Nyx Hotel Cancun

Nyx Hotel Cancun
4.104.104.104.104.10
4.10 based on 122 reviews
#7 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4 stars
Traveller pictures (65)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Wonderful stay

, Winnipeg, MB
2019-02-28
Absolutely adorable hotel in a front ocean line with white sand shore and a palm yard. The Desk restaurant is over any expectations. The Italian one can be an example for all other restaurants of Cancun in terms of dish service, a variety of gorgeous Italian desserts, types of wine etc. Roman served us the last night before departure and we were impressed by his work. The bell boy did his job fantastically, always with a smile and great attitudes. Love LOVE LOVE [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurants, service, beach, DJ, and bands each night
The weak points
Cleaning of the room can be better. The first impression after check-in was not pleasant because the room was complete in the dust. Then we started paying tips for room maintenance, our room was perfect
Certified

You get what you pay for

, Kamloops, BC
2017-02-11
We got an amazing deal at Nyx hotel. And overall, it was really decent and mostly good considering what we pay. This is not a fancy resort but it does have a lot of potential and they are working hard to make this resort appealing. The good... we ended up with an ocean view room after not being able to put up with the noise in the main building where the room was at first. We want to thank Jonathan for making this happen and really hearing our concern. The beach at the Nyx is marvelous and can't get any better. The food is mostly great especially their authentic Mexican dishes. They have some great chefs at dinner and the food presentation and taste is fabulous. We did not like restaurant style lunches and would have preferred to have a buffet for lunch instead as it often took a while to get the food. The service is hit and miss. Some staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. We would like to acknowledge Eddy and Erik for their great service. But there were number of staff who were either indifferent or even grumpy and unfriendly. I am not sure if that was because they didn't speak English or because they expected bigger tips. Room service was hit and miss as well. The entertainment was "modern" and usually too loud. We were glad to be in a tower away from it. Overall, it was a good enough experience and a very good value resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Breakfast and dinner food; price; the beach; location; internet service.
The weak points
Entertainment too loud and limited; lack of buffet for lunch; no consistent water replacement in the room.
Certified

Cancun Vacation

, Stuartburn, MB
2017-01-21
We had wonderful service and everyone was very accommodating. Johnathan the activity coordinator was very good and entertaining. I enjoyed the food and my stay very much. The only thing that I was expecting was an elevator by the 7 th day my legs were getting sore probably because of my car accident a year ago and I had a broken leg and sprained ankle from the accident. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Activity coordinator
The weak points
Lack of elevator
Certified

A place to stay if you dont want to do much.

, Toronto, ON
2016-11-25
NYX hotel is a place to stay if youve been to Cancun several times. There is really nothing to do here except for the live band nightly but finishes around 2230 ish. Food is excellent at first but got tired by the end of our stay. Breakfast is alright. I was just getting the omelette almost everyday. Waffles are soggy even when freshly made. Lunch is a lacarte, where you choose off the menu. Menu given to you is the same everyday. Dinner is a la carte also with some of the choices from the lunch menu. Appetizers and soup buffet changes almost every night.
The service is good. One waiter i did not appreciate was a man named Arturo. At first, he was alright. But the next time we saw him. What a snob! haha maybe our tip was not enough the first time. Anyway, Id like to give a shout out who EDDY who is very attentive with or without tip. A very passionate and perfectionist!:D I mean I have no problems with giving tips. I even prepared myself giving out tips and changed bills to singles 1's,5's and 10's to every person serving us.
Room (1502)
We were on a junior suite. It was clean
The room was quite spacious. It looked bigger in the picture. We had an ocean view. Unfortunately, we were placed in the older building. yayks! Its alright we get to see the entertainment show they always have next door which is the BEACH PALACE. lol
Beach area was excellent except for the strong currents that led to red flags almost everyday. Maybe because of the dates we chose. Mid NOV. Enough palapas to lounge on.

Massage people are a little agressive selling their "promotions".

Oh and theres a contruction going on both sides of the building. You can hear them drilling from the beach. haha.

All in all an okay stay compare with the price of other hotels in Cancun [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great getaway

, Alliston, ON
2016-05-17
This hotel is very well laid out, everything is easy to get too. We stayed on the 5th floor centre, what a view. It is the staff and the food that made this resort 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Head chef Antonio was very kind to the guest but also to his staff
The weak points
Drinks were very strong, be careful> Grimmer and Antonio are great bartenders
Certified

Our first trip to Cancun

, Coal Harbour, BC
2016-04-06
The beach was ok, service was good on most days. Wifi was slow in our room and that was when we were able to connect, would have been nice to have more than one option for meals but overall it was good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Antonio at the pool bar was amazing. The location was good, just a short bus ride into town. Check in was fast and easy, the bellhop brought all our luggage up to our room. Resort was somewhat small but we found it easy to get around.
The weak points
The menu was repetitive and when asked for more bottled water and coffee in our room we were denied. No nightly entertainment
Certified

Nice Hotel, with more potential ...

, Montreal, QC
2016-01-24
Hotel itself I'd give a 4 star.
Stayed in Master suite(newer tower)also a 4 star
The food, oh my goodness, very very disappointed, 90% time served COLD !
Except for breakfast, very good.
Very little variety for lunch,beach menu and dinner, only one restaurant, so don't expect much.
Many thanks to the following staff:
RECEPTION: Rebeca, professional and very pleasant, thank you for a very quick and easy check-in.
WAITERS: Alberta, Richard,Edwin and Alex,regardless of the "cold food" they did their best.
EXECUTIVE CHEF: Antonio, thank you
BREAKFAST CHEF: Edgar, you did an amazing job, one chef for all hotel.
BELLBOY: Carlos, thank you for being so charming and helpfull
The nightly entertainment is short,located at The DECK (only restaurant)not much room to dance,even if you wanted to. Once done not much more to do, no music anywhere, very disappointing.
BARTENDERS: BEWARE! They are super nasty, Alexander, you are one of them, never smiled, rude and ignored travellers requests?? Another one through water bottles in sink when I requested one ??
POOLS: Were cold :(
I DO NOT GIVE THIS HOTEL MORE THAN 3 STARS, ESPECIALLY FOR FOOD, 2.5
I enjoy writing positive reviews, unfortunetly, this hotel does not merit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great, walking distance to malls, in both directions, great beach
The weak points
Need BIG improvement in organizing, staff need more train. Need more entertainment, billards in lobby, you have to pay,really? Food, needs much improvement, there is NO excuse for serving COLD food.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020