Secrets St James Montego Bay

Secrets St James Montego Bay
4.434.434.434.434.43
4.43 based on 75 reviews
#17 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (10)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 12

E

, Hamilton, ON
2020-01-20
Outstanding facility,bell men were very good. Very clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service was awesome, staff was amazing
The weak points
Pool was cold,could use more bartenders at entertainment areas
Certified

Amazing vacation

, Brampton, ON
2019-03-04
We had a great time at this resort! The food, the entertainment and the staff were all amazing and we did not want to leave! I would return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, entertainment, staff, location, security, and well kept grounds
The weak points
None
Certified

Overall a great resort

, Calgary, AB
2018-09-02
First impressions of this resort is that the grounds are beautiful and well kept, The rooms are decently large and very nice. We were in a garden view room but also had a view of the ocean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Grounds are beautiful, food was delicious with good portions, pools were clean and well kept, pool staff was very attentive and were about the only ones that cared about customer service. Rooms were nice and clean
The weak points
Turn down service not being completed daily, somewhat rude or inattentive staff seeming like they didn't really care about customer service. We would've rated this hotel an easy 5 but with the majority of the staff coming off rude it's a 4/5
Certified

Girls getaway

, Ingersoll, ON
2016-10-13
Grounds are impeccable, Food in every restaurant was above and beyond expectations. Friendliest staff I have ever encountered. Stayed in the Preferred Club, only down fall from this section is it is so far from the main pool with the swim up bar. The Preferred lounge is fantastic, always some thing on the little buffet. Many mornings had breakfast here rather walk to the main buffet. Spa was under construction for renovations however most services were still available. The construction of the Breathless next door was not noticeable at all. Lots of great entertainment, water sports. Feel confident in Highly recommending this resort. I traveled with 3 other single ladies and every one of us had a fantastic time. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, Service, cleanliness, rooms are large and comfortable.
The weak points
Preferred club rooms a little far from the main pool area and the restaurants.
Pro

Secrets St James-Montego Bay

, White Lake, ON
2016-01-21
Very helpful. Glasses of champagne upon check in. its our 2nd time at this resort. 2yrs ago we stayed in Wild orchid. at that time we had bottle of rum & Jamaican brandy-not this time yet folks in pool advised they did. Secrets is everything they say it is. Would highly recommend [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great food & pool service with waitresses coming every half hour. Maid service awesome as well as the gym. Most staff are quite friendly too.
The weak points
Entertainment is a little weak. Bare foot beach party was a let down. Music was very subdued & no one attended because of that. A trio played guitar, banjo & sang & they were a little weak in talent.
Certified

Wonderful Trip to Secrets St James

, Oshawa, ON
2016-01-04
Terrific trip to Secrets St James. Hotel gave us complimentary champagne breakfast in our room to celebrate our anniversary. The food was excellent and hot (a pleasant surprise) and the champagne chilled. Service and quality of the breakfast was beyond expectation.

Restaurants - as a vegetarian I often worry about variety - this hotel far exceeded my expectations. There was an abundance of choice even for me. Huge salad bars, veggie wraps at Oceana were terrific at lunch time, plenty of choices at the bar - even no-alcohol cocktails were amazing. Bordeaux and Himitsu were our favorites for evening meals.

Rooms - were clean and spacious. We were on the 3rd floor and had a lovely view of the pool and ocean. Highly recommend requesting high floor to take advantage of the views.

SPA - was top notch and I highly recommend the massage and reflexology treatments.

Overall the whole experience was just amazing. You will not be disappointed with this hotel. only about 15 minutes from the airport.

Thank you to all the staff who made our trip memorable. We look forward to returning. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Restaurant/Bar variety and quality. Staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful. Spa was absolutely top notch. Evening entertainment was professional and very enjoyable. Very clean and well maintained resort.
The weak points
Beach is narrow. You will need to get up by 7am to get a lounger in the sun.
Certified

Amazing Vacation!

, Brampton, ON
2015-06-01
This was without a doubt the best all around experience we've had at an all inclusive. Everything was perfect from the location, very friendly and welcoming staff, large room and with perfect views and location, great selection of restaurants, fantastic tasting food, and resort cleanliness. We are in our early 40's which was the average age group (some younger/some older) and were traveling as a couple. However you will not feel out of place travelling solo to this resort as it was very welcoming and relaxing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, Staff, Cleanliness, Beach, Pools, Restaurants, Internet, Room
The weak points
Although very good, the evening entertainment was not as good as other resorts we've visited. Aside from that, everything was perfect.
Certified

Very Nice Resort

, oxford, NS
2014-04-25
really liked it here [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
overall everything was great
The weak points
peacocks are very nice but they squak all night, food wasn't that good to us.
Certified

Amazing... Truly

, Toronto, ON
2014-01-19
What a great trip. This place rocks. Premium brand drinks, quiet, over the top service. 2nd time, there will be a 3rd. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Service
The weak points
Good was great, but not as good as last time.
Certified

Secrets St. James

, Mississauga, ON
2014-01-03
The service was beyond our expectations. Everybody is super friendly and ready to cater to your every need. The food was good, not amazing, just good. Best meal was the surf and turf at the French restaurant. Italian was good too. Rooms are nice, free wi-fi if you upgrade to Prefered Club. This resort has Grey Goose! They also have Heineken which is brewed in Kingston. Water activity staff is great. They take you snorkelling every day as there is a coral reef right off the beach. Germaine and his crew were great. Leonard A. at the pool at Wild Orchid was amazing! You'll see why if you go.
I would definitely return. Everyone I spoke to would also return or was a returning guest. Wild Orchid side is a bit more of a party while the St. James is quiter however still nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, drinks, gym, spa, essentially everything.
The weak points
None.
Certified

Secrets Resort

, Regina, SK
2013-12-30
Great, clean, freindly and fun. Had a blast. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Freindly service
The weak points
None
Certified

Pretty Good Trip

, Rr 2 Tillsonburg, ON
2013-12-26
Nothing mind-blowingly amazing here. Everything was just good.
*Very clean resort.
*Food was okay-liked that you don't need reservations anywhere. Our favourite was the Italian restaurant.
*Front desk service was cold. *Everything "extra" you have to pay for (ex. we had a late flight and they wanted us to pay $25/hour to keep our room).
*We found that tipping got us better service and not tipping got us ignored.
*A bit of the lounge-saving game was played at the main pool.
*Ridiculous that you don't get free WiFi. They wanted $15/day for WiFi.
*I wouldn't pay extra for Preferred club: their pool was in full shade by 2pm.
I might go back, but the price would have to be right. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very clean and great location.
The weak points
Pay for internet, and many staff were cold.
Certified

Best Vacay Ever

, Ottawa, ON
2013-12-17
The staff at this resort are some of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are so helpful and always smiling. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. The beach width is very small and the preferred side of the beach has tons of rocks. The regular side didn't have any. This is one of my favourite resorts and I would recommend it for anyone who is celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, amazing restaurants, super clean and well maintained
The weak points
The preferred side of St. James is a bit far from the restaurants which are all at the other end of Wild Orchids resort.
Certified

AMAZING!!

, Guelph, ON
2013-10-15
We had a fantastic time at this gorgeous resort! It was only a short bus ride away from the airport. The staff were amazingly accomodating, the resort was impeccably maintained. The rooms were beautiful, the food was delicious and the weather was perfect! There was never an issue getting a lounge chair around the pool or on the beach nor did we ever have a problem getting into a restaurant at night for dinner. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Everything was amazing!! I cannot wait to return.
The weak points
I have nothing negative to say about this resort.
Certified

GREAT RESORT

, Toronto, ON
2013-02-03
THIS IS MY SECOND TRIP THERE AND I WILL GO BACK A THIRD TIME. NEVER THOUGHT I WOULD GO TO THE SAME RESORT TWICE, BUT THIS RESORT HAS IT ALL. THE STAFF ARE THE FRIENDLY AND HAPPY.I NOTICES A FEW CUT BACKS THIS TIME BUT ONLY MINOR [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
THE ROOMS,STAFF,RESTAURANTS AND BEACHES
The weak points
NONE
Certified

Secrets St James

, Bala, ON
2013-01-26
Had been to 2 Secrets resorts in Mexico and they were wonderful. Had expected the same but a little disappointed in the St James/Wild Orchid mostly because of the food and drink quality. Had to change rooms the 2nd day as the shower flooded into the hallway on first use and after maintenance came to fix it it continued to flood into the adjoining toilet area. Entertainment staff at poolside seemed to be lacking enthusiasm and sometimes we didn't even know events were taking place it was so low key. Was glad to have not paid extra to go to Wild Orchid when you share everything with the two resorts being joined. Overall we enjoyed the experience but would go back to the Mexico Secrets but not this one in Jamaica. Would rate it 4 not 5 star. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Hotel, pool, beach was always clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Always sunbeds available poolside or on beach. Mattress was soooo very comfortable.
The weak points
Food was very salty. Not great presentation/plating/flavour of food for a 5 star. House wine was so watered down.
Certified

A

, Ottawa, ON
2013-01-13
Great staff, food, resort and overall experience for couples wanting a getaway. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, maintenance of resort.
The weak points
Wild Orchid (connected hotel) have corporate events (not couples but young adults) who we share restaurants with. They spoil the romance.
Certified

A Week of Paradise

, Sudbury, ON
2013-01-07
From start to finish our experience at this resort exceeded expectations by far. It was a fairytale vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
everything
The weak points
none
Certified

Secrets St-James in Montego Bay

, Orleans, ON
2013-01-01
WOW... #1 on all fronts. No complaints!! Highly recommend for those who want a nice location to relax. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The entire staff, excellent restaurants & entertainement as well as WaterSports team.
The weak points
None that we could identify.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, London, ON
2012-12-12
The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The staff was beyond excellent. Our room was very nice and clean with an ocean view. The food was also excellent! I have not one complaint about Secrets St. James :) [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Only 15 minutes from the airport. Beautiful beach and amazing staff
The weak points
None!
Certified

Jamaica Me Crazy

, Maple, ON
2012-10-27
Fantastic destination for couples! Turquoise waters and white sandy beaches, lush tropical gardens....Paradise Found. Polite, helpful and friendly staff. Great unlimited "a la carte" dining with plenty of dining choices...no reservattions required. Overall a terrific vacation. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, beaches, view, pools, grounds were meticulously maintained, staff was pleasant and helpful, Jah Luv Jerk Chicken, espresso bar, piano lounge.
The weak points
Repetitive breakfast selection, few late night entertainment choices, expensive taxi fares....Barefoot grill lacks variety.
Certified

My opinion of Secrets St James

, Vaughn, ON
2012-10-25
It was very, very nice but the price was double anywhere else we've been and I cant justify the difference. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
No complaints about anything other than the price.
The weak points
It was very nice but the price was double anywhere else we've been and I cant really justify the difference.
Certified

KW Invades Secrets MOBAY

, Kitchener, ON
2012-10-05
Great Resort. The friendliest people I have encountered on vacations down south. The food is above average and the rooms are nice. Wifi is slow but that is to be expected. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to the airport Jamaican People Jamaican Patties Amazing Staff Marlon Anderson (Landscaping) Star Xavier (Poolside) Star Orlando (Poolside)Star
The weak points
We had a party of 12 and it was hard to get dinner seatings. The ability to prebook dinner for large parties would have been appreciated. Also, the cookies used to be home made now they are store bought :(
Certified

Impressed.

, Ottawa, ON
2012-05-25
So glad we stumbled upon this place when getting ready to book. We looked at other places at Runaway Bay and Negril with decent reviews, but tended to believe some of the negative reviews of these places. I would say the only downfall to Secrets Montego Bay was the beaches were a little small and there was more seaweed than I had hoped (or compared to Veradero, anyway). Don't get me wrong, the white sand on the beach was beautiful and it was definitely large enough for the amount of people that were using it. if you don't care about a spacious beach, then you can't lose with this place.

Wifi was not included with our package at St. James. We did get it for one day at $15 per day. But overall, we could have cared less about having internet. The internet was also quite slow.

We didn't have our hopes up for the guided snorkelling tour, but was impressed once we got out there. I had no idea there would be so much coral out there. There were pretty fish, but not a lot. I loved the fact that there was even a little under water cavern to swim through.

Even the standard Oceanview room was exceptional. An upgraded would have been wasted on us. Plenty spacious and it was nice having the jacuzzi tub within reach of the bed.

The restaurants and food were great for an all-inclusive. The settings of the outdoor patios were beautiful with mostly nice views overlooking the bay. Made for a nice setting in the evenings around sundown.

One of the best qualities about this place was the staff. Almost all of them were very friendly and loved to have fun. We had so much fun with our waitstaff and bartenders.

If you are hesitant to have the local alcohol, you do have the option of Heineken, Grey Goose, Canadian Club, Johnny Walker Black, etc.

My wife and I were on our honeymoon and all we wanted to do was relax; and that we did. We kept ourselves busy on the resort and had little desire to try any of the local trips. And by busy, I mean sitting by the pool, the sea, sitting in the sea, sitting at the swim up bar; you know, that sort of stuff.

This was only my second all-inclusive, but I highly recommend Secrets. They treat you well. I could have paid $200 less per person to go to Riu in Montego Bay or Negril, but the extra money was well worth it. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
As mentioned: great staff, good food, great rooms, great setting, romantic (especially with the lights after sunset).
The weak points
Have to pay for internet; slow internet; beach not quite as nice as Cuba, or likely Negril.
Certified

Great Hotel

, Toronto, ON
2012-04-27
amazing hotel, great people, very clean,well kept, amazing food, would return. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Great people, great food, great complex
The weak points
beach has some rocks,but still very nice.
Certified

Fantastic,romantic

, Grande Cache, AB
2012-04-09
we had a fantastic time,only issue we had was no warnings about swimming areas the grassy areas are full of urchins and things that could hurt.they need more seating in the nightly entertainment area. food was great drinks great most service great.there are 2 young staff in the world cafe that sing for guests at breakfast,they should do it all the time they are fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Fantastic food,great drinks, views,sunsets,most staff
The weak points
they should warn guests about sea urchins and such in swimming areas,the grassy areas in swimming beaches,some of the servers in the preferered club section have an attitude,most are great.
Certified

Secrets St James

, Calgary, AB
2012-03-28
This resort is absolutely stunning. From the moment we arrived until the time we had to leave the service, the people the location everything was fantastic. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The location is perfect for travel from the airport. It was only 15 mins. We stayed in the Preferred Club and it was perfect. This is the quiet side of the resort and so when you wanted to relax it was a welcome area.
The weak points
It's really hard to come up with something here, but I guess the only thing I could say is there was some construction behind the resort...during the day you could hear some it. By no means was this a fault of the hotel or even a great intrusion.
Certified

Relaxing, Fun Filled Holiday

, Terra Cotta, ON
2012-03-22
My husband and I really enjoyed our vacation at Secrets St James. The staff was very attentive and the resort was excellent. The food was great and the beach was nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff was the best.
The weak points
Beach chairs were not the most comfortable.
Certified

Secrets Montego Bay Jamaica

, Richmandhill , ON
2012-03-18
very nice hotel.resort, great staff, great place to have a vacation [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, clean resort,great atmosphere
The weak points
front desk, at check in tries to get you to take a "1.5 hr " presentation.They really try to get you to go to the presentation, and its almost like pressure sales pitch just as you arrive and want to get beach. presentation is over 3 hrs!
Certified

Home away from home

, Edmonton, AB
2012-01-30
What an amazing hotel , beautiful grounds , warm and cool pools , great food , neat clean rooms , some of the friendliest employees I have ever met , planning out trip back next winter !! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff , food , entertainment , weather
The weak points
AC was a little weak in our room , restaurants are a bit slow
Certified
pages: 12

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020