Hyatt Zilara Cancun

Hyatt Zilara Cancun
4.534.534.534.534.53
4.53 based on 30 reviews
#19 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

A good resort. Worth going.

, Surrey, Br
2020-03-09
This is the 2nd time we have been to this hotel and most likely will not be the last. The 1st time we went we had a great time. The beach is fantastic. All the hotels bars and restaurants were good. The A la Carte were all excellent and the buffet was as good as a buffet can get. I say that because I am not a huge fan of buffets at the best of times. We had a server the 1st night we were there that was amazing. He unfortunately was going on vacation the next day, our loss. However, he was still there this time and that was great. Christian was fantastic as a server but when we left we left a friend, not a server. Also worthy of mention are the people in the coffee shop, also really good. Another was one of the servers in the lobby bar. I think her name was spelled Ligia but not sure of that. All told, it is people like these that make a vacation a good one. So thanks to them and to the hotel for being smart enough to have such good people [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points of this resort are it's staff, it's location, the food and the fact that it is adults only.
The weak points
If I had to say something is a negative I would say that some small things are maybe a little dated but that can be said about any resort older than 10 years.
Certified

Still a great vacation, but some perks are gone...

, Calgary, AB
2018-09-23
We've been to this resort 4 times and purchased the same packages over the year. However, this most recent stay, I noticed they had noticed some changes that have made us consider trying out other resorts on the next vacation:
1) Free use of the spa facility(no massage service purchase required). Now you have to pay $25USD/day.
2) Use to have a wide variety of toiletries in the room and restocked everyday. Now only a few and the rest you have to call housekeeping. Good luck...
3) There use to be aromatherapy diffuser in the room. Gone too...
4) Quality of buffet food (taste and choices) not as good as had been in the past. Got a strong sense that the usual Head Chef is gone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Some Hits & Misses

, Calgary, AB
2015-06-30
Upon arrival, our first impression of the reception was absolute disappointment for a 5 star resort. No one there to receive you to direct you to check-in, no one to offer a drink of water or anything and definitely no moist hand towels that I read from some of their reviews at tripadvisor. We advised them that this was our honeymoon and we got a piece of cake in our room and a cheap bottle of red and white wine and some rose petals on the bed. Underwhelmed is the only word that comes to mind.
The waiters and cleaning staff have a very good attitude and offer the very best service. We were very generous tippers and I think that might have helped. The Spice/Buffet restaurant has a show cooking open space where you can request the kitchen staff to reheat or cook something for you. However, there were a couple of ladies there who gave you a dirty look when you asked, which defeats the purpose of this open concept kitchen. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Waiters were very well trained and professional.
The weak points
Lack of service at Reception gave a terrible first and last impression of the Hyatt. Rude kitchen staff No free upgrades or perks for honeymooners
Certified

Beautiful but needs some improvement

, Toronto, ON
2012-06-24
The hotel itself is beautiful, clean and in a good location. The pool is great and they have small jacuzzi pools by the spa that are so relaxing. The bartenders and waiters are good. The problems I had were with food and the front desk. The food is hit and miss. The front desk staff sometimes just stand around instead of helping. There is no entertainment during daytime apart from pool volleyball. They cancelled the beach party and now have a Mexican night with bad food. After 3 days we transferred to Royal Playa del Carmen which was excellent (food and service). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, pool, nice rooms, free internet, free jacuzzi pools by the spa, good wait staff and bartenders, you can ride the mechanical bull on Mexican night
The weak points
Bad front desk, no daytime entertainment, some staff don't seem to enjoy their jobs, food can often be subpar for this kind of resort
Certified

Our The Royal in Cancun stay/vacation

, Maple, ON
2012-04-02
Excellent hotel deserving its 5 star designation!
A glitch in its reservation system had caused a great deal of inconvenience to us when arrived but the the hotel management and the Sunquest representative (Lisa) promptly solved the issue.
Despite this incident, we strongly recommend this resort (for everything what it has to offer) - and the weather had been gorgeous. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A truly 5-star hotel/resort
The weak points
Based on our experience, its reservation/confirmation system
Certified

Amazing honeymoon

, Brampton, ON
2011-12-02
The hotel was amazing, excellent service and food. Loved the butler service at the beach! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service from the crew. Great food and amazing drinks.
The weak points
time share hassel was the only weak point. Just say no its 2.5 hours a waste of your time..... and they do not like the answer NO! besides that everything else was great
Certified

BEST HOTEL!!!!!

, Whitby, ON
2011-11-02
Hotel was absolutely spectacular. They took care of every detail, right down to giving us champagne when we arrived. They truly are a premier resort. The food was unbelievable. Never bored of the food. Would go again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
decor, views, food, ambiance, premier liquor, I could go on....
The weak points
there were no weak points. Except any dealings I had with Sunquest.
Certified

Review of The Royal Cancun......

, Guelph, ON
2011-02-20
After a slow start to the vaction, the flight was delayed just over 12 hours, we basically lost a day of our vacation. We did receive a letter promising a travel voucher for $125/each when on board the aircraft for future travel with Thomas Cook, but this hardly replaces a lost day of vacation(to this date we have not received a voucher) On arrival the hotel was very impressive, aong with our room (swim up suite).Having arrived at the resort around midnight the night before it was only in the morning that to our dissmay we found that our room was right next to the activity centre with loud music from 10am until dusk, which made sitting on the terrace impossible. When asked if we could switch rooms we were told no, but for an extra $40/night we could upgrade to a different room. This was very dissapointing. The next day we were invited for a tour of the hotel which would take about 90 mins we were told, this turned out to be a time share deal that took 4 hours to get out of as closer after closer kept coming to see you after you had told them you were not interested. We paid extra for the "royal" service, but really didnt get any different service than we have received in any other resort we have stayed in. The room was sometimes not made up until late afternoon when we requested it first thing in the morning. Our cabana on the beach was nice but once again the service that we were supposed to get with the flag system never happened, we were lucky if we even saw a server. There were a few waitress's and waiters that were friendly, but again very sporadic, you could walk up to the bar and be ignored while they served other people. In the spa store we walked in and nobody spoke to us. In summary, the resort was a beautiful resort, but could be improved with an increase in service and some friendlier staff, and less of the push for time shares, it seemed that the only people recieving the "Royal Service " and pampering were the ones that had purchased a time share. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful room, beautiful hotel, beautiful beach
The weak points
Service needs to improve and the misleadign time share sales
Certified

Book your next vacation at The Royal Cancun

, Altona, MB
2011-02-14
Our experience was fantastic from start to finish. We had a swim up room, I am not sure I would pay for the upgrade every time, but it was good to try once. The food was exceptional, room service for breakfast, pelicanos on the deck for lunch and then Asiana, chef's plate, Maria Maria or Tapas for dinner. Chef's plate is a great experience. My wife said she would have been happy eating the tortillas and guacamole at pelcano's all week it was that good. And now we can have the guac at home since she took the cooking lesson on how to make it. We each had an 80 minute outdoor massage at 7 in the evening, it was great and it was a perfect time since the out door pool area was quite and relaxing by that time of day. I am in sales so I went on the real Club presentation because I was curious to see how far they went with high pressure tactics. Do not agree to go unless you enjoy high pressure sales for 2 plus hours (they say 90 min). The club is not a good investment in my opinion. 2 small complaint and one thing I would do differently. My wife and I have never been a fan of the in suite Jacuzzi tubs and that did not change at the Royal. When we filled it up and turned it on the typical brown floating scum came out of the jets. We drained it and used the outside tubs instead. the internet access in the lower rooms is non-existant, sometimes it worked on our balcony (which is a nicer place to sit then the room anyways) and other time I would go to the lobby. We were in room 107 which is in the Northern of the 3 swim up pool areas. I would pick one of the 2 southern swim up pools next time because the northern pool is right next to the speakers for the party atmosphere afternoon pool music. We looked at their sister resort next door and would not be intersted in going there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The best service around
The weak points
in room internet access
Certified

Great Trip

, Lucan, ON
2011-02-06
Flight was on time and arrived in Cancun at the expected time. We were first out of the airport and onto the bus, had to wait about 45 mins for a family that ended up not being there which was a bit of a pain, but the tour people can't go into the airport so it's difficult for them to check.
We were the only people dropped off at the hotel so check in went smoothly. We upgraded as our room only had two double beds, our new room had a king size bed and was on the 5th floor with an amazing view, cost an extra $40 a night, down for the quoted price of $80 a night.
Spice restaurant had a pretty small buffet but was ok for breakfast and dinner, never tried it at lunch time. All the other restaurants were pretty good, loved Pelicanos for its location, overlooking the beach.
Bar service on the beach was a bit slow, but the bar was really close so it wasn't a problem.
Evening entertainment was over a little too early, but we don't stay up that late so not really a problem, and there were tons of clubs really close by if you wanted to go out.
All in all a fantastic vacation would go back for sure.
Only thing of note that we would complain about was the fact that we did not have a tour rep at the hotel, nobody contacted us. The return flight time had not been modified nor had the pick up time for the bus back to the airport, luckily we were there early otherwise I think we would have been left behind. So got no advice that the tour rep usually gives you, never had this before. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, staff
The weak points
having to upgrade to get a king size bed, no tour rep, service on the beach
Certified

Excellent Service at the Royal in Cancun

, Burlington, ON
2011-01-03
My husband and I found the Royal to be an excellent choice for a vacation. The building was beautiful and the food, amazing! We especially loved the beach and the Maria Marie Restaurant.
We would definately return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The excellent staff
The weak points
Poor white wine choices
Certified

Everything we'd hoped for and more!!!

, West Kelowna, B.C., BC
2010-12-06
The Royal is top notch in every aspect. From the moment we arrived we were greated with cold towells and champagne. Check-in was quick and painless. Bags brought to our rooms immediately. The rooms were beyond our expectations with incredible views of the beach and pool area - in fact as we were part of the large family group we noticed that every room had fantastic views!! Restaurants and food were simply amazing!! Best of all was the beach and pool area. White sand, turqoise water - you could walk for miles in either direction. The pool was lovely and service at both the beach and pool was good. There are no nightclubs at the hotel but there is a lovely lobby bar where people congregate to have fun, the evening shows are good and the sports bar is a good time with pool tables, bingo etc. The staff at the hotel treated us with kid gloves and always put their hands over their hearts when you passed by. They are the best of any place we have gone before. We wouldn't hate to recommend this hotel to anyone - even those with the fussiest of tastes. Can't wait to go back!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, rooms, service/staff, food
The weak points
Lack of nightime entertainment
Certified

The Royal in Cancun a MUST!

, Grimsby, ON
2010-11-29
The hotel was impectable. Service next to none. 5 Diamond Rating and it was rated correctly. Food was fine dining at each meal. Can't say enough about the service and attention to detail. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spectacular
The weak points
Sunquest rep did meet with us however, after the "binder" with all the information went missing. Couldn't contact him. Sunquest promotion to swim with dolphins was not even known in their office. Couldn't participate!
Certified

Great Experience

, St George , ON
2009-10-26
Beautiful hotel. Service excellent, rooms great, nice pool and beach. Only negative was being told that the room we requested and paid for was not available and we would have to upgrade (not really worth it). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All around excellent hotel
The weak points
I'm unsure whether or not we were "had" with respect to upgrading when the room type we had paid for was unavailable
Certified

Wonderful vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2009-06-25
Beautiful hotel and all inclusive package. Would definitely stay there again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020