Sandos Finisterra

Sandos Finisterra
4.254.254.254.254.25
4.25 based on 16 reviews
#12 of 30 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Los Cabos
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (3)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent resort in a great location

, Calgary, AB
2019-10-27
My wife and I spent one week here for our honeymoon and it was fantastic! While we had some issues with our room the second night, the management were incredibly helpful and willing to move us that night. The VIP pool is definitely worth the money if you upgrade to a junior suite (with a jacuzzi tub) and be sure to request an ocean view for a lovely sunset view from your balcony.

The food quality was high and the nightly entertainment coupled with local vendors just steps from your door was a nice touch. Despite being located right next to the marina, your room is very good at blocking out noise and has impressive A/C. Being located on the Pacific Ocean has its perks since there are no peddlers and incredibly crowded beaches. Instead, you get hammocks, cabanas, and a great place to have a sunset dinner on the beach (that's extra and was 4000 pesos at the time). On that note, you can schedule a free session with the on-site photographer and decide later if you wish to purchase photos.

In the lobby you will find very friendly and helpful staff willing to show you around, help you book activities, and answer any questions. The spa, built into the cliffside, also provided the best massage my wife and I have ever had.

The marina is directly next to the resort and downtown Cabo is a short walk away. If you choose to book activities through Cabo Adventures, the main office is 5 minutes away on foot from the resort. This resort is a great option if you want to explore Cabo San Lucas on foot and enjoy an all-inclusive resort. No expensive cab fares!

Shout out to the entertainment team who did an amazing job throwing parties on the beach and keeping everyone in a great mood! Can't forget about Ishmael at the VIP pool bar who made the best drinks and recommended the best food to eat poolside! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very responsive staff, excellent facilities, location close to town but far away from peddlers, very safe, excellent food, great entertainment team! 24h room service option was great!
The weak points
Older hotel and is being upgraded. Not great during rain as there was poor drainage around the resort. Room service was slow. Wi-Fi was slow but not a big deal as you are on vacation!
Certified

Sandos Finisterra Los Cabos

, Uxbridge, ON
2017-11-30
Our room was nice with our own living room and patio area. We even had a jazuzzi outside but it was so cold we used it as a plunge pool. We had no hot water in the shower for the entire week, even after reporting it twice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Sandos Finisterra- Cabo

, Georgetown, ON
2017-03-13
Great experience at Sandos. Staff are very friendly and attentive. Average breakfast /lunch buffet. They need to improve dinner buffet.
Best entertainment we've experienced at an all inclusive ( live band, fire show). 4th time in Cabo and you won't get a better location- easy 5 minute walk to town/marina. Spectacular views! All positives certainly outweigh what is lacking. Food at a la carte was good and can dine there every night w/o reservations, so this made up for the less than average food at the dinner buffet. Would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service is great! Location is perfect! Beautiful views with a 5 minute walk to the marina & town.
The weak points
Buffet breakfast and lunch acceptable. Buffet dinner isn't up to standard. More variety and quality of food is required. Best dine at one of the three restaurants for dinner. Beds and linens were very comfy. Rooms need a facelift.
Certified

Excellent Resort!

, Edmonton, AB
2015-12-21
We were greeted with warm smiles and margaritas. Our porter pointed out the different restaurants and features of the resort on our way to our suite, which was on the marina side overlooking Cabo and the dolphins. We ate at every restaurant and had a drink at every bar and we were treated professionally at every turn. The staff go out of their way to make your stay at their resort a memorable one. The food was good, the drinks were cold, the coffee was awesome, the entertainment was outstanding and the resort was clean and well maintained. Live music on the beach with the Tom Cat Band and the White Party on the beach were both beautifully done right down to low tablecloth covered tables and big pillows for watching the band and fully set tables and BBQ buffet and full bar service and entertainment and fireworks for the party. Sandos Finisterra is a class act, their location can't be beat, the layout makes it feel small and personal, their staff are top notch. It was all so good I didn't even mind that I couldn't swim in the ocean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location, food, entertainment, rooms, everything was great!
The weak points
nothing bad!

Wonderful stay!

, Toronto, ON
2015-11-28
We had been to Sandos Cancun and loved it and became members and now went to their property in Cabos. It was even better! The restaurants here are special. We met people who come here just to eat! The place near the beach which is mainly for Royal Elite members has the best seafood. Everything on the menu is good and you can still pay and eat there is not a member. Agave is great too.
Staff is so friendly and polite. It becomes a home away from home after couple of days.
Beach is long and beautiful. Sunrise and sunset are beautiful. I cannot say anything bad about this place. We are going back every year;) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing location Excellent service everything is great

Amazing place!

, Woodbridge, ON
2015-05-30
My husband and I, along with a group of 12 other close friends, returned recently from our first trip to the Finisterra and first "Sandos" resort. It was our third trip to Cabo and as usual, we had a great time. I wanted to extend a thank you to the resort in general as we all had an incredible time. There was not a single member of the staff who we came across who wasn't helpful and doing their job in a fantastic manner. We have stayed at multiple different resorts (Riu's, Barceló's, Iberostar's, etc) and the Sandos Finisterra ranks right up there with the best of them! The rooms were great, the food was excellent (the Italian restaurant our favorite) and all the facilities from the Whale Watchers bar right down to the pool were incredible! My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous massage at the spa one afternoon but most of our time was spent as a group, having fun in the pools. I have to give a HUGE shout out to Fernando at the pool as he served us on more th an just a couple of days. That man WORKS! I've been to approx. 17 different resorts throughout Mexico (and a few other Caribbean locations) and I've had a lot of really good service, however, NOTHING/NO ONE compares to Fernando! He was not just a good worker, but he was personable and you could tell he enjoyed his job, often running back and forth to get drink and food orders/deliveries! Simply amazing! In all, the week of May 21-28, 2015 will go down as one of the best group trips I've ever been on. Again, kudos to the entire staff/resort of Sandos Finisterra for an excellent effort all around! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All rooms have an excellent views, and the service is excellent!
The weak points
Not swimmable beach, however it is beautiful!

Decent hotel...would recommend

, Victoria, Br
2014-07-14
Nice place near downtown and marina. Good buffet food 95% of the time. Great entertainment staff!! Beautiful area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Decent place. Excellent entertainment crew. Good buffet food. Great location.
The weak points
Weak front desk initial contact. Not enough umbrellas near pool. 35degree weather phew!
Certified

Finistera the finest...

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-17
We spend a lovely week april 6-13 at Sandos..Location is Great near the marina & the town built up on a cliff so you're overlooking the marina from the main dinning restaurant where you access your food in a seperate room from where you eat and whath a view in the evening in this newly built building. On the same level is the Cup Cake where they have great coffee, tea or desserts...Staff is very friendly except for the amusement people that are not organized...The director Paulino Emilieano even played tennis with me to compensate for a miscommunication with the amusement staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location with the modern buildings and older architecture makes it a fantastic resort at a reasonable price. Also it's a smaller resort therefore never crowded.
The weak points
Amusement activities are often cancelled.
Certified

Great place

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-02-02
We had a wonderful stay at the Sandos Resort. It is in an ideal location, walking distance to Marina & downtown and what wonderful views! Although swimming not allowed in the ocean, the pool area made up for it. The food was delicious & enough variety to please most. We loved it all! All the staff worked so hard to make our vacation most enjoyable. From the people who kept the grounds or bathrooms clean to the cooks,servers and entertainment staff, they always greeted us with a warm smile. They're always smiling & upbeat & working so hard to please. Thank you all for making me smile each & every day! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food
The weak points
The guests who feel that they can be rude & so demanding! You tip at home for good service why not in Mexico? Sexual harassment would not be tolerated at home, why in Mexico? SHAME ON YOU!!!
Certified

Never a bad day in Cabo

, La Crete, AB
2014-01-29
very nice setting, Every effort is made by staff to enjoy your stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very laid back and relaxing place, downtown is only a ten minute walk
The weak points
very course rough sand and non swimmable ocean
Certified

Sandos Finisterra

, Surrey, Br
2013-11-20
the hotel was very nice but i found that after 10:30 at night the only place to have a drink is the disco,which i found to noisey being over 50 it would be nice just to sit with friends and have a quiet night cap before turning in The staff were very nice especially Betsa and Lorenso serving drinks poolside they deserve a raise for the work that they do Yes i would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff at the hotel exceptionial
The weak points
the bars closed to early the safes in room were out dated had a problem every second day but when i called the front desk they sent someone very quickly
Certified

Sandos review

, Ok falls , Br
2013-10-22
Really nice overall, great food and service, breathe taking spa! Only down point was checking out there machine wouldn't ready my bank card, they made walk and to find a ATM making me miss my bus to the airport then making me waste 70 usd on a taxi! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, service , pools
The weak points
Need to update activity charts!
Certified

Great location and service

, Calgary, AB
2013-09-22
The hotel has a great location right there in Cabo San Lucas, which is perfect for walk to town, take sea excursions, dine outside, etc. The staff really goes the extra mile to serve and make sure you are happy there, bartenders serve really good drinks and servers help as much as they can. Building design is quite nice since it is right next to a rocky cliff, views from the top are breathtaking! Definitely would go back
The beach is beautiful but is so rough that you can swing in it, actually you can't go deeper than yours knees or running the risk of drowning, this is not an exaggeration!
Rooms can be updated a bit as well as the elevator in the building.
Internet is free (yay!) but signal is weak in some part of the hotel, although I was able to connect from the beach in some occasions.
Restaurant selection is not large, with only one for breakfast, two for lunch and two for dinner (buffet and a la carte), the buffet changes everyday so that you could eat there daily and not repeat a single dish. One suggestion is to open another restaurant closer to the beach.
The concierge is also the person who sells the timeshare, which I found to be quite disappointed as she/he is more focused in selling than to help you.
We rent a car and drove to La Paz in the north and stopped in nice beaches along the coast, as well the famous "Hotel California in Todos Santos town.
Beautiful place, good service, great food and nice weather, will come back there! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location (right there in Cabo San Lucas), staff works really hard, wifi is free but signal is weak,
The weak points
Restaurant selection, concierge also is the one trying to sell the timeshare, building needs some updates (elevators, A/C, furniture)
Certified

Beautiful Resort...Superb Stay

, Calgary, AB
2013-08-03
Sandos Finisterra is an excellent resort with great food, rooms, service and spectacular views. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strong points of this hotel include excellent food, service, an amazing view , and great location
The weak points
The beach is beautiful but not swimmable.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020