Sun Palace

Sun Palace
4.384.384.384.384.38
4.38 based on 24 reviews
#21 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

So damn good

, Brandon, MB
2017-09-27
This was our second time to Mexico and Sun Palace and we were very happy to see that the standards or service had not changed if anything they got even better.

Our previous trip to Mexico involved lots of excursions and we were more interested in rest and relaxation this time and that is exactly what you will get at Sun Palace. There are plenty of options as to how you wish to relax as whether it be poolside (there is both a quiet and party side), or beachfront or even chilling out at the Awe Spa. We preferred the beach, coming from first hand experience if you have never seen or swam in the ocean this is a awesome way to be introduced to it the beach sand was soft the area was clean and the water was crystal blue and just like a bathtub.

This resort is not intended to be party central if your looking to pull all nighters at the bar and have the music blasting till dawn this ain't the place your looking for, but that being said Sun Palace did have evening entertainment going on each night we spent there (fire shows, beach parties, wine tastings, singers, dancers, etc).

Breakfast and lunch are both buffet style meal with chefs available to make you fresh and eggs, pancakes, waffles, steak, burgers, fish, seafood right there on the spot. I never once left there feeling unsatisfactory or that my breakfast or lunch was not enough to make me explode.

Out of the 4 places to eat at the resort we preferred the steakhouse which was located outdoors by the beach not only was the food good the atmosphere was wonderful I mean really how often do you get to enjoy your meal 30 yards away from the ocean? The other 3 restaurants were very good as well having their own style of good.

Our room was well stocked and clean and the room/turndown in the evening was excellent.

But the service is what makes this place so great the staff that work at Sun Palace do literally everything they can to meet your every need and do it with a smile on their faces.

We will be going back next year for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, atmosphere, food
Certified

Sun Palace Cancun hotel review

, Peterborough, ON
2016-11-30
Excellent overall [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff
The weak points
Arrival from airport at noon. Unable to access room or place to change from winter clothing for two hours.
Certified

Wonderful Place

, Courtice, ON
2013-05-31
My girlfriend and I just got back from the Sun Palace It was a wonderful vacation. Let me tell you about our trip. We spent two weeks at the Sun palace. First off –it is very close to the airport so we didn't have to travel 2 hours after getting off the plane. We were greeted at the doors cold cloth Champagne etc. Check in was right away. We asked to be shown our room (junior deluxe) and the Concierge room. We decided to upgrade to the concierge using the resort credit some.
The food, the hotel are 5 start. The staff is incredible and can't do enough for you. The beach is excellent. I have read report about the building blocking the Sun out at 3 Pm. The building does somewhat block the sun, but I think by that time most people have had enough sun and welcome the shade. If you are a sun worshipper then you could move to the beach area were the sun is intense until 7 pm. We have travelled a bit and we only go to 5 star hotels. In 8 or 9 vacations in Mexico, Jamaica, Dominican etc we found that this hotel to be very nice and an excellent value for the money. We have stayed in Riu's, Sandals, and Iberostars etc so my comparison is at a pretty high standard. What I found is for the same money for a week at the other places we stayed for two weeks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food, hotel and room were nice, Staff are probabaly the most helful we have met.
The weak points
This hotel has two gruoops of people, honeymmoners and poeple 50 ish that can leave their kids at home.That being said I think the hotel should focus more on romance
Certified

Sun Palace

, Leduc County, AB
2013-03-27
Great resort for the over 50 traveller without children. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food quality, taste and selection were great.
The weak points
Be aware of the hard sell for the Elite Vacation Opportunity traps.
Certified

Amazing

, Kirkland Lake, ON
2013-01-20
Could not ask for anything else. I have been to several palace resorts and they all have been great. If you want quiet, relaxing and excellent food and drinks, this is the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service was impecable! No lines or waiting at the a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
A few rocks at the beach when entering the ocean. If you go left 30 feet there are no rocks. Not a big deal but i couldn't think of any weak points.
Certified

Awesome Honeymoon at the Palace!!

, Milton, ON
2012-09-12
This resort was great, the staff went above and beyond, the rooms and food were fantastic! My husband and I especially enjoyed the Thai Resturant.

We will definately go back! Thank you to everyone at the Sun Palace who made our stay enjoyable :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, rooms and pool bar were all great!
The weak points
Nothing notable
Certified

AMAZING!!

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-10
Amazing customer service. Hotel credits have limitations to them such as max $300 at the spa but its free money so still great.

We had an amazing time! Will go back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
customer service, hotel credits, rooms.
The weak points
food, beach too short.
Certified

Paradise

, Edmonton, AB
2012-03-16
Absolutely top notch. Hotel offered everything we could ask for. Took advantage of the Unlimited Golf Package, this was a great value for the price. Would highly recommend to the golf enthusiast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff went out of their way to make our stay memorable.
The weak points
Hotel promotes timeshare participation and can be highly aggressive upon arrival, however did not push this later in trip
Certified

Very nice

, Ottawa, ON
2012-03-05
Great resort but found the food was not always great. Hit and miss. The bathroom in the bedroom scenario takes some getting used to as well. Be prepared to lose the sun at 2:30 in the afternoon due to the configuration of the pool/hotel. The resort credits is a fabulous way to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Strong points are proximity to airport, only 15 minutes by shuttle. Good food and comfy beds. Great golf.
The weak points
Losing the sun at 2:30 pm. The bathroom in the bedroom. The food could have been better, more variety and food could have been hotter.
Certified

Perfect!

, London, ON
2012-03-03
We had an awesome time! The resort is clean, the staff are great and the food was amazing. We met some really great people as well. If you want a more active day, go to the volleyball pool. If you want a quieter day, go to the quiet pool. There was always something to do, and you can choose how you want to spend your day. The restaurants were fabulous. I mostly read great reviews, but did see some that said a few negative things. The way I see it, if you have something to complain about this place - I have no idea what kind of life you live at home since this was just glorious. Yes, using the resort credits had a procedure you had to follow, but who cares - you are getting $1500 to use - what is 20 minutes of your time to tell them where you would like to use the credits!! Not like you have to go to work...lol. Honestly, everything was great. If you are thinking of going here - do it, you won't regret it at all. The only thing I can't grade well is the front desk - they really don't know how to answer any questions, and they just tell you to ask Public Relations or to call your provider (for us, SunWing) they will give you the number, but won't let you use the phone - you have to go to your room, so for that I will grade lower. OH - and the internet was terrible. Sometimes there was a signal, sometimes not at all. I didn't care, but my boyfriend did have to do some business and was frustrated by that. He ended up having to call Canada - but calls were free so that was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, drinks, entertainment, great room, awesome view of the ocean, great staff, clean
The weak points
Front desk, very very poor internet
Certified

Great hotel

, Beaconsfield, QC
2012-01-04
Great hotel. We got a room on the 5th floor with big balcony
This hotel is very nice resort to go as a couple
Italian restaurant is like a good on in Montreal
Overall food is the best I had on a resort

The staff really Try and please u. Almost as if they r a bit insecure. When I went to the bathroom the hostess and even manager asked me if food was too my liking . I guess the thought I was leaving
Also the senior Luis Ortega at front desk is the best.
He is a very good guy so I tip him (which I normally don't do)

Beach in this area is wayyyy better than riu resort
Best to take upgrade and pay extra for the premium bracelet (400 bucks more)
U get wayy better beach chairs - like in Cannes France. U also get a complementary lobster steak dinner on the beach better pillows that smell like whatever u want if u want that. Orthopedic pillow too. U also get free calling to USA and canada and u get a better room with consierge sevice. It's worth to pay for the upgrade. We did that on our second day.
Even if u dont care for sented pillows or special beach chairs the hotel is great. U can always do romantic dinner on the beach
This hotel is perfect for couples. Not for a group of guys looking to ravage the city. More of a romantic place to bring your wife or girlfriend or whoever you love to romance them.

I would go back to this hotel yes I would. I like my stay alot and by far best hotel on the strip bang for your buck.
It's just a 10 minute ride away from malls and action of Cancun yet quiet to relax. Perfect.
I am glad I booked sun palace And stayed in Cancun than playa carmen. This hotel is great

Lester and Morgan
Montrel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Chicken itza tour (Tour operator trying to always sell us stuff and asking for tip)
Certified

Wonderful memory

, Toronto, ON
2011-12-02
We selected this resort based on the reviews and are very happy with our decision. Service is excellent in this resort and staff are super friendly and helpful. We were given credit to use SPA and professional photographs for free. A completely free room service and unlimited calls to Canada and USA were included in the package, where we have paid for both of them in other All inclusive resort in Cancun last time.
The best part is by selecting this resort you can use services in all other Palace's All-inclusive resorts. We had dinner once in Cancun Palace which is 10 minutes away and once in Beach Palace and enjoyed the nice view of skybar in the Beach Palace.
Overall a wonderful place to go, highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service, location, Free complete in roo service
The weak points
Food is ok but not excellent, do not expect too much.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020