Fontan Beach Resort

3.333.333.333.333.33
Fontan Beach Resort
#7 of 15 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Ixtapa
3.33 based on 60 reviews
Traveller pictures (2)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

OK stay

, Richmond, BC
2018-03-08
I stay in Fontain Ixtapa for one week, our room was renovated one and was pleasant and clean. Lobby and evening bar needs some face lift. Buffet restaurants were ok for 3* selection of the food could be better. At lunch they had tacos chips but no tomato salsa or guacamole. On weekends and Mexican holiday very crowded with local people so all property is very noisy. One a la card restaurant has good food but very long wait for service. Drinks were poorly done and white wine was sweet. The biggest problem is launch chars in the shade. To get chairs on the beach you have to reserve them around 06:30 when is still dark outside or stay by the pool in sardines style in full sun. The shows are OK, some better then others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pricing good for what you get.
The weak points
as above

Fontan Stay

, Lacombe, AB
2018-03-04
Given the price paid reasonable but an "old" facility. Badly needs upgrades, especially to lobby and rooms. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and beach.
The weak points
Room very dated and musty. Meals only average to slightly below average.
Certified

Fontan resort

, Brampton, ON
2016-03-13
The location was perfect. The beach was very nice. The hotel was adequate accommodation. The influx of Mexican weekend guests pushed the Staff and the hotels aging infrastructure to its limits. Be prepared for long waits at the bar and buffets on Thursday to Saturday. The front desk staff were very unwilling to assist. Ixtapa and its surroundings are well worth the visit and we will probably return sometime in the future. Just not at the Fontan resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Middle of Playa del Palmar

, Vancouver, BC
2016-01-02
I really enjoyed my stay in a “history” of Ixtapa – hotel Fontan was build 40 years ago and is maintained lovingly …
The staff in the front desk, security and maintenance folks, are top notch. They put in effort to keep you happy and they are all always friendly. They work night and day and still manage to smile when they greet you.
Not so many English speaking personnel (this is the best way to learn Spanish) but very helpful to accommodate your needs.
Pool and beach area - the staff worked tirelessly to keep the area clean, neat, and in working order; lots of activities offered daily.
Food is plenty and delicious, drinks are NOT watered :-) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fontan ixtapa

, Calgary, AB
2015-01-20
We had a great time. Staff were pleasant, other hotel guests were easy going. Great location. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small, fun resort. Very family oriented.
The weak points
Hotel has seen better days. We had to scramble to fine beach chairs.
Certified

Good Basic Hotel

, Port Mcnichol, ON
2014-04-02
We stayed at the Fontan from March 22-29. It is an older hotel that shows it age, but it was clean. The food is good a little bit repetitive after 7 days but that can be expected with a buffet. I did not like the plastic chairs and table used in the dining areas. They were unstable and felt like they were going to break at any moment. The hotel caters to Mexican families and was extremely busy from Thursday to Sunday night. This was not really an issue except for the pool area and long lines, the pool area was to small to accommodate this many people. Hotel staff were always very polite and the front lobby staff would write out places we would like to go to show to the taxi and bus drivers. If you are looking for a cheap, clean hotel in which to explore Ixtapa then this is the place. If you want to relax by the pool, you may want another hotel with less families. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms and friendly staff. Food was basic but good.
The weak points
Too crowded in the pool area, no adult pool. The beach is beautiful but has a strong surf, not suitable for swimming.
Certified

Fontan Beach Resort

, Toronto, ON
2014-03-06
The hotel was very clean and the staff very nice. The
areas of improvements are as follows: Buffet Area: the chairs could be replaced. They should definitely make one of the pool for adult only. That is a necessity, especially on weekends when there is more families visiting. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We were very pleased with the cleanliness and the staff helpfulness.
The weak points
On weekends, all three pools were occupied by small children and the access was minimal.
Certified

Average

, Calgary, AB
2014-02-05
We arrived at 2:00 pm expecting to have lunch. There was nothing available so had to go to a restaurant outside resort. Lots of broken lawn chairs, cutbacks on buffet. This was our 4th time at the Fontan. We return as we like the staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff.
The weak points
Hotel needs maintenance. Beds need replacing...
Certified

Too crowded with kids!

, Surrey, BC
2014-01-07
Hotel itself was what we expected for a 3 star one, bed was rock hard, but we liked it, others might not! Renos needed as plaster fell off the ceiling and drapes were barely hanging in place.....but overall, clean and ok. Food was good, we are not picky eaters. Worst part was the crowds of Mexican families with their screaming kids everywhere. Different standards for Mexicans and tourists. Mexicans allowed in bare underwear without shirt or shoes in the restaurant, appalling!
Beach was the best, sand and sun made it a holiday. Pools were dirty due to overcrowding! Will not go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
ocean and great beach!
The weak points
too many screaming kids and families, dirty pools!
Certified

Fontan

, Calgary, AB
2013-03-19
I would look for somewhere else as they seem to cater to the local people and do not designate 1 pool for adults only. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very good variety on food most days. Staff very friendly and helpful.Beach and weather were wonderful.
The weak points
No coffee pots in rooms. No adult pool.Announcements and music 95% in Spanish.No bar after 11pm
Certified

Fontan Beach Resort

, Calgary, AB
2013-02-19
This is our third time at the Fontan; We know what to expect. That being said, for a small hotel it is very clean, the staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is good. The staff are also very helpful with us learning Spanish. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Small and normally very quiet during the week. The staff get to know the patrons very well. Location is excellent.
The weak points
Only 1 reservation allowed per week at the Hacienda Restaurant.
Certified

Fontan Beach Resort, Ixtapa

, Sharon, ON
2012-03-08
We have been going to this Hotel for 14 years, that should say it all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff, cleanliness
The weak points
dinners
Certified

Fontan Ixtapa

, Calgary, AB
2012-02-20
Food is fine, beds are still nice and hard. Staff is always friendly and helpfull [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and location.
The weak points
Had a leak in the ceiling in the bathroom.
Certified

Ixtapa - Fontan Beach Resort

, Scarborough, ON
2012-02-16
Very clean close to everything, had a great time [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff
The weak points
Internet access
Certified

It was ok, just ok.

, Mild May, ON
2012-02-09
The Fontan is clean, tidy etc. the staff are hard workers, efficient and polite. Some have good English, they do try hard to give you what you need.

Poolside palapa restaurant is the best, the garlic shrimp is awesome, I had it about 5 times in a week :-) Buffet food is boring and bland, omelets are good. Tea is never hot. Lots of watermelon, papaya, pineapple, some oranges. BBQ ribs for breakfast was strange tho! Snack bar has good burgers and fries.

Evening shows in the convention centre are great, the ones in the buffet restaurant are good too. Kareoke night is awful.

I found Ixtapa itself to be boring, nothing to do other than go across the road to stores and restaurants and pesky vendors and beggars selling junk.

Get on the bus for 9 pesos and go down to Zihua and go to the beach there, see the market, admire the view. Go north to Playa Linda and see the crocs, take the boat to Ixtapa Island for $3.00. No need to take an expensive tour there, the bus goes right there.

I wont go to Ixtapa again, it's a manufactured town, doesnt look like Mexico, rather it looks like Florida. If you want the beach and ocean, then it's great, but there's nothing else to see.

If you can get it for about $300. plus tax as we did, then go, but it's not worth anymore money than that. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, tidy, hard working staff, across from shops. Decent shower, bathroom.
The weak points
Poor food, rock hard bed, pillow. Low quality overall.
Certified

Mexican family friendly

, Calgary, AB
2012-01-23
It offers more than what we expected for a 3 star (been to quite a few), but the hotel is targeting Mexican families especially on weekends and is very busy then. While courteous to English rarely use it. Very little to offer after the brief evening show. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good quality food and drinks, internet consistently available, very clean.
The weak points
20 minute lineup for drinks on weekends, packed with families. Didn't use English in announcements, difficult to get involved.
Certified

Good Hotel for the Price

, St Williams, ON
2012-01-19
Would recommend for the price. Good food. Older hotel but very well maintained. Beds and pillows could be improved. Bedspreads were changed during our stay. Safe at front desk. One speciality dinner per week. Shows amazing. Mexican Fiesta was in the Convention Centre attached to the hotel.
Combo Tour we took too expensive and would recommend going into Zihuatanejo by bus yourself. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very well maintained hotel and friendly staff with excellent location near restaurants and many shops across the street.
The weak points
Safe at front desk but not a problem
Certified

As expected for three stars hotel

, Mississauga, ON
2011-12-29
Positive overall impression but overcrowded for a few days. Probably some deal - kids stay free.Daycare atmosphere, noisy and busy all days. Evidently lack of beach-chars and umbrellas. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent weather, good price for decent accommodation during Christmas time.
The weak points
Overcrowded.
Certified

Had a great vacation here

, Langley, BC
2011-03-14
great for the price [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good value, great staff
The weak points
none
Certified

Fontan Beach Resort

, Sharon, ON
2011-03-11
We have been staying at this hotel for 13 years (16 times in 13 years),needless to say, we love it. It is Mexican owned and staffed, spotlessly clean, service is excellent, people are wonderful, food is good, something for everyone. Internet access free plug in, using your own lap top only. Beach is beautiful! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and crew, cleanliness, location, beach
The weak points
Personally I have no weak points to contribute.
Certified

Location & weather

, Minesing, ON
2011-03-11
overall good vacation, weather is allways perfect there, the location is great beutiful scenary, you can find all your shopping across the street in the plaza or the fleemarket there is also lots of restaurants in the plaza if you get tired of the hotel food. Visit the nabouring town lots to see there too. The hotel is aging and could get a facelift but everything is clean and well kept, swiming pools are good, bar for the pool and beach is good with good service, the restaurants open according how many guests thay have at the time,if the crowd is small only the smaller buffet restaurant opens, both are open air. for lunch you have a choice of alacart, buffet or burgers and fries from the coffee bar. The food could use some improvement but there is alwys something to choose from, coffee and deserts are excelent. Hotel was half empty through the week but Fri to Sunday gets bussy with Mexican families, thay are not pushy or get preferential treatment like some reviws say. For nightlife you have to go off resort.People are friendly. Don't get discuraged by bad press, I felt safe everywhere I went. Good relaxing vacation I'd go again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location weather
The weak points
food, no mexican mariachy band
Certified

The Fontan, Ixtapa

, Calgary, AB
2011-03-07
Had a lovely time. Not one complaint comes to mind. Will definitely return... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, cleanliness, service, staff, location, food, awesome sunsets!!
The weak points
Not a lot to complain about!
Certified

A Fantastic Holiday

, Nobleford, AB
2011-01-17
We had a great time at this hotel. It was amazingly clean. There are 4 pools, and the walkpaths around the pools get bleached. Every day they clean the pool. There are deckchairs at the pools and at the beach. There are showers for you to rinse the sand off at every entrance from the beach area to the pool area. The food was good. It was a little repetative....you sort of knew most days what would be on the menu, but there is enough variety that you have no problem having enough food. You really feel like you live in Mexico at this resort. The folks at the front desk have perfect English, and the waiters have a limited amount of English, but the cleaning staff speak almost no English. The beds are comfortable, the room is cleaned very well every day, and they leave little personal touches like a towel figurine with flower petals draped over it on your bed, and little flower petals in the bathroom. I would highly recommend this hotel for either a family or for a couple. There are activities every evening. Shopping is just across the street - everything from high end clothes to your tourist purchases. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness
The weak points
Not a huge variety of drinks at the bar. Not a huge variety of food at the buffet.
Certified

Fontan beach resort ixtapa and zihua

, Campbell River, BC
2011-01-16
it was great. I definitely will go back there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
no waits for food/drinks and good selection for both, room with a view and baby leatherback turtles coming out of the sand and onto the ocean. Bonus!
The weak points
in my room, bathroom ceiling tiles need to be replaced
Certified

New Years In Ixtapa

, Calgary, AB
2011-01-05
I had such an interesting vacation at Hotel Fontan in Ixtapa.
I've spent the same week in San Jose del Cabo and loved it, but, found that Ixtapa has nicer evening temperatures. Cabo gets chilly this time of year.
The Hotel Fontan was a study in opposites. On one hand you have amazing views of the ocean and the beach is fantastic. There is a real sense of safety when you walk the beach along the hotel zone and up to the marina. The sunsets are amazing. My room had a beautiful view of the ocean, I enjoyed sitting on my small balcony and watching the evening sun melt into the ocean.
One web site mentioned that internet was available in the room for a fee, but when I got there, I found out that wi fi was only available in the lobby...I adjusted.
Front desk, bell boys etc everyone was fantastic, and very friendly. While I do speak spanish, I did note that the staff speak excellent english.
The pools and pool area were fine, I did sort of wish for one pool set aside for adults and quiet, but...there just isn't space for that at this resort.
Definitely a family resort.
Food...probably one of the weakest points about the hotel. I just found the food rather lack luster and boring. At the end of the week I found I was heading off resort to eat for the most part. There were bright moments with the food, one night there was an amazing turkey dish and the New Years Eve dinner and festivities were quite spectacular.
Now, just the room to review...
The room I had, while it had an amazing view, was rather spartan. The bed, while a king size bed was very hard. I also had issues with my pillows but, that's all personal preference stuff.
The room also smelled quite musty. My chamber maid kept me very well entertained with her animal creations made from towels and flowers. On my last full day she created the most amazing design. I was very grateful to her for always making the room look and feel so clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Locataion, service, people
The weak points
rooms, food
Certified

IXTAPA -- Fontan Beach Resort

, Canmore, AB
2011-01-03
This was THE BEST holiday to date -- I cannot stress enough what a lovely place Ixtapa is -- no wonder they have a 40% return-rate of visitors!! I will never travel anywhere else in Mexico again. And I highly recommend the Fontan Beach Resort -- it had phenomenal food, staff and amenities. If it was not to others' liking, I don't know what they are looking for in a trip!! Fantastic beach, wonderful pools and great variety of restaurants within the hotel -- we only ate there as a result -- and were never disappointed. I am booking another trip to the Fontan for February now!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I have rated everything as HIGH -- Fontan Beach Resort was phenomenal -- there was nothing we were lacking. There are even in-house physicians 24 hours a day, should you need one!! The nightly Dance Shows (free) were SO WELL DONE -- we LOVED them, too!!
The weak points
Sorry -- there were NONE. Wireless internet is available in the Lobby sitting area only -- not in the rooms -- but this was not a problem for us.
Certified

December 2010 at the Fontan

, North Bay, ON
2010-12-31
We were not expecting more than a three-star hotel so we were prepared for the Fontan. We choose our destinations for the beach and weather more than the resort. Overall, we were satisfied with the Fontan considering the price we paid. Location was excellent, service was fantastic. However the buffet restaurant was one of the poorest we have seen in Mexico (very poor selection, food was cold). Daily use of the a la carte restaurant (Miramar) near the beach allowed a great selection of food for lunch. The garlic shrimp was our favorite and the club house was fantastic. The Hacienda Restaurant (a la carte dinner) just opened for the season and guests are only allowed to dine there once a week. That was unfortunate as the food there was very good. However, with the many stores and restaurants available across the street, finding good food was not a problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, weather, beach, service
The weak points
poor buffet, no in-room safety deposit box (only available at reception), not many staff could understand/speak English well
Certified

Wonderful time in Ixtapa!!!

, Dead Man S Flats, AB
2010-04-05
The hotel was what i expected for the price but it was so clean and the house keeping was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The price is by far the string point!! Great value for your money and will definitely return.
The weak points
The food is very poor but great cheap restaurants right out your front door. Also i would not suggest going during holy week as the place is full of locals and is very busy.
Certified

Impressed

, Chilliwack, BC
2010-03-25
with all the surrounding huge beach hotels the Fontan Hotel was a small gem in disguise. no wonder many locals frequent this place. we liked it too! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
older knowledgable staff,good for kids,Humphrey Bogart atmosphere,bicycles available for tours, great beach, ample food and drinks
The weak points
no beach extras eg; no boogie boards, catamarans, kayaks or dive shop etc., when hotel was full of local people we got slightly ignored (maybe our own language barriers)
Certified

Great Holiday!!!

, Lethbridge, AB
2010-03-16
Had a wonderful stay in Ixtapa. Met many great people & thoroughly enjoyed their company. This was our first trip to the Pacific side of Mexico & we found it to be quite different from the Carribean side. Temperature was VERY HOT & EXTREMELY humid. Ocean water was warmer & the waves were amazing. We found the Resort to be defintely a 3 Star however all of the things that really mattered were covered. The grounds are beautiful & meticulously cared for. Pools are clean as are all of the shared facilities. The food in the Buffet is good yet somewhat boring. We thoroughly enjoyed "lunching" daily at the Restaurant by the Beach. (The Garlic Shrimp is to die for!!!) Would definitely like to see better Bar Service offered at this Resort. Lots of Mexicans seem to frequent this Resort (or perhaps that is just Ixtapa in general) Don't see much of this on the Carribean side. In general, we found the Staff on the Carribean side to be friendlier & seem to have a better knowledge of both Englich & French. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was quite adequate. A La Carte Restaurant by the Beach was FABULOUS!!! Great menu, great Staff, great food! Ixtapa, in general, was quite clean & felt very safe.
The weak points
Beds uncomfortable & small. No bar service after 11:00.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?