Las Brisas Huatulco

Las Brisas Huatulco
3.963.963.963.963.96
3.96 based on 304 reviews
#3 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (110)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Nice resort with wonderful beaches.

, Edmonton, AB
2024-02-15
Las Brisas Huatulco is an older resort that looks a bit dated, but it is clean and well maintained. The friendly staff are very helpful and accommodating. The food is good but not great and although there is a varied selection most of the hot dishes were served warm at best. The beaches are wonderful and the pools are clean and well maintained.

The main drawback for us was the amount of stairs that needed to be climbed in order to get anywhere. There are little trolleys that will take you around but you can't avoid the stairs entirely. My husband and I are both 73 and in average shape for our age but we found the stairs strenuous at times. I fell on the stairs and had to hobble around for 2 weeks. We met a lady who had knee replacement surgery 5 weeks earlier and was in tears because she didn't know how she was going to get around.

All in all a nice resort for able bodied folks but not for anyone with limited mobility. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff, lovely location, clean and well kept grounds.
The weak points
Stairs, stairs and more stairs. Not for the elderly or anyone with limited mobility. Food was average with a decent amount of choices but never hot enough.
Sanitary measures
Lots of gel sanitizer bottles throughout the property.
Certified

Nice location. Just fine.

, Port Mcneill, BC
2024-02-06
We just returned from our trip as a family of 4 (two kids under 5). The location is beautiful and the beaches are great. If you enjoy heat, this is a great location. We found the food to be fine (sometimes good - rarely amazing or disappointing) though we all experienced gastro issues while we were there and we only drank bottled water and ate all our meals at the resort. This was the first resort we attended where we noticed the staff did not attempt to engage us or get to know us during our stay. They were all strangers and were sometimes hard to track down for a beverage or assistance. The most consistently helpful staff were the shuttle cart drivers, pool servers, and the housekeepers. There were not any “special touches” that I could note about this resort. I would say if you're looking for a carefree vacation this resort would be nice for families with older children or couples, but was not the most relaxing vacation with small children. This resort is fairly quiet in the evening and not really targeted to the younger crowd as the night entertainment was short, there is no disco, and drinks end at 1. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Location. Beaches are lovely and beach/pool drink service is fairly regular.
The weak points
Not “special” service - just adequate. Only two beers per day in the fridge without significant tip and a note. One caffeinated pod of coffee per day for a room with two double beds. No tea or kettle in room.
Sanitary measures
Room and property appeared fairly clean but whole family ended up with gastrointestinal issues.
Certified

Wonderful Vacation

, Ajax, ON
2024-01-09
This was a last minute trip for us and ending up being one of our best vacations. The resort is big and hilly, but there are frequent shuttles and many ramps everywhere. The check in process was smooth and fast. The front desk staff are very professional and friendly. Our room was a junior suite with a partial sea view, but we saw all the ocean. The room was huge, everything was in good repair and very clean.
Three are three beaches to choose from and a lovely boardwalk connecting them. I brought water shoes but didn't really need them. One beach you can just walk out and snorkel and see lots of fish. There is someone to take your drink order at your chair which was nice.
The food was really good, and we went to 5 of the A la Carte restaurants and the service was quick, and the food was good. There is a good selection of cocktails and our package allowed for premium drinks which was great.
The shows were good, and the weather was sunny all week. The thing we liked the best was how welcoming the staff were everywhere you went, you pass the gardener and he says hello, everyone seems to be happy that you are there and that you enjoy yourself at their resort. Their customer service is excellent. I would recommend this resort to anyone and would definitely come back for another visit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Friendly staff, the beaches, the food
The weak points
Hills can be challenging for people with mobility issues. I would have liked the Wi-Fi to be password protected but had a personal VPN so it wasn't an issue.
Certified

Second time and still love it

, Castlegar, BC
2023-12-18
We go to Las Brisas for the activities that the resort has; particularily the tennis. Overall, this is a tremendous resort. Tennis lessons with the club pro (Paco) twice a day was very informative and a good opportunity to socialize with like-minded players. Also the suite of other activities like snorkeling, volleyball, water sport toys (kobie cats, wind surfers, kayaks, SUPs) makes it unnecessary to go anywhere else in a 7 to 10 day stay. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Tennis, Paco, the food, diversity of activities, the natural flora and fauna throughout the grounds
The weak points
If a person were not prepared for all of the steps it could be challenging but the cart service (which we never used) looked very functional.
Sanitary measures
Perfectly fine!
Certified

Dream Family Vacation

, Etobicoke, ON
2023-04-30
Gorgeous beaches, Friendly staff, Tasty traditional food, beautiful maintained property. We had an awesome family stay at Hotel Las Brisas. Yes, the weather is super hot but a splash in the pool or a swim in any of the 3 beaches will surely cool you off !. Get ready to do snorkel at Playa Ventura. The reef is a lovely place to see marine life. We loved our spacious room. It was pristine as well as the restaurants, the lobby, the washrooms. The staff work hard to maintain a high standard of service and cleanliness . They are friendly and lovely people. This is a huge property so be prepared to walk while enjoying the view. Taking the shuttle is another option. They come fairly quickly and they take you everywhere inside the property. The food is delicious and plenty. We were able to visit 2 specialty restaurants and loved the menu.
This was our first time in Huatulco and we loved every part of it. We cannot wait to come back soon. Will definitely stay at Las Brisas again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful beaches. You can pick among 3. They never felt crowded. Completely family friendly Tasty food. Lots of variety. Not spicy. The staff is always willing to help. The property design like little villas or town. The Mexican Show is awesome.
The weak points
The lobby could feel uncomfortably hot. More fans would certainly help.

Unexpected Surprise

, Toronto, ON
2023-04-30
We love snorkelling. Based on the price and suggestions of our friends, we selected this hotel as our destination for the vacation. We were positively surprised. The reef exceeded our expectations. We also took a taxi to drive to another good beach with a fantastic reef. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very impressive architecture. I could not stop taking pictures. Very nice views of the ocean. We would specifically recommend the sunrise view. The botanical garden is fantastic. We visited it twice.
The weak points
I did not like any of the main dishes in the 4 restaurants we visited. I also refused all the desserts. With the prices comparable to the Canadian, cooking is below expectations. The buffet is really good. I think the shower heads need to be replaced.
Certified

Hot and friendly

, Edmonton, AB
2023-04-22
It was a hot and friendly place. Lots of walking if you want to walk up and down the hilly sidewalks if you do desire to walk or you can ride the motorized carriage. Your choice.
The food at the Buffy I've see much better! But if you don't like what you picked you can always go back and get another plate of something else.
Beautiful spacious beaches. Quiet and safe. Staff always making you feel welcomed with big smiles and a hello. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
Certified

Sun! Sun! Sun!

, West Vancouver, Br
2023-04-17
This resort was fantastic. Great and happy staff. Terrific birds. Tremendous beaches and landscaping. I am 68 years old and had no problem getting around either walking or on the frequent shuttles. We have been to many all inclusive resorts and this is top 3. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Everything was great
The weak points
Could not stay longer
Certified

Las Brisas

, Campbell River, BC
2023-03-09
We loved our room, they need to put better lighting in the bathroom, very dark. The fans are quite loud, and the pillows are too thick.loved the renovations at the buffet, great job. It would be great if we had a balcony. But you can't have everything. I also found they don't have enough small bills at the front desk, when exchanging money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The staff is amazing, never seen people work so hard
The weak points
Loud fans in the rooms, need better lighting in the bathrooms and better pillows.should have guacamole at at a Mexican resort, only seen in twice in two weeks
Sanitary measures
The person making the sandwiches should be wearing gloves, he's touching the food with his bare hands and that's a no no.
Certified

Las Brisas

, Duncan, BC
2023-03-05
The hotel was very clean inside and the grounds were well taken care of. The complex was very large and hardly had to wait for transportation to take you anywhere. Loved the beaches and pools and lots of fish to see while snorkeling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Very impressed with the cleanliness. Staff were so friendly. Beaches were beautiful and lots of fish to see while snorkeling. Good service of drinks while on beach. Transportation to rooms was great. Beautiful setting!
The weak points
The biggest weak point was the food. Sometimes it was great, but mostly the food was just warm and quite salty.
Certified

Great stay

, Prince Albert, SK
2022-12-10
This is my second time at this resort and I have always had a wonderful time. Beautiful beaches, excellent service. You have the options of daily buffets or 3 selections of tabled service. They have great alcohol selections and daily fun events the staff were amazing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Great staff
The weak points
More of a family resort
Certified

2nd Vacation in Mexico

, Lethbridge, AB
2022-04-22
Friendly helpful staff. Cheerful even at or near shift end. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Wait staff at Mexican restaurant for breakfast particularly the omelette cook.
The weak points
Late in day for room makeup. Wanted more time b4 dinner.
Certified

Las Brisas Huatulco

, Kamloops, BC
2022-03-16
Our 2 week stay was amazing. The resort is beautiful and the grounds are well kept. Views from the rooms are lovely. The staff went out of their way to help us. Food was excellent with seven different restaurant choices. The beaches are clean and the water lovely. Beach staff very attentive and kept us well supplied with whatever drinks we needed. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
The quality and service ethic of the staff are definitely the strong point. Also I was on crutches due to a ski accident a few months before our stay. They provided a wheel chair and crutches and would drive me wherever I wanted in a golf cart.
The weak points
Nothing really comes to mind.
Certified

A joyful experience

, Edmonton, AB
2022-02-26
Once you enter the secure gates of Las Brisas, a wonderful world of delicious food and assorted beverages awaits you. The resort is HUGE so the little buggies that shuttle you around are welcome for those with mobility issuses, or who just like the ride! The staff are so kind and friendly and always do their best to help in any way they can. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beaches and location and food.
The weak points
Rooms could do with an upgrade, and the WiFi was often hard to connect to.
Sanitary measures
Excellent.
Certified

Exceptional Las Brisas Huatulco Vacation!

, Vancouver, BC
2021-12-01
My wife and I spent 7 days at this beautifully situated resort on the Oaxaca Coast. Our room was large, very clean and had a fantastic ocean view to watch the sunrise over the Pacific. We loved the clean beaches and enjoyed the warm and clear water that was easy to swim in. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Overall a memorable stay in a magical place! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
  • Sanitary measures
The strong points
Beautiful location, safe and clean. Extra friendly and helpful staff. Well maintained and organized.
The weak points
The food was mostly good, especially breakfast.
Certified

High quality mid range resort

, Delta , BC
2020-03-18
Great resort in a gorgeous location
An excellent choice for families and active seniors. Younger adults looking for a party venue might be disappointed.We liked that the resort has 3 separate beach areas and is physically isolated from other resorts. Has 3 pools which we never found to be crowded and didn't have swim up bars or constant loud music or pool activities although they did have aquafit sessions at noon. All staff that we encountered were friendly, professional and always willing to help. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Room clean, a/c good, wi fi free and strong throughout resort. Cataramans, kayaks, snorkelling equip and stand up paddleboards free. Staff excellent. Food ok. Multiple excellent raquet sports courts.Free bird watching walks in am. with binoculars provided
The weak points
Limited mediocre snorkelling at resort. Large resort with all rooms uphill from beaches and restaurants and many stairs. Rides available on frequently running carts which spew smelly exhaust and should be electrically powered.
Certified

Second Year in a Row!

, Saskatoon, SK
2020-03-17
This was our second 2 week vacation to Las Brisas Huatulco. We were there last year for 2 weeks as well. For the last 15 years, this is the first time we vacationed at a resort twice, and we most likely will return next year (depending on Covid-19 outcome)!

Both years we stayed in the Mountains section and preferred the vicinity to the areas we frequented. We counted 190 steps to our room from the sidewalk near the spa; but, we got used to it. Plus, the attraction to this resort for us outweighed the deterrent of stairs. We walked the complete resort this year and every section looks quite nice with different views of the bay and the ocean. The Botanical Gardens were beautiful, well-groomed and lush.

We love the beach, the ocean, the hot sun everyday, no rain with minimum wind. The grounds are kept immaculate by the hard working staff. Speaking of the staff, the majority of the staff were friendly and they all worked very hard. On our first day, Hugo the omelet and eggs chef (who cooked our eggs every morning), remembered me from last year and stated how I liked my two eggs cooked and if I wanted them cooked that way again!

Our room was similar to the one we were in last year; however, the room this year was better as all things electrical and plumbing worked.

The gym was improved with efficient air conditioning compared to last year. The gym equipment was excellent.

The Bellavista Restaurant (buffet) was renovated (and welcomed); as well, the food menu improved from last year. The one thing - the food was rarely hot or warm – the metal containers they put the hot food in did not keep it hot let alone warm. We found it best to have the food being cooked as you waited in line (spaghetti, fish, chicken, pork, and beef) rather than dish out the food from the standing metal containers. Especially if some patrons use the utensils from a different dish then leave the lid open. Some patrons actually took food out of the metal containers with their hands (i.e.: french fries) as well as from the salad area.

We wish the staff would be strict about not letting people enter the restaurant for a meal when they have wet bathing suits on, which is so inconsiderate of guests. Every day we saw the new chairs in the Bellavista with large wet spots. If we were directed to tables with wet chairs, we asked to be sat at tables with dry chairs.

Unlike last year, what's with this having to place a towel over a lounge chair at the beach to reserve a spot? Last year, we could be in the second row even at 9:00 AM; but, this year, I had to go down at 6:00 AM to grab two chairs in the second row. Once I pick our chairs I stay at the beach, where some people don't show up till after lunch which is unfair to people wanting to be at the beach in the morning. We heard people would place towels on chairs at 2:00 AM. Perhaps there should be some strict rules about towel placing by management that staff adheres to. There should be something done and I know it happens at most other resorts; but, last year not having to worry about getting a chair in the morning was a big plus for us.

People should not be allowed to play music at the beach. Not everyone likes their taste of music, plus, when folks relax at the beach, they want to listen to the ocean sounds, the birds and the like, not the Bee Gees screaming, 'Stayin' Alive' or music in another language. We have vacationed at the Secrets resort in Huatulco and music was not allowed on the beach and the staff would shut it down.

Smoking should not be allowed directly on the beach. A shaded designated area should be provided near but not on the beach. Many more people do not smoke compared to those who do and if you are not a smoker, it is a very unwelcomed smell...and this is coming from a former smoker. We see the cans provided by the resort on the beach for people who smoke to put their cigarette butts in; but, cigarette butts are still plentiful in the sand.

There should also be an area for smokers away from the tables near the pool outside of the lobby bar. The smoke sure isn't welcomed by non-smokers.

A few scorpions were seen – one at the Mexican Restaurant where a staff member dealt with the scorpion. The other we saw at the beach where a woman placed her hat on her head and felt something on her hair. She took her hat off and the scorpion left her hair and hid under a lounge chair. A guest captured it in a drink glass and took it to a staff member. We also saw a huge brown fuzzy spider on a step near the beach, but we just went around it not knowing what kind it was. These creatures do inhabit this area along with many lizards, iggies and we also saw a snake sunning on a large rock. You just have to be careful.

Over the two week stay this year, we saw three different people standing on the coral. The beach staff from the Snorkel Shack would only blow a whistle. The person standing on the coral was oblivious as to why there was a whistle being blown. On one occasion, a staff person finally did swim out to explain to the swimmer coral is not to be stood upon. Obviously these people had flippers on or their feet would be cut to shreds. When people check-in upon arrival at Las Brisas, there should be a page outlining the reasons standing on the coral is detrimental to the life of the coral as well to the eco-system which survives around the coral.

There was an instance where the resort lounge bar staff told me there was no more Canadian Rye (my preferred drink). This was during our last three days at Las Brisas. On our last night we were sitting at a table outside of the lobby bar. A man at a neighboring table ordered a Canadian Rye and was insistent on getting one. The waitress brought him a scotch whiskey. He was loud and obnoxious and said the bartender had a bottle just to serve him so the waitress suggested he go speak with the bartender. I followed him and listened to his conversation with the bartender. The bartender brought up a Rye bottle from beneath the counter and gave the obnoxious loudmouth a Rye, so I went up to the bartender and said, 'not 20 minutes ago you told me there wasn't any Rye and I didn't appreciate being lied to for three days'. He was very sheepish and had a flimsy excuse about how he got the only bottle from the ala cart Mexican Restaurant. He served my wife and I drinks for two weeks. I wish I could remember his name and wished I hadn't tipped him for all that time. We were told on the bus from the airport and at the Welcome Reception that Huatulco has 2 seasons, the rainy season and the Canadian season. I mean, we were okay with other drinks, just don't lie to us. Las Brisas should ensure they have enough Canadian Rye for the Canadian season! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff. The beaches and swimming area. Resort cleanliness and well-groomed grounds. Gym improved with efficiently placed A/C.
The weak points
Cold food at the renovated Bellavista Restaurant. GUESTS who play music at the beach, who smoke at the beach, who stand on the coral, who use fingers to take food from buffet dishes, who drape towels over beach chairs - then don't show up for many hours.

Great stay awesome beaches

, Warman , SK
2020-02-13
Beautiful place with fantastic beaches, service was awesome all staff was very friendly [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches, landscape, service, very clean
The weak points
Alacarts where ok but not great, main pool was very deep and not good for socializing was more set up for lane swimming, most rooms don't have balcony's
Certified

Our “home away from home”

, Victoria, BC
2020-01-27
We have just returned from our 2 week stay at Las Brisas Huatulco. It was our 12th visit, and Las Brisas will always be our favourite. As in years past, this resort just gets better and better. From the massive improvements to the Bellavista buffet, to the continued efforts to make the property more accessible to those with mobility issues, it is clear the owners and management are listening and care about their patrons.
All the staff work very hard for very little money. Even though this is an all-inclusive resort, we always make an effort to tip for good service. Before we go, we arrange to get 20 peso notes for the tips from our currency exchange or bank. I've seen many people tipping in Cdn or US dollars - but this means a trip to the bank for the employee on their one day off a week.
A big shoutout to those that make us feel like family - Omar, Paco, Derman, Gabby, Eliomar, Yariley, Tanny, Ricardo, Norberto, Hugo “have a beautiful day!”, Octaviano “Doctor Tavi”, Luis, Roberto, Daniel, Jaime, Carolina and all the other hardworking staff whose wonderful smiles brightened our days.
My only complaint is to do with the other travellers that continue to use the beach as their private smoke area and ashtray. Las Brisas has gone to great lengths to facilitate appropriate smoking areas and yet still, there are those that will plunk themselves down and puff away freely, surrounded by non-smokers including children. I do appreciate those people that are considerate and take themselves away to smoke....rant over :)
We will be back...year after year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We appreciate the owners and management continued efforts to improve the property. The staff make us feel like family.
The weak points
Any weaknesses I perceive would be inconsiderate behaviour of the travellers - smoking on the beach, loud personal music, reserving of chairs for hours without being there.
Certified

Las Brisas

, Edmonton, AB
2020-01-23
This was a great place to stay the food was great with something different each day which was nice and plenty of choices. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and tidy grounds, lots of activities and sports to do during stay
The weak points
Too many staff members don't have a grasp on the English language for simple enquires which was a problem during our stay. Rooms need some maintenance and up keep
Certified

Would return!

, Toronto, ON
2020-01-15
At first I thought it was a bit "warn", but the mood and atmosphere were so positive, happy and relaxed that by the end of the week, I felt completely comfortable and didn't want to leave! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff are very happy, friendly and always willing to help. Overall feel of the resort is easy going, relaxed and comfortable.
Certified

Las Brisas

, Regina, SK
2019-12-05
Las Brisas is a hotel with wonderful staff and beautiful grounds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The strongest point of this hotel is the people
The weak points
The HVAC and plumbing systems
Certified

Excellent vacation

, Calgary, AB
2019-11-21
Or first day was a bit tough. The air wasn't working in our room but once that was fixed, no complaints. Food is excellent service is fantastic. Prices for shop items are a bit more than we expected but overall it is a fantastic place to vacation. 3 beaches to beat the heat. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and food
The weak points
Sometimes it felt too hot and like no place could cool me down
Certified

Las Brisas Huatulco

, Chestermere, AB
2018-12-13
The hotel is a great place to go and unwind. Rooms are nice, clean and spacious, whether you get an upgraded room or just the regular room. Some small issues we had were: one wash cloth left when there are two people in the room. We went to the front desk to ask for another wash cloth and were assured that it would be delivered. It never was. One packet of coffee for two people. Again we went to the front desk and were assured that they would send some to the room. Again.... it was not. They use Nescafe coffee/expresso machines. Two mornings there were no coffee in our rooms and the rest of the time, we had to share and expresso shot between two of us. One swallow of expresso each.

One other issue is that there is sometime a lingering odor of sewer in some of the areas.

It would also make the customers feel good, if the hotel acknowledged that you are a returning client. This was our second stay at the resort.

Other than those small issues, it is a wonderful place to stay at, the food is good, and the staff is friendly and the service is good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
If you have a mobility problem, you may want to look at another location. There is a lot of stairs and walking, that has to been done at this location.
Certified

Nice holiday

, Brantford, ON
2018-12-13
We enjoyed our stay. Lots to do. Places to visit. Perfect weather. Beaches swimmable. Clean. Food okay managed to gain weight. Will be back again. Lots of shuttle service if you don't feel like walking uphill to your rooms. Felt safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beaches and pools and weather
The weak points
Some liked the food some did not. But there was a lot of choice
Certified

Wonderful holiday facility

, Comox, BC
2018-03-29
Absolutely loved my week here. Gorgeous landscaping, huge resort. Food choices good. Very friendly kind staff, always smiling. Great shuttles when you don't want to walk. Did not want to go home.... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Huge resort, didn't feel crowded. Great snorkeling. Junior suite with balcony was fabulous! Entertainment in the evening was great, really enjoyed it. Our dinner in the Solarium was best meal all week! Snack bar for lunch was yummy, best burgers!
The weak points
Would like alcohol to be available before 1100. Lobby could use an update. House wine was poor quality.
Certified

Our “Home Away from Home”

, Victoria, BC
2018-02-11
This was our 11th visit to Las Brisas Huatulco. As always, we had a wonderful vacation.

We have noticed many positive changes over the last 2-3 years from the enhanced wifi to the building of the beautiful spa. The menus at the alacartes have changed and all offer something tasty and well-presented. The buffet is consistent and has something for even the pickiest palate.

Any thing negative I have to say about Las Brisas may have more to do with the guests rather than the resort. Despite numerous reviews stating there are many stairs and that this resort is not suitable for people with mobility issues, we still hear people complaining about the same. Do your research people or get a travel agent that will do it for you!

Our biggest pet peeve is the smokers that treat the beach as their personal ashtray. These cigarette butts will make their way into that beautiful ocean. And for goodness sakes, be respectful to the people around you (some of these are children!) and take yourself away to have your cigarette.

We are always happy to see familar faces and are always sad to say goodbye. A big shoutout to our friends that help make Las Brisas our home away from home: Omar (head conciege), Paco (tennis pro), Derman, Dulce (front desk), Jose, Eliomar, Yariley, and Tanny (buffet), Ana (lobby bar), Antonio, Roberto and Mario from the beach.

Hasta la proximo ano Las Brisas Huatulco! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
*Playa Manzanilla is amazing for snorkeling *The proximity to the little towns offers a safe, fun and interesting excursion. *The exceptional Las Brisas staff enhance the beauty of this resort
The weak points
*Smoking allowed on the beach
Certified

Food not good

, Edmonton, AB
2018-01-11
The resort was nice, clean. There were a lot of stairs and it was huge, but carts to drive you. We had a cockroach the first morning in our room but they were quick to come remove it. We were in 1106 and maid service was not good. We were with a group 10 of us - all the others had nice towel animals and clean towels etc everyday. I left a tip everyday and received no extras, also every day they forgot to either leave us enough towels, no wash cloths some days, at times dirty cups were not replaced the last day the maid was standing there waiting for us to get out and then started to clean around us. The food at the resort was not goo - this is not a subjective complaint as there were 10 of us and we all felt the same, the ala carts were terrible except for the seafood one it was not bad. Breakfast buffet was okay - the others had pretty much the same thing every day and the food just did not taste good- greasy, mushy, too hard or tough or no flavor. Drinks were not bad. Staff were friendly - resort is huge and buffet really could not accommodate at dinner always a line to get in and wait times. They need a bigger buffet area. It's about a 3.5 to 4 star mainly because the food needs a lot of work - seen that in many of their reviews - management should look at their surveys and note that food is their biggest complaint. Wifi was great. Lots of families there. Sports beach should have more than one volley ball - I realize they have other courts but we are at the beach and want to play beach volley ball! Also they should have the ping pong balls and air hockey stuff with the pool stuff so we can play later not just until 9:00. There are a lot of kids/families at the resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

3rd Time back to this resort

, Edmonton, AB
2017-12-28
We love this place so much. The resort is very well kept and the staff in all areas are so friendly and accommodating. We have even gotten to know Paco, Omar and Roberto personally and when we return each time they remember us and we feel so welcome and at home there. We appreciate the grounds with abundant vegetation and the beaches are wonderful. There is lots to do there for all ages and if you want quiet and peace you can have that too. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beaches, great staff and Huatulco has such consistent weather.
The weak points
It is hard to find much to wrong with Las Brisas. If you do it is like a lot of people say "First world complaints"
Certified

Las Brisas

, Lacombe, AB
2017-03-11
Hotel was good, food could have been better [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2024