Emporio Ixtapa

3.753.753.753.753.75
Emporio Ixtapa
#9 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
3.75 based on 16 reviews
Traveller pictures (8)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Review of Emporio Ixtapa, Mexico.

, Chestermere, AB
2020-02-23
The Emporio was disappointing. There were 3 people staying in the room, sometimes we got one face cloth and other times we had to ask for it. The room smelled of mold. There were sand particles on the floor of the room. The food was adequate, but the main dinning room seating had bird poop on every chair. You got one free coffee packet and one free bottled water for the week. The specialty dinning option was very good but you have to book them ahead of time. The staff were great. Most of the lounging chairs had bird poop on them. The beach towels are numbered and have to be signed out. People are allowed to reserve the pool lounges the night before by putting chairs, towels and books on them, but sometimes, you never see the people using them. Good location. Would not stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff. Adequate food. Great specialty restaurant. Nice beach. Free internet works well. Great sunsets on the beach.
The weak points
Rooms smelled of mold, bird poop on lounges and restaurant chairs. Weak entertainment. One facecloth for 3 people. One free water for 3 people for the week. One free coffee packet for 3 people for the week.
Certified

First time to Mexico

, Victoria, BC
2017-02-20
All was quite good. A little better English would of helped a lot as that's what most visitors speak. A better knowledge of surrounding stores and directions would also help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location
The weak points
Wifi cut in and out continuosly
Certified

Amazing Staff

, Calgary, AB
2016-03-02
Great stay at the Emporio. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The air-conditioning worked well. We had it on most of the stay and it wasn't too noisy. We were on the 9th floor. We were happy with the elevators they were very quick never had to wait for one. We had a great view of the mountains and partial ocean view. There was a little late night noise on weekends with music from bars but it was no big deal for us. Hey, you're in Mexico how bad can it be! The hotel food was good. They try to change it up a bit with various theme nights. We were allowed to eat at the Sunset Restaurant twice during our stay it was excellent. The morning omelettes were tremendous. We had the burgers and fries for most lunches, both were very good. If you want a change of pace there a number of restaurants/bars just across the street from the hotel. The Emporio pool area was very nice and the beach was beautiful. The lounge chairs were very comfortable and always available no matter what time you arrived at the beach or pool. I can't say enough about the staff they made our trip. The staff (too many to name) were so friendly, helpful and genuine. My son celebrated his 21st birthday and it will be forever know for the “cucarachas”. Thank you Rafael, you are the best bartender in Ixtapa! We were happy to have the pleasure to be on the receiving end of Rafael's superb bar tending skills for most of our 7day stay. We did the day trip to Ixtapa Island it included lunch and we rented snorkel gear for a nominal fee on the Island. It was a fun day and very reasonable priced. We traveled with Sunwing for the first time and it was a great experience. We booked our excursion with Gustavo the Sunwing Rep at the Emporio. He was super. I cannot say enough about the staff at the Emporio. All the staff were amazing!! Thank you – we had a great holiday! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Emporio Hotel - Definitely not a 4 star

, Lancer, SK
2015-01-19
I live in Mexico for 3 years and have travelled throughout the Caribbean and I can say this resort by far is the worst! There is no way that it is a 4 star as it is lacking in every area. I would rate this as no more than 2.5. First don't go for the beach. It is dangerous and unswimmable. There is no roped off are for swimmers, the surf is rough and motor boats come almost up to the beach. The service from front desk to waiters is HORRIBLE. Most are old, slow and uninterested. Tipping does not help. When we checked in they had no reservation for us despite travelling with a major airline/vacation company. My 14 year old son were told to go somewhere else and come back the next day. I had to pay with my credit card and no one helped us move back. The next thing was the room. I paid for a Superior and got a dismal dump. There was a broken patio door that almost fell on me, a dirty patio that had not been cleaned in weeks. Guests hung their clothes on the chain-link fence around the patio which faced the roofs of other buildings. Guest above threw trash and liquids down on us. The room was very moldy smelling and the airconditioning did not work. I got a sinus infection for 2 weeks from that mold! The telephone kept coming out of the jack making long distance calls very costly as I had to keep redialling. The bureau was dirty and broken. There was exposed electrical in the bath and a rusty nail head poking out of the bathroom floor. The second room they gave us was bigger but also was in disrepair. There was no in room internet as advertised and the lobby wifi was weak and spotty (basically useless). In fact, there are a lot of amenities and services they claim but do not deliver on. The pool was filthy and the jacuzzi worse! There were broken tiles all over the bottom of the pool and garbage strewn around the pool was never collected. The furniture throughout the Hotel was old and worn. They had plastic patio furniture inside of their restaurant. The table cloths and cutlery were always dirty.The food was horrible. It was Mexican which I love but it was bland, repetitive and no selection (picture a prison menu!!!that is what it was like). We wasted 3.5 days of our 7 day vacation just hanging around the lobby to get a decent room. This experience ruined our vacation and I would not recommend this place as there are nicer ones on this strip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to shops and restaurants
The weak points
Service Food Beach Price Cleanliness

Boiled pig skin?

, St. Catharines, ON
2014-02-07
We were lucky with our room, as we asked for a quiet one, and got an amazing corner room on a high floor. The minibar was not opened for 2 days. It was not replenished properly. First day had no bottled water, except a larger one, which we were charged for, as well as charged for a few bags of chips left in the room, without having any signs of them costing extra. At the end we were charged with $40 US for a few snacks. The food was below average. 3-5 items per meal. What they had, tasted good, but extremely limited selection. Mostly taco/burrito fillings, boiled pig skin twice, once for breakfast. No sign for bacon, breakfast sausages, and no seafood besides fish, in sauce. All leftover food was "repurposed" for the next meal. Recognizably. The a'lacart restaurant was not open, the beach restaurant was opened only once, and once when everyone had to eat there. The afternoon hot dog/hamburger stand was only available twice through the week. Catered largely to Mexicans, who literally flooded the place from Friday to Monday, having it be a long weekend. Most staff were nice, including great beach service, great towel service, and bar service. However limited hours for the bars. The lobby bar only from 6pm-11pm, the beach bar 11am to 6 pm, and the 3rd was never open. The travel agent, Stephanie, was never in the hotel, supposedly available if you called. All and all, for the same money, I would go elsewhere. Beautiful area, many hotels to chose from. No activities or evening shows. The kids were constantly in the adult pool, the kiddie pool was empty, even though it was very nice. However we got the week cheap, as one week later the price was up to $1500. I would have been furious if I had to pay that much for this experience. The checkout was lengthy, even though it was only the two of us. Staff went in to take inventory of the chips and water left in the room, so they can charge us. They failed to notice the water being in the fridge, so went back the second time. Ridiculous. Didn't even bother to complain about the fridge being disgusting, and only filled a few times, with 2 bottles of each promised item, instead of 3, as stated. Oh, internet is come and go, don't count on it. I'm rating the room/bathroom high, as we had an updated corner unit. The others we have seen were average. The pool was not cleaned, even after the very busy weekend. We picked this hotel, as we didn't get into next door with our friends, however with barely less money, we received greatly less quality. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
not too many people from Tuesday to Friday, great service, nice staff. No blearing music, except one morning due to construction noise. No annoying activity people.
The weak points
food, food, food! minibar service, being charged for items should have been included.
Certified

Emporio Ixtapa

, Scarborough, ON
2014-02-02
Enjoyed ourselves. Good experience.
Would recommend and if price is right, would definitely go back again. Hotel ambiance laid back and relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant staff very friendly. Lobby and grounds clean and tidy
The weak points
Wish WiFi was available in room. Air condition old pillows are lumpy mattress sinks in the middle and lumpy
Certified

Good value - great location

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-30
before booking this hotel I researched travel sites to get an idea as pricing was good for Ixtapa. what I experienced was even better than expected. The staff was excellent in accomodating any request. Beds comfortable, rooms clean, food good (although if you are used to large resort buffet you may find this one lacking a bit) location to beach & market the absolute best. This is a relatively small hotel, under 300 rooms, so it is a great place to relax or for families to get together. Many people I met were returning guests. The hotel does not have organized activities however there is lots to do in the area and excursions can be booked in the hotel lobby. Over all a very friendly enjoyable stay, I plan on returning for sure [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location was excellent, value was good, beaches very nice, staff was excellent
The weak points
no a la carte menu/restaurant just same food different location
Certified

Emporio Ixtapa

, Youngstown, AB
2013-01-22
The staff at the Emporio were great. We had an "ocean view" room and would recommend that option. There is a night club down the street and our friends who had a "mountain view" were not able to get much sleep for all the noise. We heard nothing but ocean waves! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location was probably the best for us. We enjoy going to the local restaurants.
The weak points
The food was very good but also quite expensive.
Certified

Ixtapa hot Emporio working on becoming hot

, Grimsby, ON
2012-03-10
great place safe lovely hotel all u need is a 4 star so food not great lack of things to do very family oriented esp. on the weekends thats when the mexicans come but heh its there country and they love their kids. loved ixtapa safe and clean and inexpensive we went breakfast only thank God amazing restaurants in close proximity.Weather Awesome [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location cleanliness safeness beaches weather air cond. maids
The weak points
no balcony food repetitive no entertainment no fun around the pool
Certified

Emporio Ixtapa

, Red Deer, AB
2012-02-20
The hotel is older but in a prime spot on the beach, right in the middle of all the other resorts. The food, not great and the selection of food and restaurants is poor. Service could be good if they actually had enough staff on at one time. Only one restaurant and only one bar open at a time. Next to impossible to get service around the pool, you had to go and line up and get drinks/food yourself. People were friendly though and the hotel was clean. We didn't stay the entire week, we checked out early and went to another resort. Turned into an expensive week. I'd give this resort a 2.5 at best, no where near the 4 star it advertises itself to be. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were friendly, the town is minutes away, has lots of shopping and food choices (try Reubens Burgers) and the beach is breath taking.
The weak points
The food was poor and only one restaurant and bar open at any given time.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Ixtapa's best
Overall Impression Quality vs Price Food & Restaurants Singles Seniors Beaches Couples Families

Are you a hotel owner?