Panama Jack Resorts Cancun

Panama Jack Resorts Cancun
4.004.004.004.004.00
4.00 based on 116 reviews
#8 of 63 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Cancun
Rated 4.5 stars
Traveller pictures (36)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 123

Super family/friendly Resort

, Winnipeg, MB
2020-02-21
We loved this resort!! The size was perfect, the entertainment is phenomenal and the servers at the pool were going over beyond to satisfy your needs whether it was beverage or even ice cream for the kids. Super clean, very friendly, check in and check outs were very efficient and well organized. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Fantastic

, Coquitlam, BC
2019-11-07
Had an absolute fantastic time, from the moment we arrived at the front door till we got back on the bus to go home. The front door staff, to the bar and restaurant staff, the cleaners, just everyone was a pleasure to deal with. The food was great, the entertainment was great, the drinks were fantastic and the onsite photographers also did an excellent job. I will be back again soon! (I may even bring the kids next time) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great time! the worst part was going home.
The weak points
Nothing bad to say. No alcohol after 1:30 am is kind of a bummer but when you start drinking at noon, it's pretty much time for bed at 1 am.

Highly recommend Panama Jack Resorts

, Mississauga, ON
2018-07-31
When we first arrived at the resort, we were pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and how everyone was very kind in the way they greeted us.
The resort was very nice and very very clean. We were very impressed with the cleanliness all of the resort and the rooms. Each day the rooms were cleaned as if it was our first day at the resort. This made us feel comfortable.
The smell each morning of the Cinnamon rolls at the Panama Jack Coffee club was amazing! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness was excellent!
The weak points
Food options at the restaurants became quite monotonous.
Certified

Best resort so far

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-21
The food and stuff were amazing. Full service for everything. Not huge resort but big enough for us especially for those with small kids. Rooms are starting to wear out but very clean. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was the best. Lots of choices.
The weak points
Lots of seaweed along the beach. The whole week that we were there we couldn't use the beach that much. It was very windy with big waves. Not suited for small children under 5 years.Also the umbrellas on the beach are very far from the water.
Certified

Cancun 2017

, Beaumont, AB
2017-11-23
No issues with the Hotel it was going under renovation's but this will only make it better for the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was excellent around the pools & restaurants.
The weak points
Our room was a little bit noisy at night time being not to far from the Lobby.
Certified

Not really oceanview

, Minto, NB
2016-10-29
we paid for ocean view room 2371 if we stood in left corner of deck you could see a small section of ocean. rest of deck all you could see was roof of building.Pool is very small [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Best experience

, Brampton, ON
2016-09-13
7 days were the best time we had at gran caribe the staff were amazing specially bartender Fernando and the Bellboy Francisco and Angel they were courteous and professional at Gran Caribe and definitely will come back to the resorts [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very friendly
The weak points
It's little hot in the lobby
Certified

VACATION TRIP

, Anjou, QC
2016-03-09
It is nice and clean resort hotel. The beach is good. Restaurant have plenty of good food and service.
Staff so friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Good for the beach and food
The weak points
The pool is limit with the bad weather, when can not play on the beach

Cancun in November

, Toronto, ON
2015-11-11
Nice lobby and building. Rooms a bit dated. Staff friendly. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
One of the few beaches that were cleaned every day to remove seaweed. Great restaurants and due to off season no reservations required. Instead of bedspreads, they have fresh duvet covers. Great value.
The weak points
No wifi in our room. Rooms facing road/west are super noisy due to outside A/C turbines. We had to upgrade because of this. They push deal similar to timeshare
Certified

Not good

, Toronto, ON
2014-08-14
Went for a wedding and we all got very ill with TD from the food for 2 days straight. One friend went to emergency when she landed in california because her stomach pains were so bad. Night life is minimal. They do not serve alcohol past 1 am. So your all inclusive is not fully utilized at this resort because you have to go to downtown and pay $13 American for 1 shot of what seems to be juice if you want to continue drinking. No adult entertainment at all. No shows. Only a few singers will come to the resort. The waterside is old and dirty [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Wifi was available as far as the beach. The resort had a nice wedding chapel
The weak points
Horrible food, no alcohol served past 1 am
Certified

Beyond Expectations at Gran Caribe Real

, North Bedeque, PE
2014-03-04
This hotel is marvelously clean, easy to navigate (wheel chair accessible even to the beach), has top flight friendly service, good food in all venues especially at the al la carte restaurants and is located on a fabulous beach in the hotel zone.

While we were there last week five chapel/beach weddings were held with the hotel creating a special beach layout for each. We were impressed.

We spoke with many one, two and three week visitors to the resort. The high level of satisfaction with the physical resort, services and employee interactions dominated the conversations. Two couples mentioned a minor maintenance issues which, when brought to the attention of the Front Desk staff, were dealt with quickly and satisfactorily.

Well done, Gran Caribe Real. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Firstly: When you find a resort where employees are happy and speak well of their employer you know you will be well looked after. The Gran Caribe Real is one of those places. Secondly: The resort was immaculate.
The weak points
None
Certified

Great experience!

, Montreal, QC
2014-02-06
We are very happy with our choice. The price was great for the service we had.The view from room 2518 is absolutely amazing (ocean view all around the room). The best restaurant is Sunset Grill, you do not need reservation and the service is very, very good(the Manager Gabriel Reynoso is very professional and friendly).We had the best Cordon bleu ever.
The location is perfect, you can walk to several shopping centers (Plaza Flamingo, Plaza Kukulkan etc.) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
1. The beach 2. Restaurant Sunset Grill 3. Location
The weak points
The reception
Certified

Great experience!!

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-27
All in all, no complaints for this resort. Staff were very accommodating, rooms were nice and clean, food and drinks were good. The beach was amazing ! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, entertainment, cleanliness
The weak points
None
Certified

Vacation

, Edmonton, AB
2014-01-11
Excellent hotel with excellent staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent service in all areas of the hotel
The weak points
Food was so so, same everyday mostly Mexican style
Certified

It was OK

, Calgary, AB
2013-12-03
I'm not one to complain, but you pay for what you get! We upgraded to the Hyatt next door and had a relaxing and fabulous stay! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location is great, beach is beautiful. Upgrade when there and use the amenities of the Hyatt (adults only….well worth it)
The weak points
Loads and loads of local families! Busy place.
Certified

Cancun November Wedding

, Surrey, Br
2013-11-28
Great Location to Markets & Beach was great. Reception slow & frustrating. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel had lots of activities & choices.
The weak points
Reception
Certified

Worst vacation

, Codys, NB
2013-04-17
Very POOR staff front desk rude would not ever go back !!!!!! , [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
wedding at Royal next door was nice
The weak points
airconditioning no good staff rude everything is an up sell never again
Certified

Good time

, Mackin, SK
2013-03-19
pretty good went for a wedding. fricken windy. Loved Daniel the waiter at the beach & pool [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
workers were very friendly
The weak points
being there during spring break
Certified

The Best Choice

, Breslau, ON
2013-02-14
We would highly recommend this hotel. We had the perfect room, the perfect location on the beach where we could watch the beach, the water and the sunrise. The food was great and we tried every restaurant. Service was fast and very courteous. On the beach we didn't have to wait long to be asked if we wanted a drink and it was delivered within 5 minutes. It was one of the cleanest hotels I have been to. Their motto is to Exceed Your Expectations and they did just that! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness, beach, food, friendly, helpful staff.
The weak points
There really were none.
Certified

Pleasently surprised.

, Castlegar, BC
2013-02-12
The staff is amazing. Room cleaned twice a day! You really feel that your patronage is appreciated.The standard of the 2 rstaurants were top notch. We travelled to Mexico for 30 years and this is the first place we had a GOOD steak. The only thing that is keeping the Gran Caribe from a 5 star status is the poor quality pillows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff approachability. Nothing was minor, they would go out of their way to help. Adequate security. LOts of staff for our convenience! Heated pool
The weak points
Having to ask for water or getting it ourselves.Small pool.
Certified

Beautiful Beach

, Sherwood Park , AB
2013-01-24
Great hotel & location. Stayed in a beachfront walkout room. Steps away from both the beach and the pool. It was amazing. Would definitely go back to this resort. Pay the extra for the beachfront walk out room. You won't be sorry. Tip: take a travel mug with you. At the beach bar, they wash the glasses in a sink, not in a dishwasher. Very unsanitary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great location. Beautiful resort. Very clean. Amazing beach and crystal blue water.
The weak points
Food was just okay. Same selections everyday. Expected better at such a beautiful resort. Our package incl. 2 meals at the Royal Resort next door. The meals were much better there.
Certified

Would Not Be My First Choice in Cancun

, Winnipeg, MB
2013-01-14
For the price I expected a lot more, having been to Cancun several times and tried various resorts. I chose this place because my daughter is vegetarian. Her options were quite limited and, although the write up about the resort indicated vegetarian menu and sushi, other than the usual salads/veggies/fruits there were limited vegetarian choices. Many of the vegetable dishes contained small amounts of ground up meat in them and would be identified as vegetarian. We both did get sick, as did other people we talked to. The hot water did not work for 2 days and the beach beds were in poor repair so curtains could not be used on all sides. The upscale restaurants required reservations and, even though they were not busy at all, reservations were not easy to make. Both the 'fancy' Italian restaurant (Il Pescatore) and the Mexican restaurant (Maria's) were only ok. Drinks were made with low quality liquor, but the mojito's were still pretty good. Lots of people were drinking these over the slushy type drinks.

The beach was beautiful and the staff were friendly and helpful. The resort was kept very clean. This resort is closer to downtown and is one of the last resorts at this end of the strip that has lots of beach beds/loungers for people to use. Very close to La Isla Shopping Centre. Nice lounge and lobby. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was wonderful. Resort was clean. Beach was beautiful.
The weak points
Drinks were made with low quality liquor. Food was very cafeteria. 'Fancy' restaurants were nothing special.
Certified

GREAT HOLIDAY!!!

, North Vancouver, Br
2012-11-14
We had a great time at Gran Caribe Real. The check-in was super fast and the lady who was helping us was very very nice. We upgraded to ocean view room and it was the best option we made. Room was very nice, clean and modern. The pool was almost empty (we travelled in low season) Food was delicious- always plenty of options to choose from. Beach was awesome but on third day it got wavy- no problem for us adults but our 9 month old daughter wasn't able to go in.
Im the kind of person who likes clean and thats why I would definitely recommend this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very nice and clean hotel
The weak points
None
Certified

Personal

, Saint John, NB
2012-04-02
People were great. We were there for a wedding and it was lovely. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
we were very pleased with the resort
The weak points
Services such as hair appointment , use of computers were over inflated.
Certified

Not as good as it used to be

, Lindsay, ON
2012-03-07
This was our second time staying at the Gran Caribe Real, and will probably be our last. We really enjoyed it the first time we went in 2009, but felt it had declined somewhat since then. The food has become very mediocre; its plentiful, but the selection is pretty much the same every day and the quality is not as good. The first room they gave us was supposed to be "ocean view" but was in fact a ground floor room with a balcony overlooking the pool and bar/restaurant. There would have been a slight chance of seeing a small slice of the ocean if not for a palm tree in the way. A very nice employee named Jessie rectified the situation the next day and got us an acceptable room. The other thing we really noticed this time was how noisy it was in our suite. The doors to the rooms slam when you open or shut them, so all night long you hear the college bar hopping crowd going back to their rooms, then early in the morning, you hear all the early birds getting up. We did not get more than 3 hours of uninterrupted sleep all week. The beach is great, thank goodness, but forget the pool. Its really small for the size of the resort, the chairs are always "claimed" and don't even try to swim, there is usually a volleyball net over the middle and a game going on.

Not to say it is all bad, the rooms are kept clean, linens changed daily, and the maids are great. Most of the waiters and waitresses are nice and cheerful, especially Daniel, who seems to work in every bar and restaurant there and always remembers you. The front desk and bellboy staff were mostly pleasant and helpful. Found the staff at the in hotel store not very pleasant, and they follow you around the store as if you are a thief.

I would rate this hotel as a three and a half, not a four and a half, star hotel. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Mostly nice staff, clean rooms, good maid service, nice beach with lots of chairs
The weak points
Little variety with the food, can't get near the pool to swim, very noisy hotel
Certified

Great experience

, Toronto, ON
2012-02-20
I highly recommend this resort.Good value for the price. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful beach with lots of chairs and beds. Large and very clean rooms. Great service at bars and restaurants.
The weak points
At the buffet, food is just ok, not enough variety. Sometimes it's a long wait to be seated. A la cart restaurants are very good.The resort needs more entertainment at night, the music in the lobby stops at 11pm and the bar closes shortly after
Certified

Gran Caribe Real-Worth the Money

, Barrie, ON
2012-02-15
Our first visit to Mexico.Very nice hotel where staff are always cleaning. We chose a upgrade to a Gran Jr. Suite. A lagoon view was nice but disappointing as we saw a real Ocean View suite that had a super view of the ocean waves and beach. The room was clean and well laid out. Leave $2 a day on the pillow and you are treated very well by maids. Like having instant A/C reairs done. We never knew it had failed. VIP room on 6th floor was nice . But I wish they would not have melon balls, melon balls and more mellon Balls for snacks 24/7. Stawberries, pineapple and rasberries were a rare treat. Food at the a restraunts was hit and miss. Marias had the only decent Ceasar Salad other than Bubba Gumps (off property).The italian Restraunt and dinner was terrible. We never did make it to the Sunset Grill. The buffet was good at times and repetative and boring at others. I mean you can only have pork chops and chicken so many ways. Breakfast was good. (ask for bacon)Beach was super. Plenty of chairs and beds. Pool was ok but too much vollyball, arobics, and games. We just wanted to swim.Last of all forget weather reports, they forcast 7 days of rain...we got one shower and 7 days of p/c mostly sunny weather. We just might return here in October. (Try the mexican coffee at Marias.)The pool side bar has great Onion Rings and Burgers. As well it serves good sushi and stir frys at dinner time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Super Beach. Marias restraunt. Lots of pool and beach chairs. Nice buffet with good selection.Friendly staff.Clean room and hotel.
The weak points
Vip..melon balls, melon balls and more melon balls for snacks.Often to noisy with PA loud. Pool crowded at times.Snacks in room missed some days.
Certified

Vacation

, Georgetown, ON
2012-02-14
Clean hotel, poor management that seem to over rate themselves. We requested a king size bed with ocean view. It was not available upon arrival but was promised to be accommodated the following day which never happened. Our flight was late (1:45am) and requested for late checkout but was not accommodated and had to check out by 12pm. Disappointed with the luck of customer service and did leave the hotel not feeling we were valued enough to come back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean hotel
The weak points
Customer service
Certified

Best Trip Ever!

, Mt Elgin , ON
2012-01-31
Just returned last week after an awesome week with my husband, sister and her husband.

We travel alot and this is definitely a top notch resort. One of the best that I've been to! We were in Cancun last year with 28 members of my family and hoping to get them all to go to the Gran Caribe Real next time. One of my other sisters has been here before and would love to go back also!

The staff was awesome! Treated us like royalty. The whole hotel is just spotless and gleaming. They continue to clean all day - every day.

Food was great - I have a food allergy and they are so willing to help and make sure that I wouldn't eat the wrong thing. If you do have a food allergy look up the word(s) in Spanish and write it out to show so there is no mistake. This is also important for when you go off the resort. Discovered two new drinks there - the welcome drink is the White Cooler (wine with 7up and Casis) and the Mango Tango which is like a Mango daquiri. So missing these drinks!

There is wireless internet in our rooms but I couldn't get my email. The problem was from our email company not their internet. So my husband used the internet service in the hotel. It only cost 10 pesos for 10 minutes. Just had a problem finding the @ key since it was geared for spanish :) That was the only problem we had all week! My sister used her Iphone wirelessly thru the hotel's WIFI and had no problem at all.

Please don't listen to all the complaining people. We were a little nervous when we read some reviews but absolutely LOVED this hotel! Only problem we had was saying Goodbye and going home.

Can't wait to go back again next year! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Awesome staff. Spotlessly clean. Very helpful. Great location on the strip - very easy to get to places using the bus system. Relaxing Lobby & Lounge.
The weak points
Only weak point (since I have to add one) would be the bed pillows were a little too lumpy. Would prefer softer ones.
Certified

Gran Caribe Real Cancun

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-26
Beautiful resort, friendly staff, perfect for families (activities, kids pool, water slides). Not an extremely expansive selection of food at the buffets but we always found something great to eat. Beach is beautiful, although water a little rough - just have to be aware. I would go back in a heartbeat! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Clean, friendly, family oriented resort.
The weak points
Food selection somewhat limited
Certified
pages: 123

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020