Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf And Spa

Secrets Puerto Los Cabos Golf And Spa
4.204.204.204.204.20
4.20 based on 15 reviews
#14 of 30 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (2)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Not the Greatest Location

, Vancouver, BC
2019-11-28
Although the resort is nice with friendly staff, the location is not the best. About 2-3 miles from the town San Jose del Cabo the resort does not have anything in the way of a shuttle to/from town. Taxis will cost you about $15USD each way. Also the beach is walkable but not swimmable due to a steep drop off and strong undertows.
A sign at the pool indicating that guests shouldn't reserve loungers is totally ignored and the best spots are generally gone by 6am. Worse still is that some guests reserved spots and then never used them all day!
Also if you're looking for a buffet dinner you won't find one because only the restaurants serve dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff.
The weak points
Poor location if you want to go to town for some shopping/sight seeing.
Certified

Nice Resort

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-10
Secrets in Cabo is a very nice all-inclusive adult resort. We stayed the first week of April 2019. It had a nice mix of people from different ages. Not a spring break place but plenty of lively people enjoying the facilities. The food was very good and the staff were without exception helpful and professional. The resort is fairly isolated outside of San Jose. It was a 10-15 car ride into San Jose and 45 minutes to San Lucas. For $15 they had a mini bus tour to San Jose twice a week. We enjoyed the trip to San Jose and felt very safe walking the streets there and enjoying some local culture and the art festival that was taking place in the town square that was a mix of tourists and locals.
The fitness center was mostly well equipped with Life Fitness equipment including 1 upright bike, 1 recumbent bike, several ellipticals, steppers and treadmills. The recumbent was missing pedal straps. It had a good assortment of free weights and weight machines. It would better if they replaced the aging, brittle exercise balls and added some foam rollers. I don't know if they cleaned the exercise mats, but it didn't appear so and it was difficult to clean them yourself as they only had disposable wipes that were awkward to use on a soft mat.

We had no problem getting into the restaurants (30 minute wait max). We enjoyed the food at all of the restaurants and reservations were not required or allowed (except for the Privilege Club members.

The 1 main pool was large but not very attractive as it was a concrete colour and that made the water look dark and not inviting. It had palm trees throughout at each end that were surrounded with circular rough concrete sitting areas under the water. they were hard to see when swimming close to them and I had some close calls almost bumping into them.

While the resort is a nice size for us (everything was within a fairly easy walk, there were a lot of stairs to get from the pool level to our room on the second floor in building 2. I counted 64 steps to go up to the room. There is an elevator that eliminates about 40 of the steps to go from the pool to the main lobby and you can walk all the way to the end of bldg 2 to get another elevator to the upper floors of the rooms.

The beach is beautiful to look at and walk on, but the water is too rough for swimming.

We were a little put off by not being able to use all of the pool area for several days when a corporate group was a having a function, however they did set up some extra chairs for us on the lawn beside the pool. Another time we couldn't get a drink at the beach bar and 15 minutes later they were hosting a private party there and serving drinks to those guests. The trade off I suppose is that while the private groups were having their special dinners outside on the patio, it took them away from the restaurants and made those more available for us. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food; staff; view (mountains); long beach for walking.
The weak points
Only 1 large pool, so it was difficult to actually swim during busy times or when the volley ball game was in progress or the fitness class was in session. The pool had a very unattractive rough concrete look that made the water look dark.
Certified

Secrets Los Cabos Hotel

, Calgary, AB
2019-03-19
Excellent service!
Very clean!
Techno music at the pool....not very conducive to relaxing.
Regarding the music, it varied as to when it would start and at times it was too loud.
Pool not heated....too cold to swim.
Otherwise everything else is first class! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and helpful staff
The weak points
Music and pool.
Certified

Nice resort in a secluded location

, Richmond, BC
2018-08-26
Stayed here at the end of March after spring break. Resort is very clean and well maintained. The building we stayed in did not have an elevator. So just be aware if your have mobility issue so, check before you book. Swim out room are nice but you have a way better view on the higher floors.

We have stayed at other Secrets location and service in this was wasn't quite as good as the other ones we've stayed at. Restaurant waits were long, but not really a big deal

Overview nice stay and would recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location Great golf course next door
The weak points
Service a little slow No stairs in the front building

Life in MX

, Surrey, BC
2017-04-18
We were pleasantly surprised that this resort was as nice as it was. The daily activities included the 10 am walk on the beach, cards at noon everyday but with the cards I would suggest to have Texas Hold'em everyday rather than 21 black jack one day and Texas hold'em the next. On the days of 21 they had trouble getting enough people to play and most days would end up playing Hold'em anyway. The staff was amazing Lea and Anthony were fun and always tried to get everyone involved which was nice to see. All the staff were always smiling and would greet you when ever you walked past or delivering room service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Lovely Couples Resort

, Brampton, ON
2017-03-31
The resort was similar to all other Secrets resorts, good food, top shelf liquor, friendly staff, nice pools. The Club was a little loud with a group of 220 people on site but got much better when they left and everything got quiet. The resort is spread out so lots of walking. Not a bad thing but maybe not to everyone liking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Nice hotel, but very busy.

, Tillsonburg, ON
2016-11-08
This hotel was very nice. The staff was extremely helpful and the food was fantastic. The lunch buffet has sushi and sashimi every day as well as a make your own ceviche bar. The hydrotheraphy circuit in the spa was one of the best we have tried. The massages were well worth the money as well. When I booked I didn't realize this adults only was a conference hotel so the hotel was very busy and a bit louder than we had expected.
Overall, a nice relaxing week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I enjoyed the location and the grounds were immaculate. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.
The weak points
We didn't realize this was such a conference hotel. The first three days of our stay the hotel was over run by people from a conference. If I had realized this, I might not have booked here.
Certified

Amazing resort!

, Edmonton, AB
2016-04-13
My fiancé and I are travel snobs and always stay at 5 star resorts and have no problem spending $2000 or more for a good vacation! With that said Secrets Puerto Loa Cabos was our most affordable vacation yet and our most favourite! It was insanely clean! The service was great! There were tons of activities to do and the pool was beautiful! The food was also great! I loved that we didn't need to make reservations! I only wish there was more healthy snack options during the day. Beach was nice but you couldn't swim as the waves were to strong but there was a swimmable area about a 20 minute walk away. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a great vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanest resort I have ever stayed at! Lots of activities!
The weak points
Too far from Cabo if you want to shop and party and cabs are very expensive
Certified

Great Spot to Relax and Recharge

, Kitchener, ON
2015-04-06
Our second time visiting a Secrets and it is a chain we'd recommend. Really enjoy the high quality of service as well as the elimination of some of the little annoyances of all-inclusive travel (no reservations required at restaurants, always chairs available at the pool none of the "reserve with a towel" silliness).
This is a beautiful part of the world, and every room offers a view of the ocean (Sea of Cortez) and spectacular hills. It is very hot, but less humidity because it is a desert landscape.
Not a great night-life (perhaps everyone just loves the room service offering after a long day in the sun and at the pool?) and too far to go to Cabo San Lucas for a big night party...but we're not 20 anymore so don't need a party every night.
Would recommend doing the art walk in San Jose Thursday nights, and snorkeling is great - if you don't mind a longer trip in a bus to get there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful Buildings and spectacular view of the ocean. Great staff and above average food
The weak points
Far from activities off-resort. Cannot swim in the ocean (as with most resorts in the area)
Certified

Los cabos secrets

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-11
Secrets Los cabos [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The people were so friendly at the resort-staff
The weak points
Service around the pool bars and beach bars was not up to standard. You need more people to work there
Certified

Secrets Puerto Los Cabos!

, Calgary, AB
2014-12-07
Great resort, however, not quite as good as secrets Maroma in the Mayan riviera.
Rooms are clean, and well laid out. We could have used more closet space. My only complaint, perhaps is the lack of noise insulation from the outside. We could hear people talk while walking by.. and quite clearly. We had to complain as well about some people slamming their door and wake us up during the night. The entertainment is fair but not extraordinary. We went to this resort to relax and we did. Very quiet, very easy to find a place to sun tan. it was great! The beach had a red flag for all the 10days we were there. So if you are going this resort fort the beach. well get ready to walk a long way away from the resort. in indesign, We did enjoy our stay at the resort and I would recommend this place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic resort, Clean, very well maintained, price it right. Internet access is fast and reliable. The service is very good, the staff appears to be very happy and genuine . It did help to tip once in a while.
The weak points
Food is on the high calories side of things. If you are looking for lean cuisine. it felt like everything was cooked with tons butter. Don't get me wrong. it does taste very good, yet I just left the resort with a few more pounds. Well! you won't starve
Certified

Puerto Los Cabos Golf and Spa

, Calgary, AB
2014-08-27
It was an awesome getaway, even if it was only for week. Staff were friendly, food was excellent, service was great, and the location was private and well kept. Room was amazing as were its services. I'd definetly go back in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Service, Location, Room, Quality.
The weak points
Beach Location
Certified

Beautiful resort

, Strathmore, AB
2014-01-29
Very nice resort with beautiful spacious rooms and great pools. Staff was very friendly and helpful but still very new and didn't always understand English. Food was mostly good (excellent in the Italian restaurant) but buffet was a bit small. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Spacious rooms with great bathroom, WiFi, no towel cards, no limits on al a carte restaurants, staff friendliness, very clean, great pools, daytime activities, good quality alcohol (except wine, adult only.
The weak points
Poor beach, bit isolated, didn't care for house wine, need more variety in buffet, too quiet at night.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020