Riu Cancun

Riu Cancun
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 201 reviews
#8 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (23)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12345

Not impressed, won't book RIU in future

, Edmonton, AB
2020-03-11
First time on international vacation and definitely not choose this hotel again. My headphones were stolen from my room, front desk staff was dismissive & didn't understand English, GYM was 1/10 spa services 1/10 buffet was same every night. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach was alright but hotel was blocking sun 50% of time.
The weak points
Housekeeping, very few hotel staff could communicate in English, no hot water or even warm in shower
Certified

Good trip

, Vancouver, BC
2020-01-13
Everything was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice beach Nice staff Very good food
Certified

Good trip to Cancun!

, Kanata, ON
2019-03-19
Travelled to Riu Cancun during Canadian March break 2019, family of 4.

Food: Very good, large variety at buffet, i.e seafood, pastas, meats, Asian food, Mexican food, desserts, etc. All three meals, breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the buffet(Miramar/Turquesa) were very delicious.
Often they had grill at the pool for lunch.
All a la carte restaurants(Japanese/Steakhouse/Italian/Kulinarium) were amazing! Fantastic service by waiters, bar staff, kitchen staff, and resort throughout.

Beach: White sand, clear turquoise water, some areas have rocks on the ocean floor, plenty of beach loungers available at all times.

Pools: 3 pools in total, family oriented one, swim up bar adults pool, and a quiet pool with a warm tub.

Rooms: Great views of beach and ocean, clean, beds so so, weak sound insulation therefore can hear neighbors.

Property: Modern, medium sized, clean.

Amenities: Very close to bars, restaurants, flea markets, malls, etc. VERY SAFE! Lots to do, mainly tourists everywhere.

Entertainment staff: Funny, skilled(dancing), interactive, give 100% to entertain there guests. Shows at night were really good, i.e Bruno Mars, Madonna, Beyonce, to classics like Queen, Guns and roses, Abba, Cher, etc.

We would return but not during any spring break, alot of obnoxious (Brits/Americans/young men and women) drinking, swearing, returning from the discos after hours and making noise in hallways and rooms. Called security and they dealt with it fairly quick. Lack of washrooms available around beach/pool area, one by sports bar, one in lobby, and one in quiet pool area.
Good vacation overall, loved Cancun! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, property, near by amenities, beach, entertainment
The weak points
Lack of washrooms near pool/ beach area, room walls to thin, spring break attracts undesirable patrons.

Overall great experience

, Surrey, BC
2019-03-18
Great location, nice beaches, buffet, restaurants. Only one type of local beer available, 2 single beds in room, which makes tough to sleep for couple. Shower drain is clogged up and water was pooling on the bathroom floor. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location, nice beaches, buffet, restaurants, room mini bar
The weak points
Room, Bathroom, less drinking options, only one kind of beer.
Certified

Small details take away from great experience

, Toronto, ON
2019-03-05
Overall we had a very good time at the Riu Cancun, but a few incidents / lack of quality makes me question the 5 star rating. My experience is split in two as we had to change room half way through our stay due to very strong fresh paint smell in the first room one day (which were preceded by loud construction the morning off starting around 7am). The first room was on top floor, amazing view of the ocean, super comfortable bed and terrible shower with barely more than trinket of water. The second one had barely a view, was at the very end of the corridor so close to street that we could hear traffic through the night, not so comfortable bed, lackluster service (room not cleaned one day for ex) but awesome shower.

The food was overall quite good and even really great in two of the restaurants, including fantastic lunch fare at one of them; yet some of it was terrible beyond anything that should be served, especially in a 5 star resort. The steakhouse served the worse meat I ever ate: thin, rubbery and tasteless.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean but some areas in need of refurbishment definitely (bathrooms definitely). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great views multiple pools quiet spots great restaurants (Kulinarium and Toscana) Comfortable bed (for one of them) responsive staff wifi accessibility
The weak points
Terrible restaurant (steakhouse in particular) Rooms not sound proof nor smell proof smoking on covered patio where smoke lingers no non-smoking pool side area Hotel shadow large portion of the beach early afternoon
Certified

They are just not a 5 stars hotel

, Richmond Hill, ON
2018-10-08
We were in this hotel five years ago. At the time we thought it was great, the Mexican Hacienda décor, the food, the staff. This time it was different. There is no more Mexican décor, it was renovated and I frankly do not know what type of décor it is now. I realize we paid almost the same price we paid five years ago. Now we know why.

The good:

1) Hardworking staff (hope they get paid fairly because they are very professional and attentive). Cleaning staff looking after the facilities all the time. The bartenders were really busy and attentive (very thankful if you tip them, but never asked for it). Even the guy that replenished the minifridge made a point of bringing the coolest beer cans from the vacated rooms.

2) Amazing oceanview from almost every spot in the hotel.

3) The basic internet was good (two devices per room). I was able to stream Netflix with the basic option at no extra charge.

4) Location. There is a good grocery store (Selecto Chedraui). You can get some of the toiletries there if you travel light. Also, if you want some variety of food, you can get good supplies there. I loved their "Conchas" pastries, Shrimp Cocktail. We got good wine, some cookies and chips, etc. You can buy tequila too. Just beware of the guys at the entrance trying to sell you trips and timeshare-scam that Cancun is famous for. Just ignore them.... Also, there is a Starbucks shop across the street.

The bad:

1) Food at the buffet was always the same (my husband called it the Dejavu buffet). I noticed that some food/drinks were so bad they just went to waste (people just don't eat/drink it). It is a shame as good Mexican food is now mainstream, they should be able to leverage that.

2) The pools and jacuzzi may benefit from a thorough/constant cleaning.

Also, beware that the room is very basic: two sleeves of soap and shampoo/bath gel in the shower. No coffee machine (they do have a hairdryer, iron, mini fridge in the room).

Overall it was a good vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location...A good grocery store and a Starbucks shop across the street
The weak points
In a balance between economy and quality, I think RIU prefers economy. This goes for food, drinks, and even the pool cleanliness.
Certified

Wow.

, Vancouver, BC
2018-09-26
The title says it all . I have never in my life been to a better hotel . It was literally paradise. We loved every minute there . The staff there work super hard to make sure you're looked after every second of the time that you are there . Food was fantastic every night and we spent two nights in the steak house and it was phenomenal . Rooms cleaned to perfection every day and the whole hotel was immaculate . Highly recommend, already looking at flights to go back again next year for a longer holiday ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food Staff Grounds Cleanliness Pool Entertainment
The weak points
I literally cannot think of one thing that I would complain about we just had the best time there
Certified

Riu cancun

, Dsl Drummond, NB
2018-03-26
Everything was good except for Chinese restaurant we didn't like but the rest was super and for the beach was nice and clean keep up with the good work [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu cancun

, Ridgeway, ON
2017-08-15
We have been going to the riu for many years & will continue for many more . The hotel is so clean & the staff never stop cleaning . All the staff are so friendly & will do anything to help. Very wheelchair accessible which is important for me . Great work riu staff! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super clean, friendly staff, safe , wheelchair accessible
Certified

Riu Cancun Early Feb 2017

, Regina, SK
2017-02-13
Large resort but very good staff throughout. Restaurants were very good except the Sports Bar does not have much to offer. Microwave hotdogs and hamburgers does NOT make up for no room service Cleaning staff were always busy except our ocean view was limited due to salty glass. We needed to clean it ourselves as nothing was done after complaining Also access to our room was horrible with key card demagnetized almost daily [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff and restaurants
The weak points
Room access key cards unreliable and glass on terrace
Certified

LOVE

, Edmonton, HA
2016-08-13
Super clean and the food was really good. They cleaned the beach from seaweed that washed up every couple days and every other day they had a bbq with burgers, chicken, hotdogs and nachos. Our room floor was always mopped which was awesome and we were able to have wifi on our balcony. Hotel staff were very helpful and restaurant staff catered to all of our needs. We did not have our glass reach half empty because they were always filling our glasses and immediately taking our plates away that we finished. Everyday there was someone going around the pool every couple hrs to collect drinks that were left on the tables or side of the pool of the swim up bar so nothing would spill into the pool. If you were wanting to go to the night market or clubbing it was only a 10min walk but if you wanted to go to the mall you would need to catch a bus or a cab that would take about 10-15min to get to the mall . Would definitely go back again ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
clean beach and pools, strong ac in the lobby and rooms, good food
The weak points
need more food choices in sports bar
Certified

Rui Cancun

, Robin Gill, SK
2016-03-28
Just back from a 5 day stay in the Riu Cancun. The hotel is in a great location, just steps away from shopping, night life, bars and restaurants. The beach is good, you can walk quite a ways one direction and is located by the water taxi to Isla Mujeres or Playa. The hotel is warm and welcoming, good staff! The rooms are great, nice bedding, and again, really clean! My one complaint would be that there are no toiletries available in the room other than bar soap, and a soap dispenser/shampoo all in one in the shower-bring your own as its not the greatest! I think a hotel rated 5 stars should have at least body lotion! The hotel was almost full during my stay, and there were always beach chairs available. Around 3:00 you start to loose the sun. There is an excellent public beach on the other side of pier, you can use street access to reach it. It is really wavy, bring a boogie board. There are ladies doing massages there and they are pretty good, about $35US for a 1 hour massage. The food was excellent in the buffet, good variety. I ate in the Italian restaurant, and it was okay, I think the buffet is better. During my stay the hotel was around 85% spring breakers-was a bit concerned after checking in, but the staff did a good job of keeping things under control. I took the water taxi to Isla for the afternoon, and it was a nice change of place. No need for a golf cart, as it is an easy walk around town and to the beach, and what a beach! All in all it was a relaxing get away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
location, staff
The weak points
no toilietries in room-make sure you bring your own
Certified

Best hotel & staff ever!!!

, Ridgeway, ON
2016-03-17
We have been going to the riu cancun for the past 12 years. 2x per year . Absolutely not one single complaint! Staff are the most amazing you will ever find! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff amazing, food excellent variety
The weak points
Not a single complaint
Certified

Worst hotel I've been too in cancun

, New Westminster, BC
2016-03-05
My experience was horrible and will never return again ...
They charged me extra 400 US for a upgrade to a kings size !
I was traveling with my husband and an 8month old child and when we got to our room the sink was leaking I called reception, to let them know and they advised me they will send someone ! No no showed up and I was there for 7 days...
The next morning I went to go pull off covers to get the service ppl to clean sheets and I found blood on my sheets that didn't belong to me our anyone in my family !! Was very disgusting !!!!
I told reception to give me a new room since they charged me 400 US when I showed up ! She said they will clean room ... They didn't even seem consered !!! We left and when we returned the bed was made ... I asked my husband to go check to see if the sheets where changed and he check and the blood was still there ... I had to go down an 2nd time and let them know that they just made the bed and didn't change all the sheets as I asked for .... Still no one said sorry !!!
Then finally the next time we looked it was changed , I couldn't see at night cause of that !!!
How does an hotel not have room service ?? I had to pack my sleeping baby up to go get a snack .... Some night I didn't even bother eating cause I didn't want to wake my baby up to go downstairs to eat !! The room I was in was 919
On the upside the waiters and the pool staff were very nice !!
The food was good but it was the same food each night with no theme like other hotels I've been too in cancun !!! This hotel was very small !
I been to cancun many times before and this hotel was my worst experience ... They didn't even offer to refund me back for the 400 US I spent on a kingsize room that had someone else's blood on the sheets... Disgusting !disgusting! disgusting !!
Will never refer anyone to this hotel ever !
We return to cancun in September 2016 and will never stay here .... [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU Cancun Dec 2015

, Regina, SK
2016-02-22
Spent three nights at the RIU Cancun. Check-in was a breeze, had room on ground floor, overlooking quiet pool and had a surprisingly great ocean view! Had problems with room safe but staff was quick to fix that same night. Restaurant reservations were easily done at the customer service desk in the lobby and she was very accommodating, especially since we were only there for three nights. We got a la carte reservations for the two nights after our arrival. Hotel was not full at the time we were there, so made it easier for us to get into the a la cartes. If hotel is close to full or during a busier time, try to get there as soon as you can to get the reservations you want. Buffet only serves wine and beer, so if you want something else alcoholic to drink with your meal, get it at the bar and bring it in. Had no issues with meals/food. Always found something great to eat. Spent most of our time at the quiet pool and beach at that end of the resort. Found the pool bar to be a bit dirty and scummy with drinks floating around, but this falls all on the guests. More of a younger crowd and is in close proximity to all the clubs so a great resort for them location-wise. Rooms were plain but clean. Lovely resort. Would recommend to others wanting a great location in the Cancun area. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location
Pro

Great Holiday

, Langley, BC
2015-12-09
We travelled as a couple End of November and we had a wonderful vacation! Check in was super smooth and easy really no complaints there. The rooms were decent, very clean, had an amazing view (Room 826). Everything about this hotel reminded me of Vegas! The staff was great! Always maids cleaning! Resort was always very clean! Bartenders were awesome although sometimes hard to understand. The entertainment team was absolutely amazing working hard from morning to night to keep guests entertained! Buffet food was awesome always something good to eat really couldn't complain! It was everything we expected and more. The only 2 downfalls or disappointments we had were with the amount of smoking which I know we cannot do anything about but being non-smokers it was a bit much for us and our check-out experience. The staff that checked us out was kind of rude. They took room keys, towel cards and cut off bracelets and that was it, did not ask us how our stay was or thank us or say good-bye. We got handed a piece of paper stating we checked out but could still eat and drink until we left. We asked if we could have towels as we weren't leaving resort until 4pm and got told only if we leave ID with them which I was not comfortable with. Other than that really great time had lots of fun and would do it again! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the staff! Cleanliness of resort!
The weak points
Check-out, too much smoking, having to chase the sun around the building (disappears around 3 behind building) then have to try and find it on beach.
Certified

RIU CANCUN

, Calgary, AB
2015-10-05
I know it is Mexico after all, but for those who would like to know the details:

• The front desk didn't have my request for separate beds (I was traveling with my mom, so I made 100% sure I sent my request for separate beds), they made me go down to the front desk in order to take my request after my long day flight…They left me without a room for 4 hours just because they wanted me out of my room before they can assign a new room. Checkout by 11am, and then check in back at 2:20pm. Ridiculous!!
• A la carte restaurants are a complete joke, don't waste your time just go to the only buffet available. (Better food by far). Food and drinks are pre-served so when you ask for something is cold, dry or watery.
• A la carte restaurants can only be reserved in person, one at the time, and two days in advance… No app is used for reservations or entertainment shows, all is handled with old fashioned Mexican bureaucracy…
• No bar or drink service by the beach area, biggest flaw of them all, you end up tired and thirsty after expending time on the beach!!!
• No transfer to visit sister resorts
• Check out guy wanted me to go and talk to the bellman to request my luggage to be pick up from my room. (They told me to leave them in there in the first place!!)
• No appreciation for my vacation time, lack of friendliness from the front desk staff. Sad, sad, sad.
• Ongoing repairs of elevators, unfinished repairs exposed to customers
• Leaking roof and damped smell in rooms too on 15 floor (Stay away from floor 15, there is a major problem with that leaking roof)
• Cheater door in between rooms allows noises and smells to transfer in between rooms.

I omitted all these details and still managed to have a decent time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location Most employees are working really hard to serve you, management is the one not doing their job. Airport transfers Main buffet
The weak points
Too little room for the weak points, please check review details above..
Certified

De belles vacances

, Carignan, QC
2015-03-02
Hôtel bien situé avec une vue sur l'océan quelque soit votre chambre. On y mange très bien, le personnel est courtois.

Situé tout près des discothèques et des commerces. Un endroit intéressant comme choix.

Le gros bémol de cet endroit, l'accès internet qui est plus que limité. Un autre poids majeur, du fait que l'hôtel est très haut, dès 3h l'après-midi vous devez quitter les piscines et descendre sur la plage si vous désirez du soleil.

La nourriture est bonne dans les restaurants à la carte mais j'ai préféré de loin les buffets qui sont variés, chauds etc...

Pour ceux qui aiment l'animation, il n'en manque pas aux piscines. Par contre le soir... les spectacles sont poches. SVP enlever les soirées karaoke.... c'est endormant et les touristes fuient!

Transport à 2 secondes devant l'hôtel pour aller magasiner. Allez au Plaza Las Americas dans le vieux Cancun... vous en aurez pour votre argent.

Je recommande quand même l'endroit, si internet n'est pas nécessaire pour vous et que d'avoir de l'ombrage en milieu de journée non plus. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
localisation de l'endroit, propreté
The weak points
internet et animation le soir
Certified

Nice trip!

, Montreal, QC
2014-11-20
Clean and nice hotel. Food is highly recommended. 90-min free WiFi everyday is good, compared with other hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the staffs are nice and the room is clean. Buffet restaurant is excellent!
The weak points
beach is not so large, but the pools are very nice.
Certified

Riu Cancun Feb 26-Mar5

, Winnipeg, MB
2014-03-07
absolutely loved the Riu Cancun. The staff aare very friendly and helpful. The room is a little outdated but very clean. There was always somebody refilling our mini bar with water, beer or pop. If you run out of tequila there is always a new bottle. we especially liked the liquor dispenser since we didn't have to run down if we wanted an alcoholic drink. The food was fantastic whether at the buffet and especially the Japanese restaurant. I normally do not like sushi but it was awesome here. The check in and check out was very efficient and quick. Would return again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food and service and cleanliness
The weak points
need to improve on house wine
Certified

Awesome!

, Edmonton, AB
2014-03-03
This hotel is awesome! Excellent service. Good and plentiful food. Large beautiful beach. Large, clean room overlooking the beach. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach. Clean rooms. Great food. Many bars.
The weak points
Wi-Fi was limited to 90 consecutive minutes per day in the lobby.
Certified

BELOW EXPECTATIONS

, Toronto, ON
2014-02-20
very disappointed...not sure how this hotel can be considered 5 star...it was no more than a 3 star hotel. the staff on the other hand were very stupendous -just wonderful. very small and rocky beach... hotel in photos does not match actual hotel. if you are used to a 5 star hotel - this one will be extremely disappointing to you [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the hotel staff...especially reception were wonderful
The weak points
the age of the hotel, the boiling hot glass elevators, the rooms, the lack of any soap/shampoo etc in room, the very poor air conditioning, the small rocky beach, the no-name alcohol
Certified

Stay in Cancun

, Markham, ON
2014-02-17
overall it was a very nice property and service was good as well. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good location with some shopping, bars and clubs more for young crowd but safe and clean. Free Internet access in lobby only for 90 min/day which is good.
The weak points
Beach is clean but small
Certified

Awesome fun time at the RIO

, Victoria, BC
2014-02-15
The most friendly and caring staff, great pools, nice beach and perfect for relaxing. Loved the food. It's fairly loud around here and more of a party atmosphere which is what we wanted so we loved it.

The room was pretty great and the only thing we didn't like was the florescent lights in the bathroom. A small problem to have when everything else is so great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
food, staff, pools
The weak points
sun is off the pools by 2pm everyday and completely off the resort and beaches by 4:30pm as the resort blocks it from coming in.
Certified

Nice hotel

, Northyork, ON
2014-02-12
nice hotel 5 star quality service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Riu is one of the biggest brand everyone know the hotel
The weak points
over all can accept
Certified

It's ok

, Calgary, AB
2014-01-24
It felt more like 3 stars [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Nice location Good food
The weak points
Room
Certified

Riu Cancun

, London, ON
2014-01-15
This was my second time going to this resort, nothing much has changed since last year. The staff are very welcoming, there is lots to do during the day around the resort and the nightly entertainment is great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was great,lots of bars throughtout the resort, lot of avaialble beach chairs, the entertainment at night was awesome
The weak points
wifi service wasn't great, the beach is very small
Certified

Riu Cancun - December 2013

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-17
The Riu Cancun is a location that excels in service. All staff were pleasant and constantly active, even to the point of sweeping up miniscule particles from the walkways. The food was good quality and plentiful, but much the same over our 7 day stay. The room was large and included a king bed, dresser, night tables, 2 chairs and table. In a serated area was a large double door closet, minibar and fridge. Also there was a large seperate bathroom with double sinks, tun/shower and toilet. Minor suggestions for improvements would be to change the mattress covering to fabric to make it more breathable, and improve the comfort level of lobby and hall furniture (the cusions are thin and worn) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and cleanliness
The weak points
Small beach for the number of rooms, uncomfortable lobby furniture
Certified

Nice hotel

, Mississauga, ON
2013-12-05
Great foods. Nice beach and excellent services. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Family friendly hotel. Great foods, nice beach, good services and one of the best locations in Cancun. Hope to return again.
The weak points
Housekeeping can be improved.
Certified

Riu Cancun Nov 20-27/2013

, Barrie, ON
2013-12-03
Beautiful hotel, wonderful staff and fantastic food. The beach is a bit small, but the sand is white and the water is a wonderful blue! Lots of lounge chairs on the beach and around the pools so no need to head out early to reserve your spot. The only complaint I would have is the sun dips behind the hotel around 3pm and you are left in the shade. This was way too early for us to end our day out, so "danger hour" we called it when we started drinking! lol! The only suggestion I have is a no smoking sign near the outdoor eating area. Not very nice when you are having breakfast or lunch and people are blowing smoke at you. David's bar was the best place in the evening to relax and hang out and he was always ready with your favorite drink. All of the staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for you. Great week away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful hotel, clean and amazing staff.
The weak points
Having the sun disappear around 3pm behind the hotel since it is so tall was disappointing.
Certified
pages: 12345

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020