Tesoro Manzanillo

Tesoro Manzanillo
3.433.433.433.433.43
The average rating for this hotel is not available at this time. No recent reviews have been submitted.
Traveller pictures (26)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Beautiful sound of pacific ocean

, Edmonton, AB
2017-03-17
nice building but small beach, front desk staff nice, artificial flowers in the lobby!!! hallways clean but empty, no decorations. no single bench outside for smokers. no palms on beach but birds singing very nice... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
honest, friendly staff,
The weak points
hot sand on beach, weak English, no English channel on tv, only one restaurant, no mojito
Certified

Not What We Expected

, Fort Saskatchewan, AB
2016-03-13
The Tesoro is a fair hotel. We were surprised that it catered mainly to the locals. Weekends are packed with many families having many children. Lots of bad behaviour by both adults and children. Could not get near the swim up bar since children sitting on every stool. Too many children in diapers in the pool for hours, leaving us with a feeling of bad conditions in the pool. Too many meltdowns by children who are not being watched by adults. Some staff speak very little English.Below expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
None
The weak points
Pool , guest who do not behave or do as the rule say.
Certified

Tesoro Manzanillo resort

, spruce grove, Al
2015-03-26
Overall hotel resort was as expected and it was a great vacation for us. Food was good, some different choices sometimes. Italian specialty restaurant not great. Mexican specialty restaurant excellent. Room nice, however did not stock bar fridge unless continuously asked to do. Did not provide bathroom soap, shampoo unless continuously asked to do. Do not provide conditioner so take your own. Overall great value for money, great location, people were super. No WiFi unless you pay for it, then only available in lobby or at pool. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff in restaurants, bars and at pool etc were great. Food great. Right on beach and it was clean and great to swim in. No one bothering you to buy stuff on the beach, restful.
The weak points
Don't clean rooms till 4 pm. Don't stock fridge or bathrooms unless asked to do so. Entertainment all in spanish, hardly ever did the staff speak English.
Certified

Hotel Tesoro

, Edmonton, AB
2015-03-12
Hotel very old but clean--very busy on the weekends and the beach is very small with lots of locals [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean
The weak points
mostly mexican food--
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Wainwright, AB
2015-02-19
I'm not saying this in a negative way, don't go looking for 5 star here. The rooms are extremely clean but a little dated. They are painting and updating so will be nice once that is complete. There was always lots to do if you wanted to but there was a lack of communication for the shows and ala carte. Ala carte was exceptionally good so a must do when you are there.
We spent everyday on the beach so will not comment on the pool or its surroundings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ala Carte
The weak points
repetative food in the buffets, lack of communication on the shows/ala carte
Certified

Good but not great

, Lashburn, SK
2015-02-05
The buffet was small but good variety and food quality. The food and drink service was poor even with generous tipping. Although staff was friendly, customer service was not their main focus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach was great! The food quality was very good. The staff was friendly. The resort was very wheelchair friendly.
The weak points
Food and drink service. It was a long walk to find any shopping. Buffet hours of operation were poor.
Certified

Budget beach hotel

, Calgary, AB
2015-02-02
Our stay was perfectly fine for a relaxing blob out at the beach week. We shut down all social media as wifi is ridiculous in North America, and experienced reality instead. This is a great practice for everyone at least once a year. The hotel is mostly local travellers, so it is easy to practice Spanish and enjoy Mexico. Breakfast was always great, and you won't go hungry with other meals, but the food is very average, find what works for you or better yet walk into town for good restaurants. It is best to be fit here there are lots of stairs and elevators are slow at peak times. The beach is small, but close to long miramar beach, and far superior to the 5 star down the road. Rooms are older, but the bed and pillows very comfortable, you might need an extra blanket. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A great budget beach holiday. We flew with a couple who have stayed here but tried the 4star this time, and wished they had our beach.
The weak points
The hotel is dated and I'm sure maintenance crews are constantly busy. Food variety is limited, but they do their best to have choices of fruit and veg and there is always lots of protein to choose from. Eat the local foods, they are great.
Certified

Ok value for the price.

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-12-29
Traditional Mexican resort (ie. food, visitors, staff, etc.) Dec 24 Xmas gala was very good - food, entertainment, fun. Only 1 la carte' available in the evenings for supper. It was either Italian (very good) or Mexican (ok) - both better than the buffet. Lots of lounge chairs on the beach & pool area. There was a kid's pool & a paddling pool but lots of kids were at the regular pool. Beautiful ocean view from our room 1454. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price. Lots of lounge chairs. Don't have to tag them early. Safe to walk off the resort.
The weak points
Buffet. Food the same every day. Lots of Mexicans stay there, esp on the weekends.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Sherwood Park , AB
2014-04-18
We had a great time, staff were amazing they made the trip for sure. Manzanillo is my favorite place in Mexico, as a Canadian tourist I was not bothered or harassed. The hotel was great, lots of good trips to book. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were awesome. Food was delicious (if you like Mexican and are open to new foods). The beach was very nice. For the Price this was an excellent Hotel. Most staff spoke English well.
The weak points
Front desk service was slow. The pool was a bit crowed, but they had lots of activities and good service. The hotel was full of mostly Mexican tourists (this was not a weak point for me but it may be for some).
Certified

Tesoro Resort Manzanillo Mexico

2014-03-23
It is a nice older , but well kept comfortable resort. Rooms are clean and the service was good. The view over the little bay is outstanding.Food was generally very good-the Agave a la carte was not a good dining experience. The Italian one, was excellent.
Major complaint was that the rooms are directly above the pools and so during the afternoons the noise was horrific-we were on level two right above the kids' pool. Not used to that level of shrill continual screaming of kids and the loudspeaker.
Other than that the resort was a good place to spend a relaxing week.
several nice shops right in the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
view, the location, the staff, food, cleanliness
The weak points
room way too close to the pool and very very noisy in the day.
Certified

Would go again

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-23
Friendly staff, clean hotel, a great vacation. Rooms need renovations. Hotel is located on it's own cove. Easy to take the bus into town. Felt safer than other places we've been to in Mexico and there were no time share reps at the airport! The buffet was varied and there was something for everyone. The seafood ceviche was excellent. My daughter made friends easily with the Mexican families on vacation. She loved it! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff. Family friendly
The weak points
Rooms need renovations
Certified

Great Location, Great Weather

, Edmonton, AB
2014-02-16
The location of the Tesoro Manzanillo is perfect - not too far from the Airport and walking distance to town, the weather was phenomenal - hot, hot, hot!!! The hotel itself is very tired, but clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The food is what you would expect for buffet style all-inclusive, there is only one a la carte restaurant and the buffet was better we thought. If you are looking for a quiet resort, this is not it - it is quite noisy during the day unless you are on the beach where the sounds from the pool area are drowned out by the beautiful sound of the ocean waves. Depending where your room is nights can be quite noisy as well but if you are in your room with the balcony door shut and the AC running you really aren't bothered by the music and activity. It was a very enjoyable getaway but next time in Manzanillo we will try a different resort just to compare. Certain staff were extremely friendly, others not so much, but you can find that anywhere not just at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather, location
The weak points
Rooms need work
Certified

Lovely beach

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-04
We totally enjoyed our stay at this place. The beach and weather were great. the food was also good. For those of you who complain, just find something you like and eat that. I found the mexicans there to be charming. The ones who knew english wanted to engage with us so they could talk english. One mistake we made was taking us money. We should have taken canadian or exchanged at home. Overall, we would definately go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and view
The weak points
Rooms need sprucing up
Certified

Great Holiday

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-01-23
We found the hotel very clean and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the location. Very central to walk to many other places. People were very friendly. Nice quiet bay. Lots of activities. Felt very safe where ever we ventured to.
The weak points
I was looking forward to a little better selection of sea food.
Certified

We had a lovely time

, Surrey, BC
2014-01-07
We were very impressed with the Tesoro hotel especially since we expected a lot less since it is a 3.5 star. The room and bathroom was dated but clean. Loved that almost every room in hotel has an ocean view! We had a balcony but only 1 plastic chair so could not seat more than 1 person outside to enjoy it. We were on the 10th floor just above the entertainment blg. and were worried the noise would keep us up...not the case at all- other than the New Year's Celebration the noise was insignificant and we had no trouble sleeping. We had more of an issue with noisy kids running down the hall in the morning or late night partiers returning to their room at night. The housekeeping staff did a great job and when we asked for extra pillows at the front desk we were obliged within 15mins. of asking. We also asked for an extra blanket and got an extra sheet which amused us. Our fridge was restocked everyday, the staff forgot to replace the dirty towels once but brought us new towels as soon as we called. The air conditioning worked well. The lamps in the room need to be replaced - looked like they were a fire hazard! The food at the resort was okay- a bit repetitive but we always managed to choose food to eat. The omelette grill was great although depending on the time we arrived at breakfast, the line up at times was very long. (Also would have appreciated bacon instead of sausages and weiners in the morning) The Italian a la carte was very good. The service from ALL of the staff was exceptional- they were very friendly and bent over backwards to help out with any problems. The only complaint would be more toward the tour booking agency located at the hotel- if you want to pay an inflated price for tours by all means Manuel is friendly and helpful in a used car salesman style of manner! The beach was nice but sand is very coarse and there was some garbage on the beach and in the water that was depressing to see! Overall we would indeed return to this lovely hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly helpful staff, location of hotel and cleanliness of rooms and restaurant
The weak points
Paid for Internet for the week and it was often difficult to get. The garbage on beach. Boring food.
Certified

Tesoro manzanillo

, Fort Macleod, AB
2013-12-10
Friendly staff. Minimal liquer selection some items only available at some bars not all.Great beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good view great beach friendly staff
The weak points
very much geared to Mexican guests not enough english. got better after complained in entertainment. On hill harder for elderly to walk to town
Certified

First time in Manzanillo

, Cambridge, ON
2013-05-05
Had a fantasic time. Got a great last minute deal so really can't complain about anything.
Best part was the staff and the cleanliness of the entire resort (inside and out). I did wish that guest with small children resected the fact that the adult pool should be for adults. Resort was not too big and not too small...felt just right. The way the resort sits in the cove makes it feel very private. Manzanillo was fantastic and felt very safe. We would definately go again but might search out an ADULT ONLY resort [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort was very clean thanks to all the hard working staff that never seem to stop cleaning. In general the staff of fantastic in all aspects...just a wonderful group of people.
The weak points
No internet in room.
Certified

For the Mexicans

, Sechelt , BC
2013-03-24
Last minute deal that turned out to be no deal. First room smelled of sewage, second room had a view of the tent over the theater and finally got a decent room three days after all the locals checked out. The food was pretty bad and unidentifiable. The pool was quite cold and the beach, although pretty, was small and somewhat dirty - lots of small jellyfish that stung, scum and unidentified floating stuff - yuck! This was definitely a hotel for the locals so get ready for a full-on mexican immersion if you vacation at this hotel. Can't really find anything nice to say other than hardworking staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather and snorkeling.
The weak points
Food, drinks, rooms, pool, beach, location.
Certified

Good deal / Great trip!

, Vancouver, BC
2013-03-24
Got a last minute deal (3 days before departure) for 1 week and paid just $997 leaving 1 day before start of Spring Break (left March 15), which is an expensive time period.
Same hotel / ocean view was $1,670 for just a few days later!
See more details in our summary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff; such friendly people. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment. The restaurant / entertainment staff (including pool side in the day) put in so much effort! Brought granola bars and lightly used clothing as 'tips' too. Seemed much appreciated.
The weak points
Hard to walk on the cobble stone roads/walks from the hotel to the town / city beach of Playa de Miramar. But, this is not the hotel's fault.
Certified

First Timer

, Air Ronge, SK
2013-03-20
I was pleasantly surprised with the Tesoro. It is an older resort but very clean and everything worked. Check in and out was fast and hassle free. We are not one to go to the "presentations" from the tour operator but since it was our first time in Manzanillo we went for some info about the town. J C and Miegul were great. Lots of good info and not a big pressure sales pitch to buy the tours through them. Two thumbs up guys!!. Beaches were great with enough loungers most days . Pool was the same. The biggest room for improvement for the hotel would be the food.(Al a cartes were fine, just the buffets) . It was just ok with not a whole lot of selection. If they could improve this it would make this resort complete. Saying that there is lots of great eating places not far down the way. El Foggon and La Sonerisa's (best 50 peso taco anywhere) were my favorites. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach and easy access to Manzanillo
The weak points
Improve food quality and selection.
Certified

Would go back for sure!

, Victoria, BC
2013-03-04
Hotel was great very clean great location staff was very friendly. Food was great as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Loved the beach and pool overall great experience would go back for sure. Found it to be more for couples and familes but as a single girl travelling with a gf it was great!
The weak points
was told free wifi was not had to pay
Certified

Tesora

, Deep River, ON
2013-03-02
This is our third time at Tesora, we always have a good time, weather is excellent, food is good and staff is very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We have always had a good vaacation
The weak points
schedule should be giving at checkout for what shows are playing on what night, also la carte schedule
Certified

Not what u think it is

, Elmvale, ON
2013-02-25
Staff didn't know how to speak english, over crowed with locals, the a la cart is not all free cost me $50.00 due to language barrier to eat a very dry and salty steak. Flight was a layover when we were told it was direct one way. Food was fair but mainly Mexican. Overall I would not go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
pool was clean drinks were ok
The weak points
this should be rated a 3 star only if that int was 7 $ a day and hardly worked and only in loby dont get it
Certified

Good Times. Recommend!

, Vancouver, BC
2013-02-18
We had an excellent time and our expectations were beaten.

Manzanillo in general is not a very touristy city, a big plus in our opinion. If you want to be hassled by vendors and be surrounded by Canadians, stick to Puerto Vallarta.

The resort is located in a very nice, small cove with a the long Mayamar beach to the north.

Great activites are hosted here, beach soccer, beach volley ball, water aerobics, water polo, kayaking ect. Well organised with a motivated staff!

The food was quite good. A lot of local recipes are the majority of options. A positive for us. If we wanted to eat hot dogs and burgers, we'd stay home. You wouldn't go to Italy and not eat pizza.
I would for sure recommend walking 5 minutes to Las Hadas to visit "Grille Marina". 5 Star A la Carte Menu!

There was no skimping on the booze. Having multiple bars is a nice plus. Something we noticed that was not an option at most other resorts along the pacific coast.

Everyone, both employees and guests, were always in very happy, enjoying the whole atmosphere. There is a huge kids area while all the adults could drink and be merry separately.

I would rate this a 4 star resort and recommend this resort to both parents with kids as well as young adults looking to party.
I would recommend Mazanillo, in general, as a nice vacation spot to get a feel for everyday Mexican life and not feel like a pawn at a resort town. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Price, Beach, the Staff,
The weak points
long lines at the egg bar in the morning, pillows were hard
Certified

After initial shock, A great week

, Medicine Hat, AB
2013-02-11
Initially shocked by bathtub and marble tiles appearance (looked like black mold). Upon closer inspection realized just the age of hotel. Could use reno but was kept very clean by the great staff. Seems to be a high percentage of families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean. Friendly and hardworking staff.
The weak points
Bathroom
Certified

, Tisdale, SK
2013-02-08
Great staff-very accomodating, friendly and fast. Even with the language barrier at times they were excellent. The omelet bar in the morning was great although could certainly use 2 cooks as the lineup was usually long. The evening buffet lacked variety and was just ok-wasn't kept hot. Desserts were excellent as were both al la carte's. The hotel could use a major renovation. A little farther than expected from main road but bus service was excellent and inexpensive. Beautiful sunsets every night. Overall it was as expected and we had a good holiday here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything nice & close together within complex. Staff were exceptional. Omelet bar very good. Clean. Al a cartes very good. Nice pool and swim up bar. Excellent service and comfortable bed!
The weak points
Buffet-not a lot of choices and very similar every day. Should be no charge for safe when listed as free. Snorkelling equipment not sanitary. When busy there was a mix up of where buffet would be held. Hotel needs major renovating.
Certified

Tesoro Manzanillo

, Reddeer, AB
2013-02-04
Overall, I'd say the Tesoro is a solid 3 star resort. The location is fantastic and our rooms were fine. Loved the beach and snorkelling and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. A bit disappointed in the buffet choices and quality but the a la carte options were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach and overall location.
The weak points
The buffett and "ambience".
Certified

YOU CAN ENJOY THIS RESORT FROM A WHEELCHAIR

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-27
I was experiencing restricted mobility and required wheelchair and/or crutches to get around. We were given a room close to the pool and buffet area and we found ramps were available to have access to all areas of the resort. The staff were so helpful and professional. I would go again to this resort. We enjoyed the large percentage of Mexican families as fellow guests. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wheelchair ramps made every place accessible. Staff were very accomodating and helpful.
The weak points
Music often too loud around the pool area
Certified

Hotel review

, Coquitlam, BC
2013-01-13
the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, they try very hard Always! Hotel is at a nice location, everything is convenient at the complex. short easy bus ride to town. older place but well maintained. beautiful sunsets. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The service and staff were exceptional. very friendly and helpful
The weak points
inconvenient booking the a-la-carte restaurant
Certified

Beyond Expecations

, Lloyd Minster, AB
2013-01-03
The hotel was great it was a busy time of year and they did a great job of looking after everyone. All of the staff where polite, friendly and a pleasure to be around.The entertainment was excellent throughout the day by the pool and the shows at night.They had a New Years celebration planned by the pool that had to be moved because of rain and they did a fantastic job of having a Plan B to still make News years eve a special night for everyone at the resort. We were very happy with the resort and would like to thank everyone at Tesoro for a great vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great nightly entertainment, friendly staff,pool activites excellent for kids to stay busy if they are to old for the kids club.Beautiful location on the beach.Buffet good variety and excellent omelete bar at breakfast.Snack bar was great for teenagers.
The weak points
Having to wait in line each day to book la carte dinners.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Manzanillo's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Seniors Beaches Families Couples Singles

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020