine during the day so they would play the same song all day. The buffet food was actually better then the restaurants on site. We were told the room was clean and ready but they didn't give it to us until 4Pm. I work in the hotel industry and I understand that check-in dosen't start until 4PM, but if you see that 40 people are waiting in the hall with no place to sit, it would be appreciated to check-in the guest who's room are already done. We were told we would receive a bottle of rhum in our room but never received it, even asking 4 different times. (same for our friends who also had a suite). The locals who would pay to spend the day there would skip us in lines while we would wait for food and drinks. What bothers me is that the staff would see this and still serve them. The drinks were diluted with water from the tap ( I know because I saw them do it) so everyone we were with got sick, including many people we met over there. Also, many things that were supposed to be included like the spa wasn't available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms. Housekeeping staff was very nice.
The weak points
Rude employee's (not including housekeeping staff). No animation during the day. Restaurant food was even worse than buffet food.
Certified

Entertainment was awesome

, London, ON
2019-07-12
The entertainment was about the best thing they had ... Many issues with room then I had to upgrade and pay alot of money to them ... Then our fridges were never filled the staff was ok well some were great some were rude .... The food was not the best and when going to the snack bar we were told to wait hours before being served as locals came first ordering 10 burgers each and taking them off the resort ... There was never Internet cards there to purchase had to take a cab to get some ..... Complained to the management and nothing was done about the issues we were pushed to the side ..... Our room was full of bugs and lizards the hotel was always flooded was not a good experience at all [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment was amazing
The weak points
Staff ... Rooms.... Service was not good
Certified

KAWAMA

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-01
Changed rooms twice. Had to upgrade and pay 25 pesos per day extra. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Club Kawama

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-30
Older resort, close to town. There are 3 pools, but two were closed, probably for the season. We were in Building 41....have to Greyhound it in (joke) to the main area. Truthfully, about a 10 minute walk to the buffet, main pool etc. Room was very clean. Staff was wonderful. Nice afternoon snack bar with wonderful porkchops and chicken (didn't try the shrimp or fish) right near our room....also two bars by our room. Food was awesome, although others complained about it....not sure why. Pool was clean. Beach is wonderful. Nothing really negative to say....it's Cuba!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Snack Bars - one in main area opens 11pm, one out by building 41 opens noon to 6ish and includes bar.
The weak points
Some rooms are run down, ours was fine. Grounds are not as nice as some other resorts we have been too, but kept up nice. Stupid tourists that leave their trash on the beach....not cool guys, clean up after yourself and have some respect.
Certified

It was ok

, Nelson, BC
2019-03-23
The sun is the best part of a Cuban holiday. Staff were mostly friendly, my 5 year old boy had a great time. Met some fellow Canadians along the way and had a great time. Some more attention to the kids club would be beneficial as it wasn't geared towards the English kids, and didn't run consecutive days or times. Room was not amazing, but clean, and for the amount of time we spent in it did the job. The place is old, I feel like there's a lack of pride of ownership of the resort. Maybe that's just the culture but I'm not sure .
I'll go back again . My son had a great time and it was lovely to escape the winter cold of Canada . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sun, beach, drinks
The weak points
Old and run down
Certified

Club kuwama

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-03-16
I went for a family vacation for the first time ever and it could not have been to a better place . The resort is beautiful the ocean amazing and the staff are wonderful . Along the way you meet people from all over the world and create new friendships . I will definitely go back again . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wonderful people,great entertainment,good food,amazing staff,great night life.
The weak points
could use more toiletries in the ladies bathroom bring kleenex with at all times
Certified

Club kawama

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-13
The hotel experience was a mixed bag. The hotel set up had grand buildings, however the maintenance and upkeep was warranted. My door was falling apart, the shower pressure was bad, the food was terrible. Information and access to reservation restaurants were not mentioned of advices. The charge for the internet card was too high compared to all other resorts in the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The views were spectacular and beautiful, the air conditioning was great. The tours and excursions were amazing.
The weak points
The access to internet for communication. The towels and sheets need to be changed regularly. An improvement with the menu and food preparation is needed.
Certified

Horrible Hotel Experience

, Onoway, AB
2019-03-05
We go to Cuba. We love it. We understand the politics, sanctions and have a very short list of must have. Club Kawama staff are the most ignorant , lazy , shady bunch we have encountered in Cuba. The hotel room had bugs , bed bugs and cockroaches. Gang graffiti was a surprise. It was filthy. Hotel line up to complain was too long everyday to bother but my friend bought off the lady with the multi coloured hair. The boss lady in cash under the table. Ok. It's cuba. Garbages were full to overflowing the entire week. No one cleaned them. A lady knocked over drinks in lobby bar and we reported it. 45 min later I found a closet and hauled a mop and broom through the lobby in plane site if all staff. Cleaned it up before someone was hurt and they never batted an eye. Let's talk about these repeaters!! If your one who returns every year , your in ok shape. They will be a bit nicer. It's a huge click and your at the back of the line. Creepy old Canadians with pretty Cuban ladies all over. Julio is one old man who was quite a site to see with a young lady. How are they allowed ?? Overall the worst staff ever. Rude , lazy and indifferent. They will talk on the phone or to one another for 15 minutes before they will acknowledge u ?? Beach in front of hotel was filthy. Guy at beach bar was amazing ! So overall. Do not go there. Disgusting hotel !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Kawama hotel

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-03
The crew and staff were awesome.Friendly staff willing to help.Always something to eat [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very accommodating
The weak points
Don't waste your time buying time cards.WiFi can never get on it
Certified

Pas trop content

, Ottawa, ON
2019-01-13
Bien decu du ressort.ce quont na vue dans l internet se nest pas se quont a eu dutout ,j ai payer pour une chambre superieur ont na eu chambre standard ,la chambre etait tres sale un cendrier rempli de butt de cigarette la senteur etait ecoeurante ont na du changer de chambre et la 2 ieme chambre quont na eu etait une autre chambre standard tres sale et de la merde qui sortait du drain du plancher de chambre de bain changer de chambre une autre fois et la 3ieme etait juste ok ce n etait pas une standard mais elle fesait de l allure mieux que les 2 autres ....Pour le personnel ecoute ils sont tous la pour des pourboires si tu leur donne pas de tips ils te servent comme dla merde entouka je reccommande pas ste ressort la a personne tres decu et surtout pour le prix que j ai payer vraiment . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
La plage splendide
The weak points
Les chambres le manger, propreté,service,staff

Club Kawama Review

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-04-10
You get what you pay for. It is a three star hotel, not in the best shape, but nice. The room was disappointing. The bathroom was dirty (bathtub), but the rest of the room was clean. Toilet paper was always an issue, and since we were far from the front desk, it was a task. The beach made this all okay, it was beautiful and that was where we spent most of our time. The staff were surprisingly unfriendly for the most part. There were a few exceptions, but they seemed unhappy. The food was wonderful, I've read a lot of complaints about the food and I'm not sure why. Great variety and very tasty. The reservations for a la carte are only taken between 10-12, and the person that does it (PR, ironically) is usually 20m late. Always a line-up. Disco was closed, not updated on the website. The music was sometimes trying and seemed like it was for seniors (Michael Bolton) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach Great food Don't pester you for tips
The weak points
Old small room Bathtub falling apart Unhappy staff no water bottles provided in room no toilet paper refills ( have to ask) Staff ignores you while you wait Disco closed no swim-up pool bar
Certified

Should have been a family trip

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-03
This resort is good enough, especially for the price, however, there is no night life and the places nearby aren't any better. One would have to travel to the opposite end of Varadero for any type of night life.

We overheard someone ask about the disco and the response was that it was broken. Based on our walks around the place we aren't really sure where the disco would have been anyway.

Rooms......they are nothing to be excited about, basic amenities and depending on your room (it appeared there were very nice ones in some locations) you could experience the following:
- Twin beds.........very uncomfortable twin beds, the one my other half slept on had a broken spring that actually stuck into him and cause a fairly deep cut.
- Fear of electrical short ...... our bathroom light popped and cracked when it would actually turn on, sometimes it just wouldn't work or sometimes you had to turn on both switches instead of just the one, it was questionable
- Mini Fridge ........ Ours froze everything no matter what temp it was set to, however, on our last day many of these fridges were being replaced so might not be an issue in the near future
- Exchange rate is terrible, however, the bank line ups are worse so be prepared to lose money every time
- Coffee is only served at the lobby bar despite the other bars having coffee machines
- The foam party on Saturday was a little sad. The form wasn't started until after the party and by then there were so many people for this tiny machine that it just piled in one spot in the pool
- Music is lacking as a whole. During the day by the pool there is sad music, we call it party ending music, and occasionally they turn on faster more up beat music but the songs never end, they cut them off and change them before you know what is happening.
- Shows/Entertainment - Seriously lacking in this department, especially when it is the only thing the resort does for its guests. The magic show was ok and the dance show was good was Michael Jackson came out, beyond that every show was the same songs sung by various bands all in Spanish. The sound system set up for these shows were so bad the mic's were often not on. The instruments would be so loud it would hurt my ears.

Everything at this resort is shut down by 11 pm outside of the one outdoor bar. This outdoor bar made terrible drinks. I tried all week with various kinds, amounts of alcohol but it didn't matter. Whatever came from them wasn't very good.

The buffet was ok, it is Cuba after all, but we both managed to find something at every meal to eat. We did not try either a la carte, however, we did go into town twice and both times the food was delicious, the pizza at the near by Italian restaurant was fantastic! Oh and for most of the meals we had to wait 30 - 40 minutes to be let in to the buffet in order to eat. I've never experienced a buffet line up so not sure if this is common but worth the mention as you are stuck in the sun/heat. Didn't matter what time you went to the buffet either.

The beaches were great, lots of chairs and shaded places. The main pool was nice, however, the two additional pools were really dirty and lacked any kind of shade and very few chairs around these pools.

We would not go back for just the two of us as we are night owls and it became daunting trying to think of things to do when there is no music, no where to go and the beach is off limits. We will be returning with my 9 yr old as I believe the place is great for kids and reasonably priced for that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach, Friendly staff, Close enough to bus stops and town to venture off the resort and see more local sites.
The weak points
Rooms, Beds, Lack of entertainment, lack of disco, drinks
Certified

Not the best stay in Cuba

, Burford, ON
2018-03-17
I've been to Cuba three other times. Kawama was not my favourite. The staff was nice, pool clean, food decent. However, the room was disgusting!! Dirty, rusted bathtub, no phone in room for wake up calls, drawers missing from dresser and worst of all no hot water!!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Everything else. Food was edible but same every day
Certified

Do Not Go! Nightmare!!

, Windsor, ON
2018-02-16
Day 1- Upon arrival 10:30 am front desk (Ilene) told us no rooms must wait an hour. Then she told us at noon that check in was not until 4:00 pm. In my shock, to this I responded you told us an hour and she rolled her eyes and shrugged her shoulders. She could careless. Customer Service is not bad there is none!!
Then we get a room at 4:30, to return back to the lobby as this room smelled strong of mold and had no working phone with a toilet that did not work. Once there, in frustration we asked to speak to a manager. After approximately another 30 minutes we were approached by a lady who stated the system was down but she could show me another room but no room had working phones. The next room we accepted out of frustration, it had no working toilet and the safe was broke too! Needless to say they controlled our whole first day with in and out trying to fix this! To top it off the mattress was horrible. The room had 2 twin beds. We stacked the mattresses and still it had a huge sink whole in it!! The room door had huge gaps allowing lots of mosquitoes in! We were eaten alive!! We sealed the door with towels to try to keep them out! Sewer flies came up thru drains and big roaches were seen! Yuck!!!
Many travelers had several bites, many questioned bed bugs!! Met a woman in bathroom she was covered from the knees down. Food was very limited. The same food options were offered for breakfast, lunch and supper x 7 days! Flies were a common problem at the buffet. We had to go off the resort to eat. Meal times are problematic as after 2pm, you had to wait until 6:30 to eat again!
Entertaining was lacking. No day time activities and the night shows were awful!
The coffee bar staff were miserable. The only staff that were helpful and pleasant were the lobby security and the pool bar employees! The rest all need customer service training!
We will never return this is a 1 star resort and that star is for the beach as it is beautiful!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Club Kawama

, Camrose, AB
2018-02-13
An authentic, older resort with character. Spread out over a large area and challenging to find your way around if you are not located in the main area of the resort. The beach was awesome with plenty of chairs for sitting on and the pool was very clean and maintained. The majority of the staff were pleasant and friendly however the people running the coffee hut were dismissive and tended to ignore you if they were talking among each other, which was most of the time. Front desk definitely had attitude and again were dismissive and not helpful. The food was repetitive, bland and unappetizing. Very frustrating way meals were handled as the buffet would not open until a specific time leaving the guests lined up waiting to be let in. The tipping became ridiculous and there was an expectation for tipping continuously. With the exchange rate on the Canadian dollar, if you wanted to do more than sit at the resort, the trip became an expensive one. Check out arrangements were certainly not guest friendly and getting use of a hospitality room a major challenge with staff at reception. Not a place i will visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly cleaning and dining room staff, grounds and room were clean and maintained. Beach and water was wonderful and the highlight of the resort.
The weak points
Food was repetitive bland and unappetizing. Food poisoning was an issue for people there that i spoke with. Rude and dismissive reception staff and coffee shack. Poor quality and very little entertainment provided.

SUN AND FUN

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-12
I have been to Kawama before so know what it is like.
This is one of the first resorts in Varadaro age is apparent, But it is worth visiting shows you all the original buildings from then, upgrades have been done, but remember they don't have access to all the amenities we do!!
People are great always friendly!!! Food there is always something you can find to eat, remember they have limited access so dont expect it to be fine dining in North America
Sun Great People Great, Beach Best in Cuba
All the workers are great and treat the tourists like gold.
Trip is how you decide to make it, if you expect a five star North American hotel dont come to Cuba. We are there for Sun and Beach all the rest is a bonus.
This hotel is close to everything Town/Water / Sun [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
sun & fun I have a great time so close to everything
The weak points
it is cuba but rooms could be a little more upgraded/ we didnt have a fridge so couldnt keep water cold/ but you only sleep and change in your room.
Certified

Love it!

, Sylvan Lake, AB
2018-01-18
The staff was so nice and happy, the beach was so beautiful and had endless amounts of drinks. Met some really nice people and enjoyed the live shows at night. The resort is very close to town so you're able to walk if you'd really like but you can also pay for a bus pass that lasts all day. The flea market was cool along with seeing all the old fashion cars. The food was a bit plain but then again we're use to fast foods and endless spices. There was no wifi the whole so I wasn't able to get ahold of anymore or go on enternet. I kinda didn't mind that though made it so you had to talk to people and didnt have a choice to care what was going on with social media. Go here with an open mind. This isn't a 5 star but it's what you make of it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Old charm

, Windsor, ON
2018-01-10
I've read many of the reviews before I decided to stay at this resort, and many reviews were terrible but I've also learned from my vast experience of travelling, one can never really judge a place until they go. I agree this place definitely needs upgrading in different areas but its not all that bad, cause if it were, no one would go. This place has many repeaters from all over the world and from all classes of ppl. I had some peeves about this place nothing to prevent me from coming back. The food was ok, and plenty of it. I don't eat 24/7 at home so not expecting to eat 24/7 at any resort. I would suggest that if you are a snacker, then take extra food from the buffet, they do offer the styrofoam packs for you to put food in and or bring extra snacks from home. I am a picky eater but I survived, its not all that bad. I've stayed in 5 star resorts all over the world, and the food is hit n miss when travelling to another country. If you are looking for McDonalds or Burger King, then stay home. Secondly, depending on who your travel operator is, you can go to them with your issues and or concerns and for the most part they do their best to address the issue. If you don't bring your issues to anyones attention well then I guess it will not be addressed. The staff and crew were all so wonderful and helpful when needed, they are hard workers and they try their best to accommodate all the selfish and whiny tourists, give them a break. The beach is beautiful with plenty of lounge chairs and shade if needed, it is clean, water is clear. The main pool is awesome, even the smaller pool to the east side of main pool is clean and nice/quiet. I give this place some credit especially considering, it is one of the oldest resorts in Veradero, it is still standing from since the last hurricane (Erma) and at the end of the day, once again they are doing their best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff & crew, 24/7 security always there to assist you. Large pool with many lounge chairs. Main lobby bar/specialty coffees. Coffee bar on main grounds, 24 hr drinking bar, best location for beach and close walking distance to downtown area.
The weak points
Does not have the usual all inclusive amenities like other resorts. No kettle for coffee/tea, no minibar with snacks/beverages. No crushed ice for slushy drinks, no food at snackbar after 830pm.

Do not go

, Joliette, QC
2018-01-06
This place must of been nice at one time but now it is the worst vacation I had in year, the room I had was bad and I mean bad, if you wanted to take a bath well I would not sit in it. In overall for the room I think they are still in the 1950, has for the shower well that is almost no pressure in the system that is when you get water the morning when I was leaving was having a shower all soap up and then ran out of water no more pressure into the system so bad experience
The food well i have seen better this was the worst if you are going there bring some extra money so you can go eat somewhere else do not expect to get any food between 5 to 7.30 pm you are out of luck
There was one one bar where you can get beer the bar at the beach did not have any but you could get local drink

Overall experience never again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no strong point
The weak points
I think they forgot was customer experience is

Do Not Go!

, Beardmore, ON
2017-12-24
Had it not been for the beach and nice weather, we would have hated our stay here. Rooms are run down, fridge didn't work and didn't close, I had to fix the toilet as soon as we got here, had to demand for toilet paper or they wouldn't give us any at all, along with water which we eventually gave up and just went and bought our own at a local grocery store. We had other guests tell us how their toilets didn't even have a seat. The food, the vast majority is comparable to dog food, except the food I took out and tried to feed to the local skin and bone strays, never got touched, the dogs even turned their nose up to it. Bed was also broken, along with the in room telephone. At some point they did renovations or upgraded a building, the stone and clay chunks they pulled out were either dumped right in the ocean, or they buried the debris on the beach... sickening [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-dirty -run down -most things in the rooms don't work -food is horrible

Repeat Kawama Costomer

, Steinbach, MB
2017-12-19
WE love the Hotel, we always get good service, The Rooms are Clean and the Staff is always friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and it is within walking distance to the market and right on the Beach and lots of room to go for walks
The weak points
Food? Well it is Cuba so it is average
Certified

Garbage should be torn down

, Prince Albert, SK
2017-12-19
Been to Cuba 12 times or so, by far this is the worst resort i have ever experienced . Never in a million years would i recommend this resort !!!!! Rooms are horrible, huge cockroaches , totally out of control... lol. Staff fairly nice ( nothing they can do ) toilets flooding, food ? Terrible!!!! Very little maintenance !!! If felt bad for the little ones, as they witnessed a bunch of falling down drunks.... to bad looks like it was a nice place 50 years ago [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
1000000000
Certified

For Non Repeaters

, Aylmer, ON
2017-09-29
Just read some other reviews which could be helped by watching the 4 Youtube videos under "Hotel Club Kawama, Grounds Tour", before you book. The most extensive is from 2012 and later ones have been updated with additional information. I've been to other less expensive resorts in Varadero and Kawama is better than them but not as good as a 5 star. Who knew? I'll be there the end of January, first of February for my 13th stay. There are over a thousand repeaters who've learned the ropes. Many of them are on the Hotel Club Kawama (Cuba), facebook page. Buen Viaje. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, location, beach, narrow resort along beach, oldest resort in Vardero with some character building of coral block.
The weak points
Oldest resort in Varadero has some rooms with some mold, Take air freshener and lysol spray in case you get one of them. Tip for an extra pillow.

DONT GO

, Toronto, ON
2017-09-14
Dont make the same mistake we did , complete waste of money. We had 4 rooms and only the bungalow style was somewhat decent. This hotel is one of the first built in downtown Varadero. It would be beautiful it they did some renovations and changed management. Ive been to Cuba many times I come for the people and this was the first time i ever experianced such miserable staff. They clearly didnt like their jobs . They gave wrong information or just said "I dont know" and ignoered you without any attempt to find out what you were asking. They were rude and not welcoming at all. The food was the same every day. Rooms were mouldy and dirty , pillows and linins were 100 years old like the resort. There are no live daily activites. There is a huge schedule board and when you go no one shows up . Never again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great ! And its walking distance to the double decker tour bus and down town.
The weak points
Hated it from day 1 . My worst experiance ever In cuba.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020