Castillo Huatulco

Castillo Huatulco
3.873.873.873.873.87
3.87 based on 45 reviews
#10 of 13 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Huatulco
Rated 3 stars
Traveller pictures (4)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

Love this place!

, Brunkild, MB
2020-01-30
Very friendly & hard working staff! Smaller hotel (which we love)! Food is wonderful! Right in the town of Santa Cruz, great for sight-seeing & walking. Beautiful beach club. Can't say enough about this place!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly & hard working staff. Located right in town of Santa Cruz.
The weak points
Too many plastic water bottles. Maybe filling stations located in various places around the hotel would be a solution?
Certified

Nice hotel friendly staff

, Prince Albert, ON
2018-02-04
Great hotel in good area ,the staff are the most friendliest i have ever been around in Mexico allways willing to get what you need . [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great weather and the beach club is very nice good food and lots of drinks .
The weak points
The construction at the hotel they started very early and the pool at the hotel very close to outside eating area .
Certified

Great time

, Saskatoon, SK
2018-02-04
We had a great time and the staff were great , the pool area Is very small theres not enough chairs . The beach club is great lots of drinks and food , ocean to ruff to swim, That's the only downfall [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great staff friendly and very accomadating
The weak points
The construction at the hotel hard to sleep In or have a nap , also the pool area very small there's only 12 pool loungers and allways taken by the same people .
Certified

Hotel Castillo

, Regina, SK
2017-03-09
Hotel was a great authentic experience enjoying the great Mexican experience.. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

A treasure

, Winnipeg, MB
2015-01-30
Initially I was unsure about this hotel/resort as it wasn't beachfront , however I have to stay I had the most amazing 2 week vacation! As a small resort, everyone got to know you, staff and guests. Many of the staff would anticipate your needs and requests. The staff was friendly and obliging. Rooms were standard and very clean. Breakfasts were very good , as were the lunch options at the beach club. The Beach Club is really what makes this place stand above many...it is truly a mini resort away from the hotel . Laid out very well with everything you need and such a short distance away from the hotel. A nice pool, beautiful beach, bar/ restaurant under palapas, local vendors and amazing staff. At the end of the 2 weeks many of the staff felt like family! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Superb beach club, location, staff, cleanliness
The weak points
Variety of food at dinner, poor wifi ( not in rooms), poor lighting over pool table in lounge
Certified

Great Value. A favorite with Canadians

, Cremona, AB
2015-01-04
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Smaller hotel is clean, absolutely no mildew or mustiness (important for me as I have allergies), comfortable, unpretentious, a favorite with value conscious Canadians. It is close to local shopping and wharf area,has friendly helpful staff. The food was good, more like home-cooked Mexican, tastier than the big hotel buffets. The only problem was bug bites, it is a tropical area, so take lots of really good DEET bug spray. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, staff.
The weak points
lack of evening entertainment
Certified

Castillo Huatulco is all about the people

, Selkirk, MB
2015-01-02
My wife and I stayed at the Castillo over Christmas 2014 and we absolutely loved the experience. The staff was amazing and were extremely helpful in all ways. The value of this hotel is astounding. We had a King Size bed and every morning there was fresh water and our maids would leave rose petals on the bedspread. The food wasn't the greatest but it was better than a lot of other places I've stayed in the past. It was a clean comfortable hotel with a great staff and good food. The exchange rate at the hotel was actually better than that of the bank down the street. Due to the concrete construction of the hotel internet access was limited to the pool area. Fortunately our room overlooked the pool so we had internet in our room most of the time. We absolutely loved the Castillo. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Value, location, amenities,
The weak points
Food wasn't great, internet access
Certified

Castillo Review

, Regina, SK
2014-12-04
Excellent location. Beach club is awesome. Was excellent for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent location. Food was okay and the hotel and rooms were very clean. We will come back for sure.
The weak points
No fridge in the room.
Certified

Great, relaxing holiday

, Anola, MB
2014-11-27
We had a great, relaxing holiday at Castillo where the staff are friendly. The location is great as we were able to do alot of walking. The public beach across the street was great for snorkelling. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, typical Mexican food
The weak points
It would have been great if there was coffee available all day ie: coffee maker in our rooms or in lobby
Certified

Castillo hotel

, Martensville, SK
2014-11-08
it was a great hotel and the people were really nice and treated us very good our guides were superb and very knowledgeable and curtious and went out off there way to make sure that we were safe and not going to be taken advantage of by the local people around the hotel. Thanks a lot to the men and women at the Castillo hotel [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
a very good place to have a vacation for the money we spent.
The weak points
they could improve on the selection of foods at dinner time.
Certified

Warm sunny friendly Huatulco

, Calgary, AB
2013-12-26
Castillo Huatulco is a very pleasant small Mexican hotel in the heart of Santa Cruz. It has no activity staff or organized activities, but has amazing and accommodating staff, good basic food, and a wonderful beach club. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The friendly helpful staff who will accommodate any request quickly and efficiently.
The weak points
Too many Canadian visitors who insist on chain smoking in the public areas.
Certified

Fun in the sun

, Stonewall, MB
2013-12-20
We enjoyed the small size of this hotel and the location, Staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and wifi was accessible in our room. It is a short walk to the Santa Cruz marina area that is full of great places to eat and listen to live music. Cafe Huatulco and other restaurants near the water have entertainment most nights. This hotel is great if you enjoy small hotels with not a lot of frills. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location was great and beach was good
The weak points
Limited variety on buffet
Certified

Great Please

, Toronto, ON
2013-12-12
Hotel was modest but appeared to have been completely refurbished. Can't say a bad thing about it. For a 2.5 star hotel it was beyond expectations [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very very clean
The weak points
no weak points
Certified

Great vacation

, Port Elgin, ON
2013-12-10
The hotel is nice and clean. The staff are excellent. The food could be a little better but it was okay. Had a great time met lots of nice people. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff & location
The weak points
Food
Certified

Huatulco get away

, Rocky Mountain House, AB
2013-12-07
The hotel was smaller then what we are used to but it was a nice change. We got to know a lot of the other guests at the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helped us in any way they could. All in all a very relaxing and peaceful vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
We went there to relax and relaxing is what we got.
The weak points
The food was a little plain and not much selection.
Certified

Great Value

, Kanata, ON
2013-11-11
Courteous helpful staff. Good food. Two and a half stars does not do it justice. It is a great place at a great price - a place to come back to. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Near the harbour and the town. Immersed in mexican life and culture.
The weak points
Internet a little week. The beach is good for swimming only when the waves are down.
Certified

Budget hotel

, Chilliwack, BC
2013-04-18
great location. you can explore on foot, andor cheap cab. the beach club and shuttle worked for us, and we heard no complaints from other travellers. this is not a resort as others have said, but a decent place to hang your hat. nothing to rave about....bottled beer was nice, bottled water is available you just ask any staff and they ll get the key and get the bottles for you. we would return based on costs. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location very easy to get around
The weak points
food and restraunt service
Certified

Definitely will revisit

, Regina, SK
2012-03-16
The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. We had a bit of a communication problem as we don't speak Spanish and there are not too many employees that speak English but we all had fun with it. The buffet consists of a very Mexican style Cuisine including good fish, but there are lots of alternatives for those who don't have a zest for this. The location is fantastic with the Marina across the street, the market down the block and the beach club is minutes away with bus transportation supplied by the hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean, relaxing, and excellent location.
The weak points
Would not recommend for persons looking for clubs and partying.
Certified

A Real Mexican Hotel

, Kamloops, BC
2011-11-24
The Castillo Huatulco is not a high priced luxury resort with numerous bars and restaurants occupied by gringos and that's just the way we like it. It's smallish, clean, friendly and Mexican. The buffet is just fine, I like the breakfasts the best but keep in mind that the food choices cater to Mexican guests who are the vast majority of the occupants. The dinners buffets get a little repetitive so we go out about half of the evenings. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, small, great beach club, lovely staff. Close to town and non Hotel acitivies.
The weak points
Repetitive buffet choices
Certified

Not a mega resort

, Sherwood Park , AB
2011-02-13
Wonderful basic hotel, clean, and friendly staff.

Food choice is limited but has interesting things.
Not a place for those who want it to be like home with a beach.

The elevator is something you want to avoid as it was an adventure ride. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, quiet, bottle beer Close to town Wonderful beach club
The weak points
Elevator No menu service at the beach club
Certified

Castillo Huatulco

, Odssa, ON
2011-01-26
This was our second time here and enjoyed it as much as the first time. The staff is very accommodating and most speak some english. My spanish is very limited, but we always were understood.
The food choice is good with a nice variety at both the hotel and the beach club. If you like fish you will get your fill. Since this is a Mexican hotel, the food was 100% Mexican including the fried crickets..yum.
Santa Cruz is a very small quiet village with a large harbour and a dock for tour ships but generally when the sun goes down the "quiet" starts. Just what we ordered. There are plenty of clubs in Crucecita and near the other large hotels.
We're going back next year, great value for money. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great value, clean, quiet, within walking distance from Crucecita and the hotel's beach club, very friendly.
The weak points
The hotel needs some upgrades, nothing serious. Keep in mind this is not the 'Ritz".
Certified

Excellent Vacation

, Burlington, ON
2011-01-15
Hotel & restaurant were very clean, friendly staff, pool at hotel and at private Beach Club (about 5 min.by shuttle) - along with playground, hammocks, restaurant and lovely beach but strong surf. Food more mexican and staff not english speaking but good for anyone practicing their spanish. Not resort but in center of town. $2. by taxi to Le Crecucita. Not party area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, close also to public beach and Marina, safe for walking - NOT AMERICANIZED
The weak points
Strong surf at beach club- but lots of other beaches in area to try.
Certified

Dec 2010

, Regina, SK
2010-12-30
Friendly staff, centrally located, beautiful beaches. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The beach club, even though the hotel is not located directly on the beach, the beach is not busy, and not a lot of "sales people". Central location, close to the main town.
The weak points
Not a big selection on the food front, but it was good. Hard beds (never thought that would be an issue for me, but they really are hard).
Certified

A delightful vacation destination.

, Innisfail, AB
2010-12-16
From the moment we arrived until we had to leave, the entire experience was much more than advertised! We especially enjoyed the attentive and friendly staff. the proximity to the shopping made walking around always interesting. And no hard sell merchants to contend with! Not sure why the hotel doesn't receive a higher rating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The Staff, the Food, the Cleanliness.
The weak points
Beds were a bit firmer than used to.
Certified

Quiet, Peaceful and Relaxing

, Hague, SK
2010-02-10
WE are in our mid 50 s and really enjoyed the Castillo. If you are looking for late night action, this is not the place for you as the bar closes at 11 pm

Room:
-Beds were firm, but we slept well
-Shower was great, we never ran out of hot water
- Air cond worked fine

Beach:
- There is always a red flag as the waves break right at the shore, if you can swim you will enjoy it.

Lunch at the Beach Club was terrific, good selection and we found the service was excellent

We enjoyed the 10-15 min walk to the beach, usually were ther by 8:15 and stayed until 4-5pm

Hotel is on the harbour where the cruise ships dock, so there is lots of restaurants, bars and shopping right across the street.

We ate out twice, first at the restaurant just to the left of the church at the harbour and we met some friends at the Barcelo and went to Dom Porfino s where we had jumbo prawns bbq on a wood fired bbq, both meals were excellent. Finished off the night at the Tipsy Blowfish

All in all a very nice relaxing holiday, with great weather. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiet well run hotel
The weak points
none
Certified

Hotel Castillo is Nice.

, Regina, SK
2010-01-27
The hotel was great. Smaller hotel, with smaller rooms yet comfortable. Traditional Mexican beds, a bit firmer than we are used to. The staff was very nice and friendly. The Pool was clean and very quiet during the day. Private Beach was nice. Waves/Tide was a bit rough for small children, red-flagged every day. Nice pool at the private beach. They are creating a new road beside the hotel; therefor it was quite noisy with the construction. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The pool and beaches were never over crowded. Smaller hotel, so you got to know the staff and other guests.
The weak points
The construction near by was quite noisy during the day.
Certified

Second Stay

, Ardrossan, AB
2010-01-23
Hotel was basically the same as last year and what we expected, however we did notice a decrease in the service at the beach club. The food selection did not waver from day to day and did not offer chicken or ham and cheese sandwiches this year. the wait staff at the beach club also seemed very lax, and took some prodding from their manager to actually work. Also the bar in the main hotel ran out of beer very quickly. this seemed ridiculous for an all inclusive. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Quiant and down to earth. Quiet and catered to not only Canadians but also Mexicans.
The weak points
Food selection at the beach club. Beer shortages.
Certified

AS EXPECTED

, Shelburne , ON
2010-01-11
WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AT HOTEL CASTILLO, THE STAFF WERE SO ATTENTIVE AND THE HOTEL WAS VERY VERY CLEAN, IF YOU MADE EYE CONTACT WITH ANYONE THEY CAME TO YOU ASKING WHAT YOU MAY NEED. WE WOULD GO BACK AGAIN FOR SURE! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
CLEANLINESS/SERVICE
The weak points
FOOD COULD BE A BIT BETTER
Certified

Christmas 2009

, Penhold, AB
2010-01-03
Check in was fast and courteous, the service was above and beyond expectations, the beach club was great. Overall, this is a small hotel that excells over the big ones. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff was exceptional, room cleanliness, food selection was great
The weak points
lobby/street front lounge
Certified

Hotel, not a resort

, Fergus, ON
2009-11-21
This place is really just a hotel, not a resort as would be expected by many Canadian travellers. There are no activities, entertainment, facilities, etc. I got the impression that they don't do a lot of all-inclusive packages, most of their clientelle is locals (Mexicans) who are there on vacation, but not all inclusive. We had a good time and love the area, but wouldn't return to this hotel. Food choices were disappointing - they offered a menu on 3 of our 7 nights instead of the buffet, and it was the same as the lunch menu, so the options were limited. The price was fairly inexpensive and if you are looking to stay somewhere clean and very quiet, then this place would be suitable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
loved being in town, facilities were clean and most staff were quite friendly Was quite close to La Crucciecta for shopping and nightlife. mostly Mexican guests, so very much was a part of the local culture
The weak points
1.food was okay, not great - very few choices - too many sauces 2.no activities at all - no daytime volleyball, water aerobics, nothing 3. beach club was farther than I thought and water has quite a bit of undertow, so not good for non-swimmers
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020