Riu Reggae

Riu Reggae
4.234.234.234.234.23
4.23 based on 35 reviews
#3 of 35 hotels The Monarc.ca popularity scale (#1/15) classifies all the hotels of a single destination according to the number of grades received on 5 and the total number of reviews. in Montego Bay
Rated 5 stars
Traveller pictures (12)

Travellers Reviews in

Filter reviews by
Sort by

Lots of fun

, Uxbridge, ON
2019-12-08
Second time at Reggae, nice and close to the airport, friendly staff, clean, good food, although some of the restaurants are only open every other day and menu is mixed up [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Was not that impressed with the restaurants.

, St Thomas, ON
2019-02-26
Restaurants were so so. Not really a la carte type. No bars in restaurants, never asked if we wanted a coffee or tea with desert, kind of sucked really. Good point is the staff only. Would be 5 star in Cuba but only a 3.5 in my books for Jamaica. Will not consider going to a Riu again , sorry. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff
The weak points
Too many
Certified

Great time at the Riu Reggae

, Airdrie, AB
2018-11-21
We were on the main floor near the end of one of the living areas. The room was clean and a good size. The bathroom was also clean and we had no problems with hot water. We liked the double sinks which made getting ready much easier. Unfortunately our overhead fan needed some TLC but we didn't even use it so no biggy.
The food was great, the pools were more then enough for the total number of guests. Yeah the beach isn't as big as some resorts we have stayed in but it was big enough for us and we enjoyed every minute on it. The staff were all friendly especially the entertainment crew who worked all day and then gave some great performances at night. We thought the resort's evening entertainment was the best we have seen. Great dancing, great themes and very experienced performers.
All in all this resort was just the right size and being an "adults only" made our stay even better!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food, entertainment, drinks, friendly staff (all good at what they do), accommodations, size of the resort, pools, etc.....
The weak points
Yeah it's located so when the jets that bring us in and out fly overhead there is 13 seconds of noise (I counted after reading another reviewer who hated the noise) and they're gone. You hardly even notice if you're having fun.
Certified

Nice hotel

, Okotoks, AB
2018-10-21
We had a great time! The people are wonderful, the entertainment was great and it was nice to have access to the other hotel. We really enjoyed the steakhouse and Chinese food but were disappointed the restaurants are only open a few days a week. I loved the jerk chicken lunch but the buffet wasn't great, we did however always found something to eat. We had a great trip, loved the excursions and always felt very safe. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Entertainment, Rooms, Staff, Drinks
The weak points
Buffets, Restaurant hours & lack of food selection at a la carte, No room service and limited late night snacks
Certified

Awesome week at Riu Reggae!!

, Lévis, QC
2018-07-03
Excellent layout, food, drinks, staff. Very clean. We will return without a doubt. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff, food, beach, strong wi-fi throughout the hotel and beach
The weak points
Happy Tobacco odors from designated smoking area.
Certified

Rio Reggae rocks!

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-14
Great location. Excellent food. Beautiful friendly staff. Small, comfortable size resort. A good variety of evening entertainment ( especially loved the beach party). [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Amazing staff. They were very hospitable, friendly and warm. The food was excellent , I especially enjoyed the jerk shack on the beach.
The weak points
The bar service can be improved. Wait times at the bar can be lengthy. They sound have servers tending to guests.
Certified

Great Resort

, Toronto, ON
2018-04-05
We had a fabulous time just relaxing...we went with the purpose of doing absolutely nothing and succeeded! The Hotel was the cleanest we have ever seen, even the pool washrooms were almost always dry and clean of sand. All of the staff were outstanding!!!! [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The FOOD, the restaurants were great but too much food. The Buffet was never disappointing, amazing choices, fresh fruit, veggies, bread...and the STAFF, they were all amazing.
The weak points
The planes. The noise was quite disruptive. If you can handle the noise 30 times a day than you are good, it was an amazing place. (My wife didn't mind it at all, in fact kind of thought it was fun)
Certified

Experience adult resort

, Rockland, ON
2018-02-24
Very clean resort and service was good. Food was ok - not hot enough and pasta never cooked enough
Never running out of face cloth and towels.
Was expecting more of an adult entertainment during the games and at night. After the night show, the hotel was a ghost town as we had to go to the sister resort (2 resorts down) to have the night music.
The fridge was only replenish every 2 days - would of liked every day.
First time having a smoking section and it was only on one side of the resort (should have more locations). Always had lots of pressure and hot water anytime we took our shower. Very annoying having the planes fly over the resort all the time. It was our honeymoon trip and they upgraded our room free of charge - had a bottle of champagne and a plate of fruits. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
very clean, staff very friendly, very safe walking around at night, night entertainment was very good, always had pressure and hot water, good internet everywhere
The weak points
was not a nice beach (little rocks instead of sand in some places), pasta was not cooked enough, missing sand on the beach volleyball area (concrete under),designated area for smoking.
Certified

Montego Bay

, Windsor, ON
2018-02-19
Very clean and friendly staff [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

This resort was ok, my rating is three and a half.

, Sudbury, ON
2018-02-05
We stayed at the Riu Reggae (RR) from January 27th to February 3rd. I had seen this resort advertised as anywhere from a 4 to 5 star resort. It is definitely not a 5 star, but probably more like a 4 star. The staff are amazing. They are very friendly and attentive. The hotel itself is new, but fairly plain, as there is little color in the rooms or the lobby. There are 4 specialty restaurants and one buffet. You don't need reservations for the restaurants, The Italian restaurant was the best of the four, but there are only 4 entrees to order from, and only one of them contains pasta. There is a salad bar that includes some pastas to choose from, but it still seemed strange that there were no specific pasta dishes. The Oriental restaurant is buffet, no a la carte orders. It wasn't bad. The steak restaurant was a la carte, but again, a very limited number of menu items. The steak at the Italian restaurant was actually better than here. We didn't go to Kulinarium, but it also had a small menu. The buffet wasn't bad. There was decent variety, but not enough dessert choices. All the food at the restaurants tasted fairly good.
The beach isn't bad, but it's fairly small. You didn't have to be out there at 6:00 am to get a spot, which was nice.
The pools weren't bad, but there weren't a lot of chairs around them, so you had to be there early to get a spot. There was no drink service at the pool or the beach. If you wanted a drink, you had to go to the bar yourself to get it. Most of the bars didn't put much alcohol in the drinks, and sometimes didn't put any alcohol in them.
Overall, this wasn't a bad resort, but nothing really stood out either. The employees work very hard. This place has potential, it just needs to be ramped up a bit. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

The staff were amazing ; hotel was definitely clea

, Richmondhill, ON
2017-12-29
The hotel is great [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
Certified

Below Expectations

, Kirkland, QC
2017-07-04
If you want a beautiful beach, not the place to go. Beach very small and below average. Food was good. Staff was okay. Bartenders were good, animators were kind of boring. Not many daytime activities. They didn't involve the actual guests very much at all. Me and my sister had a great time because we make a good time no matter what but for the price we paid, definitely wouldn't go back. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Food
The weak points
Beach, staff, size
Certified

Great Vacation

, London, ON
2017-03-22
The Riu Reggae was an excellent resort. The check in process is not handled well. You have to stand in one line to get your bracelet and another line for your package with your room key etc. The resort has one elevator for one section but we couldn't find the other elevator to get to our building. The food is excellent especially the restaurants. The beach is small and disappointing with sand with pieces of sharp bits of shell. We were use to walking for long distances on the beach but you can only walk to the other Riu resorts (Palace and Montego Bay). The rooms were spacious and clean. The shower had a frosted glass panel inside. People in the room couldn't really see the naked body but just the shadow. It's fine if you are with your partner but not if you are with a friend. It didn't bother us but found it odd. Overall it is a good resort and the staff were excellent. The drinks were plentiful and with quality spirits. Throughout the day there was lots of activities if you wanted to participate. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
The quality of the food and drinks were superb. The staff are excellent with lots of entertainment throughout the day.
The weak points
The beach and lack of shade at the beach is a concern. We ended up staying by the pool instead. The beach itself was very small and the sand wasn't a good quality.
Certified

Awesome trip

, River Hebert, NS
2017-02-22
Had a great time. All staff very friendly and went out of there way to make you feel welcome. All staff English speaking which was great because where we stayed in Cuba the staff barely spoke any English. Hotel very clean and food was great. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The weak points
Very close to airport so a little noisy because planes were very low going over resort as they were taking off.
Certified

Rui Regae - More than OK

, Smithville, ON
2016-12-19
Beaches: a little slimy when you get past waist
Pools: None are deep
Food: I was hard to choose breakfast food that was not cold when you got to the table unless you waited in line for om-let. Also the food was not all labelled - mysterious.
Location: really close to airport so constantly witnessed planes taking off overhead but could not hear them at all in room which was pleasing. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Staff were amazing
The weak points
breakast temperature.
Certified

Initial opening guests

, Brockville, ON
2016-11-29
Check in was likely one of the most efficient ones we had, porter took us and our luggage up the elevator to our room on the west side.
Room was immaculately clean, bright with plenty of lighting, quality linens, flat screen TV with good channel selection including Canadian, American and other channels, mini fridge well stocked with pop, water and beer. Safe is a numeric code, 2 house coats, 2 sinks, plenty of very hot water, toilet is in it's own separate stall/room, shower is very roomy.
3 separate pools, 2 of which have swim up bars, an overabundance of lounge chairs around the pool and the beach, we are not early risers, and the hunt for 2 chairs has been an issue at other resorts. There are plenty of shady spots, under parasols or they have a different design awning style slide across sections for shade and or cover from a passing rain cloud.
The buffet restaurant is very nice, great selection, has indoor and outdoor seating, the AC in the indoor section is quite cool, if you chill easy, bring a sweater. We went to 3 of the 4 à la carte restaurant, Asian and Italian are buffet style à la carte, thé steak house is full sit down service, the food at all 3 was great, just missing a few dish identifying cards, but staff answered the questions. No reservations needed, first come, first served 2 sittings 18:30 and 21:00. We only went to one of the evening shows, the steel band show (The Silver Birds), we loved this show. The entertainment staff was around the pools and beach all day providing different activities.
The resort is not overly big, for someone who doesn't want to walk a lot, it's a good size, yet it doesn't feel crowded.
The staff at all levels is very attentive, the front desk called a few times to make sure everything was ok with our room, and what minor issue we incurred was resolved.
The Wi-Fi worked fantastically throughout the resort.
We would definitely go back to this resort in the future. [Details]
  • Room
  • Quality - Price
  • Front desk & Reception
  • Beaches
  • Location
  • Bathroom
  • Staff / Crew
  • Cleanliness
  • Food & Restaurants
The strong points
Close to airport, 5 minute bus ride. Strong Wi-Fi
The weak points
Evening show schedule, it's a little later than we would like.
Certified

Click to
see hotel on
Google Maps

Are you a hotel owner?

Copyright © Monarc.ca 2008-2020