Golden Parnassus Resort And Spa

Golden Parnassus Resort And Spa
3.923.923.923.923.92
3.92 based on 136 reviews
#10 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (67)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Nothing golden at this resort

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-21
This hotel was booked as a 5 star, however it is more consistent with a 2.5 star. The resort is very run down, holes in walls, floors and ceilings are prominent and the furnishings are extremely worn. The lobby is missing lighting fixtures and gives off a untidy appearance. The rooms are worse. The mattress needed replacing a decade ago and has no support. The lack of maintenance continues as lighting fixtures dangle by their wiring harnesses. Completely disregarding your safety and well being. I strongly advise against staying at this resort, it feels dirty and uncared for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Only redeeming quality was the food in their fine dinning, this was average quality.
The weak points
Horrible state of disrepair
Certified

Wonderful week at Golden Parnassus

, Winkler, MB
2020-01-03
We had a great experience! The staff was friendly, fun and helpful. The resort is a little older and nothing fancy, but it was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. We would definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-comfortable room and bed -good variety of restaurants with no reservations needed -no problem getting chairs at the pool or beach -small resort so everything was close -easy access to public transportation
The weak points
-no free wifi (we bought a Mexican sim card for $5.00US and it worked great) -the charge for the beach cabanas was too high-nobody used them -the evening shows weren't that great
Certified

December 2019

, Victoria, BC
2019-12-22
Our room was great except we were told we would have a king bed and got 2 beds. Switching would take a few days. No fridge in room. Beach & pool were nice but umbrellas hard to get [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff; food; bars; beach;
The weak points
wifi charge $12US daily; no fridge in room; no microwave in room; atm charge $ 9US;
Certified

2 star resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-11-30
Very bad experience compare to other resort. Pictures and reality is completely different. Very few restaurants with same menu for lunch and dinner [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice hotel, good value

, Ottawa, ON
2019-07-05
We stayed at the Golden Parnassus for our honeymoon. We had a small budget but were happy with what the hotel offered for amenities, activities and food options. The room and building were always clean. The location is convenient and the staff was friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Not bad

, Gatineau, QC
2019-04-11
After my third day at the hotel, I got hives. Tried to figure out what was the issue as I don't have allergies, never had hives because of the sun before and then there's the pool. It didn't seem to have enough chlorine and there is only one pool. After a few days I had to stay out of the sun and it itched really bad and didn't want to take chances in the water considering I didn't know why I had it. I will not be returning there unfortunately. Overall, the food was great via the restaurants. The buffet was good and had a lot of variety. A great location and awesome hotel but because of the hives, I will not return. I've spoken to multiple people there who had the same condition on the arms and legs. Even on my ride back home on the plane. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Resort

, Cambridge, ON
2019-03-14
The staff is very friendly and helpful. No waiting in line to check in. Great food and you can visit the ala carts as often as you like. No reservations required. The rooms are standard, nothing fancy, but very clean. Can't wait to go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, excellent service, very clean
The weak points
Many broken lounge chairs. Not enough umbrella's.
Certified

Honeymoon

, Endako, HA
2018-12-16
The food was great and it was decorated very nicely for Christmas as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff there is amazing and the food was always delicious.
The weak points
There aren't many night time activities.
Certified

Small Resort, Great Staff

, Whites Lake, NS
2018-09-27
First time staying at this resort. Overall the resort was ok. We stayed only 4 nights and we are happy we didn't stay longer. We ran out of things to explore and do at the resort within 2 days. They did have a good entertainment schedule around the pool/beach for games, cooking classes etc.
There was 4 restaurants buffet and snack bar, one restaurant was closed for renovation. The food at the restaurants was not very good. The best one was Italian/seafood. The buffet was small, but they did have about 4 or 5 custom stations at any given time. Snack bar was very close to the pool, and could go grad a snack and bring it back to your chairs or eat there. The food was the same each day, and only 1 person cooking. Sometimes there was a wait for fries or wings.
There was 3 shops in the lobby, 2 souvenir shops, and 1 jewelry store.
Originally they gave us the wrong room, and was able to provide us the correct room the next day. There was no mini fridge in either room, and they only provided 2 bottles of water which were warm due to the no fridge. Room and bathroom were nice, could use a big refresh, and better lighting.
The pool was large, and had different sections of high and low. Deepest point all over is 4 ft. There was no swim-up bar. There was 2 bars very close, and they had a sever come around during the day to ask about drinks. One bar was on the beach and the bartenders would often come over to the pool and offer to make drinks for the people on that side of the pool. Lots of chairs, some with umbrellas. If you didn't get an umbrella there is no shade after 10 AM. They have a canopy section by the pool, but was up some stairs. We did not spend anytime at the beach, and it was always empty. There was a lot of seaweed on the beach, and in the water. The water was also very brown and not the pretty blue that it usually is. Not sure if this was because of the hurricanes or just that time of year, or where the resort is located on the beach.
Overall I would give this resort 3/5 it needs some refreshing up. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very nice, spoke English well Pool area was very nice, lots of chairs at the pool and beach
The weak points
No mini fridge in room No swim-up bar Beach had a lot a seaweed
Certified

My dream vacation

, New Westminster, BC
2018-04-29
Adult only is what I needed. Everyone is so friendly. Our beach days were the best. Who wants a pool when you have it all at the beach. Our favourite server was Maria on the beach. She was so fast and often came even when we didn't need anything. Jesus in the lobby bar was awesome and so was Carmen. She made the best chocolate martini. The food was good but I think we need a place next time with a mini fridge. Getting ice was very inconvenient! All in all great resort and fabulous service. I would give it a 7/10. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great location

, Edmonton, AB
2017-04-25
The hotel is situated an easy 10 minute bus ride from town. Lovely beaches, bar/restaurant staff, various restaurants available onsite or near by. Have to pay for WiFi (70 USD for 2 devices for the week). Great drink and food options available

Unfortunately experienced a 3 hour power cut during my stay - the management and coordination of this incident was poorly executed - no safety announcements, communication or checks were made and no apologies given.

Our room was not equipped with a refrigerator, as many all inclusive hotels are, even budget hotels - we were offered to pay an extra 20 USD per night to upgrade.

Day entertainment, ticket promoters and excursion teams are available. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar and restaurant staff are AMAZING, FRIENDLY & HELPFUL!
The weak points
No refrigerator provided in the room. Charged for local calls.
Certified

Good for the money

, Headingley, MB
2015-03-20
We had a very nice vacation here, and each day was better than the one previous. Staff is super hard working and eager to help you. We didn't enjoy the pushy salespeople (Club Parnassus) or the ridiculous costs for Wifi, but the beach just about made up for it. Just get up early to save seats on the beach! There were a few very loud groups at our hotel that we were glad to be rid of, but otherwise the location was great, and our expectations were met for the price we paid. This is not a five star, so don't expect glamour (like the Ritz next door)! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are very friendly and incredibly hard working. Rogelio in the Paradise Buffet was so friendly and great! The beach is beautiful, one of the best I saw.
The weak points
Not enough umbrellas/beach huts. The $$$ cost for Wifi/Internet & the lack of amenities (no fridge) baffled us. Even McDonald's down the street offers free Wifi. Sales people are very pushy.
Certified

Great vacation !

, Montreal, QC
2014-03-05
Had a very pleasant experience at the Golden. Very friendly staff. I recommend this hotel, and will probably come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall I give this hotel 4 to 4.5 Food was good to very good. Buffet was small, but resort is small, so balances out. Very fresh fruits, and pretty good food. Staff was great. Kept premises very clean. Room very clean. No complaints really.
The weak points
Seriously, charging for Wifi, come on guys !!!! You need to install a hair dryer in hospitality room. Bathrooms need some revamping.
Certified

Bad Experiences at Check-in and after

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-05
Our check-in and check-out dates at Golden Parnassus had been pre-booked and confirmed. But when we reached the hotel we were told that a room was not available because of over-booking. We were asked to go to another hotel (Great Parnassus) owned by the same company and to come back the next day on the company's shuttle bus after 3 PM. The room we got at the other place was awful - located next to a noisy utility plant and with poor sound insulation on the balcony sliding door. Next day, when we tried to return to Golden Parnassus, an obnoxious manager at the front desk demanded that we pay a US$50 penalty for checking out at 1:45 PM instead of noon. This was totally absurd because it was us who should have been adequately compensated for being booted out of Golden Parnassus. We were fooled into believing that an offer of a VIP package would be our compensation. The package turned out to be of little value because the fruits, bottle of wine and a one-time room service were all part of the All-inclusive package anyways.
In our room at Golden, there was an open jacuzzi located right next to our bed, with its dirty water jet nozzles and open drain. (In other hotels we have been to, Jacuzzis were located within separate glass enclosures).
We struggled with bone chilling temperatures for 2 days and nights by incrementally increasing the temperature setting on the thermostat. Finally realized that the thermostat was not working. From then on, we had to manually turn on and shut off the A/C every few hours each day and night.
The TV stopped working while we were watching a show. It took an hour for their service man to get it going again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff at Golden Parnassus (except the front desk manager at Great Parnassus where we were forced to stay the first night) were nice and friendly.
The weak points
Several weak points as described above. Being bumped off from Golden Parnassus, forced to stay at an awful location, and not being adequately compensated for our hardship, spoiled our enjoyment of vacation.
Certified

Resort review

, Edmonton, AB
2014-02-04
The resort was nice and most of the staff were exceptional. The one problem is that they overbook and try to give you different accommodation than what was booked. I was travelling with my daughter and they put us in a suite with kingsize bed which was not going to work for us so they said we could check next day if a room with two beds was available. (how does this happen?) The next day I asked about it and the first girl said yes they had a room, then another girl said they had put another bed in the suite. Upon going up to the suite we discovered they put in a cot so I called the front desk and said this was not acceptable so they agreed to move us but seemed very displeased to do so. After meeting some other people at the resort, we found out this seemed to be a normal practice for them to do which would make me hesitate to return to this resort. This is most unfortunate because restaurant and entertainment staff are wonderful!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff in restaurants/entertainment are great!
The weak points
seem to have booking problems
Certified

Fantastic place

, Welland, ON
2014-01-14
Had a great time! we love this spot. staff are amazing.. and the food is great! couldn't ask for anything more.. Carlos and Jose at the tiki bar make the vacation so much better! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points are so many.. Jose at the tiki bar..Carlos with Jose at the tiki bar. Marina at the pool. The staff were amazing as always.. We will be back again.. so many people come back time and time again. LOVE IT
The weak points
can't think of any weak points. IF you don't like this hotel, there is something wrong with you!
Certified

Great location

, Kitchener, ON
2014-01-01
Loved this hotel. Although smaller great amenities. Rooms extra large with choice of Ocean view or Lagoon. We have stayed in both and prefer the Lagoon view. Even at a busy time hotel did not feel crowded. Nice to be able to catch a local bus to get to the large shopping center. Overall good value for money especially at christmas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller resort more personalized service. Local bus close by and shopping. Access to sister hotel with free shuttle nice service
The weak points
NO free Wi fi ( can in some spots get from hotel next door)
Certified

Great resort fun and small

, Arnprior , ON
2013-03-19
This resort is smaller than most. You get to know the servers and bartenders by name. The pool is good the beach was great. No reservations at the restaurants is a big plus. Hotel was booked solid and we never waited for a table. Fun night life. Rooms were nice with a comfortable bed and nice shower. Ocean front view is worth the upgrade. Internet was slow but it was booked out so to be expected. Ride the r2 city bus for 1$ to go anywhere you need to downtown. Only 10-15 mins. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff good location easy to meet people on this small resort no reservations
The weak points
The Internet speed
Certified

Relaxation & Friendliness

, Thompson, MB
2013-03-12
This was our 5th time at the Golden, and we were greeted warmly by several staff who remembered us from other stays. It felt like coming home, although the changes to the lobby and throughout were very subtle and homey. We always enjoy our time at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Relaxed comfort, without pressure to be active, dressed up all the time, or alert for children's dangers.
The weak points
No setups at the lobby bar for larger groups, everything caters to groups of 2 or 4.
Certified

Best small hotel on the best strip of beach

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-19
Great staff, always engaged and friendly. Good service with good food. One of the nicest stretches of beach in the hotel zone. My 6th time at this hotel in ten years. Come back for the Tiki bar atmosphere and the friendly patrons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great stretch of beach, incredible staff.
The weak points
Older rooms with upgrades needed to meet a 3.5 or 4 star level.
Certified

Christmas in Cancun

, Northbay, ON
2013-01-07
This was our first stay at the Golden Parnassus. We travel to Mexico often and prefer the smaller sized hotels, similar to the Golden Parnassus, over the larger resorts. This was an adults only resort and we found that a nice change from previous Christmas holidays where children were underfoot. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Check-in was a breeze. Request to move to a higher floor was granted next day. As it was Christmas Day when we arrived, a bottle of champagne was in our room when we arrived. A la cartes were delicious and, best of all, no line-ups for reservations - you just walked in. Loved the shrimp, burgers, chicken cordon bleu. Beautiful beach. Close to town. We would definitely go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, food, location & beach
The weak points
Towels are getting worn and poor lighting in our bathroom. Could use a mini-fridge in room with larger bottles of water provided each day.
Certified

Excellent all-inclusive

, Oakville, ON
2012-12-31
The Golden Parnassus is one of the smaller hotels in Cancun's hotel zone, but that is a plus in many ways. The ratio of hotel guests to beachfront may be better than any other facility (long, low building faces the beach = lots of space). The staff are extraordinarily friendly and get to know you quickly. Great stay overall, and amazing value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach with good guest:lounge chair ratio. Very friendly staff, exceptional cleanliness, and good food. Right in the centre of the hotel zone -- short trip anywhere you want to go.
The weak points
Front-desk staff were just average (though you only have to deal with them at check-in and check-out). Non-motorized watersports aren't really included -- you have to take a bus to Great Parnassus.
Certified

Wonderful relaxing holiday

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-12-31
We really liked this resort for it's nice size and beautiful location. The resort is kept very clean and the service from all staff is wonderful. We loved that it is adults only. We had a really lovely time just hanging by the beach or pool and relaxing. If you wanted shopping or other excursions, the city bus is really easy to use and cheap
($1). I would recommend this resort to others. I also recommend upgrading to an oceanview room; the view is spectacular.One downside is the terrible wifi. It's not free(15$ for 24 hours)and really weak. Walk to the McDonald's about 15 minutes down the main street and get really good wifi for free. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
small size, location and the beautiful beach
The weak points
wifi
Certified

Superbe vacances

, Gatineau, QC
2012-12-11
C'était une très belle expérience. Le staff était adorable. Ils veulent vraiment apprendre les autres langues. L'endroit au complet était très propre. La chambre, les restaurants, salle de bain publique sur le site, la piscine, le spa, la plage… Le service à la réception était très bien.
Je n'ai rien de négatif à dire en particulier. Nous y retournerons sans hésitation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
la bonne humeur des employés et la propreté de l'endroit
The weak points
Internet et frigo dans la chambre.
Certified

Golden Parnassus

, Fergus, ON
2012-04-02
excellent vacation but there was one problem what was advertised on the web site is not what you get. We bumpped up to an ocean view with tub and mini bar and did not get it. You only get that type of you apparently if you have club status. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bar service was great. Oscar from the entertainment was fantastic
The weak points
Front desk. They do not care if you have a problem also not internet access.
Certified

Golden Parnassus, Cancun, Mexico, Dec 2011

, Longueuil, QC
2011-12-25
Overall good but 4 stars max [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Overall good impression, but it is 4 stars max IMHO
The weak points
There is no evening buffet, there is no gym (even basic would be good enough), swimming pool is good for soaking but not for swimming
Certified

Good but....ease up on the sales!!

, London, ON
2011-12-11
Resort was a little dated, but staff worked hard at repairs and upkeep. Service was excellent. The bar and wait staff were very attentive. The food was very good for the most part. We could always find something we liked at the buffet. The restaurants were good. No reservations needed though, so if you didn't want to wait in line, you needed to get there before 7.
Other than the needed updating of the resort, the only other thing that was annoying was the sales people. On arrival, while we waited for our room, we were corralled and given a pitch to visit the new resort. At the "customer service desk", which was right across from the elevators, sales people would ambush you and try to get you to visit the Great Parnasuss. 4 people approached us for 4 days. They were offering gifts like a bottle of tequila and 1000 pesos toward the spa. It was much to aggressive, like timeshare. Also the new resort is a family resort, this one is an adults only. Obviously some one booking at an adult resort would not want a family resort. For this reason only I will not return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good service, good food.
The weak points
The aggressive sales people.
Certified

It would be better if .......

, Mississauga, ON
2011-12-10
1) the hotel can provide a map of Cancun;
2) internet access is included as it is said on the website;
3) giving me the safebox key when I check in;
4) all the lights are working in the room;
5) more sockets in the room;
6) giving me instructions on how to turn on the TV;
7) the currency exchange rate is reasonable.

Other than that,
The food is very good.
The staff is also friendly.

I also like the service that you can take shuttle to Great Parnassus and use the service there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food; friendly staff
The weak points
the room is some kind of old; the exchange currency exchange rate is not reasonable. It is 1:10.5 for CND:Peso in the hotel, but you can get at least 14.xx at the airport.
Certified

Awesome

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2011-12-02
Everything was excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
People are very nice
The weak points
None
Certified

Another great vacation

, Oakville, ON
2011-11-21
Second visit was just as good as the first. Smaller resort results in meeting more people and having more fun. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good entertainment, bar and room staff
The weak points
Couldn't log on to internet and those who managed to do so said the service was intermittent.
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020