Starfish Jibacoa

Starfish Jibacoa
3.493.493.493.493.49
3.49 based on 525 reviews
#24 of 70 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (229)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

, Toronto, ON
2024-04-02
"Villa Tropico" is a previous name of the resort.Now a new owner called the resort "Starfish Jibacoa".I read all reviews of "Starfish Jibacoa" before my trip.Now I want to describe a few points,which I did not find in the past.I will not repeat what other guests have told about "Starfish Jibacoa". Also I point out that "pros" and "cons"are
subjective and describe my personal opinion.My "cons" might be "pros" for another person.
Let's start from "CONS": 1). The beach is not perfectly cleaned,although tractor cleans it every morning. 2). Square of sea spot where people can
swim comfortable is small. There are stones,riffs and seaweed. The best spot is in front of the main building and it is approximately 30 x 40 meters. (Beach and sea in Varadero are different. Most of travelers like Varadero much more).). 3). There is a group of travelers,who like to take pictures of deficiencies. I am not part of them. But specially for this type of detail-oriented and extremely picky people I am attaching picture of men washroom in the main building. As usual washroom is "face of any business". I hope that the management will do renovation of public washrooms ASAP. 4). There were no liquid soap,napkins,paper towels in men's washroom in the dining hall. Also air drier did not work. In my country food service establishment would be closed immediately. 5). Food service: There were no fresh juices. We had fruits bananas, papaya ("fruta bomb") and unripe pineapple slices daily . Servers should know English language. 6). Cubanos are very noisy and messy. As usual, they travel as small army (big family),throw out garbage where they sit (on the beach),play music with stereo and do not respect neighbors. As a rule they came on Friday for weekend.
"PROS": 1). Most of people were 55 years old. 2). Quiet,relaxing,slow place. 3). No noisy annoying animators. 4). Far from everything - towns,highways. 5). There were many returning regulars,visiting this resort. I met travelers, who were in the resort 3,5,8,11,22 times ! It reminded me a "Club",where many people know each other. People are very open-minded,friendly and helpful. 80% were Canadians (most from Quebec),20% - from all World. Everybody meet at the "Spirit bar" and talk for many hours. Atmosphere is very relaxing and peaceful. 6). Quality of meals and service is higher than average in Cuba. (I do not care so much,because my priorities are sea,beach and nature environment.
In general,if you are gourmet and is very picky regarding food,do not visit Cuba. You cannot find excellent meals even in 5-star hotels). Someone said that "Starfish" improved service very much,compared to previous owners. 7). Excursions are provided by local travel agency. Trip to Trinidad (town) is $ 320 US for 5 people. Havana day trip for 2 people is $ 100 US. 8). Excellent therapeutic massage. My warm greeting to high qualified masseur Ulenny (see photos). He cured my aching back. My son,a professional masseur,also became his patient and gave excellent references. So,you can relax in the resort have professional treatment. 9). This place is not good for young generation. I would say that this is "Retirement home in Cuba". This is compliment. This might be feature of the resort. A guest has a chance to be close to "Mother -nature" and have a chance to forget about civilization, because the Internet does not work properly! Very well !!! LOL. Relax,enjoy and look at the night sky,instead of your smartphone. Talk to people. Walk alone the sea shore. Take a trail up the hill for beautiful view. Forget about civilization temporarily. No politics. No news. No rush. Enjoy. :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
1).80% of guests were Canadians.2). Quiet and peaceful place.3). Relaxing atmosphere. 4). Far from crowd places and cities,close to nature.5). No animators and noisy entertainments.6). Air conditioners are working very well.7). Hot is always.
The weak points
1). On weekends Cubans come and bring noise,mess,disorder, crowd. 2). Meals are not perfect,as usual in Cuba. 3). Waitresses are not speaking in English more or less. Some waitresses and servers do not speak not at all.4). Washrooms are dirty.

Nice

, Toronto, ON
2024-03-02
Great experience, but a little isolated. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great hotel property and coral reef just off beach.
The weak points
A little isolated.
Certified

Great Week!

, Scarborough, ON
2024-02-12
This location had new pillow top double beds (very comfortable), a fridge, air conditioning, and satellite TV.. There was a large bathroom with plenty of hot water.
Staff was very polite and accomodating..
The food was fantastic! We had lobster, chicken, beef, pork, vegetables, fruits, fresh rolls and bread, and lots of different desserts (including ice cream) .
The beach was great! There were plenty of loungers to get sun tanned and shady areas as well! Also 2 pools with a bar.
The lobby had a great coffee bar (the capachinno was fantastic)!
I will definitely come again! (Internet and WiFi was free!) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures

Starfish jacaboa

, St George , ON
2024-01-30
The people operating and working at the resort were all great and very helpful at all times. location was excellent.
Problem we encountered was the bungalos were not numbered in sequence, were spread all over and hard to locate during the day. at nite it was so dark it was impossible to find some bungalos. we had to get help locating ours as the complex lighting at nite was terrible [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
great people and service. food was actually excellent. restaurant was top notch with lots of choices of almost anything one would want.bungalos were very nice and roomy.
The weak points
as mentoined. poor lighting on the grounds at nite. some of the walkways needed to be rebuilt. very confusing setup trying to find your bungalo. way too much walking for seniors
Certified

Un excellent hôtel pour des vacances reposantes!

, Montréal, QC
2024-01-27
Starfish Jibacoa est un excellent hôtel que je recommanderais à tous ceux qui veulent des vacances bien reposantes. Il a un excellent rapport qualité-prix. C'est placé à mi-chemin entre Varadero et la Havane, donc vous pourrez facilement visiter ces villes. On a fait des réservations avec la réceptionniste pour des excursions en taxi avec un guide touristique. On a visité la Havane, Varadero, Matanzas et ses grottes. On s'est amusés et on a beaucoup appris sur Cuba.

Cet hôtel est en pleine nature, c'est entouré de forêts, de plages naturelles, et de quelques petites fermes. La plage est belle et calme, puis si vous marchez un peu à gauche, il y a une plage avec du sable très fin et blanc.

Il y a des animateurs sur place qui organisent des activités tels que des leçons de salsa et des jeux de société pour quand il pleut. Il y a des spectacles tous les soirs, et parfois il y a de la danse et de la musique cubaine professionnelle.

La nourriture est excellente et il y a beaucoup de choix mais des fois il manquait du café. On n'est jamais tombés malades. Autre que le buffet, il y a un snack bar où le chef cuit fraîchement sur place différents plats tels que la pizza et les bananes plantains frites.

Le point faible de cet hôtel, ce sont les chambres. Elles sont humides donc on ne pouvait pas sécher nos vêtements dans la chambre. Lorsqu'on ouvrait le placard, une odeur de moisissure sortait. Aussi, on a eu des problèmes avec les clés : elles se désactivaient lorsqu'on les mettait sur nos cellulaires. À cause de ça, on a eu de la difficulté à ouvrir la porte de la chambre et le coffre-fort.

Bref, c'est un hôtel de 3.5 étoiles, donc ça ne sera pas parfait, mais ça reste un excellent choix. Les points forts de cet hôtel éclipsent ses points faibles. Je recommanderais à tous de rester ici. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-Nourriture superbe -Belle plage naturelle parfaite pour snorkel -Hôtel bien placé -Travailleurs accueillants -Show à chaque soir -Possibilité de connaître la vraie Cuba et non juste les parties touristiques
The weak points
-Les chambres doivent être renovés il peut y avoir une odeur de moisissure (ou de la moisissure visible) -Problèmes avec les clés pour les chambres et le coffre-fort -Quelques employés ne parlent pas bien anglais ou francais

A gem!

, Saint Catharines, ON
2024-01-06
I have been to this resort 4x and counting! The staff is the best! The beach is great for snorkelling and swimming! Good variety of fresh meats cheeses fruit and veg. The resort is small and intimate you will meet a lot of people some will be friends for life [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, beach
The weak points
Shortages within Cuba

Very disappointed

, Hamilton, ON
2023-06-03
My trip started out great. My friend and I arrived at the resort around dinner time and almost sunset, which was a sight to see. Dinner was absolutely amazing the food was so yummy. The food was well presented and the staff were very accommodating. Our room was very clean and always stocked.

The parts we did not enjoy were as follows:
We went to the bar by the pool after dinner and they had no glasses, so We decided to go to the lobby bar which only had glass glasses so we had to sit there and have our drinks. Thank God we brought our own Bubba's. There were two pools and one side never had water in it which left the only other one crowded. Also the pool was so warm it was like getting into a hot tub which was very uncomfortable.

The one thing that really ruined it for us was finding a decapitated kitten. You could clearly see that it was a straight cut and not done by a dogs teeth. We brought it to the GMs attention and showed him a picture of it to which his response was. "We don't have machetes on this resort so I'm not sure how this happened." As he was saying it there was a worker carrying a machete chopping tree branches down. My friend and I pointed it out but we were dismissed.

We will not be returning due to this fact it was very disturbing. It's very sad that a human could harm an innocent animal in this manner. Thank god no children seeing the bodies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff was amazing, great food, very clean, beautiful beaches
The weak points
Lack of cups, hot pool water, one pool closed, animal welfare

Good resort

, Montréal, QC
2023-04-28
Friendly staff ,good food and drinks,ac ok, internet at lobby, bottom line.Decent vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Villas Jibacoa

, Saint Catharines, ON
2023-03-17
Stayed 6 weeks this time after having a fantastic experience in November! Food has improved, internet in lobby, pool and some room areas. Snorkeling is marvellous right from the beach areas. Staff is fabulous, they remember you and so many hugs when we returned.
Havana is close for day trips as are the local villages. I will be returning again in November. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Fantastic snorkelling. Rooms are great, beds, AC, hot water and the bungalows are spacious with a patio area for sitting. Cleaned to a high standard everyday. Staff is exceptional and always friendly and helpful.
The weak points
Some weekends can get very busy!
Sanitary measures
Public areas cleaned on a regular basis.

Villas Jibacoa Cuba

, Cote Saint Luc, QC
2023-02-28
Resort is 3 stars, so it is what it is. But it's clean, comfortable, and the food was no problem (understanding it's Cuba and they have what they have). Everyone working there is very friendly. Snorkeling is awesome, which also means you have to look for an open area to go swimming as most of the beach is coral and grass. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Snorkeling right off the beach, tons of fish. Friendly staff. Food and drinks plentiful, though selection not always the best (it's Cuba).
The weak points
Facilities are old, toilet paper often missing from toilets in reception/bar/cafeteria areas. Some people complained of ants in their rooms, but got relocated. Our room was quite a walk to the back of the resort, told there were no closer rooms available.
Sanitary measures
most Covid-19 measures were dropped.
Certified

Villa jibacoa

, Russell, ON
2023-02-20
Very pleasant 2 week trip. Room perfect with a very quiet AC. People all very plesent. Janet the hotel cordinator was an angel and so Anne at the front desk and all the employees. Great food unless you are really fussy. Clean beach and pool. Sulina at the lobby bar very nice and so as Micheal. Every staff were all super nice from cleaners waiters and all. For 930$ Canadian for 2 weeks sure would be a 5 plus. Thanks to all the staff and friends I met [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff. Great food. clean. Beach.
The weak points
Nothing to complain. Price fantastic

Villas Jibacoa

, Saint Catharines, ON
2022-12-07
Arrived around 1pm Nov7/22, bungalow was ready. The resort had just opened Nov4/22 after being closed due to Covid. Wifi has been upgraded and can be accessed in the lobby area.
Food was plentiful and always something to eat.
Staff is fantastic! They are what make this resort special, we met so many people and returning visitors.
Snorkeling was breathtaking right from the lobby, no need to hire a boat but you can pay 10 and take the Hobie to the farther reefs.
Tours of Havana and neighbouring towns and villages are easy to get to.
Local restaurants and a souvenir market are just up the road within walking distance.
Bring US $ 1 / Canadian $5, 10, 20's for tipping. If you bring loonies or toonies please change them for dollars when staff ask as they can't exchange the coins.
We will be returning for our third visit in the new year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff, beds comfortable , landscaping and great beach and snorkelling. Easy to get to Havana and surrounding towns. People are friendly and MANY repeat guests that have been coming for years!
The weak points
Power outages in Cuba in general. If Wifi or front desk payments are not working its because the power is out. They won't say this just that there is a problem. :)

Second visit and would do it again

, Toronto, ON
2020-04-26
The staff was wonderful the areas were very clean as was the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was wonderful, price was very affordable.The beach and the snorkeling was amazing
The weak points
villas are looking old could stand some small repairs
Certified

Great vacation

, Moncton, NB
2019-05-07
This was my first time at this resort. It is a small resort, no long walks to get anywhere. Room was clean, lots of hot water. Staff always helpful and kind. Went snorkeling and it was amazing. I will definitely return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice Quiet Small Resort

, Englehart, ON
2019-05-03
We stayed here in January and found it a quiet little resort with very few locals. Not a lot of food to offer in the restaurant by the pool, but the buffet was adequate. Drinks in the lobby were very good. The entertainment at night was not professional but it was a lot of fun. Our bungalow was very nice and cleaned daily. For the first of many trips to Cuba, no towel art. Santa Maria and Cayo Coco have much nicer beaches, but also larger crowds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small hotel with not much walking. Very nice staff. Bungalows are nice and not over run with locals on our stay.
The weak points
Ocean floor is sinking sand and hard to walk. No bath tub.

Nice little resort

, Truro, NS
2019-05-02
Overall nice place just to crowd with locals [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxing not a party resort lots of palapas and loungers nice pool and beach nice staff and beautiful landscaping
The weak points
Beer only at one bar. way to many locals at this hotel with large visiting families it was so loud and crowded at pool it took much of our enjoyment out of this trip
Certified

Relaxing Trip

, New Lowell, ON
2019-04-26
Had a very relaxing stay at this resort. The facilities and grounds are very average ( staying true to a three star resort) and what we expected. The pool area was fantastic, and bungalows were great! The coral reef was amazing. The food was fair (again being in Cuba, this is what we expected). The staff treats you like family, and we always felt safe. This resort is secluded. Not much else around. Not a party resort, very small and intimate, which is exactly what we were looking for. Almost everyone we met, were returning guests. This says alot about a resort. I would absolutely recommend going here. Thanks Jibacoa staff, until next time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bungalows, staff, pool.
The weak points
Lobby, needs a bit of a makeover. Buffet fair, a bit repetitive however very comparable to other Cuban resort buffets.
Certified

Peaceful complex

, Abbotsford, BC
2019-04-18
Wonderful, friendly, peaceful complex with a vast area of lovely landscapes.
Awesome beach with limited palapas, but lots of shade trees as well.
Hotel room is adaquate for the most part. Bungalows are very nice and have great views.
Food is sufficient. Does get a bit repetitious when staying longer than a week.
Staff is awesome. Very helpful with any requests you may have.
Beach is awesome with snorkeling right off the beach, paddleboats, kayaks, and catamaran trips available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, My highlight was the paragliding with Ruberlexi who lands right in front of the hotel.
The weak points
Food is a little lacking. Lots of it but not very exciting. Beds could be better, but ive had worse.

A Gem!

, Dorval, QC
2019-03-11
Don't be fooled by the 3.5 star rating! This place is a Gem! It's a very quiet area about 70 km from Varaderro. There is only one other resort next door. You can leisurely walk out of the resort to walk around and visit the area. There are a few great restaurants near buy and a few gift shops. You can ask at the front desk to book a reservation at the Tower restaurant. They pick you up and bring you back to the resort. The food and entertainment are amazing. You also get a wonderful view of the sunset. Spectacular!!
Villa Jibacoa, also known as Villa Tropico is a great place for a young family or to go as a couple. It's a very peaceful and relaxing resort. The grounds are magnificent and well maintained. The bungalows are extremely clean,very comfy with a small fridge and a large bathroom. The service (maids, bartenders,servers) is excellent! The food was great! The beach is amazing. You can enjoy going on one of their kayaks, paddle boats or go on a catamaran ride( you need to book that early in the morning). You can enjoy snorkeling about 20/25 meters from the shore or you can book a dive lesson for 25 cucs. The resort also offers a guided hike on Mon,Wed or Fri mornings. Worth going! The guide, Joe is very knowledgeable and quite funny! The view from the top is breathtaking.
We did the Jeep safari excursion and really enjoyed it! It took us to Saturne Cave where we went swimming, a boat ride on a river( can't remember the name),visited a private farm where we enjoyed a delicious lunch and then a tour of Matanzas, a beautiful city!
Overall, we had an amazing time and plan on going back again next year! If you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing place, I highly recommend this place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The bungalows are wonderful! Spacious, very clean and comfortable. The grounds are spectacular. The beach is amazing. You can snorkel or go diving. Lots of coral reefs.
The weak points
My only suggestion would be that they purchase more lounge chairs for the beach.
Certified

Second time

, Kingston, ON
2019-02-08
a very nice time but the beach has to be cleaned. food ok for supper. better at breakfast and lunch good. ate at 3 restaurants off the resort and they were very good and prices very good for the portions.pool is great. staff try hard. manager cares. trip to Havana well worth it. bungalow was nice. small and has charm is the way I look at this place. charging for beer in lobby is still going on. all inclusive? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
view. location.
The weak points
charging for Cuban beer. supper. dirty beach

Villas Jibacoa

, Emo, ON
2019-01-12
The snorkeling was excellent and close to shore. The grounds were very well kept but the rooms were not. The pool table in the recreation area was missing pockets. The reception staff were not courteous but all other staff was. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people were very courteous everywhere on the resort except reception.
The weak points
The room had spider webs in corners, walls were dirty and the shower had mould.

Villa Jibacoa

, Montréal, QC
2018-12-26
My son and I went for a little getaway. I would highly recommend this resort to family and friends. The hotel offers many activities so we stayed very busy. The sea was too rough for swimming everyday but the pool worked as an alternative. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were welcoming and friendly Great snorkelling
The weak points
The rooms were a little dated but still comfortable
Certified

Relax

, Ottawa, ON
2018-12-15
The hotel is frequented by a loyal clientele of mostly retired regulars. The exceptions must wonder how they ever got there. The optional trips and excursions are quite expensive, given the low local wages. There are few options and no information on taking local buses. There is bar service 24/7. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
There is no where less expensive. Most of the staff are friendly, even if a lot of them exhibit tendencies of east and west never meeting. Nice reef, you must use the opportunities of calm seas and no jelly fish wisely. Close to La Habana
The weak points
All options are expensive.
Certified

Jibacoa

, Kitchener, ON
2018-11-19
The staff was amazing mostly....good coffee [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most of staff was good. Good coffee, nice beach
The weak points
Crappy entertainment , alot of ants in bathroom. Boring buffet with almost no fruit, all walkways are cracked and broken, ran out of almost all luch food at pool snack spot. No food after dinner except stale buns in the lobby bar. Not even a 3star
Certified

Very nice vacation in a happy atmosphere

, Montréal, QC
2018-04-20
We had a bungalow. Very nice clean spacious place. Good service. Very very gentle happy smiling staff. On the beach. Beautiful water. The overall atmosphere in the resort is special , everybody in a smooth happy mood. Contagious. Good cuban food. Very pleasant vacation. Excursion in la Havane was a plus. A must. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent Place to Stay!!

, Halifax County, NS
2018-03-20
While its not fancy it is certainly serviceable.The mattresses were excellent, the bedding clean and there was maid service every day.The food was good,and the beach was excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff,beautiful resort over-all.More bang for your buck.
The weak points
The rooms a little run down.
Certified

Another Two Weeks in Paradise

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-22
This was our 2nd trip to Villa Jibacoa. We decided to return because... to use the old adage.. 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it'.
This visit was our first tropical two week vacation. We had pretty much perfect weather... 5 minutes of rain ... other than that 27 to 29 degrees roughly.
We had concerns of the effects of Irma on the resort... but there was minimal visible damage... in fact... many improvements.
A new massage room next to reception bldg. where I had THE best one hour massage of my life for 20cucs.
The reef did take a hit from Irma. .. with broken chunks of reef strewn all over a hitherto sandy entrance to the sea..... they need to clear a path like there was last year in a nice straight line from reception doors to the reef. The rocks already have thick new growth of various plants but they do look enemic.
As for the reef itself. .. the same but different!
New young corals growing.. old ones healing.. and coolest if all, many new species of fish from last year. Our cameras were on overload.
We were so relieved! It's still got that magic.
The rooms were basically unchanged. The food was a wee bit better.... a new chef I believe. Still working on a tight food budget though, so don't get your hopes up too much.
The staff are a bunch of really sweet folks you want to get to know. (with an exception or two) The grounds still amaze me... beautiful but not overdone. The lush mountains that rise as the resorts background are still a sight.
We went off resort four times... twice to our fave restaurant. .. the Tower (you can't die without visiting this place)... once up the road by horse n carriage to Mario's for a tasty lobster supper.... and once to Varadero for a day of shopping the markets and soaking in a busier Cuba. (75cucs for an insured cabby for 8 hours... a nice deal)
Overall. ... still my favorite vacation spot... and am I going back next winter for a third helping? You bet! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The reef's. The resorts layout. The beauty. The relative isolation vs Varadero 'strip'. The great staff.
The weak points
The beds. The food choices. Tag-on fee for room safe. Lack of one peso notes. (How can the most used denomination b in such short supply?) And the sidewalks need attention.
Certified

Relaxing Oasis

, Hamilton, ON
2018-02-06
Kind of reluctant to give this review as I am worried it will become too popular and I won't be able to book at such a great price! Third time to Cuba and by far the best food I've had there, especially the chicken wings at the buffet, better than at home! Be sure to go to the lunch buffet on Cuban day, the food is fantastic! Accommodations are basic but get a bungalow so you're close to everything. Can't say enough about the staff and Cuban people, just want to say a personal thank-you to Yordy on the animation staff who was super helpful and always took the time to say Hi and make sure we were enjoying our stay. There are a lot of return guests that are so friendly, there is a real family atmosphere between the guests and the staff as you see a lot of hugging and genuine affection. Went to the Tower restaurant for Lobster dinner, very good and excellent view. My only advice would be to exchange your money at the airport for a better rate and ask them for smaller bills for tipping, front desk rarely had change . All in all a great stay and I will definitely be back!. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, grounds, beach
The weak points
Money exchange
Certified

Terrible

, St Catharines, ON
2018-01-25
we had an all inclusive vacation only to be charged after our second day there for beer and wine. we were charged during the day, and after 1030 at night there was no charge. every time we ordered a beer and wine we had to pay one cuc... we questioned it and was told that is a new rule. not one thing we could do about it. very very disappointed and feel we were taken advantage of. our paper work stated all inclusive, alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks included. so after ten days we paid quite a bit and still tipped out. shame on you jibacoa for taking advantage of honest canadians [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
cleaning staff and buffet staff very nice. beautiful beach.
The weak points
mold in the rooms and under mattress and bathroom. bar staff always looking for tips, even though we already tipped many times. tip baskets put right in your face from entertainment, or standing at the door, making me feel so obligated.

Loved every minute of it!

, Burford, ON
2017-12-31
This was my first trip to any resort and without a doubt this was the most relaxed I have felt in many years.
My first impression was mixed feelings but after the first couple of hours I got to enjoy the unspoiled beauty of this resort.
I stayed in a bungalow, it was located right in the middle of the resort within a couple of minutes to beach, pool, food or the lobby bar there was also a pool bar.
The grounds and the beach were very well maintained every day. Relax on the beach with a massage for 20 Cuban pesos!
The pool was clean and well maintained.
The food was also good, on the smaller size in the restaurant but the buffet was well stocked with lots of variety. There was regular breakfast, lunch and dinner always had pasta, rice, fish, pork, chicken, and beef, little in the way of salads or fruits, but fantastic breads, soups and deserts. Never had to skip a meal because of the food and never heard of anyone been sick. They also had a snack bar at the pool.
I have read some reviews that the staff was rude and grumpy this was never the case for me. I found the staff to be very pleasant and professional.
The snorkeling was unbelievable and you don't have to travel by boat to do it!
You can also go for an amazing lobster dinner within a 5 minute walk.
Over all very relaxing and low key vacation, this place may not be a good fit for those that want to be on the go all the time but this is the perfect place for relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Enjoy the unspoiled beauty of this resort. Staff very pleasant and professional.
The weak points
Small portions of food at snack bar.

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024