Posada Real Los Cabos

Posada Real Los Cabos
3.413.413.413.413.41
3.41 based on 61 reviews
#16 of 30 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (6)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Posada Real

, Ferndale , Wa, AB
2020-02-29
I enjoyed every moment I stayed here. The staff was friendly, attentive, oriented toward their guests. My room was clean and was cleaned every day. The grounds are well cared for, located in a beautiful spot about midway in either direction on the beach. The hotel is older but in my opinion had a lot more character than the newer ones in this area. I will certainly return here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Stay

, Calgary, AB
2018-08-07
This was our 4th stay at this hotel. It's small and welcoming staff. One main buffet, no a la cartes. If you want fancy shows, this place is not for you. Due to the small capacity you will meet new friends as you see the same people often. The food is good. There are some renos that need to be done, yes. But manage your expectations and you will love it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great. Walk to town or quick cab. Staff is wonderful.
The weak points
Needs a major renovation. They clean the best they can but stuff is falling apart and there is rust in the bathrooms.
Certified

Cutting Too Many Corners

, Saskatoon, SK
2017-02-21
Things that need to change at this resort.
1. No towel exchange at pool
2. netting around outdoor restaurant needs to be fixed, birds entering and eating food and drinking milk creamer, etc.
3. servers only replacing cutlery that they THINK has been used. Wife saw lady using spoon in her ear, not replaced when they left.
4. spilt milk on table through table cloth, fixed by a couple of napkins and cloth not replaced so milk left all day.
5. pool bar hours need to be opened earlier and closed later along with the snack bar by pool. everything is closed by 5pm . thats a disaster.
6. No umbrellas by the pool
7. Not enough lounge chairs and umbrellas on the beach. Lots of room thats empty and everyone fighting over the few that are there.
8. bed sheets not changed in days
9. The cook that fries up the tuna has overcooked every piece that I ate.
10. the steak was very poor quality lot of other food could be improved upon. The pork sausages had so much filler they were dry.
11. They ran out of Mojito mix( likely the mint) for a couple days. Didnt know there was a country wide shortage. For a all inclusive resort its a disaster.
Nice workers, everything shuts down at 11pm. No food or drinks available after those hours this should also be extended.
I would not recommend this place to go
The hot tub wasn't cleaned in days and the pool was Ice Cold.
bathrooms old and dirty [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Posada Real is comfortable

, Clive, AB
2017-02-12
This is a down home, comfortable resort. The staff are excellent, friendly, and accommodating. Many of the guests have stayed at this resort on multiple occasions. Quality of rooms was acceptable, hot water was a bit of a issue. Food was so, so. No reason to go hungry, but not a lot of selection. Basically a comfortable and friendly resort. Good value for money spent. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, repeat guests that are also friendly. Creates an atmosphere of comfort.
The weak points
Cannot swim in the ocean, not a lot of activities to do at the resort. Very little to keep kids busy. Food needs to be improved. Quality and selection
Certified

Authentic Mexican Vacation

, Kaleden, BC
2017-02-03
Jan,17-31/2017 was our 4th vacation at the
Posada Real and like the other three it was
wonderful.
the Hotel is small (144 Rooms) nothing fancy, but really authentic mexican adobe style.
the Staff is friendly, and most of them are like family to us.
the Food is simple, but you can always find something to your liking.
the made to order Omelettes and the selection of fresh Fruit at Breakfast are outstanding.
if you are looking to party, you are at the wrong place.
Cabos San Lucas is the place for the younger Party-animals.
Most Patrons at Posada are of the older and quieter variety.
The Pool is medium size and always very clean.
On the Beach you can walk for hours, but the Ocean is not very safe for swimming.
For us this Resort is the perfect spot,quit,small and friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice little place

, Vegreville, AB
2016-11-24
Nice little place, on the beach, close to town and shopping. Food is only OK and no night life. Everything is worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
On the beach, close to town and shopping, quiet.
The weak points
Food, night life
Certified

Excellent value!

, Red Deer, AB
2016-08-20
Really enjoyed our stay! This is a smaller and older resort but the service, cleanliness and upkeep make it a great resort. We will definitely return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people at this resort go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable!
The weak points
It would be nice if there was an adult only separate pool, especially during the busy season. We didn't have problems as we were there at low season.
Certified

Upgrading necessary

, North Vancouver, Br
2016-03-16
Good price/ lovely small hotel. Rooms and Bathrooms need to be upgraded. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great Little Resort

, Surrey, BC
2016-03-10
This was not the largest or fanciest resort we've stayed at; in Los Cabos, but it was such a nice surprise. We hadn't expected too much, as it is a budget minded resort; however, the food and staff were great. Smaller buffet but excellent food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was excellent, didn't have to add seasoning to anything. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Location was great.
The weak points
Older decor, rooms need updating
Certified

Bad Experience

, Mississauga, ON
2015-12-27
The food was lousy. Tiny swimming pool. Entertainment poor. Do not recommend to anybody. Avoid at all costs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Clean, Quiet, and relaxing in the sun

, North Vancouver, BC
2015-11-28
loved the very friendly staff, quiet, clean hotel on the beautiful beach. Small but quaint. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Very Impressed

, Port Moody, BC
2015-04-28
Staff is very accomodating [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Cleaning
Certified

Our Vacation!

, Winkler, MB
2015-04-13
We were somewhat disappointed this time.
Staff was not as friendly as 2 years ago, and the internet wasn't as strong as 2 years ago. The view from our room was absolutely Beautiful, the ocean is right there, we loved it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It's a smaller Resort, which we love, and right close to the ocean, which is great, we love that.
The weak points
The staff were not as friendly this time, internet was not as strong this time,the air conditioning was not working the first two days we got there, we asked them to please fix that they did. Two years ago staff was friendlier and the internet was strong.
Certified

Friendliness and Efficiency at a Great Price

, Enderby, BC
2015-03-29
My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful ten day trip to the Posada Real hotel in Los Cabos during March 2015. The Posada Real is a Mexican owned, older hotel, but we had absolutely no complaints about anything. The rooms were clean, everything worked well (plenty of hot water, TV, AC, etc.) the facilities were adequate (enough chairs and palabras for everyone, good pool, lots of drinks,...), the restaurant food was very good despite having only a buffet option, and best of all the staff was friendly and efficient right down to the very last person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The setting was calm and relaxing, the food was very good, and the staff excellent.
The weak points
It is not recommended to go swimming along this part of the beach, but some people did.
Certified

Relaxing and Quaint

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-26
The staff was wonderful. The rooms could use some TLC. The beds were hard. The location was great. It was a 10 minute walk to the MEGA store to catch the bus to Cabo San Lucas (30 min bus ride for $3). It was a 1/2 hour walk in to San Jose Del Cabo. A 10 minute walk to the bird sanctuary that had a lot of hurricane damage. Can't swim in the ocean here. Art walk on Thursday nights. The food and drinks were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and location were great!
The weak points
Rooms needed a good cleaning. There was some mould in the grout in the bathroom.
Certified

Tim - Edmonton, AB

, Edmonton, AB
2015-01-25
I have stayed at many resorts in Mexico and throughout the Caribbean ranging from 2 stars to 5 stars. From my experience this is better than some 4/5 stars hotels that I have stayed at in Mexico.
This hotel provides liquor & food services on the beach, and if busy, they just add more staff to look after all of us constantly hungry and parched liquor deprive Canadians. This is a small hotel if you want piece and quite. Never had a problem over the 10 days in getting a cabana on the beach or getting a seat outside of the restaurant to eat in the evenings. Evening buffets were sometimes heavily towards only all seafood?? Other evenings had better selections to choose from a selection of beef/pork/chicken/pasta/seafood. Great snack bar on the beach, which again, they serve you! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Coffee Beach Service Great Service overall - except for one evening where the waiter ignored us completely - had to get our own water and drinks.
The weak points
NO BACON? NO WEATHER UPDATES EVER? Rock Hard Beds Resort Cabanas area was use by guests as their main area in butting out Cigarette's. Have a sign in lobby stating if you are one to do this and get caught by staff, you pay an additional cleanup fee!
Certified

Good value

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-14
The resort was small, laid back and had great service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was quaint and the staff were friendly and helpful. The entertainers in the lounge/lobby every night were great.
The weak points
We could hear some noise occasionally from the door between the rooms, and they could use more beach and pool loungers.
Certified

Posada Real Los Cabos

, Kelowna, BC
2014-12-08
The first five days had a room with a great bed(not rock hard) and a new air-conditioner. On the fifth night, a very drunk, agitated, ranting out of control male happened to be in the room beside mine. Security talked with him as soon as I called them but he continued to yell, swear, slam things in his room (walls are paper thin). Decided to move to another room after supper rather than chance not getting any sleep. The move resulted in a rock hard bed and air-conditioning that didn't work properly, very little sleep and a sore body. That same night, 15-20 young Mexicans took over the second floor yelling and partying till all hours of the night despite security speaking with them twice. Then the Mexican group took over the pool early in the morning and carried on with their party all day. A young Mexican couple thought they could bring their own brand of music to the pool and proceeded to play it as loud as they liked; despite security talking with them they defied security and continued playing their music. Several people relocated from the second floor the Mexican group was partying on the night before. Aside from those two incidents, enjoyed my stay at the hotel. Definitely a 3 star but very quiet with few people around the first five days. Front desk staff are excellent. Management was very apologetic and promised to address the nose/partying issues. Food was good for the most part, odd day wasn't much to pick from. Soup was luke warm at times, but very tasty, none the less. The hotel doesn't have a ATM machine which resulting in a 15 minute hike to the mega mall. Several registered massage parlors 10 minute walk away; $40.00 American for 70 minutes. Highly recommend a visit. The glass bottom boat trip to Cabo was worth every penny ($45.00 Canadian) to see the tip of the Baja and the sites in Cabo. Pool was a bit small (distance swimmer) made up for it by swimming around the perimeter, no stopping. There was a lack of umbrellas from the storm. Staff were working on fixing the umbrellas while. Food by the pool is excellent if your not interested in the smorg. Bartenders at the pool and in the lobby are excellent; especially the bartender inside. Great place to gather; even if one doesn't drink, to socialize before supper. Sand on the beach is coarse in places, recommend wearing some sort of foot wear. Definitely a work out walking the beaches. A lot of the hotels are not up and running yet; resulting in heavily armed police patrolling the beaches during the night. The police were stationed at the Posada. They were all polite, well mannered and respectful. There was nightly entertainment. Two nights saw a trio (2 guitar players and female singer) were excellent. Anyone who can sing Whitney Houston "I'll love you for every" gets my vote. Over all, would go back again (possibly in Jan or Feb for 2 weeks). Reasonably good value for the price. Since the hurricane, Cabo is promoting tourism with great deals; check it out. San Jose Del Cabo is a much quieter community than Cabo San Lucas. Cabo is party Central. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, quiet hotel (most of the time) great place to get away to relax and unwind.
The weak points
Had to educate the breakfast chef about food safety!!! Some of the waiters were a bit slack on service. Paper thin walls in the rooms.
Certified

Great place.

, Regina, SK
2014-08-05
I love this hotel. It was our first stay here. The hotel was small but quite. Great place to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room was great. I think all rooms have a balcony. Nice and clean.
The weak points
Halls and stairs could be cleaner. Food was a bit of hit and miss.
Certified

Vacation with Friends

, White City, SK
2014-03-14
This is a small resort but very friendly staff. No a la carte restaurants but that wasn't an issue for any of us. Menu changed every day. Music in the lobby nightly. Bar closes at 11 p.m. so if you are a major partier this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for suggestions on places to go off resort the staff will assist you with that. Situated in the middle of the hotel strip. Strong undertow in ocean so swimming not recommended. Whales were swimming in water off beach every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were very friendly and helpful, lots of loungers with lounge pads, bar service on the beach, vendors not allowed to loungers unless invited.
The weak points
Some guests had stuff go missing from their rooms one day, which is apparently out of the ordinary, but disappointing if you were one of them.
Certified

Impressed

, Kelowna, BC
2014-03-01
Had a great time and would stay there again no problem [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the food was great
The weak points
there bar closes 11pm
Certified

Great place

, Calgary, AB
2013-11-10
We enjoyed our time, would love to go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach
The weak points
No a la. Carte restaurants
Certified

Good

, Burnaby, BC
2013-04-20
I had a very nice n relaxing time . they put us in the room we requested n thr hotel is connected right too the beach n all the staff were very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
its a nice quite n relaxing hotel.
The weak points
not much to do there at night
Certified

Posada Real, Los Cabos

, Calgary, AB
2013-04-02
Everything was great. A great location for a family. Although the ocean wasn't too friendly when we were there. Only strong swimmers could go in the waves. It was great for us, but others complained [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and service was great. Location and beach fantastic
The weak points
Careful of the time of year and ocean activities. Sometimes the ocean is not suitable for swimming
Certified

Good Little Resort

, Medicine Hat, AB
2013-02-21
An older resort, one of the first built there, but better maintained and cleaner then most Super 8's we have stayed at in Canada. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful, they kept the place clean, and fairly well maintained. Breakfast and lunch at the pool were our two favourite meals of the day, as the evening buffet was hit and miss, but did hit more often then miss.
Good location 4 blocks from the Mega and Cabos bus stop, we found we didn't have to rent a car like we did last time when we stayed on the corridor, using the buses worked very well for us. We did go out for dinner 5 times in 14 days, 3 times to our favourite seafood place in Cabos, Maros on Miguel Hadalto, and twice to San Jose. San Jose has the artist festival on thursday evenings starting at 4, be sure to check it out tequila tasting etc.
Water tours we found were best to arrange right at the marina, don't be afraid to barter we paid 25 usd for two for a glass bottom boat tour, (others paid 20 usd per for the same boat ride) which took us to lover's and divorce beach plus to the reef to see the tropical fish, and past the Arch for photo ops, on the way back we ran into a pod of whales so got a free whale watching thrown in. We didn't feel the need to take a whale watching tour as they performed daily in the sea right off the beach at the resort.
The beach was clean and long stretching for over a mile in either direction, which made for some nice romantic walks during our stay. Beach vendors and time share vultures in the marina left you alone after a polite no gracias, rarely did we have to repeat ourselves which was nice.
The worst part of the resort was probably the very firm beds, everyone we talked to found them very hard. I took advantage of the hard beds as they kept me from sleeping too much which I have plenty of time to do now that I am home.
The evening entertainment was a bit weak at times, Karaoke?, but good at others, traditional dancers.
Lack of seating in the main entertainment area could be improved upon, being smokers we spent most of our evening entertainment time outside on the concrete benches, cooler there but after a bit they got to be a bit too hard.
TIPS = To Insure Prompt Service, we alloted up to 20usd a day for this and had no problem whether in the resort or out on adventures.
For the amount of money it cost us for our 14 days I think we did very good all in all, and will one day return as so many others we met at the resort have, some have been back as many as 6 times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
The weak points
Hard beds
Certified

Enjoyable stay at Posada

, Stonewall, MB
2013-02-17
We enjoyed our stay at the Posada Real. It is a small hotel with all of the basics, no a la carte restaurants, just one main buffet. There was always enough selection for food. The snack bar was great. Club sandwich and chips and guacamole are great! Loved having wifi in the room. Also enjoyed being able to watch whales jumping right from our beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Ocean view and free wifi in rooms.
The weak points
Noise overhead from floor above was quite noticeable.
Certified

Beautiful, safe, and relaxing hotel

, Coquitlam, BC
2013-02-16
Went with me and my grandaughter, felt very safe and at home. The staff were VERY friendly, and the food and drink were fantastic. Loved the desserts especialy. Would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food and Drink
The weak points
No swimming at the beach
Certified

Relaxing

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-10
Quiet and quaint place to stay. Perfect for what we wanted for a winter getaway. Spent most of our days poolside. Great service from the hard working staff. Food was good, drinks were great. Room and the grounds were neat and clean. Can't ask for anything more, especially for the price. Would definitely go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value for the price. Friendly, hard working staff.
The weak points
Beds are rock solid.
Certified

Beds like a rock

, Port Moody, BC
2013-02-02
The service was good, the food was OK, some bad choices like the Prime Rib night was a disappointment. It is a clean hotel in all areas. Other guests said the alcohol was watered down. I seem to remember reading that in previous reviews. I missed not having a la carte for more food choices, but the snack bar had some good menu items to choose from. Would I stay there again, no probably not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice staff, clean hotel,good location.
The weak points
The beds are rock hard and not just a few, but most people complained that we met. Some of the bartenders ignored you even after you tipped. The Beer at the pool bar was awful. The alcohol was watered down except for the tequila and beer.
Certified

Budget holiday

, Kelowna, BC
2013-01-21
This resort is exactly as advertised...3 star all the way...you definitely want a room facing the inner courtyard (we were in 316 top floor)not noisy at all mind you the place was only half full...they were replacing all the a/c units in the resort while we were there...for a budget-minded traveller this place is perfect...very laid back [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good staff...excellent beds with boxsprings...very clean overall...loungers have excellent 3" thick cushions throughout...no sandfleas in sight anywhere...pool/hot tub are heated
The weak points
Bathrooms/washrooms are dated but clean...food is typical for 3 star...evening entertainment is a bit weak but ok
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020