Riu Montego Bay

Riu Montego Bay
3.833.833.833.833.83
3.83 based on 254 reviews
#11 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (50)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by
pages: 1234567

RIU Montego Bay

, Woodstock, ON
2020-02-24
Travelled with my family (my husband, daughter 11yrs, son 8yrs and my mother-in-law 82yrs). We all had a fantastic time and enjoyed our time together. The buffet restaurant had lots of selection to choose from (my kids are a bit picky and often ate the same thing day after day - however, there were lots of kid friendly foods to choose from). We dined at the Steakhouse and we all enjoyed our meals and service. We ate at the Asian specialty (buffet style) as well - some liked it more than others. Entertaiment staff were enthusiastic. My 8 year old could not touch in the pool - he is a great swimmer but I still felt I had to be nearby when he was swimming - just so he could take a break without having to get to the side each time. A beautiful resort that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
A clean resort with friendly staff and great food. I liked that everything was close together and easy to get around. We were in building 2 (2004&2006) which was perfect for easy access to everything.
The weak points
Not a complaint just an observation if travelling with smaller kids. The only area in the pool that they can stand/reach on their own is by the poolbar or by the pool lounge chairs. I would take my own hairdryer next time.
Certified

RIU Montego Bay

, Fredericton, NB
2019-05-08
Overall everything was very nice. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The resort was very nice. Clean and friendly staff. Rooms were big and clean. Food was good. Having water sports included was awesome. Entertainment at pool was great and shows were good as well.
The weak points
Not enough bathrooms available around the resort. Beach was small and water was cloudy. No access to a bar on beach.
Certified

Excellent food but dirty beach water

, Stittsville, ON
2019-03-27
This hotel is rated as 5 stars which i can only apply to all inclusive food meals and nightly intertainment .
The room is a standard 200-250 sq.ft. with balcony , bar, fridge and bathroom with 2 sinks . There was a problem with flashing toilet and it was not fixed after request.
There was no normal shampoo as it should be in 5 stars hotels . Some floor tiles corners were chipped off . For this i would apply 3.5-4 stars .
Location is 10 min from airport but such a close proximity makes a chaos every 5 minutes due to taking off planes which a thundering right above your head so you cannot hear anyone you are talking to. So for this -2 stars. You can even smell the aviation fuel exhaust from time to time .
But the worst is a beach . Very short beach filled up with loungers and a very dirty , muddy water due to a small power station by product drainage from 1 side and a sewage channel from another side . There are Montego bay , Discovery bay , Runaway bay . This one i nicknamed Sewage Bay ...
There is a Spa with a prices for massages 2-3 times higher than in Canada .
But all stuff is friendly and always willing to assisst. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, intertainment
The weak points
Beach , water
Certified

Love jamaica

, Vancouver, BC
2019-03-21
great hotel and great staff. food is amazing. lots of fun activities to do out of the resort. was a bit crowded for spring break but expected it. very clean but getting a bit older. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
staff and cleanliness, food is awesome. jerk chicken, Buffets and Italian are amazing. lots of cool activities.
The weak points
only 2 device for wi-fi, not a big deal. far to get a drink on the beach. a bit crowded.
Certified

Review Riu Montego Bay

, North Tetagouche, HA
2019-03-07
My fourth visit to this resort.It needs work.Food is not acceptable, especially Mahoe Bay steak restaurant.Italian ok.First come at restaurants no good.I pay a lot of money to stand in line for 30-40 mins. and hope.Should go back to reservation system.Beach needs cleaning.Full of small stones.Get rid of scumbags peddling cheap goods from canoes on beach and annoying guests.They are actually selling dope.Management is aware of this.Wake-up call system not reliable.Serious problem.Entertainment is all the same each night.Very amateur and somewhat foolish.Service at front desk and restaurants generally good.
Will not return to this resort unless I hear of improvements in this regard. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Resort is very clean and well maintained.Rooms are good and well cleaned.Service is good at restaurants and bars.All staff responds well to requests and are polite.
The weak points
Food at restaurants.First come system for restaurants.Beach (stones).Entertainment.
Certified

Fantastic Service

, Rimbey, AB
2019-02-25
There were a couple of issues that we had during our stay with our room. Beds are looking pretty used as well as our TV would just shut off. Maintenance was really good about fixing the TV whenever we called, but was still an inconvenience. My husband was happy that the resort is not purple anymore like most of the pictures.
I do have to say though that the staff and food was great! They have something for everyone, even if you are a picky eater.
Would go back to this location, no problem. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Definitely the Food and the Staff. We had gone to Mexico four years ago and did not enjoy the food nearly as much as here in Jamaica. Jerk Chicken is just way tooo good.
The weak points
Are the beds. Our springs popped a few times and we are not big people.
Certified

Wonderful Getaway

, London, ON
2019-02-07
My fiancee and I chose this hotel because of the proximity to the airport, price, and familiarity with the Riu Brand name. We had an excellent week away. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food was delicious. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavour of the food. We mainly ate from the ' Jamaican Station ' section of the buffet. We always could find a beach chair. The grounds were extremely well landscaped and common areas were clean.
The weak points
The patio door did not lock, we brought this up to the front desk staff, but no repairs were made. The toilet in the room was inconsistent with flushing. Often our room wasn't made up till after 4pm. We asked for extra pillows which took 2 days to receive
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Pincher Creek, AB
2018-12-26
The hotel and staff were great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
All inclusive was just that. Full bar in room, nice pool, smaller resort but overall great value.
The weak points
Beds not comfortable
Certified

Amazing!!

, Edmonton, AB
2018-12-05
Our first time visiting Jamaica and we will definatly be returning! The Riu was beautiful the staff was always there and willing to help. Hotel has nightly shows very interactive and entertaining.
Highly recommended!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The selection & amount of food. Friendly interactive staff
The weak points
Taxi personell at the front are not as eager or happy to help
Certified

Riu montego bay.

, Rockyview County, AB
2018-11-04
Nice resort but very shitty beach. 20 feet in there is seaweed and muck. Gross. Also shitty wifi policies and procedures. Will never return to this riu. I'm not a negative person and always try to see the best in things but these few thing were a major turnoff.
Food was ok. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Cleanliness.
The weak points
Beach. Wifi services.
Certified

Superbe vacances

, Baie-Comeau, QC
2018-10-07
Propreté de l'hotel, des toilettes publiques et la nourriture woww c'est l'endroit où j'ai le mieux mangé de tout mes voyages.. c'etait Comme si j'etais Au Québec !! A 5 minutes de l'aéroport et trafic aérien qui nous ne nous a aucunement dérangé même impressionnant. Jamais manqué de rien dans notre chambre et bar dans celle-ci. Pour ceux qui aime se baigner dans la mer et faire de la plage oubliez ce site car elle est vraiment pas le fun fond vaseux et l'eau assez So So [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Bouffe, bouffe, bouffe et la propreté partout.
The weak points
Manque de salle de bain et plage

Our stay at Rui Montego Bag

, Edmonton, AB
2018-10-02
Loved my stay at the Riu Montego Bay, staff so friendly, the little girl at check in, "Yanique" was so helpful in every way. Just loved her. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Friendly staff, beautiful resort, very clean Ocean so calm, (not huge waves like in Mexico) White sand. Peddlers not on the beach bugging you to buy there stuff.
The weak points
Not enough bathrooms on the resort. would of liked a room with a better view then some old building . Both my friend and I had birthdays there but no one told us about the Birthday Blast things you receive when you have a birthday there.

Amazing First Trip

, Pefferlaw, ON
2018-05-25
This was our first family vacation. The hotel accommodated our family of five with adjoining rooms. Very clean resort with amazing staff who were very friendly and eager to assist us with any of our needs. The beach may not be as large as the ones in Negril but the pool area made up for it. The entertainment staff seemed to work non-stop to make sure everyone was having a great time and they didn't disappoint. We were extremely happy with this resort and would definitely stay there again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Excellent hotel, close to airport, amazing staff, amazing food. All around great place.
The weak points
The beds are not very comfortable. We went on an excursion to Negril and we were bombarded by locals peddling goods. We had very few approach us while in Montego Bay.
Certified

Beautiful Resort

, London, ON
2018-05-07
RUI Montego Bay is a very nice resort. It is well maintained and current, with free wifi through out the property. The check-in was easy and the resort employees were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, with current climate control; as well as a private balcony. The in-room bar was well stocked and maintained every other day. The pool was beautiful, with daily entertainment. The food was excellent. We also had no problem getting into the A La Carte restaurants.
It was an excellent trip. I would definitely recommend and return to this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Beautiful resort. Friendly, helpful staff. Great rooms.
The weak points
The beach was nice but small. The water is not the pristine turquoise water we expected. I would recommend water shoes if you are an avid ocean swimmer. The room to hold bags for late flights is not secure. Do not leave valuables in luggage.
Certified

Everything

, Mississauga, ON
2018-02-24
First time I been to Rui Montego Bay I has to say 10/10 nice peoples good food , beautiful Beach white sand , special is dancer team is so friendly very good Dane ; talented everyone should go to Rui Montego Bay very safe loved I will go back again and again loved there see you soon Jamaica Rui Montego Bay [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Great first trip to Jamaica

, Baden, ON
2017-12-12
Really liked the hotel. Great friendly staff, food was awesome, very nice pool, beach was nice, loved the jerk hut on the beach. Would definitely come back again. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Location, 5min from the airport.
Certified

Enjoyable

, Sherwood Park , AB
2017-03-27
Very close to the airport so you don't have the long bus ride. Staff were extremely friendly. Buffet had theme nights and the food was wonderful. Jerk chicken on the beach was best! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Closeness to airport. Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff - especially Jahmarie and Gillian who worked in the buffet
The weak points
Can't walk very far along the beach
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Bestia, ON
2017-02-23
Hotel was ok not a 5 star by any means. A la carte restaraunt a pain to get in and limited seating for a resort this size. Price was a little steep for the value. Fruits and certain foods were very limited. Fruit was not of very good quality at all .Music worked at pool bar 50% of time at pool. Odour in the evening of raw sewage or the grease traps in the kitchens overwhelming. Rooms are very dated and much better options for the price of this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Lloydminster, AB
2017-02-22
The service staff works so hard and are so accommodating, it's sad they are under such scrutiny to keep their job. They get paid so little with one day off a week, can we not demand better for them? [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU Montego Bay

, Beaumont, AB
2016-11-30
Over all great service, good people and clean [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Summer Sun

, Scarborough, ON
2016-07-17
We spent a week at Rui Bachata in the Dominican Republic two weeks ago, and then last week at Riu Montego Bay. After Bachata I did not want to return to a Riu hotel. Riu MB changed that! Food was incredible, except the alacarte were not worth going to as the main buffet had everythung you could desire. Animation crew was not as lively, the Dominicans have the Jamaicans beat on dance! Staff was friendly, but not near as friendly as in the DR. Beach clean but very small. The whole bay is filling up With weeds. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The food, the girls
Certified

Montego bay

, Calgary, AB
2016-07-03
Excelence service [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

RIU MONTEGO BAY

, Calgary, AB
2016-06-21
The hotel lobby is beautiful and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The entertainment staff were a lot of fun. The food is plentiful and delicious as is the Rum! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The hotel and entertainment staff are the best. The food is delicious.
The weak points
The guest buildings I think need a facelift. We found the mattresses and pillows quite hard. The pool area was clean but the pools themselves need maintenance.
Certified

WONDERFUL time at the Riu

2016-02-03
When I first arrived at this resort, I was a little disappointed in the lobby, seemed a bit dated, especially for a Riu. The check in was easy, lots of staff to handle everyone, and very friendly. I had a standard room, which is as pictured in the pictures. I was a little disappointed in the room, with the old style bed spreads. But I have to stay, after being here for 1 week, I really enjoyed this hotel! The people working here are genuinely friendly and helpful. Any opinions that I had from day 1 were replaced by the end of my stay with great ones! The overall cleanliness of this property are outstanding, and that is something that I look for. The resort was at 97% capacity during my stay, and there were always chairs available at the pool and the beach. The entertainment was good, lots of dancing shows, and a few nights with bands that were good, normal AI entertainment. The beach would be my only complaint, as it was really weedy in the water, not crazy about that. You can also walk outside of the resort to a shopping centre, bars and restaurants, cambio. Although it says it is in Montego Bay, to go into town, it is a $40 taxi ride there and back. The planes are also flying overhead, but you get used to them after a day, and don't really notice them. I was traveling with a couple that used a wheelchair, and by far, this resort is exceptional to get around. There is a ramp going into the pools, and good railings on the steps to pool. Food in the buffet was very good for AI, the food in the 3 restaurants was nothing special. Drinks-red strip beer and white wine were good, but the drinks were super sweet mixes. All in all, this is a great resort for relaxing and unwinding in, would definitely recommend it for those reasons. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
friendliness and cleanliness of the hotel is outstanding. Resort is also very handicapped accessible
The weak points
Beach
Certified

Big d

, Hamilton, ON
2015-11-03
not bad beach is verry poor shap home made [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
the entertament
The weak points
the beach
Certified

Relaxing and very adequate accomodations.

, Waverley, NS
2015-04-08
Front desk employees not overly helpful. A continues stench in one particular area (behind one of the restaurants!)all week! View from room less than desirable. We faced the property dividing fence and tree line which also came with daily begging locals. Lots of security there to protect us though. The assortment and quality of the food was very good! The jerk chicken is delicious! Lots of drinks available at all times. Even a full bar in your room! Lots of beach/pool chairs available. The nightly entertainment was fine. Have seen much better, though. Overall, I would go back to this resort. The package price was fair. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport. Great food!
The weak points
Unpleasant odor in one particular area. Did not have a very good room in regard to a view!
Certified

4 stars not 5

, Brampton, ON
2015-03-25
The resort is very nice and the food is your usual Carribean buffet but with lots of different types of fish daily and lots of large shrimp. My only complaint is the lack of service provided by the bar and buffet servers and no room service. If a Riu Palace which brings drinks to you at the beach and pool and has 24 hour room service are a 5 star then Riu's that aren't Palaces and don't have these services, should not be rated 5 star. Unfortunately, the Palace next door was an adults only hotel or we would have paid the extra to be spoiled. Also, no wifi anywhere except the lobby and it was 90 consecutive minutes per day so you couldn't check your email for a few minutes and then go back a couple of hours later to check again. It has to be consecutive minutes. If you want to go for a nice long walk on the beach, forget it, you can't go left or right off the property because of gates at the Palace on one side and Sandals on the other side. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Very close to airport.
The weak points
Not enough staff in buffet. They were slow to get you a drink and clean the dirty plates.
Certified

Riu Montego Bay

, Guelph, ON
2015-02-28
10 minutes away from the airport (no long bus ride). Beach and pool are as expected. Staff are super friendly and nice. The group of friends I travelled with had one of the best vacations ever at this resort. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff at the resort are exceptional.
The weak points
Beds are very firm. Sit down restaurants are not any better than buffet restaurants
Certified

All round great experience.

, St Paul, AB
2015-02-18
The hotel clean. Staff super helpful and friendly. Food had great variety and superb. Entertainment was top notch. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The staff were absolutely amazing. Food was fantastic.
The weak points
Beach wasn't as clean as expected. Noisy cause of the airport being so close.
Certified

Not a 5 star

, Edmonton, Al
2015-02-11
The Riu in Montego Bay is by far a 5 star resort,when you go to the beach the first thing yo notice is how dirty the beach is, there are roots sticking out of the ground(rippin hazards) used glasses left behind bcause it's rare anybody comes around to pickup anything, the next thing you see are well used dirty and stretched out chairs, some are broken(1 chair collapsed on a woman when she sat in it) everytime we found a broken chair we put it o the side and turned it over so no one would try to use it only to have it back on the beach the next day.
Another disappointment was that there is no service on the beach or around the pool, if you want a drink you have to go to the bar yourself and you return your empties yourself or wait a few hours and someone might pick them up.
If you're a smoker there are only 2 smoking areas off the beach and both are in the direct sun.
Also there is only 2 public bathrooms for the whole resort which is probably why I would hear a lot of people say they would just go pee in the ocean(don't want to know how many used the pool).
We had a room right behind the steak house, well it seemed the workers there had quite a business running out the back door, there would be a worker on the roof whistle to people walking bye and once they got a response they would run down and a transaction would take place(I could only guess what it was but I'm sure we all know what that would be)the workers would also bum smokes off us, they would make comments to the girls walking by.
The whole resort wasn't this bad, the rooms were kept clean, the buffets had a lot of variety for everyone, if you went there to just eat and sleep you probably be happy, if you went there expecting any kind of service you would be disappointed like we were.
The resort as a whole is a self serve resort, even the Asian alacarte is a buffet(bad food).
One thing I did read about the resort was the flights coming in and out, which I thought was around the resort but these things fly right over the resort so low you can read the numbers under the wings, you can't talk until they're are gone and at times they are less than 5 minutes apart.
To sum things up the resort is way overrated and we were quite disappointed considering it was a Riu and we spent more than usual to go there, our friends were saying we were going to a hoydy toydy resort boy did we all get fooled. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Business Services
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food was above average and good variety
The weak points
The beach was dirty with dirty broken well ued chairs Service non existant on the beach and pool area. The bar staff(men) can be rude and the lucrative business running out the back door of the steak house.
Certified
pages: 1234567

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020