El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.643.643.643.643.64
3.64 based on 110 reviews
#4 of 17 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (18)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

El Cid Castilla like coming home

, Kelowna, BC
2024-02-24
We love this all inclusive hotel. It is like coming home. We have been there many times in the past, because the people are so welcoming and the food is great. There are 4 specialty restaurants and 2 buffets, 3 pools and easy access to an amazing beach that you can walk for miles and miles. They have a wonderful recreation team that has many activities to do you won't be bored. Family friendly place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Not a good experience

, Edmonton, AB
2023-04-02
Buffet not so good even the specialty restaurants. The only good one was the Italian cuisine. Room not so clean so is the bathroom. For the price that we paid, we expected a decent bedroom and bathroom. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Cleanliness and food
Certified

Overall experience

, Port Alberni, BC
2023-03-26
We had a great vacation here and would definitely come back again. Checkin was seamless, service was better than expected, the hotel and beach area was always clean and well maintained. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service was great everywhere and definitely left an impression.
The weak points
Not having a fridge in our room was disappointing but we managed without. Local and adjacent parties went into the early morning hours quite frequently, keeping us up more often than preferred.
Certified

Ken

, Calgary, AB
2023-03-26
good except waiting on the phone to make restaurant reservations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
good location,dated but good room, nice pools, good beach, good ala carte restaurants
The weak points
very slow wi fi, having to wait on the phone to make reservations for ala cart restaurants
Certified

Good!

, Toronto, ON
2022-12-30
Food is the best!
Large property with El Cid Moro joint access
Large rooms with working AC, ceiling fans, balcony and very hot water
Resort is on the beach
Very large pool
Large dining area for buffet
Food is decent at buffet, good snack bar near the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Shuttle to El Cid Marina every 15 mins A la cartes have good food except for Thai Had free wifi all week, pretty good connection everywhere Service is decent Close to main road for public bus access
The weak points
Lobby bar opens at 3pm Overcrowded with guests Not a lot of beach chairs available, people reserve them with towels Very small bathroom in rooms Vendors on the beach Entertainment is not the greatest but they try
Certified

El Cid Castilla review

, Calgary, AB
2022-11-10
It was overall fantastic. There were a few issues however. They were resolved although it did take some time. The pool was great and the lay-out was not bad either. The lock to my door was damaged and every 2 days my keys did not work and had to be reset. the door lock itself had to be reset and it took multiple requests to get it fixed and i finally had to move rooms. Which was the room i should have been in as the first did not have robe or slippers that i was supposed to receive. My safe in the first room did not work and had to request multiple times for it to be reset.
Overall, it was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Staff were super friendly. The nightly shows were awesome. pool was great.
The weak points
Multiple request to get things fixed. Sit down pool bar was closed. No access to the beach through Castilla. Sometimes the music was to loud at the pool
Certified

Pros and Cons

, Chestermere, AB
2022-03-21
Cons: WAY TOO NOISY. Requested a quiet room and still was put into 2077 which was near the birds which made a racket all night every night. Also two very large weddings/parties that seemed to go on forever. Thank God we had heavy pillows that drowned out the noise. And the food at the buffet was not great. Al a cartes were decent but we didn't enjoy the Mexican one.

Pros: Beds were fine - room was clean and comfortable. The service team was amazing! The people are so kind and generous and boy, do they HUSTLE. We had a great experience with all of them, they were even better than a Sandals resort. Isabel on the omelette bar, Ana in the buffet and Esteban in the pub were standouts. Covid testing was methodical and easy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Comfortable resort.
The weak points
Too loud, bad food at buffet.
Sanitary measures
Very good.
Certified

Great overall experience at the El-Cid Castilla

, Edmonton, AB
2021-11-29
Location, coupled with the Golf Course and Excellent customer service makes our return visit (12th time) so exceptional! Claudia Juarez and her team of service experts treated us like VIP's and family. We were looked after from check-in to check-out with white glove service and attention to detail. Well located on the beach and walking distance to the Malecon and golden zone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Excellent Customer Service by the VIP office as we had the Elite package including golf.
The weak points
Unfortunately NO lobster on the La Koncha menu was a BIG disappointment so we had to go to Mr. Lionzo for one Lobster dinner!
Sanitary measures
Well sanitized and clean!
Certified

Elcid Castillo

, Edmonton, AB
2021-11-28
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the el cid Castilla, the hotel is great, we also played Golf at the golf course next door and loved our experience there [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff at the elite club was wonderful, amazing service and very efficient
The weak points
Claudia the lead at the Elite club is wonderful person to deal with, el cid is very fortunate to have her
Certified

Vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-03-22
all was good. women dancers some outfits were too skimpy for family shows [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

El Cid Castilla - Mazatlan - Great!

, Surrey, AB
2020-02-25
A well run great hotel experience. Check in was super fast as they had a large amount of staff (like 8 people) to process everyone. Rooms were clean, food was excellent, service was excellent. The restaurants booked up fast so one had to book a few days ahead but even that was very smooth. Great hotel and staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food and beach. Great location as shopping close by and great shops on the resort. Good wifi even on the beach too!
The weak points
Bands roamed down the beach and stopped at the resort to play in the afternoon. They were loud and hard to nap.
Certified

El cid

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
We were very happy with the hotel. Our room was a good size with lots of space for unpacking your suitcases. Though the hotel is aging in some areas such as bathrooms, the staff works hard to keep it clean. Overall we will certainly return to the same location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing. We felt we made life long friends and look forward to next year. The golf course across the street was a pleasure to play.
The weak points
The choice of foods in the ala carte restaurants were not that great. Next time we would eat more meals outside of the hotel.
Certified

Amazing pool area, beach and staff

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
Lovely time in the sunshine for almost two weeks. Loved the direct flight to and from Victoria. The plane was new and surprisingly roomy. Don't expect anything much other than pop, water and small bags of chips. Bring your own food if you think you will want a meal on the plane. Rooms were large and comfortable and enjoyed the balcony. They need to develop a new bar space for evening. Perhaps Alhambra (down by the beach) with low key entertainment (guitarist singer?). There was nowhere to go to have a drink and conversation with your friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic pool facilities, wonderful long beach for walking and the staff were phenomenal
The weak points
The food in the buffet areas was repetitive and not particularly well made. Breakfast in Cascada, however, was a treat, as were Christian and his amazing staff. Lobby bar was the only option in the evening and was always overcrowded and noisy.
Certified

El Cid Castilla

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-02-16
Excellent! Very friendly attentive staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful Mazatlan

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-13
Located in the golden zone, ocean views and central location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, close to restaurants, lovely beach. Food average to good.
The weak points
Food did get repetitive, beach crowded on weekend.
Certified

El Cid Castilla 2 weeks stay and review

, Carleton Place, ON
2020-01-04
Staff at the El Cid are extremely friendly and mostly very helpful. Our room was clean and quite large with a wonderful view of the pool and the sunsets. This is a large complex and requires some exploring to know your way around. Front desk staff are efficient and helpful. The sister hotels..the Granada and El Moro are available for dining as well and provide a welcome change to the main dining room at the Cid. Easy access to the beach and the actual hotel beach is quite clean and stunning. Pools are cleaned daily as well as the entire very large pool lounge areas. I would book again based solely on staff friendliness and efficiency. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool areas and the front door bellhops, baggage handlers went overboard to help. Any directions for buses, taxis were offered with a smile and hand written note if you asked. Elevators claen and quick. Lastly, bar staff work tirelessly .
The weak points
The hotel has relentless time share salespeople and they can get in your face. Make them aware from the outset you are not interested. The front desk shud take more time to explain the hotel workings . Book restaurant dining days in advance.
Certified

Ken Mckee

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-29
overall very enjoyable stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
our beach server (Tomas) was outstanding, very pleasant, quite efficient at his job, and a hard worker.
The weak points
minor points pool water quite cold noisy late at night a few times booked restaurants and on arriving on 4 different times, found no reservations for us, quite embarrassing
Certified

Never again

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-23
We asked for 3 rooms close together as we were having a family holiday. We got 3 rooms on 3 different floors. The front desk said there was nothing they could do. However 3 Mexican travelling together had the 3 rooms next to ours. Beach was beautiful except for the vendors [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, pleasant staff, very clean through out.
The weak points
no fridge in room. No ice cream in restaurant. Few staff speak english. Paid extra for ocean view and got for free street noise all night. Very difficult to understand announcers and too loud.
Certified

Overall Good

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-08
It was a nice to stay at the hotel, I have to point out a few people here Jesus who is working in the customer service department and he helped us a lot during our stay. He did all our dinner reservation for most of the days. So thanks Jesus for making our trip most memorable. The second person is Victor who is working as a manager in one of the buffets restaurant. Actually, we are allergic to onion and garlic and also don't eat meat so we requested him on the very first day to make some vegetarian food without onion and garlic and after 5 minutes he come with the cook and explained him everything that we need. and they made a very delicious salad for us and after that every morning when we enter into the restaurant he recognize us and brings the same kind of food for us. So thanks Jesus and Victor for all your help. We will definitely come back to the hotel only just because of you guys. Also all the girls/boys at the pool who organise all the games and activity. They all were so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Watch out for towel theft.
Certified

Golf Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-28
Over all hotel is great.
We paid for elite service & I would recommend you book elite.
Food level is much better.
We also paid for golf package but you still need 25 US dollars per person per round for cart & caddie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Hotel very clean. Very few bugs.
The weak points
Very little to do at night. Could not find food after 10 PM.
Certified

El Cid Castilla

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-27
We loved our stay at El Cid Castilla. Our room was huge, almost right over the ocean with a balcony. We upgraded to Elite which gave us access to all the restaurants & pools. The room was clean & service was great. Our flight home was delayed by 4 hrs & although we weren't able to stay in our room the whole time we were able to keep our bracelet so we could still go & have a meal with our all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family oriented with many activities and/or quiet pool.
The weak points
Smoking was allowed around a couple of the pools but there was also a non smoking one.
Certified

Extremely Clean Resort

, Lloydminster, SK
2019-03-18
The resort is a bit older and not a lot of green space on the property, however, I was very impressed with how clean they keep the resort, the cleaning staff was constantly sweeping. The food was very good with a great selection of restaurants. The staff was all very friendly and the service was excellent. The beach was nice and had lots of loungers and tables available. If you are the type of traveler who likes to leave the property there was a good selection of restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed our week at the El Cid Castilla and I would definitely recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was very clean The food was very Good The Staff was excellent
The weak points
Quite a few Peddlers on the beach
Pro

1 week wasn't enough

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-03-03
I traveled with my 14yo daughter and we both loved it.
Accommodation: hotel looks nice and taken care of. We stayed on a second floor facing pool. From our window we could see the ocean which was nice. Room was comfortable with a good room service.
Beach: very clean, enough room for everyone, ocean is cooler but the bottom is clean and quite shallow.
The only thing that was annoying sometimes that if you want to take a nap you'll be woken up by bands or local people selling things.
Service: at first was absolutely impressive and then we had couple hiccups but overall was good.
I loved that it's a big facility, used gym daily.
Food: we loved Italian and Japanese restaurants, the other ones okay. Overall enough options and pretty good quality
Certainly recommend this place. Good value for the money spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I'd say that it's not isolated, I liked long walks on a beach as well as walking to local markets and taking uber to Galleria and bus to downtown. Good service and good food
The weak points
Minor things like waiting at the restaurant on a busy night or not being able to book restaurants
Certified

El cid Castilla

, White Rock, BC
2019-02-23
clean, staff was polite, and friendly, food was excellent, entertainment good.
only thing was, our room was in the shade all the time.
we met a lot of repeat guests, that had nothing, but good, to say about the hotel.
thank you for a good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

El CID experience

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-18
I found the overall experience was pleasant. I did not like that I had to pay for wifi in the hotel. I also found that being a single guy in that hotel was not the greatest as I tried to bring a woman that I met on the beach to my room and was stopped by security. I was told because I was on a all inclusive package I had to pay for her for the night and had to put a deposit on my credit card for the rest of the days of my trip just in case she stayed. With that being said this hotel is not for single people. The food was good but there was very little variety day to day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-11
We first had room 0112 had a very comfy King Bed with superior mattress but it was very musty smelling and were then moved to room 4077 with twin beds that were not near the comfort.The resort food was good at the A le Carte but the main buffet restaurant was not as good as expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food at A Le Carte and great location to beach and access to multiple good pub restaurants nearby the hotel.
The weak points
Rooms are not that great to what we're used to and very limited King beds or the smaller beds need better mattress with a good memory foam topper
Certified

Great resort

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2018-01-21
We were very impressed and happy with the resort, staff was very friendly and helpful
Special thanks to Katarina and Leo with the activity group, they were amazing
The rooms were clean, the food was good, the resort was large with many activities to do and places to relax
The beach was amazing with beautiful sunsets [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All of the staff was very friendly and helpful
Certified

El cid birthday trip

, Calgary, AB
2017-01-30
For the most part it was good. Had issues with house keeping and al la cartes were next to impossible to book. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Serving staff were excellent and pool temperature was awesome.
Certified

Good location

, Surrey, HA
2017-01-25
We had a good time, except for three days of cloudy chilly weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the shows were quite good. Food was good most of the time.
Certified

First Time Mazatlan Vacation

, Langley, BC
2016-04-03
The pools, food and the staff were awesome! The staff work their butts off and the majority of them do it with a smile on thier faces, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, food, staff and location
The weak points
The beds, the peddlers on the beach & location. It can get very busy
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024