Los Angeles Locos

Los Angeles Locos
3.503.503.503.503.50
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (5)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Strong 3.5 star Authentic Mexican Resort

, Edmonton, AB
2015-02-02
For the price point we paid we had an amazing holiday & could not expect anything better. The beach is spectacular. The pool area is large & very clean. Staff is friendly & accommodating. Enjoyed the Mangrove Tour lucky enough to see lots of crab as well as a baby crocodile. Were fortunate enough to see over 50 turtles hatch & watch them as they made their way to the ocean. Food is authentic with a variety of appetizing dishes. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, pool, food & staff.
The weak points
Rooms are dated with hard beds. Linens & towels are worn.

My review

, Calgary, AB
2014-04-01
The transfer in was a disaster, the bus pneumatic brakes failed and we were transferred in small vans arriving al the hotel two hours late at 7PM. We couldn't enjoy the beach because what is called the red tide. However, we strongly believe that the ocean is extremely polluted with sewage and swimming must be avoided. The local guests behaviour at the swimming pool was improper. The pool was hard to keep up clean, the water was turbid. So, no beach and no pool to enjoy ad relax. This resort is mainly for domestic weekend travellers. This is at best a 3 star resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The surrounding scenery is nice.
The weak points
Beach, swimming pool, very old building.
Certified

Los Angeles Locos 2014

, Rimbey, AB
2014-03-30
We had a great time at this resort. The weather was the sunniest and hottest we have experienced in March in Mexico. The hotel guests were a nice mix of Mexicans and Canadians. The main level of the hotel (lobby, pool, restaurants, etc.) were in nice shape; however the rooms are in need of some renovations. We didn't go to Mexico to stay in the room though, we used it to sleep and get changed mostly. The included horse back riding and lagoon excursions are both worthwhile. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good food and entertainment. Lovely weather.
The weak points
Rooms are a little run down.
Certified

Just o.k.

, Mississauga, ON
2014-03-27
If you are looking for very quiet time this is the place.Other than excurisions there is nothing to do.Not my kind of place so wouldn't go back there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly people
The weak points
no way to get any-where else unless you take a taxi which would be costly.
Certified

Great place for a total getaway.

, Calgary, AB
2014-03-26
We just got back from Los Angeles Locos, and I miss it already. This resort is quite different from any that we'd been to before. It's in the middle of nowhere, isn't surrounded by other resorts, and (thankfully) wasn't filled with young kids just there to get drunk!

Our room was well kept, and had two double beds. Like all other reviewers, we agree that the beds are incredibly stiff, pillows included. The lady that cleaned our room always had a great smile on her face whenever we saw her in the hallway and she always did a fantastic job on the room. We were on the top (4th) floor, and had a decent view of the bay, but we rarely found ourselves sitting on our balcony because of all the bird poop. The birds roosted on top of our patio door in the evenings and leave behind a pretty big mess. The shower always had plenty of hot water, and had lots of pressure even after my wife and daughter finished their showers.

The food at the buffets was pretty good. No one on our trip got any bouts of the stomach flu, and there was always plenty of selection for the picky eaters. I certainly never went hungry because I didn't like what was available, and no one in my family did either. There are three a la carte restaurants, and you get to choose two of them on a one week trip. We were forced into taking the Mexican and Italian places because the International one (the one with the amazing cliff-side views) didn't accept kids below 14. We were very happy with our meals, and the service from the staff really made us appreciate the break from the buffets.

If you're traveling with children who go to bed early, be aware that it can get quite loud in the evenings. We were in room 418, and were pretty much right in the middle of the hotel above the lobby. There were special events that went on in the lobby bar in the evenings and we could always hear what was going on when our daughter was trying to fall asleep. It would finally quiet down around 11pm when the party moved to the disco, which is far enough away that we couldn't hear anything.

The beach here is AMAZING. It is far and away the best beach that I've been to, and walking from the resort down to the end (about 1-2kms) with my family was definitely the best part of our trip. It feels like you've got an entire beach to yourself and the sand is superb. The only downside we found with the beach is that the water was never calm near the resort. Yes, riding and playing in the waves was a blast, but it didn't make for easy swimming for our 3 year old. However, down at the end of the beach is a river mouth where the water is spectacular. It's crystal clear in the shallow areas, and an emerald green in the deeper parts. It's teeming with sea life and we saw hundreds of fish, and about a dozen rays. We will really miss this beach.

We did two excursions while at the resort. We did the free mangrove boat tour and did a paid tour out into the ocean for dolphin viewing and snorkelling. Both tours were lead by Louis, who was a fantastic boat driver, but barely spoke any English, so aside from what we saw, we barely got anything else from the trips. The dolphin tour was extremely affordable at $30 US/person, but when we tried to pay in Pesos, they did the conversion at 10:1, which is quite a bit in their favour. I was puzzled why they had the price in US, when literally everything else in the resort is in Pesos.

Our biggest complaint with the resort is that there is a definite language barrier. I'd read some other reviews of people saying that they didn't have any issues, but we certainly did, and witnessed others with similar problems. We tried booking the other free excursion (the horseback riding) and the girl at the activity desk told us that we could book for the next day. She wrote our names down, and told us to show up at the horse stable the next day at our time. We showed up ready to go, and the guy leading the horses wouldn't let us go because we didn't have a ticket. I ran back to the activity desk, and the people working there explained to me that you can't book the horses in advance and when he looked, there was no record of our names in the book... Every time we inquired about something, we were always met with a sort of impartial attitude and a lack of effort to try to communicate what it was we were looking for. There were a ton of locals at the resort, and we definitely felt as though they got preferential treatment over the Canadians. I understand that it's a resort in Mexico, and that Spanish is the language, but I firmly believe that if your job requires communicating with people who speak English, you should be fluent in both languages.

Even with the language issues (which were minor in the grand scheme of things), we had a fantastic week at Los Angeles Locos. This vacation was for the sole intent of getting away and relaxing and this resort really allowed us to do just that. Although we won't be booking our next vacation back here, we will certainly keep this place in mind if we ever need a total getaway again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No beach vendors hassling you, AMAZING beach that seems to never end, above average food.
The weak points
Very strong language barrier, Locals seem to get preferential treatment, can be loud in the early evening.
Certified

Beach was beautiful but...

, Leduc, AB
2014-03-09
Beds were rock hard, room smelled like mildew, most of the entertainment was not understandable because it appeared they catered to their Mexican guests. Food was bland and they surely do not know how to cook meat - we had a hard time getting through the meat with a knife, let alone our teeth. A la carte restaurants were better, however, you are only allowed to eat 3 evening meals there. A lot further out than we expected. Not enough pool chairs! That's just for starters! Definitely won't be going back! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the beach
The weak points
the food and the rooms (stunk like mildew and it was evident on the furniture!)
Certified

Enjoyed stay - expectations met

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-03-06
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We were at Los Angeles Locos for 2 weeks, and although fairly small and secluded, there was a good variety of food, and 3 great al a carte restaurants. Do NOT expect a 5 star hotel or 5 star service. The price point is great, and our expectations were met. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, front desk/staff, quiet/private beack. No large party groups, lots of locals (could be viewed as a negative)
The weak points
drinks (terrible tasting vodka lol), hard beds.
Certified

Los Angeles Locos

, North Vancouver, BC
2014-02-27
Tenth visit to Mexico in past 30 years. Fourth visit to this property over past 20 years. Staff all very helpful & courteous. Building maintenance good. Plumbing leaks becoming more common & not fixed. Toilets seldom flush properly, they need to hire a competent licensed plumber. Food quality in main restaurant has deteriorated to marginally acceptable. Stairwells need to have lighting installed for safety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, Location. Staff.
The weak points
Plumbing, toilets, food.
Certified

Good value for the price

, Cranbrook, BC
2014-02-18
We had read reviews on-line so we knew what to expect as far as condition of the hotel. It could use an overhaul but was pretty clean. The beds are the typical mexican concrete style, bring a foamie if you can stuff one in your suitcase. The a la carte restaurants were pretty good and the quality of the buffet was okay, some days better than others. you could always find something appealing. The beach is incredibly gorgeous, one of the best we have been to. For the price we paid we have no real complaints and would go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
fantastic beach! good staff
The weak points
a bit tired, could use some updating, beds are like concrete
Certified

Family holiday...to get away!

, Stony Plain, AB
2014-02-16
Very small and private...secluded beach that is away from everything. You can book deep sea fishing, shopping trips, zip lines and ATV's that leave from the resort (be prepared for a minimum 1hr bus ride to go anywhere). No access to cash or to exchange money so be sure you do this before you go to the resort. Don't expect a 4* as it is a small resort so they don't offer as much. The beach is huge and you could walk for 20 minutes passing maybe 10 other travellers...nice for quiet time & exploring. Beautiful weather and clean beach/ocean! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach...away from everything. Nice pool (not too cold). Lots of activities (soccer, volleyball, kayaks, disco, boat ride on the mangroove, horseback riding, turtle reserve, bingo & shows). They genuinely care about their guests.
The weak points
Communication barrier as a lot of the staff don't speak English at all. Rooms are pretty run down...but...you get what you pay for. Mangroove boat ride and horseback riding the guy didn't speak any English so you didn't really have a guide.
Certified

Bring your own food.

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-16
The trip to the resort (and return) is lengthy but the location and beach is worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, location and staff.
The weak points
Generally the food was of poor quality, occasionally we found something edible. On three successive days we had to contact the front desk to have maintenance repair the air conditioning. It was never fixed and resulted in expensive frustration.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-02
We loved our vacation at Blue Bay despite a few challenges of our own making. We requested a room on the 4th floor facing the tennis courts (to minimize noise from the disco), which built a bit of a workout into each day. We also enjoyed walking the beach several times a day. There was no lack of food or of lawn chairs. We were well cared for. We like to kayak but were not comfortable going out due to the waves. Apparently, the waves aren't always this strong. We would go again especially if we could see the release of the baby turtles. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great weather. Clean wide beach great for walking.
The weak points
Unfortunately, our timing was off for seeing the turtles and I lost my prescription glasses to the ocean waves.
Certified

Los Angeles Locos

, Bonnyville, AB
2014-01-27
Hotel is nice, a bit outdated. Only complaint was beds just a mattress on concrete so we would recommend taking a mattress topper if you go there. Beach is fantastic and so is staff! Wifi almost never worked.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach is fantastic and view breathtaking. Staff are super friendly, some don't speak English very well but they make do. The turtle release on the each is an experience to see and so was the tour to Barra de Navidad.
The weak points
Very secluded if you are looking to do sightseeing. Beds are very uncomfortable. Hotel is outdated being the very first all inclusive in the area. Food choices limited.sand fleas bad at night.
Certified

Close to La Manzanilla, not Manzanillo; max 2 star

, Vancouver, BC
2014-01-15
There are many ways to write this review but I would like to start with: read reviews, people really know what they are talking about!!!
This hotel is not a 4-star resort but a quaint 2-star with the majority of the guests from the surrounding Mexican cities who come to the beach on weekends. So, brush up on your Spanish, since most staff and guest will only be able to communicate in it.
Ask for a room on the 4th floor (beautiful sunrises) or toward the tennis courts/ lagoon (beautiful sunsets).
The beach and the water are spectacular; the water clear with lots of fish to see. Dolphins come by off shore, pelicans dive into the water to fish and tons of other shore birds share the beach with you. For this, it is the absolute paradise. At the far end of the beach, to which you can easily stroll, is a small river. Take the kayaks to explore this. Locals camp and fish around the area...This resort is in the middle of nowhere, so either be prepared to spend you time all there or take a cab into Barra/Maleque or La Manzanilla for some small town flair. It is about 1 hr drive away from Manzanillo on the road to Puerto Vallarta, so this resort is absolutely not a good place for party animals. In fact, most are families with small children.
The staff is super friendly and the hotel doctor, although does not speak any English, are extremely helpful.
The food is the major drawback of this hotel...Internet is spotty and available only in the lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beaches,surrounding nature, birds, butterflies, animals are spectacular. In your stay you get a complementary jungle tour, a horse-back ride and the release of baby turtles when they hatch.
The weak points
The food is overall bad, both in the buffet and in the a la carte restaurants. If this hotel wants to attract more Canadians, there needs to be more effort put into the food.
Certified

Smaller, out of the way, and fantastic.

, Burnaby, BC
2014-01-14
This is not the ideal getaway for everyone, but based on the number of repeat guests we met there it comes pretty close for many...including us. I will attempt to give an unbiased review broken down by headings.
Beach: Clean, long, uncrowded, private (no vendors plying their goods), picturesque, and lots of sand. One can wade out a good long way before it gets deep enough to be over one's head. It is protected, meaning that the waves are not strong. You would not be able to surf here. I tried body surfing but this requires patience waiting for a wave of any real magnitude. That makes it safe enough for me to coax my wife who was morbidly fearful of the ocean into the water up to her neck. The sand underneath continues fairly clean with a few fish to see but nothing nasty to step on. We saw a few dolphin playing in the distance, but not a daily thing. Many guests claiming to be seasoned travelers felt this is the best beach they have ever seen. I saw no reason to argue, unless of course you want bigger waves.
Food: Not 5-star, but not claiming to be either. Not 2-star either…much better. The buffet offered a wide variety some of which was very good, some quite passable, and a few things not so good. The fruit and yogurt was always fresh and they did some peach sauce chicken one day that was excellent (there were other good examples). They did sushi one day which was horrid (safe to eat, but who would want to), and a few things I did not want to try. Their breads were always excellent. Overall there was something for most everyone. Perhaps most importantly, it was all safe to eat. Everything else is perhaps a matter of personal taste. As for a la carte, I only tried the international…three times. It was at least 4 star with some things being 5 star quality. This includes not only the food (their shrimp bisque was to die for), but the atmosphere, the view, the service…the whole experience. Other guests were not as excited about the other a la carte options, hence we did not bother trying them. I heard some good, some not so good, nothing excellent. I also tried a hamburger at the beach. I did not have to change from my wet bathing suit, but other than that nothing much good to say.
Drinks: I am not a drinker, but anything I tried was good and those who did drink weren't complaining. My impression is that if this is important to you then you will not be disappointed.
Entertainment: Excellent. I got to know most of the entertainers. Because this is not a 5-star hotel they did not need the experience to get the job and were doing it for the experience. I am sure none of them will have any trouble “upgrading” to a better paying gig down the line. It was clear that they all worked very hard getting their moves down. We enjoyed all of the shows, though I suppose it was not Cirque de Sole or anything quite of that caliber. It was as good as I have seen in this type of show. The audience seemed engaged and entertained each and every night.
Disco: Not my thing so I did not go. Best rooms to stay in overlook the tennis courts if you do not wish to be kept up with the noise. With the air conditioner humming in the background I could not hear a thing.
Rooms: Spacious, clean, comfortable bedding. Not 5 star of course. For example, the toilet seat was for a smaller toilet and was definitely not the most expensive option, but if such things bother you then you should not be looking at a 3½ star resort. The walls were a little thin which was problematic the first two nights when our neighbor came “home” at 2:00 am drunken and decidedly noisy. The second night was horrid and when I knocked on the door asking him to keep it down I thought he was going to break into our room to punch me for being so “rude”. He, by the way, was Canadian I am ashamed to admit. Anyway, the staff moved us at 3:00 am to a new room where we had no problems. The views from all rooms are fantastic and the hotel itself is very clean and charming. Nothing really bad to say, lots of good.
Size: I like the size. It is small enough that you get to know some of the staff and fellow guests…very personable. It is big enough that they can get some activities happening. One might say it is the perfect size.
Location: Not in Manzanillo. It is a long hour away and not convenient to any shopping. Many guests arranged trips into a nearby town for shopping and felt it to be fun and of reasonable value. I stayed in the complex. Why leave when I was having fun where I was?
Staff: The best. Only good things to say. Friendly, attentive, plentiful, hard-working. All good.
Guests: I love those reviewers who complain about too many Mexican guests…hello, you are in Mexico. From my experience the Mexicans are wonderful, friendly, family oriented, happy people. Might they occasionally get served a drink out of line…sure. They speak the same language as the server and so the transaction is easier for them. So smile, get to know the server's name, and tell him or her what you want and you will get it quickly enough and with a smile back. This place has a healthy mix of Mexicans and Canadians with a few Americans and other countries thrown in the mix. I think this is a huge plus. There are also lots of kids…but other than an occasional reminder that it's time for a nap or whatever they are nothing but a joy to see as they too have fun in the sun. The complex has plenty of activities aimed at the little ones so they are not “underfoot” if that worries you. But if you must have an adults only or English speaking only resort then this is not for you.
Sports: While many come to sit in the sun sipping margaritas, I come to drink water and play beach volleyball and the like. This is one reason I like it that there are plenty of Mexicans, for they too like sports. Overall I was not disappointed. I got in some decent games, plus a few where people couldn't hit the ball but still had fun. It was all good.
Activities: There were plenty of other activities too. Spanish lessons, dance lessons, water aerobics, and the like. A particularly interesting one is their turtle races…taking a newly hatched turtle in the evening and releasing it into the ocean where hopefully it will survive to return to hatch more of these endangered species. Kudos to them for doing this. I do have one complaint/suggestion. They do not post the activities for the day (you have to know who to ask). Moreover, they do not always stick to their schedules. I spoke with quite a few guests who did not have any clue what activities were planned or how to find out but would have participated in various activities had they known. Some of this was announced in Spanish but missed by those who do not speak Spanish. An activity board showing all that is scheduled for the day would be a huge improvement, especially if the plan is followed. What this resort needs is a strong activities coordinator (or to better train their existing one). But things happened nonetheless and it was all mostly good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, size (not too big or too small), employees, sports and activities, guest mix, cleanliness, privacy, atmosphere, accommodations, good selection of food, views, safety, amenities, layout.
The weak points
Some food below par, activities not posted, schedules not always adhered to. Far from town if that is important. Nothing major.
Certified

Blue bay

, Petawawa, ON
2013-03-06
Of all the travels I have had to winter getaways this is by far the one place that I keep going back to.The fact is We have been going to this resort now for 14 years, not continuous, but we keep getting drawn back there, as do many of our friends that we have met there over the years. And that says alot for a resort, when they have as many repeat vacationers as does this resort. I have nothing negative to say about this place. From the beach to the accomodations to the absolutely phenomenal staff that they have there is what keeps bringing people back to this resort. People like bartender Carlos or wait staff in the restaurants like Jasmine or Salvator make this and extremely satisfying place to escape our winter. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Customer service and the friendly atmosphere of the staff is something, that when you find it, you keep going back for.
The weak points
Some people may not like the location as being away from all the major sites and centres, but for a nominal price you can easily see the towns and villages by cabs that are readily available through the front desk.
Certified

Blue Bay Los Angeles locos

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-11
I'll start with the good. Outside area by pool very nice. Beach very nice. Good food and drinks at restaurant at far end of beach (15-20 min. walk). Went to 2 out of 3 la carte restaurant. Had good food. On our last night they lost our reservation and never got in.
Horseback ride and river tour was good. Now for the bad. Service was unacceptable. Took me 5 trips to the lobby to report a leak from the ceiling in the bathroom. On the 5th time I was yelling at the manager infront of a group that was checking in. Only then did it get resolved. The maintenance manager said they would comp us a junior suite for our last 4 nights but we declined. Went with a group of 12(6 rooms), least 3 rooms the patio doors have been left unlocked by the cleaning staff. All 6 rooms were on ground level. No poolside waitress service. Lobby bar closed at 11pm and the only place to get a drink was at the disco. Rooms are well dated. Two groups had issues with the toilet, took one 5 hours to get any service. Not very handicapped friendly. Disco had to climb one flight of stairs and had to climb 2 sets for a restaurant. There are 4 floors in the hotel and no elevator. It seemed that the food in the main buffet never changed up at all. It was the same for breakfast, lunch and supper. The only place that it changed between breakfast, lunch and supper was where they would grill food for you. The resort is very isolated, long way from anything. At least 6 of us have bites on our legs, maybe sand fleas. There was an abundance of flies, by the pool and in the buffet. I saw ants in the buffet line where the syrup was and couple of the ladies that were with us saw ants in the buns/dinner rolls. The area around the pool is extremely slippery. Saw 2 people fall, one requiring medical treatment. Saw lots of people slip but never fell. The morning of our departure, a group of us was sitting in the lobby. There was an explosion that could be felt through out the resort. We went outside to check it out and saw smoke pouring out of vents that led to the basement. Heard that it came from the boiler room. The staff came running from all directions, some with fire extingishers. They tried later to cover it up by saying it was a test.
I would rate this resort 3 out of 10, only because of the beach and pool area. Would I go back there again? NO. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice outside pool area. very nice beach.
The weak points
Rooms outdated. Service unacceptable. Buffet, the food never changed up. Ants in food. Flies. very isolated
Certified

Paradise in Nature

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-29
We enjoyed our fourth stay at Blue Bay. The staff are amazing. The food is great. The beach is second to none. Great for swimming, wave jumping and snorkeling. The water is crystal clear. We plan to return to our winter home every year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Beach Great Staff Food is great, lots of meal choices.
The weak points
Hotel is about 40 years old. Beds are very firm. Some leaks here and there.
Certified

Not a four star.

, Vancouver, BC
2013-01-27
I could not be less happy with the food at this resort. I have been home for a couple of days and still feel sick. The air conditioning in my room must have been moldy too if the chest infection I have is any indication. The Beach was amazing though. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach
The weak points
Just about everything else.
Certified

Paradise

, Abbotsford, BC
2012-03-12
We had a fabulous time. Our friends got married on the beach and the staff did an amazing job with the arrangements, the flowers and everything. The activities crew were great, they really encouraged people to join in and have some extra fun. Great dance classes at 4 every afternoon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was fabulous. The beach was beautiful. The staff were excellent. The dance classes were very fun. The pool was lovely. The booze flowed:) And the releasing of the sea turtles was magical. Loved it!
The weak points
Our air conditioner didn't work, but we didn't report it until we checked out.
Certified

Blue bay resort

, Cranbrook, BC
2012-02-17
the hotel, beach, staff were excellent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the hotel, beach, staff were excellent.
The weak points
a little far from outside amenities. if they provided a shuttle to a near town daily would be a great asset.
Certified

Nice Stay

, Cambridge, ON
2012-02-13
The hotel nice, room was clean, i read many complain about the bed being hard,however i find it was good. the food is good , wish there were more sea food!
The Beach is A , and we paid a charter boat $140.0 US for a day of fun on the water Fishing, snorkeling, whale watching. for 6 of us. the boat max out at 8. I would recommend this resort for family or couple looking for a nice quite relax vacation. party crowd look for something else. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE beach!!!!!
The weak points
Wish there were more activities!
Certified

Loved It

, Calgary, AB
2011-12-09
The stff were great and the food wss outstanding [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location and beach
The weak points
hard bed
Certified

Birds and Bugs

, Langley, BC
2011-11-24
As an older resort there's a lot of maintenance being done and much needed. The room was clean and comfortable for sleeping once the noise of the disco and partiers died down. A constant drip of water from the ceiling made the bathroom floor and our shoulders wet whenever we used the toilet. We were told it was condensation from the A/C.
The buffet, Snack bar, and Pizza bar all had birds flying around and landing on tables, chairs and the floor.
We had (and still have) many insect bites on our arms, legs and bodies - possibly due to water from the recent hurricane but very annoying and itchy. On two evenings the area around the hotel was sprayed with some kind of insecticide which wafted across and through the lobby and eating areas just before the dinner opening.
The weather was great, the pool and beach were good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The Air Transat rep was at the hotel only once in the week we were there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, beach, pool, cleanliness
The weak points
Birds in the eating areas, insects. LOUD entertainment.
Certified

Blue Bay Los Angeles

, Calgary, AB
2011-11-18
We just returned from a 7 night stay at the Blue Bay Los Angeles.
The airport is very small and is not set up to handle very many passengers at once.
The hour shuttle to the resort was ok. You go through a few mexican towns. A hurricane was through the area about a month ago and completely leveled many plantations as well as destroyed several roads. Lots of devistation. The resort is away from everything else. Almost isolated. However, the beach was very quiet - nice for a morning stroll, horseback riding, etc.
The resort itself was just ok. Food at the buffet was limited. A poor selection and hard to access with a very cramped service area. The burger shack on the beach was decent. The little pizza place was good as well when the pizza was made fresh. The best meal was at the a la carte restaurant. It was excellent. Great service, food and the view overlooking the ocean was fantastic. The only problem was that you were only allowed 1 per stay. We did ask and fotunately were given 2 additional vouchers. There were very few bars open at the same time. The pool bar opened from 10am - 6pm. The beach bar was open from about noon to 4pm with limited selection. The lobby bar opened at 6 and I`m not certain what time it closed. The pool bar got very busy at times. 15 minute waits weren`t uncommon.
The lobby was small. Not very inviting to sit and enjoy a drink at. Very little in the way of entertainment.
The resort was mostly Mexicans with their families. Maybe 5 percent Canadians. No Euopeans at all, so only a small handfull of people smoked on the entire resort. The Mexican tourists were certainly agressive. They had no problem stepping infront of you in any line up. Get used to it. For the most part the service was good and friendly. Carlos at the pool bar was great. He would use your name each time he served you. Please remember to tip. It`s not expected but they certainly appreciate it. The whole week we were there, we didn`t see any Mexicans tourists tip. The only tips were from the Canadians. The employees work very hard and deserve something. While talking to one of the security guards, he said his wage was $200 a month. And they had to pay for their uniforms on top of that.
Rooms were ok. Beds very hard. Bathrooms were updated and clean. You only recieved 1 bottle of water during your stay and the rest you had to purchase. No fridge in the rooms either. You really miss this after having it in all the other resorts you have stayed at. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a great view of the Ocean. Only problem was the tiny deck and the wooden rails that were in bad shape and in need of paint. We typically like to spend some time on the deck having a drink and enjoying the views. Not here. It wasn`t the kind of deck you would want to spend any time on.
This trip served its purpose. A cheap get away to enjoy the sun. We wouldn`t return to this resort as we found it too basic. I think after staying at many 3,4 and 5 star resorts, we will pay the extra and stay at 4 and 5 star resorts only. You really get what you pay for. I don`t think I could recommend this resort and we are not real picky people. In speaking to some of the other Canadians down there, they really liked it and prefered it over many 5 start resorts they have stayed at. Having said that, I thinks it`s very important when reading these reviews, you weigh the positive comments with the negatives ones and make your decision to stay or not stay on your own gut feeling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was fairly quiet
The weak points
Limited entertainment,bars and options for meals.
Certified

Great Holiday

, Black Diamond, AB
2011-03-26
We loved it here. The beach is spectacular and having it to the residents of the hotel only was great. The staff was very friendly, some spoke English, others didn't but we found we were able to communicate well. The food was amazing - the resturant was so good we ended up going twice. All in all we will be back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet, lots of chairs, great beach and great staff.
The weak points
The beds were hard and we would have liked to see a bus trip organized for market day since it is so isolated.
Certified

Awesome!

, Turner Valley, AB
2011-03-23
We thought this resort was amazing. The food was great, the staff were super, everything was very clean the whole time we stayed there.
Beach was amazing, but the water was to rough to float or swim in. People who enjoy body surfing, boogy boarding or any type of surfing would enjoy the waters very much.
The nightly shows were a lot of fun as well.
Would reccomend this resort to anyone. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff, food drinks, beaches, and lots of stuff to do.
The weak points
Rough waters, and a bit far from town but that didn't bother me to much, but may bother some who like to be out and about off the resort a lot.
Certified

BLUEBAY LOS ANGELES LOCOS

, Jasper, AB
2011-03-17
The hotel was great. AirTransat agent was AWOL. Couldn't get the room quoted by Airtransat. Staff phoned her, I spoke to her, she said the hotel had made a mistake and she would fix it up. Ha Ha ended up costing us $150 extra. Will never travel through Air Transat again!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, The food, The location
The weak points
Air Transat support
Certified

Nice place

, Ladysmith, BC
2011-02-10
WE had an all positive experince. The food was great in both the buffet and the restaurant. Pools and the approximantly 2 kls long beach were great. All the staff treated us well. They tried to speak english as we tried to speak spanish. The only problem we could'nt exchange Canadian $20s at the desk. They only wanted to exchange Canadian 50s and 100s which atms here don't give.Would we go back,sure soon as we can save the pension money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
beautiful beach very good service good food nice shows
The weak points
could not change Canadian $20 dollar bills which is all we get from our atm machines. and did not know ahead of time.
Certified

Good holiday

, Port Alberny , BC
2011-02-09
the stay was great,food was better than when we went down last year. But beds were really hard.Will most likely return [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff always friendly and very willing to help when asked. everything was kept very clean
The weak points
smell in bathrooms and very hard beds
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Manzanillo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Seniors Beaches Families Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020