Villas Jibacoa

Villas Jibacoa
3.453.453.453.453.45
3.45 based on 501 reviews
#23 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (176)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Second visit and would do it again

, Toronto, ON
2020-04-26
The staff was wonderful the areas were very clean as was the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was wonderful, price was very affordable.The beach and the snorkeling was amazing
The weak points
villas are looking old could stand some small repairs
Certified

Great vacation

, Moncton, NB
2019-05-07
This was my first time at this resort. It is a small resort, no long walks to get anywhere. Room was clean, lots of hot water. Staff always helpful and kind. Went snorkeling and it was amazing. I will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Quiet Small Resort

, Englehart, ON
2019-05-03
We stayed here in January and found it a quiet little resort with very few locals. Not a lot of food to offer in the restaurant by the pool, but the buffet was adequate. Drinks in the lobby were very good. The entertainment at night was not professional but it was a lot of fun. Our bungalow was very nice and cleaned daily. For the first of many trips to Cuba, no towel art. Santa Maria and Cayo Coco have much nicer beaches, but also larger crowds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small hotel with not much walking. Very nice staff. Bungalows are nice and not over run with locals on our stay.
The weak points
Ocean floor is sinking sand and hard to walk. No bath tub.

Nice little resort

, Truro, NS
2019-05-02
Overall nice place just to crowd with locals [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing not a party resort lots of palapas and loungers nice pool and beach nice staff and beautiful landscaping
The weak points
Beer only at one bar. way to many locals at this hotel with large visiting families it was so loud and crowded at pool it took much of our enjoyment out of this trip
Certified

Relaxing Trip

, New Lowell, ON
2019-04-26
Had a very relaxing stay at this resort. The facilities and grounds are very average ( staying true to a three star resort) and what we expected. The pool area was fantastic, and bungalows were great! The coral reef was amazing. The food was fair (again being in Cuba, this is what we expected). The staff treats you like family, and we always felt safe. This resort is secluded. Not much else around. Not a party resort, very small and intimate, which is exactly what we were looking for. Almost everyone we met, were returning guests. This says alot about a resort. I would absolutely recommend going here. Thanks Jibacoa staff, until next time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bungalows, staff, pool.
The weak points
Lobby, needs a bit of a makeover. Buffet fair, a bit repetitive however very comparable to other Cuban resort buffets.
Certified

Peaceful complex

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-04-18
Wonderful, friendly, peaceful complex with a vast area of lovely landscapes.
Awesome beach with limited palapas, but lots of shade trees as well.
Hotel room is adaquate for the most part. Bungalows are very nice and have great views.
Food is sufficient. Does get a bit repetitious when staying longer than a week.
Staff is awesome. Very helpful with any requests you may have.
Beach is awesome with snorkeling right off the beach, paddleboats, kayaks, and catamaran trips available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, My highlight was the paragliding with Ruberlexi who lands right in front of the hotel.
The weak points
Food is a little lacking. Lots of it but not very exciting. Beds could be better, but ive had worse.

A Gem!

, Dorval, QC
2019-03-11
Don't be fooled by the 3.5 star rating! This place is a Gem! It's a very quiet area about 70 km from Varaderro. There is only one other resort next door. You can leisurely walk out of the resort to walk around and visit the area. There are a few great restaurants near buy and a few gift shops. You can ask at the front desk to book a reservation at the Tower restaurant. They pick you up and bring you back to the resort. The food and entertainment are amazing. You also get a wonderful view of the sunset. Spectacular!!
Villa Jibacoa, also known as Villa Tropico is a great place for a young family or to go as a couple. It's a very peaceful and relaxing resort. The grounds are magnificent and well maintained. The bungalows are extremely clean,very comfy with a small fridge and a large bathroom. The service (maids, bartenders,servers) is excellent! The food was great! The beach is amazing. You can enjoy going on one of their kayaks, paddle boats or go on a catamaran ride( you need to book that early in the morning). You can enjoy snorkeling about 20/25 meters from the shore or you can book a dive lesson for 25 cucs. The resort also offers a guided hike on Mon,Wed or Fri mornings. Worth going! The guide, Joe is very knowledgeable and quite funny! The view from the top is breathtaking.
We did the Jeep safari excursion and really enjoyed it! It took us to Saturne Cave where we went swimming, a boat ride on a river( can't remember the name),visited a private farm where we enjoyed a delicious lunch and then a tour of Matanzas, a beautiful city!
Overall, we had an amazing time and plan on going back again next year! If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place, I highly recommend this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The bungalows are wonderful! Spacious, very clean and comfortable. The grounds are spectacular. The beach is amazing. You can snorkel or go diving. Lots of coral reefs.
The weak points
My only suggestion would be that they purchase more lounge chairs for the beach.
Certified

Second time

, Kingston, ON
2019-02-08
a very nice time but the beach has to be cleaned. food ok for supper. better at breakfast and lunch good. ate at 3 restaurants off the resort and they were very good and prices very good for the portions.pool is great. staff try hard. manager cares. trip to Havana well worth it. bungalow was nice. small and has charm is the way I look at this place. charging for beer in lobby is still going on. all inclusive? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
view. location.
The weak points
charging for Cuban beer. supper. dirty beach

Villas Jibacoa

, Emo, ON
2019-01-12
The snorkeling was excellent and close to shore. The grounds were very well kept but the rooms were not. The pool table in the recreation area was missing pockets. The reception staff were not courteous but all other staff was. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people were very courteous everywhere on the resort except reception.
The weak points
The room had spider webs in corners, walls were dirty and the shower had mould.

Villa Jibacoa

, Montréal, QC
2018-12-26
My son and I went for a little getaway. I would highly recommend this resort to family and friends. The hotel offers many activities so we stayed very busy. The sea was too rough for swimming everyday but the pool worked as an alternative. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were welcoming and friendly Great snorkelling
The weak points
The rooms were a little dated but still comfortable
Certified

Relax

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-15
The hotel is frequented by a loyal clientele of mostly retired regulars. The exceptions must wonder how they ever got there. The optional trips and excursions are quite expensive, given the low local wages. There are few options and no information on taking local buses. There is bar service 24/7. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There is no where less expensive. Most of the staff are friendly, even if a lot of them exhibit tendencies of east and west never meeting. Nice reef, you must use the opportunities of calm seas and no jelly fish wisely. Close to La Habana
The weak points
All options are expensive.
Certified

Jibacoa

, Kitchener, ON
2018-11-19
The staff was amazing mostly....good coffee [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of staff was good. Good coffee, nice beach
The weak points
Crappy entertainment , alot of ants in bathroom. Boring buffet with almost no fruit, all walkways are cracked and broken, ran out of almost all luch food at pool snack spot. No food after dinner except stale buns in the lobby bar. Not even a 3star
Certified

Very nice vacation in a happy atmosphere

, Montréal, QC
2018-04-20
We had a bungalow. Very nice clean spacious place. Good service. Very very gentle happy smiling staff. On the beach. Beautiful water. The overall atmosphere in the resort is special , everybody in a smooth happy mood. Contagious. Good cuban food. Very pleasant vacation. Excursion in la Havane was a plus. A must. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent Place to Stay!!

, Halifax County, NS
2018-03-20
While its not fancy it is certainly serviceable.The mattresses were excellent, the bedding clean and there was maid service every day.The food was good,and the beach was excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff,beautiful resort over-all.More bang for your buck.
The weak points
The rooms a little run down.
Certified

Another Two Weeks in Paradise

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-22
This was our 2nd trip to Villa Jibacoa. We decided to return because... to use the old adage.. 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'.
This visit was our first tropical two week vacation. We had pretty much perfect weather... 5 minutes of rain ... other than that 27 to 29 degrees roughly.
We had concerns of the effects of Irma on the resort... but there was minimal visible damage... in fact... many improvements.
A new massage room next to reception bldg. where I had THE best one hour massage of my life for 20cucs.
The reef did take a hit from Irma. .. with broken chunks of reef strewn all over a hitherto sandy entrance to the sea..... they need to clear a path like there was last year in a nice straight line from reception doors to the reef. The rocks already have thick new growth of various plants but they do look enemic.
As for the reef itself. .. the same but different!
New young corals growing.. old ones healing.. and coolest if all, many new species of fish from last year. Our cameras were on overload.
We were so relieved! It's still got that magic.
The rooms were basically unchanged. The food was a wee bit better.... a new chef I believe. Still working on a tight food budget though, so don't get your hopes up too much.
The staff are a bunch of really sweet folks you want to get to know. (with an exception or two) The grounds still amaze me... beautiful but not overdone. The lush mountains that rise as the resorts background are still a sight.
We went off resort four times... twice to our fave restaurant. .. the Tower (you can't die without visiting this place)... once up the road by horse n carriage to Mario's for a tasty lobster supper.... and once to Varadero for a day of shopping the markets and soaking in a busier Cuba. (75cucs for an insured cabby for 8 hours... a nice deal)
Overall. ... still my favorite vacation spot... and am I going back next winter for a third helping? You bet! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The reef's. The resorts layout. The beauty. The relative isolation vs Varadero 'strip'. The great staff.
The weak points
The beds. The food choices. Tag-on fee for room safe. Lack of one peso notes. (How can the most used denomination b in such short supply?) And the sidewalks need attention.
Certified

Relaxing Oasis

, Hamilton, ON
2018-02-06
Kind of reluctant to give this review as I am worried it will become too popular and I won't be able to book at such a great price! Third time to Cuba and by far the best food I've had there, especially the chicken wings at the buffet, better than at home! Be sure to go to the lunch buffet on Cuban day, the food is fantastic! Accommodations are basic but get a bungalow so you're close to everything. Can't say enough about the staff and Cuban people, just want to say a personal thank-you to Yordy on the animation staff who was super helpful and always took the time to say Hi and make sure we were enjoying our stay. There are a lot of return guests that are so friendly, there is a real family atmosphere between the guests and the staff as you see a lot of hugging and genuine affection. Went to the Tower restaurant for Lobster dinner, very good and excellent view. My only advice would be to exchange your money at the airport for a better rate and ask them for smaller bills for tipping, front desk rarely had change . All in all a great stay and I will definitely be back!. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds, beach
The weak points
Money exchange
Certified

Terrible

, St Catharines, ON
2018-01-25
we had an all inclusive vacation only to be charged after our second day there for beer and wine. we were charged during the day, and after 1030 at night there was no charge. every time we ordered a beer and wine we had to pay one cuc... we questioned it and was told that is a new rule. not one thing we could do about it. very very disappointed and feel we were taken advantage of. our paper work stated all inclusive, alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks included. so after ten days we paid quite a bit and still tipped out. shame on you jibacoa for taking advantage of honest canadians [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleaning staff and buffet staff very nice. beautiful beach.
The weak points
mold in the rooms and under mattress and bathroom. bar staff always looking for tips, even though we already tipped many times. tip baskets put right in your face from entertainment, or standing at the door, making me feel so obligated.

Loved every minute of it!

, Burford, ON
2017-12-31
This was my first trip to any resort and without a doubt this was the most relaxed I have felt in many years.
My first impression was mixed feelings but after the first couple of hours I got to enjoy the unspoiled beauty of this resort.
I stayed in a bungalow, it was located right in the middle of the resort within a couple of minutes to beach, pool, food or the lobby bar there was also a pool bar.
The grounds and the beach were very well maintained every day. Relax on the beach with a massage for 20 Cuban pesos!
The pool was clean and well maintained.
The food was also good, on the smaller size in the restaurant but the buffet was well stocked with lots of variety. There was regular breakfast, lunch and dinner always had pasta, rice, fish, pork, chicken, and beef, little in the way of salads or fruits, but fantastic breads, soups and deserts. Never had to skip a meal because of the food and never heard of anyone been sick. They also had a snack bar at the pool.
I have read some reviews that the staff was rude and grumpy this was never the case for me. I found the staff to be very pleasant and professional.
The snorkeling was unbelievable and you don't have to travel by boat to do it!
You can also go for an amazing lobster dinner within a 5 minute walk.
Over all very relaxing and low key vacation, this place may not be a good fit for those that want to be on the go all the time but this is the perfect place for relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Enjoy the unspoiled beauty of this resort. Staff very pleasant and professional.
The weak points
Small portions of food at snack bar.

Villas Jibacoa

, Sainte Dorothee, QC
2017-08-06
I chose this hotel because it was close to Havana will not return to Villas Jibacoa beacause the food was the worst I have eaten in Cuba beach was not clean found plastic bottles in water too much coral not suitable for swimming . too many locals and their families took over the place loud and rude. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to Havana, Drive in a classic car to Havana. clean rooms. just ok for snorkelling
The weak points
Worst food I had in Cuba. No service at the buffet . too many locals took over the place. Not the nicest beach in that section of Cuba too much coral . unsuitable for swimming
Certified

Loved it - except the food

, Kingston, ON
2017-05-13
My husband and I recently returned from two weeks at our first 3 star resort in Cuba. We loved everything about it...except the food.

Villas Jibacoa is located about half way between Varadero and Havana, so off the beaten track, but more convenient than Varadero for those who want to visit Havana. Direct transfer from the airport takes about 45 minutes, super fast check-in. Safe in room is extra, payable at hotel.

Everything works - great AC, lots of towels (old but clean), a quiet, working mini fridge stocked with sandwiches, 2 colas and a bottle of rum, and 2 - 1.5 litres of water in room on arrival. No restocking though. Both 110V and 220V outlets with our style plug. Large shower (no tub), lots of hot water, good pressure. good hair dryer. Good idea to take your own TP to the public washrooms - but at least they all had seats. Rooms are a generous size, sparsely furnished, a bit tired, but quite comfortable. Ours had two 3/4 beds. All single story, with nice patios out front. Book into the Bungalows only - the Rooms are in a newer building at the edge of the property and they look more like a barracks than a resort.

Beach is fantastic - lots of shade under trees, lots of chairs, but although new, not very comfortable. Fantastic snorkeling from beach, but you must bring your own gear. Suggest water shoes if not snorkeling. The grounds are lovely and well taken care of. Lots of open grassy areas, flowering shrubs, royal palms, coconut palms and other kinds that were new to me - buildings are well spaced, with no feeling of being on top of your neighbour like many resorts. Always request an even numbered bungalow - most have ocean view (some more view than others).

Lots of birds singing and chirping - sparrows, woodpeckers, grackles, doves, and others we didn't recognize. A few small lizards, crabs, and a few mosquitoes, but not a problem. A few hungry cats and a couple of dogs too. It all felt very natural.

About 45% of guests are from English speaking Canada, 45% from Quebec, and the remainder Germany and Russia. About 60% of total are repeat guests - some have been going for over 20 years and have made great friends with the staff! We met a lovely couple from Ottawa who were there for 5 weeks! Sometimes there were Cuban families with day passes at the pool.

The food - we survived on mostly rice, white bread in many forms, and desserts (bread pudding and rice pudding were excellent). Not too many fruits available, and most meats were rather suspicious. Near the end of our stay we discovered that the soups are quite good. And there are always eggs for breakfast. Can't say we enjoyed our meals (except the specialty restaurant), but didn't go hungry either. For lunch there's a counter by the pool where you can get pizza (very bready), ham & cheese sandwiches, hamburgers, and hot dogs. What's available varies by day and time. It's a guessing game. The cook sometimes brings bananas from her own yard, and makes deep fried chips - add salt and they are amazingly yummy!

Entertainment every night - most nights they bring in local Cuban singers and dancers. We didn't go because neither of us can handle the volume. Bingo and other games by the pool - it can be noisy at times, but not always.

Great massages in a little shack on the beach (not associated with the hotel) for only 10CUC for 25 minutes. Hubby and I each went 4 times!!

If internet access is important, all I can say is good luck. Hotmail is blocked 100%, as well as Gmail business accounts. If you use special characters in your address, good luck figuring out the Spanish keyboard. I had a Telus travel plan, which I know works very well in Varadero, but we were out of range so nothing. Actually it felt quite freeing to be without internet for two full weeks. Just wish I had known before going.

Since our flight left at 10:30 pm, we opted for the VIP lounge (20CUC pp), purchased from our Transat rep. Well worth it. We checked in at the short Option Plus line, were directed to a special no line-up line for immigration, and then cut in the line at security. We were given a ham and cheese sandwich in the lounge, all the drinks we could manage, and a nice washroom. In theory there was free wifi, but I couldn't connect and neither could anyone nearby.

I strongly recommend this resort as long as there is an understanding about the food. For the most part, staff is friendly and helpful (especially the Transat Rep Robertp who is there 6 days a week), and the other guests are welcoming and very helpful too. We didn't do any excursions, but there were lots to choose from. The most popular were renting an old car and driver for the day for about 60CUC (2 - 4 pax), and going where you wanted.

Yes, we will return, better braced to deal with the food. Otherwise we felt it was as good as, and in many ways better than, the 4 and 4.5 stars resorts we have experienced in Cuba (Varadero, Cayo Coco, Cayo Guillermo, Santa Maria), previously. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach! Great snorkeling just a few feet from shore. Lots of well spaced chairs and shade. The grounds also were open and well taken care of.
The weak points
Overall the food was dreadful. There were exceptions, but plan on living on white bread, rice and desserts.
Pro

We didn't want to leave!

, Midland, ON
2017-02-12
The best resort ever! The food was great, the hospitality was amazing, the entire staff made us feel at home. And the beach.... amazing, not crowded like many other resorts. The snorkeling was beyond beautiful! The best that I have ever experienced actually. And just meters off the beach you are seeing a variety of fish species and coral beds. We have found our new home away from home and will return there soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing, kind, considerate and very helpful. The snorkeling was the best I have ever done. No need to travel by boat or bus to reach a reef to snorkel and explore as you have it all just meters from your beach!
The weak points
The upkeep of the beach tide line, too much garbage drifting in and not being cleaned up on a daily basis. This is only at the waters edge though. The beach itself is beautiful!
Certified

Villas Jibacoa

, Saskatoon, SK
2017-02-09
This resort was perfectly suited to ours needs... affordable, all inclusive, good food, lovely beach, quiet and great, friendly staff! One of the best places to snorkel as well! There are lots of different excursions to book if you want to but also lots to do at the resort. There are salsa lessons, pool activities, poolside music, 2 bars, and evening entertainment. Relax on the beach with a massage for 15 Cuban pesos! You can take a catamaran ride and enjoy the sun and the invigorating ocean waves for free ( or a small tip) . I would recommend choosing the beach bungalows ! We had a few days of wind but overall it's a great location. Also, be aware there is no WiFi on the resort and internet time can be purchased at the front desk but it's often difficult to get on. There is no pre check in for your return flight so be sure you get to the airport early as the lines are many and long! Also , the hotel used to be called Tropico. Don't be confused when you go on an excursion. Overall, great resort for the price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Affordable.Great staff. Amazing snorkelling. Quiet, quaint and friendly resort.
The weak points
Beach had lots of plastic that washed up on shore while we were there. Took away from the beauty of the location. No wifi and difficult internet connection.
Certified

Pleasantly surprised!

, Saskatoon, SK
2017-01-27
Pleasantly surprised [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are very friendly & helpful,the beach is amazing, the food was better than expected,
The weak points
Bungalow that we were in was very dated, clean but very faded bedding & old decor. Another weak point for us was the Internet, 1 computer in the lobby & we bought the Internet card but verrrrrrry very slow.
Certified

Very good

, Waterloo, ON
2017-01-23
This is a beautiful resort with everything you look for [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Hidden gem

, Welland, ON
2016-12-17
I would say the reason I booked this at first was the low cost vacation for me and 2 friends but once we were there it was the best vacation ever.
I booked it again for my husband and I 3 weeks later I was there again.
the staff welcomed me back like I was part of the family there and that's they way we were treated on both occasions.
we met a lot of people who are regulars from once a year for a month to four times a year we also met people who have purchased a home not to far away from the resort.
the food wasn't bad it had flavor but was basically the same every day buy we did not starve we have had worse in Cuba.
we booked the villas both times I would recommend them as they are close to every thing and no stairs to climb after a few cervesa...lol...
the only down fall were the mosquitos we wore OFF every day and that didn't seem to help.
cant wait to go back and visit our new friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff the location the beautiful views
The weak points
mosquitos
Certified

Lovely gronds

, London, HA
2016-12-10
This resort is a 3 star property...you will get what any 3 star in cuba offers...food was good but lacked variety. Staff were great..lots of walking...rooms average..they are upgrading areas..good value [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
grounds beach staff snorkeling off beach.
The weak points
variety of food, some rooms need overhaul
Certified

Vliia Jibacoa /Villa Tropica

, Toronto, ON
2016-11-06
I thought the hotel was clean I had no issues with that I was bored there was not a lot to do food was not 24 hour and at 1 of the bar you had to buy the beer (huh All inclusive). the resort is isolated the only buses that pass by were for the workers. would I return NO!
I made to mistake that it was in Veradero but it is 45-1 hour outside
of Matanza
if you want to meditate sure best place.
the staff were really nice the food got better as the week went on(but it is Cuba you don't go for the food )
Made the best of the situation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
our room was nice and clean
The weak points
Location - I found it isolate entertainment -poor
Certified

Bad Bad Bad

, Brampton, ON
2016-08-14
Me and my husband just came back from Cuba yesterday and we still can't believe what happend.we stayed at villa jibacoa for week. Place was buetiful and clean, beach was nice but oh my god everyone had attitude. Nobody wants to serve us. We got there 11pm and the lady at front desk gave us our key to our room and show us a big map and said u r here and your room is here, it took us 15 minutes to find the room.few times at the bar we been told that there is no beer. or they didn't have coffe. Food was so bad we start eating outside in close by resturant. Pool was always dirty full of locals. No intertament at all. Last two days they start the music at the pool area.2 times at the front desk they served the Cuban before us even though we were first in line.we asked the other people who were there and everyone said the same thing .no good service , no good food, dirty pool, no intertament , and too many locals. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great value

, Barrie, ON
2016-04-20
Great three star hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fantastic staff
The weak points
food needs to improve
Certified

Very solid 3 start resort

, Cambridge, ON
2016-04-07
We have been traveling in Cuba for the last 20 years and without a doubt this as to be one of best 3 stars we been at.
My first impression mixed feelings but after the first couple of days i got to enjoy the unspoiled beauty of this resort..
We stayed in a bungalow definitely worth the extra money, it was located right in the middle of the resort within a couple of minutes to beach, pool, food or the lobby bar there was also a pool bar.
The ground and the beach were very well maintained avery day.
The pool could use some upgrade but it was Ok.
The food was also surprisingly good, definitely not a 4 or 5 star on the smaller size but we had your regular breakfast and lunch and dinner always had pasta, rice, pork,chicken, and some forms of beef dish, some salad fantastic breads soups and deserts. Never had to skip a meal because of the food and never heard of anyone been sick. They also had snack at the pool .
I have read some reviews that the staff was rude and grumpy this was never the case for me I found the staff to be very pleasant and professional maybe it is all in the way you treat them.
The snorkeling was unbelievable you have to try it.
Very close to Havana with in a hour, you can also go for a amazing lobster dinner with a free taxi for 15 cp great food.
Over all very relaxing and low key vacation, this place may not be a good fit for. Someone that needs to be on the go all the time but this is the place for relaxation this is the place for us.
Remember no matter where you travel treat others like you like them to treat you.
Happy vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was great the ground were amazing and layout of the resort was great. That barbecue that they put on for lunch once per week is unbelievable
The weak points
Pool can use some upgrade it is getting hold. Also the snack bar the pizza need to be worked on.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020