Krystal Grand Cancun

Krystal Grand Cancun
3.773.773.773.773.77
3.77 based on 83 reviews
#10 of 64 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (125)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Krystal Grand

, Burlington, ON
2024-02-28
Hotel was disappointing. The day we checked in one elevator was broken. Day two a second one. By the time we checked out only 1 of 4 elevators was working. The restaurant reservation is terrible. Can only reserve online and it is full in 10 minutes each morning. We were only able to reserve once in our four days. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Bartenders were awesome
The weak points
Issue with elevators. Dinner reservation process is horrible.
Certified

An amazing experience!

, Blainville, QC
2024-02-19
The hotel was clean and the staff was amazing.
We really recommend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
It was really clean.
The weak points
The texture of the meat.
Certified

Couple's winter getaway

, Ile Perrot, QC
2024-02-19
We just returned from wonderful Cancun where we stayed at the Krystal Grand Cancun.
We had researched where to go and picked the Krystal Grand first and foremost for the beach. It did not disappoint. We have been in Cancun several times and this is by far the best stretch of beach we have encountered. The first few days were quite windy so the waves and the undertow were not to be taken lightly. For the rest of the week, the water was calm and wonderfully warm. A dream. No seaweed to speak of and you may encounter the occasional fish, the water is that clear and turquoise.
Our room was on the 6th floor of the Altitude tower. The bathroom was spacious, the bed comfortable (got rid of my back pain….maybe my own bed is not as comfortable as it should be!), the mini fridge was stocked daily and we never lacked water bottles, a plus. If you want a beer, you will have to trek to the bar in lobby of the Altitude tower.
I had some issues with the pillow and could not be provided with one but found one at the top of the closet on the day of our departure. My bad!
Our room attendant, “Rehna” was the most cheerful woman who always had the prettiest smile. Always ready with a good morning and we always found our room spotless. Hard working and always ready to help. We understood each other despite the language barrier. Don't change Reyna.
The pluses: The view from our oceanfront balcony, breathtaking.
The room was spacious and quiet.
We indulged in the Romantic dinner on the beach. For us, well worth it. A great experience to eat on the beach. It beats the snow we came back to! The set up was quaint and romantic and the food provided by The Grill restaurant was as we expected, great.
The hotel is walking distance from restaurants, bars, a large grocery store and every souvenir shop you would wish for. Had fun exploring the town.
The things to consider:
-Would consider this more of a hotel rather than a “resort” There is little to no entertainment, but we were good with that so not an issue.
-There is no pillow menu to speak of even if advertised.
-There is no assigned space on the beach for Altitude customers, as advertised.
-You do have access to breakfast in the tower and an assigned bar for the Altitude guests.
-You can reserve a covered bed on the beach or at the adults only infinity pool once during your stay, free of charge, which we quite enjoyed on our last day.
-The menu at the buffet is a bit redundant with not much choice but it you like eating Mexican dishes daily, you should be good to go.
-We ordered room service once and our supper was just as expected and quite tasty and delivered promptly. A call to “0” and our dishes were picked up within 10 minutes.
-On 2 occasions little cakes were delivered to our room without prompt, a tasty plus.
-The reservations to the Japanese, Italian (Risotto) and “The Grill” saved the day and proved to be very tasty. The Hibachi experience at the Japanese restaurant “Ayami” and the à la carte choices were very good. The tapas offerings at the Italian restaurant were a nice touch and do not go to the Grill without ordering the Corn soup and the cheese fondue appetizer.

Reservations to the above restaurants, not the best system. The way it is supposed to work is every morning, at 09:00, they open the reservations for the day. Unfortunately, in theory this should work, but by 09:02, if you are lucky, you may have a 10:00 pm reservation. Also, out of the 3 restaurants opened during our stay, one may be closed on any given night and it is not known until the day of. A bit difficult to plan. Don't panic, if you have concerns, speak to the staff or a manager to see if they can help (without screaming at them) They most likely do not have any say or control on how this is done but speak with them about your needs. If all else fails, show up at the restaurant of choice when they open, at 6:00 pm, let them know you could not reserve, they probably will find a spot for you. Remember, kindness will take you far.

Beach chairs, the never-ending conundrum. Yes, all hotels could use more chairs but it is what it is. I wish we did not have to reserve our chairs but if you are not up early to do so, you will be sitting on the ground or the sand with your towel. That is the reality. So, in this context, the early bird gets the worm. One point to remember, if you reserve, show up. Don't leave the chair for hours, it is not cool or fair to anyone. We all have to use the facilities and eat but leaving your towel on the chair for 6 hours without showing up once is not respectful of others. You don't even have an excuse to get food as the drink waiters will be more than happy to get you food. Just ask them for the food menu. These guys work so hard all day walking back and forth in the hot sun catering to your every need with trays laden with drinks and plates of food. I seriously would not make it on foot with what they carry.

We were told on the bus that a rep from the company we booked from would let us know through What's App what time our pickup would be as they are no longer “on site” WRONG. Ask your concierge and they will know when and if they are there on a particular day. They don't show at every hotel but will, depending on the number of guests. We finally met ours on our 3rd day and he answered all our questions.

Lastly, there was only 1 out of 2 elevators working throughout our stay. Yes, it is kind of unfortunate, but we got where we needed to go. If you are in such a rush, I would like to remind you that you are on vacation so breathe. It will come as all things do, eventually.

Great week enjoying the sun, the sand and the sound and smell of the ocean.

So shout out to Oscar (our Air Canada rep for saving the day), Alfonso our waiter at The Grill and for our romantic dinner. You treated us like King and Queen. We appreciated you. For Eduardo and Dany for a fun Hibachi experience. Reyna our room attendant, you are one sweet lady.
Valeria, you were awesome, I am not sure of your title, but I suspect, manager. You were so kind to us and helped us with our specific needs. Your kind demeanor and valuable help throughout our stay made our vacation what it was. You saved the day, and we will not forget your willingness to help and make things happen.
For all the others, you are such hardworking people, your job is not easy but your efforts in making our vacation pleasurable is much appreciated.

Side note: We did the Luxury Sailing excursion to Isla Mujeres with Cancun Adventure tours. Our second time booking this tour. Cancun Adventues we love you guys. Well managed tours and we always feel safe booking with you guys.

Happy Vacation everyone!

France and Mike [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
-The BEACH -The staff -Ocean front view from balcony in Altitude tower -Walking distance to town for souvenir shops, restaurants, bars and grocery stores -The BEACH
The weak points
-The restaurant reservation system -Not enough available chairs on the beach -Fix the second elevator in the tower. A necessity!
Sanitary measures
-Hand sanitizer available at most places.
Certified

Super amazing

, Saint Lin, QC
2024-02-17
The hotel was super clean
Food was good
We very enjoyed our stay
We will probably come back again.

L'hôtel était super et très propre
La nourriture était bonne en général
Nous avons aimé notre séjour
Nous reviendrons sûrement [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful Clean Personal was super Super propre et beau Le personnel était très bien L'emplacement est super proche du centre-ville et du marché.
The weak points
No animation. If you are someone that like to stay at the resort maybe you will find it boring. Il n'y a pas d'animation dans l'hôtel. Si vous êtes quelqu'un qui reste seulement à l'hôtel vous allez sûrement vous ennuyer.
Sanitary measures
Perfect
Certified

Not so limitless inclusion experience

, Ottawa, ON
2024-02-16
While the stunning ocean view and some friendly staff members were highlights of my stay at the Krystal Altitude Resort (not the resort at all, it's a hotel), several shortcomings detracted from the overall experience, especially considering we had booked the all-inclusive package for a worry-free and convenient experience. If you're looking for a resort style vacation - this is not the place.

Here's a breakdown of the good and the bad:

The Good:

Exceptional View with the small But:

Location:

Very good location. About a 5-minute walk from the strip and all the entertainment.

The corner room offered a breathtaking 180-degree ocean panorama, truly a sight to behold.

Beach:

Krystal Grand and Altitude are at the very end of the strip so it can get very windy and cold in the evening. The current and waves were very strong the first four days we stayed but settled the last three days. Otherwise, it's a Cancun beach, clear blue water and white sand.

Wonderful Staff:

Several staff members, including the restaurant supervisor, the waiters, the hostess at all the restaurants especially at the Japanese one, and the operation manager, were incredibly helpful and made our interactions pleasant. Their attentiveness and willingness to go the extra mile contributed positively to our stay. Unfortunately, this positive experience wasn't consistent across all staff members.

The Bad:

Hotel:

The hotel is very old and dated. The Krystal Grand and Altitude are together however if you're staying at the Krystal Grand, you are not allowed to use Altitude animates such as an infinity pool and bar area.

Entertainment:

There is absolutely no entertainment at this resort (hotel). They had a DJ one night but they were playing very old Disco music. There was one show but it happened prior our arrival and we did not see it on the schedule again.

Room:

Despite the beautiful view, the room lacked basic amenities like drawers for unpacking.

Room Safe Not Secure:

The in-room safe was not bolted to the wall, raising security concerns.

Uncomfortable Bedding:

Synthetic linens caused excessive sweating, even with air conditioning.

Cleaning:
The first two mornings, our room was cleaned and tidied up nicely. Unfortunately, on the third day, only the bed was made, and that was the extent of the cleaning service. After that experience, I only asked to replace our towels, as I am quite capable of making our bed. Ironically, our nice fluffy towels were replaced on the rest of the days with worn-off and tattered ones. At that point, we stopped even bothering to care.

Elevator Issues:

Only one elevator was operational for a 13-story building, causing significant delays and inconvenience. This frequently resulted in crowded elevators, particularly during peak times. On the day before our departure, the elevator was filled to maximum capacity with 8 people, creating a very uncomfortable situation with limited personal space. Unfortunately, this coincided with your falling ill, although a definitive cause cannot be determined.

All-Inclusive (limitless inclusion) Inconsistencies:

Limited Room Service:

Room service was only available between 7:00 AM and 11:00 PM, even though we purchased the limitless inclusion package for a stress-free experience during our busy diving schedule. This was particularly inconvenient for us with our busy diving schedule that required early morning departures.

Limited Room Restocking:

Even within the 7:00 AM to 11:00 PM window, restocking coffee pods and the mini-bar was only possible until 6:00 PM. Obtaining additional coffee pods after 6:00 PM required supervisor involvement.

Limited Room Service Menu:

Food options for room service were restricted to specific times. Ordering boiled eggs via the resort app in the evening to prepare for an early breakfast and departure, for example, was not possible, which limited our flexibility with our busy schedule.

Unresponsive WhatsApp:

Despite encouraging WhatsApp communication, I never received any response to my questions sent through this platform. This lack of responsiveness from the front desk service (excluding some helpful staff members) was frustrating and created unnecessary delays.

Restaurant Closures:

Three of the four restaurants were not always open. While Ayami was closed Monday, Feb 12, 2024, La Taqueria remained closed throughout our stay. This significantly limited our dining options, especially considering we booked the all-inclusive (limitless inclusion) package.

Problematic Dinner Reservation System:

High Pressure and Inefficiency with Reservation system:

The 8:55 AM reservation system was incredibly frustrating, requiring guests to be online at a specific time and repeatedly submit requests, creating a stressful experience that clashed with the intended relaxation of a vacation. That also affects seniors who are not that comfortable with digital means of reservations. For guests with limited or no cell reception who were already outside of the resort at the 8:55 AM reservation time, the system offered no alternative. This meant missing out on convenient reservation options, creating unnecessary stress and potentially impacting their dining experience.
Few easy adjustments could make a huge difference in visiting Krystal Grand and Altitude resort. For example, allowing guests to get their names on the waiting list, in addition to the reservation option, on a first-come-first-serve basis with the hostess at restaurants and receiving a queue alert button. This way, guests would be able to enjoy their time while waiting for an available table instead of anxiously staring at the hostess for an hour or more in the hope of having a meal.

Limited Availability:

Even with this early effort, securing a decent dinner reservation was challenging. On Monday, Feb 12th, despite being present at the resort, the only available slot at 9:01 AM was 9 PM, significantly limiting your dining options.

Unhelpful Response:

When expressing concerns to a concierge about the system, his condescending attitude and suggestion to "dial down my attitude" was unprofessional and unhelpful, especially considering the widespread frustration among guests facing the same issue. Requesting to speak to operational manager solved the problem for same day dinner and the following one. However, I do not believe that one should request management to have dinning reservation in place.

Limited Food Availability:

Despite being specifically told we could grab breakfast sandwiches at "Grab a Bite" before our 6:05 AM dive departure, the kitchen staff were already removing the sandwiches when we arrived. We were denied the sandwiches, even though they were still available, claiming they are only for consumption before 5 AM. This left us with the unappealing options of muffins or banana bread, which were unsuitable for pre-dive fuel due to the lack of protein. This unnecessary restriction and inflexible approach to food availability, especially for guests with early departures and limited time due to excursions, resulted in a blood sugar crash for me and impacted the enjoyment of the diving experience.

Packing Food for Excursions:

Even though we paid for all-inclusive (limitless inclusion) to have stress-free access to food at any time, including packing some to go, we had no luck with that. Basically, we were out of the resort for four days out of seven, and three times arrived at the resort around 4 pm, so we were not able to receive service (food) for what we pre-paid. On three days out of four, the great waiter in the breakfast hall in Krystal Altitude tower provided us with a box to at least take the very limited selection of fruits available at breakfast. On the last day of our early departure for diving, we were told that taking food out was not allowed. All those inconsistencies created lots of stress and inconvenience.

Food:

The orange juice was from low-quality concentrate, the omelet was unappetizing, and limited fruit options were offered. I was denied espresso at the à la carte Krystal Altitude Hall, only to learn on the last day that espresso was available after all. Opting for boiled eggs with avocado toast and fruits became my choice for all breakfasts after trying the unappealing omelet during our first breakfast.

Buffet: Once we managed to get to the lunch buffet, the buffet lacked variety, and the available options were bland. Out of fruits only cantaloupe was available.

The Grill: I ordered a meat skewer at the Grill which was mostly inedible on our first visit, but half-grilled chicken and tuna steak were great on the second visit.

The Risotto: The Italian restaurant offered a very delicious carpaccio and beef steak. Few other dishes that my friends tried were less successful.

Ayami: The Japanese restaurant had the best menu, in my opinion. We dined there three times: upon our arrival on the second night to celebrate my birthday anniversary, with our senior friends; the second time was simply because we liked the food there, and the last dinner at the resort for the same reason. On the first visit, we did have a hibachi or teppanyaki experience, which was fun. Our meals during the second dine were flavored and cooked very nicely. Unfortunately, on the last dinner, the flavoring was not that good, but I guess that very much depends on who was cooking.

Red Fish Ceviches was only available between 11 am and 6 pm, always busy because that was the only place to grab a snack between meals. The food was good. The only tacos we had were there since the Mexican food restaurant was closed during our stay. Fish tacos, passion fruit, and other ceviches were delicious, as well as guacamole.

Limited selection of wine:

Even though we paid for the all-inclusive (limitless inclusion) package at the Krystal Altitude Resort and were told that it would give us access to top-shelf alcohol (not that with our diving schedule we could have much to drink), that was not our experience. In restaurants we could choose out of two 2 options for white and two options for red wine with a quality maximum of $8 US.

Cocktails were great:

I tried a mango mojito, and it was delicious. Bartenders were great and made all the effort to create a good drink.

Extra Charges:
A complete shock to see extra charges with the purchase of the all-inclusive (limitless inclusion) package. Ice cream, carbonated bottled water, as well as a few other food options, were not included in the all-inclusive package as many other things.

Overall:

While the view and staff were commendable, the inconsistent service, limited amenities, and frustrating dining experiences significantly impacted our stay. If you're considering Krystal Resort, weigh these factors carefully to make an informed decision about whether it aligns with your expectations and budget.

Additional Information:
Krystal Hotels & Resorts website: https://www.krystal-hotels.com/
https://appless.app/LYCLO9/C7GIR6

Please note:

This review is based on a specifically our experience and may not reflect the experience of others. It's always advisable to research and compare options before booking any vacation package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Stunning view, good location with close proximity to the strip and local bus
The weak points
Booking a table is a hassle: inconvenient, stressful, demands constant internet, and quick fingers. Despite strict adherence to rules, a reservation is not guaranteed
Sanitary measures
fairly ok
Certified

Hotel review

, Brampton, ON
2023-06-23
My experience at the resort was amazing , when we arrived our ac wasnt working in our room after two times of trying to fix it jonathan upgraded our room and added vip service , he made the move as smooth as possible we truly appreciate that he cares for his guest staying at the hotel , he ensured we had everything we needed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Crystal Altitude Cancun Mexico

, Toronto, ON
2023-01-16
Great experience, clean hotel,great service,very friendly people.The food a la carte was amazing.Beach was beautiful,very wide,clear blue water.Definatley recommend this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Krystal Altitude Resort, Cancun

, Scarborough, ON
2023-01-11
Excellent experience, staff was friendly and helpful, beach was great, grounds wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The hotel staff is amazing. Also the restaurants staff and chefs are wonderful. The food was exceptional.
The weak points
Couldn't adjust the a/c in our room. It was too cold, but as we are from Toronto and visited the week after Christmas, we just took the a/c off completely and that was comfortable :) Also, the bathroom needed to be updated.
Certified

Not Worth the Money

, Vaughan, ON
2022-08-30
We stayed at Krystal Grand in late August and we paid extra to stay in the Altitude building. This building did have A/C, however, that barely worked and broke down during our stay, and as we stayed in late August, you can imagine how draining the heat was. Our room was located towards the ocean-view as a corner suite, the view itself was lovely, but the rooms A/C was faulty and we had to contact the front desk almost everyday to come fix it. In addition, the bathroom in our suite had an odd odour emanating from it for the entirety of our stay. We contacted the front desk again to help with the problem everyday and were not met with a solution. The mini bar in the rooms of this building are VERY mini because they only give you two beers, two waters, and a couple soft drinks. Besides the room, the buffet at the resort was abysmal. Despite having some authentic food, the buffet was the exact same food for all the 7 days we stayed there. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner did not change once, and the buffet area itself was so small. Also note that there were little to no vegetarian options for lunch and dinner. Due to the small capacity, we surprisingly had to wait 10-15 minutes everyday in line in order to get into the restaurant, this was beyond frustrating as the main building had no A/C and overheating while waiting to eat was not ideal. The nightlife at the resort was not interesting, there were little to no activities, they would put some chairs by the pool and play music for the majority of the night. It is also important to note that you will be micromanaged while staying here, you literally cannot go to any restaurant, get any drink, or go to the buffet without being asked to verify your room number and wait to be crossed off their list. There are 3 restaurants at the resort; italian, asian, and a steakhouse/grill. After the rough experience at the buffet, we decided to try the italian restaurant. That restaurant was the highlight of our trip. The food, the service, and the atmosphere was amazing. My family and I went to this restaurant 3/7 days we were there and this was only because we discovered the restaurant on our third last night there. The menu was diverse and had many vegetarian options. We were going to try the grill, however the menu was very limited and did not have anything of interest. Also important to note that you will be asked to wear a mask in ALL dining areas, you will need to wear it to enter the building but you can take it off at your table. Also forgot to mention that the room service in the altitude building is complimentary which was great, especially since the food was MUCH better than the food at the buffet. You could get a variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner delivered to your room with an exception of longer wait times, sometime sup to an hour. The beach at the resort was absolutely stunning. It was clean despite being open to the public, and the waves were very fun with the family. We found it better than the pool, as the pool area was more enclosed so the water would be very warm when entering but that was also due to the heat. The ocean was refreshing and stunning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Cancun family vacation spring break

, Delta , BC
2022-03-17
We enjoyed our stay at the Grand Krystal resort. The staff really made our experience worthwhile! Best beach around, some day fun waves and other days calmer. Altitude tower is much nicer and worth the upgrade. We didn't love our first room so paid for an upgrade to top floor oceanview and loved it!
We booked altitude but still had to pay to upgrade further. Was still worth it but wished we had the option upon booking. Altitude pool was our favourite spot. We reserved Bali beds every day and felt like we were on a luxurious vacation! Altitude pool much quieter and beautiful ocean view.
Shout out to the staff that made our trip amazing, knew us by name and always attended to our family the minute they saw us!
Jahir in altitude bar- best bartender!
Carlos & Giovanni - altitude pool hard working fabulous server, remembered us everywhere
Hervik- pool concierge Greeted us daily [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beach, altitude beach view pool and waiter service was the best
The weak points
Very close to party zone, if that's what your looking for! Resort super quiet at night with limited activities likely because ppl walked over to party hotel zone at night
Certified

Dont look at another resort !!!

, Calgary, AB
2020-03-20
Food was great, the hotel was impeccable. Night cleaning crews were literally on their hands and knees with a scraper making sure the floors were spotless in our altitude building and the main building every night. If I could remember the man's name I would mention him here.

Front desk in altitude building were extremely friendly and were great with English. (Again would mention a name if I could remember, I was afterall on vacation)

Jahir (bartender in altitude bar) gets a special shout out from me for being a perfect bartender and an all around great guy.

Andres, Renne, and other guys and girls from the outdoor entertainment staff were a blast. They made the volleyball and water sports super fun.

Also the gentlemen working the bar at the lounge just off the main lobby were extremely nice and helpful. We made friends during our stay, we had a group of about 15 on that lounge deck almost evernight and they kept up with our needy requests quite easily.

Only thing in would reccomend is 2 more beach staff, more chairs and a few more canopys. I belive these small expenses would go a long way with people comfort and service.(although I am not complaining about the service at all. It was very impressive)

All in all I highly recommend reflect Cancun and spa and the extra money you pay for the altitude tower goes a long long way.. trust me !

Food is great. Staff is great. Location is perfect.

We will be back !

Shayse Vanessa [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

2nd visit, still impressed

, Vancouver, BC
2020-02-17
Starting with the facilities we found everything very clean, the rooms, beach, pool, bathrooms, restaurants. Gorgeous view from our room and a breath taking beach. We found something delicious to eat in one restaurant or the other at any time of day. Breakfast buffet isnt huge but they have a great mix of items, never missed that. The thing that blew me away and brought us back for our second visit was the staff. Specifically Alejandro, Ernesto and Pedro at the Grill restaurant, Martha at the breakfast buffet, Alejo and Nelson at the pool bar. Great people who seemed genuinely interested in making us enjoy our stay. Thank you so much all other Reflect staff too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were 5 stars, all of them. Always one or two restaurants that had something I wanted to eat at, also great drinks. Beautiful sandy beach, clean refreshing pool & pool bar. Location is 5 mins walk off the resort to shopping and clubs
The weak points
The worst part would be other people on vacation. Don't get me wrong we made friends with lots of great people but others would reserve chairs day and night. It can be hard to get a shady seat on the beach or around the pool because of these people
Certified

Don't waste your money

, Brampton, ON
2019-07-08
It says 5 stars but not worth 2-3 at max, rooms very dated, smelt like sewage all the way even the beach has the smell, seaweed on the beach and the sea!!
They don't clean it, sand is not even on the beach it's like uphill and you need to find a place to go down to the sea and be aware you could fall, very limited seats on both beach and swimming pools, at “O” restaurant always running out of food and not much variety and hardly any activity in there!!
Never go back again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Disappointing

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-04-28
Just got back from this property and am very disappointed. The good is that they do have a very nice beach but there are not enough beach chairs or palapa's at all which caused people to mark their chairs early. No reservation system for their ala cartes which caused very long wait times for lunches and dinners, up to 90 minutes. Only 2 very small elevators which caused very long wait times to get to your room or get to lobby from your room. Had to call house keeping 3 times during week to get room cleaned. Preyed upon by timeshare type people upon arrival and set up by front desk personal. Could not connect with wifi in room. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach, decent food, friendly staff. Great coffee shop
The weak points
Maid service lacking, 2 very small elevators which meant very long wait times, long wait times for lunch and suppers, not very organized, time share people upon arrival, not enough palapa's or chair at beach. Could not connect to wifi in room.
Certified

Reflect krystal

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-19
Our stay was so nice and romantic, the food and service was great, there were so many options available for dining like different restaurants and cuisines . The only problem was lack of activities at our hotel at nights. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service - beautiful beach- nice staff
The weak points
Lack of activities at night
Certified

Reflect Kryatal Grand Cancun

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-21
Cancun is a wonderful vacation destination. While we were treated well at the resort I was not impressed with the quality of the rooms which were very dated, poorly furnished with poor quality double (not queen) beds, void of meaningful furnishings, sloppily painted and poorly maintained and cleaned. Additionally It did not appear that this facility was handicapped (wheelchair) friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

First time to Cancun.

, Ashcroft, BC
2019-03-08
A very nice hotel in a great location. A better bet for younger people who like shopping and clubs close to the resort. Not so much for seniors looking for a more relaxed pace. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome views if you have a ocean side room. The food and service at the Grill Restaurant was exceptional, especially our waiter Pedro. A special thanks to our poolside waiter Christian who was outstanding in his duties.
The weak points
Service, selection and service at the "O" buffet restaurant needs to be improved. Stake out a spot on the beach or poolside early, as it gets fairly crowded.
Certified

Krystal Grand Punta Cancun

, Toronto, ON
2018-07-09
Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The drinks and food were great. We stayed as all inclusive. We found it upsetting that we could not use the infinity pool becuase we did not stay at the altitude tower. There were also white canopy beds on the beach that basically don't ever get used because you have to pay extra for that. We were also disappointed with having very minimal day entertainment while at the beach or pool. Sometimes they would do it and most times not. They would only do volleyball at the Pool. We only experienced one day doing yoga and zumba. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
This hotel is very clean and has great food. The beach was clean and they cleaned the seaweed every morning. It was very nice to have staff come and bring you food and drinks to your spot while at the beach or pool. The Pool was also very clean.
The weak points
We were disappointed because there was no night time show or dance disco. We thought that every hotel did this but apparently not. We also didn't like signing for our food everytime we ate. We found that this got annoying after awhile.
Certified

Krystal grand

, Toronto, ON
2018-03-28
the experience was much different than previous resorts I've been too, it was a lot more condo than villa. so it wasn't as open of an environment accessing different areas was a bit challenging. also the bar closed way to early , main was 10 pm and side was 12 pm. overall the staff and service was good, was kept very clean. the food was pretty amazing but there were no pools directly on site, you had to walk to the sister resort krystal grand and use their's. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great food and service was good, very quiet secluded clean, family and couple friendly . very close to downtown clubs and cancun less than 10 min walk
The weak points
bar closes too early, very strict and rigid rules, no pools directly in area, not good for young people looking to party and mingle.
Certified

Relaxation at its best

, Kingston, HA
2018-02-19
The hotel was beautiful. We stayed in the Altitude tower and had a wonderful ocean view room....this ocean view was amazing. Our room overlooked the pools and we had a full view of the ocean and coast. We also had access to the infinity pool which was for adults only and only Altitude guests. This pool was right at the edge of the beach and was amazing. The food in the restaurants was all good. There are lots of choices and we had the option of room service included. The beach was cleaned daily and each of the pools and the beach had plenty of lounge chairs. The staff were all courteous and friendly but Yolanda in the lobby bar is amazing. Friendly and smiling and she makes great drinks. The only down side was that there are no shows at night. They brought in a band, a violinist and a sax player on different nights. They were all very good but the occasional show would be nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The room and the beach are amazing.... The staff were all amazing
The weak points
Need more entertainment or things to do at night....I realize you are so close to all the clubs so this might deter you . Clearer signage to inform guests that the altitude guest only can use the infinity pool
Certified

Great location, not the best service

, Edmonton, AB
2016-04-14
The overall place was really pretty, the hotel was very clean. The last two days they were doing renos which were very loud. The ceiling in our bathroom started falling down and made a huge mess they have assed cleaned it up, the maid broke an expensive bottle of tequila in my suitcase when throwing my luggage off my bed one day and it ruined a bunch of my clothes... The buffet was never open for lunch like it states... The service at the pool bar was terrible they would ignore you even if you were the only one there and I was tipping them very well! I think the best service I got from any of the bars was the beach bar they always made sure you had a drink in hand which was great! The beach was very clean and gorgeous! Even though the service wasn't the greatest and we had a few hiccups I would definitely go back for the location! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach, amazing view, very close to all the party spots
The weak points
They lack in the service department
Certified

Krystal Grand Cancun resort

, Regina, SK
2016-02-16
What an excellent resort to stay at. Very clean, very friendly, and good food. Beach was great as were all the services. My only regret was that we didn't book for a long stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A Very Nice Week

, Midland, ON
2015-03-31
The location, beach, food and amenities were excellent! The staff was friendly & helpful. Be aware that bottles of wine (not glasses) and some food items are not included in the All-inclusive plan. The resort is walking distance to the ferry dock to Isla Mujeres and to Plaza Caracol. In Plaza Caracol, the vendors were aggressive, yet harmless. We also encountered four guys in green masks who we thought were promoting a nightclub, so were not worried when they asked to take our picture. Very shortly, they had separated my husband and I, were reaching into my bag, and picked up my husband and turned him upside down, ostensibly to shake out his wallet. Then followed us asking for money. It became very scary very fast! Be vigilant in Plaza Caracol, and never stop for "picture" guys! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent restaurants, wonderful staff, stunning beach. Unforgettable time at Ek Balam and a Cenote, and at Isla Mujeres. No time share pressure at Krystal Grand.
The weak points
Extra charge for wine, which was not mentioned when they brought it (they said it was something special for our anniversary). Very scary encounter Plaza Caracol.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024