Riu Palace Las Americas

Riu Palace Las Americas
4.384.384.384.384.38
4.38 based on 85 reviews
#19 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (28)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2020-03-02
We very much enjoyed our stay at this Riu Palace. The service was excellent, and the staff were very friendly. It's a beautiful hotel, kept in tip top shape. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Buffet had a great selection of food. Nice that there was both a quiet pool (our choice) and a party pool for those who preferred that.
The weak points
Mini bar service-thought they ere supposed to come daily, but twice we had to call for someone to come. An ice cream stand/shop in the lobby would be a nice addition.
Certified

Girls trip

, Vancouver, BC
2019-02-25
WOW!!!
We are planning our trip next year already!
Totally a 5* hotel.

Beach is small .the only complaint I had!
Services the best I have ever received in Mexico.

We are doing it again!

Thank you for making wonderful memories. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
5 star as advertised
The weak points
Beach area to small
Certified

Amazing

, Ottawa, ON
2018-11-19
Amazing stay
Clean,courteous,friendly, I can not say enough how much we enjoyed our stay at Rui Palce..
The food was fresh, abundance and good quality .
We did not even go to the restaurants they available any time we decided to stay with buffet a great choice. Our room was beautiful ,clean and well maintained by the maids .
I am planing to return soon.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent
The weak points
N/A
Certified

Paradise

, St Leonard, QC
2018-09-09
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left it was just amazing.Hotel is just beautiful,the food is amazing,staff always ready to help ...we have been travelling for years and I have never gone to the same resort twice .... I would definitely go back to this one our best vacation ever. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was just perfect.
The weak points
Nothing negative to say.lola
Certified

EJ Canada

, Edmonton, AB
2017-07-03
I had an amazing time at the Riu Las Americas. They served me champagne upon my arrival, and i had a receptionist calling my room about 3 times during my stay just to make everything was okay and if i was happy with the services so far. The food was excellent as well as the booze(had abt to much id say). The room was clean, with a comfy matress, the servers were very kind and there was multiple activities for entertainment. I would give it a yes if i have the opportunity to visit again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Less than expected for a Riu

, Oakville, ON
2016-04-15
Hotel is dated and moldy smell. Staff are very friendly. Food was very good. Japanese and Krystal restaurants have exceptional food. Weather and sand were great. Enjoyed kayaking and hobicat sailing. Enjoyed that these water sports were included in the price except for the provincial park charge ($3 per person for the entire stay). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, staff friendliness, white sand,and great weather. Local flea market shopping mall across the street, if you look for it. Nice that the rooms have electrical plugs that don't need an adaptor. Have nice showers and hairdryer.
The weak points
Balcony floor was dirty and not cleaned prior to arrival. Tile on the flooring is very worn, cracked. Moldy smell throughout the hotel (likely need to remove the carpeting). The Rui next door was newer and did not smell at all.
Certified

Beat my expectations!!

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-04
Great resort overall! Very clean, beautiful beach, great food and loads of entertainment. Service was also very good and entertainment crew organized nights out to ensure that guests were safe and making the most of their stay. The Japanese restaurant was my favorite. Would highly recommend this resort to anyone! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
FOOD - a la cartes were fabulous! LOCATION - beachfront and within walking distance to major attractions and nightlife
Pro

RIU PALACE LAS AMERICAS, DEC. 02 - 14, 2015

, Edmonton, AB
2015-12-24
In the last 10 years we spent all our vacation at ‘RIU' resorts, in Mexico.
It is an excellent hotel, with very clean rooms, good restaurants and services.
Some issues on the beach, can be easily fixed, after hotel renovation (broken chairs and missing umbrellas).
We stayed 2 weeks in this hotel (Dec. 02 to 14 2015).
We got a 4.5* hotel paying for a 3.5*.
I would recommend this hotel to everybody. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Grand

, Wainwright, AB
2015-03-22
If there is one word that describes this place its GRAND! Everyone that served us was the best! If there is one flaw about this property it would be that there are no palapas/umbrellas on the beach, shade would be great even for a little while without having to come off the beach to get it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff is the best in every area
The weak points
Palapas/umbrellas for the beach area
Certified

Uuhhhh... it was Do-able

, Brampton, ON
2015-02-12
Overall, the experience was "Okay" ... The resort was very nice, and the water was BEAUTIFUL.... (well except for our last 2 days when there was a lot of 'twigs' floating around). The food wasnt the best, and some of the waiters had a chip on their shoulder. the Krystal ala carte was AWESOME (although when viewing the menu, it looked kind of sketchy). Lots to be desired at this resort, but overall, not the worst experience. however, for the amount i payed, i would have expected MUCH BETTER. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the internet connection
The weak points
the food the toilet (didnt like to flush fully)
Certified

Nice Hotel - Room had some flaws

, Richmond Hill, ON
2014-02-09
Nice Hotel - Great food, beach and service. except they did not extend the checkout time. although they kept our luggage in storage until the flight time.
Room had some flaws tho.
the headboard of the bed was not screwed to wall and was noisy,the small fridge of mini bar was noisy, no direct exhaust fan in the washroom, the shower head was half jammed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice Hotel - Great food, beach and service.
The weak points
Room had some flaws tho. the headboard of the bed was not screwed to wall and was noisy,the small fridge of mini bar was noisy, no direct exhaust fan in the washroom, the shower head was half jammed.
Certified

Riu Palace Las Americas

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-26
Very nice hotel, Clean, beautiful. Staff are polite and helpful. We had a great time there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice hotel. We had a wonderful time.
The weak points
Beach area is a bit small.
Certified

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

, Woodbridge, ON
2013-09-24
Great Location. Very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean.
The weak points
Entertainment staff.
Certified

Teriffic

, Edmonton, AB
2013-09-12
It was great place yo go. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
none
Certified

Highly Recommended

, Calgary, AB
2013-07-22
The hotel and their service staff were amazing. Great food, great beach and such a relaxing week. Spa was also really great! Now has wifi all over the resort including rooms and down on the beach which was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food, service and location is awesome close to shopping and night life
The weak points
If any we got I got ill the one night so not sure if it was from ice or what caused it.
Certified

Lovely Stay but Maybe not the Best Riu Property

, Burnaby, BC
2013-06-25
This is a small(er) but beautiful hotel situated 10 minutes away from everything Cancun has to offer. Having stayed at the Riu in Los Cabos, I had high expectations. While this Riu is quite similar in design, there were some notable differences. Some of the restaurants in this hotel were a little harder to find, being tucked away in odd places throughout the ground floor. Also, this property was definitely missing a large open-air bar for everyone to gather at night. The night bar was dark and completely indoors, which left a bit to be desired. The "activities" pool was also a bit too small to accommodate everyone hoping to partake in the daily games. All that being said, this was a beautiful hotel and our experience was quite lovely. The beach here is absolutely one of the most gorgeous anyone could ask for! It was breathtaking. Beautiful white sand, crystal clear water, and calm waves. The boat traffic in the water was relatively slow, allowing for snorkeling, wind surfing,and kayaking. The front desk staff were very helpful and it was never hard to find someone to get you a drink. The food however wasnt exactly anything to write home about. It wasnt terrible but there was a lot of redundancy everyday whereas other all inclusive hotels often have themed nights to keep patrons from getting bored of the same things night after night.The resevations required restaurants were mediocre but a nice change from the buffet. The housekeeping staff no doubt have their hands full, but we had a hard time getting our room cleaned more than 2 times over an 8 night stay. Our minifridge was never replenished leaving us to have to bring items back with us from the restaurants.
All and all I do feel it was a little pricey for what we received given that I had payed around $300 less in Cabo and had nothing but amazing things to say about that property. We heard very similar things about the Riu Cancun so perhaps that would have been more reasonable in terms of quality vs. price. We had a great vacation but perhaps would look into some other options next time so we could feel a bit better about the cost. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, location, front desk staff,and small property size.
The weak points
Activity pool was too small and probably needed larger bars to accommodate everyone. Housekeeping left a bit to be desired. Buffets could use more variety.
Certified

Special for us, but not so special

, Toronto, ON
2013-06-14
The hotel is beautiful, but there is poor management. My fiance requested to have our room set up so that he could propose to me. This did not happen and there was no warning that it was not going to happen. Also, we were only able to eat at one of the specialty restaurants. They were always "booked". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location location location!
The weak points
Rules and lack of service
Certified

Cancun for 4 days

, Thornhill, ON
2013-06-07
Check in was a breeze, room perfect, the mini bar overstocked. The weather was bad, however the staff did everything they could to keep us happy. The food at the buffet was excellent, something for every taste(including a low calorie section), entertainment crew great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing, the food and drinks excellent.
The weak points
The beach is the weak point, but this is a problem in Cancun, not only at Riu.
Certified

Wonderful Holiday

, Whitby, ON
2013-04-22
The Vacation was awesome . .great beaches, great food, great weather - location is excellent - lots of shops and resturants - Night Time is great - you can leave the hotel and it is really safe - use the bus - only 1.00US. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Vacation was awesome . .great beaches, great food, great weather
The weak points
We had a late flight, the hotel was full so they could not accomidate a late check out and there is no Courtsey Room for guests to use, they tell you that you can use the showers in the Sauna Room and there are no clean towels, you have to use a Pool towe
Certified

Vacation-Birthday Trip

, Toronto, ON
2013-04-19
Front desk staff were not very welcoming....I am a sales Manager in the Hotel industry ...and my check experience was VERY poor...to be fair some of the agents were good but there was a lady( dont know her name) glasses..weavy hair ..older who gave bad service. without her...my experience would have been perfect. Even when I told them it was my Birthday...nothing...no "happy bday"...a nice response would have made my day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff ( Not front desk) and service really make the experience at this property.
The weak points
Front desk staff..not welcoming. .recommend "dye in the pool, so when people pee..it shows.
Certified

Exceptional Vacation!

, Mississauga, ON
2013-03-24
The hotel was exceptional. It was probably one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at in Cancun, Mexico. The pictures depict the actual cleanliness of the resort. Staff were friendly and the service was exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Extremely clean, food was fantastic.
The weak points
More a la carte restaurants.
Certified

At Least Four Star

, Calgary, AB
2013-03-06
We had a GREAT time! The al a carte restaurants were very nice, especially Japanese and fusion. The only buffet got a liitle old by the end of our seven days, but having access to the neighbouring RIU hotel was a nice touch, their buffet was different. Beach was nice. The pool side bbq every couple of days was amazing. Service was great overall. The hotel is a little old and smells musty but that has a lot to do with the extensive woodwork architecture. Rooms need renovating, pillows were hard. Drinks were poor quality. The wine was all local even though I was told my chardonnay was Chilean one evening. I think a five star rating demands imported wines and spirits. Wi-Fi worked well most of the time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
al a carte dining
The weak points
Hotel would not exchange American money, only dealt with Canadian and Pesos
Certified

Great place to go. Would go again!!

, Sarnia, ON
2012-12-31
We had room 409 (corner room with a large balcony)pool and ocean view. The food was great,The a la cartes were great(with exception of the Italian). The service was great, we brought travel mugs for the beach, but didn't have to use them once. The service was amazing. Close to everything. I would suggest skip Market 28(they are pushy) but take the water taxi to the Isle of Majeres. Rent a golf cart when you get across(it is $15 cheaper). Take stuff to swim at the beach to cool off. Eat at Macombo's (the seafood fajitas were amazing). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food;service;staff;cleanliness and location was great. Loved the entire time being there. The beds are comfortable. A waiter Jair at the buffet helped us everyday and was great. He also exchanged money for us..I loved this place.
The weak points
If you are a beach person, you have to walk next door. They need to have some shade umbrellas on the beach. The building is so tall, you have to move throughout the day to get the sun.
Certified

A week in paradise

, Langley, BC
2012-12-10
This hotel is absolutely beautiful. They have spared no expense in the design and finishes. It is breathtaking inside and out. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We ate at the buffet restaurant every day and it was excellent. We did not try the ala carte restaurants. I highly recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, pools, bars
The weak points
None
Certified

Truly a 5star hotel.

, Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
2012-09-04
Excellent, would go back. The best Riu hotel in Cancun (I have tried the others) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was 5 stars about this hotel 5 stars. The food, service and bars were fantastic, better than the other Riu hotels I have stayed at (Riu Cancun, Caribe, Peninsula). The hotel and rooms were spotless. I would recommend this to anyone.
The weak points
Free WiFi was only available at the lobby, you could access it once a day and for a maximum of 90 minutes. If not for 50$ you could get unlimited WiFi access all over the hotel for 7 days
Certified

FABULOUS!!

, Quispamsis, NB
2012-04-03
You will NOT be disappointed if you choose to go to the RIU Palace. It was amazing. The front desk staff, the restaurant/bar staff, the Room Attendants and the Servers on the beach are the best of the best. I couldn't be happier about our choice to visit the RIU Palace for our holidays. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, great staff, amazing resort.
The weak points
Beach could use a couple of palapas.
Certified

Excellent Resort in a great location!

, Mississauga, ON
2012-04-02
This hotel is beautiful and at a great location. Close to shops and clubs, 5 minute walk. You can also take the local bus for $1 USD to market 28 and Walmart. Food and service is excellent! Staff were friendly, helpful and always smiling. All the rooms face the ocean, so nice views. Beach is small and rocky in some areas. Swim near the corals/rocks and you see fishes. Nice clear blue water. A la cartes were OK, preferred buffet with more selection. The pools are gorgeous. The party pool has fun entertainment and good music. Nightly entertainment is a bit boring. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Had a wonderful experience, would recommend this hotel. Excellent service and facilities are beautiful. Great turndown service. Many food choices and hot table selection.
The weak points
No Coronas. Rocky beach in some areas. Small beach area. Found live cockcroach in room.
Certified

Riu Palace is beautiful

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-26
The hotel was probably the most beautiful allinclusive hotel I have stayed in, dark wood beautiful beach view. Carpet in the halls prevents loud noises like most tropical hotels get with marble floors. Service was prompt, and efficient, food was all inclusive OK, small but very protected beach.
My biggest complaints are that the beds and pillows feel like they are made of uneven concrete, the rooms are too humid, in previous hotels I have been told this is because the airconditioner is too far away from the room, and after paying for wi-fi in my room, I didn't get it. They took it seriously, and bumped it up the chain, and came to my room, and set "yes you don't have wi-fi, we will look into it, but it is brand new, and outsourced" Certainly worth what we paid, but I only book hotels where I can work on the internet from my room, and losing this feature cost me more than the trip . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Gorgeous Hotel
The weak points
Rock hard beds, high humidity in the rooms, wifi not working
Certified

Riu Palace Las Americas

, Red Deer, AB
2012-02-09
facilities were great, service was great and food was great. Resort is very clean.
Most luxurious place I have stayed at. Also you can use the facilities next door at Riu Cancun. It was handy to visit their clubs and see the nightly shows available from both resorts. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The restaurants were very good and lots of menu choices for any palate. Even the main buffet had really good food for daily dining.
The weak points
only had 2 computers for guest usage, but there was wi-fi available in lobby. All were free services.
Certified

Riu Palace Las Americas Cancun

, Fort Mcmurray, AB
2012-01-08
Beautiful hotel, great location, easy to get around, great restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, great location, large and clean rooms, close to main bars/restaurants in Cancun. Easy to use buses to get around.
The weak points
Not a lot of fellow Canadian (English speaking) travelers, far from some activities (ruins, adventures).
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020