Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas

4.374.374.374.374.37
Omni Cancun Hotel And Villas
#20 of 61 hotels in Cancun
4.37 based on 62 reviews
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great Hotel and Villa

, Mission, BC
2016-05-10
I would like to say this hotel is amazing, the staff are always happy and friendly. This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at in Mexico. There are several places to eat, you do not have to dress up or wear long sleeve shirts at dinner or anytime for that matter. The hotel is always air conditioned. The beach is kept clean compared to most of the hotels on the strip. Rooms were great. This hotel is close to everything and the buses run every two minutes. The Drinks are good and you do not have to keep going back because their drink cups are big. They also give bottled water only! most places will give you a cup of water. There are several places to lounge and suntan without being over crowded. I will definitely be going back more then once to this place. Free Wi-Fi and free safety deposit box as well. no extra charges like most places in Mexico! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean!! Has several outside huts to order from, which has basic food like burgers , sushi hut , great sandwiches' and salads
The weak points
I would say its more for adults and not geared towards kids. The buffet does not offer a wide variety
Certified

Cancun Omni Experience

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-05
An excellent choice from its location, the rooms, the staff and all the services offered by such a quality all inclusive hotel. It was a fair price for 5 star treatment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Timely and quality service and the ocean view rooms
The weak points
More umbrellas on the beach and around the pools. Internet access could be spotty at times but patience is a virtue.
Certified

Omni cancun

, Lorette, MB
2014-01-17
Dont hesitate and have a fabulous time. Would go back in a heartbeat. Not a party place though if that's what you are looking for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great place-don't have a negative thing to say.
The weak points
Rooms are a bit dated but very clean and nice
Certified

Wonderful!!!!!

, Ayr, ON
2014-01-03
hola amigos....just finished 2 week stay from dec 18-jan 1st. I have done 21 cruises and 15 all inclusive vacations so I wanted to put in my 2 cents. The food, drinks, waiters, bartenders, cleaning staff are all great! For breakfast and lunch don't visit the buffet......Piña Colada restaurant(on the beach)for breakfast is all cooked off a menu. Lunch, piña colada, sushi bar and pool bar all offer great selections. For dinner the buffet is very good as are the 2 specialty restaurants. If you learn how utilize the different restaurants to your advantage then you will never find the food getting redundant. The buffet serves a Different themed dinner each night, and is some of the best buffet food I have had. My only negative aspect of my stay was nothing to do with the hotel, it is the people vacationing here....PLEASE try to use the word "please" when ordering or asking for things from these wonderful Mexican people, they are incredible. Lastly if you can afford to come to cancun, you can afford some tips. The staff work so damn hard yet people seem to cheap to tip for drinks, and especially at breakfast lunch and dinner, it's quite sad actually.....overall if you can't enjoy it here you probably have many more issues in your life because this place can be paradise if you allow it to! Gracias omni and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food cant say enough
The weak points
having to leave, manners of patrons visiting resort
Certified

OMNI CANCUN HOTEL

, Mississuaga, ON
2013-08-11
- Stayed in this resort for a week
- Very nice beaches, hotel had a program for releasing baby sea turtles which was nice
- Overall very clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Clean, excellent beach.
The weak points
- Internet Wifi should be included & slow at the public computers - Should provide more food choices, especially the morning buffet. More fruit. - Room services does a nice job at cleaning the room, but does not go the extra mile (i.e. swain towels)
Certified

Electrifying Vacation! (inside joke)

, Fredericton, NB
2013-04-23
I truly loved my time at the Omni while vacationing with my niece and 2 of her friends. The hotel was beautiful and very clean. The staff would go out of their way to be helpful. The food was delicious! The pools and beach were magnificent! I would not hesitate to recommend this Resort to anyone. My only complaint was that some people are really rude when it comes to the use of computers in the Business Centre. There is a time limit of 15 minutes per person and some people were on it for a much longer time. If there was some way that the Hotel could monitor this, that would be great! I love travelling to different places and in all of my travels, the Omni Cancun Hotel is right up there! I will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I think the staff are exceptional! They are all such hard workers, always ready to be of service. They always greeted you with a smile and went out of their way to be of help. You could tell that they were very appreciative & took pride in their work.
The weak points
Access to a computer was sometimes annoying. Someone should be monitoring the amount of time people spend on the computer or have some kind of timer as some were spending way longer than 15 minutes. Some people are very ignorant that way.
Certified

Great Vacation for price

, Ottawa, ON
2013-04-15
We loved this hotel. I think it is a 4 to 4.5 star - the buffet restaurant was typical, maybe a bit better than typical, the other restaurants very very good. The room was clean, had a nice balcony and the minibar was restocked everyday.
The grounds and the pools were well maintained, and the service staff were fantastic. The beach was AMAZING. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, reliable food, very clean in all areas (rooms, grounds...) short drive to airport
The weak points
The kids club seemed a little weak, but there was enough other things for kids to do.
Certified

Nice Resort!

, Coquitlam, BC
2013-03-02
We had a great time at the Omni. Nice room, beautiful view! (we had an ocean view room). The room and hotel grounds are very clean.

All of the staff were so friendly and accomodating! Good food, especially the a la carte restaurants. Be sure to bring dress clothes though. The Italian restaurant expects slacks and a button down shirt for men.

The beach was beautiful. White sand and turquoise water. A little bit choppy during our stay, but it probably changes throughout the year?? Still swimmable though. The pools are nice and had games, fitness, etc. during certain times of the day which was nice. One not so good thing is that people reserve loungers early in the morning. Not sure if this is a trend at all hotels there though?? So go down to the pool/beach in the morning and put your towel on a lounger to reserve it as people leave there stuff on their chairs for the whole day basically. We didn't do it every day and still managed to find a lounger, but they were definately scarce.

This hotel seems suitable for for everyone, but if you want nightlife right in the hotel, then this isn't the hotel for you as there is only a lobby bar in the evening. But it is on the "strip" so it's very close to all the bars/clubs outside. The entertainment staff goes to a different club every night and you can head out with them, or go on your own with a very quick cab or bus ride away.

The only weak point would be that there are timeshare staff in the lobby sometimes that may come up to you. If you're not interested in timeshares just be firm with your "no" and walk away.

Sign up for the "Select Guest" on their website before you go and get perks like free wifi, etc.

In a nutshell, we had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything! Especially the staff and beach
The weak points
Timeshare staff
Certified

TERRIFIC PLACE!

, North Vancouver, BC
2013-01-24
It was the best hotel that I stayed in. The staff were so accommodating, sweet, generous and worked so hard to please everyone's needs. No complaints at all! :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Impeccable service and wonderful staff who had smiles on their faces constantly. Did everything in a timely manner and attended to everyone's needs without hesitation.
The weak points
Air conditioning unit was difficult to control. Ran too cold most of the time and did not have any option to just have "a fan only." Caught a bad head cold from the chilled air flow.
Certified

Great time overall

, Etobicoke, ON
2013-01-22
This was timeshare hotel in the past so we got stopped by timeshare people right away and asked to join their meeting, after 10 minutes of saying no we went upstairs only to be wake up at 8AM for appointment… After telling them firmly NO they didn't bother us again.
Restaurants and bars had excellent service, we didn't have to wait for anything. Food was nice but very small variety, I got bored on second day. Sushi bar was a highlight, and DaVinci restaurant was quite good. If you are food lover it is not place for you. Beach was great, location was great close to all attractions.
Room service was disaster, we were leaving 5$ tips every day and still got very bad service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Sushi bar -Waiters -Beach -Rooms -Sushi
The weak points
- room service - food - bathroom
Certified

A hotel for family with young kids

, Richmond Hill, ON
2013-01-21
We have 2 kids, 6 and 3, they loved the hotel. It was a 4 star or 4.5 star overall. The only issues was the food in the buffett restaurant was lack of change. But everything else was VERY good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Food in the buffett restaurant
Certified

Good value for money spent

, Georgetown, ON
2013-01-12
Hotel was as expected. Have stayed at nicer hotels but this hotel was good value for price paid. Service was excellent. Drinks were excellent. Beach was beautiful. Overall good vacation. Kids had a blast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and the beach ... we tend to tip so we got great service
The weak points
The beds ... food was mediocre
Certified

Cancun Omni Amazing Hotel

, Brossard, QC
2012-04-22
I had read good reviews on this hotel, I'm very glad i chose Omni, from cleanliness to professionalism, this hotel deserves 5 stars!!
We traveled with our 18 month old, 15 min from the airport, 10 min to dowtown by bus to buy souvenirs an walk around, it was very well located. Staff is very nice and helpful, food is delicious, although we didn't get to go to a la carte restaurant due to baby's sleep hours.. we didnt really get bored of the buffet. Pina colada on the beach has delicious food, we ate mostly there at lunch...
Anybody traveling with kids, this place is perfect. I dont know about the kid's club cuz mine is still young for that but apparently it's entertaining. Definitely sign up as an Omni guest, its free, on their website... You get free internet and coffee or juice and newspaper everymorning. Oceanview is beautiful, it's just a bit noisy til animation finishes. i thought the baby would wake up but he didnt :) it finishes early so we don't hear much after that.
I would def recommend this hotel, I can not wait to go back again!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is impeccable, service is beyond your expectations, really. They work very hard and not expect any tip in return, which i think everybody should tip them.
The weak points
The one and only thing i would complain about is that there's no ramp inside the hotel. once you're outside it's ramps everywhere to get to the beach, it's perfect! But i think they should put something next to the stairs for families with strollers..
Certified

AWESOME

, Brampton, ON
2012-04-22
Hotel Amenities, Staff & Food was amazing. Beautiful Hotel. The beaches were nice but the ocean was not safe to swim in the entire time we were there. If you want WIFI fill out the postcard they leave in your room and give it to front desk, other wise they will charge you for the internet and not tell you about the free option. Lots of stairs if you have a stroller. Overall amazing hotel, nightly entertainement, however there is no club on the resort. Pool & Beach Side Service, Room Service, Mini Bar re-stocked Daily, everything was so beatiful its hard to come home!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
- Beautiful - Great Food - Great Service - Clean
The weak points
- Beach & Pool Side service was a little slow. - Main stairs did not have a ramp, however staff was helpful getting the stroller up and down the stairs.
Certified

Excellent place to stay

, Brampton, ON
2012-04-20
The hotel was wonderful. It was very family- oriented and definitely not a place for the party crowd. The hotel staff could not do enough for us- to the point where we started to feel guilty about it. They are the most friendly/helpful staff I have ever encountered at a hotel. They had smiles on their faces all day long and believe me their days are very, very long. The pools and beaches were great. There were many places to choose from to eat especially at lunch and contrary to the reviews I read before we left, the food was excellent (apparently they have a new chef). The food at the a la carte Deva was amazing. Book your dinners for the a la carte restaurants as soon as you check in because they get booked up very quickly. The rooms on the lagoon side are great because it is so much quieter than being on the pool/ocean side. The only thing the hotel could do would be to put felt pads on the bottom of the chairs in the hotel rooms- the scraping of chairs late at night or early in the morning was quite loud. That tiny thing was the only thing we could think to complain about- that was how great the hotel was.
The management should be very grateful and proud of their staff- from the waiters,the egg lady at breakfast and the cleaner on the beach- they were all exceptional. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff
The weak points
none
Certified

Great vacation

, Ajax, ON
2012-04-06
Outstanding experience at Omni Cancun! Great service all around. Good food and amazing beach. We loved the overall experience and we have nothing to complain about [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and cleanliness. Beach was beautiful. Great location. Great hotel design
The weak points
Too many stairs to get to the beach. Beach chairs were abit uncomfortable.
Certified

Good hotel

, Windsor, QC
2012-03-04
good hotel, always hate this time share crap. Restaurant a la carte could of been
one more because Italian was always full. Did not even get a chance to go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Location, Drinks, Mayan Staff
The weak points
Not enough a la Carte Restaurants, Always full.
Certified

Omni hotel

, Oakville, ON
2012-03-02
Overall the hotel is very nice. Service was excellent and any small complaints were handled immediately. We had requested a king bed and upper floor and got the 1st floor (labelled 14th floor, but it's one floor above ground) with two double beds. They didn't have any higher rooms until Sunday (we arrived Friday) but gladly moved us to the 18th floor into a king room on Sunday. The hotel is a bit dated... the lobby is dark and closed in... not the bright, wide open lobbies we're used to in Mexico. But all in all the rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The beach is fantastic. Always clean and nice white sand. It's usually fairly wavy due to the trade winds. The food was excellent (especially DaVinci's) although the buffet was smaller than we were used to. But still... plenty of choice and very tasty. 24 hour room service was excellent. Overall... a solid 4 star hotel. We would recommend it for it's good value, although we'd probably try something different next time. Because we like variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was fantastic. Friendly staff who consistently went out of their way to help and make our vacation enjoyable. Any problems were addressed immediately and to complete satisfaction. Food was very good, even though the buffet was smaller than most.
The weak points
No 24 hour restaurant (but room service was excellent and available 24 hours.) The daytime snack restaurant was quite restricted in its menu. Service staff at the poolside tables were the least friendly. Still OK but not up to the usual standard.
Certified

Great trip

, Bolton , ON
2012-02-23
Great location and property, nicest beach out of the 5 properties I have visited in Cancun. Food was standard not the worst not the best. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
hardworking staff beautiful property and beach.
The weak points
noise
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Steinbach, MB
2012-02-18
we had a wonderful vacation at the Omni! The staff are wonderful and very polite. the food selection is very good and the resort grounds are in meticulous condition. They rearraged our booking to give us joining rooms, as we had our 3 kids with us. the hotel was quiet so sleeping was never a problem. love all the lizards every where. the pools were fun for the kids and the beach was amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff was very friendly, resort was clean, the beach was amazing, the food was good, our rooms were very nice. we would go again in a heart beat.
The weak points
there are a lot of steps on the resort, harder for some people to get around. they do not have water bottles in room, we always needed to pick them up at the bar.
Certified

Great holiday!

, Mississauga, ON
2012-02-14
Clean hotel, great staff,good food.
Nice beach with bars( fantastic sushi bar!) Great vacation ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic staff!
The weak points
Cultural activities
Certified

Small, clean & beautiful

, Ottawa, ON
2012-02-11
Though I found this resort a bit on the small side, it is really a 5 star. The rooms are beautiful and comfy. Public washrooms are the best and cleanest I have ever seen. There is only one restaurant that you can reserve but it was first class. Personnel is awesome and smiling. I was alone and never felt out of place. Met some great folks! Beach is great, cold sand with miles of it to walk on. I recommend the Omni Cancun for families and older folks. There were a bit too many children for my taste and no singles at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Look for deals. Some folks paid $1,800 but I paid less than $1,000. Free internet but you have to remind kids of the 15 minute limit. Good wi-fi. Close to airport and Cancun. Bus service every 2-3 minutes to go to town. Safe for kids and singles.
The weak points
Smallish resort and too many children.
Certified

Great Hotel

, Okotoks, AB
2012-02-10
The Omni Cancun was a wonderful place with a spectacular beach. The only issue we had was their lack of king sized beds. We requested one before arriving but were told on arrival that there wouldn't be any available until the next day. We knew many couples who didn't even get the opportunity to move to one. The service was great and the food was great. There is a wonderful sushi bar as well as a great poolside snack bar to get very tasty grilled chicken sandwiches etc. This is a great place for couples and families. It is not a party hotel. In fact, the only place to hang out with friends and have some drinks is the lobby bar which features a less than talented singer or two in the evening. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great beach, good food, great jacuzzi swim up bar, nice room, friendly staff.
The weak points
King sized beds were hard to come by, no interesting night life, only had a lobby bar to sit in during the evenings.
Certified

Omni Cancun Feb. 2012

, Kitchener, ON
2012-02-10
We booked 2 rooms for our family of 4. We requested adjoining rooms but were given a 3 bedroom villa at no extra charge. Which was fantastic. We all had our own bedroom, bathroom & bellcony. The staff were all very friendly and helpfull. Food was good never had a bad meal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Villa was perfect.
The weak points
Entertainment started too early ( 7:30 ) We ended up missing it most nights as we were still dining.
Certified

MARCH 20 2011 VACATION

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-04-08
WE WERE TREATED GREAT BY THE HOTEL STAFF RIGHT FROM THE TIME WE CHECKED IN.TWO OF THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL WERE EXCEPTIONAL.THEIR NAMES WERE TOMAS AND MELCHAR.THEY MADE SURE THAT OUR TIME AT THE HOTEL WAS PERFECT BY LOOKING AFTER EVEN THE SMALLEST DETAIL. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE FOOD WAS GREAT. THE SERVICE WAS GREAT.THE BEACH WAS GREAT.
The weak points
THE AIR CONDITIONER IN OUR ROOM HAD BE FIXED TWICED DURING OUR STAY.
Certified

2nd Time at this hotel

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-15
Fantastic. My only wish would be that they have a sports type bar or games room that had a pool table or dart board so after dinner you could do something at the resort rather than have to go downtown for the same [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, food, location,
The weak points
no games room for after dinner play time
Certified

Omni cancun

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-03-05
A great resort, would definitly stay there again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent service from staff
The weak points
calling cards could not be used there
Certified

Had a great time.

, Malone, NY
2011-02-28
We have traveled throughout the Cancun area many times and found the experience at the Omni very positive.
We recommend that you go the Omni Website and register as a preferred guest.
You can then have coffee/tea/juice and a newspaper delivered to your room each morning for no extra charge. Quite nice.
We had the all-inclusive package and were still charged to use the mini-bar in the room. We have never seen this before.
Staff was very friendly with few exceptions. We did try to exchange US dollars into pesos and were told that we needed to give them our tourist card and passport. Maybe this is new but we did not have to do this last year.
Food was very good. Wait staff was very good. Some were so good that they knew us by name.
The only negative was the DaVinci (a la carte) restaurant. We have a 3 year old and were told that we could only eat there at 6pm and there were no spots for the entire week. We were told it was so that the kids could all play together but really? Our daughter would be sitting with us eating her meal.
We would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff friendliness and attentiveness Beach
The weak points
da Vinci restaurant - lack of availability if you have children. All-inclusive and still have to pay for the mini-bar in the room.
Certified

Great experience

, Vancouver, BC
2011-02-20
great experience!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was amazing
The weak points
staff did look for tips often
Certified

Great location, perfect service & awesome time!

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-02-14
I travelled to the Omni with my boyfriend and another couple. We are all 27-33 yr old and like to have a great time. We were definitely not let down, the beach is exactly as advertised, the service was some of the best I have ever rec'd (props to Consuela our beach waitress and Juana in the lobby bar, you both made our trips!) and rooms/hotel were super clean. I had contacted the hotel before we arrived to see about getting rooms close to our travel buddies, they gave us an oceanview adjoining suite and we could not have been more pleased!

It's a shame there is only one buffet, but food changes everyday and if you are on top of things book your alloted DaVinci reservations with the concierge the day you arrive so you can mix it up a bit. Pina Colada restaurant is a must stop at the beach and we spent many, many happy hours in the jacuzzi at Kuku's beach bar.

A few tips, bacon is available from the buffet - just ask your server for it! You are able to order directly from the menu in the buffet if you wish and ice cream is also available served to you, just ask! If you don't feel like getting up from your lounger during the day just ask your server to bring you a lunch menu - you can order whatever you like (incl sushi) and have it brought to your sun spot. (icecream incl!)

Also, for those who like to party as we do... Hotel is pretty much closed at 1am, but if you want to experience Cancun nightlife the bus stop is directly out front of hotel and is less than 10 mins to hotel zone bars and shops. Bus is 8.5 pesos! We signed up for the Party Hopper one evening through the Sunwing rep and we had the best time! If you want to see nightlife while not having to tip your paycheque for a drink this is the way to do it, plus if you've never seen Coco Bongo - YOU MUST GO!

I would not hesitate to stay at the Omni again and would recommend it to anyone looking for good value and excellent beachfront. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service staff, cleanliness, beach/pool areas
The weak points
lack of a la carte restaurants
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?