Melody Maker Cancun

Melody Maker Cancun
3.833.833.833.833.83
3.83 based on 54 reviews
#13 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (17)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Amazing Hotel!!!!

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-25
We just returned from a quick weekend getaway at the Melody Maker. We had an amazing time, please disregard the negative reviews, this place is AWESOME!!! If you want sun, sand and a great time, this is the place for you. The room was great, we upgraded to a suite on a higher floor for about $15/night and it was well worth it. No balcony, but the whole entire wall of glass doors opened up and it was better than a balcony. We had a view of the lagoon and skywheel. We could see the alligators at night swimming around. We have always booked beachfront, but we were glad we booked a different view this time. The pools are great, 2 swim-up bars. The bottom pool is VIP on the weekends, meaning you had to put your towels on the side of the pool, not in a chair, but not a big deal. They offered bottle service for the chairs/nooks, but we declined and the staff was not pushy about it. The bottom pool was a big party, lots of great music and on Friday afternoon they brought in a full rock band....it was a full concert at noon on a Friday, it dosesn't get any better!!!!!
The downsides: took a minute to get drinks, but the swim up bar was packed so that it to be expected.
The beach had seaweed and the waves were a little rough, but it was way better than the beach at home (oh by the way, there is NO beach at home, so is that really a downside??)
The food is so-so; but I could eat fries for 4 days if I had too, (did I mention there is no beach at home??????) They have a "food truck" by the pool for lunch which was great!!!
We walked into downtown Cancun (about 5 km) easy, safe walk. Tons of police and security. Loads of people downtown!! Lots of people "selling" their club/restaurant, but were respectful when we said 'no thanks".
The staff and people of Cancun are amazing. We felt welcome in their country the minute we landed. No one hustled us ever for hair braiding, drugs, etc (unlike some other countries we have traveled to).
If you want a relaxing, super chill vacation, with children and grandma, probably not the place for you, but if you want a fun getaway with amazing people, then this is the place for you. We will definitely be back!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools---amazing--reminds me of Vegas, but better!!! Music--they had a full rock concert on Friday afternoon in the pool Staff--super friendly Drinks--always strong!!! Room--amazing view and open shower with giant soaking tub!! Great mini bar in room
The weak points
Somewhat long wait times for drinks and dinner.

A 4.5 star that is really only a 3, good potential

, Laval, QC
2019-06-10
The hotel look nice due to recent renovation. Some of the area is need some work and it is very cheap like trying to cover. The food is not to the scale of a 4 star hotel.

The buffet is the worst the celling is dropping water on the food I saw insects in and on the food, ok it is Mexico I not expecting North America rules.

The worst part is the AC in the resorts ! They not designed for June weather in Cancun and they just can AC the buffet , the restaurant and the lobby, currently in the AC panel is 28c and super humid. They can't AC properly and the move us and other guests in better room to say they are sorry. The move everyone over the 9 and 10 floor where the AC is better. Still in the room is 25c. The room are nice but is you look carefully is still a cheap hotel renovated. I forgot about the hot water : none in the room.

The restaurants are ok , the sushi was fresh and good but they claimed to have 7 restaurants. We where there 10 days and only the Japanese and the Mexican was open. They also set the buffet outside since the AC is not functioning. When they say Italian it is the buffet transform in a 'italien' so they don't have 7 restaurants so don't look at the pictures on the web site they make you believe. It is the same restaurant is different angles. This is a bit of a fraud and the picture and the reality is different.

Then they have this VIP section where no one really use and want to pay because it is outrageous for this cheap hotel. Remember that on lot of the review site you have 3 stars. Start to be a cool hotel with a reputation then ask for extra.

Usually, I book 5 stars the issue is the beach with those new resorts the beach front is very bad. But , the melody maker a really good place for the beach and the sand is wonderful. They had seaweed but is it all Cancun resort and it is not the hotel fault. They keep the beach very clean.

The good about the hotel is the staff ! They are amazing ! Nice and very caring. Also the wifi is amazing work everywhere in the resort or the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, people , staffs , room
The weak points
Food, AC , restaurant , buffet

Terrible hotel

, Richmond, BC
2019-04-24
Upon entering into our rooms excited to finally settle down after a long and early flight, we realized there was no power in our room. Although we were exhausted, we were patient and notified the hotel staff that we can simply go downstairs for food while the room gets fixed. After eating, we came back upstairs and the power was still not working. We decided to ask the front desk if we could simply just switch rooms to which they agreed and said to wait in our room for one of their staff to escort us to the new room. We waited into the room for awhile but there was still no sign of anyone coming to get us. At this point we were a little frustrated with the situation and decided to go downstairs once again to speak with the front desk. I was very shocked and offended when Caesar, the supervisor at the front desk called us impatient and said we were rushing them when both my girlfriend and I have been waiting very patiently and trying to understand their side of things.

Matty from the concierge desk noticed this incident and offered a massage at their spa to make up for our inconveniences in which we accepted and were appreciative for. At this point we called it even and told ourselves the rest of the trip will be better. However that was just the beginning of issues that were to happen during our vacation.

1.) Near the middle of our week, we were randomly locked out of our room twice. The hotel said it was for security reasons but upon entering back into our rooms we checked and there were no valuables left out.

2.) Near the end of the trip, there was no hot water in our shower. Shortly after we called a technician to fix this the water had stopped entirely midway during my shower. I had to rinse the shampoo and conditioner out of my hair in the sink.

3.) Our thermostat was also unresponsive. In the first half of our stay, the temperature in our room was 30 degrees Celsius and would not lower. The second half of our stay it dropped down to an extreme cold temperature and would not heat up (on top of having no hot water in our shower this was very difficult to deal with).

I received an email at the end of our trip from the resort basically saying they don't feel accountable for these issues as they have have already made up for it to which I disagree.
I agree that any hotel or organization will experience the occasional technical difficulty. But what my boyfriend and I experience was not occasional, it was consistent throughout the week and in both our old and new room. The hotel wrote to me explaining that it was made up for with spa package and discount on excursion. However, when speaking with the manager at the concierge he was aware that we would be requesting for a partial refund from them in addition to the discount as the discount wasn't very much. He actually even suggested and recommended we accept the discount and start then also start the refund process. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food
The weak points
Terrible engineering and bad front desk first impression
Certified

Loved it

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-06
I had such a wonderful experience at this resort. Friendly and always attentive staff who each day went above and beyond to make mine and my friend's stay memorable. Beautiful beach, gorgeous hotel, lovely staff, FUN vibes. Thank you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean resort. Accommodating staff. Food fresh and amazing. Wifi perfect.
Certified

So awesome

, Waverley, NS
2019-03-05
This resort is beautiful. Best food. Great service. Checking in was a bit of a shit show.... But once that was done it was amazing. Would definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food. Rolling waves. Power soft sand. The bed- so great. The room. The a La Carts. The people.
The weak points
Check in. No live music.
Certified

Melody Maker has nightly entertainment

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-26
This hotel needs seriously to step up their entertainment program. A week before the departure they sent me an email stating that concerts were canceled for undisclosed reason for foreseeable future. Well I can live with that.
The problems started right at the reception. Reception was convincing us that there is no room that we ordered and offering an upgrade. Only after waiting for an hour in the lobby they caved in and gave us our room. There were the same empty rooms on our floor when we got to it. Don't give in to up-sell, if you want a balcony, book a balcony. Even then, one of our acquaintances spent 3 days out of 7 without a balcony even though he paid for one.
THERE IS NO PARTY HERE!!! If you book this hotel, because you expect DJs or some other form of nightly entertainment, don't. on the first night we were told that the party is on Friday and Saturday. Friday's "party" was in the basement by the washroom in the room of about 10 by 12 feet. the Saturday's party got canceled altogether.
On the bright side, the food is amazing and the alcohol is of a good quality.
In conclusion, don't fall for the name. It is the quietest hotel at night that I have ever been to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great Facilities are great
The weak points
There was no nightly entertainment, but promises that the party will be tomorrow :( Reception was convincing us that there is no room that we ordered and offering an upgrade. Only after waiting for an hour in the lobby they caved in and gave us our room.
Certified

Very nice 10 day stay

, Barrie, ON
2018-10-02
For the most part it is a great place to stay. (solid 7.5 out of 10) Most of the staff spoke English very well, and went out of their way to do anything they could for us. Our air conditioning in our room wasn't working so they moved us to a different room. We had an ocean view /pool view room with a balcony. It was spacious, clean, comfortable bed. We found it a little noisy at on the weekends due to a "beach party". Plus it is currently being added on to. (supposed to be complete in December) so construction noise was fairly steady. The buffet had lots of choices. The service in the a la carte restaurants was at times slow, and menu items were sometimes not as they were described. The pool and beach area were very spacious with lots of loungers and umbrellas and attentive staff. Several activities available within a short walk down the beach. Also, several adults only hot tubs are on the first floor. This was only the 2nd all inclusive resort we have been to so we will try others, but I would go back to the melody maker. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, pool, beach, customer service, breakfast and lunch buffet was nice, several restaurants to choose from. Short walk to other popular restaurants, convenience store and mall.
The weak points
A little noisy during the weekends with their "beach party and major reno happening. Some a la carte menu items weren't as described, service in a la carte restaurants sometimes slow.
Certified

Lovely Boutique Hotel

, Edmonton, AB
2016-04-23
It is a great modern boutique size hotel. Very fashionable common areas. Loved the spa. Friendly service. Comfortable rooms. Aveda products in rooms. Watched Nelly and Kelly Rowland make a music video there, so that was neat.

It is a good location to walk to Senior Frogs and the Fashion mall.

I have noticed since we have stayed the hotel has switched back and fourth between 18 and allowing kids. We took our kids and there was nothing for them to do activity wise. But you do have access to sister properties with great kids clubs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Modern Decor, Aveda Products in Room, Great Spa, Delicious Food.
The weak points
Hotel zone ocean strip is has a lot of waves. Few rooms have balconies.

The Best Of Mexico

, Brockville, ON
2014-02-17
This hotel was a 5* to us the service was the best we have had , and the food was delicious, dining as you look out at the water was so nice,the beach was the best part immaculate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service was fabulous, the food was the best we have ever had at other 5* resorts.The beach was also the nicest we have ever seen.
The weak points
No internet from our room but we didn't care we were on holiday.There is no other negative comment that could be made we will return it was a wonderful week could have stayed longer.
Certified

Spoiled completely!!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2012-02-07
After recieving the service and expieriencing the abience which Me Cancun has created, made our vacation full of good memories which will last a lifetime.The mgt and staff work beyond what normally you would expect from a resort,special thanks to Abraham,Natalia,Fransico,Nadel,Eddy and Israel. Honestly,the complete staff should be commended for their extreme efforts to help make your stay very pleasureable.All resorts should take lessons from Me Cancun.If you are lucky enough to have booked here your vacation will be one to remember.The ability to manage large groups,weddings,couples and singles was all orchestrated perfectly.We will return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Their continuous strive for customer satisfaction
The weak points
Our 2 week vacation was to short
Certified

Me Cancan stay

, Woodbridge, ON
2012-01-20
For an all inclusive package I would say it didn't meet expectations but the hotel itself was beautiful, clean. Having a disco or entertainment in the evening would have been best...lacking in that area [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
restaurants service and food selection were tops
The weak points
We had to continually ask to have water sent to our room. Also, what is all inclusive when you are being asked to pay extras for things.no dancing at all
Certified

ME Cancun

, Edmonton, AB
2011-04-21
We had a pretty good experience at the ME. It was a little different with having to make reservations for dinner every night and signing for drinks but that did not take away from the experience. Beach is very nice. Food is great. Our only disappointment was that the rooms have no balconies. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach/Food
The weak points
Slow service/Signing all the time
Certified

March 2011

, Laval, QC
2011-03-29
I had been to this hotel in 2004 and it was a lot better then. The bars closed at midnight, with the exception of Friday and Saturday which closed at 1AM. There was absolutely nothing to do at the hotel and NO entertainment. The overall service was also not so great. Basically, I would not go back to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is absolutely beautiful, although we could not swim too deep as the lifeguards would always wistle so that we come close to the shore.
The weak points
Quality of service, bars that close way too early, lack of entertainment
Certified

Good hotel

, Victoria, BC
2010-12-25
the hotel is really fancy and beautiful. we enjoyed staying there. I think is the from the top hotels in Cancun, there is one thing, just the service is late sometimes ,, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach , clean hotel , remance hotel.
The weak points
late in service , no smile from the a waiter
Certified

An excellent hotel

, Toronto, ON
2009-06-18
We loved the view and the pools. It was convieneant to sign up for one day tours and the service was great too. Me Cancun totally exceeded our expections. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful hotel, great location
The weak points
n/a
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020