El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel

El Cid Castilla Beach Hotel
3.623.623.623.623.62
3.62 based on 102 reviews
#2 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (18)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234

Vacation

, Regina, SK
2020-03-22
all was good. women dancers some outfits were too skimpy for family shows [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

El Cid Castilla - Mazatlan - Great!

, Surrey, AB
2020-02-25
A well run great hotel experience. Check in was super fast as they had a large amount of staff (like 8 people) to process everyone. Rooms were clean, food was excellent, service was excellent. The restaurants booked up fast so one had to book a few days ahead but even that was very smooth. Great hotel and staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food and beach. Great location as shopping close by and great shops on the resort. Good wifi even on the beach too!
The weak points
Bands roamed down the beach and stopped at the resort to play in the afternoon. They were loud and hard to nap.
Certified

El cid

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
We were very happy with the hotel. Our room was a good size with lots of space for unpacking your suitcases. Though the hotel is aging in some areas such as bathrooms, the staff works hard to keep it clean. Overall we will certainly return to the same location [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was amazing. We felt we made life long friends and look forward to next year. The golf course across the street was a pleasure to play.
The weak points
The choice of foods in the ala carte restaurants were not that great. Next time we would eat more meals outside of the hotel.
Certified

Amazing pool area, beach and staff

, Victoria, BC
2020-02-24
Lovely time in the sunshine for almost two weeks. Loved the direct flight to and from Victoria. The plane was new and surprisingly roomy. Don't expect anything much other than pop, water and small bags of chips. Bring your own food if you think you will want a meal on the plane. Rooms were large and comfortable and enjoyed the balcony. They need to develop a new bar space for evening. Perhaps Alhambra (down by the beach) with low key entertainment (guitarist singer?). There was nowhere to go to have a drink and conversation with your friends. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic pool facilities, wonderful long beach for walking and the staff were phenomenal
The weak points
The food in the buffet areas was repetitive and not particularly well made. Breakfast in Cascada, however, was a treat, as were Christian and his amazing staff. Lobby bar was the only option in the evening and was always overcrowded and noisy.
Certified

El Cid Castilla

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-02-16
Excellent! Very friendly attentive staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Beautiful Mazatlan

, Toronto, ON
2020-02-13
Located in the golden zone, ocean views and central location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent staff, close to restaurants, lovely beach. Food average to good.
The weak points
Food did get repetitive, beach crowded on weekend.
Certified

El Cid Castilla 2 weeks stay and review

, Carleton Place, ON
2020-01-04
Staff at the El Cid are extremely friendly and mostly very helpful. Our room was clean and quite large with a wonderful view of the pool and the sunsets. This is a large complex and requires some exploring to know your way around. Front desk staff are efficient and helpful. The sister hotels..the Granada and El Moro are available for dining as well and provide a welcome change to the main dining room at the Cid. Easy access to the beach and the actual hotel beach is quite clean and stunning. Pools are cleaned daily as well as the entire very large pool lounge areas. I would book again based solely on staff friendliness and efficiency. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great pool areas and the front door bellhops, baggage handlers went overboard to help. Any directions for buses, taxis were offered with a smile and hand written note if you asked. Elevators claen and quick. Lastly, bar staff work tirelessly .
The weak points
The hotel has relentless time share salespeople and they can get in your face. Make them aware from the outset you are not interested. The front desk shud take more time to explain the hotel workings . Book restaurant dining days in advance.
Certified

Ken Mckee

, Calgary, AB
2019-12-29
overall very enjoyable stay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
our beach server (Tomas) was outstanding, very pleasant, quite efficient at his job, and a hard worker.
The weak points
minor points pool water quite cold noisy late at night a few times booked restaurants and on arriving on 4 different times, found no reservations for us, quite embarrassing
Certified

Never again

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-23
We asked for 3 rooms close together as we were having a family holiday. We got 3 rooms on 3 different floors. The front desk said there was nothing they could do. However 3 Mexican travelling together had the 3 rooms next to ours. Beach was beautiful except for the vendors [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good food, pleasant staff, very clean through out.
The weak points
no fridge in room. No ice cream in restaurant. Few staff speak english. Paid extra for ocean view and got for free street noise all night. Very difficult to understand announcers and too loud.
Certified

Overall Good

, Edmonton, AB
2019-04-08
It was a nice to stay at the hotel, I have to point out a few people here Jesus who is working in the customer service department and he helped us a lot during our stay. He did all our dinner reservation for most of the days. So thanks Jesus for making our trip most memorable. The second person is Victor who is working as a manager in one of the buffets restaurant. Actually, we are allergic to onion and garlic and also don't eat meat so we requested him on the very first day to make some vegetarian food without onion and garlic and after 5 minutes he come with the cook and explained him everything that we need. and they made a very delicious salad for us and after that every morning when we enter into the restaurant he recognize us and brings the same kind of food for us. So thanks Jesus and Victor for all your help. We will definitely come back to the hotel only just because of you guys. Also all the girls/boys at the pool who organise all the games and activity. They all were so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Watch out for towel theft.
Certified

Golf Vacation

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-28
Over all hotel is great.
We paid for elite service & I would recommend you book elite.
Food level is much better.
We also paid for golf package but you still need 25 US dollars per person per round for cart & caddie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very friendly. Hotel very clean. Very few bugs.
The weak points
Very little to do at night. Could not find food after 10 PM.
Certified

El Cid Castilla

, Edmonton, AB
2019-03-27
We loved our stay at El Cid Castilla. Our room was huge, almost right over the ocean with a balcony. We upgraded to Elite which gave us access to all the restaurants & pools. The room was clean & service was great. Our flight home was delayed by 4 hrs & although we weren't able to stay in our room the whole time we were able to keep our bracelet so we could still go & have a meal with our all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family oriented with many activities and/or quiet pool.
The weak points
Smoking was allowed around a couple of the pools but there was also a non smoking one.
Certified

Extremely Clean Resort

, Lloydminster, SK
2019-03-18
The resort is a bit older and not a lot of green space on the property, however, I was very impressed with how clean they keep the resort, the cleaning staff was constantly sweeping. The food was very good with a great selection of restaurants. The staff was all very friendly and the service was excellent. The beach was nice and had lots of loungers and tables available. If you are the type of traveler who likes to leave the property there was a good selection of restaurants and shops nearby. We enjoyed our week at the El Cid Castilla and I would definitely recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was very clean The food was very Good The Staff was excellent
The weak points
Quite a few Peddlers on the beach
Pro

1 week wasn't enough

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-03-03
I traveled with my 14yo daughter and we both loved it.
Accommodation: hotel looks nice and taken care of. We stayed on a second floor facing pool. From our window we could see the ocean which was nice. Room was comfortable with a good room service.
Beach: very clean, enough room for everyone, ocean is cooler but the bottom is clean and quite shallow.
The only thing that was annoying sometimes that if you want to take a nap you'll be woken up by bands or local people selling things.
Service: at first was absolutely impressive and then we had couple hiccups but overall was good.
I loved that it's a big facility, used gym daily.
Food: we loved Italian and Japanese restaurants, the other ones okay. Overall enough options and pretty good quality
Certainly recommend this place. Good value for the money spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I'd say that it's not isolated, I liked long walks on a beach as well as walking to local markets and taking uber to Galleria and bus to downtown. Good service and good food
The weak points
Minor things like waiting at the restaurant on a busy night or not being able to book restaurants
Certified

El cid Castilla

, White Rock, BC
2019-02-23
clean, staff was polite, and friendly, food was excellent, entertainment good.
only thing was, our room was in the shade all the time.
we met a lot of repeat guests, that had nothing, but good, to say about the hotel.
thank you for a good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

El CID experience

, Edmonton, AB
2018-03-18
I found the overall experience was pleasant. I did not like that I had to pay for wifi in the hotel. I also found that being a single guy in that hotel was not the greatest as I tried to bring a woman that I met on the beach to my room and was stopped by security. I was told because I was on a all inclusive package I had to pay for her for the night and had to put a deposit on my credit card for the rest of the days of my trip just in case she stayed. With that being said this hotel is not for single people. The food was good but there was very little variety day to day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Resort

, Vancouver, BC
2018-02-11
We first had room 0112 had a very comfy King Bed with superior mattress but it was very musty smelling and were then moved to room 4077 with twin beds that were not near the comfort.The resort food was good at the A le Carte but the main buffet restaurant was not as good as expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food at A Le Carte and great location to beach and access to multiple good pub restaurants nearby the hotel.
The weak points
Rooms are not that great to what we're used to and very limited King beds or the smaller beds need better mattress with a good memory foam topper
Certified

Great resort

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2018-01-21
We were very impressed and happy with the resort, staff was very friendly and helpful
Special thanks to Katarina and Leo with the activity group, they were amazing
The rooms were clean, the food was good, the resort was large with many activities to do and places to relax
The beach was amazing with beautiful sunsets [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All of the staff was very friendly and helpful
Certified

El cid birthday trip

, Calgary, AB
2017-01-30
For the most part it was good. Had issues with house keeping and al la cartes were next to impossible to book. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Serving staff were excellent and pool temperature was awesome.
Certified

Good location

, Surrey, HA
2017-01-25
We had a good time, except for three days of cloudy chilly weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the shows were quite good. Food was good most of the time.
Certified

First Time Mazatlan Vacation

, Langley, BC
2016-04-03
The pools, food and the staff were awesome! The staff work their butts off and the majority of them do it with a smile on thier faces, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pools, food, staff and location
The weak points
The beds, the peddlers on the beach & location. It can get very busy
Certified

All Inclusive Mazatlan

, Surrey, Br
2015-12-13
Realizing that a Mexican hotel rating at 4 star is actually really a 3-3.5 star rating, most things were not unexpected.
Getting back to the hotel, yes, a strong 3 star in reality, but this is Mexico, so standards, and expectations, to be fair, should be lowered. If you are someone who wants to just eat, and drink, and lay by the pool, this is a good place. While the food is not great, it's good enough, and offers everything you could possibly need diet wise. Much better food is found outside the complex. El Fish Market 1/2 mile north has the best seafood in town, by far. Be aware that there are MANY employees within this giant El Cid complex, all very happy to help, encompassing 2 hotels, 3 pools, and at least 4-5 restaurants, "all inclusive" does not include tips and gratuities, and there are many hands eager and ready and expecting tips. This is the norm at all places like this in Mexico. This was my single biggest expense other than the cost of the package itself.
Mazatlán itself currently is going through a slight increase in activity after years of downturn, the result of reduction in tourists worried about drug cartel activity in the state of Sinaola. Police and government military presence is everywhere, I'm ok with military vehicles and the like being around, the option is not good. Cruise ships are back after 5 years of withdrawal. I estimate 25-35% of the big hotels are shuttered and closed along the beach, as well as restaurants and small businesses along the "Golden Zone", a result of the cartel scare. Indeed, the El Cid was less than 50% full. Mazatlán itself I consider not as nice looking an area as Puerto Vallarta, which has more dramatic backdrop of mountains, where Mazatlán starts with small rolling hills, and a generally less visually appealing country side. As Puerto Vallarta has Nuevo Vallarta, Mazatlan has Nuevo Mazatlán, with the El Cid company heavily involved in it's transformation. We rented bicycles outside of the complex a mile down the malecon, and went into olde town Mazatlán, and back roads through into the outskirts of Nuevo area, a Great day. Be aware that pedestrians, as well as bicyclists are simply road kill fodder in Mexico. Ride a bike or walk around with the typical arrogance of a typical downtown Vancouver resident, and you will be road pizza in 10 minutes.
Tours available are good. We took a tour, booked through the hotel, of a "Blue Agave Liquor" distillery farm 1 hour inland [they can only call tequila "tequila" when it's made in Tequila, Jalisco] , as well as traditional lunch in a tiny village, and a visit to a horse trainer farm. It was very good.
If I have one complaint with this tour, it must be the confusing ratings of different levels of "all inclusive" in the El Cid complex. I counted at least 5 different colors of wrist bands among the guests, all offering different levels of all inclusiveness. This meant some wrist bands got into every pool, and all restaurants. Yet, we discovered that we were allowed into 2 of the 3 pools, 4 of the 5 restaurants except weekends and breakfasts, and full drinks at 2 of 3 pools, free towels at 2 of the 3 pools, and free pool side food at 1 of the 3 pools. Not a big deal once we figured it out, but we had to figure it out, as no employee could tell us what the colors meant or what levels they represented. Be aware that you may get a bill for $25US for a buffet dinner if your wrist band does not "rate". [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool. Price.
The weak points
Kind of 'tired' rooms.
Certified

El cid

, Surrey, BC
2015-04-26
Was a good overall trip [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Whole experiance was nothing less than I expected
The weak points
There were no weak points everything was as advertised
Certified

El Cid Castilla

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-30
The Hotel was OK, not a four stars hotel as the food was not great at all, the staff was great and very helpful specially in the restaurant La Pergola, (special thanks to Angelita, Cristian and Casper;lobby bar, (thank you Leticia) and some of the servers at the pool of El Cid Castilla (Aaron) and El Moro (Francisco).

The staff at the front desk needs training in customer service.

Watch out for the Time Share sellers, as soon as you check in they approach you, offering you information about the Hotel.

On Saint Patrick Day we were wearing green and we accidentally run into a couple of managers of the Hotel, they cheer us up, and we told them that we were celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary at the same time, They ask us for our room number, because they were going to send as a gift to our room, we never received any thing??????????????. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff works very hard at this hotel
The weak points
The same food every day, lots of process food such as cheese, cold cuts.
Certified

Beyond expectation

, Killam, AB
2014-03-23
Good food. We had ocean view (75 feet from our balcony) Room was good. Air conditioning fan was noisy and ran continuously and was irritating. We would prefer King bed over the double beds we had but I believe they are available in other rooms. Advertised as having tub/shower-only had shower. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants were good. Food quality and taste above average.
The weak points
Did not try the sports equipment out so no comment on that.
Certified

Great facilities but service could be better

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-10
All-inclusive had too many limitations. No bar fridge in room, no after hours coffee or snacks, unreasonable cost for wifi, less than stellar room cleanliness. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean beach & pool area. Good security. Close to shops & golf. Staff friendly but had to 'stick to the rules' so not able to accommodate individual needs.
The weak points
Housekeeping service poor - floors not mopped, toiletries & coffee not replaced, no services for early risers, bar hrs limited, lots of noise from construction. Very poor Internet access options. No fridge in room.
Certified

Good/Bad Points...

, Red Deer County, AB
2014-02-23
The El CID Castilla is very centrality located along the "strip" of hotels. The beach is very clean and groomed. No garbage. Peddlers will mostly respect your "no".
The only thing I found not up to par was the buffet. It seemed to be the same foods and salads with little variations. It became predictable.
The only other warning I would give is to avoid the time share presentations as they are very pushy...unless you are interested of course.
Overall I would definitely go back to Mazatlan but maybe try another resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Beach, The Pool, The location of the Resort
The weak points
Food
Certified

It was good, but not great.

, Provost, AB
2014-02-18
A lot of the staff spoke broken english at the front desk and sometimes communication was difficult. Rooms were GREAT sizes with nice balconies and ammenities. Was sad the beds were doubles and although we had initially booked a crib, we were not told of a cost by our agent and changed our minds once they tried to charge us. Also, we had booked rooms near our other 2 parties and initially they had us on different floors etc. Rooms were very clean, but getting faceclothes or handtowels consistently seemed to be rare. Also, housekeeping never got to our room before 4pm. Wish the restaurant list etc. came out the night before and no one seemed to know how to do reservations for speciality restaurants. Also, the elite club (aka concierge etc) was never explained so we had no idea where we were looking for. Did not like having to pay for Wifi, especially when the signal kept dropping and was super slow. Poor for a 4 star. I wish the buffet was changed up a little more as well since we got tired of eating the same things. Also having people on the european plan made things confusing for other restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Yesica (front desk attendant) Eunice (La Pergola Hostess) Location Beach Room Size Strip location Friendliness of staff
The weak points
English speaking ability of some staff Not explained what is included in your all inclusive upon checkin and where to find things Cigarette Ash in smaller pool (especially by swim up bar) No free wifi
Certified

Family Vacay

, Cremona, AB
2014-02-18
Our experience at this hotel was decent. The pools were fantastic for the kids and very clean. It did state that you were not allowed to reserve seats with a towel but every time we went to the pool in the morning (and early around 8am) almost every pool side seat was taken and no one said or did anything about it. That was kind of frustrating. The rooms were decent and clean although I found the beds to be extremely hard which caused me to sleep little. The resort was clean and the people friendly although many in a customer service position could speak little English which was hard as the resort catered to mostly English Speaking Guests. The only other feedback i have is that the resort as an "all inclusive" was tough to figure out. The restaurants and food were not explained very well and it was hard to watch the all inclusive food come out from the snack bar next to the food that is paid for on an individual basis. There was no comparision in choices and looks...the all inclusive food looked to be much less then the other. All in all my family enjoyed their stay and the pools were what really made it great for a family resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Pools The beach Great location
The weak points
Confusing Food vs paid food hard beds
Certified

Like Mazatlan!

, Gibsons, BC
2014-02-03
Good experience. Liked the room, view and spaciousness of the complex. Despite being a large complex if your room is poolside and not in the tower you, never feel crowded and no waits for elevators.thought it was a well run operation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Comfortable, fairly nice rooms for the money, great pool,variety of restaurants other than buffet, nice beach and some pleasant staff.
The weak points
Timeshare pressure and lots of beach vendors trying to make a living. A steady stream that can be a bit intrusive.
Certified
pages: 1234

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020