Park Royal Beach Huatulco

Park Royal Beach Huatulco
3.623.623.623.623.62
3.62 based on 61 reviews
#6 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 3.5 stars
Traveller pictures (5)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Great vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-07
Wonderful stay and would highly recommend this place to others if you like quiet and beauty. Very helpful and friendly staff. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wonderful place. Clean and very helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed the quiet. They didn't play loud music so you could actually hear the ocean!
The weak points
They need more chairs on the upper and lower pools. Many people had trouble finding a chair and there is certainly more room to accomodate more chairs. Also more variety of food for the snack times would be better.
Certified

Park Royals

, Fort Quappelle, SK
2020-03-01
The resort was overall ok but need to have a better buffet, food selection was mostly Mexican foods, a la carte restaurant menu selection poor with limited variety. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Shuttle service great, roof top pool was excellent
The weak points
Food poor, not a lot of variety, salad bar almost non existent, not a lot of fruit. Beach small and red flag most days.
Certified

Not so good

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-03-27
Very clean with nice staff but that's it. The food is mediocre. The noise from the lobby bar can be heard from most rooms - having it as the venue for the karaoke is a poor decision. The evening shows are amateurish. The entertainment staff seem to speak English but MOST of the activity instructions were in Spanish. The website promised kayaks but there were none. Our best 2 days were when we left the resort for snorkeling from the fabulous nearby bays.
Friday and Saturday were the worst because bus loads of weekenders arrived intent on being loud, obnoxious and drunk. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As above
The weak points
As above
Certified

Great resort if you like exercise

, Vancouver, BC
2018-03-01
Park Royal Huatulco is a lovely hotel. It was clean enough and the staff are amazing. There are definitely areas that could improve but for a fairly inexpensive resort, not much to complain about. There is a lot of walking involved - but there is also a shuttle that can be taken up to the 10th building. Fortunately we were staying on the 1st floor.
The A/C didn't work in our room, we asked for it to be fixed twice and it didn't happen.
Shower drain flooded our bathroom - was repaired after the 2nd day but plugged again on the 6th day
No facecloths or hand towels stocked - had to ask every day
Beds are terrible and it took a day or so to find a good pillow. Husband slept on the pull out couch, diagonally to avoid the bars, because the beds were so uncomfortable.... BUT they were very clean.
Website stated there were kayaks and waterbikes and showed a pool table in the lobby - NONE of that is there. The only thing for the kids to do, other than the beach, which is why we were there, was tennis. They played every day.
Beach club was wonderful - water is very rough, so snorkeling was out. But everyone enjoyed the surf regardless. There are alot of vendors walking thru the beach, because there isn't much shopping near the resort. You can take a taxi for $43 (pesos) to Santa Cruz and shop there and we did a couple of times. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was AMAZING - could always find something to eat. Staff was AMAZING - Karla, Christopher, Brenda and Blanca did a great job entertaining during the day and evening performances.
The weak points
A/C, shower drain, no hand towels, beds were terrible
Certified

Would recommend if beach doesn't matter

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-02-15
Overall it was an enjoyable week.The beach is always wavy with an undertow and a sharp drop off 20'out.the, beach is a steep hill. There is a very small flat area at the top with not enough shade, and not enough of the uncomfortable plastic loungers (worst on the whole Bay) We didn't see an empty chair between 10:am and 4:pm the entire week.The 2 pools were always clean.The biggest let down was that we were told we wouldn't like our room while checking in and were offered an upgrade for $38 usd per night.later it was offered for $30. We were told by other guests that they were told pay for 4 nights and 3 were free.We paid for the upgrade and got a beautiful room on the 10th level.This resort has lots of walking and stairs if you want the exercise.If not there are plenty of shuttles to take you anywhere on the resort.Overall the food was acceptable and sometimes good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great Staff,Quality drinks and never ran out of anything,lots of choice on the buffet,great weather,Safe area around resort & in town
The weak points
Upgrade Scam. Beach not good for swimming,not enough shade.Nowhere near enough loungers and they were uncomfortable
Certified

Loved our stay at the Park Royal Huatulco!

, Regina, SK
2017-04-07
The overall experience at the Park Royal was fantastic. We loved the size of the resort. The staff goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is a good one. The food was excellent - great selection, always piping hot at the buffet.

While the actual hotel is across the street from the beach, it's absolutely no inconvenience to get there. The cars are running at all times back and forth. And thank goodness for the cars because climbing up the hill at the end of the day after the excellent beach drinks can be a doozy! We will definitely be back to the Huatulco area and would definitely consider staying at the Park Royal again. In fact, we met a couple of couples who have been to the Park Royal multiple times. That says a lot about the place. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff The food The cleanliness
The weak points
Small beach - not enough shade or chairs unless you want to play the towel game.
Certified

Small, clean, views

, Cranbrook, BC
2017-03-30
Overall it was a great experience and we would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, cleanliness, unique setup, small so you get to know people, room (size and balcony), safe and friendly place, a wide variety of different things to do.
The weak points
room (old room - air conditioner did not work well, blow drier sparked and smoked, patio lights went out) We called 3 times and each time with a promise to come and no one ever showed up. If you need anything ask to wonderful people who cleaned the room.
Certified

Wonderful Hotel

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-01-23
We enjoyed this hotel very much. It was up to 4 star standards and likely only graded 3.5 because it wasn't right on the beach. The views were beautiful, the rooms clean, the food good but not great. The hotel staff were very attentive, quick and friendly. Beach club very nice but could use few more loungers or get there early by 8:00 to get one. the little carts that drive you there came every few minutes. If you want quieter time the 7th floor pool are is lovely and quiet spot with spectacular ocean views. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service, cleanliness, location/view, staff excellent
The weak points
Food often cold and/or bland but mostly edible.
Certified

Mediocre

, Saskatoon, SK
2015-01-19
Food was really hit and miss and mostly a miss.For a 3.5 star, I could live with it. What was the most disappointing was some of the service. At times, I could not get any server to get me any kind of drink and would have to go up to the bar to get my own, usually at lunch. If I got service reasonably quick, I would tip and if I had the same server, service would be great.I think a couple of the daytime servers were predjudiced against white people and hence no service. The very vast majority of the people at the resort were Mexican the they were very friendly and helped with my limited Spanish.
The view from the 10th floor was great and the room was very clean and comfortable.
Would spend more $$ and upgrade to a better hotel, [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
View from room. Weather
The weak points
Service, food was sketchy at best -- worse than Cuba. All leftovers from lunch were tried to recycle into dinner.
Certified

Excellent Service - Great Value

, Saskatoon, SK
2014-04-03
The staff were friendly and helpful - especially Jais - the waiter at the 7th floor restaurant provided outstanding customer-oriented service. We were on the 10th (top) floor (corner room) and loved our amazing ocean view from the balcony (and view from huge tub with sliding door onto balcony). We had a big room with comfortable king-size bed, sitting area, and small fridge.

This hotel is built into the mountain - very interesting architecture with some corridor walls even being natural rock. Walking up the hill to the 10th story can be tiring in the heat but carts are available to take you around the resort and are relatively frequent. There is a neat funicular that takes you part way up from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Nonetheless, if you don't like to walk or have difficulties with stairs, this hotel is probably not for you.

We were there at the end of March and given that it is a relatively smaller hotel, we quickly recognized all and got to know many of the other Canadians staying there - there was a friendly community atmosphere.

The day activities were better than expected with water polo, volleyball, aquasize, cooking lessons, guided beach walk to see the fish, etc. but relax and don't expect them to start exactly when indicated. I had expected the advertised "non-motorized watersports" to include things like plastic kayaks, which were not available.

Some of the evening entertainment was excellent like the dancing and Las Vegas/Cirque du Soleil night. Some was average - bingo. We missed the karaoke because we didn't realize it was held at the lobby bar rather than the Playa Club where the other entertainment was held.

We really liked the selection and quality of food. We had breakfast at the 7th floor service restaurant with various fresh fruits, fresh yogurt, granola, and choice of made-to-order eggs and pancakes. The buffet at the Beach Club was also very good with a good selection of interesting salads, fresh vegetables, and every night there was fish, chicken, pork and other entre options. Some nights were themed food like Japanese!

There are many interesting birds in the area, especially in the mornings. I recommend getting up early one morning to walk down to the beach to see the sun come up over the ocean (about 6:30 a.m.). Do it early on during your stay - you may want to do it more than once. I saw lots of birds including parrots and squirrels on the walk down.

If you are expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel while paying three star prices, you will be disappointed. The hotel was built in the mid 80's and requires some maintenance. However, it is clean and everything worked for us. Our experience at the Crown Pacific exceeded our expectations and was truly exceptional value for what we paid. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff & great service, Spectacular ocean view from balcony & tub, Big rooms, huge bathtub, Day activities/evening entertainment, Nice beach with nearby snorkeling, Excellent value for money, Great selection & quality of food
The weak points
Older hotel - some maintenance required, Not for people who don't like to walk especially up stairs, hills, Internet limited to lobby & 7th floor restaurant/bar, Rooms are couple blocks from beach, No water toys like plastic kayaks, snorkels.
Certified

Vaction at crown pacific

, Rivers, MB
2013-03-08
hotel was okay, food was same day to day and the tourist tax??? some people got charged and others didn't?????? 50 pecos each??? the staff could be alittle more friendly maybe hi would be nice>> [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
if you like lots of walking up down- back and forth its good-ended up staying on 7th floor at the pool
The weak points
staff not very friendly- food was boring after 3rd day- no info was given about what was available to do-didn;t meet rep. till evening of second day-learnt more from other travellers- and what about the tourist tax when leaving- rep. did not mention
Certified

Restful holiday!

, Simcoe, ON
2013-02-28
We had a great time! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean & quiet resort. Excellent view. Great area for bird watching. Awesome balcony with view. Not a lot of selection for food, but what they had was good.
The weak points
Beach is poor for walking as it is on a slope. Would be great for someone with one leg longer than the other, but then you could only go one way and not back again. Someone should start a service on the beach to rent a leg attachment that you could rent
Certified

Sell Off Vacations

, Edmonton, AB
2013-02-20
We had a great experience at the Crown Pacific. The staff were friendly and very eager to please. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were wonderful.
The weak points
Necessity to shuttle back and forth to the rooms and beach club - but not really a problem.
Certified

4 out of 5

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-02-17
Clean hotel and great social aspect.
Beach club and 7th bldg. pool enough for the amount of people in hotel.
Never seemed over crowded.
Quality of food and liquor low. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, views, other guests.
The weak points
Food, liquor.
Certified

Good overal experience

, Yorkton, SK
2013-02-07
The hotel is not directly on the beach so the trolly's pick you up and bring you back, I went with my Mom who is older and the number of stairs and the on and off the trolly were not easy for her, so this resort is not for seniors. The food was excellent, the staff are friendly. The rooms are very clean, but dated. The only problem was that our safe did not work, so even tho we asked several times it was never fixed, so we carried our passports with us all the time, The safe at the front desk was full so we could not even leave it there. Other than that, we had a great holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The qulaity of the food was great. good variety, flavourful. Staff went out of their way to accomodate us!
The weak points
WE had trouble at the desk and with the staff making ourselves understood. Our safe was locked when we got to our room and we called twice, talked to the sunwing rep and it still was not fixed when we left, so we ALWAYS carried around our passports ete
Certified

Great holiday! Great weather!

, Simcoe, ON
2012-03-31
Very relaxing quiet place. Great balcony with great view. Good food. Friendly people. Good bird watching. Would definitely return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendliness of staff and cleanliness. Unbelievably good entertainment.
The weak points
Poor beach for swimming and walking. Poor English of dining room staff.
Certified

Not going back

, Innisfail, AB
2012-03-15
We like the rooms and balcony and the layout of the whole resort. We've noticed quite a few cut backs from last year. The staff is doing the best they can with what they have to work with. However, we will not be back
anytime soon. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
excellent staff, very nice and helpfull
The weak points
no choice of food and very small selection of drinks. I didn't like the fact of disposable cups being reused
Certified

Crown Pacific

, Mississauga, ON
2011-12-22
This was our 5th time at this hotel, and it did not disappoint; however, it has been sold and the new owners are selling time shares. The salespeople are aggressive, and we will not go here again. We think we should have been informed prior to our booking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather is perfect; the service in the hotel is excellent; the grounds are spectacular.
The weak points
The food, although good, is never hot. Crown Pacific has been sold and we were approached re:time share even before we checked in.We did not know that before we booked.No Sunwing rep on site.The a la carte experience was not great.
Certified

Don't book this hotel.

, Edmonton, AB
2011-03-05
Huatulco is beautiful but this hotel was not. For the same money or slightly more you can stay at a much nicer hotel in Huatulco. The food was very disappointing and you will have to go out to restaurants if you stay here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Shows & Activities Staff were the highlights.
The weak points
Food was way below par. Same food every day. Very little selection and not very good. We've stayed at several Mexico all-inclusives and this was the worst food by far!
Certified

Cant wait to go back

, St Catharines, ON
2011-03-03
The hotel was beautiful, large rooms,outstanding view,great helpful staff. The weather was hot, hot, not a cloud in the sky. It is safe to go for dinner/drinks outside the resort. It was much better than I expected being rated a 3.5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location-great, Staff-amazing,Food-always found something, Shows-were entertaining, very talented crew.
The weak points
Beach across from hotel and restaurant,but always a tram coming by every few minutes.
Certified

Great Experience!

, Winnipeg, MB
2011-03-03
Staff at this hotel is great. Initially we were not happy with our room, and Jose at the front desk was so understanding and changed our room without question. Rooms are nothing spectacular, but they are always clean and we never went without anything. Activity staff were super friendly, and involved everyone in activities.
Food is plentiful, and although it was perhaps average, there was a good blend of American/Canadian and Mexican food.
Overall, this Crown Pacific is a good choice for the money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff is very accommodating, weather was awesome, blend of cultures, not commercialized
The weak points
Distance from rooms to beach, only one a la carte restaurant
Certified

CROWN PACIFIC

, St. Albert, AB
2010-12-26
Huatulco
CROWN PACIFIC [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
good variety of foods
The weak points
no basketball hoops
Certified

Good for the price

, Calgary, AB
2010-03-08
Food was good, pretty good food selection for the kids as well. If you don't mind walking or waitng for shuttles to the beach it is a good choice. Most of the beach has a strong undertow and a quick drop off. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, food for kids, view from hotel, shuttles to beach
The weak points
beach has strong undertow, distance from hotel to beach
Certified

Craown pacific

, Surrey, BC
2010-03-01
Great staff and food! The hill with golf carts to get to the hotel rooms wasn t the greatest! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, staff and food
The weak points
Getting to the rooms and not right on the beach
Certified

As expected

, Weyburn, SK
2010-02-28
breakfast and lunch were fine dinner needs to be improved.rooms were clean and staff were very friendly. would go back again.when mexicans came to stay at this hotel the ones that wore green wrist bands they were rude and took over the hotel.the staff just let them and that made all us other paying customers feel very uncomfortable [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
weather very good and hotel clean
The weak points
food can be improved
Certified

Best holiday ever!

, Calgary, AB
2010-02-10
Every day my husband said that we would do the same thing next year, including the Crown Pacific. The rooms were amazing, the service over the top for friendliness, food a real taste of Oaxaca and the view breathtaking. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
What wasn t? We loved the way the hotel was stepped up the hill allowing for 180 degree views from the spacious terraces. Way better than being stacked up in boxes on the beach.
The weak points
It might be nice to have the option to dine away from the entertainment, only because the volume interfered with normal dinner conversation (with the great people that we met at hotel).
Certified

Crown pacific

, Calgary, AB
2010-01-11
hotel crown pacific [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the signature rep - James-was helpful
The weak points
- lack of towels, service, cleanlines
Certified

Excellent Visit!

, Edmonton, AB
2010-01-02
We were very impressed with the area and hotel, and would love to return again sometime soon. The hotel has beautiful views of the bay and very large clean rooms. The service and staff are extremely professional. Highly recommended. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hot weather year round. Very safe. Very friendly local people.
The weak points
Not on the beach.
Certified

Huatulco

, Sherwood Park , AB
2010-01-02
Overall this hotel is great value for money. The beach is probably the worst part too steep and rough for swimming. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Large room, great view
The weak points
No hot water the first few days, beach not really usable
Certified

Just what we expected.

, Calgary, AB
2009-12-31
Pretty good overall. Bathrooms had some mold and the tub wasn't very clean. Food was satisfactory. Staff was very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches were awesome.
The weak points
Dinner was served pretty late and it would have been nice if the pools were open later.
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020