Barcelo Huatulco

Barcelo Huatulco
3.883.883.883.883.88
3.88 based on 180 reviews
#5 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (47)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123456

Great Resort for a Destination Wedding

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-04-06
This property was perfect for the 85 guests that attended my son's wedding.
Moramay Gonzalez, our Wedding Coordinator, and her team had every detail looked after. Well done Barcelo! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff.
The weak points
None to speak of.
Pro
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-04-29
Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your party at Barceló Huatulco. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Iván Cruz Public Relations

Barcelo Huatulco

, Wetaskiwin, AB
2020-03-21
Staff, service & rooms were excellent.

Breakfasts were great. Not impressed with lunch and dinner buffets. The food was always cold!I [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-03-30
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics We hope to see you next season. Iván Cruz Public Relations

Beautiful Huatulco

, Lloydminster, SK
2020-01-30
This is an amazing hotel. January was a little busy but still a great hotel.
Clean, very friendly, and safe! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Must do the Emerald falls with Oscar!
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-02-03
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Barceló Huatulco. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Iván Cruz Public Relations

Barcelo Huatulco

, Melville, SK
2020-01-23
Resort is clean and well maintained rooms are nice with big bathroom. However we could only get one booking at an alecarte and had to wait up to half an hour at the buffet as they were always full. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean and well kept. Modernized
The weak points
Not enough wifi and restaurants are booked up the day after we arrived
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-27
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We are working hard in Restaurants´situation to serve you as you deserve. We hope to see you next season. Iván Cruz Public Relations.

Stay at Barcelo, Huatulco.

, Chilliwack, BC
2020-01-23
!st. I arranged the flight for two other couples. Pellerin and Kamerer.
And ,I cannot forward this to them. We are all seniors.
2nd. The hotel is excellent in every way except for the wifi /internet service.
this hotel treats the subject like it's such an expensive costly service.
What they supply to that is very chintzy and cheap. [ Marcel Franche } [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
The Hotel is mostly excellent and i'll reccomend it to anyone. The only weak point is that the internet service as is set up is not at all great. We had one hour maximum servise per day which is adequqte but with conditions.
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-27
We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Barceló Huatulco hotel with us. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Iván Cruz Public Relations.

Sunny Haultulco

, Vancouver, BC
2019-12-20
We enjoyed a week at the Barcelo, we opted for the upgraded premium level when we booked online. Nice clean room (508) with a nice view of the ocean also overlooking the main pool. I think there is good value to the upgrade and it came with some perks. Unlimited Ala-cart reservation (do this on your first day so you get the times that suit you best. Unlimited wifi that works quite well - a little slow at the beach though. Food overall was good, no real complaints but we have had better dining at a different resort but for a lot more money. The steak at the Italian restaurant was one of the best I've had, so good I had the same thing a couple days later but the second time it was kind of over done and just meh... The resort is showing its age but it is kept very clean. All the staff are great, always smiling and friendly. It really seems that most of them really enjoy what they are doing, they work hard so please tip them and if any go over the top throw them a few extra pesos. One of the things I noticed is that there were no American, just Canadian and Mexican tourist, I think mainly from Mexico City and other inland areas of Mexico. It seems that a lot of the Mexican tourist just stay the weekend. Contrary to what I've read about other resorts or on other review sites, the Mexicans tourist are really friendly and nice. Maybe that's just an attitude issue that's more about the tourist from the US. The ocean was warm and swimmable every day we were there. Just offshore is a rock island that can block some of the waves but there is wave actions. Watch your little kids carefully just in case. They supply snorkelling gear, paddle-boards, kayaks and even catamarans free of charge. Jet skis available to rent. The beach staff will even take you out on the catamarans if you don't know how to sail. Again, Its always nice to tip the beach staff too, they don't seem to get the same kind of tips as the restaurant staff. No beach bar but they have servers that make frequent trips down and give good friendly service.The shows in the theatre are ok, typical resort entertainment. Its kind of a quiet resort, no booming nightlife but that's fine by me, no thumping bass while you're trying to sleep. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach The water sports. The staff
The weak points
Getting a bit dated but still nice
Certified
Hotel reply, Guest Services, on 2020-01-27
We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Huatulco was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Iván Cruz Public Relations.

Wonderful staff who really listened.

, Westbank, AB
2019-12-19
The hotel staff need to provide better information on what amenities are available at the hotel during the 'welcome' meeting. We were not aware of the nightly entertainment or even that they had a theater until 4 days before our departure. I had suggested that the hotel keep paperback novels that are left behind and set up a 'take a book - leave a book' library, because there is no English reading material available. I was told there was a library, but where was it?? The food at the Dona Rosa buffet as well as the Tortuga buffet was wonderful! Delicious, fresh and lots of variety. The food at the Fontana was okay, and was served barely warm. We did not try the ala carte at Tortuga: we were told very small portions. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was attentive and reacted quickly to any concerns we had.. Most were minor maintenance issues with the bathroom.
The weak points
Floors in the bathroom were extremely slippery when wet! Husband slipped several times both in the shower & on the wet floor.
Certified

Relaxing Vacation at The Barcelo Huatulco

, Toronto, ON
2019-12-19
This hotel provided everything we were looking for! Wonderful, friendly staff, a great location, lovely accommodations , nice beach and great food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was situated in a nice location where we felt safe walking about outside the hotel. Once again the hotel staff were incredible. We absolutely loved the Mexican restaurant. Went to it 4 times!
Certified

Good Vacation

, Strathmore, AB
2019-12-07
When we arrived at the Hotel, we were presented with a welcome drink (non-alcoholic), and a cold towel to refresh us. Very nice welcome! Registration was smooth and easy. Our bags were taken to our room, which was a very nice one on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool, and with a nice view of the ocean.
The food at the buffet and La Tortuga were both very good. They had a lot of variety, including grasshoppers which of course I had to try, at both places there was always western food as well for those not so adventurous. We loved the food there. Went to the Italian restaurant on our last night. The food was very good there as well.
At the beach straight down from the hotel, there is a wicked undertow, which got me not once but twice. Just a few yards either way down the beach it is fine, but there is no warning for people to watch out. It is pretty steep down to the beach as well. Service was usually pretty good. Cleanliness of everywhere is superb. (Beach, rooms, lobby)staff are very friendly and helpful, but speak very little English, which allowed me to practise my Spanish, so that was good.
Loved every minute of it!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Relaxing Vacation with Great location!

, St Catharines, ON
2019-04-11
Very Good experience and relaxing . Hotel very clean through out and very easy to get around . Views were unbelievable and beach was very clean . We had purchased the premium package , was not sure of the advantage . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel was excellent and people were very friendly . Food was good . Staff and Service were excellent.
The weak points
Only one brand of beer and ran out of cold beer at the beach bar often . Food was good not a lot of selection. Kids in adult pool often, not a fan they had there own pool. People smoking in non smoking area"s
Certified

Amazing hotel and staff.

, Toronto, ON
2019-02-08
We stayed at this hotel about a year ago. It was a family vacation. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at this beautiful hotel. The room was spotless. The food was amazing. I am a very picky eater. I was able to enjoy every meal. The best part of our stay was the friendly staff. They went out of their way to cater of our needs. They made sure all their guests were happy and well looked after. I will definitely return to this beautiful piece of paradise. There are activities for all ages. Both my kids were entertained throughtout our stay. The managerial staff were just as friendly and helpful. Our room was very close to the beach which made our trip just perfect. Love our stay at the Barcelo!!!
Looking forward to our next trip. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing food, clean and well maintained room. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Beautiful beachfront property. Great service throughout facility.
The weak points
The sports room could use a bit of updating.
Certified

January vacation at Barcelo , Huatulco

, Chilliwack, BC
2019-02-05
We ,senior couple liked very much almost everything at this hotel.
The only thing I encounter so often was wi-fi service costs.
When we arrived I was told 165 Pesos per day , minimum 3 day and per device.On the fourth day of our stay, I was oferred the same price but 2nd device sharing. I didn't take it because we had free wi-fi service from a nearby small business nearby.. This is very chintzy of the hotel !!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelo Resort

, Saskatoon, SK
2019-01-24
Was there Jan 15 to Jan 22, 2019. Was a nice get away and was very hot that week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff in the buffet and La Carte restaurants very good and efficient. Room was great with a fantastic view of the ocean. Beautiful beach - sand is very hot!
The weak points
You have to pay for internet and stand in a line up to make reservations for one of the La Carte restaurants, went 3 times, restaurants were not even close to being full..We had very slow pool service- and we even tipped..
Certified

Relaxing holiday at Barcelo

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-28
I booked this trip for my daughter and myself and I am so happy I chose this resort. We felt very comfortable and relaxed at this resort, largely due to wonderful staff members who made us both feel very welcome. Our room was very clean and beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. Food at the resort was tasty. I have been to many other locations in Mexico and found that the choices at the buffet were limited; however, what was offered was delicious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Atmosphere at the resort, largely due to the positive and relaxed attitude of staff members. Cleanliness, tasty food and let's not forget about the coffee, so good! We loved the cappuccino machine in the lobby and used it heavily.
The weak points
It would be nice if the hot foods were always kept hot at the buffet. More restaurants, if possible, would be nice. Having to stand in a line every morning for a restaurant reservation was silly. Beach/pool chairs should not be reserved via towels.
Certified

Barcelo Huatulco

, Toronto, ON
2018-12-02
The resort was beautiful. Very clean. Food was not always hot. Staff at the front desk should be able to speak some English in order to communicate with customers. Service was also good. Pool bar staff was super. Sand at the beach some what difficult to walk in. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Barcelo Huatulco

, Victoria, BC
2018-11-17
The hotel was very clean with attention to detail. Most of the food was good with lots of fresh fruit and veggies and the hot food was hot (for the most part). The Tortuga restaurant buffet has a lovely view with great staff, particularly Angel and Sirarcio who were always smiling and welcoming - Thanks guys!
I preferred the buffet over the al la carte dinning with respect to food options even though there were only 7 outdoor tables at the main buffet.
It was very challenging to get al la carte reservations and if you do, I recommend asking your waiter what is in the dishes you order as not all ingredients are listed on the menu.
Celio the concierge and al la carte reservation agent was not a nice lady - makes you wonder why someone who ignores you and doesn't smile works in customer service.
Most bartenders were great, especially Gregorio (pool bar) and Marco (lobby bar). A word of caution from the cantina - Be careful of what you drink - you may not get what you are expecting!! I had a severe allergic reaction to what seemed to me like kerosene which was supposed to be tequila.
Not getting what you expected seemed to be the overall theme on this trip from rooms, to food and the adventures - be prepared for anything!
That being said, rave reviews for my two tour guides! Jesus on the waterfall tour (long day ~ 10 hrs) and Ramiro with the sea turtle release. Both men were friendly and highly knowledgeable of the area. Thank you both for all the information and history of the Huatulco area - these tours were the highlight for me, as well as visiting the village of La Crucecita.
Another highlight at the hotel was Noriko - the hawk who works in Biological control to keep the pesky birds away- Thank you Abraham <3
I love how 70% of Huatulco is protected lands and that the environment is important to the people, the beaches were clean, straws are banned, water is recycled and so are plastic bottles. I support eco-friendly travel and would return to Huatulco in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel was clean and well kept. The staff (for the most part) were happy, friendly and welcoming. They work hard and very long hours to please the guests.. please consider this and tip often.
The weak points
Check in was not fun and we changed rooms 3 times in one week. It is disappointing when front desk agents disregard your requests and comments or ignore you completely. However, Miguel the Hotel Manager was willing to listen. Thank you Miguel.
Certified

Wonderful Get Away

, Winnipeg, MB
2018-02-25
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were cleaned very well. The food was very good and a large variety to select from. I enjoyed the various a la carte restaurants we could choose from in the evenings. We did not attend all the evening entertainment but enjoyed the ones we did. The grounds were well taken care of and had an inviting warm atmosphere. I felt safe in the surrounding community and found the local people friendly too.
Did not enjoy the 7.2 earthquake tremor we felt and the after shock tremors. Felt that there should be some more information of what to do or at least some awareness since I understand this is a regular occurrence in this area.
Also, figured the internet should have been included with the room, not having to bought separately. Wondering if the overall price should be increased in order to do away with the Premium level perks, and keep it even for all guests? Just a thought. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The weather was fantastic, environment/surroundings kept exquisite. Staff all helpful and friendly. Food and drinks supplied were a good variety and presentation too plus tasted fantastic.
The weak points
Did not like that there was only one paddle board. Guests want to do activities together with their loved ones not alone. Did not like having to make reservations for the evening dining, and had to pay up to Premium to avoid this, seemed like a tactic.
Certified

Barcelo

, Edmonton, AB
2018-02-05
Experience was good. We paid for premium package so we a little disappointed with hotel itself. Overall a noisy hotel. Most of the time noise. Hard to find peace... even in room. Doors slamming all hours, noise from pools, loudspeakers, music, chairs/beds being dragged on marble floors.... noise. Room service overall ok.... order was sent to room wrong one morning and it took me literally 1.5 hours and many phone calls to finally get it sorted out. Very disappointing.
A good experience but not premium... like we paid for. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fabulous April getaway at Barcelo Huatulco!

, Mission, BC
2017-04-13
We loved the friendly, smiling service from all Barcelo's staff...especially Noel, head of the water activities and Benjamin Lopez our beach drink server! The beach is beautiful and clean as is the hotel. We've been to the Mayan Riviera and this is far superior in staff, in amenities, great food and the sunny weather. We will return!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Good vacation

, Ogema, SK
2017-03-30
This is the first time we have stayed at a Barcelo, we were very pleased with the resort and all the staff. Our only disappointment was what they wanted to charge to move us up one floor off ground level. That was a little extreme. Excellent beach service and buffet service. Although if you want to eat outdoors seems to be some issue with getting seated there and the service. Weather here is unbeatable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Xxx

, Port Alberni, BC
2017-03-02
Had a great time. Staff was generally awesome. Food was good especially Italian restaurant. Pool was great. Huatulco very clean and appears to be one of the safer areas of Mexico. Weather awesome. Beach is good except ifyou are a poor swimmer. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Pool, food,staff.weather, tours were all awesome.
The weak points
No canadian television station. Sometimes hard to get 2 chairs together especially in the shade.
Certified

A Great Holiday Destination

, Maple Ridge, BC
2017-03-02
Nice sandy beach, with lots of waves crashing in. Water gets deep about 5 meters from the shore. Not great for youngsters or non-swimmers. Yellow flag was shown all week. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Not too large a resort, so it was easy to get around property and facilities
The weak points
Nightly shows while excellant entertainers used far to much of a smoke machine in all shows we saw.
Certified

Very Clean, Very Cold Food

, Estevan, SK
2017-02-04
Beautiful clean beaches. Wow is that sand
deep!
Rooms are spacious with beautifull bathrooms.
View from our Oceanview was stunning.
The cleanliness was apparent everywhere.
Night entertainment was not to my taste but I heard good reviews from many guests.
Excellent service at the beach and poolside.
The waits at the poolside lunch and breakfast buffet were very long at times which was a bit tedious. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and friendliness of staff. Beautiful beaches and perfect weather
The weak points
Long waits at buffet and entertainment
Certified

Nice resort

, Brandon, MB
2017-01-19
Beautiful resort. Excellent service/staff. Food wasn't great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff/service, rooms, grounds
The weak points
Food was disappointing. Only one small lounge, would have been nice to have another option.
Certified

Barcelo Huatlco

, Calgary, AB
2016-12-02
Very friendly, hard working staff.
Clean hotel & well kept grounds. Lots of beach/pool chairs. Beautiful bay!
Buffet with long hours & good selection of food, including grill.
Several ala carte options for dinner..( dress code enforced ).
Safe area, and very easy to get around via inexpensive taxis ( set rates ). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly, hard working staff!
Certified

V's Vacations 2A33

, Stony Plain, AB
2016-12-01
Hotel accomadation was excellent, Food quality good many options to choose from ala carte were exceptionally great. Show performance top high end quality. Over all hotel staff was very friendly most new English or could somewhat commuicate . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Safe, Welcoming, lots to offer
The weak points
more waitress in lobby bar area. More detailed english speaking for show type performances as we had 90% Mexicans in resort versus canadians
Certified

Huatulco everything plus more

, Rocanville, SK
2016-11-01
It was a great hotel with great food , great service and close to everything, I would stay here again and would highly recommend to all my customers. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location with overall great food and service would not be scared to stay there again or send anyone else there . I love the close proximety to the beach
The weak points
the beach is a little sloped and can sometime have more wave action that is difficult for small kids or for older people a little more difficult to get to the water.
Pro

Hotel OK, not great

, Burnaby, BC
2016-05-23
We came back from Huatulco 4 weeks ago. I'll try to organize our impressions:
1) When we arrived we were met in a separate lounge by hotell staff. It is true that there was a huge line behind us, but the reception staff who checked us in was very hurried in her explanations, to the point where I was not able to comprehend or remember most of what she was explaining. Same for the bellboy who took our luggage to our room: started reciting some information speaking very fast, again I was not able to remember almost anything of what he said because of the speed at which the information was delivered.
2) The room was clean but somewhat damp and smelling faintly of mold.
3) The safe deposit box in the room was locked and there were no explanations on how to open it and how to set up a new cipher code. We had to wait until the next day to get explanations from customer support. Every other hotel we've lived in had this type of explanations displayed on top or near the safe box.
4) Upon our arrival we were given some handouts, one of them a chart of the hotel surroundings with a list of restaurants. Although the list included two buffet restaurants open at night, there is actually only one left. The leaflets should be updated so that guests do not spend half an hour looking for the second buffet restaurant at night.
5) The buffet restaurants were clean, very diverse food, menu largely changed from one day to the next (different "themes"), attentive and helpful staff.
We have only been to one a-la-carte restaurant once, it was also a pleasant experience.
6) The beach is very close, not all parts of it appropriate for swimming in the ocean. The beach is clean and well-maintained, the ocean is swimmable with kids (better get some life-jackets, just in case), plenty of shade available if needed.
7) The pools are clean, but the kids' pool has a two dangerous rides where the kids who come down collide at the bottom with kids in the pool. I have often seen kids being knocked down, sometimes under water, to the point where I had to keep an eye permanently on our 2 and 3 1/2 year-olds so they didn't get hit and knocked down in the pool. Something should definitely be done about that!
Also, a lot of the time there is no lifeguard at the kids' pool. One day there was a staff there but he was in shoes and long trousers so he was not able to get into the pool when needed.
8) I was extremely displeased to find that we had to pay for internet access. Even worse, when I paid for one hour I only got 45 minutes. The prices for internet connection were ridiculous, from 8 CAD for one hour, to 12 for one day to about 45 for one week (that's 50% more expensive than what I pay in Canada for 1 month!)
Total rip-off, not to mention that you don't get the bandwidth you paid for (even when I paid for 24 hours I was disconnected after less than 24 hours). This is probably the main reason I would never go back to Barcelo, at least in Huatulco.
9) Sleep quality was OK, we were in the odd number wing and nearby was some type of club with extremely loud music until 9:30 PM - somewhat of a problem for our children (going to bed early, around 8 PM) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, foode
The weak points
Internet access, loud music
Certified

Nice Place

, Three Hills, AB
2016-04-21
Nice reception after getting off the bus from the airport. Cold drinks, cold towels.

Rooms were decent and clean.

Food was good (not really great, but good). We got what we paid for. The Japanese a la carte restaurant was good, the Spanish was the best (great service, great food, nice atmosphere). Mexican was not worth going to.

Drinks at the pool bar were not great - felt like they were watered down and too rushed.

The adult pool was very warm therefore not very refreshing for such hot weather. Not sure anything could have been done about that. I can only presume it was not heated.

We did find as (English speaking/white) Canadians that we were not treated quite as well by the dining room servers and bar tenders as their Spanish speaking guests.

Nightly entertainment was for sure entertaining. Super high class and high caliber? Not really, but quite entertaining.

WiFi was not included. Which was fine, but anyone addicted to their social media would go crazy or broke.

Overall - a good place and I'd recommend it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location - beautiful beach and weather Poolside music was not too loud.
The weak points
Service level to English speakers
Certified

Beautiful if not for earthquake

, Burnaby, BC
2016-04-15
Everything was good, place is very clean , food & drinks good, hard working staff, friendly , nice, very good entertainment, night shows excelent.
Beautiful beach, clean ocean .
Only turn down, the whole area is in earthquake zone and we experienced fairly strong one while there, scared us to death. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hard working staff, friendly, good food, good drinks, clean place
The weak points
Internet not worth money we paid for it
Certified
pages: 123456

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020