Playa Mazatlan Beach Hotel

Playa Mazatlan Beach Hotel
3.963.963.963.963.96
3.96 based on 23 reviews
#4 of 14 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Mazatlan
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (7)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Playa Mazatlan is Awesome

, Rockland, ON
2019-02-21
The hotel is a little older, one of the best we've ever had the pleasure to stay at. It's also the most clean we've experienced. Cleaning non stop by staff. The food at buffet is ok, good selection, the Italian and Brazilian are fantastic. Mexican we did not try.

If you are accustomed to the typical Caribbean resort in punta cana or cuba you will find this a little different, it is an independent hotel and seems more geared towards many of its Mexican guests not just north americans, especially in terms of the entertainment which for me is a plus...you have an opportunity to be in a city rather than just a exclusive tourist resort, make no mistake it is a tourist area but you can easily experience Mexico while here from here if you wish to get out.

Multiple pools in different areas some geared for activities others for children and families and others for quiet time. They have built a very cool area with a cenote where you can walk through cave like setting to get to it.

There is the adults only swim up bar, adults only infinity hot tub up on top of the waterfall over looking the ocean. with so many areas to explore you really have a choice of setting you want to spend your day. Or evenings as the pools stay open to 9 vs many other paces till 6.

Drinks served non stop on the beach or pools. Every single staff we encountered was beyond helpful and kind. I keep reading about no English, my Spanish is very limited but no issues at all here. However you would be wise learning a few phrases as it is a Spanish peaking country after all. They really appreciate your effort.

The beach is very nice for walking sand is soft and is clean, big waves beautiful views, The water had stingrays at this time and several people got stung. Most did not, still lots of people were in the ocean but not me once I saw a lady who had the misfortune.

It is located in a great area for anything you could want, pharmacies, shopping, bars, restaurants, you name it all in walking distance. Felt very safe, no concerns at all.

Overall we fell in love with place, we have experienced many resorts all over many times and this was a nice suprise, we will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are the number one strong point of this resort/hotel. The location being within walking distance to everything is very nice.
The weak points
Had a standard garden view room, most do not have king beds. Rooms extremely well kept by maids and clean, but a little dated. very little weak points to playa Mazatlán.
Certified

Playa Mazatlan

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-13
Clean & well kept [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were great Italian restaurant was great
The weak points
The food, menu never seems to change, give it a 2 out of 10 The Italian restaurant was excellent Construction noise very annoying, to noisy to sit by pool
Certified

Great place....

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-03-13
Wonderful location right in the heart of the golden zone. Huge complex with lots of pools. I thought the food was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location on the beach. Great that you can go to the a la cartes as much as you want.
The weak points
Poor wi-fi, can be very crowded at times.
Certified

We love Mazatlan again!

, Mb, MB
2017-03-13
It's been five years since we have been to Mazatlan and it's very nice to see that the city seems to be thriving again. We stopped going there because it was dangerous and it seemed that most of the shops and restaurants were closing. They've built a lot of new humongous hotels and it seems like there's lots of business happening there now. The Sunwing rep on the bus said that they opened a new highway and lots of Mexicans travel to Mazatlan now. He said that the tourism is now 80% Mexicans. You could tell - it was definitely different to see mostly Mexicans around the pool.
The weather was typical - extremely hot when the sun is shining but more cloudy periods than Puerto Vallarta - also chilly and windy at night.
The food was seriously fabulous! The resort allows unlimited visits to the a la carte restaurants which I love. There was an Italian one that we went to three times and a Mexican one that we went to twice. Also there's a romantic surf and turf and Fiesta show that we didn't make it to. They had a Disney show which the kids loved. And the buffet is pretty good too. We did visit a few of our favorite restaurants off the resort too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
You can attend the ala carte restaurants to no limit, and the food is amazing. The pools are so warm and there are so many of them. Located on the best beach in the world. The gym is great, as is the man who works there, very encouraging!
The weak points
Some staff and all management are very rude, not helpful (wouldn't warm my daughter's bottle of milk). The Wifi is horrible. The weather is windy/cool/cloudt. Had to pay for food until 1:00 PM 1st day but no breakfast available early hours departure day.
Certified

Playa Mazatlan

, Lethbridge, AB
2017-02-07
Great location, staff was awesome. Breakfast buffet was really good. The hotel is older and needs some updating but it is clean and well maintained. We have stayed here several times. The only negative is if your room faces Joes Oyster Bar on the South side of the hotel it is extremely noisy until 4am. If you like quiet request a room on the other side of the property. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location. Excellent staff.
The weak points
Noisy on the south side of the hotel due to Joe's Oyster Bar.
Certified

Not bad but won't go back

, Selkirk, MB
2017-02-05
Our stay wasn't bad but we paid for 2 2 bedroom family suits and only got one 2 bedroom family suit and one big room with three beds. The one two bedroom family suit we did get didn't have hot water for 2 days with no compensation. There are no fridges in any of the rooms and if you want one it's 5 bucks American for every day and it's not filled with beer at any point. The staff wasn't helpful or willing compensate us in anyway for our inconvenience. Most of the staff can barely speak English. If you are thinking about going deep sea fishing don't trust a guy named Rudolfo (Rudy) or Marco they will rip you off they have a blue umbrella just down the beach. Your best bet is to rent a cab and go to the marina and talk to the guys down there. The food on the resort was good enough to eat everyday but not good enough to go back for seconds. The maids were great the rooms were cleaned everyday very well. The kids pools with the water slides (the main reason we picked this resort) were freezing cold and tucked back in a far corner of the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms
The weak points
Old hotel, no bar fridges in any room, kids area freezing cold where other pools are heated.

Great stay

, Calgary, Al
2016-01-26
Great location, if you go you must visit Chi Chi Bi Chis which is right next door and get the chili shrimp! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beach
The weak points
NA
Certified

PLAYA MAZATLAN BEACH HOTEL

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-20
A lovely hotel on a gorgeous stretch of beach in the hotel zone of Mazatlan! The hotel is laid out parallel (vs. perpendicular) to the beach - i.e. you are steps from the beach from almost everywhere on the property. This hotel has several pools, including one adjacent to a waterfall, and numerous outdoor seating areas (ranging from rocking chairs to deck chairs to palapas). The buffet restaurant is in a picturesque location right next to the ocean. The Italian specialty restaurant was amazing and the Mexican specialty restaurant was also very enjoyable. There are several shops and other businesses (eg. restaurants/bars) within easy walking distance from the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Outdoor (pool, beach, seating) areas; specialty restaurants; friendly staff and an excellent location; recommended for anyone with limited mobility.
The weak points
The food at the buffet was very good but not exceptional and the replenishment of room supplies was somewhat inconsistent (i.e. facecloths and shower mats would be removed but not necessarily replaced daily).
Certified

Fantastic hotel

, Chilliwack, BC
2014-03-09
beautiful beach. Room perfect and food was excellent. all inclusive drinks were unusual. some beer available at some bars and not others unless you pay. Everything so clean...loved this place. Sunwing didn't pass our requests along to hotel. but still happy with what we got. We're going back to this hotel! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Food. Room with ocean front. Very clean. staff so friendly. Koi ponds beautiful! Location awesome.
The weak points
poor internet connection. AI alcohol unusual. need room number everytime you order something. no fridge or safety box in room.
Certified

Wonderful staff, ok resort, food so so!

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-02-10
The hotel was very clean and all the staff delightful, friendly and very accommodating. The beach and pool service very good. However, if you want great food, don't take the all inclusive here and eat your meals out at the wonderful restaurants in town. Bring your own coffee as the coffee here is extremely weak with no flavour at all. If you want premium liquor, it will cost you more but worth it. Vendors are rampant here but very friendly, some lovely in fact and a wealth of knowledge for the area. Location is good, very handy to everything. The marching bands are extremely annoying when guests are trying to siesta on the beach but I doubt there is anything that the resort can do about that. All in all, we would stay here again without the meal package. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff wonderful, location good, hotel clean.
The weak points
Food is ok but not great, mediocre at best. Cocktails are not premium, just ok. The marching bands extremely annoying when trying to siesta on the beach!
Certified

Great time

, Toronto, ON
2013-03-21
The Hotel is spotlessly clean, on a prime beachfront location, with all services and amenities available. Only issue was the quality of the food at the buffets (which was below par for a hotel of this ranking). Specialty restaurants were very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beach, people, cleanliness, rooms, internet in lobby, Mazatlan.
The weak points
Food at buffets, internet access in rooms was sporadic.
Certified

Our Family Vacation in Mazatlan

, Edmonton, AB
2013-03-10
Our experience was very good. For a families first time to Mazatlan I would recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-The Italian Restaurant was the best we have had in all of Mexico
The weak points
-having to tell the room number with everything you ordered.
Certified

Totally enjoyable

, Guelph, ON
2013-01-19
Unfortunately the weather wasn't as co-operative as we would of liked but who has control over that. We were a family of 5 and have nothing but good things to say about this resort. They accodomated us with adjoining room which was a big plus. The view from our room was the best we have ever had. The pool was heated for those days which were cooler. The resturants served great food. The buffet could of had a few more choices but overall high marks on food and the service from the restuarnt to the pool was definitely noticed. Would come back to this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The 2 resturants, view of the room, the heated pools, location, service, pool side snack bar, everything within easy walking distance
The weak points
Small buffet, no fridge in room
Certified

Playa Mazatlan

, Moosejaw, SK
2012-03-11
Very nice Mexican resort very quiet no body on the beach the week we were visiting I would stay again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The rooms were clean 6 beer in a bucket of ice for 150 peso,s what more do you need.
The weak points
THE BEDS WERE HARD.
Certified

Playa Mazatlan

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2011-04-25
Overall, our experience was positive. It was our second time staying there. It was busier than we expected, as it was the Easter holidays in Mazatlan, and there was no school for the week. So the hotel was very busy. It was noisy some nights due to the teenagers staying out late. Nothing horrible, but we were awoken a few times. Service at the hotel was very good, and they kept the hotel and beach very clean. Everything you could imagine to do, was close to the hotel. For the price, it was well worth it!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location. Price.
The weak points
Service at the restaurant was slow. No fridge in room.
Certified

Playa Mazatlan

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-04-22
The room was large and very comfortable with a fantastic view. The down side was the noise level coming form the restaurant below. Making up tables @ 5:30AM and then nightly very loud entertainment until midnight. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
room view and location
The weak points
noise level
Certified

Nice, Mellow, Good Value for Off Season

, Vancouver, BC
2010-07-08
Hotel Playa Mazatlan was a great value for what we paid ( we got a great off season deal). It is an older property, not flashy, but clean, well maintained, not too big and a has a nice, Mexican style layout and charm about it. We went the last week of June, the off season for US-Can tourists and just before the bustling season of Mexican tourists. It was quiet and mellow. About 30% families and the rest adult couples mainly. Our rooms were basic with few conveniences, but comfortable and clean; we upgraded to ocean view after 2 days for a very nominal fee and it was well worth it. The beach service for drinks was sporadic, but there were only a few palapas worth of people at any given time. The independent bar/snack shack at the main pool was open sporadically, but was a good value when we caught it. We ate breakfast and had "happy hour" at the hotel almost every day, prices were very reasonable for these meals and the food was decent. The one night we had dinner, we were underwhelmed ... that said, there are tonnes of good and inexpensive restaurants a stone throw from the hotel, so we never intended to eat dinner there anyways. The terraza restaurant/bar at the hotel is probably the nicest in the Golden Zone to just hang out in ... it very soothing with the breeze coming in off the ocean and is out of the direct sun - we enjoyed it daily. The hotel beach could use a better raking, was a little dirtier than I am used to, but nothing off putting; there were plenty of activity options beside the hotel also like boogie boarding, parasail, etc., if you felt like some action. We went into town almost daily - a cheap pulmonia ride or a long, but interesting walk on the malecon for those who are interested. We also walked all the way up the beach to look at the other properties we passed on, and were really happy with our choice when we did. If you are looking for more excitement, more of a party atmosphere or a younger crowd, it's probably not for you. If you want to chill, read on the beach, get a little tanned, sip cocktails and be generally leisurely, then it's a good value. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location. Size. Beach.
The weak points
Food only okay.
Certified

Totally Charming Hotel! Loved it!!

, Grande Praire, AB
2010-03-19
This hotel was just lovely!! It has the feeling of an old fashioned Mexican hacienda, while being totally clean and modern! We loved the charm and character, as well as the friendly and helpful staff. We were greeted when we pulled up and helped with our luggage. Check in was a breeze, and we were in our room within minutes. The rooms are very large, modern and clean. The beds were incredibly comfortable with new mattresses... mine was better than my bed at home!

The main pool is a salt water pool and is heated, which was just heavenly! I loved the salt water... my skin felt so soft when I got out, and there was no harsh chlorine smell. The smaller pools/hottubs were heated as well. We actually spent a lot of time in the pool because it was so warm and relaxing! We had a pool view, which was perfectly alright because it was quiet at night. An ocean view would have been nice as well.

The beach was pretty, and vendors weren't allowed to come on to the property, so that was nice. There were tiny ants in the sand which did bite, so we ended up only going to the beach a couple of times.

We decided to check into what it would cost to have a fridge put in our room, and it was only about $20 for 6 nights, so we had them bring us one. It was great to keep a few beer and pop in, as well as keeping our water bottles cold for the next day.

We enjoyed laying by the pool and sipping frosty drinks (about $3 each). There was a fellow there each day that offered whiteware that you could paint yourself, which we did on a couple of days when the weather wasn't as good. This was fun, and we came home with some cool momentos!

My only negative to the hotel was the food. We did not have the semi-all inclusive (thank goodness) but did eat at the restaurant a few times. The morning omlettes were ok, but the rest of our meals were not that great... very bland and unappetizing. We ordered nachos on the beach one day, which cost about $5... the waiter brought a plate with about a dozen triangle taco chips that individually had a quarter of a kraft single cheese slice melted on each of them (honestly!!!). We finally gave up on eating at the hotel.

We attended the Mexican Fiesta at the hotel, and while the food was less than great, there was enough of it to fill you up (buffet style) and the drinks were all included. The show was fun to watch!

There were a couple of restaurants almost right across the street from the hotel that I would highly recommend to anyone. Both were a little classier places, but prices were VERY reasonable! One was an Italian place called Vittore Italian Grill, where I had the best house salad and bowtie pasta of my life (seriously!!), and the other was Las Lupitas which was also VERY good.

One word of warning... there is a lot of warring going on between the drug cartels and the police in Mexico right now, so a person may want to keep that in mind and heed the warnings of the Canadian and US consulates. The Canadian Consulate is actually right in the Playa Mazatlan, so that did give us some degree of comfort. Unfortunately, there was a shooting right outside a restaurant we were in in the north end of the Golden Zone, and two police officers were killed. That was very disturbing.

If you're headed for Mazatlan, I would highly recommend the Playa Mazatlan to anyone that wants to get away from the giant, commercial, time-share type properties! The place does seem to cater more to an adult crowd, so would not really recommend it for family vacations... there were a few families with children there, but they would probably find more activities and amenities for kids at some of the other hotels. Have fun!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice rooms, great beds, clean, friendly staff, warm salt-water pools, quiet surroundings, excellent location, high security, toilets that flush properly, cheap fridge rentals, great service!
The weak points
Poor food and ants on the beach.
Certified

The Playa

, Kenora, MB
2010-03-16
This was our second visit to the Playa. It is a small hotel (which we prefer). The service was great as was the food. Found the bathroom clealiness to be alittle lacking. Beds are somewhat hard. But for the money it was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach and friendly, helpful staff.
The weak points
Hard beds, bathrooms not cleaned all that well
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Mazatlan's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Beaches Families Couples Seniors Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020