Las Brisas Ixtapa

Las Brisas Ixtapa
4.174.174.174.174.17
4.17 based on 53 reviews
#3 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (5)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Las Brisas Ixtapa

, Kamloops, BC
2020-03-21
We enjoyed our stay and found the facilities to be better than average - very nice. The location of the resort is beautiful, nice sandy beach and warm water - even though the waves prevented us from enjoying the water. The pools were great and well kept. The only negatives we had were: 1) We had to exchange our room key six times as they failed to unlock our room. 2) Reception had a very limited supply of small denomination pesos (twenties in particular). 3) Posted operating hours of the Beach Club snack bar were not adhered to especially in the morning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean. Al a cartes were very good with excellent service. The buffet was good and again with excellent service. The lobby bar was lots of fun.
The weak points
Reception desk and its staff needs improvement. Found them to be less than friendly and not helpful with requests at times. The concierge did not inform us of the correct days for the al a cartes.
Certified

Quirky Las Brisas

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-01-28
Just back from three weeks, lovely weather with high humidity, our first visit to the Ixtapa area. We can certainly recommend the area! Had a hard time choosing a hotel since many reviewers say their hotels are old, dated, poorer service and food. Pros and cons to Las Brisas too! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All rooms with balconies and ocean views, great!! Lovely spacious room, a firm but comfortable king bed; secluded beach with no vendors and limited foot traffic; 3 top notch a la carte restaurants, quite easy to get bookings,
The weak points
Caters to its Mexican clients in service and food choices, especially at the buffet; small buffet restaurant with few choices, so-so quality at times; beach staff used towels to save the best dozen palapas at the beach for Mexican clients, likely for tips

Las Brisas Hotel - the Breeze

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-18
Las Breezes is a very nice hotel - built 40 years ago by a famous local architect. Mid century modern design. The hotel is very quiet and located on the cliff and surrounded by a jungle. It offers a free bicycle tour through Ixtapa and an ecological tour through the pathways of its territory. You can see rainbow of local birds in the morning and other wild life. Every room is facing the ocean and has a stunning view the sunset can be watched every day. The beach is one of the best with perfect sand and aqua green color water. Perfect temperature water and we had no problems to walk in and out of it in early January. This is private so only guests of the hotel are permitted. No vendors or any one to bother you on the beach. We also always could find a shade under umbrella even after 1200 - lots of palapas available through out the day. The hotel seemed more busy from Thursday to Sunday as more Mexicans/local would come for a long weekend stay. It seemed most of the people staying at Las Brisas are Mexicans. Wealthy people tend to stay in Las Brisas so the crowd is well off. Rooms are very clean and staff is very service oriented. Great service with drinks on the beach. The main lobby is spacious and has a great drink service. They can make any cocktail and it tastes high quality. Pino Coladas were not too sweet and were made well on the beach. In the lobby they serve the drinks in glasses and not plastic. The main buffet were nicely set up with light arrangements, napkins, tables clothes & candle lite. The staff offered a great service, well dressed and presented. Their English is not great but good enough to make orders. What was good you can choose from a menu and take from a buffet as well. As this hotel has two plans All inclusive and European Plan - breakfast only. At every buffet and restaurant there is a menu. Most of the dishes from the menu are free of charge except a few selections which can be ordered at 50% off if you have an all inclusive plan. Three restaurants were great. Italian, Mexican and Las Brisas 2. Our favourite was the Mexican. The down side for someone staying at Las Brisas could be too many stairs to go up and down to beach - though there is an elevator available but still there are a few stairs to take. The hotel is family, couple oriented. Not good for singles. Mostly older clientele people families stay in Las Brisas. There is no night entertainment in the evenings which we don't miss and couple of nights there was a solo live music in the lobby which we loved. We wishes there would be a live music in the lobby every evening as it will attract and entertain guests more in the lounge. You can watch marvellous sunsets from the lobby and have drinks. The food in buffets was good but I would not call it outstanding. There could be more selection of the seafood and not just the same fish type. A touch of a better quality of the food would set them apart from other resorts and make them special. But a decor and presentation was great. We are food snobs so may be our demand for food quality is higher than standard. Some days food in buffets were better than the others. During breakfast there were great pastries to choose from but on one day the pastries were a day old so not as tasty :) But overall we enjoyed the food in buffets in 7 days. We arrived on the full moon and the waves at the beach were small but as the moon changed towards new on the last 2 days waves became big. I personally loved it but most guest were afraid to swim in such sea state water. There is a nice pool available above the ocean where people would enjoy the oasis and take refuge from the beach among beautiful trees. Las Brisas made a strong impression on us and we would certainly come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Private Beach with a beautiful color water for guest only. Ocean view from every room. Spectacular sunset everyday from a room, beach or lobby. Great service through out the hotel. Good 3 gourmet restaurants. Quiet hotel in the jungle. Peaceful stay
The weak points
Waves can be high. Food in buffets could have a better quality and seafood selection. Many stairs to take. Ixtapa is hotter than other parts of Mexico. Lack of live music in the lounge/lobby.
Certified

AWESOME RESORT

, Toronto, ON
2019-04-21
5 Star in every way. Quiet, relaxing hotel (no entertainment). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Las Brisas

, Drayton Valley, AB
2019-02-09
We love the Las Brisas and return each year. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We love the staff at this hotel. Each one becomes a friend as they are so friendly, kind, and willing to serve.
Certified

Little piece of paradise

, Regina, SK
2018-03-15
We started out the week not too sure about the Las Brisas Ixtapa (LBI), more than a little wary. But we finished our week in love with the place! Our room was on the 17th floor, and although a little dated, the view from the oversized balcony was spectacular -- with the sunsets over the Pacific that were both breathtaking and invigorating. From the balcony we could hear the waves on the private beach below, which was quiet and relaxing through the day, free of foot traffic from other resorts, thanks to large natural rock formations on either end of the beach. And I have to give kudos to the beach grill staff, who made some of the best fresh fish we've ever tasted, and kept us well hydrated through the week with ice-filled buckets of Corona and water. It was our first time to the LBI -- and to the Ixtapa area -- but I'm fairly certain it won't be our last. We had a great time here, and would certainly recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great, quiet getaway!

, Spruce Grove, AB
2016-02-18
Had a great time at this hotel! I stayed at many AI resorts in my life and this is definitely in the top 3!
Service, rooms, food, cleanliness and staff were beyond expectations for the price of this hotel!
If you are looking for an affordable, relaxing getaway, I would highly recommend this place!!
Do not stay here if you are looking for a party atmosphere or have severe mobility issues (lots of stairs and the wheelchair ramps are typical Mexico - very steep). The hotel does do a great job helping those in wheelchairs to find their way around and also provides shuttle service from the lobby to the pools and beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, room (hammock, ocean view and mini bar in each room), beach, pools and the staff are great!
The weak points
Lots of stairs
Certified

Just ok

, Maryhill, ON
2016-02-08
We knew this was not an exclusive all-inclusive resort but a hotel and conference center as well. Check in was incredibly slow (over 30 mins waiting in line) especially after a long travel day. It seemed very unorganized with a lot of paperwork processing for each guest. We knew the all inclusive plan still required you to sign for every drink and food order so no major concerns with that and often would only ask for the check after a full day at the pool. The buffets were very limited though and we realized after several disappointing meals, ordering off the menu was possible which we did for the remainder of our meals. Very strict dress code for a la carte restaurants. My spouse had brought just one pair of black denim pants and we were refused entry. Having travelled all through Mexico and the Caribbean, this was the first time we had this issue. Staff is very friendly and the resort is clean and looks like some updates are being made. Our room had been updated and was very spacious with a great ocean view. Just seems to be missing attributes that make a resort a 4 or 5 star and really does need some more updating around the pool and in the common areas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful surroundings and friendly staff
The weak points
A la carte restaurants with strictest dress code ever encountered in all our travels.
Certified

Great considering the circumstances

2016-01-13
We were astounded with the hotel and all of its employees. It was our very first ever trip so we did not know what to expect. The scenery is beautiful and breathtaking. However, we were only able to enjoy 2 days of our purchased trip as I was in an unfortunate accident in the ocean as I went out for a swim and was taken under by a large wave. The lifeguards on the beach did a tremendous job retrieving me from the water and getting an ambulance on its way. When we returned from our hospital stay (the ambulance ride and first hospital was a very stressful experience but not related to this hotel so I will save those bad reviews for another time/place) the hotel offered a wheel chair for me to use and free room service as I was not able to go down to the buffets or a la cartes. Again, we loved our time at Las Brisas but wished we were able to enjoy our full time there. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The private beach
The weak points
The evening buffett
Certified

A relaxing eco-resort with breath-taking views

, Edmonton, AB
2014-04-09
This is an absolutely gorgeous resort with an especially unique design: every single room at Las Brisas has a stunning ocean view, and you will see breathtaking sunsets from your balcony! In addition, it is truly an 'eco-resort': there are many species of birds, iguanas, and other creatures that live there, and they even have a biologist who takes you on a nature walk around the resort to see them. We were exceptionally lucky, as the week we were there a nest of baby sea turtles hatched on the beach, and we watched them be released into the ocean! What a phenomenal experience.

This resort is definitely for appreciating nature, and for relaxation. One complaint we had is that there wasn't much in the way of entertainment on the resort (shows, clubs, etc). In addition, the food was unpredictable: some nights it was quite good (ex at the Mexican and Italian restaurants) and other nights it was quite bad (ex at the outdoor restaurant). We've heard from reading other reviews that this issue is something that has only happened in recent years, which is unfortunate. Breakfast buffets, however, were consistently good, with the option of excellent omelettes. Other than that, the drinks are great (don't DARE leaving this resort without drinking Mojitos at the beach bar!!) and there is a decent selection.

Overall, despite the few minor setbacks mentioned above, this is easily one my favourite resorts I've ever been to, and that's counting ones that were quite a bit more expensive, too. I fully intend to go back to Las Brisas and to Ixtapa/Zihuantenejo, as this was an all around fantastic vacation! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-every room has an ocean view -free internet in all the rooms -eco resort with beautiful grounds -gorgeous private beach -wonderful cocktails
The weak points
-food was inconsistent -entertainment was lacking
Certified

Nice spot

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-24
First night was loud due to a convention and we didn't get 2 rooms close together as requested because they were full. They moved us next night and rest of stay was fine. Food was excellent. Service was excellent. Beach was lovely. No vendors because this is an isolated beach from main tourist area. Quick walk or $5 cab to town. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, view, beaches
The weak points
Internet
Certified

R F

, Mississauga, ON
2014-02-22
I requested a handicapped room ? the agent that booked my trip should nave told me that this hotel is not for handicapped. if she didn't know she should not be in this business.we had a very ad experience and will not book again with selloffvacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean,excellent ocean view, excellent service.
The weak points
not for handicapped, not handicapped equipped at all.had a very bad experience.
Certified

Not as good anymore.

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-14
All inclusive plan changed, makes it not as worth going anymore. The buffets are nasty food is cold and entertainment cheesy and loud. Has amazing location and staff is great. Service on the beach very good and always chairs and palapas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, weather, staff and beach. Las Brisas 2 and portofino are good, mexican a la carte kind of ordinary.
The weak points
Buffets are bad, new formula too expensive and too many extras. Music too loud while you eat. Should be all inclusive not all inclusive but...
Certified

Quiet Time Away In Mexico

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-12
The room was very nice. The hotel is very quiet. The beach is great. This is a very good destination for people looking for peace and quiet. You can sleep in, leisurely go down for breakfast and still find plenty of seating at the beach.
The only thing I would say that is negative is the buffet food is average at best. Omelets for breakfast are great, quick food from the beach is good.

A la carte restaurants of which there are three, (you get three cards and can only eat at each restaurant once) was very good. That leaves 4 meals for the buffet. I suggest you go into town and have supper at a restaurant. You are not going to gain a ton of weight because of that - which can be a good thing.....

Other than that, this was a great place to go and we will definitely go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel & Staff
The weak points
Restaurants - Buffet not so great. Only in that there are not so many items to choose from and some items are over cooked.
Certified

Relaxing and quiet

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-02-04
We have been to Las Brisas three times so far, and will be back. The location is great - it has a private beach, free of vendors and banana boats, with full service on the beach. The a la carte restaurants are good, as are the buffet dinners. You get 3 or 4 a la carte coupons per week, and we were happy with that arrangement (we actually did not use all of ours). The buffets were good, and the variety of locations was fun. We also like to go into Zihuatanejo for a few meals, so we don't mind not having 7 dress-up dinners at the resort. The rooms are large, and every one of them enjoys a fabulous view of the ocean. The staff are really fantastic. They are friendly and warm, they're happy to help you learn some basics in Spanish, and they take good care of you while you relax. The concierge, Maritza, is a great help when looking for things to do at or away from the resort. The servers on the beach and in the lobby bar will chat or not chat - depending on what you want. We really enjoy Las Brisas Ixtapa, and we will definitely go there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, great service, quiet and relaxing.
The weak points
I can't think of any.
Certified

Spectacular Beach

, Brampton, ON
2014-02-04
Beautiful Location
We spent a week at Las Brisas and loved it. The resort is spread out and therefor there is a lot if walking! Many stairs that can't be avoided. Not good for anyone with mobility issues . The resort is very quiet. Not a party spot! The restaurants are very nice. The food... Just OK.
The beach is fantastic! Beautiful location. You can swim off the beach but the waves could be too much if you're not a strong swimmer. Every room has an ocean view.
We will return ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach, the location,the view!
The weak points
Stairs stairs and more stairs
Certified

Fourth Visit

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-27
This is our fourth visit to Las Brisas and, although it was almost as good as before, some changes made it a bit less than previous visits.
The biggest change is the fact that you are now limited to 3 visits to specialty restaurants in a one week holiday, where in the past, you could use any of the specialty restaurants an unlimited number of times during your stay. I know this change puts Las Brisas more in line with other all inclusives, but this was one reason why this place was different and not like all the rest.
As usual, the staff is wonderful. The concierge, Maritza (sp) is fantastic, as are many of the other servers at all the restaurants.
The weather is always consistent, hot and sunny every day.
The rooms are lovely with each having an ocean view. And the view is tremendous.
Overall, I love this place, but I would hope that they rethink the new policy concerning their specialty restaurants. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, view from rooms, food
The weak points
Changes to accessing the specialty restaurants.
Certified

If you are not looking for club med~

, Vancouver, BC
2014-01-15
Las Brisas is quiet, no activities. The setting is gorgeous, staff friendly, location good, restaurants and food better than average. you have to sign a bill each meal, disconcerting, but i was charged nothing. Good for couples, not singles, many staff spanish speaking, some spoke english. free internet with our package. we got to help release turtles!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Rooms super, all have great views. good restaurants, especially Italian. good location and beach, great staff,
The weak points
quiet- no activities. you have to be able to entertain youself or go to town, speak spanish, or be there as a couple, comfortable spending quiet time or exploring zijuatanejo
Certified

Ixtapa trip

, Tornto, ON
2013-04-01
the staff and resort are great I had the time of my life [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staff
The weak points
taxi to ixtapa
Certified

Great Destnation

, Calgary, AB
2013-01-15
This is a really nice hotel filled with motivated and skilled service people. If you are looking for a party destination I would not suggest this is the, place nor is it suitable for teens who would like organized activity. If you want a great place for family time I haven't seen better. Private beaches, private, baalconies, and private first class dining. We loved it [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
It gives the family a lot of time together with no vendors or organized events pulling people away. Meals are private and mostly high quality a la carte.
The weak points
One of the fine dining rooms insists on long pants. In Mexico? I didn't even bring any along.
Certified

Beautiful place

, Edmonton, AB
2013-01-15
This resort has a lot going for it. Beautiful rooms with gorgeous ocean views, amazing beach, natural jungle-like vegetation, an outdoor restaurant overlooking the beach and great staff that mostly work their tails off all combine to make staying here a treat. However, there are issues to be aware of that could affect yiour stay. The hotel is built into the side of a hill meaning the amenities are spread far apart and not always accessible by elevator. Get used to walking up and down stairs to access the beach, three restaurants (including the main buffet one), plus it is quite a trek to get to the pool although they have a shuttle vehicle available for that. The buffet food is adequate. The beach is very clean and private so no vendors will bother you. However, it is quite a rough surf so be prepared to take a beating there. Still beautiful to watch though. finally, the resort is a little isolated - you can walk to the main strip in Ixtapa but it is quite strenuous in the heat.

Would I stay here again? Absolutely! But I would prepare myself better by doing some work in the gym on a stair stepper first. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, outdoor restaurant, room with a view
The weak points
Too many stairs, average food, too spread out
Certified

Great place to relax

, Calgary, AB
2012-12-24
Great for the money we paid.Would be real pricey without an all inclusive plan.Real quiet. Don't expect parties or booming music around the pools. Doesn't exist.Just a real good place to kick back and reload.People who complained about the walking issue obviously don't walk at all. Not that bad. I paced it off one day and it was about 400 paces to the pool and if you can't manage that they have a cart.Private beach and lots of seating. The food was more than adequate. We will be back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Most everything.
The weak points
hot water was off and on.
Certified

Las brisas

, Calgary, AB
2012-12-20
Still a great place to stay, for the price I paid. Service is still great waiters and staff in general, food is still exceptional. Bathroom was a bit worn ie toilet leaked, hot water was an issue at times, moldy dirt on glass at bottom of shower, drain smelled of sewer. When I told the front desk they had no rooms available to do a switch, yet the resort was 30 percent full. I felt I should have been upgraded for this trouble as I am a silver card member and have stay at las brisas resorts numerous times over the years. Building overall is showing some wear, I dont beleive the owners are putting much back into the property. Final comment prices at restaurants are way over inflated and as an all inclusive client I dont beleive I should see a bill at the end of each meal. Meal receipts or bills are to be signed at the end of dinning(this is some what understandable as all patrons are not necessarily all inclusive) however it makes you feel uncomfortable and pressured to leave a sizable tip. In the back of your mind you wonder if additional charges will be incurred on your final hotel statement. I am a very fair tipper in ten days I tipped 400.00 dollars and tips and tax are listed as included, still love the place but these details should be examined by management [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff and location, food as well is exceptional
The weak points
maids did not do as good of job as they have in the past. bathroom was worn ie toilet kept running and hot water was an issue and moldy dirt on glass at bottom of shower. over all building is showing some wear and tear. Owners are not putting dollars back
Certified

Wow

, Edmonton, AB
2012-11-30
This hotel has a combination of All Inclusive Guests and Regular Paying guests. We have always stayed at all inclusive resorts that you receive a wrist band and you are on your way to any bar, restaurant etc. There are no wrist bands here. Each meal is a sit down and order from the menu (breakfast is buffet but you are still seated and served) or if you are by the pool or on the beach you are served by staff. When you have concluded what you are doing, even if it was a few hours of drinks by the pool you sign your bill to your room number. Well this freaked us out cause we didn't want charges to our room. When we inquired at the front desk, there were no charges to our room! We were told that tipping was already included but we still tipped the wait staff directly with cash. If you want to sign your tip to your room that is recorded and you cover those when you check out. If you had questions about what is included in the all inclusive, the staff was able to tell you straight away. With the exception of ordering lobster or a speciality wine or Baileys Irish Cream (!) there was not one thing not covered that we had asked for.
Once we got the drill we were able to relax and truly understand how decadent this hotel was. The food was truly amazing. The Mexican and Italian restaurants that you need to make reservations for were like experiencing fine dinning.
The resort itself is very lovely and they participate in conservation of the area and species of the area. Ask about the turtle program and take the bird watching tour (no cost). It was very interesting and made me appreciate my surroundings as more than "a beach or pool."
Also the beach is private to the resort. There is no way for the public to access it by walking. We very much enjoyed not have solicitors approach us while we relaxed. We went to the main beach in Ixtapa and could not wait to get back to 'our' beach as we started to refer to it!
The promo picture they use does not give the resort or beach the justice it deserves.
We will be going back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The value of the all inclusive. For what we paid and what we got...decedent!
The weak points
Nothing with the resort, just the confusion of how their all inclusive works compared to all the others
Certified

First Time to Ixtapa Mexico

, Carievale, SK
2012-03-30
My husband and I joined two other couples staying at the Las Brisas Resort at Ixtapa from February 22 to March 3, 2012. The staff was amazing, very friendly, helpful and with a great sense of humor, always willing to help you with Spanish.

We had an all-inclusive package (which I believe is only offered from Canada). There were no “all-inclusive bracelets” but you did have to sign for everything. If you have never had to do this before, it can be a bit disconcerting. You can check your account in your room on the TV (or check at the front desk) to make sure there are no mistakes. We did not run into any problems but our friends had to make quite a few corrections. The staff was good about it but just the same, it can be upsetting seeing charges that you did not make. Don't be surprised to see a charge for Red Cross and Mexfam. These are donations which you can have removed if you wish. Remember to mark a zero amount in the tip section if you leave cash or don't wish to tip. We like to leave cash to avoid that extra charge at check-out.

The entrance to the resort is on Level 18. Also on that main level is the front desk, lobby bar, a few shops, the travel rep counter, business centre , bathrooms, telephones, access (stairs) to the Bellevista, El Mexicano, Portofino Restaurants and a very long flight of stairs to Level 10. On Level 10 there is a long but scenic route to the pool and Solarium Snack Bar. They have the trees and flowers labeled and if you are into bird watching, keep your eyes open. Level 10 also has the access to the Beach Elevator (just a few more stairs from elevator to the sand). When the reviews say there are stairs, believe it! There is not a restaurant that you can go to without some stairs involved.

The Bellevista Restaurant (level 18) serves the breakfast buffet and dinner (no reservation needed). The breakfast buffet had good variety (hot dishes changing daily). If you wanted “bacon” you just had to ask at the egg station. The Bellevista is not an al-a-carte restaurant but the meals were very good. For lunch there was the Las Brisa I (Beach Snack Bar) and Solarium (Pool Snack Bar).

You need to make reservations for the Las Brisa II (level 10/overlooking the beach), El Mexicano and Portofino (level 18). There were no limits to how often you could eat at them. All three al-a-carte restaurants were superb, with lots of choices and great service, making meals very enjoyable.

The Lobby Bar had a wonderful staff and great drinks. It was an easy way to meet up with our group before dinner and watch the sunset. If you weren't ready to call it a day after dinner, you could stop for a night cap and listen to live entertainment.

The rooms were clean and spacious. They have a king size bed, large dresser (clock/alarm), TV, sitting area with a couch, table & two chairs, walk-in shower (shampoo/conditioner/body lotion/soap), closet with safe, air-conditioner and ceiling fan. The balcony was large with two chairs, table, hammock and great view. Due to the direction of the resort, it was too hot to spend much time on the balcony mid afternoon but the floor stayed warm all night! You get two small complimentary bottles of water in your room on arrival but then you have to pick up more at the lobby bar or snack bar. There is a stocked mini bar, coffee maker, snacks but are pricey. Our friends brought their own coffee and filters so they could have coffee every morning on their balcony. There was laundry service available but we never used it.

The front desk has a board with daily exchange rates for Peso, US, Canadian, Euro, Yen & Libra Esterlina. At the entrance there is a listing for taxi rates. Past the front desk is another board with daily trivia questions. You can get free internet access at the business centre but is pricey for access in your room. Local telephone calls are 5 peso per minute which add up in a hurry.

Level 22 is the top level with a great night view of Ixtapa and if you want to see big bats, you can see them fluttering around in the tree tops (none ever came inside). If you watch, there is lots of wildlife around. We seen squirrels, iguanas, geckos, whales, turtles, manta rays, lots of birds, bats, various bugs (much different than you see in Canada but we never had trouble with bites or being bothered).

The beach was great, private, no vendors, a life guard and enough breeze to keep us Canadians from overheating. Lots of paulapalas, we never had to “save” a spot to be able to get a place in the shade. You could watch for whales, snorkel, boogie-board or just watch the waves roll in. Be cautious when playing in the surf, some of the waves can be pretty huge. One evening we were able to release baby turtles. What an experience, more than I expected it to be! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff was excellent, food selection & quality amazing. It was a nice break not having time share in the resort or vendors on the beach. Made time at the resort much more relaxing.
The weak points
LOTS of stairs! Business Services like local calls & internet access in your room were very expensive & only 2 water bottles were provided in your room. I felt local calls & internet could have been free and water replaced daily.
Certified

Quiet relaxation

, Airdrie, AB
2012-03-12
Brisas is kind of excluded from the town because it is up on a hill. Fairly easy walk down the hill to Ixtapa, but strenuous walk back up the hill (recommend a taxi back). The rooms are large with a large deck and great views. Showers also large with plenty of hot water and pressure. Service is fantastic and everything is always very clean and maintained. The restaurants have great food and service (but they are very pricey if you are not on the all inclusive plan). The beach is very nice and somewhat private because only Brisas guests can get to it. Always warnings about swimming in the ocean with the strong undertow. Pools are nice. The only complaints would be that there is always some walking and a lot of stairs to get to the pools, the beach and to restaurants. This place is not handicap accessible at all. No ramps anywhere. The other complaint is internet access is very expensive in the rooms. There is free wifi if you go up to the computer room, but use of their computers is expensive. Limited entertainment - may have a band play on the weekend. But if you want rest and relaxation this is a fantastic place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
service
The weak points
pricey
Certified

Not the usual Mexican all-inclusive

, Maple Ridge, BC
2012-02-21
Second time I've stayed here. So relaxing, a REAL vacation. If you want activities and dance music @ pool/beach this place is not for you. If you want beautiful views and tranquility while being pampered this is it! 4* rating is surprising. I've stayed @ many 5* and have not been as impressed. The staff are of course are friendly and work their buts off to accomodate but you are in Mexico and paitience goes a long way. Just be wary-being that it spans over it's own private cliff/bay the resort requires a bit of walking so you should be fit enough to get around. Have and will continue to recommend this resort! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful setting, great views from all rooms. The beach can't be beat. Loved al. The little things...like the ice is pre-bagged, buckets of ice for your drinks when @ pool/beach, yummy peanuts @ lounge and room service @ breakfast....
The weak points
Drink/food services could start earlier @ pool/beach, they start @ 11am/12am, lounge opens @ 3pm. And money exchange could be a problem befor 11am.
Certified

Excellent Resort

, Calgary, AB
2012-02-07
Overall this is an amazing resort! Beautiful beach, gorgeous room, incredible view, excellent restaurants!Our only complaints were a very hard bed and sporadic service in two of the restaurants. The other restaurants were fantastic. Because of big waves, this is not a great swimming beach but the beauty of it was amazing. This is a great, quiet hotel if you're looking for somewhere to relax. The pools were beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent food, excellent bar, breath taking views, very clean, very safe feeling. This is an amazing resort to relax in although if you're looking for night life, you will have to go into town.
The weak points
Inconsistant service in the Italian and Mexican restaurants. The beach restaurant and a the pool restaurants were amazing. The bed was very hard and took a while to get used to.
Certified

Las Brisas Ixtapa

, New Hamburg, ON
2012-02-02
4th time to Las Brisas Ixtapa.....that says it all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
classy, quiet no loud [pool] music very relaxing for seniors
The weak points
room makeup sometimes late for bedtime
Certified

Wonderful

, St Thomas, ON
2012-02-02
This hotel is a gem. Quiet, an amazing view from our room with a sunset every night! The food was excellent, the staff very friendly. Very private beach with no vendors. Many fellow guest had been there 20 times and more! Felt very safe here, travelled to Ixtapa walking. A very good deal. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The view, the room, the staff, the food!
The weak points
Internet access is not free.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020