Riu Caribe

Riu Caribe
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 155 reviews
#36 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (33)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

RIU Caribe

, Kanata, ON
2020-03-25
Over all resort was great. Standard rooms are okay but 2 double beds is tough with 4 people in your room. The standard rooms have balconies but not big enough to enjoy without hitting your knees on the wall. Expensive to be upgraded so we could have a bigger balcony. We requested to be beside our family members but were told we couldn't. Great size for smaller kids. Riu Land was good for the kids. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very friendly. Clean, food was very good. Smaller resort so easy to get around.
The weak points
Having only 2 double beds was tough. They advertised that our room had a balcony. There wasn't room on the balcony to sit without your knees touching the wall. We upgraded but paid quite a bit for the same room but a bigger balcony.
Certified

Overall it was great!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-29
We had a nice time at the Riu Caribe in Cancun. The beach was beautiful , pools were nice and the grounds were clean and well kept. I find that most staff was very helpful and attended to any needs. There were a few people who were miserable and hated life , but I was on vacation and chose not to let that spoil my time.
The beach was honestly where I spent the majority of the day, and was so surprised on how calm it was even on the days where it was windy and cloudy.

The food wasn't great , but there was a wide selection so I found something.

Pizza bar by pool was good.

The fish was always fresh and probably the best thing in the buffet.

They had a lot going on during the days, different games on beach or in pool , however after 11 pm there wasn't much going on at resort.

The Cancun night life was a 5 min bus ride and was amazing. The bus was safe and I highly recommend taking it in. The service was frequent every 5 min or sooner.

Over all it was a great time!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Games in the beach Close to night life Close to excursions
The weak points
Food
Certified

Nice hotel

, Montréal, QC
2018-07-31
hotel was very clean, good food, nice staff, good service.
beach was full of seaweed & too much noise&smell from gas from seadoos nearby coming too close to swimmers in ocean.
service at reception is slow. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean, good buffets, nice staff,
The weak points
seaweed in & along ocean, noisy & smell from gas from seadoos in water too close to beach.
Certified

RUINED MY WEDDING

, Edmonton, AB
2018-05-17
THEY RUINED MY WEDDING and refuse to respond to me about it.... DO NOT BOOK A WEDDING HERE. Long review, but I would like to help others avoid what I went through...

Wedding day: Due to my being put in a small room (when I was promised a free upgrade for bringing 52 guests) – one of my guests got upgraded to a big room at no extra charge – so we had to get ready in her room. Getting ready we had an awesome view of the beach and all my decorations being set up. My wedding was at 4, and everything was set up by 2... around 2:30 all of a sudden workers from the hotel start tearing everything down... all my chairs and decorations were gone... we are all wondering what is going on, as no one had said anything to me and then I get a phone call from Estefania. She states that there is a 60% chance of rain so they have now set up in the main restaurant. I tell her it's sunny and beautiful out and everyday has shown rain but we haven't gotten any yet... she said it's hotel policy if there is a chance of rain it has to be moved. We begged her, She said absolutely not, but they would “do me a favour and leave my huppa up, incase it's nice so I can take pictures after the ceremony.” I was getting upset, so my mom talked to her and let her know we're still doing it on the beach and to please bring the chairs and decorations back.

10 mins later she comes to the door and states because I signed the waiver that I do not get a choice if it's bad weather. We told her we understood if it was raining, but it wasn't. We asked if we could wait an hour until 4, and then move it if need be... she agreed to this and left the room.

10 mins later we look and they've taken all the flowers and everything off the huppa. She sends her manager up who is extremely rude (Osiris?). I was getting my makeup done and she was at the door refusing to talk to anyone but me, as I was the one who signed the contract. My mother was trying to speak with her and explained that I was in the process of getting my makeup done and to speak with her. My photographer just arrived and was trying to get photos of us getting ready and she pushed through my bridesmaids at the door to come in. She yelled at me that I'm not getting married on the beach, and my only option is the restaurant. At this time I'm crying, trying to reason with her that it's beautiful outside and not raining. I asked if we could go down now and do it, if they are so worried it's going to rain. She said no because the minister is not there yet. We told her we could get a guest to download vows and read (as it wasn't a legal ceremony). She said well then they wouldn't give me any music because they don't want to chance their speakers getting wet. We told her we would bring our own speaker and play music from our phone. We just asked to have the chairs back outside and we would take care of the rest. She kept coming up with reasons why we couldn't... (it's a liability if someone slips walking outside..- really walking barefoot in the sand? We asked why the pool was still open if it was a liability?, or why did they have all their speakers out by the pool playing music?) It just seemed like a lot of bad excuses.

Finally she agreed to let us go out, and said she would bring chairs for our guests, but no decorations (chair bows etc that I brought from home and paid extra money to bring a suitcase with)...
It's now 4pm, all of our guests are standing around the beach with no chairs and wondering what's going on. The staff come out and bring all of our guests back inside and tell them to go to the restaurant for the ceremony. 2 of my bridesmaids go down with my fiancé and tell everyone to go back outside- it's going to be on the beach. It is so disorganized and all my guests are looking up at me from the balcony and is waving me down from the balcony as I'm looking down crying, telling me just come down, they'll make an isle for me.

Finally my fiancé hears I'm upstairs crying and now gets mad and starts yelling. he told her she's got 5 minutes to get the chairs set up or he's calling his credit card and cancelling all the payments. Still not raining at this point and now it's 4:20pm.... (Cutting into my time I should be taking photos with my photographer)
Finally they set them up and I'm able to come down. No chair decorations that I brought just my flowers I purchased...
Because of all this - we weren't able to get getting ready photos...

RECEPTION:
Also a mess, dinner was supposed to be at 6:30. My guests told me they kept getting turned away as they weren't ready- finally they got seated at 6:40 pm. Me and the bridal party we're waiting in the lobby to be brought in and introduced. By 7:00 pm, we're at the front desk asking to page the wedding coordinator to bring us in. She never came so we had to motion for a guest to come in, ask them to tell the DJ we were coming in. We were supposed to use my bridesmaid bouquets as centrepieces so my sister had to collect them and finish decorating tables. Wedding planner still no where to be found. Our reception was only allowed to go until 10:30 pm, so we lost out on a lot of time with our party. Dinner wasn't ready / served until 7:20 pm….. Everything was ok after that. They used my decor and the tables were beautiful.

CAKE: the cake we got was amazing and tasted awesome. Although with such a short amount of time to dance we barely ate any! We were going to take to our room to eat the next day with everyone- the staff told us we could leave in their big fridge overnight and pick up tomorrow. Next day we get all our guests together for lunch, I go to pick up just to be told the staff threw it out.. Which was upsetting.

We went and spoke to the manager for the weddings the next day (Osiris?) she apologized and offered us 2- 50 minute massages. My husband got upset and asked her if that's what our wedding is worth to her? Her upsetting me and all my guests, our losing out on time for our wedding and with the DJ, lack of getting ready photos, all the makeup I cried off... and she said that was all she could do. We asked who her manager was and she refused to tell us - saying she has none. We brought 52 people, (each having paid $1900 to be there, and spend almost $20,000 just to be treated so poorly...). We have since found the manager, but she refuses to resond to my emails. the resort itself was beautiful and staff were awesome. It's a shame the management and wedding planning was so terrible.

You know its bad when random guests at the hotel -who watched everything unfold - came up to us the next day and said they felt terrible for how we were treated... Oh and by the way- it didn't rain [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nothing

Definitely not worth for the money spent.

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-01
They give us room facing road. Noice from Traffic can be clearly heard inside the room. Not enough Chicken items in buffet, there was not enough staff to accommodate the amount of people were there for Christmas. The main Supervisor was making lunch for everyone. People were waiting for the food for long lines. No one serve drinks by the beach again less staff. The enough pool activities available again staff not trained enough. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Night time entertainment shows were good.
The weak points
If they want to charge $2300 for this time of the year should keep more staff to justify the service for the price.
Certified

Excellent Staff

, Kitchener, ON
2017-09-19
A very enjoyable stay. The staff are excellent and the cleaning was perfect. Rooms could be more luxurious as the rest of the hotel and grounds are really nice. The room was cleaned to a high standard every day. The vast majority of the rooms overlook the ocean so I am not sure if paying extra for a room with ocean view is worth it as we booked a "Room" and was upgraded to an ocean view suite when we arrived. Nice pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are friendly and always there for you. Lots of entertainment. Good shows nightly and the pool always has something going on in the day
The weak points
The Free WiFi is only available for 2 devices. Choose carefully which 2 devices you are going to use as there is a hefty fee for using another device.
Certified

Good holiday resort

, Surrey, BC
2016-04-19
Riu Caribe is a good holiday resort for suburban white folks mostly. When we first checked-in, we were given a room closer to the street on the ground floor (even though we had requested a higher floor when we booked it). It was very loud at night/early morning as you could hear all the traffic from the street. We requested a different room but they weren't able to move us the same day. They did move us the following day to a room on the 2nd floor which was much quieter. Do not bother with the a la carte restaurants, these were mediocre. The buffet was much better. Besides the omelette guy in the buffet, most other staff were friendly and nice. The omelette guy was just grumpy most times. We visited the Riu Cancun for the day. I would rather spend the extra money and stay there the next time though as it looked a lot nicer and a good mixed crowd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet, good size drinks
The weak points
A la carte restaurants, terrible wifi service, no night club,
Certified

A Party Place

2016-01-20
just returned from one week at this Riu and was disappointed. This hotel is not for seniors but the 20 to 30 group who like to party all night. We stayed at the Riu Cancun two years ago and it was a much better experience, great food and had the use of two hotels which we could not do this year. The pool was great and the beach was very clean and great to swim in. The food was just o.k. but the staff were very nice. We could not use our very big terrace as they were doing construction above us and everything fell on our terrace. I would not return to this Riu Hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach and staff
The weak points
too noisy all night long
Certified

Great Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-12-09
Had a great time at this resort. The staff was friendly and efficient. The facility was a little dated but well maintained and clean. We appreciated that they had a separate pool area for small kids. The beach was beautiful, though there was a lot of seaweed. The food was excellent. We would definitely recommend this resort to our friends and family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu

, Edmonton, AB
2015-11-25
its a very nice hotel the entertainment staff were amazing [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Excellent

, Brandon, MB
2015-02-17
Travelled as a couple and couldn't have been happier with the resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was excellent. Staff were great
The weak points
Bathroom door had a squeek in it
Certified

Great holiday but wouldn't go back

, Huntsville, ON
2014-04-20
enjoyed our 2 weeks. Riu Caribe was not up to the Riu standard we expected. Food was always cold Ala Carte restaurants were terrible not worth the reservation. Had to ask for preimum liquor.Had to be at the pool by 5am to get a chair. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach
The weak points
Management, no chairs, drinks,
Certified

Trip to Cancun - Feb 5-19, 2014

, Lethbridge, AB
2014-02-22
This hotel is top of the line in our opinion. The reception staff, service in the dining room, housekeeping and management went out of their way to accommodate our needs. We always have and will always stay at Riu Resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were pleased with everything. Nicholas, the Manager made a point of greeting us every day to ask if all was well.
The weak points
The elevators were not very efficient.
Certified

I like RIU Hotels

, Richmond, BC
2014-02-17
This is the third RIU I have stayed in and no disappointments. As usual.
This hotel is very well run. I enjoyed the variety and quality of the food. I am a seafood fan and the buffet never diappointed. Yummy deserts too!
The room was in good shape and spotless. Everything worked and worked well. Nothing broke down during my two week stay and the maid was always cheerful and helpful.
In this hotel you get help when ever you ask for it. They work to make you happy to the best of their ability, with a smile on their face and they do NOT chisel...ever.
In summation: well run, well laid out, nice pool, good beach. I would stay here again in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, pool, beach, layout, gym, spa, hot tub, friendly staff, service.
The weak points
Move the smokers further away from the entry doors
Certified

Great resort

, New Westminster, BC
2014-02-13
This hotel is always amazing. I have been there several times and feel right at home. The staff is exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Not enough beach lounges.
Certified

Nice hotel

, Regina, SK
2014-01-03
We stayed in a corner balcony oceanview suite and I totally recommend this room upgrade! It was beautiful. We were on the fifth floor and it was perfect. Rooms were kept very clean. Restaurants were great. I always like the steakhouse restaurants at Riu as they are outdoors and it just has a much nicer atmosphere when you can hear the waves while you dine. It was romantic. We will stay at Riu hotels over and over again. The entertainment staff are all so friendly and inviting it seems like you have been friends for a longtime. They are very outgoing and good at getting people involved and make it a fun time. My only sort of complaint was that the management had a strong presence the week we were there and they seemed unfriendly to the staff. It made me feel uncomfortable at times to see the people that made it a good time without their usual smiles when the management was giving them crap in front of everyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful rooms good food and drinks friendly staff
The weak points
cloudy weather and windy
Certified

A Great Holiday once you arrive at the Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-17
The front desk was very helpful to correct our room type as they had not received our special requests, The Hotel has a 2 day advance booking for A la carte restaurants and do hot hold back any reservation space for new arrivals, ths we arrived Thursday and could not eat in an A la carte restaurant til Sunday, Both the Mexican and Asian A la carte restaurant do not measure up to the 4.5 STAR rating, The Steakhouse was much better. the Buffet restaurant changed their menu theme every night, great choice and quality. Internet is limited to 90 consecutive minutes per day, therefore I recommend you take more then one device to get full advantage (Work Cell, personal Cell, tablet) therefore you now have 3 x 90 minute sessions. Also you can use the Internet at the other Riu hotel for 90 minutes too. Local buses are a great way to get around, Safe!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet and beaches
The weak points
Internet, nightly entertainment is weak, A la Carte restaurants
Certified

Nice Place to Stay

, Burlington, ON
2013-11-29
3rd time staying here. The service is the same or better. Weather you Tip or Not, you get great / Fast service. Of course you should tip. For the week I stayed, the hotel was 98% full. Food very good, nice beach, great staff, good front desk manager (Rene). Very nice decor since the renovation. Just a couple of faults; pool tables in sports bar should be free, it is an All Inclusive after all.($3.00 us bucks a game) toilet plunger should be left on every floor in the linen rooms. (easy access) By the time you call the front desk for one, your feet will be wet! Yuk! Not fun when you have an upset tummy, and can't use the WC.
They need to have at least one bar to have some top notch drinks avail. eg: glenlivit , glenfiddich , Wisers ect... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Service, Great Staff. Good food. Nice Location
The weak points
Just a couple of faults; pool tables in sports bar should be free, it is an All Inclusive after all.($3.00 us bucks a game) toilet plunger should be left on every floor in the linen rooms. (easy access)By the time you call the front desk for one,too late
Certified

2 week vacation at the Riu Caribe

, Waterloo, ON
2013-06-14
Staff very friendly and helpful! Stayed at Riu Caribe 7 years ago and was not impressed with the renovated new decor...lacked the Mexican Flair...furniture looked like what we would purchase at Ikea. I missed the Riu classy look with chandeliers, comfortable loungers, planters etc.
Loby was not air conditioned...this was really bad on rainy days, as everyone gathered there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, very clean, good location, nice beach
The weak points
No air conditioning in loby.
Certified

Decent choice

, Laval, QC
2013-05-13
Many people were repeat customers as the hotel has a good mix of pool, beach and activities (day entertainment/sports and night time).

Enjoyed the beach and pools very much. Internet experience depended on cost (free = terrible; paying = good).
Food was good but not great.
Good service and very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family friendly, good mix of beach, pool and activities. Food decent.
The weak points
Only 3 à la carte restaurants and hard to reserve; Free Internet very slow and only in lobby -> they want you to pay for the internet (which is much better/faster).
Certified

Great vacation place

, Hamilton, ON
2013-05-02
Excellent staff, delicious food, everything was OVER THE TOP!! 100% recommended [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff /food/location
The weak points
Wifi
Certified

Great Resort!

, Georgetown, ON
2013-04-11
We really enjoyed our stay here!!!
The resort was beautiful and the staff were amazing. So friendly and always very helpful! Food and drinks were great! The pool was beautiful and we loved the daily entertainment! The beach was gorgeous! Great location (under 10 minutes from the strip) I would definitely recommend this hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort itself was beautiful!! The employees work very hard to keep it neat and clean! The staff are all so friendly as well! For the most part the food was great! pools and beach were amazing! Room was really nice! Not much to complain about at all!
The weak points
They shut the lights off at midnight, even at the outside patio. The bartenders try to trick you with the mixed drinks. I caught them many times making our drinks with NO alcohol in them. Very annoying for what we paid for the week.
Certified

Riu Caribe/cancun

, Naughton, ON
2013-02-27
Terrible issues with our rooms!! Had to change 3 rooms in one week!!First room was musty, moldy and my husband had an asthma attack. Second room, a drunken touris banged on our room all night threatening to kill us, thinking it was his girlfriends room. Third room was acceptable but received it two days before departure. Went on this trip to spend time with my brother and wife whomm we had not seen in a year and I travel promised us joining rooms or close to one another. That never happened and the Front desk would not even work on this !!!!!!!!!!1 [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Benjamin was excellent as a beach server and couldn't do enough for us
The weak points
The room issues!!!! I have stayed at many RIU hotels in my 35 years and I have never had problems like this before.
Certified

Enjoyable Vacation

, Ottawa, ON
2013-02-20
This was our second vacation to Mexico, and our 4th stay at a Riu. We were not disapointed with the Riu Caribe, and will be on the look out for more vacations with Riu's. We had great service, good food and were pleased with the cleanliness of this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, service and food. Pools were nice especialy the quiet pool and the grounds were well kept. Steak house restaurant was awesome.
The weak points
Entertainment at night could have been better, as they have a great facility for it. Mexican restaurant could have been better. Coffee machines in the rooms would be great.
Certified

Another amazing, active vacation

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-28
This is the second time we have stayed at RIU Caribe and it was even better than the first. The hotel has been revovated, they have added another pool, the beach is amazing and the surf is quite calm in the area.

Both my wife and I enjoy beaches and gentle surf of one to two foot waves and this is a great resort for it. We are also very active and enjoy the running path that follows the entire hotel strip from the city of Cancun. RIU Caribe is at the 5.6km mark on the path. The sister resort of RIU Cancun is at the 8.7km mark. A great run is from the Caribe to the Cancun, have a beer, a dip in the pool and run back.

I never loose weight on these trips but if I make healthy choices and the buffets and stay active I feel relaxed and just as fit when we come home.

One last note, we love the Catamaram tours. We have done tours with Sea Passion, Albatros and Sambas and they are all very similar but shop around for the best deal.

Happy Holiday :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pools, the location including the beach and the running path and the service. The staff was amazingly friendly, with very low turnover. We recognized many of the staff from our previous visit 2 years ago.
The weak points
It is hard to find really healthy entrees and most things are quite salty but I load up on salad and try to limit the entrees...it is so hard though because there is sooo much to tempt you.
Certified

Christmas week 2012

, Montreal, QC
2012-12-29
Great service, no big issues throughout the trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, staff very helpful. Big bathroom in our room. Great buffet on Christmas night.
The weak points
Food was alright but not impressive. Beach was clean but not incredibly big. Wifi only in lobby and only once a day... Could've been better.
Certified

Beyond Expectations

, Chestermere, AB
2012-12-10
We were looking for a hotel with very good Trip Advisor ratings, and on the 'top' part of the Cancun reverse 7, so that we could enjoy the beach and sea in any weather conditions. We love our timeshare at Paradise Village in Nuevo Vallarta, which set a very high expectations bar. We did not go for the least expensive resort, as we wanted a good experience and great food. The Riu Caribe exceeded our expectaions! We had a great experience, and would go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We found the food and restaurant service extremely good. This was the most outstanding part of the trip. It was also great to be able to use the catamarans free of charge (I learned to sail there), plus the table tennis and volleyball.
The weak points
We would prefer better free internet access. The kubi hall was the only place, and it was limited to 90 minutes. The kubi hall as a social centre was nice though. Also on the a la carte restaurants, more menu selection would have been nice.
Certified

Riu vacation

, Wilsonville, ON
2012-12-06
Beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entire staff and availability of food and drink .
The weak points
The noise level in our room . We were placed with children around us and had the pleasure of a nag of a wife that started on her man at 4:30 am and finished when they left the room . I am a very light sleeper .
Certified

Great Time

, Grimsby, ON
2012-12-06
The beach was good, location fine, rooms were fine too. However, they say it is the people that make a place and that is definitely true! All the people that work at Rui Caribe were wonderful and it made our experience that much better. They all look like they really enjoy working there. That contributed a lot to our fun.

The food was always very good! The seafood fantastic. The variety in the buffet could have been a bit better, however the quality was there.

The beach was beautiful, if a bit small. We normally like walking and felt that we didn't get in as much as we wanted. We made up for it, doing water aerobics though. :-) The entertainment staff were lots of fun and had a lot of people participating in that fun.

We would go back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff Location Beach
The weak points
Standard Rooms Buffet daily variety
Certified

Excellent Service, Beautiful Beach

, Brandon, MB
2012-11-27
This was our first trip to Cancun. The RIU didn't disappoint. The rooms were very clean, the staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable, well fed and watered, and happy. The beach was beautiful and very large, making getting a good spot pretty easy. There was a good selection of pools,and outdoor space to lounge the day away. The buffet was fantastic. I would say the A La Carte restaurants were good, but on par with the regular buffet restaurant (which we enjoyed a lot). And there were only 3 of them, but they were quite good. Our room was very clean and well stocked daily in the fridge. My only complaint is we were in a room which was ocean view, but also open to the lobby area - so it was loud until about 11 or 12 every night except Sunday. It wasn't too bothersome, but if you had kids or wanted to go to sleep earlier, I could see it being problematic. It was nice as well that they allowed you 90 minutes of free internet daily. And because my room was close to the lobby I was able to access it from the room - but otherwise you need to be in the lobby. Still I was thrilled they gave us some free! (as long as you bring your own device) Overall we were very happy with the quality, especially for the great price! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the staff, the cleanliness.
The weak points
Lots of loud rooms, not too much for a la carte selection. The nightly entertainment could have been better.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020