Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa

Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
4.214.214.214.214.21
4.21 based on 159 reviews
#4 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (25)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Read the reviews on Dreams before you book

, Cambridge, ON
2024-04-02
This was my 4th time to Huatulco but the first time we have stayed at dreams. The resort itself was lovely but starting to show its age. Not a problem. The staff were all very pleasant and willing to help. I only have 3 complaints! 1st was the second day of our holidays we went for lunch at the ocean side restaurant and there was really no food out for us to eat, so then we went to the other buffet restaurant and the same thing, no food! This was at 1pm. 2nd complaint was if you are a smoker don't waste your money! We don't smoke but the other couple that we traveled with were smokers . They really didn't have sufficient smoking area provided for them. Not even on the beach! Very few spots and far in between them to get to. I felt really bad for them. 3rd complaint was the chair cops! We always got up early to go and save our chairs...well 3rd day when we put our towels and belongings on the chairs and then walked over to get coffee which is located opposite side of the resort where we had our chairs. When we came back our towels and belongings where gone! We were then told that we can be away from our chairs longer than 20 mins. Wow this made us furious! This means we can't go for breakfast, lunch, or even a walk on the beach! Wow very upsetting to us! The chair cops were very rude and laughed and mocked us as we complained about this! For these reasons we will never stay at Dreams again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Food was disappointing. If having a favorite sitting area for the day is important don't go there and if you smoke do go there!
The weak points
Read previous remarks
Certified

Relaxing week

, Brampton, ON
2024-03-05
We had a great week here travelling with two other couples. The food was good and there were lots of a la carte choices. The resort is clean and close to amenities and town if you like to explore. The nearby mountains are beautiful and fun visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Nice rooms and view from ocean side. Food and service was good and staff are friendly.
The weak points
Not enough access to prime pools and activities were not well promoted or encouraged.
Certified

Dream Huatulco

, Sherwood Park , AB
2024-02-23
Stayed at the Dreams Huatulco for 10 day. You can tell this hotel is starting to get a little tired. We had 10 days of none to marginal air conditioning. They are a little understaffed as wait times for drinks around the pool can be a little long. If you want a "good table" for the evening events you have to pay extra. Probably will not be back to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Dreams vacation

, Calgary, AB
2023-12-10
Very nice great beach great food and staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
All the restaurants were really good I like that you didn't have to have reservations
The weak points
Not enough beach chairs
Sanitary measures
Resort was clean but could use some TLC
Certified

Dreams Huatulco

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-10
Will not be going back to this resort. In past 14 months have been to Dreams in Huatulco 3 times. Enjoyed our first stay (Feb 2022)but the resort has gone down hill since then. Floor tiles needing repair, water leaks in hallways and the food is not very good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Dreams Huatulco

, Elkford, BC
2023-03-24
We enjoyed our stay at the Dream Huatulco. We appreciated the size of the resort, the cleanliness of the resort and rooms, and the food/drink selection [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The Dreams App was super beneficial for viewing activities of the day, which restaurants were open, menus, and for ordering anything additional needed to make our stay more comfortable(room service, extra towels, pillows, etc)
The weak points
There is a definite language barrier. The staff seemed to prefer serving the "Nationals" visiting the resort. A good majority of people visiting the resort were from surrounding cities within Mexico. At times the resort seemed a bit short staffed.
Certified

Dreams Huatulco-first vacation in a while

, Toronto, ON
2022-12-06
Hotel is lovely although it looks like it has suffered a bit in attention to detail from 3 years of very few vacationers. This was our first Dreams vacation and we were a bit underwhelmed from all the advertising of the brand. One of the double beds was extremely uncomfortable, and they were actually installing new mattresses as we were leaving. We stayed in the middle older building where you see everything but also hear everything. The 'Ocean Front' room that we booked was actually an 'Ocean View' room and we were told there was no such thing as Ocean Front. (Although the view WAS spectacular). We did not want to use phones so had to ask for a print out of the room service menu as they have the QR code posted everywhere to get any info throughout the hotel and in the room. I guess we're still old school. The room needed a bit of TLC - toilet seat was round on an oval toilet so tilted to the side, black painted blotches on the full length mirror, the fan for AC was very noisy so we had to turn it off once in a while to hear the TV. The ceiling fan was even noisier. The WIFI in the room only worked 1 afternoon after reporting it not working several times. I had to do an online webinar 2 mornings so had to go up to the club to use the WIFI there. Once we got over the little annoyances we relaxed and had an enjoyable time. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was good - especially the room service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly Staff, choice of many pools and beach areas, room service, Preferred club, Spa and spa staff.
The weak points
Needs TLC, some minor fix ups. Was not the 5 star we were expecting.
Sanitary measures
Very clean and looks like they have sanitary measures in place.
Certified

Dream Huatulco Partial Ocean View Double

, Toronto, ON
2022-03-14
Overall the Hotel is nice.

Great - the 3 infinity pools and 3 other large pools are fabulous. There are no wristbands, no towel limit and no reservations required for restaurants.

Good - food quality is quite good and consistent with other Dreams. Pool/beach side service is also relatively available.

Needs improvement - It needs an upgrade in the rooms as they are very dated and beds are ok but not great. Some of the common areas also need updating, there is cracked cement missing.

Most frustrating - there are not enough chairs around pools or on the beach unless you get up at 6am. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Overall it is a beautiful location and good hotel.
The weak points
Needs upgrades in rooms and certain common areas. Most frustrating - there are not enough chairs around pools or on the beach unless you get up at 6am.
Sanitary measures
Very good.
Certified

Great vacation

, Lloydminster, SK
2022-03-05
Sanitization was exceptional, food was awesome, beds very comfortable. Service exceptional. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
all the amenities are nice and close for us seniors who have trouble with mobility. Exceptional service. Smaller resort.
The weak points
Our door had to be slammed to make it latch no big deal, and sandwich selection and length of avaliability at the coco cafe needs a bit of improvement.
Sanitary measures
10 out of 10
Certified

Winter retreat

, Kamloops, BC
2021-12-13
Our stay this past week was everything we hoped for! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Service was incredible, food was excellent with lots of choices.
The weak points
Laundry pick up was weak, had to ask twice for bag drop off and twice for laundry pick up
Certified

Dreams Huatulco

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-13
The hotel is in a great location and we found it very quiet and felt very safe.
We found the food very good on a whole. We found that some of the staff in the specialized restaurants could use extra training. For example on the Asian restaurant which the food was excellent, four courses where brought at once on chipped plates.
I would reconsider booking and paying for Preferred Status as the beach which is designated for only Preferred Quests Only is wide open and id's are not checked and used by anyone same as the Preferred Lounge. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strongest point about this hotel is the staff. They on a whole are very helpful, kind and courteous.
The weak points
The wifi which is one if the reasons we booked this hotel did not work in our room the whole time we where there.
Certified

Dreams Spa and Resort Huatulco

, Heffley Creek, BC
2020-03-08
A beautiful tropical setting with warm Pacific surf, plentiful sun, sandy beaches and good snorkeling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean hotel and grounds with attention to detail. Well kept pools with a variety of sun exposure throughout the day. Very helpful staff. Plentiful drinks offered frequently. Lovely spa. Porto Fino restaurant excellent.
The weak points
Buffet lacked variety from day to day.
Certified

Dreams Huatulco

, Edmonton, HA
2019-01-26
Would definitely return - wonderful weather, pools were great - especially infinity pools. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Easy to arrange tours, etc. Very reasonably priced tours. Rooms were modern and clean. Beds very comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Absolutely wonderful view and access to ocean. Very easy to find most of the bars and restaurants. Rooms were kept very clean, well stocked with bottled water. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Reservations not needed at a la carte restaurants.
The weak points
Twice one of a la carte restaurants was simply closed - no notice on the activity board or even on the door? Confusing/limited access for our friends at Secrets to visit us at Dreams. Patio door of our ground floor room left unlocked by cleaning staff.
Certified

Dreams huatulco

, Morden, MB
2019-01-19
was very nice beds were good pools were good missed swim up bar would go again [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
locations
The weak points
night shows
Certified

Dreams a real Dream !

, Melfort, HA
2018-03-17
After having travelled for winter vacations for over 15 years, this resort has been the best yet ! The preferred room was excellent, from the view to the maid service. The food and food service on the resort is second to none. The beach and pools have numerous chairs and the preferred beach bar serves great drinks. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Drink service at the beach and pools . The preferred room has many extras including a floor scale , great coffee ,and a stocked fridge ! No towel cards are needed. No restaurant reservations needed .Many water activities.
The weak points
The VIP welcome with reduced tour prices turned out to be a hidden sales pitch for the Secrets resort. The ocean waves can take you out and under.
Certified

Would Highly recommend!

, Chilliwack, BC
2018-03-15
This hotel was beautiful, Very clean, wonderful decks to sit out on in the eve and see the beautiful view, staff were amazing - friendly and helpful and very welcoming, the food was great, the room had everything we could need (we upgraded to full ocean view before we got there), the grounds were beautiful and constantly maintained. 43 peso short taxi into town or an hour walk- either way very safe! We spent most of the time swimming and playing in the waves. Everyone we spoke with loved it the same. Paradise. One thing to note: the first number of your room number is building, the second number is your floor! A lot of people had trouble with this on arrival and we weren't told. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the cleanliness, the surroundings, the mix in atmosphere between fun and calm, the shower water pressure felt great after sunscreen/sand all day
The weak points
The beds were a little hard for my liking but we slept fine. Pushy sales people the minute we arrived but after that we had a wonderful time!
Certified

Dreams

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-03-08
This was our third stay at Dreams Huatulco, Very nice clean complex, staff are extremely nice and attentive. Wide variety of food, something for everyone. Lots of Canadian guests, mostly adults. Pretty hard to complain about anything. Definitely would go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
This is an older complex I'm guessing 30 years old?, although well maintained it does show its' age.
Certified

Excellent resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2018-02-19
Very clean hotel and well laid out. six pools to enjoy so never a problem finding a chair. Friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant staff work exceptionally hard. A la carte restaurants did not require reservations and wait was minimal if at all. Valentine's Day was extra special with roses for the ladies and the decorations, lighting and custom picture made it perfect. Always entertainment in the evenings. Large beach area with plenty of chairs. It was hot and sunny every day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent Food. High quality liquor. Beach service was excellent. No sea weed, and beautiful blue colour ocean.
The weak points
Food labelling was not too good. Ocean drop off is deep so no wading.
Certified

Dreams Huatulco

, Regina, SK
2017-12-22
This is a nice hotel and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our stay from Dec 12 to 19, 2017 was good as the weather is fantastic in Huatulco. The hotel serves high end booze if you ask for it and the mixed drinks were generally good. If your looking for a relaxing vacation this is the place for you as it is not a resort that has a lot of young people wanting to party. There are 3 infinity pools overlooking the ocean, one of which is an Adults only. There are 3 other pools on the side of the hotel. The hotel is very clean. The only downside we found at the Dreams was that if your one to need a huge food selection at the buffet then this is not the hotel for you. They have a modest buffet selection but what they have is pretty good food. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The weak points
The food selection at the buffet is limited unlike many other 5 star resorts we have been to.
Certified

Last Minute Booking

, Okotoks, AB
2017-12-14
Check in was quick and flawless. The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and courteous. The bar service at the pool is excellent. The food is very good and choice is unlimited. The rooms are renovated and clean and the resort is kept extremely clean. No wrist bands required here. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff: they go out of there way to please and or assist you in any way that they can.
The weak points
Jacuzzi Suite is nothing more than a standard room with an oversized bathtub on the deck. Not required at all. It takes up the room on the deck.
Certified

Fantastic holiday

, Mcdougall, ON
2017-11-13
My husband and I did not have one complaint about this all inclusive vacation. The staff were amazing, always freindly and attentive. Wonderful food, dining and drink options, beautiful, immaculately kept hotel and grounds. The beach was great and the weather was sunny and 30 degrees everyday. I could not have asked for anything more and cant wait to return. Thank you for a fabulous holiday. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

1st trip to huatulco

, Winnipeg, MB
2017-02-04
The weather is perfect in huatulco. Above 30 degrees every day. Hotel is very clean. Staff are great. Rooms have all the amenities you need including sunscreen. We had a tropical view with jacuzzi on balcony which was fairly private (5th floor) and very quiet. Opt for one of these rooms if you want to have more quiet time in the early evenings/night time. Hotel is "medium" sized. Easily accessible with flat ground everywhere. Only take 5 min to walk from one end to the other. Food was good at all the restaurants. Japanese was our personal favorite. However "no reservations needed" meant if you didn't go for dinner before 7 pm, you could be on a waiting list for over an hour to get a table. Made dining at a decent hour not always an option. There is live music in the lobby each night. But other then that there isn't much to do after dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, staff and cleanliness were all wonderful
The weak points
Not being able to get reservations at a la carte restaurants. Made when you ate dinner a wild card.
Certified

Dreams Experience

, Gravelbourg, SK
2017-02-02
Just spend two weeks at Dreams Huatulco and it was a great vacation. We love Huatulco for its weather which was fabulous but the resort was excellent as well. Facilities, food and staff were all great. Only complaint I have is our room was near a large air conditioning unit which made quite a bit of noise. If I return I would ask for a room further away from that area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Location great - hotel not so much

, Calgary, AB
2016-11-07
Room: Beds very very small and uncomfortable
Food: Very average which is expected at an all inclusive; lack of variety compared to other resorts. Two options (Gill and Oceana) not open. Italian option was for Adults only so they provided us with the menu at the Mexican restrarant which was nice.
Pools: Very nice and lots of them
Beach: Awesome beach
This hotel was all about the location. I would definately go to Huatulco again but not this resort.
Sunwing representative was on time for pick up which was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, location, location
The weak points
Lack of food choices (Grill and Oceana closed)
Certified

Superior Resort

, Regina, SK
2016-03-10
Dreams Huatulco is a lovely resort. All public areas are extremely clean. The beach is great (the water can be rough). Bar service on the beach and around the pools is usually very good. The food choices are varied however I find resort dining gets tiresome, but everything is fresh and there are several a la carte restaurants. No reservations are required for a la carte dining which I love. Service throughout the resort is very friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Lovely resort, very clean public areas. Service is friendly and accommodating. Beautiful beach area and the pools (5 of them!) are great; three have ocean views. We did not participate in activities nor did we attend any shows.
The weak points
Buffet and overcooked meat gets tiresome, but no one will starve. Wifi is slow.
Certified

Great Vacation

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-04
Spent 7 days,early Deember 2015 at Dreams. Great time of year to go and relax. Resort was not crowded and the weather was great. Staff were very helpful. Thank You to Oscar who arranged a room with an excellent view/Preferred Club.Refreshment service by the pool was outstanding. Ismael , the server , entertained the crowd by singing and playing guitar.Resort has a great lay out. Cleanliness of rooms and resort was outstanding.A La Cart does not require a reservation.Highly recomment this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and great staff
The weak points
none
Certified

Very Mixed

2016-02-04
A very mixed review:

The Good

The staff could not be more helpful. They really were top drawer, especially in the Explorers Club.

The Bad

The beds were small and uncomfortable. The pillows were sub par.

The Ugly

The food. The chefs struggled for mediocrity. Only on the rarest of occasions were they able to achieve it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff, the location.
The weak points
The food, the bed, the pillows.
Certified

Dreams Huatulco - A Great Destination

, Mississauga, ON
2016-01-16
I would highly recommend this resort. It is a good size. I felt very safe and welcome there. As a single person visiting, with friends, I had no hesitation of being on my own. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing very friendly and attentive. Leo and Daniel were very good instructors in the AquaFit they made it lots of fun. The resort is so clean and well kept it is very impressive. The tours are good the guides were very knowledgeable
Certified

Great vacation

, Orangeville, ON
2015-05-05
We had a great time at Dreams Huatulco. Every thing was great. The room, the food, the service. Just one comment there were kids in the adults pools and no one did anything about it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice place
The weak points
Kids in the adults section and pools.
Certified

Dreams Resort and Spa

, Kamloops, BC
2015-02-26
Wonderful..everyone was so friendly and accommading..highly recommend going to Dreams Resort and Spa [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness and great staff
The weak points
None
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024