Royal Villas Resort

Royal Villas Resort
3.903.903.903.903.90
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not a Four Star

, Red Deer, AB
2014-04-23
While this hotel was very clean and spacious in the rooms, barely anyone spoke English so it was hard to figure out what was included in your all inclusive and because of the language barrier often things did not get done. One thing that was very irritating was the fact that they did not fill up our fridge with pops and water or if they did it was barely anything. We were not allowed to order drinks and take them back to our room because that was not part of our all inclusive. So if we wanted water we had to order it at the pool and then hide it in our bag which was ridiculous! The food was really good but the service was slow and you had to order everything so you had to wait all the time. Which once you knew it took about an hour to get your food you just made sure to order well in advance of being hungry. With the exception of two people the staff was very friendly. But this is definately not a 4 star resort and the term all inclusive is a bit misleading. While everything is free you have to order everything and sign for your food. This would have been helpful information to know before you got there so you weren't wondering where you get your food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms
The weak points
Wierd all inclusive and limited
Certified

Royal villas reviews

, Miss, ON
2013-05-11
Was veryy good, beds werent comfortable, service was amazing.food was awsome but overall is nice hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful service
The weak points
The room beds was very uncomfortable.
Certified

Great location

, Nanaimo, BC
2013-03-11
The restaurant staff were the best, very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, good location.
The weak points
It was supposed to be all inclusive but there was only one restaurant and not a buffet everyday. You have to sign for every drink and any food you order whether in the restaurant, at the buffet or by the pool. A little noisy outside the rooms.
Certified

Wonderful & Relaxing

, Calgary, AB
2012-04-30
nice little hotel with friendly staff and great food! truly a relaxing experience. we also enjoyed the day trip to deer island which is offered by this hotel to their guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nice little hotel with friendly staff and great food!
The weak points
can't think of anything
Certified

Mazatlan

, Spruce Grove, AB
2012-02-17
very enjoyable, clean, friendly staff,great service, relaxing, we had a very good time, the evening entertainment wasn't the best,could of offered more for entertainment. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food was good,great location,very clean,friendly service and staff
The weak points
evening entertainmnt was not great , Didn't have alot to offer
Certified

Great stay

, Lethbridge, AB
2011-12-19
Great hotel with friendly staff and good food [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location
The weak points
food was great but service though friendly was slow
Certified

ROYAL VILLAS RESORT

, Edmonton, AB
2011-12-17
it was better than we expected [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great service from front desk to maidservice
The weak points
we had some young children staying on the same floor the hallways were a little noisy when they woke up in the morning
Certified

Wonderful Mazatlan

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-12-14
This was a lovely vacation for my 16 year old daughter and me. The resort was at or above expectations and the proximity to the city was fabulous. The staff were exceptional in every way. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff/service. Value for money.
The weak points
There were no weak points.
Certified

First Mexican Getaway.

, Edmonton, AB
2011-12-13
Open air main floor allowed for a wonderful breeze in the lobby and bar area. Staff were friendly and very helpful and patient. Resort best suited to middle class families/couples looking for a relaxing holiday. Not many activities happening at the resort, but a helpful concierge to make tour arrangements and give advice.

The service was sometimes very slow, and other times surprisingly fast with no discernable pattern for the sake of predictability, and the hotel was unable to give change in USD to break larger bills for tipping, however had an endless supply of Pesos.

Ultimately the good far outweighed the bad and we plan to return next winter with our whole family, maybe for two weeks this time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful resort, yummy food.
The weak points
Slow at times.
Certified

Had A Great Time!

, Langley, BC
2011-12-13
Really great service; staff friendly and helpful. Beds very comfortable; rooms clean and spacious. Excellent four star food, with beautiful presentation. Enjoyed live entertainment provided at every meal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, food, beds, and large rooms.
The weak points
.....
Certified

Poor Value

, Argyle, MB
2011-12-07
The Royal villas is a poor excuse for an all inclusive resort, there is only 1 restaurant that has no buffet, very small menu with as much as a 2 hour wait to only be served something you didnt order. only 1 bar which located at the pool. They allow local weddings and fiestas on weekends wich totally take over the hotel with noise and crowds that leaves no room for the patrons that are there for a week or more. Rooms are fine but they turn off the hot water on the weekend when the place is full. We booked on a last minute deal, if had paid full price we would have been very disappointed [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
nothing
The weak points
pretty much everything
Certified

As good as it gets

, Chestermere, AB
2011-09-26
Decided to go back to the Royal Villas for the second time in the past 9 months, because this place is just tooooo good to pass up. Place is very clean and well maintained, superb location, great staff and the food is amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
If you like a small hotel where you can get to know the staff and other guests this is an ideal find.
The weak points
If you are looking for evening activities, this is not the place for you, however plenty of entertainment venues a short walk from the hotel.
Certified

Royal Villas

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-28
The resort was very nice, clean and open. The food was a little disappointing as we were on a all inclusive package. The maid service was great and the pool service was hit and miss. The beach was clean and the vendors weren't pushy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were helpful and friendly. We had a really nice suite with a big balcony and full beach view.
The weak points
Restaurant menu was half seafood and seafood was an upgrade charge. I had 2 really bad meals there and never went back. On our last day they were spray painting the rocks around the pool making it impossible for us to take our babies swimming.
Certified

Royal Villas Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-01-15
The resort is rather small compared to others that we have been at in our travels. That was a bonus because we got to meet people that we would not have met in a larger resort. There was no buffet for lunch, which took some getting used to, consequently we had to order off a menu. The selection was extensive and the food was very good. Again, during the evening meal there was no buffet. It was a la carte. We had a choice of three different meals. They were very good and the presentation was excellent. On the negative side there were other activities that went on in the main lobby/bar area that were quite loud at times, consequently we went across the street to Gus/Gus where they had excellent entertainment. All in all we had a very good time and would recommend Royal Villas Resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location was great. Close to other restaurants and bars, especially Gus/Gus across the street. Gorgeous beach. Malecon walk is is nearby and fantastic. Downtown Mazatlan is very clean. Felt safe everywhere we walked, even in the downtown area.
The weak points
Only one bar and only one restaurant in facility. Probably enough due to size of facility. No buffet access, took a little time getting used to. Having to order lunch off a menu was unusual for us, however the quality of food was excellent.
Certified

Royal Villas Resort ... Amazing Place

, Morinville, AB
2011-01-03
We had an all inclusive holiday here for a week. This included our airfare, our hotel, all food and drinks for $800. The hotel is only 15 yrs old, very modern and clean and in a superb location..just blocks from the Dairy Queen. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel is only 15 yrs old so the rooms are very modern and always clean. The restaurant staff were amazing, so friendly and funny, always willing to help or entertain! The location in the Golden Zone is superb. We would definitely stay here again.
The weak points
With only 1 kitchen in the hotel, the food was very repetitive and boring. Also, when there was a wedding/anniversary celebration being held there, it was extremely noisy into the early hours of the morning!
Certified

Nice stay at Royal Villas

, Toronto, ON
2010-12-19
The Royal Villas is a medium-sized, Mexican-owned property in the heart of the Golden Zone. We (couple and toddler) had a junior suite with an ocean view. We had an all-inclusive package, including meals and drinks. There were few activities other than the pool and beach. For this reason, I think the Royal Villas should be called a "hotel" rather than a "resort". It was a good choice for us, who like to experience local culture and activities and were not looking for a typical all-inclusive experience. However, it would likely be disappointing for people looking for many activities and lots of choice in terms of restaurants, as there is only one dining room and the pool-side bar. Because of its small size, when the hotel hosts another event (ex. wedding and Christmas party on 2 of the 7 days we were there), there is limited or no service for the guests. Service was also very uneven - excellent reception staff and breakfast servers; very poor service in the restaurant for dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location; very clean; friendly staff; Mexican ambience
The weak points
Poor service at restaurant for dinner; limited selection of food at lunch and dinner; few activities; noise from surrounding bars at night
Certified

Nice little resort

, Lethbridge, AB
2010-12-18
The staff was very friendly as they are in most places in Mexico. The food was good but keep in mind that this is a smaller resort so the selection is limited. The rooms are very spacious and clean as a whistle. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Smaller resort so smaller crowds at the pool and restaurant.
The weak points
Smaller resort so smaller selection for food.
Certified

Good Time

, Hamilton, ON
2010-11-28
We had a very enjoyable time at the Royal Villas ...the food was very good and the workers were very freindly and helpful...the maid service was excellent [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
mentioned above
The weak points
Had to sign too many tabs...would be nice to sign one at the end
Certified

Royal villas resort

, Brmapton, ON
2010-11-21
The hotel was beautiful - the food was great and everyone was nice and spoke english which was a plus! Dont think I would go back only because our hotel was all inclusive yet we had to sign a paper everytime we ate or got a drink at the bar and that was a big hassle - travelled alot of places but this hotel was the only one wanting signatures for everything that was all inclusive [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very classy hotel
The weak points
signing for drinks and meals
Certified

A good week

, Medicine Hat, AB
2010-04-08
We liked the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff
The weak points
The restaurant did not provide enough choices for the all-inclusive traveller.
Certified

Royal Villas

, Innisfail, AB
2010-03-08
met a lot of nice people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff were GREAT!!
The weak points
only 1 main restaurant, not that many options on the menu
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020