Royalton Negril Resort And Spa

Royalton Negril Resort And Spa
4.114.114.114.114.11
4.11 based on 27 reviews
#5 of 21 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Negril
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (12)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Massive disappointment from a former regular.

, Oakville, ON
2020-03-03
I took my wife and son back to Royalton Negril because of our AMAZING time we had in 2019. Unfortunately, a lot has changed since our last stay.

We got to the resort a little early (about 1:30 pm) and they told us the room was ready and to just have lunch while they check it out to make sure all is well. We pre-reserved a certain room and paid $110 USD to secure it. We waited 3 hours for them to tell us that we won't be getting the room we booked in advance and that we had to wait for the new rooms to be cleansed. Keep in mind that check-in is at 3:00 pm its now 4:30 pm. We waited another 1.5 hours and we finally got into the room but it was not the room we booked and we had to wait because the resort allowed the previous guests to stay until 3:00 pm (when I should be able to get the room). BTW: I was told I would get the $110 USD back and I never did.

The room was nice. I was happy that it was still the same room type but the first thing we noticed was the wine fridge was running over 100 degrees HOT. I asked they to change it they never did.

That night we put my son to bed, and we were excited to use the Jacuzzi tub on the terrace and really the only reason we booked this room only to find out that it was maybe 70-75 degrees and VERY dirty. We did not use it and called the Diamond Club to complain and they told me someone would be there in the AM to fix it. Someone came to clean it and told me the heaters do not work and have not for years. There is a sign above the jacuzzi that states Royalton Negril Jacuzzi Rules and Number 3 says “Jacuzzi Temperature is Maintained Between 102 & 104 degrees F.” This is not true (please see attached photo). The pool was cleaned once the whole trip and never exceeded 70-75 degrees. When the outside evening temperatures are warmer than the jacuzzi we could not go in it let alone that it was dirty most of the time. Why pay for a room with a Jacuzzi if it does not work in the first place? There was a VERY LARGE ADDED COST FOR THAT.

The butler service is next to non-existent. We hardly saw them, and they only fill our ice bucket once in 8 days. We requested the fridges be filled with juice for our son and club soda for my wife and I. The fridges were filled ONCE in 8 days with club soda and NEVER with juice. The butlers made our reservations for dinners, but we told them 7:00 pm daily and some were 6:00 and other were 7:00 . They were very inconsistent and not what we are used to with the 4 times we've had butler service in Royalton. They have really gone downhill and literally do nothing but come and talk to you.

Especially comparted to last year where they were AMAZING, and this year very lack luster. Hearing the David Martin was not long with Royalton clued me into why it was so bad. We used to get our requested cheese/fruit/crackers/white wine and soda daily after coming off the beach and that never happened once here even though we requested if from our butlers. We never had any of the kind of services we used to get from Royalton Butlers.

On our last night I paid $300 for a private dinner with my wife and son for my wife's birthday and they made dinner on the pier which was beautiful but the service was slow and took over an hour just to get my son's pineapple juice. I went to the bar and got one for him faster. The food was completely over cooked and cold by the time it got to us. The lobster was tough and chewy and very cold and the steak I ordered rare was WELL DONE and ice cold. I did not even eat the food and we went to the buffet because it was just so bad. The birthday cake was nice and good though.

Lastly, I ordered a very expensive bottle of wine (Grgich Estates $160 USD) on our last night and asked our butler to have a corkscrew in the room. The butler did not bring it and the wine on our last night on my wife's that I paid quite a bit of money for was never drank because we could not open it. They would not even refund it.

I even got an email back from them after addressing my concerns and was accused of being a liar and made up my experience.

I will never stay at a Royalton again and do my best to make sure everyone I know does not. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Don't waste your money. Go somewhere good.
The weak points
Dissatisfaction in butler service Horrible customer support Horrible “romantic dinner” at $300 cost Do not book here.

Our Destination Wedding

, Mississauga, ON
2020-02-18
We could not be happier with picking Royalton Negril for our wedding- all guests were satisfied! We booked Royalton Negril Resort as we had stayed at other Royalton Resorts, and had great experiences. The Groom is also from the island, so we also could have our local guest celebrate with us. We had a group 46 staying on resort and 17 local guests who came to wedding only.
We unfortunately were faced with a family medical emergency, where my dad was diagnosed with cancer, just 3 weeks prior to our original wedding date in October 2018- Royalton was extremely helpful with postponing the date of wedding, without us losing any money, as we had already paid for events in full.
Wedding:
Royalton work extremely hard to make our event work- they still pulled off the private formal event we wanted, even with all our special requests! Honestly when planning-I had the mind set to ask, the worse they can do is say no, and always asked even if the request was extreme.
Resort:
Wonderful staff - friendly, helpful, engaging, warm, lovely people. The grounds are beautifully maintained & well cared for. It's has improved since the last trip!

The room is exactly what the pictures show, clean and modern. We had a gorgeous view. We never experienced any issues with our room. We were upgraded to Diamond Club Luxury Presidential One Bedroom Swim-Out Suite, as being bride and groom.
Favorite part was the shower and soaker tub, both us could use together after a long “stressful” day at beach or pool.

As far as our butler/maids was concerned, they were great, always had room clean and restocked, honestly, I didn't expect a lot from the butler prior to arriving, but they were more than helpful, when it came to booking reservations, wedding day, taking items to other rooms for us, ordering us lunch and anything we needed. They would always say, no I will do this for you, it's not just a vacation it's both of your big day! Amazing-
Food was great, our group loved the flavorful food selections- Delicious food round the clock. I'm glad we had wedding beginning leg of trip, so we could indulge.
We ended our trip, with 30 min massage, using the credit provided from “smart travel session”, plus from session we got 3 night discounted stay, which is beneficial for us, as we will return to island, to visit family/friends.
The only cons, I would say was a common complaint among our group was, wait times for restaurant seating, I think it was harder to get large groups to be seat together, so I would recommend splitting groups into 4-6 and you will get faster seating in restaurants outside of buffet, or have someone go at time of restaurant opening to start reservation, so they can coordinate or usually after 8pm restaurants weren't as busy. In addition, the bar would run out of specific liquor, and we would have to wait to have it replenished, sometimes, not replenished at all. Which was not cool, if you were drinking a specific drink type.

Lastly, out of the 16 rooms we had booked, 2 rooms (located in building 6 4) had a musky smell to it, I think due to weather and wood (I have experienced this at other island resorts, not just Royalton)- However I had provided a welcome bag to our guest that included itinerary of events, lighter and scented candle which pretty much solved issue, as it was a strong scent.

WE WANT TO MAKE SPECIAL MENTION TO Neisano & Clinton our butlers, ROCHELLE OUR MAID, DJ SMART & Taneek from wedding team, Ricardo (chef), Simone & Adrian from Martini Mix, and Hubert from bellboy team- THEY MADE ALL OF US FEEL LIKE ROYALTY AND WENT ABOVE AND BEYOND TO MAKE OUR WEDDING AND TRIP GO SMOOTHLY and one to remember. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Please ready full review- more detailed
The weak points
Please ready full review- more detailed

Amazing Hotel

, Thornhill, ON
2020-02-02
We traveled to Royalton Nagril 2 couples and had an amazing time. Accommodation/ food/ service/ entertainment was behind amazing.

Upper management and over all staff were so friendly and accommodating.

A week after We came back my parents went on vacation to Royalton Nagril and were extremely happy as well.
They said the service and especially the upper management were always there to help and accommodate with any needs.

Highly recommended!
We are for sure will go back.

Special thanks to Gregorio Coca for making our and my partner trip such an amazing g experience. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants

Paradise

, Donkin, NS
2020-02-01
The view is amazing. I loved the beach [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beach, Food, Service, Entertainment

Home away from home

, York, ON
2020-01-04
I've been going to this resort since it was the Grand Lido. My second time to the Royalton since the renovation. I had the best experience possible and Maxine the manager of guest experience made it all possible, a special thanks goes to her. The rest of the staff was very accommodating. They all made it feel like home. I look forward to going back to my Jamaican home. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
I

Diamond club not a great experience

, Woodbridge, ON
2019-08-08
We went as a family of 5 recently. Kids club was ok nothing spectacular and the events got rather boring my almost 5 year olds so we would only get them to go for an hour at max. The service was slow and staff were extremely lax. The resort is big and beautiful with a really nice sandy white beach and gorgeous ocean.

We opted for the diamond experience for our first time ever and had poor, slow service. Our first butler was never delivering on time and required several reminders. Unfortunately, part of our vacation entailed my husband having to escalate things to the general property manager to get things done, which eventually did get fixed.

We got perks afterwards but had they just done their work right the first time we wouldn't have needed to take this route.

Overall, the resort is nice and as long as you don't opt for the diamond club package which is subpar anyway and are ok to navigate things on your own, you should be good. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is nice and big
The weak points
Slow staff and constant reminders required to get anything delivered/done

ROYALTON NEGRIL RESORT AND SPA

, Brampton, ON
2019-07-15
I would never go back to this hotel or recommend it to anyone. We paid for butler service but the butlers where missing in action for most of our stay. When we complained to the manager she apologized and promised us a cabana with a cooler for the following day at 10:30 a.m. which was not honoured. There was also a shortage of beach towels for the first three days of our four day vacation and the staff handing out the towels were very unprofessional and rude. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The view of the beach from the hotel room. Shevanese and Joseph from marketing were wonderful, as was Nicoy, the butler on the beach.
The weak points
Compared to similar hotels on the strip, the food was extremely disappointing. Some of the staff at the resort were quite rude.
Certified

One of Negril's Best

, Toronto, ON
2019-06-03
Was our second time at Royalton Negril and will return again. If you don't like kids splashing upgrade to Hideaway, even though there is a kids pool area parents let their kids play in the main pool, which is incredibly annoying. Pool side chairs are usually saved by 8 the anti save rule is not enforced like at all resorts so feel free to enforce it yourself by removing items such as, magazines, flip flops, sunscreen tubes, towels, hats etc.

The beach is absolutely incredible. Buffet is on the small side when comparing it to the Royalton in Riviera Cancun. Hunters Steak House is by far the best restaurant. Pool side eats have improved as well with the addition of a food truck which supplies surprisingly good food. Being that you will be in Jamaica expect slower service keep in mind you are on island time. Tips will get your better service but nothing compered to Mexico.

Both times we have been there was a constant breeze which will result in pool water in your drink if not careful. Bring a covered cup. Careful of the plastic deck boards used between the pool and beach access they are brown and trap heat and will absolutely blister your feet wear flip flops.

Nightly entertainment has greatly improved since our last trip, but if you're concerning yourself with the night activities you are not getting out of bed early enough.

The Grounds are incredibly well kept and the Cotton trees are absolutely beautiful but make sure to get off resort and walk the beach, you are completely safe! If you are offended by the smell of weed I suggest not going to Jamaica as it is ever present but as a Canadian you should be use to it by now.

Finally make sure to borrow flippers and mask to swim the areas along the rocks to see lots of marine life. Catch a sunset on the beach as it is incredible and isn't taken advantage of at all, the beach is generally clear by that time of day.

I can't suggest Royalton Negril enough!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
-Rooms -Beach -Grounds -Staff
The weak points
-Food -Kids -Cocktail program is lame -Bars "run out" of liquor and are not stocked the following day.
Certified

AWESOME TRIP 5 STAR

, Mississauga, ON
2019-03-06
We loved this 5 Star Resort. This trip was my fiance's gift to me for my birthday, and I was not disappointed. Rooms were clean and very pretty. Beach was clean and beautiful. A little issue with saving beach chairs. Butlers save chairs for guests.. If saving yourself a chair put a personal item like a shirt or flip flops and this will ensure you keep your chair or else someone may take it if you just leave a towel. Food was very good and servers were very friendly. Friendly entertainers; I would have liked to see them engage more with the guests i.e get them up dancing. (I understand sometimes quests are the issue and don't want to participate (only watch) and difficult for entertainers). Liked the entertainment., music and party vibe by the pool. Bar service was good, but ran out of liquor at times and did not have quality liquor. Royalton needs to improve on this. Entertainer Keval was so friendly and engaging. Always enjoyed seeing his smilling face. He was great with guests. Our butler Paris Gardner was amazing. Super nice and friendly guy; always around to help out . He was able to accommodate any request we had. Excellent service received from Paris.
Hope to see Paris next year; we will be requesting you. Yah Man! We loved Jamaica. Irie. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful & clean resort. Amazing beach. Excellent, friendly service. Great food. Quality entertainment.
The weak points
Improve on quality liquor in BarsThis is Jamaica after a especially for Diamond Club members. More nightly entertainment dedicated to dancing in the evenings.after the show. Entertainers should try to engage with guests more and dance with them.

Absolutely Amazing team Royalton Negril

, Toronto, HA
2019-01-15
From the first class welcome to the endless amount of detail that the fabulous Butlers & staff put into making the family getaway flawless .. a big THANK YOU. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Could use more ATM cash machines as the one didn't work all week.
Certified

Beautiful Location, Beautiful People

, Niagara Falls, ON
2018-12-19
Royalton Negril Resort and Spa was a beautiful hotel with up to date communication TV and wonderful people who will take good care of you. Two butlers were not really needed but they were wonderful. I was a bit disappointed in the night shows. Not very professional and geared to more young people. We have seen much better shows in Punta Cana. The food was good and service was excellent but the entertainment team was poor. I never even saw them. They really paid more attention to very young people. We are in our 50's and were not impressed with the shows. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Outstanding Vacation Experience

, Toronto, ON
2018-11-24
This trip was our absolute best vacation. All the staff were professional, caring, helpful, happy and everyone always asked if everything was ok or if we needed anything. The food was amazing also. Great selection of restaurants and great tasting, huge variety and well presented. Rooms were huge and very clean, beds very comfortable. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All the staff, attitude is a huge part of your hotel experience and they made sure you knew that they appreciated you being there.
The weak points
If we had to have any negative comment it would be very loud music when it really didn't need to be around the pool.
Certified

Great Time

, Elmira, ON
2018-02-27
Royalton Negril was really nice!

We have been to a lot of all inclusives and this is the best. The all in luxury is great. The butlers make you feel special. Everyone was kind and helpful. The facilities are incredible, and very high end. Food is great at every restaurant.

All in all you can't go wrong with this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service and room
The weak points
Mixology (drinks) but they do use high end alcohol. Just the bar tenders around the pool need more experience.
Certified

Royalton Negril Family Trip

, Toronto, ON
2018-01-09
Basically the hotel was pretty good but the service was not great. It is more like a 3-4 star resort. Not a 5 star.

The beach, pool and grounds are nice. The rooms are good. The food was relatively good.

Here are the issues:
- Have to get up extremely early to get beach chairs because pool guys and butlers get paid off to reserve chairs and they take almost all of them at like 6 in the morning. Simply not enough chairs/space for number of guests.
- The line ups for buffet are a bit much.
- They don't have beach towels often. Even bath towels in the rooms sometimes are not available.
- The power cuts out now and then.
- They constantly run out of drinks at bars.
- The sports bar service is horrible. Food is ok, but no one bothers to serve you.
- Entertainment is so so.
- Smell of sewage near main area in front of hotel.
- We were Diamond club but our butler did next to nothing for us. Got us two chairs on first day when there was none (why was he holding two?). Then did not contact us once the whole trip until last day, basically looking for a tip.
- Kids got sick, typical 24 hour vomiting. Not hotel's fault but we heard many others also got sick.
- Many times we asked for something, towels, blanket, ac fixed etc and it came very late if at all. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

This is a 3 star resort not 5

, Toronto, ON
2017-12-26
I prefer not to go on and on. But a few things I will say, avoid this resort! The service is horendeous! The front desk staff had an attitude the second we arrived, it involved a lot of teeth kissing and not listening to our simple requests. this is my first review I'm ever writing, I felt it was necessary for someone to read how brutal this resort was. GO ANYWHERE ELSE! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Luxury

, Toronto, ON
2017-06-20
It was a great resort overall, few things needs improvements still, Room service takes too long. Hated the fact that security wouldn'nt have let people walk around the resort if they were from other sections,its undrestandable if they cant get drinks but not being able to walk around was sort of rude. Check in was super fast. Loved my butler Daneesha, Wonderful Service, except they couldnt fix our coffee maker, we were unable to make coffee our whole trip, we had to get it through room service which took long. Entertainment could Definetley Improve!!! loved the people from the vibe team; Serena, zoan, bradley but you kinda get tired and annoyed hearing bradly yell all day and night!!! Conclusion: Staff were great, Odain at the diomand club bar was absolutley amazing! Loved loved loved the Crew! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, Grounds, Food
The weak points
Entertainment, room service
Certified

Can't Wait To Return!

, Bolton , ON
2017-05-09
I can't believe I'm saying this, but it was equal to if not nicer than Sandals Whitehouse Jamaica, which is where my husband and I honeymooned.

Royalton Negril is tastefully designed, maximizing the scenic views from the lobby. Food is plentiful and delicious, with an international selection of several a la carte restaurants and one excellent buffet.

Staff is very curtious and friendly, always willing to accommodate. Service is a bit slow ("on island time" as they say).

The Room is fabulous - quality modern furniture, spacious shower with dual luxury rain heads, double sink vanity and large freestanding tub with jets.

Beaches are lovely, tranquil and clean. Wish I had more time on the beach, my daughter was obsessed with the awesome kids pool with water playground. And for the adults, a stunning pool.

Last but not least, nightly entertainment performed on an outdoor stage with bar nearby was well thought out. Singers and musicians were very talented! I was impressed.

Do yourself a favour and GO HERE! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything!
The weak points
Nightly entertainment was very loud and carried on late (which is unpleasant for those who go to bed early)
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020