Camino Real Zaashila

Camino Real Zaashila
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 24 reviews
#3 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (29)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Excellent stay

, Grande Cache, AB
2019-04-18
Beautiful location! Service was very good. Food and drinks were excellent, some issues with room service. Definitely not the resort for you if you have mobility issues. Will absolutely go back but next time not so close to easter as the resort got extremely busy. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Get Away from Winter

, Calgary, AB
2019-04-01
The Hotel was very clean, well managed and the staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. Our room overlooked the beach and the sound of the surf was very refreshing. Our room was cleaned up daily in a timely manner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff kept the pool area very clean and this was done before 9:00 am. The bar service was excellent as the waiters were very accommodating.The day trips offered were interesting, our driver had a good knowledge of the area and made it enjoyable.
The weak points
I didn't like the food menu in one of the dinner restaurants. The food just seemed bland. Wi-Fi was not working in our room, we had to go to the lobby to get connected. Surf was quite strong.
Certified

Great Place, Wonderful People

, Oshawa, ON
2019-04-01
The Camino Real is a beautiful hotel. The grounds are beautiful. This is the place to go if you want a quiet vacation. No music, no activity staff, no evening entertainment just a quiet place to take in the beautiful sounds of nature and the ocean. There are only 3 places for meals. Breakfast is a buffet. Lunch is available at one restaurant or can be brought to you by the beach or pool. The restaurants for dinner are very good. Usually 2 are open each night but it was a slow week and they only had one open Sun-Thurs. Room service is also an option. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful grounds, every room has a view of the cove. Staff are very friendly and provide excellent service. Food was very good.
The weak points
There is an undertow at the beach. The red flag was up all week. You can swim in the ocean but be aware of the undertow. Wi-fi is very spotty but put your devices away and enjoy your vacation.
Certified

Camino Real Zaashila

, Calgary, AB
2019-02-07
We were happy with the food, but not as much as last year. The room service was not very good, even though we tipped good. We had to call back a couple of times on two different occasions. The rooms were well looked after by our cleaning lady and we are happy about that. The resort is getting a little tired looking and rejuvenating the suits could improve the tired look. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Los of kids

, Waterloo, ON
2018-04-10
We had problems with the front desk. Food was the same menu every night at the only two restaurants. No theme nights. Sign for all inclusive becomes very frustrating when they start chasing you and asking you to sign and when you look at the bill there are things on it you never ordered. The front desk only changes your money into pesos even if you ask for US dollars and their rates are lower than they are in town. Don't come to the resort at Easter wall to wall kids and noise. The Mexican families are on their break for two weeks at Easter. The reviews we read were all about how quiet the resort is and that their are no children. Wrong!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the resorts grounds are beautiful
The weak points
not enough food choice, rooms not cleaned properly. the restaurants are not 4.5 star. no night time entertainment
Certified

Beautiful, Quiet Resort

, Oshawa, ON
2018-04-02
This was our 2nd time at Camino Real Zaashila. We love the resort. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff here are friendly and hard workers. The food is great. Breakfast is buffet style. Lunch is available at Club de Playa or you can ask for a menu at your poolside/beach palapa and eat there. There are always 2 restaurants open for dinner. One is the buffet, which has a different theme (steak night, pasta night etc) and either Chez Binni or Club de Playa is open as well. Reservations are required at Club de Playa. Resort does offer 24 hour room service. All rooms face the bay/water. It is a smaller resort and very quiet. There are no activity staff and no nightly entertainment. If you are looking for a party place, this is not a resort for you.
Hotel needs to monitor the saving of chairs as people took advantage of saving them for hours and also saving chairs at both the pool area and beach. The hotel also does not monitor their beach towels and some people were taking 2-5 towels per person. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing, friendly and hard working. The grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. Food is great and there are many options.
The weak points
Hotel needs to monitor saving of chairs as people were saving them early in the morning and not coming down until noon or later. Water sports (kayaks, ski-dos etc. ) cost extra.
Certified

Huatulco getaway

, Fort Saskatchewan , Al
2017-12-07
Nice and quiet. Food was okay, a little more selection would have been nicer, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful beach, not too many vendors which was nice, if you said no to them they left you alone. It would have been nice to be able to have a place to sit around and visit in the evenings, the bar beside the upstairs restaurant was pretty quiet, when we asked them to put on some music they didn't have the means to do so. Just had a television on. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean rooms, beautiful beach and friendly accommodating staff.
The weak points
Food selection, lack of night activity.
Certified

Beautiful Vaction

, Port Hardy, BC
2016-12-13
I spent the time reading reviews before I booked my vacation. There was one review that was spot on, written by a person in Ontario. Along read scroll through. :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff are amazing very accommodating , the grounds are beautiful.
The weak points
The food is very good, but needs more selection
Certified

Relaxing!

, Baden, ON
2016-03-18
Very quite and peaceful! Exactly why we vacation.
Not for people who want to be loud and obnoxious all day. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quite
The weak points
Dated rooms might be disappointing for people who vacation to stay in their room.
Certified

Beautiful Jewel!

, Toronto, ON
2016-03-02
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful two week stay at the Camino Real Zaashila from January 15 - 29th, 2016! I have written an extensive review so if you don't have time to read it all I certainly will understand. Briefly, I would certainly recommend this resort and I would love to return. As with every resort, this may not be for everyone, but for us, it was Perfect.

We knew ahead of travelling to this resort that it is not just an all inclusive resort for all guests. This resort if booked through various websites will offer flights and accommodations only (no meals/drinks included), or you can book with a Canadian travel agent and get an all inclusive package complete with return flights, and transfers, accommodations, all meals and drinks, taxes. Mostly it was the US, other foreign, and Mexican guests that did not have the all inclusive package. This is actually a big plus! My reasoning for this is because it is not solely an all inclusive resort, it is relatively not too busy which meant that the service was fantastic, getting a chair at the pool and beach was rarely a problem, drinks were top shelf premium international brands for no extra costs needed (did not have to purchase a premium package to get top shelf drinks). If you also are not into the cookie cutter resorts with mega buffets, dining and crowds of people, this resort may be exactly what you are looking for! Because this is not all inclusive for all if you are under an all inclusive package you will need to sign a bill for everything you order. Don't be alarmed as you won't need to pay for anything, it is how they do things at this resort as none of the guests wear the wrist bands which is really nice! On the bill will be a Tip line do not put an amount for a tip here. If you do, you will have a charge at the end of your vacation when you sign out. Instead, cross a line through it and if you wish tip your wait person separately then do this instead. You also will most likely be served by more than one person in the restaurants, and at beach dinners. I asked the staff if my tip goes to one person or if all of them get to share the tips and that is what happens which is very nice as they all deserve the tips. We were informed by our destination rep that the average wage for the employees here at this resort was about $7 CDN/day and they generally work 12 hour days and 6 days/week.

Lobby: Very small with friendly and helpful staff and bell boys. There is a room in this area with a computer and even a printer with paper to print documents, books to borrow a couple of couches, and free WiFi in the lobby area. You can change your currency into Mexican Pesos here as well and just outside the lobby area you can get a taxi to take you to town less than 10 min away for 45 Pesos (less than: $3.50 CAD$, $2.50 USD$).

Room: We had a deluxe room with a King-size bed, flat screen TV, mini-fridge stocked daily with beer, water, coke and snacks, a small table with two chairs and a separate wicker chair with ottoman. A large bottle of water and 4 smaller bottles of water are refilled daily too in your room. The tap water is safe to brush your teeth with as it is filtered water. Towels are huge and replaced daily including two facecloths and bath amenities products from Bath & Body Works: Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Lotion, Shower Gel, soap. There was a sewing kit, shower cap and even a package with some cotton balls for makeup removal! The room and bathroom was all tiled in marble. The shower has a rain shower head and has a bathtub. Hot water was never an issue as we always had hot water and good water pressure. The air conditioning always worked and was not too noisy and there is a ceiling fan over the bed although it could use a good cleaning. There are many plugs available in the room for your electronics. There is no entertainment at this resort so can be a little boring if you are not prepared. We always travel with our portable DVD player and bring lots of movies. We are so tired from the hot sun, swimming and let's face it (relaxing) that we are so tired by 9 pm or 10 pm we were happy to relax in our room in the evening and fall asleep early. Room Service is 24 hours and Free for those in the all inclusive package so if you are needing more bottled water, or other refreshments or are hungry and don't want to go to the restaurant or the restaurants are closed, order room service from their extensive menu. There is no coffee maker in your room so either bring your own (I met a couple from the US and they brought their own coffee maker as they stayed for two weeks, next year they are coming back for three weeks) or order room service for your coffee/tea if you need it before 7 am when the breakfast buffet opens. Most rooms offer you incredible views of the pool and ocean! Your room is always cleaned quite nicely and smells amazing! I love the products they use to clean with. If you wish to tip your maid, please leave your tip on your pillow, otherwise she will not take it.

Pool/Beach: I love the fact at how small this boutique hotel is (151 rooms) because you can see the ocean and pool from where you are sitting! Most all inclusive resorts are so large you can't see the ocean from the pool. The pool is stunning and is 120 meters in length. The water temperature is very nice and comfortable and is heated. The beach is gorgeous and has many palapas and padded chairs to sit under and every palapa has a small table. The ocean is quite warm and easy to get into although bit rough as it is the Pacific Ocean however most days we were able to swim in it. It does drop off quite quickly so you are not able to touch the bottom. If you are not a strong/good swimmer you should know this. The pool and beach have waiters happy to get your drinks and food for you, no need to have to go to the beach/pool bar. For lunch or snacks, you can either go to the Zaashila Club de Playa (Beach Club) where they also have a private infinity pool and sundeck ocean front or you can order from the exact same menu and your waiter will be happy to bring it to you at the beach or pool.

Food: The only buffet is breakfast at the Bel-La Grill. Here they will cook eggs any way including the delicious omelets, pancakes, French toast (they have pancake syrup), fresh fruit selection of delicious sweet pink grapefruit, papaya, pineapple, kiwi, melon, cantaloupe, watermelon, prunes. They have plain yoghurt and wonderful cottage cheese beside the fruit station too. They have a variety of boxed cereals and loose cereals, granola, coconut, etc. too. There are pastries and bread for toast (only one two slice toaster though), and a big selection of Mexican food too, bacon is plentiful! The coffee is fantastic and they offer a selection of tea and herbal tea as well. Lunch: As mentioned in the Pool/Beach comment.

Dinner: There are only two restaurants offering dinner here and they alternate days, and are covered and open-area out-door restaurants. The Chez Binni offers select dishes from international cuisine with a delicate regional touch, and Azul Profundo offers an original gastronomic experience combining the exclusive elements of oriental dishes with the unique colors and flavors of the Mexican kitchen. The most exclusive scenario for an unforgettable dinner by the ocean.

**One note of caution - my boyfriend and I were extremely pleased and excited with this beautiful resort when we got here. Because we were so happy about this beautiful gem we discovered we were a little careless. We had too much sun on our second and third day, a little too much alcohol, not enough water to drink and we really enjoyed the spicy food including the wonderful salsa and spicy mayonnaise sauces served with the nacho chips. Beware, there is a little green ingredient called mole and it is very spicy. I feel because of all the mentions above with too much sun, alcohol, eating an abundance of fruit, not enough water drank, spicy food we both became sick from heat/sun stroke with symptoms of fever and diarrhea and were sick one day each. We spoke with other guests and many of them said the same thing. I do not blame the resort. I do not blame the conditions of the food served. Once we drank more water, spent less time in the sun (it is extremely hot in Huatulco, Mexico as you are so close to the equator), stayed away from all things with mole in it we were perfectly fine. Remember to take some breaks and cool off in the pool although you are still in the sun so even go to your room periodically to cool down and stay hydrated.

Beverages: So many top shelf international brands of drinks including beer, coffee, cappuccino, teas, bottled water, variety of canned or bottled pop.

Cleanliness: The hard-working staff at the CRZ were always cleaning, sweeping, watering the lawns and flowers to keep this resort looking sparkling and beautiful. The bathrooms within the resort area were cleaned regularly including the use of bleach, the floors in the buffet restaurant were also cleaned with bleach. Never were the bathrooms ever in need of being told they needed attending to as they were always kept clean and with plenty of toilet paper. This resort uses premium brand toilet paper. The lounge chairs and tables around the pool and beach were cleaned at night and also again in the morning.

Beach Towels: There was never a shortage of beach towels which were huge by the way, and you could have as many as you wanted. You needed to give them your room number and return them or you would have a charge at check-out time.

The area of Huatulco is very safe and you can feel safe going into town for shopping or to dine out. We dined out twice. The first time was to the La Crema Restaurant. Awesome experience at this restaurant! The food (we had stone oven baked pizza) which was out of this world and the atmosphere is great too! So many people there too so we knew it was going to be great! The other restaurant we went to was to Alfredo's Restaurant Bar. The food and atmosphere at this little restaurant was also wonderful!

Tours: We only took one excursion while in Huatulco and we booked our tour through Paraiso Huatulco Travel Agency. They set up and are located at the towel hut by the pool. Omar was the fellow who was informing us about the various excursions they offered and booked our 7 hour Bays tour where we took a boat along the Pacific coastline and saw beautiful natural landscapes and virgin beaches, we snorkelled in a protected area and had a lunch stop at a pretty little bay area set up with restaurants and vendors.

There are so many wonderful staff and I do apologize for not remembering all of your names as everyone was helpful and friendly. Some staff that really stood out were Renaldo, and Selina and the General Manager, Francisco.

We hope to return! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beautiful boutique hotel with stunning ocean & pool views!
The weak points
There needs to be more menu items at the a la carte restaurants and the chef needs to not compromise the food ordered by adding chilli peppers or hot sauce to the dish when the menu clearly doesn't list these ingredients.
Pro

Best Vacation Ever!

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-04
We love Huatulco so much, this was our third time vacationing in this part of Mexico. We have always stayed at different resorts and Camino Real is our new favorite. All aspects about this resort were above average expectations. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Perfect quiet get away

, Winnipeg, MB
2016-02-01
This is a wonderful resort, short drive from airport, close to a town . Excellent food, friendly staff, the a la carte lunch and dinner had excellent choices and service, all rooms had a wonderful view of the ocean, the beach was excellent THe resort is a smaller size which was perfect as was the quiet with no entertainment [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff,excellent food, perfect smaller size quiet
The weak points
internet access spotty
Certified

Excellent Stay

, Carvel, AB
2014-12-30
Upon arrival we noted it was very well kept and intimate. Large pool, well laid out to encompass the whole property with lots of chaise lounges. When the resort started to fill up on the weekend portable unbrellas were brought to the beach with extra chaises to accomodate the increase. Very accomodating overall. If you are expecting an experience with lots of activities this is not the location. If you want relaxation and quiet on a secluded beach this is the perfect place. There is no night time entertainment, no planned daytime activities which was perfect for us. This is one of the first times this resort has gone all inclusive so don't be alarmed if you asked to sign for everything. Breakfast is your only buffet and everything else is off the menu. The two restraunts were excellent with excellent service. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very quiet, large pool, secluded beach
The weak points
lots of stairs, resort built into a hill, difficult for those with mobility issues
Certified

Relaxing Quiet Resort

, Lloydminster, AB
2014-01-10
This is a quiet lovely little resort. The resort was built in the 1980's and is starting to show its age to some degree. The employees work very hard to keep it spotless clean but it is a little rough around the edges. Our room was on the upper level and had a partial beach and full ocean view. It had a nice balcony to enjoy the morning sunrise. Other rooms on the lower level come with a small personal plunge pool.
The staff is very friendly and professional and would go out of their way to please you. The resort has 3 restaurants. One is a breakfast buffet that closed at noon. The restaurant by the beach was the only one open for lunch which was a la carte but did not require reservations. In the evening this beach restaurant did a seafood dinner service which required reservations. The 3rd restaurant in the main building was more Mexican and internationalfare for dinner but did not require reservations.
The food for me was average to above average with the exception of the beach seafood restaurant which I found a little disappointing. The beach was very nice, and I was able to do some snorkeling by the rocks at either end. The pool was very large and beautiful and was very well taken care of. The bars were good, one on the beach and another in the main building with a good selection and friendly competent staff. There are lots of stairs to climb on this resort so I would be weary of booking in here if you have any mobility issues. We stayed at this resort as an all inclusive package. If it was not all inclusive for us we would have found it very expensive as far as restaurant and bar service are concerned. If you are looking for a high energy, fast paced resort with nightly entertainment then this would not be the resort for you. All in all we liked the laid back aspect of this resort and we will it give 4 stars. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff, very clean, awesome pool and great private beach. A smaller more intimate resort
The weak points
We would not stay here if we were not on an all inclusive package as it would be a budget buster.
Certified

Quite relaxing good beach

, Don Mlls, ON
2014-01-05
We stayed for one week over New Year's and swam at the beach each day. The weather was awesome sunny and hot everyday. The restaurants were okay and room service is 24 hours.You must taxi to town but 45 pesos. No coffee machine in room but room service delivers. Very hilly with stairs and ramps everywhere. A screen on the balcony door would have been nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Weather is good. Beach is good. No activities or loud music so it is relaxing and quite. Lots of beach chairs.
The weak points
Too hot for long walk even if you want to walk to town. Food is okay but not a lot of variety.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020