Riu Palace Peninsula

4.594.594.594.594.59
Riu Palace Peninsula
#1 of 61 hotels in Cancun
4.59 based on 91 reviews
Traveller pictures (18)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Neither satisfied, nor dissatisfied.

, Toronto, ON
2018-09-25
We reached this resort on 11th of september it was a rainy day. We chose this resort because it looked very nice and modern from the outside. The lobby has a great atmosphere to it and staff at the concierge are not well informed (I called the reception to ask if the they have a scale, they told me that bellboys have; however, when I went down to ask the staff at concierge they were like what the hell are you talking about we don't have that. Turns out on the check-out day bellboys actually have a handheld scale.)
Buffet is called Las Olas and I would say it is okay, on the other hand for lunch you can use the Italian restaurant located by the lobby (lamb racks were my favourite). For dinner we really enjoyed the food at the Krystal, Japanese and Steakhouse (Krystal has a cool manager named Eduardo very friendly and accomodating. Gotta try the lobster risotto).
The drinks are mostly premium, you get Don Julio Reposado for tequila and Chivas Regal 12yrs (or Buchanan) for scotch/whiskey.
Entertainment team staff are great. Raul and Alexis are great guys we went to City Nightclub with them and everything was perfect, night shows are enjoyable.
The pools are where I had problem with I believe they need a chiller. There are not enough trees to shadow over, hence, the pool water gets pretty warm. I hung out at Trinidad swim-up pool at times, yet I am skeptical about its cleanliness. People would drink like 10 beers and you would never see them leave the pool ( to be honest I don't blame them the closest washroom is by the building and you need to walk a bit to reach it. Other thing about the washroom is, it is damn cold) maybe they can use urine-revealing pool compound or build a washroom close to it. On the other hand infinity pool is great we had a foam party there and it was fun.
Gym is horrible I was very dissapointed. I am an athletic person and need at least an hour to spend at gym. Their machines are awful (2 ellipticals and 3 treadmills) and not well-maintained the weight machines make a screeching sound as you use them. The spa looks awkward and squished, yet the jakuzzi was fine (steam room never worked).
You have a 24 hr spot in the resort to get food and drinks and it is caller Sports Bar. I call it the de-facto zone becauee it felt like you leave the boundaries of the resort once you enter there. There is a foul smell there every day, it is a mix of hot dogs, buffalo sauce and detergent. First time I entered there I almost puked. They have old sandwiches and when I went there on a saturday night for a quick eats around 2AM (after Xplor Fuego) place was a mess there was nothing to eat and people were drunk out of their mind.
The room is pretty cool we had a nice view. I suggest you don't leave your valuables laying around thinking that it is a 5-star luxury resor like I did, one of my bracelets were on the top of the fridge by the coffee maker and it mysteriously DISSAPEARED.
Beach is also not bad you get shallow areas and deeper zones where you can see stingrays on the bottom. It is rocky though.
Overall we enjoyed our stay; however, not sure if I would return. This was our first Riu experience. We heard lots of negativity towards Riu brand before and I must say some were right about certain things. If you are in the little details like I am you shall clearly see that they are cheap when it comes to that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Infinity pool, Beach, Access to other Riu's, Buffet and A'lacarte (except Tamales), Room, Premium drinks, Environment/lay out, Some staff
The weak points
Sports bar, Some staff, Spa, Gym (horrible), Tamales Restaurant, Room service, Attention to detail, Trinidad swim-up (piss pool),
Certified

Fun and sun at Cancun

, West Vancouver, BC
2018-09-04
Hotel staff were great helpful and attentive. They handled questions and challenges quickly and efficiently. Hotel was clean and well maintained.

Kids club was good, hours were not ideal and expected more. Small group of kids and minimal on site activities other than the kids club room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff and food was varied and good quality
The weak points
Kids club was less than expected. Evening entertainment was varied from Very Good to poor. Dancers and shows were very strong. Bands for music and dancing was poor quality.
Certified

Winter getaway

, Calgary, AB
2018-01-30
Every area of the resort was spotless with never ending cleaning of public washrooms and pool areas, all staff were pleasant and helpful and food was top notch at all restaurants, would return for sure. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

The best

, Mission, BC
2017-01-24
The staff are exceptional the food was delicious the pools , bars and some of thee entertainment was great. The only problem we had our room was above the stage and the musi was very loud but when asked to be moved we were the next day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Palace Peninsula - Cancun

, Mississauga, ON
2016-11-11
We had a fabulous stay at the Riu Palace Peninsula in Cancun. We would definitely return for another visit.

The food/accommodations were excellent, the staff were friendly, and the location was perfect for us. After breakfast, we would go for 6-7 km walks along the path, then take the bus back to the hotel. After lunch, we would go for long swims along the shore. All this exercise was being done to mitigate all the tempting food and drinks we were consuming!!

Since we wanted to go casual throughout our entire stay, we only ate at the buffet, and didn't feel like we were missing anything at all. The buffet food was excellent, with lots of variety, even for 2 people restricted to a gluten free diet. There were actually gluten free pancakes available for breakfast! And the coffee was excellent. For those who have GF diets, I would recommend this hotel. Just call ahead to make sure the staff knows of your needs and be sure to bring along several cards, translated into Spanish, about your GF needs, in case one of the wait staff needs to carry it back to the kitchen. However, most of the wait staff did understand the concept of gluten free food, and that it could cause you grief if you consumed it. It doesn't hurt to let your on-site travel agent representative know about your dietary needs, too. Our agent offered to assist us with this, but we already had our bases covered and didn't need him to step in.

For those who enjoy snorkeling off the beach, as we do, you won't be able to do so at this resort, nor at any in the Hotel Zone in Cancun (that we could see). However, there are regular snorkeling tours available by boat, and you can take a quick ferry ride to Isla Mujeres and go to the Garaffon sanctuary, to snorkel there, all day (approx. USD$75 per person).

For this trip, we didn't mind that there wasn't much snorkeling, we just did a lot of swimming along the shore, using our fins, and enjoyed the sand, ocean and sun. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Riu Palace Peninsula is great value for the price we paid. The service, food, staff and location were fantastic. My husband and I have gluten free diets and we were very pleased with GF options provided by the Riu.
The weak points
While we loved our stay, there's always room for improvement! The margaritas could be made with actual lime juice, instead of lime mix; same with the pina coladas. The cheese topping for nachos could be hotter, in the Sports bar. That's all I can think of
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Tilbury, ON
2016-03-01
Very relaxing, close to everything rooms clean, staff excellent, food excellent, took the bus to Cancun shopping for a dollar, walked everywhere very safe, took the ferry to the island rented a golf cart and had a great day. will go back anytime a really great resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
very small beach area
Certified

Great experience

, Burnaby, BC
2016-01-18
Overall great place to stay, fairly convenient both ways.

Staff are great, food is good in buffet but so so in specialty restaurants.

Sand beach seems limited, pools and relax area are excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Amazing hotel

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-08
One of the top 5-star hotels in Cancun [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful panorama ocean view from every room
The weak points
No weak point
Certified

Would definately go again

, Fermont, QC
2014-10-10
Pool are amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool, gym
The weak points
beaches

Would definately go again

, Fermont, QC
2014-10-10
Pool are amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool, gym
The weak points
beaches

Beautiful establishment

, Vancouver, BC
2014-03-28
This hotel is stunning right from the beginning. Paid a premium price so was expecting very high standards. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful and clean.
The weak points
Customer service is below par especially at front desk. Much of how the hotel functions is unclear. Start searching for yourself. Restaurants are often full. U may not be able to eat at them if you don't book ASAP .
Certified

Awesome Resort. Best of all RIU's

, Orillia, ON
2014-02-20
Had a wonderful vacation. Food is excellent, rooms very spacious and comfy. 5 pools and 2 great beaches to choose from. Nightly entertainment done very well, daily entertainment very good. Check in very accommodating and fast. Excellent service, very very clean. Best internet access i have had in Mexico. Will definately return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The buffet is to die for. Extremely clean, you can eat off of the floors. All rooms have an ocean view.
The weak points
Swim up bar pool needs to be checked a little more often, as many young partiers like to stay in there all day. No direct bathroom at the pool area. Had to walk to main building.
Certified

Liked the Riu Palace peninsula

, Sturgeon Falls, ON
2014-01-09
Beautiful resort, great staff, good food. Shame weather didn't cooperate [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful resort
The weak points
soso weather
Certified

Disappointing!!

, St Albert, AB
2013-12-27
We stayed in the Adults Only Villas. Even though this hotel is almost new and gets great reviews, it fell below our basic expectations.

Pros: The customer service was very good with the exception of one person in the sports bar when we tried to get a coffee early in morning. Our favorite, was Karina in the breakfast buffet - we always sat in her section. The common areas inside the hotel are constantly being cleaned and the grounds/pool/garden areas were well kept. Since we were in the VIP area, we had our own adults only pool where it was quiet but we could still see the activities over at the main pool

Cons:
Room: The room was very stark, white and IKEA like. The furniture was poorly made and most of the drawers didn't close properly. There was no fan in the bathroom and since the room is very open-concept, when we took our showers the room filled with condensation and the floor and furniture were covered with a film of water. We started bringing pool towels back to our room at the end of the day to carpet the floor with so we could walk safely on the tile after showering. Because of this, the smell of mould/mildew in the room was overwhelming. It only took a couple of days for all of our clothes to be permanently damp and smell like wet dog.
Food: The buffet was definitely the best bet. There was lots of variety to our liking most days, but we very quickly tired of the lunch buffet especially since it was always such a gong show in that area with people zig zagging every which way. It was ok though, because they always put on some sort of food/BBQ at the main pool and it usually far exceeded what you get at the buffet. We weren't happy with the food at any of the a la carte restaurants. The only one that was ok was the restaurant that was reserved for the Adult only villas. The Japanese was the worst - the sushi rolls all had too much cream cheese.

We wouldn't return to this hotel, nor would we recommend it to anyone we know. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service, condition of gardens, lobby areas, pools
The weak points
Rooms, food
Certified

Amazing time!

, Hamilton, ON
2013-12-15
This hotel is amazing! Everything is immaculate, the food is excellent and there is a wide variety to choose from. It is a short distance to the shopping, night life and restaurants downtown. The staff at the Riu Peninsula go above and beyond and are some of the hardest workers I've ever met. The entertainment staff and shows at night are also excellent! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel grounds, staff, location, entertainment, food.
The weak points
The bathroom is kind of oddly designed.
Certified

Riu palace

, Lorette, MB
2013-12-02
good food, friendly staff beautiful hotel. fridge wasn't working on arrival and we mentioned at the front desk and it was replaced immediately. daughter needed crib for her 1 year old and they brought it up right away. can't say too much about the hotel. hope to go back again in the near future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
just an amazing hotel. more older people friendly as there are more ramps and fewer stairs.
The weak points
the weather wasn't the best, windy for four days. nothing to do with the hotel
Certified

Great Hotel, great trip.

, Mississauga, ON
2013-11-14
This hotel was well worth the price. The staff is very kind and the hotel is beautiful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great service, very friendly staff, beautiful hotel.
The weak points
No night life.
Certified

Extraordinary - Beautiful

, Kamloops, BC
2013-10-08
Our 6th trip to Mexico and by far one of our favorite places - friendliest staff are at the RIU resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, extremely clean, quiet area
The weak points
small beach, smoking allowed in the lunch area
Certified

Riu Mexico

, Scarborough, ON
2013-07-14
Great new hotel. Beautiful clean rooms, food was great, had everything. Buffet was better than restaurants. Steak house sucked, cook couldn't make steak right, person at another table complained too.

Hotel would not let you do a late check out like at 1 pm or 2 pm but insisted on 12 noon, or you have to pay extra. My room was not cleaned sometimes well after 4 pm, so they were just being dicks. One couple got their passports and wallet with credit cards and money stolen from front lobby/reception area. Crime in Mexico is disgusting, I had 2 pairs of beach sandals stolen right off the resort.

Mexico is over-rated. Why go there when the Caribbean is full of resorts, more safer and maybe cheaper.

Mexican's are the most corrupt people on earth. I advise not to go there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, great rooms, good booze, nice pool.
The weak points
Late checkout fees, thefts in lobby and on beach.
Certified

Okay

2013-06-16
Aesthetics and cleanliness of the resort was amazing. Loved most of the staff. Very helpful and polite. The food was disappointing. The only place we actually liked eating at was the Italian restaurant. The buffet was disappointing during lunch and dinner. Breakfast was decent. The beach was beautiful and we were constantly playing beach volleyball. Overall a good vacation, minus the food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach Cleanliness Service Decor
The weak points
Food
Certified

Sick at the Riu

, Ancaster, ON
2013-06-03
Hotel was new and well cared for. Wife got food poisoning (only ate at the resort) on the 2nd day which spoiled her vacation and by associated mine. Our room was above the outdoor stage and the noise would keep us awake. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
New, clean & well maintained
The weak points
Not the biggest beach. Noisy if your room was above the stage.
Certified

Amazing week, true luxury.

, Moncton, NB
2013-05-14
We arrived and were immediately greeted, our bags handled and up to our room to get settled in. We made dinner reservations right away and had no problem getting into any of the restaurants throughout the week. We especially enjoyed Krystal and Kulinarium.

The staff were great. We spent most of our time by the pool and the service was non stop. We tipped although it isn't necessary and the staff definitely appreciated it. The entertainment staff by the pools kept people engaged while still letting everyone just relax if they wanted.

Overall, we would return in a heart beat. For the price, was definitely one of the greatest values we've seen in an all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean resort, great foods at the various restaurants, amazing staff.
The weak points
Not a long beach front.
Certified

Our trip to Cancun

, Lethbridge, AB
2013-02-22
This was a beautiful hotel, not unexpected as we new it was recently opened.

The capachino bar was fabulous and the entertainment was top notch. We were of the opinion that the music was too loud. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The cleanliness and friendly staff.
The weak points
Loud music in entertainment.
Certified

Below Expectations

, Salford, ON
2013-01-15
Very nice hotel with the exception of the food was terrible and very little night life. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel with friendly staff and amenities.
The weak points
Very disappointed in the food at all restaurants. Did not have one good meal. Not much to do at night, other than the nightly shows which really did not impress me.
Certified

Needs time

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-14
Hotel was great being fairly new the rooms didn't have the musty smell to it. The VIP villas are great and the adult pool was good. The resort is mostly family oriented with many, many kids!! Lots of Europeans who love to drink (sometimes way too much). The food was not the greatest and you need reservations for all the A la carte restaurants even if they are empty (you need to tip the guy to get in). This resort has zero night life by 10:30 pm there's nothing to do; no night club for adults…can use a Casino.
All in all it was an ok resort but I probably would not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
new resort
The weak points
bad food and to many kids!!
Certified

WOW. Unpretentious Luxury

, Edmonton, AB
2013-01-12
We spent Christmas at the Peninsula. We usually stay at a Riu and wanted to see Cancun for the first time. We have been to the Puerto Vallarta area 14 times and everyone said Cancun is great.

Our initial impression on registration was very mixed. This couldn't be a Riu. So out of character with what we are accustomed to. Modern, purples and silver everywhere. And not of a Mexican flavour. Would we like this palace/

We were worried about lineups for everything, as this hotel has 562 rooms.

But we soon felt at home. No lineups, no false airs by patrons. Exceptional service by all staff. And we had an exceptional suite on the top floor. (With no lineups for elevators)

Food was equivalent to Country Clubs. We never ate at the Specialty restaurants as the buffet always had a great selection of seafood (lobster, crabs legs, shrimp and fish) and the best prime rib we have had for a long time.

6 bars with great selection of good mixed drinks and even very passable Scotch. And Chilean wine available with every meal.

EXCELLENT.
Thank you Sergio Tomas (Subdirector) for the great food.

Thank you all staff for the wonderful time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff, facilities.
The weak points
Bathtub in room not what we would have wished for.
Certified

5 nights at Riu Palace Peninsula

, Toronto, ON
2012-11-19
Just got back from the Riu Palalce Penincula. Hotel is really nice, clean and modern since it was built 6 months ago. Room was excellent with a great view (FYI - every room is ocean view). Beach area is small and one side is rocky, so not the best beach (can;t really go for a long walk). Food was pretty disappointing considering I have heard good things about Riu. Overall, good value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good view, nice room, modern amenities.
The weak points
Small beach area and bad food.
Certified

Great Place to Be!!

, Montreal, QC
2012-11-12
I stayed at that hotel for 5 days. I travel a lot, all over the world. That's a great place to stay! Brand new hotel! Everything was very clean, nice, neat, designer's work. I was very impressed with everything! Despite some negative comments about the food, I loved it a lot! Different choices of restaurants. They all had a delicious food! Rooms were cleaned sometimes twice a day! Free wi-fi all over the place, even at the beach. Great service from all the staff members and animators. Drinks were offered at the beach. I felt like they really cared about their job and were trying to do their best! I was very pleased and amazed with that hotel and will definitely recommend it to my friends and family! Totally will go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, brand new, neat, great food
The weak points
The water at the swimming pool was cold. The beach area is not too big.
Certified

Great Place

, Cambridge, ON
2012-11-11
Great service from all of the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great views from all rooms
The weak points
palace should have free shuttle to the other rius that we can use
Certified

Simply Amazing!

, Mississauga, ON
2012-11-09
Amazing service, beautiful resort, great beach, ALL SUITES ARE OCEAN VIEW, so don't bother paying extra to get "ocean view room"...

Great variety in food. Helpful, friendly, professional staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful staff and crew, no complaints.
The weak points
Breakfast starts at 7am, our flight had us leave the resort at 6:55am. Would have been nice if they took this in to consideration and started at 6:30AM for early travellers.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?