Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero

Sanctuary At Grand Memories Varadero
4.074.074.074.074.07
4.07 based on 227 reviews
#4 of 65 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Varadero
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (93)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Just ok

, Corunna, ON
2020-02-15
Hotel is ok, lots of walking to get places to eat and shows which is ok I guess,
towels got smaller and fewer each day,
food well it's Cuba first off so just ok, lines for pasta every night over 20 minutes at least,
bathrooms in lobby smelled horrible never had paper towels as ex and that's all week, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good view from room to pool?
The weak points
see above
Certified

Dream Vacation

, Peterborough, ON
2020-01-07
My husband and I went to Sanctuary at Grand Memories for our honeymoon. I can not say enough good things about this resort. The staff was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent and the resort was absolutely beautiful. I was pampered and cared for the entire week. I was very sad to go and when I visit Cuba again, I will definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People had warned me that the food in Cuba is not good. I was so pleasantly surprised that every meal I had at Grand Memories was excellent. There was a good variety of restaurants and the service was excellent.
The weak points
I found the staff inconsistent sometimes. Our butler (Renier) was amazing....so helpful. Other butlers were not as helpful. Some of the restaurant wait staff were friendly (Thalia and Roxanna to name a few) and others were not as friendly.
Certified

Sanctuary is the way to go

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-30
First impression when we got to the Gran Memories lobby wasn't good. Too many people around, from kids running around to drunk dudes to a bunch of people with tons of bags waiting for their transfers. When we heard the Sanctuary had a separate reception, things started to get better. The adults only session was incredible. Private pool, private session of the beach, our own bar and restaurant. The rooms were clean well maintained despite the antique style. Food was delicious and well prepared, staff was super friendly and helpful. We also found that guests at the Sanctuary had a better wi-fi rate than the main hotel and we also got 30% off of any bookings in the SPA. If I ever go back to Cuba, I'll certainly stay at the Sanctuary again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, privacy
The weak points
Paid wi-fi that works on main areas only
Certified

DISSAPPOINTED

, Hamilton, ON
2019-12-16
Its Cuba! The reviews dont match my visit!! This was supposed to be the #1 rated hotel in Varadero! NOT SO. All week told maybe we have tomorrow, No Sparkling wine every night, no orange juice and yet saw a guy have a whole jug to himself ! Ask when the foam party was, dont know! My Mom had beer taken out of her fridge, all bathrooms out of toilet paper at night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Italian night was really good, birthday celebration for me was really nice, lobster was good however the second night 3 of us ordered and only two got it and third sorry we are out of them now! Ocean beach was great except for long path in thick bush.
The weak points
Out of alot of stuff, no coffee liquor, lobby bar no toilet paper most of the time, one night no vodka at main lobby bar, fishy smell on water glasses at breakfast, big cockroach on blender at bar, 45 min.wait for fries at snackbar,50 bites/leg gross!
Certified

Sanctuary at Grand Memories

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-02
We enjoyed our stay at Sanctuary.Nice and quiet for adults.Helpful staff.Close to beach and restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Santuary

, Brighton, HA
2019-10-17
Overall excellent.Only annoying thing was arriving at gourmet and Italian restaraunt 10 minutes early and told to stay outside until exact time on reservation even though restaraunt was empty,Really annoying and then told most of menue unavalable.staff at both places where not happy to be there.I tried the filet of steak twice and it was nasty,i felt like i should get in the kitchen and teach them how to cook meat.However i would Highly recommend the sanctuary for Value and rest of staff , Mario the butler in block 131 was brilliant . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Disappointed Holiday

, Toronto, ON
2019-09-17
The hotel requires a huge renovation. Customer service was beyond rude and uncaring.
One person to check 40 people -- the time it took to check in was uncalled for. This should have been a hint as to what the rest of the week was going to be like.
The shower head was broken, water was releasing on the floor --it was very scarey to walk on and feared that I would slip and hurt myself badly. I went to the front desk to let them know so that they could send someone to fix it for me and they just shrugged their shoulder and told me it is what it is.
food was disgusting, fear of getting food poisoning. I was very hesitant to eat anything. Why is the food so bad and you are doing nothing about -like schooling or training the chefs you get enough tourist.
Towels was another issue-not enough [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was great
The weak points
EVERYTHING -food -buffet-disgusting -could not even make a sandwich--not enough variety --a la carte the same. room -broken shower -wild dogs around the beach and bugging the tourist for food-, customer service -no one really cared
Certified

Grand Memories Sanctuary

, Paris, ON
2019-08-01
The location of the hotel was great, the beach was gorgeous. The food and drinks were very much below standard. Basically everything I ate was “white” in color. Mostly bread, rice, over cooked lobster. No choice of salad. Very little options for good beach drinks.

Was getting a lot of insect bites on the top of my legs. I had to spray Off ever night before I went to bed.

I think the staff tries very hard but management should put some money back into the resort. Spend some more time cleaning, perhaps they need to look up sometimes in the buildings. Sat beside a post in one restaurant and the ants were all over it, okay I can ignore this but when the waitress brought over the buns the ants were crawl all over the buns.

I will not be returning I feel this resort needs to some TLC. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Bad service

, Vancouver, BC
2019-06-02
Overall, I was not very happy during this trip. Last year I stayed at this resort and service was good. That's why I come back this year. This time, there were many staffs at the resort. However, they just like to talk to each other in their language. It's very rude when I tried to order a drink at the snack bar and the staff just rolled her eyes and ignored me and continued to chat with her associate. That was a very bad experience for me. There was no service at the pool or the beach. You have to go get drinks yourself. On the good side, the food was very good. There was lobster for 3 nights which is great. Entertainment was good.
I do not recommend this resort due to bad attitude from most staffs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The manager "Karl" at the Sanctuary Restaurant has exceptional good customer service. Staffs should take lessons from him to learn how to provide good customer service.
The weak points
Most of the staffs are not very friendly and helpful. At the pool, no service at all. I have to go get drink by myself. The attitude of the staffs at the snack bar at Grand Memories side was horrible. I will not go back due to poor service.
Certified

Great Stay!! Will be back.

, Dieppe, NB
2019-05-08
We had a great stay at the hotel. We will definitely consider returinign in the future. The best all around resort we've been to in Cuba. The staff were all amazing. We were in Building 32 and Abel the butler was fantastic! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Great Beach - Premium Drinks such as scotch's and Liquor was as good as Canada. -Service was excellent all around -Food was exceptional -Resort was very well organized -Live music most nights at both Santurary and Dream Memories
The weak points
- Shower in the room was leaking onto the flooe --That being said - we were able to use the other shower in the bathtub.
Certified

Family Reunion at Sanctuary Grand Memories

, Kamloops, BC
2019-04-17
We were a total of five couples from across Canada that arranged to meet for a week in Cuba. We chose Sanctuary at Grand Memories Varadero as it is Adults Only. The facilities are very nice and the staff were friendly and helpful. The approximately eight buildings that comprise ‘Sanctuary' are arrange around a central pool with an adjacent restaurant/lounge/snack shack building. It was all very convenient and about a three minute walk to the beach.
My wife and I chose a premium suite that had a separate living room that worked out well as we hosted a family ‘happy hour' before our group would head off to dinner each evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, well laid out, close to beach, 24hr lounge that serves coffee and spirits. Rooms were nicely laid out and beds were reasonable comfortable (firm mattresses). Karl, the restaurant manager was terrific, as was Renier, our ‘butler'.
The weak points
Inconsistent food quality at time (not unusual in Cuba). People would ‘reserve' chairs around the pool (with their towels) but not show up to use them until late afternoon (we ended up just sitting in the chairs until the people showed up to claim them).
Certified

Low Expectations - Lower Reality

, Ottawa, ON
2019-03-06
To start, I will note that our travel group are really easy going and we are not complainers. We kept an open mind knowing about Cuba. Some of us had already been there (my husband and I 8 years ago).

We are a group of five couples who have traveled together many times over the years. As a whole, we knew going to Cuba would be less than what we are used to. We traveled there from February 16 to 23, 2019. Our flight was delayed a little over an hour so we did not arrive at the Grand Memories until about 12:30 am on the 17th. It was extremely quick getting us to the reception at the Sanctuary. We were given our room keys and off we went. We all met at the Sanctuary bar which has a really nice atmosphere and great staff.

FOOD:
The Sanctuary A La Carte: Well we went to this restaurant for breakfast our first morning around 8:30 am and ordered an omelet, bacon and home fries. They had no home fries which wasn't that big a deal however you had to make your own toast which is quite inconvenient because you don't know when your actual breakfast will arrive. Well that wasn't an issue anyway as they had no bread and did not refill while we were there. This was pretty well everyday for the bread. My husband ordered just bacon as he would have bacon on a bun. What arrived on his plate as well as mine was a “bacon ball”. It was deep fried bacon, crisp on the outside and completely raw on the inside. Actually disgusting. For lunch the same day we went to the snack bar by the Sanctuary pool. I had calamari and fries. We ate dinner there most nights and some from our group also ate lunch. The menu changes everyday however what is offered for lunch is the same as dinner, no change. I did go there for lunch one day and ordered the fish fillet noted on the menu and was brought a tuna steak. These are two very distinct items. I cannot stand tuna and would never had ordered it. I then ordered the chicken breast that the others at my table ordered and said was okay. What I received was very fatty and overcooked chicken thighs. My preference is dark meat back home but this is not a breast nor was it very good.
Sanctuary Snack Bar: Calamari was okay, certainly nothing like some reviewers have noted it being the best. Not sure where they have had calamari before but it was overdone yet still tasty and you can't really mess up fries – can you!
Grand Memories Buffet: Our whole group went to the buffet for dinner our first evening and it was nothing to write home about. It satisfied our appetites somewhat however we never returned there other than breakfast one other morning.
Criollo A La Carte: For starters, the location noted on the resort map is not even close to where this is actually located so we were left scrambling and trying to find someone to direct us. Worst service and food!!! We went as a group of ten with separate tables, a table for 2 and 2 tables for 4. We asked if they could put us together and they very rudely stated no. We were okay with not being seated together, it's not that big a deal but no need to be rude about it. My table of 4 waited almost half an hour before we flagged someone down to at least give us water. We then had to flag someone down again to get our drinks ordered and menus provided. We finally ordered and it was the worst meal. Our friends at another table waited almost 2 hours and when they finally received their food walked out – completely terrible. Oh and when they provided my table with dinner rolls, my husband flipped his over and it was moldy. That was the Wednesday of our trip and some of our group had already started to have tummy issues.
On our last night there 4 of us went to the Gourmet restaurant, however I was quite ill by then so it was wasted on me as once I smelled the food I literally ran out to the washroom. The others said their beef tenderloin was tasty and they were happy with it. The staff though were quite friendly and our waitress, upon seeing my Pandora bracelets, showed me charms she makes. I did not buy any off her but instead gave her 2 of my Pandora charms. Her reaction was very nice and I was happy to see her so happy. I do have to note though that we saw two cockroaches skitter along the floor of the restaurant and I know they can be common but it's still disturbing and disgusting

BEACH:
I could never imagine anyone ever complaining about the beaches in Cuba. Absolutely stunning. As part of the Sanctuary you have waiter/waitress service on the beach. A huge shout out to Natali who was very attentive and always with a smile on her face. She works very hard so tip her when you see her. The beach and ocean were absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed it fully. We would always leave the beach around 3:30 to head up to the pool which is very nice and chat up other travelers. We would also do the Zumba at 4 which was so enjoyable.

STAFF:
The only complaint I would have about the staff was our butler, (Building 32) who did not even make an effort to find us until our 5th day in. Of course she was hanging around our room the last day, I'm guessing looking for a tip. Was not going to happen as she did nothing for us. Our maid, forgot her name, kept our room very clean and our fridge full. The staff in the Sanctuary Lobby Bar are amazing and never seem to go home. Get your morning coffee there, so yummy. The staff at the reception area are so inconsistent I gave up asking for anything. We only had the one chair on our balcony the entire week there. We requested, 3 times that an additional chair be brought to our room. Never got one. However, after checking out, as we were sitting outside we saw them put a second chair on the balcony for their returning guests. Thanks!!!
ROOMS:
Rooms are very dated and really not that nice. Our bedspread was torn in spots and had stains. The shower had definitely seen better days. On a positive note, there was never an issue with hot water. We always had it, did not matter the time of day which is quite nice. Our room overlooked the Sanctuary pool so that was nice.
FACILITIES:
Well you were lucky if there was toilet paper most days. Pretty well had to make sure to always have Kleenex with you and forget about drying your hands as the dryers never worked and they never replenish the hand towels. You were lucky if they actually cleaned them.
HAVANA:
If you have the chance to do this day trip, I highly recommend. Havana is quite stunning and the history itself is amazing. One of the highlights of the trip.
OVERALL:
We are very diligent in what we eat and drink and up until mid week all seemed good. A few of our group had tummy issues and ended up staying in their rooms which is unfortunate. By Tuesday one of our group had severe dehydration, diarrhea, vomiting, etc. By Thursday I was so ill I stayed in my room. We left on Saturday and by then I had a high grade fever, diarrhea, nausea, severe stomach pains, etc. By the time we got to the airport I was sick like I have never been in my life and I'm 53 years old. I was actually afraid that they would not allow me on my flight. Once home, I went to see my doctor on the Monday and had cultures taken and received my results yesterday that I have salmonella poisoning as well as not 1 but 3 different parasites. I have been home now for over a week and this Thursday will be 2 weeks since I fell ill at the resort. I am now on my 4th round of antibiotics and still sick although no fever anymore.
Would I recommend the Sanctuary at Grand Memories – NEVER. Will I ever go back to Cuba – Unfortunately I will not mainly due to these issues but there are also so many other beautiful places to see and I believe much safer as far as food goes.

I contacted the resort and they literally blew me off saying they take every precaution necessary to ensure food preparedness and safety. Sorry I don't buy it when I got sick there and continue to suffer.
On a last note – when planning our winter getaway, we are diligent in reading Trip Advisor reviews and doing our homework. Based on reviews of this resort on Trip Advisor we decided on The Sanctuary at Grand Memories. In speaking with other guests they noted they do the same however most we spoke to said they will never go back there and had nothing good to say about the food and that most at one point were very ill as well.
This comment is directed at the Management of Sanctuary - you need to have better practices in place for food storage, preparation, cooking, etc. There is no other way that any in our group, including myself, got salmonella poisoning as well as parasites from any other source than Sanctuary at Grand Memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are so friendly.
The weak points
Food - the food was obviously not property prepped or cooked.

Grand Memories Sanctuary Varadero, Cuba.

, Coldbrook, NS
2019-02-24
All & all a very nice resort. Will likely go there again. The cleanest resort we were ever to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Sanctuary a la carte meals were excellent.Beach and pool was very nice and clean. Restaurants and bars were excellent, for the most part.The cleanest resort we were ever to.
The weak points
The Italian a la carte, meat was not cooked. The main buffet restaurant, uncooked bacon and some of the meats not cooked enough. The beach barbecue meats were not cooked enough, the uncooked meats were in contact with the cooked meats and fish.
Certified

It's all good!

, Markham, ON
2018-12-18
We did not have high expectations of the food in Cuba but WOW. We were blown away.
The food in the specialty restaurants were awesome.
Service from all staff were all friendly. The resort well kept. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room clean, maid service is good, butler service was good. Buffet omelettes, grilled foods were good.
The weak points
Room's wall, furniture were tattered and Dated. It has seem better days. Hot water only on the sunny days. Buffet was ok, if you like runny scrambled eggs for breakfast.
Certified

50th Birthday

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-12-17
We were at the Memory Sanctuary we loved it. The brazilian coffee is amazing. All the staff are the best. I celebrated my 50th Birthday was my husband and they treated me like a queen. My room was all decorated. My husband wanted roses for my birthday and my butler went to Varadero and picked them up for me. Great service. The food was great. Calamari, lobster. Breakfast we went to the buffet I love my omelette. No complaints would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Birthday Getaway

, Summerstown, ON
2018-12-02
This was our third time @ this resort but first time @ the Sancutuary section.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good food, lots of ala cartes to choice from.. Michael Jackson show is Awesome. Well done..
The weak points
Checking in @ Sanctuary is extremely slow..had to wait long time..other people were exchanging money & held up the time for us to check in.. Also shower , the water doesn't go away well & whole room flooded..so much so, my wife fell...
Certified

Mixed at best

, Falkland, BC
2018-11-25
Hopefully you are lucky enough to arrive during daylight as this resort is quite large and not particularly well mapped or laid out. The buildings, rooms and pools were good, not great but good. As always food is a challenge in Cuba and outside of good bread, cheeses and the odd meal it's quite interesting what is available and not available at this resort. Fruit was mostly canned and fresh was very poor quality and condition. Specialty coffees and liquors were good and I'll give them that for not watering it down but bartenders need more training to adhere to their own menus. Unlike most Mexican resorts the staff are not the happiest bunch, we had many occasions over our two week stay that we got eye rolls or completely ignored and overheard many arguments and gripes among staff.

We are well traveled and have had better and worse experiences over the last twenty or so years, in our experience we paid too much to receive too little. We spent a lot of money on this trip, excursions and tips but the hands were always out for more. We don't mind tipping at all for good service, just don't expect it without making an effort.

As far as the "adults only" section(Sanctuary) I'm not sure it was worth the extra, the lounge area was a nice retreat but the restaurant was definitely mediocre at any meal. Always out of something on the menu. The supposed "butlers" were really just glorified bell hops that we rarely seen. Wifi is listed as an inclusion in some areas but in fact it's pay per use in all areas, cheap enough and decent connectivity.

We visited Cuba about 6 years ago with similar experiences at another high star resort, I was hoping things would have improved but sadly it seems not. At this point we consider this our last trip to Cuba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, accomodations, pool, lounge bar, gourmet restaurant
The weak points
Service, cleaning of rooms and tables, value for money
Certified

Excellent resort with friendly staff and good serv

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-24
Stayed from sept 7-14 bldg 33204
Deluxe junior suite was spacious, Clean rooms, good AC and beds
Maid was great with lovely displays on the beds .
Food is good at Sanct rest, Ave Del Pariso , A la carte for all 3 meals ,mini buffet for breakfast
menu changes every day for lunch and dinner, they also have lobster on the menu
waitress Tayme , Roxanne, Yessica, Yuralys Mariam and Chef Marie all the others cant remember names all very good , service with a smile.
Pool snack bar was very good for sandwhiches, burgers and calamari .
Rest by beach A la carte The Rancheon has good Cuban food for lunch
Gourmet restaurant is very good too for lobster.
Main buffet at the Grand Memories has a good variety as well specially on Fri “Cuban Day”
Karl and Gloria very good managers they are truly engaged with everyone .
Lounge bar, pool and beach bar has great drinks .
Pool was very good and clean , have entertainment from 3 to 4:30 p.m . free massage as well
Beach was very good , plenty of shade no need to reserve chairs .Free water sports too.
Entertainment in the lounge bar live bands and more entertainment at the Grand memories . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service , good food and great beach
The weak points
more salt in food sometimes , grilled items specially chicken are usually overdone , flies sometimes at breakfast buffet
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Montréal, QC
2018-09-07
This was my first stay at the Sanctuary, and it was simply perfect. The hotel is beautiful and very well maintained, the rooms are clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The service and staff was excellent, the staff is friendly and very helpful. I will be returning to this hotel, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service Staff Rooms Clean Food is great
Certified

Great vacation

, Toronto, ON
2018-07-20
Met all our expectations, especially the Sanctuary a la carte restaurant and Lobby bar service and entertainment! The food and service there were super! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sanctuary a la carte restaurant. Asian a la carte restaurant. Room cleaners very good. Beach was very nice. Service at the pool very good. Drink quality at the Sanctuary Lobby Bar was the best out of whole resort.
The weak points
Room service options were very limited. The Gourmet a la carte restaurant in Grand Memories area was horribly hot...could barely stay long enough to eat our meal.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Etobicoke, ON
2018-06-16
A little late with this review, but better late than never. My husband and I were at this resort last Dec. This is an adults only resort, which is part of a bigger resort.
The beach was great and lots of palapias. Butler service was hit and miss. Our main butler we never saw, even asked him for a wake up call the morning we were leaving and no wake up call. Good thing woke up on our own.
The food was delicious. Could have lobster every day if wanted. We went to the buffet in the larger resort one evening but was way too busy for us, so we stayed in our own part for the remainder.
The staff.....some staff were amazing, and some staff were like we were bothering them.
Overall a nice resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food for me was delicious. Also the beach was wonderful.

Awesome resort

, Gatineau, QC
2018-03-21
Almost perfect. This was our first time at an adult only resort as well as first time with butler services. Nothing bad to say about this resort. Our major dome (butler) Jorge provided us with outstanding services. His services were neither cumbersome nor indiscreet but well balance. He took care of all of our restaurant reservations along with our special demand. Thank you very much Jorge for your outstanding service. We were upgraded to a suite with a breathtaking view on the ocean. We could not see the beach because of the wooded area nearby. But the view to the ocean was fantastic with sunrise and sunset every day. This upgrade was provided to us by Maria Isabel Perez Garcia, sales executive at Grand Memories. Thank you very much Maria Isabel for this wonderful room. We really enjoyed it and appreciated your service prior to our arrival. Many of the staff speaks very well French and English which facilitated conversation. The entertainment staff were promoting upcoming event at the pool and on the beach in French and English. They were excellent during their show. The staff at the snack bar was outstanding and always joyful with a great sense of humor. The service at the restaurants was always with a smile and very professional. Guest at the Sanctuary have full access to the Grand Memories. If you never experienced an adult only resort, this is a great place to start your new experience. Without a doubt, I highly recommend the Sanctuary at Grand Memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly staff and crew, food outstanding, very clean resort, very quiet, everything is 2 minutes walking distance, major dome (butler) services outstanding, new bar at the beach pathway, beach for adult only section and full access Grand Memories.
The weak points
No mattress cover is use, the spa at the pool did not work and the food at the Ginseng restaurant appears to be heated and not freshly cooked on site.
Pro

Great trip

, Halifax, NS
2018-03-19
Lovely resort with exceptionally friendly staff. Rooms were clean and beds were very comfortable. Sanctuary was a great choice for our group of 5 women as were travelling with no kids. Meals were varied and very good! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were exceptional. Beautiful beach. Very clean. Great bands and dancing.
The weak points
Shower was not always hot. Too many straws (even in coffee). Tipping added much more to the cost than expected after a week.
Certified

Sanctuary indeed!

, Toronto, ON
2018-02-09
I took my parents to Sanctuary Grand Memories at the beginning of February. We had a wonderful week. The staff is absolutely amazing! We were greeted as if we were royalty. Our a la cartes had been pre reserved for our first night until we could book the rest of the nights. We booked the Sanctuary section and were pleased to find out butler service was included in our package. Our butlers (concierge) were always around asking if we needed absolutely anything from Kleenex to excursions.
We absolutely loved our time there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff, absolutely incredible! Having the 7 nights of a la carte was a huge relief. However, we did enjoy the buffet one night. Paying the extra to be in the Sanctuary section of Memories was worth every penny.
The weak points
Not very much information on the included water sports (catamaran etc...).
Certified

Great vacation

, Arnprior , ON
2018-01-22
Enjoyed this resort, great food, beautiful beach and grounds, the staff were very friendly. Rooms were large and clean maybe a bit dated but suitable for the time you spend in your room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pools, food and service top notch.
The weak points
Wifi very poor
Certified

Sanctuary at Grand Memories

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-22
We stayed at the Sanctuary but we used both sides of the resort at the Sanctuary and Grand Memories. We would absolutely return but only to stay at the Sanctuary because we preferred the food. The food at the Buffet and Chinese Restaurant was undesirable. The beach was spectacular. Overall resort was extremely clean and grounds emacculent. All of the staff at the Sanctuary were exceptional and in particular our Butler Ruben was extremely helpful and answered all of our questions. Wifi access was only available in the Lobby which was very inconvenient and should be available in all rooms. Fresh fruit was rarely ripe enough to enjoy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant at the Sanctuary offers the best tasting food throughout the entire resort. The staff throughout the resort on both sides were amazing. Entertainment at Sanctuary was very nice with live music.
The weak points
Food at buffet was undesirable. Line up at pasta bar at the buffet was unacceptable with only 1 chef should have had 2 chefs. Evening snack bar should have more variety. There should be a couple of BBQ stations and Bars located right on the beach.
Certified

Our first visit to Cuba

, Toronto, ON
2017-09-08
We had a wonderful week at the Sanctuary. The beach was truly beautiful and we made the most of the pool and other facilities. The one negative thing at the pool were people smoking in the pool and I'm not sure why they don't have designated smoking areas. The food is average but they are really trying their best with what they have access to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and the beach
The weak points
Smoking in the pool.
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Moncton, NB
2017-04-16
We had a wonderful vacation at Sanctuary at Grand Memories. Our butler Rhuban and Gretchen were very attentive to us. Orlando our representative from Sunwing was extremaly helpfull. Our maid Klency at building 31 room 304 with pool view was very nice. Surprised us every day with a special touch. Building 31 is 2 minutes walking distance to beach, 1 minute to pool. The building 34 and 35 is the closest to the beach. Because of the green space, this resort don't have any ocean view. The food was great. The Gourmet restaurant was the best. The beach was great. I would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Sanctuary staff was extremaly attentive to our needs
The weak points
One restaurant needed a bit of organization
Certified

Our first trip to Cuba

, Mount Albion, PE
2017-04-14
Excellent experience at Sanctuary at Grand Memories [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful experience, staff were very attentive, food was good to really, really good, grounds and beach superb, very nice room.
The weak points
Signage,e.g one restaurant was moved but no new sign. Small things in the room, e.g bulb burned out and not replaced, fan in commode not working, but not really a problem.
Certified

Great Resort

, New Maryland, NB
2017-03-26
We were not sure what to expect after reading some of the comments. The Sanctuary was close to the beach and pool, no matter where you were located. The Deluxe Suites are well worth the money. The a la carte restaurants were all good. I would recommend the Sanctuary for adultes only. The beach was also great, as the Sanctuary has it's own section of beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Sanctuary itself and the staff!!
The weak points
Had to go home..
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020