Oceano Palace Beach Hotel

Oceano Palace Beach Hotel
3.413.413.413.413.41
3.41 based on 22 reviews
#8 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Fine

, Calgary, AB
2020-01-29
The room was good and housekeeping did a very good job of keeping it clean.
We had a room connecting with friends and a big shared balcony which we enjoyed.
We were on the ocean side above the pool and the noise level in the afternoon and evening was very loud on the balcony and even in the room [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Comfortable and spacious room. Friendly staff
The weak points
Too noisy. There were duelling mariachi bands on the beach until about 8pm every day and the music and noise from the pool continued late into the night
Certified

Under construction

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-10
Avoid this hotel until the construction is complete - I would guess another year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach is the best in Mazatlan with the exception of the hoards of vendors
The weak points
Construction - jack hammers from 8 to 8. Breakfast buffet is the most expensive and least appetizing in the city.
Certified

Oceano palace

, Lone Butte, BC
2013-04-21
We were not very happy with our room...it was very stark with absolutely no atmosphere(Mexican flavor) We upgraded to the ocean view with kitchen which was better but same stark room. Lots of things are in need of repair. like towel hangers in bathroom, kitchen cupboard doors, railing on the deck was loose and coming away from the wall, stove was not able to have a low heat and it stayed very hot for a long time after being turned off with no indicator light to avoid being burned. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and pool area
The weak points
the hotel is in repair and there is allot of things in the rooms that need to be upgraded or fixed. Our hot water was disrupted and we had to move rooms.
Certified

Great little hotel

, Abbotsford, BC
2013-02-03
We were really impressed with this smaller hotel. Approachable and helpful staff in the very clean lobby, modern elevator worked fine, studio with kitchenette room was smallish but adequate (and with an ocean view more than made up for the size), deep bathtub was a bonus, shower always had hot water, pool was extremely clean, majority of lounge chairs were fairly newish, fantastic beach and always plenty of available palapas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, beach, bathtub, location
The weak points
More internet computers
Certified

Great little place

, Belwood, ON
2012-12-13
This is a great mid-size hotel, if you don't want to go all-incl. There are VERY good restaurants all around the hotel, and the price are very reasonable. One of our favorite, was 'Fat Fish' just across the street and down from the hotel.
The hotel itself for a 3 star, was a very nice surprise, must nicer than we thought it was going to be. The beach is great for a long morning walk, nice and flat for walking. We had a studio room with a ocean view. It has a 2 burner hot plate, microwave, sink and fridge. Nice to have a cold beer on the balcony at night or a cup of tea in the morning. There is on OXXO across the street, and a pharmacy (with food and a baker's oven) down another block. We did light breakfasts in our room only.
All in all a great two weeks in Mazatlan, although be ready for the time-share people, they are on every block. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location of hotel. Great restaurants. The beach
The weak points
Time-share people
Certified

Great Time at Oceano Palace!

, Cochrane, AB
2012-04-27
We Paid $514 CDN per person including flights taxes and transfer fees for a 7 day vacation, we were not expecting much, but like all the other reviews, we were pleasantly surprised, this is a 4 star hotel, The staff is friendly and always happy to help, good food in the restaurant! great location at the end of the golden zone, you can walk along the street and there are many restaurants around the hotel which are all really good. The average price for a full dinner for 2 people including drinks was around $35 Cdn. The beach in front of the hotel is one of the best in mazatlan. Despite from what you hear in the news, Mazatlan is not as bad as everyone makes it out to be, we had a great time, walked through the back streets of old Mazatlan at night and never had any issues. We really have nothing bad to say about the hotel at all, for what we paid we had an amazing vacation and will most likely be back there in October! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
great location, nice rooms, friendly staff, great price.
The weak points
the restaurant in the hotel is a little expensive and the price of the breakfast buffet goes up on the weekends. everything else is great! no complaints!
Certified

Great Trip

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-03
Our trip was last minute and the price was amazing... That being said we weren't really expecting very much for the hotel. We were so pleasantly surprised. The Hotel was great, the pool area was really lovely especially since it is heated. Apparently the only one that is on the strip. Desk staff are very helpful. We are already talking about going back next year. The food at the hotel was fine, serving staff very attentive and pleasant. Good towels for the pool, no need to bring your own. It is a smaller hotel compared to many others there, which made us feel very comfortable, you get to know other travellers and the staff. That was a real plus as they made you feel like a guest, not just a room number. If you are looking for a change, about 200 yards away are three really great restaurants: Chillis Pepper,Tony's and Loco Loco's. All three are right on the beach and overlook the ocean. Great food at all of them! The other way about 500 yards is The Three Amigos, it's a sports bar that shows Canadian sports if you need a fix! But also has live music most evenings and great food. The staff there are excellent. This trip really was above and beyond! Don't be afraid to go to Mazatlan! We heartily reccomend it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is terrific,easy access to anywhere. The hotel is very clean. Security is everywhere. Staff excellent.
The weak points
Beds are a little hard. Mountian view rooms can be a little noisy as they are on the street side. But not a real problem if you expect it.
Certified

Fun in the sun

, Spirit River, AB
2012-02-05
Location is great very close to restaurants with excellent menus. We regularly had lunch by the pool and the hotel staff was great(setting up umbrellas and tables) for us to enjoy our meal. The hotel menu was fairly priced and food was good. For breakfast we went a block away and ate for less than 200 pesos every morning for 3 people.  The evenings we ate at a different place every night and never more than 2 blocks away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent experience, great location, clean facilities with great staff
The weak points
Rooms are fine definitely not a 5 star but a solid 3 with very firm beds.
Certified

Oceano palace

, Toronto, ON
2011-11-24
the hotel is more than is represented in the ads. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
buffet arrangements excellent and staff support excellent including great music
The weak points
wanted to stay another week - the hotel was not full - but would not give me a good price - stayed next door at 1/5th what I was quoted
Certified

Great place for small price

, Coquitlam, BC
2011-06-13
accomodation was a typical hotel room. The bed had seen better days and should be replaced but I didn't have trouble sleeping. The soundproofing wasn't very good but there were few guests in the hotel so it didn't present a problem, but during busy periods I'm sure there could be problems if there were noisy guests. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, no problem there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very friendly staff, wifi worked well throughout the hotel
The weak points
bed needs to be replaced
Certified

Oceano Palace

, Calgary, AB
2011-06-02
Very good hotel. Tony the concierge was helpful and fun. Staff were great. Rooms nice - beds hard. Get ocean view else street noisy. I would use this hotel again. Breakfast brunches are great and inexpensive. Did not have dinner there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
quality and service
The weak points
In golden zone and time share sellers under every tree and rock.
Certified

Mazatlan Getaway :o)

, Victoria, BC
2011-04-20
The environment of this hotel was laid back and very relaxing. I enjoyed the food, the service, the etertainment,the pool was beautiful and the beach access was amazing. I would love to revisit this hotel with my family. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food/drink and food/drink service were excellent. Daily Housekeeping was excellent. The hotel staff did their very best to meet my english speaking needs.
The weak points
Should warn people why the pool is closed at a certain time ie. chemicals being added to pool. (my dress was ruined when sitting at edge of pool) No iron or hairdryer in room. The water is unfiltered perhaps they should provide a cooler for each room.
Certified

Mazatlan Adventure

, Winnipeg, MB
2009-08-07
First time we ever stayed in a resort with only a two star rating. The price was low and so we did not go wiht expectations that it would be like other resorts we had stayed at. The food was so-so, but there so many resonably priced restaurants in the area and so food was not an issue. We did not spend as much eating out as we did staying at this resort. Many things were in need of repair, but again we looked at it as you get what you pay for. The staff was overall very friendly and and the other guests were great. We actually made a lot more friends than we have at other high end resorts. The beach wasn't the greatest, but this is the Pacific not the Carribean so were not expecting the white sandy beaches. We had a great time. We could have been miserable if we let things like the food or accomodations get to us, but whenever something was wrong we laughed it off. Overall it was a very good value for what it cost us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location. There was lots to do in the area where we were.
The weak points
The place was rather run down
Certified

Mazatlan Mexico

, Strathclair, MB
2009-06-23
pretty much what we expected..no 5 star,but quite well kept and staff were professional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location and price
The weak points
young activities staff that did not interact with the older generation much
Certified

Jan 09

, Winnipeg, MB
2009-06-18
The hotel was fine for what we needed , food was good for breakfest and lunch but did not eat dinner there . Liquior ending at 10pm however turn the place into a ghost town . Even if we had to pay for it after ten there would have been some fun nights but seening as the bar shut down at 10 people either went out or went to bed . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location , good staff , breakfest and lunch we great
The weak points
bar shut down at 10 pm , no coffee bar , and Buffet dinners not to appealing
Certified

Great Place but depends

, Elmworth, AB
2009-06-17
We stayed at this hotel a year earlier enroute to Puerta Vallarta by car, loved it, loved the staff. This year we took a 2 week vacation there and were surprised to get a room that was sub-standard. Fortunately they moved us as soon as rooms we had asked for were available. It was the room next door so really depends on which room you have. Food is okay, staff is great, drinks are so-so if you tip or not, does not make a difference. People that stay here are very friendly and usually willing to meet others. Not much in the way of entertainment as young staff that are interested in young girls and having fun. Swimming pool is not heated and very small so not the place to go if you like to swim. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the front desk staff and bell boy service, conciere service
The weak points
entertainment staff, bathrooms need some work
Certified

2** hotel for those who like explore

, Calgary, AB
2009-06-17


Oceano Palace in Mazatlan it may be an older hotel but it is well maintained.
Good location plus the beach is one of the best in Zona Dorada.
Good place to be on the beach and sun. Oceano is [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location with great beach. Good deal for budget on the beach hotel.
The weak points
no issues - as expected
Certified

Great time for little money.

, Maple Ridge, BC
2009-06-11
We had a great week of doing nothing on a clean beach. Hotel staff were very good. Felt very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff very nice and accomodating. Great clean beach.
The weak points
None
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020